Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae 3 stars

540-0025 Osaka Prefecture, Osaka, Chuo-ku Tokui-Cho 1-3-2, Japan

#267 of 392 hotels in Osaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2721 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Good price/performance ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (5 Adults) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one elevator for a lot of people, but it was the only negative point.

    Over all, it's a good low-price hotel. The staff is very friendly and speaks good english.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    * walking distance to Osaka castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * there’s no onsite 24hr staff. Staff shift ends at 2200 * you’ll have to pay for laundry. I’ve stayed at other mystays where laundry service was free * there’s a need to turn on the heater in order to have hot water. I was midway of my shower and the heater turned off automatically, I had to yelled out for someone to turn on the water heater * pictures on website are deceiving. Our room was old. It doesn’t look as nice as the pictures * our room was next to an apartment building. I can hear kids crying at 0600 even we had the glass door of the balcony closed. * audible footsteps from upstairs room

    * walking distance to Osaka castle * on site laundry room * close to train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Very nice. For this money very good size of room and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearness. Doors, windows and bathroom cones need to be washed.

    Location is great, just 9 min walt to Osaka Castle and Museum of history. and 5min from the train station. A lot of food option around. Be aware that you check in before 10 pm, because after that the reception is closed. Room was OK for family of 4.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was of room was no good. An inch of dust on the air conditioner’s filter and caused breath allergy. I booked no smoking room but the room still smell smoke.

    The location is great. Just walk for 5 mind to subway. Supermarket, convenient stores around with walking distance. Neighbor restaurant around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Meet the average expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facility inside the room is not as good as expected such as fridge, closet, and only one elevator for all available rooms are the way to less.

    General, meet the average expectation for the accommodation. the area around the hotel is good and lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    great location, size of the room very comfortable, balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 13 nights

    size of the bed, but this standard in japan; in th 2weeks no cleaning service was provided, only the towles were changed if we asked for it; the trash we had put infront of the door for someone to empty it. the bathroom was a little leacking from the top

    great location, size of the room very comfortable, balcony, great to have a smal kitchen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Quiet enough neighbourhood for a good rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (6 Adults) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire station also around the corner. Erratic auto aircon blowing / Hard Beds and small pillows make for a bad sleep - kids didn’t bother though.

    Quiet enough neighbourhood for a good rest. Metro, Eateries and convenience stores around the corner. Ok for the pricing. Mixed western bed and Japanese style apartment for good cultural experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Convinent. Good location. Worth the prize.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom, it's clean but with some black mark on the wall.

    It's different from other Mystays hotel, wider room space and cooking tool but without daily room clean service. It will fit the traveler who need a short period stay in Osaka with family member.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    It was a good and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon entry to the room the very strong cigar smell was really disappointing, though i know beforehand that it is a smoking room. It was twice that we went out and we not able to locate easily the Hotel.

    The given room to us was very spacious and comfortable for four people, it was like a family house. We can do light food preparation like salads and eat like we were in our own house. Beds are spacious, very clean linen and towels. as well. Staff were so supportive and attentive to us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Location not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning service was offered throughout the whole stay and onpy small bins provided. Location was not overly central to the city and main train lines- particularly JR lines

    The rooms were spacious and finctional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Not good for tall people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old property, looks like a serviced apartment not even close to a Hotel. Doors are small and for someone with more than 1.80m high you'll hit your head everytime

    Location, it is close to Osaka Castle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Old. Smelly. Noisy - balcony door wouldn't close. Left after one night of 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelled. Bathroom old and unrenovated. Rust leaking from taps. Toilet smelled so badly held breath to use. Noisy. Made worse as unable to close balcony door properly. Left after one night of 3 night stay.

    Beds OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect locality - quiet side street, located pretty close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely bad choice for tall people - i smashed my head few times (doorways designed for Japaneese), interior is a bit old.

    Perfect locality - quiet side street, located pretty close to subway station and Osaka Castle. Apartment itself was really big, with classic "western" table in the kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great for long stay. A value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far frm the nearest elevator from tanimachi4chome subway st.

    All the utilities. From the large kitchen to the spacious bathroom. They prvide ricecooker. The burner switch button is a bit low and my toddler can just press it to turn it on. Which is a bit dngerous. I cnt fall asleep until the little one does bcuz im afraid he wld be turning the stove on when im asleep or in the toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    very poor, not a three star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smell in room - musty smell general cleanliness, very dirty floors, my daughters feet would turn brown after her shower and need cleaning again before bed only 2 pillows only 2 towels tv did not work air conditioner did not work dirty marks throughout the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Sheets were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very old and had a odd smell to it every time we entered. Doors and walls has holes in them and was covered with tape. Very old hotel but Staff were great.

    Sheets were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice Appartment stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food and drinks area.

    The Hotel is very clean, the room was small but absolutely enough, very sweet design. At the reception there is laundry you can use. Location is not so far form the center, but there is a metro station very close. We left our bags for the day as we had a late flight and the staff were very cooperative and nice! You feel like you are in your apartment not hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Location close to train station, plenty of food choices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add Complementary water if possible - this was offered in most hotels i stayed in japan apart from mystays

    Location close to train station, plenty of food choices around, staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible!!! We will never stay at Mystays hotels and reconsider booking hotels with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unprofessional, did not use hospitality English, rooms were smelly, torn sheet was used, bathroom smelled, wall paper damaged, requested non-smoking rooms but the rooms smelled of cigarettes, shower changed temperature from hot to cold off and on. You constantly have to adjust the water which could cause burning. Elevator fits only 6 people, you wait over 10 mins for the elevator. When we requested a sheet change because a torn sheet was used. Staff said “ you have to pay.” We spoke to the manager, he said the same thing, additional for services. When my husband checked in and asked the price for extra night, manager told him $55. We checked booking.com website and it showed $45 on 4/13. We were overcharged!!!! Overall, experience and price we paid for 2 rooms @$300 a night was unacceptable, and we feel taken advantage of.

    Close to station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious, clean and modern apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is quite far from the main area of Shinsaibashi/Namba but is close to the subway station of Tanimachi Chome-4 which is a few mins away. Walking from said areas will take about 20-30 mins Towels are provided but cleaning/laundry is not done by staff during the duration of the stay but they do provide washing machines at the ground floor and an area for dumping rubbish. There are not many restaurants in the surrounding area but there are convenience stores like 7/11 or FamilyMart and a small Aeon supermarket which do provide sufficient choices.

    I would recommend this hotel for small families or a small group of travellers who require that extra space when compared to some hotels like APA as it provided a kitchen and living room in addition to the spacious bedroom and seemed more of a self-service apartment more than a hotel. Said facilities were also in good condition and was fairly clean when we checked in. Air conditioning is bedroom was sufficient. A lot of drawers and cabinets to store clothes and other items for those planning a long stay here. Staff were friendly and explained clearly. Hotel is very close to Osaka Castle so for those who plan to stay during the Sakura season, it is very convenient for those wanting the flexibility to check on the amazing views granted at the castle if the Sakura does not bloom at the exact time of your arrival to Osaka.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    2 nights in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was noisy. No utensils for tea coffee making. Only matcha provided.

    Had the quadruple room. A little outdated but functional. Could open doors to covered balcony for fresh air. 2 blocks from subway. Walking distance to Osaka Castle. Need subway to get everywhere else. Washing machines/dryer were handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Decent stay near the osaka castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looks old and small and could not be properly closed.

    The staff there all understands english. They have a place for you to wash your clothes. They have a functioning kitchen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Huge room with plenty of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be a little bit bigger

    I like the huge room with twin beds, however the bathroom is small but it was not an issue for me. The location is good, few minutes walk from the station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have bed lamps and bed stands ad the room was big enough to accommodate those. Also paper towels in the kitchen

    Very nice room, very comfortable, very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not polite. Room stunk of fish. Room was not clean. One lift for 11 floors.

    Nothing. Its an old apartment block masquerading as a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Superior room I booked was quite big than I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one elevator in the lobby area and it got crowded with group of people during check-in.

    Superior room I booked was quite big than I expected. I loved it. The kitchen area was big and the room was quite clean. The beds were comfy too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    The room I stay was quite big and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very clean but quite old. And the bed size is smaller than I thought.

    I like the room size. It is quite big and well worth the price. It has sink, refrigirator, microwave and few kitchen utensil. Just like staying in an apartment than a hotel. Which is great for family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great price, small, but full kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels in Japan need to copy your passports for your stay. That makes me uneasy

    I think was awesome that we had 3 bedrooms, especiallly since we had 3 single adults traveling together. Love the heated toilet and bidet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    feel like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (7 Adults) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room reserve for 6 person but have only 1 bath room so that make us late some day

    nice room for family nice kitchen nice staff not much far from subway station near family mart and 7-11

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap was dripping throughout the night and we could not stop it.

    Location was great. We checked-in after 1am as our flight was delayed but the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    The room has a small kitchen and you can walk from the hotel to Osaka Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can cook food/reheat food inside the room. Many restaurants outside the hotel. Great for bigger groups. You can walk from the hotel to Osaka Castle. Hotel is near Tanimachi-Yonchome Subway Station (Exit 4).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Very cheap and comfortable to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The odor of the room. It smelled smoke from the cigarettes and it need air freshener.

    We like how our room was spacious and it has a small kitchen with all then needed facilities. We have access to our own balcony. Booking was no problem at all and the price was great for our budget.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    This is a fairly comfortable accommodation experience>
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi signal is weak and unstable. TV screen is too small.

    When I respond to the kitchen there is inappropriate and require clean air conditional filter, the same day staff can be processed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Great value and lots of space for groups. Ok location.
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little hard and the room was a little dated. You also have to travel to see the sights! There IS everything you need at your doorstep, but you're definitely compromising location for more space and better value. However, if you're savy with planning your routes at the hotel with googlemaps in advance (I just screen shot my pages so I could look at them again on the go) than travelling around is really easy. Googlemaps will even tell you what signs to look out for on the undergrounds.

    We stayed in Tokyo a few days before and didn't enjoy the TINY room with no space for 2 international cases. We decided to cancel our hotel booking in Osaka and booked hotel Mystays instead only a day before. We're really glad we did this! The apartment had loads of space, making it much easier for repacking the suitcase and meeting with the rest of the family in between outings. We played games on the coffee table and had breakfast in one morning. It was great to have this option. The apartment is also really close to a 7-11 and only a short walk from the train station and underground.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    A good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed was smaller than expected. There is only one elevator in the premise. I had to wait for quite some time to get to the floor where my room was located.

    The room equipped with kitchen, freezer and everything I needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.9
    Horrible stay with crappy hotel employees!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff is very strict and somewhat rude!! I was told in a rude manner to move my shoes away as I had put them on a lower ledge of the laundry room table while resting. I was merely waiting with my shoes rested on the lower ledge of the table for less than 10 min and was told off my the hotel staff named Yumi. It was such a horrible experience!! She pretty much was behaving like a mad person in my face telling me off. Rooms have a weird configuration and matteress are very small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    Osaka is nice our hotel wasn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so much in this hotel is unlikable. I didn't like the picture hooks on the walls with no pictures. I didn't like the fact they ask you to pay before you've stayed. I didn't like the low ceilings and small barred windows ~ I didn't like the dirty carpet. I didn't like the fact they charged us Y2000 for checking out late ~ it's not even particularly cheap this hotel ~ it is however low quality.

    Nothing about this hotel is likeable ~ the staff were friendly so that was nice ~ it's in an ok location !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable especially for family travelling with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (5 Adults) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable especially for family travelling with kids. Everything is within reach. Restaurants, convenient stores and stations to get you where you want to go. The staff are helpful. They would recommend plces and restaurants where you can go to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    More like a inn (small flat) than a hotel, clean and comfortable enough, and in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building and the room are not very new (everything is clean, though), there are not so many sockets in the walls (there was a multi-plug on the desk, but it was not working). There are also no small lights next to the bed, or it is not possible to turn lights on/off from the bed (nothing critical, though).

    The room is very large. It is more like a small flat, since there is also a very small kitchen area. There is even a laundry room at ground floor, which can be handy. The building and the room are not very new, but everything looked clean and the room is quite comfortable. The location is very good: Osaka castle is within 20 min walking, two subway lines are 5/10 min walking, there are a couple of gyms very close, and a lot of convenience stores are in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    It was clean, well kept hotel, it more looks like an...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit of walk from station to the hotel.

    It was clean, well kept hotel, it more looks like an apartment as it is complete with facilities like kitchen etc. Staff are friendly and helpful too. We had a comfortable stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty figuring out how to turn on the heater as the instructions were in Japanese. The other hotels we stayed in gave simple English instructions on the wall so we could follow. Furniture was rather old

    Near Osaka Castle. Spacious with a kitchenette

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Ok convenient apartment like business hotel, quiet and easy access to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one elevator to serve all floors and rooms which is obviously insufficient in particular during rush hour. Very inconvenient.

    An apartment like business hotel with ok reasonable size room and small pantry, can do easy self-cooking if needed. Also with balcony to dry clothing, etc. It's few min easy walk to subway station and at a quiet street, yet, easy access to city centre and sightseeing. Restaurants and convenient stores nearby, not plenty but enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Unless you get a really good deal, I'd recommend finding a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly due to the weekend we travelled there (Osaka Marathon), the room was ridiculously overpriced for the quality of the room. Outdated and rundown, especially the bathroom. Beds were hard, too. Also, because we were only able to book a room which specified it was for 3 adults with an additional child sharing a bed (we usually have our two kids share one bed and we take the other), they only provided 3 pillows and were very clear that they would not provide another pillow for our other child.

    It was nice to have the kitchen/dining area separate from the bedroom area. The location was conveniently located near Osaka castle and the subway line. The staff spoke English well and the check-in/check-out process was easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Just 5 minutes away from Osaka Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nil

    One of my best stays in Japan. The room is spacious for two person. It is about 5 minutes walk from Tanimachi 4-chrome station. A pleasant and quiet neighbourhood, nice to walk around. Osaka Castle is just 5 minutes walking distance and less than 10 minutes away from Keihan City Mall. At Keihan City Mall, go to the top floor to have an overview of the area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was great and clean. The subway station is well connected to different parts of Osaka. 30 minutes to Universal Studio Japan and less than 10 mins away ride to Namba and Umeda station. Will recommend to stay here. Please note that there is extra charges for housekeeping, however, the room was equipped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know why but our room was really dry even we turned air purifying on every morning. And the location isn't that good to go central area. But it's close to Osaka castle.

    Staff was really nice. They have an elevator which is convenient but very small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    I like the spacious rooms and kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food service on property. Could at least offer continental breakfast.

    No food service at this property. Beds are typical Japanese, firm. More like an apartment than a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    The room was amazingly big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some facilities in the toilet or bath room are a little old. But basically it didn't cause any trouble.

    The room was amazingly big. I just booked for 2 but the room could be with 4 or even more. Close to the Osaka castle, which is perfect if you would like to a job in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel was very convenient, approximately a 5-minute walk from the train station. The room cleanliness was great, amenities were good and complete, staff were friendly and polite, room size was great for a couple - would recommend it to all!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    I was happy with my stay up until after we checked out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby staff kindly refused to help a young lady and her elderly mum and two large luggages to call for a cab and was instead advised to go out to the main road in the rain with our luggages to hail a cab ourselves... not very helpful don't you think? Is it that expensive or difficult to call for a cab for your guests? We were left out in the cold and wet to find our way to the train station. I was not impressed with the hospitality....

    Room was spacious and clean, no change of bedsheets during my 4 day stay, if you want towel changed, you may exchange for fresh ones yourself downstairs, you clear your own trash but they do provide you trash bags.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.8
    Worst experience in Japan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Mystays Tokyo before and we loved it. But Mystays Osaka was a disaster! It was like a very old, very dirty apartment rather than a hotel room. Location may seem central but it's on backstreets, thus not safe and not so close to metro station. Lobby is closed between 10 pm-8 am so if you need anything between those ours, there's no one. Coin laundry drying didn't work, after 3 cycles our laundry was still wet. Room was dirty, there were holes in our sheets, also slippery floor OUTSIDE of the bathroom. We fell and injured ourselves. I do not recommend it and I am sorry to see mystays quality is poor in Osaka.

    Young members of staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmm .. There was not much inconvenience .

    My room was soooo clean and snug to stay . I was able to make the nice trip 👍🏻 And it was same as the picture .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were hard. The air conditioning leaked. Short doorways. Booking.com suggested a room for 4 people for 5 of us. Not sure why. There were only 4 beds. Should've paid closer attention to the room details. Lesson learned.

    The staff was very friendly. Decent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    value for money hotel in downtown Osaka
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location wise, it is quite far from nearest subway, yet strangely close to Shinsaibashi/Dotombori. pro tip: take the taxi if you are a group of 3 or less, a cab to Shinsaibashi will cost you a mere 700 yen

    this hotel was once an apartment that was changed into a hotel. a real value for money, especially in Osaka (whose hotel prices often went straight to the roof)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (5 Adults) - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 2 adults and 4 children. When we arrived they gave us a room for 5 and said they didn't have any 6 bed rooms. Kids had to share a hard old pillow for 2 nights. Not happy about this. Hotel is miles away from everywhere had to catch 2 trains to get there and then walk with all our gear. Not recommended for families or short stays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    I had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote control for aircon doesnt have an english translation. The toilet paper was so thin. Not enough dining chairs. We

    That it's complete with kitchen appliances and utensils. We were able to cook what we wanted to eat especially for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    not too far from a great ramen place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no hotel staff after 10pm. no room service. no fresh towels had to get your own at reception. cleanliness wasnt great. hotel room we had wasn't as nice as the pictures show. coat hangers loose in a draw but no where to hang your clothes up

    short walk to the subway and walking distance to restaurants/shops

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Cosy apartment hotel for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (5 Adults) - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not really attended my inquiry about availability of 5 pax taxi that actually seen while strolling in Shinsaibashi area the night before checkout.

    There are 3 separate rooms suitable for family with tatami flooring which is good to experience Japanese home style.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Since no cleaning service is available during the rest of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since no cleaning service is available during the rest of the stay so you have to dispose on your own the garbage inside the room, otherwise room will smell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place worth for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is okay It's close to convenient stores but a bit far from shopping area and station(10m. Walk)

    The room is spacious and many kitchen appliances provided

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    Fair stay in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not so friendly, no housekeeping avialable, only 2 pillows for a family of 3, no extra allowed.

    In term of the price, it is very reasonable that having a big room with mini kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit smelly. i think it's because the building is old.

    very good value for money. good for outing with friends or business if you want to cook for yourself or if you hate a long stay in hotel. very close to the metro and easy to go to city. relaxing, safe and very calm area next to osaka-jo (osaka castle). good supermarkets nearby and good for weekend relax during long business trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable, affordable stay in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff is a bit pissed off when I couldn’t understand his direction on turning on the hot water. He really showed his displeasure and annoyance that he has to go to the room to show us.

    The room is spacious, and it’s within walking distance to convenience stores, restaurants, cafes and a subway station. The staff is generally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old building, recently renovated and transformed into a hotel. The room looked new although it has a tiny old-fashioned kitchen and the bathroom could look a little better. But overall it's a nice place.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is modern and comfortable. The room is big enough. It's 500 metres away from the metro, so it's not a great location but it's fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location in center of Osaka, well equiped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No cleaning of the room during our 3 days stay (mentioned by staff at check in) Isolation of the windows not so good, traffic can be heard

    Confortable room, well equiped Close to Osaka-castle (10-15min walk) Reasonable priced parking nearby to park the car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.3
    this is a really bad experience during my trip to Japan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is a really bad experience during my trip to Japan. 7th July night, about 10:30 pm I went to front desk to ask for a pillow. The staff, a young man replied me, impatiently, these was no additional pillow. I said usually hotel provides two pillows for each but why you only give one. The rudely said we are not a hotel. Unbelieverly. what's the hotel name? I asked the name of staff and said I am fine if there is no additional pillow but am totally unsatisfied with your attitude and would complian. He ambiguously said some Japaness which I don't understand but gut feel those were not a courtesy greeting. I've travelled to Japan many times. Evey person I met in Japan are very polite and civilized except this one. Really beyong disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.0
    Hotel for a family or large group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed in this hotel for three times. We find the price very reasonable, and the facilities in the room are very family friendly. The location is also excellent. We will stay there again when we visit Osaka in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    Bait and Switch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bait and switch. The lobby is the only part of the hotel that is upgraded. It was previously a "weekly condo" which are condos that Japanese business men use as a second home when they are working long hours at the office and can't make the treck back to their home in the suburbs. The rooms are similar to college dorms at best and the whole condo reminded me of a scene from a Japanese horror movie. Staff is not accommodating and will not give you extra towels or pillows, even for your children! You can get much more for you money elsewhere!!!!

    Room was spacious & walking distance to Osaka castle. Hotel is 2 blocks away from subway station with connection to most major tourist attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's by far the worse mystays hotel that we stayed in (we stays in different Mystays hotels throughout japan), the staff is rude and doesn't care much, we checked in at 10:30 pm found the front desk close and the staff made it look like they made us a favor by checking us in after 10:00 even though in booking it's mentioned that it's until midnight and that's just an example of their attitude on the top of that the room is smelly and far from clean, we already stayed in this same hotel 2 years ago and the experience was totally different. If you have to choose go for Mystays hotel Shinsaibashi the location is great and the staff totally professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.6
    Unclean and worn down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Tatami Area (6 Adults) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the hotelroom was worn down and and the room needed a great deal of cleaning, all the sheets and towels were nice and clean. We stayed on night which was more than enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice comparing with price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some bad smell in living room. The air condition and water temperature controller were all in Japanese. Some instruction paper should be written to help tourist. The reception was not open 24 hrs.

    We booked twin room. The room has a living room, kitchen, toilet, shower and bedroom. Look like it's been an apartment before. The room was renovated, but some old furniture remains. To make the shower water become hot, you'll need to adjust the controller in the living room. The bed is nice, clean and soft.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    A little desappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Mystays hotel was little desappointing .The room is not so clean with a bad smell . Difficult to find a place to eat still open after 10 PM in this area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice and cozy place to stay. Big space ever in Osaka.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    compared with other accommodations in Osaka. The space is bigger. For those travel with elder and older family, the large space and kitchen facility would help you a lot. (At least you don't need to run to another room to check if other family still okay.) Supermarket just cross the road (its a service apartment so I cook sometimes.) And a subway just 1 block away. 4 stops to Nanba station shopping area. I would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet neighbourhood close to Osaka Castle, large room with great facility and furnishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned daily, and require change of train line if arriving at Osaka station by train.

    Very spacious room for Japanese standard, fully furnished kitchen even with rice cooker.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Good for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem I had with this hotel was the size of the bath room. The size of the room was pretty big compare to other hotels I had stayed in Kansai/Osaka area. Yet the bath room was a bit too small.

    Convenient location, quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.5
    Don't come in this bad hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service you have to change your own tissues, very noisy from neighbors. from old apartments they try to make hotel it's very dirty and not convenient you can get much better with the same price

    Not like the pictures be careful

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: