Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Oualie Beach Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oualie Bay, Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis

#5 of 7 hotels in Nevis

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Stayed at Oualie Beach 20 years ago - has not changed ! It's what we loved about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very quaint and quiet, an excellent getaway. Sit and read, walk, swim. Easy access to town with friendly taxi drivers.. Ate at a nearby restaurant- they didn't want us walking back in the dark and gave us a ride back ! Above and beyond for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous, relaxing, fun time. Thats why we keep coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are fabulous!! Spectacular sunsets. Love the easy going laid back location. Love that it is unspoiled by the snobby snooty people you find on holidays that just like to complain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.5
    Eccentric historic resort outside the mold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As legacy property room vary considerably. If feasable, book one of few upgrade, which are stunning, Romantic canopy beds, well worth extra on an island with rival properties at $990 p/n and villas $3,700 nightly..

    Hopping bar. Top management involved. Great immaculate beach beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach could be a bit cleaner. We were surprised at how much it cost to take a taxi so that limited where we went.

    We loved the setting right on the beach! The food was great at the restaurant and the servers were wonderful! We loved how quiet it was at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    I did like this place - for a short stay to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Once you are there, the only way to get around are expensive taxis, although they are always around and very pleasant. You can't walk around as there are no sidewalks on the road. The restaurant at the place is adequate, slow service, and expensive. We also ate one night at Sunshine, good, but expensive, plus the taxi ride - close to $100 all together and no drinks as part of that. I think it is because they have a short season to make a living.

    I liked the little bungalows, the nice, clean beach, the lounge chairs. I would recommend this place for people who simply want to relax. It is located just where the water taxi arrives from St Kitts and that is a 5 minute ride, and Wincent, the owner of the water taxi business, was gracious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    6.7
    This was our fourth + visit but we'll be back with caution!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are returning guests, resort seems to be in disrepair, furnishings need upgrading. Missing screens in porch, mold and rust coming through bathroom ceiling. Water leaking from toilet on to tiles. Unreliable internet, even when wifi is working. Can get it in the dining room but not in room 202.

    Location, beach, gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location with a fantastic view of St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The A.C. was old and loud, it caused quite a few hours of sleep. Other guests complained about the same issue.

    Excellent location with a fantastic view of St. Kitts. Great beach, very shallow and calm water, it is a perfect young children family location. Great staff and excellent food at the resort restaurant. The desk staff was on the ball and even made sure we did not get ripped off by local taxi services. I is one of my top 10 so far.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    3.8
    Horrible experience would never stay here again unless it was remodeled and renovated. Poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness, decor, footpaths to the rooms. It’s very dated and poorly looked after very creepy vibe to the whole place. The land is poorly managed with marsh land all over when it rains.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    5.0
    Relaxing but many problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ac wasn’t working The shower head was broken There were a lot of ants The food was very average It was very disorganized

    Nevis is a beautiful island and locals are friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    9.6
    Oalie Beach is a relaxed, warm, intimate resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    New beach chairs and towels. I prefer softer pillow top mattress.

    THe food in the restaurant was great. The bar was welcoming and casual. Great jamm session on Tuesday night. Very relaxed place. Chairs on beach were always available. Our room was quiet. They are quick to remedy any issues 7 min boat ride over to St. Kitts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    5.0
    If you want a beach-based holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very noisy air conditioning unit and fridge in room - had to turn them off at night. Potty-mouthed rude american made the bar off-limits for last two evenings. Dinner disappointing with poor pub-food-quality vegetables. Too far to walk into Charlestown.

    Mostly well-intentioned and obliging staff. Excellent rum punch! Good local bus service to and from Charlestown.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay, wonderful location just a shame it's a bit shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cottage was shabby, fabric & décor in need of repair & renovation. Building not well maintained

    The cottages close proximity to the beach with a relaxed casual ambiance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    7.9
    Laid back, relaxed old style Caribbean haven from the madness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a bit 'bitey' on the sand fly / mosquito front at oualie.

    Location for oualie beach is superb. Perfect for swimming and lazing. Nevis itself is an old fashioned Caribbean island and you get a genuine laid back, personal Caribbean experience. If you want casinos etc It's not for you. If you like sunsets, snorkling, blackened fish, chatting with locals on the busses, character bars, local food, and can deal with island time, you'll love it. There are some 'fine dining' options but frankly you can do that anywhere. Enjoy the local colour and life and have fun!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    9.2
    laid back and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Food was nothing special

    laid back and relaxed. Really nice staff not all trained to Ritz standards but very willing A bit shabby but chic and right on the sea; so much better than the other very expensive up market places on the island. If you want posh upmarket accommodation go to the Four Seasons which we thought was typical of a modern antiseptic beach resort but give us Ouallie Beach any day. We and our friends met lots of jolly locals and we really enjoyed our 14 night stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    5.8
    The chalets on the resort need decorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Veranda kept flooding- the furniture on the veranda not nice and we didn't have a remote for the tv also the fridge was rusty

    The chalets looked tired and they could do with a lick of paint inside and rusty fridge

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2016

    9.6
    Great holiday spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No microwave in the room and the internet is not great. The front desk staff aren't always welcoming to questions.

    It's right on the beach. They have the best live music at the bar. There are speed boats to get you to st kitts in less than 20 mins.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2016

    10
    Besides the ocean front views, our taxi driver Clayton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do not recommend Liat airlines to travel there. They delayed flight twice causing me to pay over $125 in taxi and boat fees for a late arrival to the resort. We missed an entire day of vacation.

    Besides the ocean front views, our taxi driver Clayton Daniels was the best! He promptly chauffeured us around all week with a smile and wonderful personality!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    9.6
    Best beach resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is good but could be improved. We found other places on the island where the food was better quality and value. But the conch chowder and rum punches are great!

    Our room was beautiful, a big four poster bed, vaulted ceiling and a lovely veranda overlooking the beach (10 meters away) and the sea. Oualie is dreamy, relaxing and just beautiful. The staff were professional, knowledgable and lovely. I wanted to stay forever

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent view from my room and all surroundings, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Television not working in my room Wifi work sometimes.

    Excellent view from my room and all surroundings, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were made aware of my girlfriend’s birthday and she was treated like royalty. Everyone was pleasant and we surely will return soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    5.8
    Nice property, a shame they do nothing about the aircoditioners and allow a hotel to be without TV
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV!! Airconditioners are way too old and always fail when I have stayed. Noisy or non functioning

    Nice staff, nice beach and nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.5
    Double room had two big beds and room was cool with AC...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facility in the room, only a coffee machine.

    Double room had two big beds and room was cool with AC already on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    We found the place gorgeous ocean views very relaxing the staff very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Intermittent wifi

    It was a local resort and very relaxing with the ocean and restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.9
    Dated property but location makes up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking lot is dangerous

    Beach is wonderful. Staff great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    9.0
    The accommodations
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not delivering important information as it was my first time in the country.

    The accommodations

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    7.9
    most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some of reception staff a bit surly. breakfast and meals generally expensive with the current fall in the pound

    location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location and bar, but not value for money rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated rooms.. old TV and bathrooms and beds.

    Great property , good location...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    9.2
    sensational location divine beach super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar closing around 9:00pm

    Location . Staff. Food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    7.5
    Location and beach access was very good
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant did not have many choices

    Location and beach access was very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    5.8
    Generally overpriced for facilities and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier - 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced bar. Atrocious New Year's Eve dinner Large quantity biting insects.

    Beach front location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    3.3
    Nasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt like living in a single room which was used by 50 people and not cleaned

    Bed bugs, nasty towels,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2016

    4.6
    Paid a high rate for the quality of the Accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Paid a high rate for the quality of the Accomodation. No wifi in room even if they advertise they have it. We were there on business, would never have stayed knowing there was no wifi. Stray dogs begging for food at restaurant for every meal we ate there... Front desk did not even welcome us with a smile .. We won't be back. Rate was almost the same as the Mariott ... Next time we will stay there and take the ferry over to Nevis for the day, or rent a Villa.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2016

    7.5
    The room was very cozy and the bed excellent for a good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Grounds need to be worked on as there are several cables and wires exposed and could pose a hazard to guests and workers alike.

    The room was very cozy and the bed excellent for a good nights rest.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2016

    8.8
    The location by the water, the screened in porch, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed linens were worn thin and did not fit the bed. The staff friendliness was inconsistent, some very nice and some indifferent.

    The location by the water, the screened in porch, the restaurant on the premises, easy parking. The harbor cruise was fun. We enjoyed swimming and snorkeling in the calm water.

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2016

    5.4
    Esterior of accommodation looked good but interior very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Esterior of accommodation looked good but interior very tired and bathroom badly maintained. Staff not friendly at all. Breakfast was poor and overpriced.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    7.9
    We booked here for a one night stay for an early flight out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was old and dated but adequate for a short stay. Tile throughout the cottage was very slippery when wet.

    We booked here for a one night stay for an early flight out. Very picturesque with boats in the harbor. Cottage type feel with screened front porch. Beach was nice but use bug spray as something (non-mosquito) was biting our legs while walking. Room and bed was nice. Hammocks and lots of chaise lounges available. Hermit crabs, snails and monkeys on the beach was an unexpected surprise.

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    7.5
    The location and comfort of the room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hidden extra costs. Not clearly stated on website we booked on. We paid an extra $40 on top of the $153 we paid for the room. We were told of this when we checked out. A little disappointing after a great stay. Food in the restaurant quite expensive for what you get.

    The location and comfort of the room was excellent. Beautiful beach.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    9.6
    Tranquillity, totally chilled out atmosphere, huge bedrooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was OK - but certainly didn't spoil the visit.

    Tranquillity, totally chilled out atmosphere, huge bedrooms, beautiful beach, excellent diving.

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2015

    5.4
    Nice beach location and near the ferry dock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oualie Beach was a bit dirty and tired. The staff seems unhappy and are not pleasant. We left as soon as we found alternative accommodations.

    Nice beach location and near the ferry dock.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2015

    7.5
    The bedroom and the large bed was very nice and perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom needed updating and very disappointed at lack of fresh fish in restaurant

    The bedroom and the large bed was very nice and perfect location

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2015

    8.8
    Sunny warm days, mild nights, refreshing breezes, good food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mosquitoes and ants like the same weather, so take precautions. Walking and biking are precarious because roads are narrow and winding.

    Sunny warm days, mild nights, refreshing breezes, good food and drinks, all situated on clear blue water and sandy beaches. The sunlight is fierce, so sunblock and sunglasses are a must.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    8.8
    Bed was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was wonderful. View of the water from the entire property was beautiful and the beach was very clean. Friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    9.2
    Great beach friendly happy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much

    Great beach friendly happy staff

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    7.1
    Very quite peaceful location, good accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was mediocre. Service was VERY slow and they were regularly out of many menu items.

    Very quite peaceful location, good accommodations.

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2015

    7.5
    Restful and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Not much! Only to say that the window curtains in the bathroom were a little short in lenght.

    Restful and quiet

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2015

    9.2
    Tremendous value;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food is only ok though inexpensive for an island.

    Tremendous value; your own cabin 50 feet from the ocean. Staff warm and funny.

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    10
    View was beautiful,location was great ,services excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to report negative

    View was beautiful,location was great ,services excellent.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: