Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kumamoto hotel reviews
  4. Kumamoto hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel The Gate Kumamoto

Reviews of Hotel The Gate Kumamoto This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

860-0047 Kumamoto, Kumamoto, Nishi-ku Kasuga 1-14-1, Japan

#3 of 54 hotels in Kumamoto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1127 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.3
    A little bit noisy but overall is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Male and female are not separate. Locker in the room not large enough for luggage.

    Close to Kumamoto station. Good service. Clean restroom and shower place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Great location with great facilities. Definitely worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the bed looking good, I woke up feeling sore after sleeping. The common area is shared with their in-hotel bar and café. It doesn't feel extremely comfortable sitting there in loungewear and you could have a group of businesspeople at the bar.

    The place is all one floor, which is convenient for any amount of luggage. The lockers are enormous, fitting even my 65+10 liter backpack. Keys are left with reception when you head out on your day, so you have a hard time losing the keys. The facilities are really excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great value, clean and easy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, clean shared facilities, clean rooms, full amenities provided upon checkin - from basic to the extras such as yakult, keys for lockers, pyjamas and earplugs. And yes earplugs you'll need, since all "private rooms" comprise of solid partitions, curtains for doors and no ceilings - birds eye view of the giant complex would resemble a maze-like structure. The complex has permanent dimmed lighting for easy snooze time (no windows a bit like a casino). Shared bathrooms are very tidy and regularly cleaned. There is a coin laundry on site and shirt steamers...for those who had too much to drink and missed the last train and needed to look decent for the next day at work, because yes, this is such great value for money it's a no brainer to stay here. Superb location right next to train station. If you drive into town, there is no guest parking but you'll find many coin parking lots across/ down the road (expect to it max 700jpy for 24hrs). All up, very interesting hostel/ hotel hybrid concept and happy to have stayed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, the place was located in a very convenient area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    But on the downside, it was very noisy the whole night, so it was impossible to sleep for the two nights I was there. Definitely not a hotel, this place is a hostel (although a very nice one, still a hostel)

    Overall, the place was located in a very convenient area near the station, it was clean and the facilities were perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant but experience would depend on the other guests and their 'quietness'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kind and welcoming staff. They have a bar with decently priced alcohol (foreigner perspective, unsure if it is cheapest tho)! They have live shows near the bear area on certain dates i'm assuming. Use of a streaming service they have a subscription for albeit I didn't use it. Standard facilities and appropriate handling of a hostel environment. Location was quite close to the Kumamoto station and the tram station (to get to the highlights).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels/hostels I have stayed in Japan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would prefer the walls between the rooms to go all the way up to the ceiling. I got woken up a few times because someone was a loud snorer, or someone was packing and making too much noise. There are earplugs but I couldn't use them because I needed to hear my alarm and they hurt my ears a little bit.

    The hotel is only a bridge away from Kumamoto station, making it super convenient to go anywhere you want! Strong wifi regardless of your location in the hotel. Bathrooms and toilets are shared, but I didn't have to wait at all because there were enough facilities for everyone. Loungewear is provided, which is a plus. Above all, the staff's hospitality was great! Very friendly yet professional!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.2
    It is directly across the road from Kumamoto train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost everything. The name ‘Hotel The Gate’ is misleading as it is actually a hostel with bunk beds. Absolutely not much privacy as units are separated from each other with curtains. You need to walk to the common bath and toilet area.

    It is directly across the road from Kumamoto train station and tram lines, and next to car rental companies

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    Good location. Fake rooms status.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Actually there were many empty rooms since it mentioned 2room lefts when I have booked in Booking.com . So the info was fake. Too small in size Need better arrangement

    Good quality bed and shower facilities. With individual locker for own stuff. Very close to the station. Good service

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    recommended to everyone who don't need doors :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was small, with no door, but we knew that of course so we got what we expected. the shared bathroom was great. everything looked like the facility is new.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great facilities and so close to JR Kumamoto station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms separated by a curtain so noisey neighbours were the biggest problem. Not good for a light sleeper.

    Great facilities and so close to JR Kumamoto station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for those who needs privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People who are sensitive to noise might be disturbed easily. The only con about this hostel.

    Location, facilities, design of the room....everything is perfect. Right next to the JR station!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, but room closes only with curtain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not clear for us from the descriptions that there would be no door, so be warned: the "room" only closes with a curtain and its more of a dormitory with a bit more privacy than a private room. That also means that you will hear all the snoring of other people around and the loud talking of the few inconsiderate people too. Be sure to pick up the free earplugs at the reception!

    The location is superb, just across the street from the JR railway station. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms and showers are very modern and clean. Definitely a good deal for the money. We also liked the free piyamas!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, but room closes only with curtain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not clear for us from the descriptions that there would be no door, so be warned: the "room" only closes with a curtain and its more of a dormitory with a bit more privacy than a private room. That also means that you will hear all the snoring of other people around and the loud talking of the few inconsiderate people too. Be sure to pick up the free earplugs at the reception!

    The location is superb, just across the street from the JR railway station. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms and showers are very modern and clean. Definitely a good deal for the money. We also liked the free piyamas!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    Good place in Kumamoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When making the reservation, we were not aware that the room had no doors or windows - this should be clearly stated. For those in need of privacy, a lack of doors can be a problem.

    In general, a hotel worth recommending due to the location and spotless cleanliness and type of experience that offers accommodation in a room behind the curtain :).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    - Staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Some people talked and walked so loudly at night. Not the best place for the light-sleepers - There was no door in my room but only a curtain. Someone just opened my curtain at night

    - Staff was very friendly - Bathrooms and toilets were really clean. Nothing could be complained - Very close to Kumamoto Station. Perfect place to stay if you are going to somewhere by Shinkansen after the stay in Kumamoto - Wifi was perfect - There was a small bar where "all-you-can-drink" was provided

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic for big groups of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little hot in the bunk bed capsules, but other than that it was perfect.

    We were a group of six and got a whole room of bunk beds to ourselves. The beds were so spacious and the room was huge. There was also great locker space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.3
    A dormitory hostel with high quality services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very surprising feeling being in this hall with bulkhead separation offering absolu no outside light and overhall absolutly no privacy. Earplugs has been a good protector of my night which his therefore highly dependent on the customer's respect.

    To be so near the JR train station and the tram. The services ans facilities given, the cleanliness, the lounge and the silence of the guest despite the overcrowding...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent location right outside JR Kumamoto station, tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location right outside JR Kumamoto station, tram and bus stops. Bathroom facilities were great. Quite a bit of noise (snoring) at night as there are many beds within a room but maybe more comfortable if they separate rooms by gender.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Great place & great base for day trips to other cities and come back to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eveything was great. Keep it that way.

    Right next to the Kumamoto St. You arrive and leave the city easily. Also the tram for the city center and attractions starts from there (blue line). But if you plan to visit other cities from there, this is the place to stay!! Staff very polite and helpful. Everything was super clean! Comfortable Bed with very big locker for your stuff and your suitcase (all in the same room with your bed). Many amenities including a set of pjs for your stay. Very fast WiFi, laundry and smoking room. Great value for money. Also at the Kumamoto St. you'll find the best ramen in town. Day trips with JR pass you can do: Kagoshima, Mt. Sakurajima, Fukuoka, Kitakyushu, Beppu, Oita. (leaving early in the morning and coming back after 17:00 that the attractions close everywhere)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.8
    Close to train station coming in to Kumamoto and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could’ve done with a door to the pod (for 3 pax) rather than just a curtain.

    Close to train station coming in to Kumamoto and close to trams for access into the city. Very clean pod type hostel with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.6
    When I tried to rent a car they made the arrangements with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I tried to rent a car they made the arrangements with the company. And they gave me all the public transport combinations to get to the places I wanted to visit. Really nice and efficient staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't think it is necessary to have a bar inside. Instead of that, place a shop or a bakery would be better. It may be helpful to have a stool or something to sit on in the room,especially in using an upper bed room.

    Location Lots of clean toilet and shower Free rental towels and inner clothes Politeness and diligence of staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't know there were no doors. It wasn't clear from the pictures. And it was rather small.

    Incredibly helpful staff. I needed to give some presents to my Japanese friends and they even wrapped the chocolate in wrapping paper for me. I was impressed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with too strong air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning - it was way too cold (outside +30C, inside it felt like +18C., maybe even less). You could even feel the winds from air conditioners. While in hotel had to be with jeans and jacket, as to to catch cold - that sadly didin't help

    How to say it - looks like a capsule hotel, but you have quite a lot of your own soace

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.8
    location is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are just too inflexible and unfriendly... I arrived at 7a.m to store the luggage, and go out because I knew it’s impossible to check in so early, then I went back 2 p.m for check-in only 1hr early but the staff still reject for the check-in... the occupancy is quiet low that day when I get in it’s empty.. that’s not the problem, the problem is that they knew I’ve been waiting for check in at the lobby when they open check in they didn’t even inform us.. so bad.

    location is nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    It’s a great capsule hostel with everything a traveler needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes there are people arriving to the hostel at 1-2pm or checking out at 6-7am and they make some noise. But it’s ok as it is a capsule hostel c:

    It’s a great capsule hostel with everything a traveler needs. They provide pajamas, towels. The interior is new and stylish, the bathrooms are clean and comfortable. They leave little origami on your bed, this is so cute. The stuff is very polite and helpful, they even kept my luggage while I was out for Takachiho for one night. Btw, location is just perfect, train station on 1min walking, bus stops nearby and tre tam station, so you can get all the sightseeing spots in Kumamoto. And the price is very good for what you get. Definitely recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.9
    Great location for catching early trains, right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More like a hostel than expected for private rooms, separating walls didn’t go all the way to the ceiling. Also noisier than expected for private rooms so didn’t sleep well.

    Great location for catching early trains, right next to the station. Staff very friendly, speak reasonable English for guests who can’t speak Japanese. Check in very quick. Always fresh towels and toiletries available. Sleeping cubicles were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    clean and well-organized capsule hotel at good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room with Door (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    women at check-in didn’t understand at first that I had booked via booking.com, it took some explaining therefore; also its very anonymous, so if you are looking for something more cozy and interaction with others this is not the place

    I arrived late and headed out early the next day and therefore it was perfect! Very clean and well organized, the beds/bedding are really comfy and they even provide their own pyjama!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    In front of Kumamoto station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is fabulous, clean, convenient for one or two nights, the staff is very welcoming and efficient. We where skeptics to rent but after being there we can recommend it with no doubt. The concept is great and is just steps away from the station. Happy we choose it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Toilets and washrooms are very clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (10 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked 10 ppl room because we have 9 ppl in total and we expected some night parties. However, the walls of some rooms do not link the the ceiling, including our room, which means that ppl cannot talk too loud in the room at night. This is not a good design. Also, for out 10ppl room, there is no lock for the room because it is just separated from the corridor with a curtain. The pillow is not very comfortable.

    Toilets and washrooms are very clean and well equipped. Bathrooms are separated with dry and wet area inside. Common area is quite nice with both hot and cold water supplied. The design (industrial style) is awesome too. Location is excellent. Just need to cross the road then you can arrive at the JR station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, super comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smoking room and the laundry room were in the same room. I didn't go in there, but the front desk worker told me that's how it was situated. To me, that's a bit strange. I needed to do laundry, but I didn't because of this.

    This place was a fusion between a hostel and a capsule hotel. My mini room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. There was a locker in my room. They had a lot of free amenities. It's right next to the JR Kumamoto Station, so it's in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    It was clean, wonderful staff, and really close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed were super hard, and because of the attatched bar the other patrons were incredibly noisy after 11pm. I even found one so drunk he couldn't remember where his bed was and was constantly falling down

    It was clean, wonderful staff, and really close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    The area was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just to note. The room that we booked didn't have a door. It was only "closed" via a curtain. Experience was alright. They did have door rooms at additional cost.

    The area was spacious. Toilets and shower area were sufficient and we didnt have to queue. The bed was nice, the lamp and the USB point right at the bed was appreciated. The location was really convenient. Right beside the train station. But you need to take the city tram to explore anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and modern facilities. Bathroom is shared but enough showers and toilets for everyone. Extra curtain adds some privacy in the dormitory, everyone has a small space for him/herself. Very good location, directly across the station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.4
    This is a hostel, not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not a hotel, it is a very large dormitory. The name was misleading, since it's more like a hostel. We booked a twin room, which turned out to be 2 bunkbeds divided from the rest of the big hall with nothing but a curtain. There is no roof on the "rooms", so you can hear and feel everything thats going on. Definately not a place to stay if you are a light sleeper or have trouble sleeping. We were glad we only had 1 night here, since we barely slept.

    The washing area is decent, very clean. Opposite of the station, very short walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.2
    Superbly clean, comfortable, convenient, affordable, with great service but thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow was small and kind of different (one side was hard and felt heady while the other was softer). The only barriers between bunks of the same section are curtains, so there’s minimal sound isolation. Not for light sleepers.

    The toilets and showers were clean and plenty for all. The beds were comfortable and really clean as well. Also located right opposite Kumamoto Station, with access to Shinkansen and Shiden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Right next to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right next to the station. Incredible comfort for a fair price, and a lot of extras, like free pajamas. They also have a really nice lounge to relax and talk with the other guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Very clean capsule-style hotel with comfy beds not really capsules.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is just across the Kumamoto main station and was about a week old at the time of our stay. To get more customers the ran limited-time offers of cheap all you can drink service at the bar for example. Good for people that want to experience a capsule hotel but have claustrophobia and rather sleep in a bed than a capsule.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    Extremely close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit far from the city centre.

    Extremely close to the train station. Overall clean with very good cleaning facilities. Good eats around if you are willing to walk 10min. Nice bar for an evening drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    5.0
    Near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charge hotel price for a hostel. The name of this place is very misleading, it is basically a hostel. Even if you book single “room”, its not a room. The onky thing divide your private space and the hallway is a curtain. Very bad sound isolation, you can hear everything, I had kids nearby my bed who are extremely noisy in the morning. Very overpriced for what you get. Staffs barely speak english.

    Near train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't notice that the room has no ceiling and the rooms are separated with tall walls without ceiling. At first i worried about the noise problem, however it was very quite. it may be better if the hotel instruction highlight that there is no ceiling.

    The staff is very nice. They can speek English and very patient in answering our questions. The bathrooms are clean and bright, and the decoration is new.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel that there could be doors instead of curtains for rooms

    I liked the friendliness of the staff. They would do their best to help you with any requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.3
    Peculiar as it struck me as not quite a hotel and not quite a hostel. But staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eating area very limited and seating there not comfy. Having the smoking room being a part of the laundry room is terrible! Was afraid to leave my newly clean clothes in that space for more than the minimum time it took to get out. Smoke and smell drifted right over. Yucko.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Locker was of a decent size. Beds with curtains were comfy Shower was good Lounge suit appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    It is a hotel that does not offer food but train station ocross the road does. Eh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seating at the Zashkie(?) bar. Why drink vending machine and sales but ultra limited snacks and ultra limited availability. Smoking room was off and not separated except by a wall that was open from the laundry area. Was afraid to leave my clothes there while folding. Yucko.

    Excellent helpful staff, right off the bat! Lounge suits were funky. Bidets worked. Curtains on beds were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Fancy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No closed room so if you have bad luck you hear the snoring of other people

    Very clean and fancy, also great facilities and enough of everything. Very nice service. And a very nice matress

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    good location next to Kumamoto station and streetcar stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    on check-out day they had an "inspection" so couldn't keep my luggage after 11am. otherwise everything ok.

    good location next to Kumamoto station and streetcar stop. quiet dormitory. hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Great expereince at an outstanding facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing glaring that I could think of. The top bunk bed was slightly hard to climb up, thus the bottom bunk bed might be better for some. My only other regret was that I only stayed in Kumamoto for half a day. If I were to visit Kumamoto again, I won't hesitate to pick this hotel again.

    This facility is very modern and clean. The staffs that I had encounter are all very friendly and helpful. The design and layout of the hotel follows on an airport theme. There are lot of shower, toilet and sink stalls thus I never had to wait for usage. I appreciate little details such as a small basket where you can put your dirty clothing when you go for a shower. I also notice there is a rubber padding on the locker door so that the keys won't bang on the metal surface and disturb your neighbors. The main factor that made me book this hotel in the first place was that it was just across the street from Kumamoto JR station. I have an early train to catch next day and I did not have to worry about taking public transportation to get to the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Value for money. Quiet place for a solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No doors between the bunk bed hall, able to hear people walking and talking in the morning and night. No refrigerator for food and drinks.

    Absolute privacy,spacious bed and lockers. Plenty of showers and very clean dressing room. Free toiletries, fresh towels and slippers daily (though not necessary).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are 'keep quiet' sign in English so I do not hear anyone speaking loudly in the night but there's no such sign in Japanese and 2 man came back to the hotel at 1am speaking loudly in Japanese and that was annoying as its a 'dormitory' style hotel, there's no door, just a curtain to replace the door. It's compartment concept therefore the top is open so the noise is completely audible.

    The location, it's super near Kumamoto station, just cross a traffic light. The cleanliness, the amenities, the staff, the concept, the bed and pillow are comfortable. Everything is good. It's awesome but not for long stay. I will highly recommend it for a day or two when you stop over.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.6
    This is the best dormitory I have ever stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only little problem is They offer a curtain as a door, so when people pass your room, it’s noisy. But you can choose a door dormitory but I don’t think it helps because there is big gap between your room top and the celling. But it’s dormitory, everyone try their best to keep quiet during the sleeping time.

    This is the best dormitory I have ever stay. The bed is soooo comfortable!!! The toilet and shower is super clean and you even can choose the shower water temperature in an approximate way. The staffs can’t speak good English but they try their best to help me and of course solve all my questions in a easy way! It’s a dormitory but you have a big enough secret space for you and your bed. Good location, 2 min walking from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and enough privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not fully covered which you can hear other people talking and walking.

    The hostel is very close to the JR station. The room full of space which you can put your luggage inside. The bathroom is spacious and clean. There are free massage for customers. Also, bar is located right in the middle of the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay for a budget price. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’d have preferred the smokers room to not be located right where the laundry facilities are.

    I was so surprised at how classy things looked when I walked in that I had to double-check that I had the right place. It’s an extremely nice set-up for the price. Right across from the station, helpful staff, beautiful decor, laundry facilities, and bunk beds that open on opposite sides of the bed so that you never have to see the other occupant. Walls between beds and a large floor to celiing curtain insure privacy. Provided lockers are huge, enough to store multiple bags. There is a nice bar and lounge space, and you can even reserve a massage, if you want.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Modern, clean place near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are quite small. They are actually cubicles that don’t go up to the ceiling with a curtain to block the entrance and locker for storing luggages inside, so could be noisy if others are talking. It wasn’t an issue for us. More suitable for travellers who just need a simple place to stay for a short time.

    Very modern and clean place with large, bright and well-stocked shared bathroom. We were given pyjamas & toiletries as well. Very close to the train station, which was convenient for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    Was a little daunted by the hostel/capsule hotel layout...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a little daunted by the hostel/capsule hotel layout at first, but having our own little block, paired with the facilities being so immaculate, made the stay more enjoyable than some of the nicer "proper" hotels I've stayed at. The Gate also is conveniently right by Kumamoto Station, making it an ideal hub for anyone intending to do a lot of day tripping around Kyushu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.8
    The hostel is super near the train station, which is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is super near the train station, which is very convenient to travel and find something to eat. You will have your own space and a curtain to keep your privacy. However, the ceiling is totally open and the light doesn't go out at night. It might be too bright to sleep, also you can hear people walking around or even eating stacks. But the travelers during my stay were relatively nice and quiet, so it was still a nice stay for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    You can see Kumamoto station from the hotel, so very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doesn't really have a guest kitchen area if you were set on cooking or using a fridge, but otherwise great.

    You can see Kumamoto station from the hotel, so very convenient to get to/from the station. Very clean and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.2
    Special experience in Kumamoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy as you will hear noise from your "neighborhood". Sometimes your neighbor not intended to disturb others, but the lockers and keys provided by hotel are easily make noise. No much choice of restaurant and convenient store nearby, you may need to take tram to other district for dinner.

    The location is really nice, just beside the Kumamoto station. The price is relatively reasonable. The hotel is clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Close to the train and bus stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy during the night. Only a curtain that separated the rooms. There was a lot of light from the hallway that got into the room.

    Close to the train and bus stations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    Very close to the station and the staff were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel so it can be a bit noisy with people coming in and out, but other than that I didn’t have any problems here!

    Very close to the station and the staff were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a pretty good place, but the name "hotel" is definitely a misnomer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was one of the stranger places I've stayed in (at least, I've never stayed anywhere like here). It's kind of a cross between a hotel and a hostel. Hotel in that you get your own "room", but hostel in that it's still a giant common area. There are just walls between your area and the next group's area, which don't go to the ceiling, and your door is just a curtain. This isn't even necessarily a bad thing, but I just think it needs to be more apparent in the listing, especially when it's called a hotel right in the name, when it's not.

    My favorite part was how clean everything was. Like, it was REALLY clean. Even with 4 people, we were also quite comfortable in our fairly small room. We each had our own locker with ample space. The bathrooms were great and there were lots of showers which have all your amenities. We didn't check out the bar, but the prices were actually fair. You're right next to Kumamoto Station, as well as the tram stop, so getting where you need to go is a breeze. There are rooms available for singles and doubles as well. I would recommend, but I do have one small gripe...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    It's an interesting hybrid of a hotel and a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the high occupancy, there are some cleanliness challenges in the men's bathroom. I mean, it's a bathroom so I've seen worse haha

    It's an interesting hybrid of a hotel and a hostel. The massive space can sometimes feel like a fitness centre, but it didn't bother me. It's located right next to Kumamoto station, so that worked for me, as I just needed somewhere to stay for the night near the shinkansen line. The free amenities were a plus! I grabbed a razor, bath towel, slippers, and a hair brush :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed, located a stone's throw from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, located a stone's throw from the train station, good number of showers and toilets. Each bed has a locker that is locked with a key. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    Clean, facilities is ok, near the station and very easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really private, you cannot talk normally but there were some people come back late and make very load noise

    Clean, facilities is ok, near the station and very easy to find

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.1
    good location but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no wall-separation (just a curtain) between the room with the capsules and the bar wich is open until midnight (but people would continue beeing there and talk loudly even after the closing time) as well as the bathrooms... I really had trouble to sleep because of the noise.

    The capsules are very big, you have a lot of private space. And the location is very good, just in front of the JR station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    - The small but very convenient, clean and confortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The small but very convenient, clean and confortable room - Unlike some other comments, I did not have any noise problem since people staying at that time were really quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    Love This Hotel So Much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t find water dispenser for drinking free. There are vending machines but you can ask staffs for filling your bottle with mineral water.

    Clean, well-managed, English Guide, near Kumamoto Station! You can get amenities as well as blanket and ear plug for more conveniences and FREE! Wifi connection is fast, locker storage is also big enough!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    10
    Great modern hotel with option of great massage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could improve lighting during night it wasn't completely dark

    It was great! Massage was truly great value. Beds very comfortable. Very clean and modern. Super friendly stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect location (just across the street from the Kumamoto main train station) Sparkling clean in all areas. Bed is comfortable and very clean. Staffs are extremely nice and helpful. Very thoughtful design for functional bedroom (spacious locker, two power sockets besides each bed, slippery guard sticker on the ladder for upper beds) On the scale of 1 to 10, this place deserves an 11!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.9
    Room is clean but soundproofing facilities need to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I ordered a twin room, and it was just like what you see in the album - the bunk bed style room features a curtain door. However, the soundproofing facilities were bad. It contains around 40 beds in that area, and the walls don’t till up to the ceiling. Moreover, it uses hollow-wood construction, which echoed the noises.

    Stuffs were all nice and friendly. Room was clean. Location is easy to approach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.8
    smart hotel next to the main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Upper)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the location of the hotel is somewhat suboptimal. it's right across from the main station, so if you need public transport, this is quite convenient. however, it's about 20-30 mins away from the town center where restaurants and main attractions are - you can take a tram or buses to the center but that will eventually take you just as long as walking.

    I stayed here for 3 nights divided across two stays, because I liked it. smart capsule-like hotel; you can get a sense of your own private space by a curtain separating you from the hallway. even though the "rooms" are not entirely separated by walls (they do not reach till up to the ceiling), you can barely hear much of the other guests. of course this depends on the other guests behaving well and abide by the rules - but in Japan this goes without saying. everthing was really clean, you're provided with everything (pyjama, towels, toothbruch/-paste, soap, shampoo). internet is fast. staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. it seems to be the best you can get for this price in Kumamoto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    You need to try this out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room (Lower)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very welcoming and helpful despite not having the best English. Loved the lounge area and the bar. Cannot ask for a better location, just opposite to the Kumamoto Station. Unlike a capsule hotel, the room is basically a single room that gives you a lot of privacy. It can get a bit noisy because of the lack of proper doors but I have no difficulties sleeping through the night. Would definitely stay again on my next trip to Kumamoto!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Sleek, clean, budget, capsule-style
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite far from the actual center of Kumamoto, but right beside Kumamoto station.

    This hotel is an upper level capsule hotel and you should keep that in mind! It is very clean, but perhaps not as private as a business hotel. It's cheap and friendly and has a fun lobby bar. Recommended for backpackers, single travellers and flexible folk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    A great, safe and cheap option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning was dry and dehydrating.

    Perfectly located for a pitstop in Kumamoto before a weekend in Miyazaki. So close to the station and car renting companies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Group of japanese man who stay next to our room (family room) came lately night . Laughing and speaking very loudly until 3 AM . My family and i can’t sleep all night

    Cleanliness , front of train station I love this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.1
    Okay for an overnight stay, not great for everyone though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lights and heating remained on throughout the night, making it very difficult to sleep properly as the "rooms" are only separated by a curtain that does not go to the ceiling. Duvet/blanket was an odd-square shape. (I'd estimate 180x170cm) Despite a large locker provided for each guest, some security concerns as there are no doors or security between anywhere else in the hostel after entering the front door for reception.

    Very modern and clean. New building located right across from JR Kumamoto Station and the Kumamoto tram line. (Station area is under-developed, the city centre is a 10 minute tram ride away.)

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel The Gate Kumamoto Traveler Photo Gallery