Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5 stars

Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia

#67 of 427 hotels in Siem Reap

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We bought a package but the comunication it was not good. There was a misunderstanding about included services.

    Garden, swimming pool are Beautiful. Position is perfect to visit Angkor Wat. Room is clean and confortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check out was a disaster and the pool bar crew was cracking under the strain. They couldn’t work together and were complaining and pointing fingers at one another over service issues - in front of the guests awaiting smoothies and sandwiches. Tacky! Also the breakfast staff got overwhelmed by the tour group. That was a bummer for those of us not a part of the group. A hotel of this caliber should staff for the comings and goings of groups so that other guests can still eat with ease.

    Wonderful breakfast, huge pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was water leakage in my room and my clothes got wet ... but it was fixed soon, so it is ok in the end.

    All the staff here were so nice and kind. I booked 9-hall golf for me and fishing for my kid, and everything was arranged so smoothly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mosquitos were out of control - I had been in Cambodia for several days prior and did not experience any issues, but at this property, I woke up every morning with welts on my face and body from the mosquitos in my room. The property was spraying the grounds the second day I was onsite, but this didn't seem to alleviate the problem.

    The service was impeccable - the staff made every guest feel like royalty between complimentary beverages and cold towels, pleasant conversations from every employee and top-notch support from the concierge. Also, the Christmas brunch was superb - one of the best brunch buffets I've ever had - such a treat! And room service was prompt and hit the spot after a long day - good mix of traditional Khmer cuisine with more western fare.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Property is beautiful and conveniently located near the main Angkor temples and is not far from the city centre. Western food at the hotel was excellent. However, if one wants to try local choices, we found better choices in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and grounds were absolutely beautiful. The staff was so incredibly helpful with our every need. They were extremely polite and professional. They should be very proud of all the work they do at this wonderful hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The concierge was disappointing. 1)We fixed a temple tour using the concierge and specifically requested for a knowledgeable guide. The guide was disappointing, didn't tell us much and was way more expensive than market rates. Throughout the trip we were trying to hear what other guides are telling their clients and then prompting and asking our guide. He seemed least interested in telling us beyond very basic information. He was a good photographer but that wasn't enough. He tried to take us to his "friend's" restaurant, which was way more expensive for average food. Also tried to take us to $40/ head performance!! I felt the concierge was getting a share of all this as he kept pushing us for a follow-on trip next day 2) Concierge was trying to push certain restaurants which didn't seem that great. We finally decided to rely on tripadvisor / other internet resources. I would urge hotel to make sure their staff are giving clear unbiased advise to clients vs making money on the side through kickbacks!!

    Beautiful property, nice open space, very clean, great service, staff is very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was very prompt in their service. Good pool, nice breakfast spread. Overall fabulous place to stay. They had messed up on our airport pick-up as some other guest took the car but they made up for it with their service. Perfect place except for the concierge (see below)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurants are seriously over priced. Lunch and a drink at the pool is not much different then a American hotel. Knowing what I know now I wish I had booked Raffles. Other than breakfast the hotel restaurants are not worth the money and offer little variety. The fixed menu French restaurant didn't look worth it. People that I talked to were satisfied but not impressed.

    The buffet breakfast (hard to eat $26 dollars of breakfast food)was better than average and service was great. The room was quite far from the lobby but the place is spread out and not much was close. It is well located. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The highlight of the stay was SAM the tuk tuk driver that my wife befriended. Ask the doormen for him. It will be worth it. He spoke very good English and was very reasonable price wise. During our 4 days my wife booked him exclusively. He took us to the WAT and got up before 5 to see the sunrise. Unfortunately, It was overcast each day. He took her on several shopping sprees and knew some very good restaurants. The Angor Wat is incredible but the hotel has nothing to do with that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is a very high concentration of mosquito as is for the entire area of Siem Ream. Service such as dry cleaning and washing is quite expensive. I was a bit surprised. Similar to NYC. Breakfast was not so good. Always the same. Service could have been better.

    Very good resort in a great location. Central to Pub street, night market, Anchor Wat and other tourist attractions. this is 5 star accommodation. Staff is very friendly. Garden and swimming pool areas are very lovely and very well maintained. The onsite France restaurant is very beautiful and food is very good. Service is excellent. I highly recommend this resort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no pick up from airport, make sure get confirmation from hotel :( gecko in the room, sometimes crawling on the pillow :( facility is old, need maintenance

    wonderful local staff, beautiful garden, great breakfast, superior bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    The staff were so friendly and thought of everything - even handing us an umbrella to get to the restaurant during a storm. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi on occasions was slowish.

    Exceptional! Arrived early and was told my room would be ready early. Thumbs up after a long period travelling! Service throughout was first-class. I stayed 8 nights and was gifted 2 fruit bowls and a desert platter during my stay plus a welcome drink in the bar. Complimentary water and quality L'occitance toliteries. Very good breakfast buffet. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Can recommend this hotel if want a luxury experience without hesitation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything ! Really , this is a great place to stay in Siem Reap . close to the temples , Great food , quiet , great staff , resonable prices . I cannot remember since I stayed in a hotel and like it so much .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and restaurants are a bit overpriced - Cambodia is a very cheap country and you can find good food in other 5 stars hotels in Siem Reap for a lower price. We had ordered a takeaway breakfast for sunrise at Angkor Wat and we really surprised to find in a box that costed ca.$ 40 just a small bottle of water, two pastries, marmalade and a boiled egg!!

    Luxurious hotel with a large territory, a big pool and a comfortable area to relax after visiting Angkor temples. Very polite and helpful staff. We were upgraded without additional payment to the ground floor room with a private terrace faces the pool area. Good restaurants, one has a local apsara dancing show every evening, very exiting! Breakfast with a wide choice of Asian and European dishes. We Iiked this hotel very much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit outdated for a deluxe room, we also feel like we've been been given an inferior room that overlooked the road instead of the garden or pool. The New Years food was way too expensive and didn't include drinks.

    The hotel grounds, breakfast and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Web site does not do the place justice not enough detail. Should be a free airport transfer. They charge $35 each way when you can easily organise a taxi for $12.

    Incredible staff so friendly and polite and helpful from the gardeners to the managers. Free fishing in the hotel lake and they'll cook what you catch ! Comfortable beds, spacious room. Excellent pool and grounds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big gaps under the room door allow sound to travel in. It can be noisy especially with kids running up and down the corridor.

    Location; in the middle of the city but feels like a resort. Serene setting and beautiful grounds. Decent food and free wifi is always a plus!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No activities offered by the hotel for teenagers.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful decoration when you enter the hotel and divine ambiance perfume. Nice swimming pool. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The most amazingly helpful staff I have come across in any hotel in over 100 countries visited. Couldn't do enough to assist from the minute we arrived until we left. Lovely facilities and great pool area. Cambodian room gifts were a really nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from room to pool and facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the property is lovely and the staff is exceptional!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet

    Authentic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, great pool and very helpful and attentive staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor concept. The very proffesional Managers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not such great value for money

    Service and pool were fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great service and very friendly - massive swimming pool with deck service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds comfy, staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft.

    Wonderful staff. Food at French restaurant was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that made me dislike the hotel. Had a very good time

    Comfortable and very exquisite! Awesome place to stay, Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The French food need to improve .The steak is not tender

    The staff are very polite . The scent of the hotel is very nice .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym without spinning bikes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It not in the city center so its kind of difficult to check the night market.

    Its really a nice place to relax. The pool is awesome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning hotel a must stay in Siem Reap. Extremely friendly and efficient staff very eager to please from the maintenance Staff, cleaning staff and Waiters, right through to the Managers. We celebrated New Years Eve here and it was truly something we will never forget. So much time and effort into making it a perfect night. Thank you for a beautiful 5 nights in your hotel. you made our stay in Cambodia one we will never forget, a special thank you to all the staff especially Sarah and Chea- waiters, Melanie - Food and Beverage Manager and Maurizio the Executive Chef. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The new year's party is a total let down! We were very excited on a good countdown at Siem Reap but the party @ Sofitel was badly organized! There's no atmosphere of party and many guests left after 1-1.5hrs after the dinner. Only get back around 11.45pm for the countdown!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel half day car hire to Angkor Wat and Banteay Srei came to almost 300 dollars which I thought was a rip off.

    The staff were very helpful and service minded. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel has a huge garden with a water lily lake. Built in a colonial style the building is very classy and with very cosy rooms. The food in the hotel was delicious with quite big portions. I had the best Phad Thai I have ever tasted. The staff is very kind and sincerely friendly. Most speak very good English and some of them know interesting facts about Angkor Wat. The pool area is very peaceful and the pool itself is very big. The whole hotel, its yard and pool are very clean, beautifully arranged. We were so sad to leave this piece of heaven and I wish I can come back again!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They forgot my airport pickup, and for the price they charge compared to a taxi, this is truly unacceptable. They did comp return for free.

    Beautiful common areas and landscaping, with fantastic pool. Good service and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only minor disappointment was the juices for breakfast should be freshly squeezed at least for orange juice. I hope this was only temporary and the staff will take note of this for our next stay! Smoothy was great though...

    All of it. Great Breakfast. relaxing atmosphere staff kindness and efficience in answering your requests. A perfect holiday resort.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The speed of Wi-fi in the room may be a little slow.

    When we enter the hotel, the staff of hotel welcomed us. And when we left the hotel, the same staff welcomed us out of the door. That's amazing! Everything in the hotel is pretty well. The swimming pool is one of the largest pool I have ever seen in Cambodia. You can enjoy your life beside the pool!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NA

    Excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel

    Greenary

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities are excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendliness Golf course

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Boring and hot

    The hotel French decor and tropical environment

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unpleasant smell of linens. I don't know if it is the pillows or just the cover, though clean

    The peaceful and serene atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent service, food and location.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful and comfortable facility, but the best part was the friendly and gracious staff who greeted you with smiles at every encounter.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: