Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kanagawa hotel reviews
  4. Hakone hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Yushintei

Reviews of Yushintei This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

250-0312 Kanagawa, Hakone, Yumotochaya 193, Japan

#93 of 136 hotels in Hakone

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 555 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.9
    Overall pleasant stay. It could have been much better if it was not for holiday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think Hakone itself I did not like. Big trap on name of relaxation.

    I like staff very much at this Ryokan. We did not book the meal with them so I can not talk about food. The location of this facility is nice but facility itself is bit old. Overall pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    We booked a room with a private open air bath, it was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a room with a private open air bath, it was lovely. The food was magnificent. It gave us a very nice relaxing night in the middle of a very busy holiday. We were happy to pay the price for the experience and because it was our honeymoon we thought why not for one night, we thought it was well worth it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    A ryokan experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi could be better.

    Great experience of Japanese culture. Hosts very friendly and helpful. We had Japanese meal for dinner and breakfast which were delicious and beautifully served in our ryokan unit. We had the unit with private bath behind our unit which uses hot spring water. They also have the service to deliver luggage to the train station while we continue with sight seeing on the second day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    Nice experience traditional ryokan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are so strict with the time. We arrived early after a very big trip from Bangkok straight there and we get there about 12pm. They can't let us check in and relax early. We needed to walk along to find restaurants.

    Auntie Hisako was very lovely and friendly.she made us very experienced meal. And in room service.The room was clean but quiet old. Love the onsen.food was great but bit little

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    clean,tidy,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner and breakfast provided were nice and fancy. The aunt who served us was very kind and warm. The hotel was very clean and the hot springs was good. By the way, the English of the hotel's proprietress was pretty good. In short, we really enjoyed ourselves here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Staff are very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were gaps between windows and the walls that weren't properly sealed so there many mosquitoes in our room making it difficult to sleep.

    Staff are very friendly and polite. Really enjoyed the Japanese food offered - each meal was about 4 courses and quite filling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.8
    Top-notch service, picturesque location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the sound of the river running nearby, this property is a bit of a dream. The service was unparalleled with in-room meal service and the most hospitable staff around. The onsen was the best we had during in our time in Japan and the rooms are spacious and airy. The dinner is a must.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    Very simple place, dinner was great and special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Level of maintenance could have been better. Feels a bit old, but it might be part of the idea of the place. No view.

    Interesting experience. The staff was super kind and unique.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    We came to hakone to see Mount Fuji - although the weather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was a little vintage but didn’t lose its charm.

    We came to hakone to see Mount Fuji - although the weather wasn’t with us and we didn’t get to see it, we had a memorable time at yushintei! The food was beyond incredible, it was the first time we tried the ryokan experience and were not disappointed. The staff was lovely and very welcoming!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very good exerpience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meal time, only few options to choose:( if you wanna sleep in for your holiday, better not choose your stay included meals at least not breakfast.

    Even thought the lady who was in charge of our room could not speak English but she’s really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.8
    a very good ryokan experience- with great food and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service was excellent, together with the food and the onsen. as it was the first time we stayed in a ryokan, we found the experience to be very interesting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.3
    Decent value for money but at the end of the day, a sub-par ryokan/onsen/Hakone experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities are old and our room smelled like tobacco. Customer service needs some help - They were polite but we felt unnecessarily rushed by staff when eating and also checking out.

    Meals served in room a nice experience. Onsens were also decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    This stay is one of my top memories of our Japanese trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed only one night.

    Yukeko, our hostess & chef was extraordinary. She adjusted the menu for one of our party’s shell fish allergy. Her warm welcoming manner helped us feel right at home. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic! The in room onsen was so relaxing...........

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent food and lots of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor a little dated. Whilst it was traditional, it needs some fresh carpets and paint in parts.

    Excellent food and lots of it. Good onsen facilities. Friendly and welcoming staff. 15 minute walk from the station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    Great, full of mindfulness, unforgetable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was our first time to stay at ryokan and it was an amazingly great one. We took the room with the private onsen. A very relaxing experience. The food served in the room was another mindfulness experience. It tasted perfectly, the plates were aranged on the table as well as the food on each plate with the details in mind. The staff an specially the older lady that communicated with us was extremely friendly. We were a bit ashamed of ourselves not to learn japanese language at least the basic before coming to Japan. But there will always be the next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Everything was exectly what I had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The private open-air hot spring bath was great. The service for the in-room dinner and breakfast was wonderful. Food was plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    We stayed in a room with a private onsen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Looking at my card statement afterwards :D

    We stayed in a room with a private onsen. What a wonderful experience! Yukiko (the lady who brought our food and checked us in) is one of the most amazing people I've ever met. Even with the language barrier, she tried to explain everything we were eating. We laughed together, she even came out to stop the bus for us. She is just one of those people so full of life -joy just seems to ooze out of her.I will forever remember her as the one person who impacted me most during this trip and made our stay here so remarkable. I had tears in my eyes when I left.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommend for people who wants for true tradtional Ryokan experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    *As the Ryokan is a old and traditonal, it brought Nostalgia but found many dust in the room but we loved it by people there. *Small onsen but created memory with my little boy.

    *Personalized and very warm traditional Ryokan service. *Fantastic kaiseki (Japanse course meal).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Great place for traditional experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner and breakfast were delicious (traditional Japanese menu). Staff were really nice, some communication challenges with minimal English. Easy to get to by taking shuttle from station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    The staff was great, lovely, helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was only available in a room downstairs, and they did not speak much English. But they absolutely made you feel at home anyway.

    The staff was great, lovely, helpful and kind. You could hear the river from the room. Onsen outdoors was lovely, and having traditional dinner and breakfast was a great experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Relaxing and superb holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt at home away from home thanks to wonderfully attentive and friendly staff, a private open air onsen and exquisite Japanese breakfast and dinner in a tatami room. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    6.3
    Good however I expect a bit better given the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needs a bit update. The private osen bath is cold, although the public one is nice.

    The service is very good. Both dinner and breakfast are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.2
    Private open-air onsen was fantastic, and the in-room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds weren't horrible - the mattress we had was likely better than a typical Japanese futon - but the mattress was little more than a box spring

    Private open-air onsen was fantastic, and the in-room service for dinner and breakfast was a unique experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Perfect hot spring experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is great place to relax after long day of walking. The little grandma that serve us was so kind and nice, she's such a sweetheart. Everything was cozy and nice. The food was traditional Japanese food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Totally enjoyed this accommodation imbued with Japanese...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally enjoyed this accommodation imbued with Japanese culture. Spa is lovely. Tatami style bedroom and dining in a separate room is the more spacious than typical other types of stays I have experienced in Japan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay in Yushintei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really enjoyed my stay in Yushintei. The staff is AMAZING, really nice people. Loved the dinner too. Everythings was delicious, especially the mushroom soup =) The public bathroom is breath taking. I really wish there was something like that near where i live! :) You can reach the hotel from hakone station with a shuttle bus of the hotels that cost around 100 yen pp one way. Hakone is a really nice little town. Super hotel!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We chose the standard room with public bath, it smeled bad in the room and the closet was dark and not nice. There was a hair in our dinner. No locker in bath room. No safe place for put the money and precious belonging in the room. We had in- room checked out, we have the appointment with the hotel’s officer. At that time, he entered the room without my permission. I was dressing up!!! That was very rude and not acceptable.

    Location was good. We could reach easily with city shuttle bus. They have two public bath but only one bath was at good standard, the one at the front of the counter. I had smelled Chlorine in the bath tub, it should be spring water!!! The hotel’s officers could speak English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.3
    A lovely experience in a traditional Japanese ryokan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely experience in a traditional Japanese ryokan. The staff were lovely, especially the little old Japanese lady who attended my room despite the minimal English/Japanese spoken on either side. The private onsen bath was really nice although a bit dimly lit at night. The two public onsens were great, both with an indoor and outdoor bath although no views. Highly recommend the included dinner, so many courses and everything was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a wonderful stay! The dinner and breakfast were varied and delicious, the room was huge and the private onsen was very relaxing. The best part is the staff that were there for our every need. Great truly Japanese experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    8.8
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, the rooms were quite old and there were quite a few bugs entering the rooms but it was okay. Nothing bad about this place really

    The location is great! Close to the station and restaurants. The staff was very nice and caring, the food was quite good. The best part was definitely the private onsen inside the room. Considering the size of the room and the open air bath the price is very good. Would recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.2
    Real Japanese Ryokan experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. You just need to stick to the etiquette. This isn't an hotel...

    Real Japanese Ryokan experience. To do at least once in a lifetime. People so nice. They don't speak a proper English but they are so nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    9.2
    Warm and welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs were absolutely lovely!! The lady that served us dinner and breakfast was such a sweet lady and was super welcoming. The whole atmosphere of Yushintei was very welcoming, definitely one of my favourite experiences in Japan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was peaceful, and very easy to get to when you take the shuttle bus from just outside the station ( only ¥100 pp). Our room was facing the river, so it was very calming to open the sliding doors and listen. The staff were excellent, making us as comfortable as possible, checking us in once we got to our room, explaining what each dish was during dinner and breakfast, and showed us how to flag down the shuttle bus the next morning. There was even a wakeup call about half an hour before breakfast, to make sure you were ready for it. The baths were small, but very clean and the water was lovely. Other amenities are provided in the bathrooms too, such as spare small towels, disposable hair brushes, cotton buds, razors, and a hair drier. Dinner was multiple courses, all of which were well prepared and presented, and deliciously fresh. We opted for the Japanese style breakfast, which was a very interesting experience! My advice would just be to take the clothes you need in a rucksack/bag and leave larger suitcases in the coinlockers at Hakone-yumoto (¥600), as the shuttle bus is quite small and there may not be room for a large case on it. I really wish I had booked in for another night, as the experience was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.6
    5 star hospitality and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Really love the hospitality from this place. Very good dinner and very friendly owner. Could not ask for more from their hospitality. Thank you and highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    8.3
    Experience the real japanese traditional mood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long comment here we go! Important: Don't expect the service of a hotel. This is 旅館, ryokan, which is more casual than hotel. OVERALL: - Good place for those who wanna experience Japanese traditional mood. - Language barrier: we communicated in Japanese so I don't know. Check out other non-japanese opinions on this matter. - The schedule is tight in a ryokan. Take that into account according to how "free" you want to be. STAFF: The old lady that assited us was really friendly trying to make our stay as comfortable as possible. ROOM: - Standard - Second floor, heading east, right where the entrance is. - Smoking was available, although there was no remaining smell of tabaco of any kind. - Area for eating and area for relaxing both with table and two chairs and separated by paper doors. - Small television. - Small refrigerator loaded which different soft drinks and beer. - Standing air conditioner. Dusty but I didn't care. We just didn't use. - Restroom en suite: toilet is standar, washstand enough for hands but not for brushing teeth. - Light: incandescent lamp used for traditional mood. - Traditional japanese dressing table. For make up I suggest sitting next to the window in the morning or going to the shared restroom. - Oshire filled with enough hangers, 2 sets of yukata, big towels, small bags filled small towels for onsen and tooth brush and paste. - No view. - We slept on futon. Extremely confortable but that depends on the taste. SPECIAL FEATURES: - You could hear the river. So relaxing!! Just open the windows. - Net on windows. Easy way to get some fresh air. ONSEN: - Private onsen had to be booked aside. It costed about 1800 yen. It was not that special and no views. You just pay for bathing in intimacy. If you want to enjoy a FULL romantic experience book a room with onsen bath en suite. - The shared onsen was very beautiful with rotenburo (open air bath). Still no views. Closed at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, relaxing stay. Amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meals, served in our own private tatami room, were amazing. It was a great way for the adults to be able to enjoy a fancy meal while not worrying about the kids bothering other diners. The staff were incredibly kind, welcoming and helpful. The onsen baths were beautiful and so relaxing after a day of adventuring.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.6
    Great authentic ryokan experience, perfect for exploring Hakone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were extremely friendly, allowed me to try my amateur Japanese skills! Also the enormous kaiseki dinner was excellent and the private onsen worth the extra money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.6
    Authentic Vintage Japan experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kaiseki supper and breakfast was impeccable. Beautifully served and delicious.2 warm baths very relaxing.lovely quiet neighbourhood.you can hear water stream gurgling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We slept on futons and they were very comfortable. The japanese dinner and japanese breakfast were delicious. The onsen was really relaxing. The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable accomodation clise to fushimi Inari and 5 minutes train from main station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was that it was very cold in the house, an electrical heater would be nice. Possibility to heat with the AC but still not enough warm. This point is only important if you come here during winter time.

    Very nice and clean 3 Storey house with 4 rooms in a quiet neighbourhood 5-10 Minutes walk from a JR Station( convenient whith the JR Pass), with the train 5 Minutes from Kyotos Central station. Fushimi Inari is close to the appartment. Possibility to have breakfast close to the JR Station. The pocket Wi-fi was very convenient. Very good accomodation for the price!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    This was the highlight of my trip to Japan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I only wish there was an option to pay online before you arrive. Or atleast pay when you arrive. We ran into some trouble with the connection between my credit card and the location when we were and it was the only one I brought. So we had to do a lot of run around took a taxi to find an atm to withdraw the money, which had to be done in separate amounts because of the transaction limit. It cost a lot in atm fees and taxi fare. All I'm saying i guess is I would recommend you bring cash set aside just for the hotel.

    The staff at yushintei are very kind, pleasant and accomodating. They were the most memorable part of my trip. The rooms were cleanly, very spacious and updated. The outdoor bath was very relaxing. The inroom meals were delicious. I would definitely come back and stay a little longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    9.2
    First time visiting a ryokan. Deeply impressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff was the best aspect of our trip to Yushintei. A true example of omotenashi. They knew enough English to communicate instructions, how to wear the clothes we were given, explain the dishes in the meal, and even ask about how/where we would be travelling next. The location is a bit far for a walk but we came on a clear, sunny day so the walk offered beautiful scenery to and back. The building itself seems a little bit worn out and the meals are rustic and very traditional, but very enjoyable as the lady who served us truly seemed to enjoy conversing and being there as she presented the kaiseki. There are 2 onsen, each with an indoor and outdoor portion. We must have gone during a quieter season because almost everytime I went, I was able to enjoy it alone. Would love to come back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    10
    Beds were nice warm and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were nice warm and comfy. Staff were all very nice and friendly. Dinner and breakfast provided were in big proportions and I could share it with my 3 year old! Choice of American or Japanese breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    9.6
    The food was so delicious, and the staff was very nice and...
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is a little bit old. But the decoration is good.

    The food was so delicious, and the staff was very nice and friendly. We had great time at their place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    8.3
    Great traditional Japanese experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sort of in the middle of no where, we couldn't see Mt Fuji although I'm unsure if it was because of the foggy weather. The toilet was a little smelly in our room too but it wasn't a big deal.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Wish I got the name of the lovely man who brought us our DELICIOUS Japanese style dinner and American breakfast. The beds were super comfortable and Japanese style too, thank you from the guests who owned the yellow lion toy. Would recommend staying here! Good price for what it is

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    7.9
    The friendly staff and Japanese hospitality, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Futon blanket was a little too short for a taller person

    The friendly staff and Japanese hospitality, especially the amount of food! The private open air bath was amazing! So relaxing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very, very expensive for what you get. This is a very simple/basic ryokan and shouldn't be charging 48000 yen for a night.

    Friendly people running the place and an average location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    real Japanese immersion and experience great traditional diner and breakfast entire place has a Japanese feel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    7.5
    the reception did not speak English, so we communicate with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception did not speak English, so we communicate with Translation App on phone. the dinner and breakfast is sooo good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    The staff was really nice and helped us with finding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was really nice and helped us with finding directions to local attractions and shuttle buses. It was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    The food was fabulous and had a nice onsen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really although mat on floor uncomfortable

    The food was fabulous and had a nice onsen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Great host, very traditional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great host, very traditional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Joyous. Loved every minute of this authentic Japanise Onsen. Wonderful hoasts magic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mos gracious and welcoming hosts. Great location. Wonderful traditional character and wonderful traditional meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.8
    Happy to come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming staff, quiet spa and delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    8.8
    Authentic, relaxing and delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was served a bit earlier than would have liked

    Staff and private onsen. The food was also great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    6.7
    The place is getting a bit rundown, but the food and staff were phenomenal. Still had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place/room needed some work and TLC. I didn't expect that for the price we were paying.

    Wonderful food and delightful people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great job way to kick start the Japan trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    The staff- very poliet and extremely helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    7.1
    stay was good, but would have done more walking if it wasn't for the rain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    onsen is very small. food was mostly fish which I don't like but my husband liked it.

    nice cozy place no big crowd.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.3
    Everyone was welcoming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very hard

    Dinner was exquisite and memorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Extreme hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Extreme friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great traditional Japanese Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great traditional Japanese Inn. The service is awesome and on point.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.1
    Great food & place, but staff could be more relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was rushing, following a plan. It didn't feel like holiday but rather as following a schedule.

    Very tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect experience for a traditional Japanese stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service is excellent. The staff at yushintei genuinely wants to provide the best service possible. Food - awesome!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.3
    Air-con was noisy and the light was too bright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air-con was noisy and the light was too bright

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Great dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great dinner and breakfast. Nice staffs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.8
    The walls of the room looked too old, with some renovation,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls of the room looked too old, with some renovation, it would be perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    8.3
    Great experience in a Japanese style lodging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had Japanese dinner and breakfast bought to our room,very tasty. Excellent services.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely property and food to stay for a night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor but clean

    Lovely staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    8.3
    location, easy to access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Triple Room - Room Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, easy to access

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    9.6
    Food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff The breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    10
    Wonderful and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    True Japanese experience! Awesome staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish the toilet could have bidet haha

    everything, everything was nice enough, food was delicious, bath was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2016

    9.2
    The staff there are very very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet connection in the room, only in lobby area.

    The staff there are very very nice! Excellent Japanese dinner and breakfast, nice hot springs with two room-options, location is quite convenient by taking a local bus from Hakoneyumoto.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: