Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Korea hotel reviews
  3. Seoul hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Hostel Vanilla 1 Dongdaemun

Reviews of Hostel Vanilla 1 Dongdaemun

28-7, Changsin-gil, Jongno-gu, Jongno-Gu, 03106 Seoul, South Korea

#11 of 646 hotels in Seoul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hostel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2019

    8.3
    Perfect for a short trip as a budget traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather small, there was no real closet for the clothes.

    We're quite positive about the place, it's good for budget travelers. The owner Soo and the husband Ilir are very friendly and they gave us good advice around Seoul. Nice welcome even though we were early but they tried to do their best to prepare our room. Good location near the subway and markets.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    10
    great value and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the maps showed on the website were not updated which made it a little difficult to find upon arrival.

    the location was a little confusing to find at the beginning. But after locating it, the location is great, close to metro station and food stalls. Rooms are small but great for short or medium length stay. But room details definitely reflect the attention staff paid while decorating and cleaning the rooms. Staff are wonderful and helpful. definitely exceed my expectation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    1. The location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would suggest to improve a little bit the breakfast including some fresh fruit. Everything else was perfect!

    1. The location was awesome! Less than 5 minutes walking from Dongdaemun. You can also find the City Wall starting in Heunginjimun Gate, a food market and a shopping area nearby. 2. The room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. 3. The area was quiet with not much noise at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the outside - can’t really be helped. Other guests were noisy coming back into the building late at night, and then proceeding to make food.

    Location was awesome! Good value for money. Great hosts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little bit small than I expected. When we took a shower the water would usually leak out a bit from the shower.

    Actually I stayed at the vanilla suite 3 this time and the experience was wonderful. The suite 3 was newly opened and the host offered us to have a free upgrade. It is a traditional Korean building but with brand new furnishing. It is really special and the location is also nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Good. Loved that it was clean and the room size was just eights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin so we had to be extremely quiet and careful after the curfew . The location is just a few mins walk to the subway but you do need to walk into a quiet small alley.

    It was very clean and everything smelled fresh. There were a lot of choices for breakfast (eggs, spam, toast, cup noodles, cereal, juice, coffee, milk and more).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    staff there were very nice provide us good tips for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is quite old to us and there is a musty odour caused by the dampness that couldn't dry up and the space was too small for big luggage. This was our second stay, we paid lesser for a few night stay at hong dae yet we got better deals.

    staff there were very nice provide us good tips for travelling and eating around. If u like midnight Shopping I would recommend this place to you, as the location is quite near to nice shopping mall, we enjoy our shopping during the stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Pretty much everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    Pretty much everything. The owners Ylia and Soo are very kind and supportive, helped me a lot with recommendations and tips. Little touches of kindness are seen all around, since the first contacts by WhatsApp to know if I have arrived safely in Seoul until the goodbye message. The facilities are new and clean, bed are very comfortable, kitchen well equipped and the breakfast amazing. The locations is pretty good, very close to subway line 1 and 4. Highly recommended for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    The location is really nice, near dongdamen and also there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is really nice, near dongdamen and also there is a bus stop, so you can easily take bus to airport nearby the hostel. We booked the room on the day we arrived and we arrived late, but they were waiting for us and introduced about their hostel in every detail. The breakfast was also great for travelers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location, hosts, food and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Korean beds are a bit firm for my liking.

    This property is excellent basic, clean accommodation. It is a very pleasant friendly home from home in a good location. The owners (Ilia and Soo) are very pleasant, caring, helpful hosts. Their English is excellent and translation is readily available. The help yourself breakfast is tasty, varied and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are very nice and helpful. Location is good, the room is small but comfortable . Super clean bathroom, I’m willing to stand on the floor without slippers( I have OCD with bathroom). Will come back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Superb experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so friendly. They made a lots of efforts to provide me with a superb experience. The room was very cosy and well decorated. The communication was excellent. just 3 min work to Dongdaemun Station, the transport was very convenient.This can be the most excellent hotel&airbnb experience in my life! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    I've stayed at both Vanilla Hostel 1 and 2 now and I would highly recommend the both.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are a bit thin, so be wary if you're traveling as a couple.

    I loved the location! It really is just a stone's throw from subway station Dongdaemun. The street that it's on is very lively and has a bunch of great restaurants. The owners are the best and are so very helpful and friendly. Other quick notes: impeccably clean, cutely decorated, fast and reliable WiFi, and a wide selection of make your own food & snacks (bread, Nutella, jam, cheese, eggs, tinned meat, cereals, teas, coffee, banana, and ramen). Tip - ask in advance if you can reserve a WiFi egg! Unlimited wifi wherever you go for just $2 a day :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Cozy little place, warm welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is rather small. Other doors conversations can be heard.

    Like the helpful & friendly staff. Very clean, nice location to bunch of restaurants & subway station. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Soo and Iliey were excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soo and Iliey were excellent hosts. They were very helpful, kind and very courteous. I have no hesitation in recommending this place for a pleasant stay in Korea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant and peaceful stay that travellers would want to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    More prominent signage for walking travellers, especially leading to the side street. A comprehensive map in the website would be useful for 'on foot' travellers from Dongdaemun station.

    The owners, Soo and Illir, were very helpful. They were always ready to give relevant information about matters that concern foreign visitors. Good for value breakfast. Clean, comfortable and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Go stay here if you travel to Seoul !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing to complain :) This place is out of this world.

    The place was so so nice. Every little corner of the hostle was decorated carefully. The 2 hosts, Soo and Ille were really friendly and helpful.The food that they provided for our breakfasts was delicious. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.2
    Untruthful Property Description by Owner! Breakfast Is NOT Included!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Don't fall into this trap - this place provides NO BREAKFAST! Even though the owner Soo put the hostel on Booking under the category "Breakfast Included", there is no actual breakfast provided - there are just eggs and canned ham in the fridge and you can cook and clean yourself if you want to. Nowhere in the property description does the owner clarify this, making the person booking believe that a true breakfast is included, while it is actually just some minimal ingredients for one. Further, while the hostel location is convenient and easily accessible, it is unfortunately in a slightly dirty area right next to a food/wet market. At the entrance to the side street where the hostel is located, there are piles of trash on certain days and a half-built house with trash scattered in it. Like other reviews point out, the area gets dangerous at night and walking alone is not recommended.

    The hostel was clean and easily accessible by public buses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful homely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were so friendly!! They were really amazing, picked me up from the metro-stop, and gave me some great advice about the best spas, shopping districts, and interesting sights. The room was very comfortable, also the location is great!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Top staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big fan of the shower above the toliet but dealable.

    The staff were fantastic. They went above and beyond. Helped me book tours and gave me some great tips for places to go and how to get there. The location is really convenient: close to the airport bus stop, 2min walk to the metro station and very close to great shopping and food spots. All in all fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    The best hostel I have ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soo and her husband Illa were absolutely amazing, made me feel so welcome and provided me with so much help and advice, thank you so much! it was like staying with family! I would without doubt stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    10
    Nice location, cozy room, friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Nice location, cozy room, friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2018

    10
    Home away from home indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Clean, cosy, warm, and convenient!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.6
    Location, the room smells good and the Host are very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the room smells good and the Host are very helpful and friendly :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly and nice host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and nice host! I was being welcomed warmly! The bed and room was so comfy and cozy i hope to be back again!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Excellent home away ftom home. Thank you for the good stay & accomodation. Hope to see you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Very clean and home-like
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and home-like. Great location -Dongdaemun station at 3min by walk. And the owners are extremely kind. I highly recommend this hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    the staffs are nice and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no bathtub. but it should be reasonable when it comes to the accomodation fee.

    the staffs are nice and welcome. the room is cute and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    We had a great night at this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great night at this hostel. Really nice, comfortable and people very kind and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    I definitely will come back to Seoul and stay at your place !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for 2 One will be just nice

    Location and cozy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied stay at Hostel Vanilla 1 Dongdaemun convenience location specially to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room abit packed for 2 of us big size🤣

    Breakfast, street food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Convenient and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room is really clean and tidy,the hosts are helpful and professional, the location is 3 minute to nearest subway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Very clean!
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean! Everyday will help us to clean the room! I like the room so much! A bit small but the overall for me is wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and helpfull staff, beautiful hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.

    Cozy and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice small hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can hear the sound from next room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient location, nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost nothing

    Very convenient location, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    Convenient Location:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Soundproofing of the room still hv room to improve. We can hear ppl talking n walking outside. but not really a big issue to us since we both still can hv quality sleep at night with the cozy environment.

    Convenient Location: 5 mins walk from metro station and airport shuttle bus station (6002). The place is very easy to find with the map and clear instruction provided by Soo (the owner). Cozy room: with this price, you can hv a comfortable and clean room with private bathroom. and the room will be cleaned everyday. Whats more can we ask for? Great owners: In many ways they're just so kind n helpful. like they helped us to book the restaurant that we planned to go n showed us the direction. really appreciate the hospitality of the owners. just feel like home. highly recommend this hostel.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    The hosts are very helpful and speak english very well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dressing table and mirror are too low. Bed a bit hard for us. The hosts added pad for us after our feedback.

    The hosts are very helpful and speak english very well! Guide from airport to hostel was provided soon after booking. Feel the warm welcome even before the trip begins. They give good recommendation to tour around Seoul!Thanks for the melon, like it so much! Their tagline summarises well, "a home away from home"!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Soo and Ilir are the best hosts you can hope for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing at all

    Soo and Ilir are the best hosts you can hope for. Super friendly and helpful. Rooms and clean and comfortable. Location is super convenient as its only a few mins walk to dongdaemon station and shopping district. Definitely will stay here again if i visit Seoul in the future!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    They were very helpful and they gave us a lot of travel tips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They were very helpful and they gave us a lot of travel tips -where to eat, what to eat, and the most convenient way to get to places. Hostel is also very close to the subway with lots of restaurants. Dongdaemun shopping district is a short walk away.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a fact - not a complaint. Our window opens to a side street so pedestrians can be heard. This never bothered us in the evening.

    Everything. There is nothing not to like in the place.Prior to arrival, helpful maps and photos were sent to us. Location is super convenient - bus stops and subway exit; shops (department stores, wholesalers, vendors); restaurants; tour sites (DDP & Heunginjimun Gate); churches (Catholic and Christian) Hostel is personally managed by owners Soo and Ilir who treat guests as friends; cleanliness and guest comfort are obvious priorities.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    The staffs are very friendly, kindly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are tiny and soundproof consider not that good due to the rooms by rooms are quite near. By the way, although the room is tiny, but comfort to stay.

    The staffs are very friendly, kindly and helpful. They will provide the best opinions to resolve our travel's difficulty.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Very lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room that I stayed next to the guest reception so it a bit noisy.

    Very lovely staff Clean and comfortable room. Great location, u can walk around 5 mins from limousine bus stop(no.6002) to hostel.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The room was very pretty and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very pretty and comfortable. Very clean and neat. The owner gave me a brochure of the city, and kindly gave me instructions of how to go to the airport. Breakfast was free, but I couldn't make it and the owner gave me some snacks to eat on my way to the airport. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    Hostel owner is super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Soundproof not good

    Hostel owner is super nice! I am got lost on first day, Soo told her husband to pick me up, then i was safe .They help me to send the post card and buy some stuff. I love their kindly helpfulness and thanks for has been taking care of me in these 7 days! ;)

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    10
    GOOD LOCATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    GOOD LOCATION! Very Lovely, Clean & Comfortable hostel with Nice & Helpful host couple:) Thanks Soo & her husband! Will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hostel is really hard to find. I walked around there about 30 minutes to find hostel.

    They are friendly, I feel comfortable to stay in this hostel.Room is really clean include the bathroom.Hostel's design is so cute if you like cute thing you must come here.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    Stayed 4 nights at vanilla house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    That i was staying too short there

    Stayed 4 nights at vanilla house. I was so happy, I have made the right choice to cancel the hotel at Myeoungdong and booked this place instead. The room was so clean and comfortable. Ilir and Soo are super nice and friendly. Got a cold after a second days, Soo was extremely worried as I am a solo traveller. She constantly checked up on me, offered to get medications and asked if I want to go and see the local doctor. I felt very touch as its reminded me of my own mother. This is a true definition of home away from home. Soo & Ilir, THANK YOU so much for looking after me. I will definitely visit there again next time.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    A warm hostel, beautiful and clean, with very friendly host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A warm hostel, beautiful and clean, with very friendly host! Location is quite good, however, DO NOT follow Google Maps' guide, which marked a wrong address. The host was very helpful, made a very pleasant in Seoul for us.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.6
    The host was very friendly and helped us a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The host was very friendly and helped us a lot! Even though the room is a bit small but very comfortable and relaxed. The location is very convenient and the metro station just 2 min by walking. Totally recommend !

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    8.8
    EVerything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If the sound proof can be improved, it will be perfect!

    EVerything is good. Soo the owner will send us a clear instruction on how to get there once we booked the room and follow up again when approaching the departure date. We took airport bus 6002 and alight at the bus stop opposite road. We will need to cross the road and once spotted subway exit 1, follow instructions as per given, hostel located at a small alley can be found easily. Instead of purely rely on the research we have done, Soo gave us a lot of additional advises with regards to the places we would like to visit, it'sfree consultation!room will be cleaned everyday to ensure the cleanliness and comfort during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff were extremely friendly and they looked after us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a bit of trouble finding the place as it is quite tucked away in a small street and the sign is very small. The room was also very small but it was still fine and is probably what is to be expected in a Korean hostel.

    The staff were extremely friendly and they looked after us very well. One lady even used her personal credit card to buy us tickets to ensure we got a discount. The location is excellent! A very short walk to the subway station and close to plenty of restaurants and shops. The decor was also super adorable.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.6
    The host was so helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't experience anything bad just that korean beds are generally hard!

    The host was so helpful and nice. We travelled with extra bags and had trouble getting to the hostel but we phoned and help was rendered straight away.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is good. The hostel is clean and tidy. We feel like at home. The hostel owners are nice and helpful. Thanks very much for Soo who helped us buy a quilt from the fabric market. We brought it back home and are using it which is soft and warm.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    What I like most was the hospitality of the manager, Soo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    What I like most was the hospitality of the manager, Soo. She was ever so ready to assist us in anyway she can. The place was cozy and clean and the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    10
    Very lovely and clean hostel with nice host couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very lovely and clean hostel with nice host couple. Sooyee did us a favor: booking ktx tickets online for us, really really helpful! No drawbacks of the room and kitchen facilities, and the location is very convenient too. My friend and I really enjoyed staying here and are willing to recommend it to others. Thanks again for treating us so friendly!

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    10
    Location fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Location fantastic. Easy access to metro. Lots of restaurants nearby. Owners are so warm and helpful and even made reservations for us. Rooms are so clean. Access to the common kitchen made it feel like an apartment. Enjoyed our daily conversations with Soo. Wouldn't stay any where else.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    Soo & Ilya are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the size of the room. but if you will travel like me who went out early in the morning and back to hostel late at night, it won't be a big deal.

    Soo & Ilya are very friendly....they took care of us very well. I love the design of the hostel, very homey and comforting. cleanliness is the best! WIFI is very good, you can always be online anytime.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Very well located next to the subway, safe hostel, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very well located next to the subway, safe hostel, quiet location, very nice helpfull staff, full breakfast in the morning, possibility to have biscuits, tea or coffee during the day, cleaned hostel, good price for the quality

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location , just a few steps away from the Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location , just a few steps away from the Metro. You can easier found anything u need near by! Soo ( the host ) was extramely helpful ! Will definitely come back if we visit Seoul next time!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.6
    - Great location, only less than 5 minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one small thing to mention - our room were located at the back of the house and there's an alley right beside, so sometimes we could hear when there are people walking pass & talking loudly. But it was totally acceptable and most of the time it was very quiet. Not really an issue to us.

    - Great location, only less than 5 minutes walk from Dongdaemun metro station. For those who carry a big luggage, you may use the elevator at exit number 6, which is just across the road. There was a convenient store GS25 right opposite the small alley that leads to the hostel so you won't miss it. - Soo & Elia are very friendly & helpful. Thumbs up for their hospitality! - LOVE the design of the hostel. Flora & romantic themed rooms. Make you feel like home (or better than home)! - Our room comes with an attached bathroom which was wonderful. - Good qualities of the toiletries provided - Hair shampoo, hair conditioner, body shampoo, toothpaste, hair dryer and hand towels were all provided. - Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with exchange of new hand towels. In short, I will come back again! :) 总而言之,地点赞、老板老板娘都很热情招待、房间设计优雅干净整齐,大推!:)

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    Location is near to the subway and a lot of street food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is near to the subway and a lot of street food nearby which are open till very late. The staffs are very friendly, warm and helpful. The cleanliness of the room is very satisfying.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    You feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room has no window.

    You feel at home. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Iliya was a great host. He gave a lot of insider information to explore city. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Good location, very near to Metro Dongdaemun, very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, very near to Metro Dongdaemun, very clean room and bathroom. They clean your room daily as well. Room is bit small in size however that's how Korean houses are usually. The owner, Soo is really nice and approachable. She has no problem providing assistance in any matters you have. There is usually Soo or another person present around in the hostel if you have any issue. You can even reserve and rent a wifi egg for 1000 KRW per day with 50,000 KRW deposit, which is a total bargain compared to the airport wifi egg rental.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    The hostel was very clean and cosy, I loved the cute and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hostel was very clean and cosy, I loved the cute and homely decor. Soo and her husband were very friendly and hospitable and took good care of us during our short stay. The bed and pillows were very comfortable making for many good nights' rest. Walking distance to dongdaemun shopping streets was a great convenience. You can also walk to the Iwha Mural Village from the hostel and enjoy the mural art walls.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Room with window is abit small. But it's much better than the room without window.(window is a requirement for me) Bed is also abit small for 2 person.

    Location is good. And the owner of hotel is really nice. Supply detail info before we arrive. Public space decorates like a home cooking room. Can cook eggs by oneself in the morning. Nice to live here

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Great location close to 24hr supermarket and train station.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Not really anything. Pillow is a little bit hard haha.

    Great location close to 24hr supermarket and train station. It was really clean and the host is amazing and soooo friendly and nice, going out of the way to help ! It's super amazing value for money !

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Convenient location. Soo and her husband goes above and beyond to help their guests' stay enjoyable and comfortable. Definitely recommended!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Awesome location in Seoul, close to several subway lines and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awesome location in Seoul, close to several subway lines and with an easy access to Incheon airport. Located in a very quiet neighborhood, the room was very comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. Would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Convenient location, very close to subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some inconsiderate travellers making noises that affect your sleep at night

    Convenient location, very close to subway. Going up to the slope is where the city wall trail and the picturesque village in 15/20 mins walk. Friendly and helpful host.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    We fell in love with Vanilla hostel from the first moment we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing negative about the place at all apart from me having to leave and go back home! ;-)

    We fell in love with Vanilla hostel from the first moment we arrived. Soo and her husband Elia are so levely and they really made us feel at home. Thank´s to the nice messages I recieved from Soo beforehand we had great directions to dind the place and it´s really a great location very close to Dongdaemun station. The area is quite lively and the everyday life goes on 24/7 and we could easely reach other parts of Seoul thanks to the underground . The areea is great for shopping, both malls and markets and Myongdong and Namdemun market is ony a few tubestops away. Don´t miss out on a nice walk up along the citywall, situated just about 200-300 meters from the hostel. It´s an easy walk up to the top and when you reach it you´ve got the amazing and beautifull Ihwa mural village to explore. It was one of all the great experiences we had during our stay. Soo is so helpful and we really felt well taken care of, she wrote us nice little notes to give to cabdrivers, allergynotes to show in restaurants and as a great service she provided us with an "egg" so we could stay connected to the hostels wi-fi even while we were on town, the cost for that as just about none. This place really became our home for 7 days and I miss the morningchatt at breakfast with Soo and Elia and i´m definitely planning to go back to Seoul and Vanilla Hostel. I recommend it with all my heart and if you have the opportunity to stay here... Congratulations! <3 <3 <3

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    This was our first stay at Dongdaemun 1, usually we stay at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our first stay at Dongdaemun 1, usually we stay at Dongdaemun 2. But it is just as good. Very friendly and helpful staff. It is well located and close to the subway. We had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    8.8
    We stayed at the hostel one night before leaving to Japan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Standard Korean Stiff bed

    We stayed at the hostel one night before leaving to Japan. It was very easy to communicate with Soohee ( mail , whatsapp)‎. She provided clear directions to the hotel and for once it wasn't trouble to find our accommodation :) The hostel in general and the room in particular were clean. Soohee and her husband were really nice hosts and manage to make us feel welcome‎. As per girlfriend, water pressure in the shower was perfect! ‎ Thanks Soohee, We will definitely be back if we visit seoul again!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    The manager and staffs are very warm and friendly with cute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nil

    The manager and staffs are very warm and friendly with cute interior design which is very attractive especially towards girls. Soo is very helpful with directions and providing different places of interests for you to add on to itinerary. The room facilities are good and comfortable, very clean too. After staying in 3 different hostels in Seoul, I liked this hostel the most.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: