Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Laos hotel reviews
  3. Vientiane hotel reviews
  4. Vientiane hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sailomyen Hostel

Reviews of Sailomyen Hostel

Ban Sailom, ChanThaBooRee District, 01160 Vientiane, Laos

#5 of 112 hotels in Vientiane

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 839 hostel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    9.6
    Luxurious hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    One of the most luxurious hostels we stayed in during our trip. Spacious room with a very comfortable bed and duvet. We stayed just for one night, but it would be a lovely place to stay for a couple of nights. The breakfast was nice and they had good coffee! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.6
    The room was so nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are 2 choices for breakfast which are not the best

    The room was so nice! The bed was super comfy with a nice fluffy pillow. Free water refill. Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    8.8
    Bed was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Bed was clean and comfortable. The cafe was beautiful and inviting. Overall, the room was very quiet (except for the rooster but that is just part of the Laos experience) and clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.9
    Stylish Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is from 8-11am. I usually do activities earlier than 8am, perhaps it is common there to start later. The shower head should be placed higher.

    Very nice looking and stylish environment. Seems very secure.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Bar and coffee, people, hotel, room, location, city and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is missing little fridge on the rooms, it should be as variable possible to pay for one small fridge.

    Bar and coffee, people, hotel, room, location, city and parties around. The room for two in this hostel is way better than many rooms in hotels.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.6
    Very good double room with exellent big and comfortable bed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one thing not good - the rooster shouted from 4 am to 7 am and I had not enough sleep because I should wake up at 7 am for going to thai embassy. So you should have a good earplugs if you stay here, I hadn’t it and it’s was little hard time for me...

    Very good double room with exellent big and comfortable bed. Very friendly staff and exellent breakfest!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.8
    Nice energy, staff, community space was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom needs more ventilation. Strong smells emitted into room.

    Nice energy, staff, community space was great. Bed was comfortable and hot water from the shower.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is pretty far (15-20 minute walk) from the old part of town where most of the restaurants are located.

    This is a smartly designed guesthouse with the most comfortable beds in SE Asia. The breakfast is great - it includes eggs/toast/meat/bananas/fresh coffee. Free drinking water and the staff were very helpful. The guesthouse prices in Vientiane are high compared to most of Laos, but this place actually delivers and is worth the “extra” kip!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.1
    Modern look and comfortable beds couldn’t make up for bed bugs, rude staff and poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really located near anything. Have to walk 10+ minutes to find a decent restaurant or bar. Sights also far from hotel. No shoes allowed but no slippers provided for the bathroom so ewww! Had an issue with breakfast and felt it was done intentionally. Put in 8 person dorm when the hotel was completely empty. Bugs in room, got bitten. Had to move the next night. Staff knew there were bugs in the room when I was put in there. Given I had to move, should have upgraded me. Bright LED light on electric socket was difficult to sleep beside. Couldn’t bring food or beer into property but didn’t sell alcohol so it meant a 10 minute walk if you wanted to unwind with a drink. Wouldn’t stay again or recommend.

    Nice modern look. Big, comfortable, solid wood and metal bunks with nice sized pillow top mattresses. Staff were friendly but most spoke little English.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    Design, great space, good food selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bus ticket we got there: We decided to pay the highest price to ensure that we get a decent night travel (to Pakse) and this didn't happen. We paid full price for the worst bus experience. Having taken several buses in Laos, we can confirm that there are much better buses (for the same price) than the one we got that day.

    Design, great space, good food selection. Nice common area. Overall very positive

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kitchen offered for guests to use. No bathroom mat. Staff could not recommend eateries and city map was a too-dark photocopy that I couldn't use.

    I was impressed with the room, bed, and private bathroom. A nice treat. Very comfortable. Nice common areas. Breakfast was pretty good. Location only a 30 minute walk to the Thai embassy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.3
    Very cozy place with good coffee and facilities.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic breakfast and coffee not include

    Very cozy place with good coffee and facilities. We got a private room with bathroom. Basic but very clean and comfy. There is nothing around like the same place so i highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    8.8
    Location, breakfast, room comfortable and definitely value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Actually I love the overall of this place is good comfortable value for money. However during my stay there were some works around the hostel, a bit of noise and fume of the painting.

    Location, breakfast, room comfortable and definitely value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Men’s bathroom only on the second floor, women’s bathroom only on the third floor. Would have been more comfortable to have to mixed bathrooms instead.

    A beautiful hostel! The dorms look like hotel rooms and the bathrooms are really nice! Breakfast is really good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Also the attached café is awesome!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    4.2
    Terrible experience and bed bugs the size of cockroaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed bugs and cockroach like insects that were all over my headboard making their way for my bed. I couldn’t sleep. Changed room answer better but there were branches under the beds and above the beds to attract the bed bugs. They have an infestation problem. Looks awesome but do not stay here. Over priced coffee as well and not free at breakfast. Mosquitos in room also. Do not stay here.

    The look of the place

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    9.6
    Some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever met!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Woken up by a rooster on 2 separate occasions, I know its not the hostel's fault, but still, it sounded very close and went on for some time. Also, the AC leaked a considerable amount too, but luckily it wasn't very hot at night.

    Super friendly staff, also very helpful with everything I needed, one of the staff even drove me to a local restaurant without me asking! The bed was very comfortable and it was in a secluded area away from the main streets.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    7.9
    Too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was really small. They don't have vegetarian options, only 2 options to choose from. Also the drinks are not included and quit expensive for a normal coffee. Location is a bit far from the centre

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.5
    Good hostel cafe expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cafe down stairs I found it to be a bit expensive and the breakfast was poor 1 egg and 1small sausage and 3 Small toast and no drink if you want a coffee or anything you have to pay extra for it. Also I found the 6 bed dorm room small and not a lot of space when it was full.

    It's location was good and easy to find and the cleaning staff were excellent as I witnessed the a few time cleaning and changing the beds. It was clean and comfortable plug and light in ever bunk the bathrooms we're good and clean I would stay again if breakfast was in proved

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Cute, stylish hostel with great cafe and comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a cute and comfortable hostel! Everything was very clean, the shared bathrooms were great and the showers were nice and hot. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The WIFI is strong and there are many places to work around the hostel. I would definitely recommend this spot and will stay here again if I am in Vientiane!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Great Hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from outside our room (D6) made it extremely difficult to sleep. Rooster and dogs from 4am onwards and then building works from very early. Probably just bad location of our room though

    Extremely clean. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman's bathroom stalls are too small they are comical. I am 5 feet 6 inches and thin and I could barely fit. The showers need instructions they are very complex. They provide shampoo & soap and you do not know which is which as they are not labeled. The stairs where slightly dangerous being marble, steep, and crooked w/o a proper guard rail. Since they make you remove your shoes on entrance you are walking steep marble stairs in socks with a heavy pack it is easy to fall. They should have info posted on the cheapest way to get to the airport-there is a dirt cheap airport bus that picks you up right around the corner!

    Staff was friendly-which is hard to find in Laos-seriously. The place was very attractive-well decorated and location excellent. The rooms where clean and bathrooms clean and security seemed good. Ac seemed to work well. I loved the little privacy curtains on the bunks. It was well worth the price. Water was avail for free on site. The breakfast was ok and the coffee that you pay extra for wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.8
    Extremely clean and comfy. Okay location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to walk quite a bit to get places, wouldn't say the location is ideal. Also shouldn't have to pay extra for a drink other than water with breakfast. Also could have more chill out areas.

    Beds were comfy and really clean. Super modern interior. Staff super friendly and easy to talk to.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.9
    Large beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of building work in and around the property that didn’t start until 9pm at night and then continued throughout the evening. Sure this will be completed soon however it did somewhat dim the experience.

    Really cool cafe & room aesthetics. Bed in double room was large and super comfy!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Really comfortable beds lovely pillows extremely clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cafe is a little on the expensive side considering it’s attached to a hostel.

    Really comfortable beds lovely pillows extremely clean and well organized. Lovely cafe great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, enjoyable, relaxing atmosphere.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a great time in Saylomyen. I really enjoyed my stay there: I could rest, I could get a map and walk to places nearby, I could get information about bus services to other locations , I could get a coffe to go, all in the same place. The staff were really helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfy beds but lacks atmosphere for social travelers looking to meet others
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel lacked an atmosphere. Despite being full of travelers, there wasn't a common area where others could interact easily and get to know each other. There is a common area downstairs but that's part of the cafe and can be hard to tell if people there are staying at the hostel or simply grabbing something from the cafe. The hostel was a little bit away from the busy parts of town but still within a 10-15 minute walk.

    Good value for the price as it includes breakfast (1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 piece of toast with 2 bananas or breakfast cereal with bananas). The beds were comfy with a privacy curtain and the bathrooms were clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    5.0
    Bed bugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed bugs! I have been travelling around Asia for 2 months and hadn't seen any until now. I saw the bugs in my bed at 11pm so couldn't leave, so got given a new bed which ALSO had bugs! Staff did not seem at all surprised and suggested it was because it wasn't cleaning day - but bed bugs in multiple beds do not happen overnight.

    They refunded my stay after i showed them pictures of the bugs. So disappointed as the beds where the softest in the whole of Asia!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.1
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    About 20 minutes walk from the Night Market, the main food area and the cute cafés. Supermarket is not nearby, and the same goes for the ATM's. Very very small showers and toilets, with no proper place to hang a towel or place a bottle of shampoo. And because the showers are so small all your clothes get wet. Café is crowded with people from the hostel, so it is hard to just sit and relax. Breakfast is good, but the portions are really small and there is no coffee or tea included.

    Very friendly staff, super clean, very modern looking, comfortable beds, aircon cooled dorms, fresh towels, take-off-your-shoes policy and just a very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    The hostel is very confortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really easy to meet people. I didn’t mind because I was just staying for a night. Ideal if you need to rest a bit before go to another city.

    The hostel is very confortable! One of the best beds I had since i’m in asia. The staff is nice and the coffee is amazing!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    I love the design of the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The space in the toilet cabin. I am small and I had trouble to fit my legs in, but not the end of the world.

    I love the design of the hostel. The bed was the most comfortable one I had in Asia. Everything was really clean. Simple but good breakfast. Good coffee, but not free.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    The bed was so comfy and so clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a little bit far from the center but u can walk to get there in 10 to 20 mins.

    The bed was so comfy and so clean. They gave a disccount for a cup of coffee.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.1
    the mattress is amazing, and the hostel is soooooo cleann!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the AC for outside is hanging just next to my bed out side of the wall... it made soooooo much noise... and i had my earplugs in the whole time... then i got half deaf the next day...

    the mattress is amazing, and the hostel is soooooo cleann! The most clean hostel I've been.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were bedbugs in my bed! At 02:00 am I couldn't stand it any more and ran to reception to ask for a new bed. They apologised and gave me another bed in a different room, but the next morning, they just cleaned the sheets from the infected bed, which will obviously not work. So watch out if you're in room E.. Also most of the staff was really nice, only in the morning there was one guy who seemed very annoyed, as soon as you asked anything.

    It is a nice new hostel and has a great cafe inside the property with good coffee and decent breakfast. Beds are also comfy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully designed hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not too social, fewer backpackers

    Beautifully designed hostel. Nice coffee bar like common area. Beds, showers and bathrooms were great. As place for just staying comfortably it’s great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, good a/c, nice curtains and suuuuuuper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit of a walk to the city centre and not very sociable

    Very clean, good a/c, nice curtains and suuuuuuper comfortable beds and blankets, included breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    This hostel offered a bit more luxury than your normal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn’t right directly in the centre, but that was fine with me.

    This hostel offered a bit more luxury than your normal backpackers place. The facilities were amazing, the beds were probably the most comfortable I’d stayed in on my trip so far and offered a lot of privacy. The cafe at the property was such a nice place to chill and offered great free breakfast (the first time if had cereal and milk in a month!) and a selection of drinks. The decor was so modern! There isn’t really much of a social atmosphere here, it’s a lot more a chilled place. This was fine for me as I was travelling with someone at the time, but if you want to meet people it’s not the best place maybe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    It was good for 1 night but wouldn't stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - When you book, it's said that it's free breakfast. So, what was my surprise when i've been asked to pay for coffee/tea !!! And it's not cheap tea or coffee ! The rest of the breakfast is free but you don't have much choice and it's not amazing. - The staff is not very friendly and only the guy at reception speak a decent english. - The room was air conditionned but you don't have access to set it up so it is always very cold in the room. - This is definitely not a socialising hostel !

    The beds were very comfy. The room and the facilities were very clean. Hot water in the shower. Air conditionned room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing beds and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lockers were a little hard to open and close which sometimes meant banging noises in the night. The guys hanging out on the rooftop common area were using the women’s toilet as it was nearer than the men’s and leaving it a bit untidy- toilet not flushed and seat up etc etc. But I’m not sure the hostel can do anything about that.

    Lovely hostel. Both upper and lower bunks have thick curtains which give a sense of privacy and block out light. The beds are the comfiest I’ve slept on during my trip around south east Asia. And the sheets smell fantastic! The locker is big. The staff are really nice and helpful and let me store my cycle out of the back of the property. The common area is really chill and well decorated. The cafe does a few nice sandwiches and good coffee. It’s a social hostel- I chatted to people in my room and we hung out in the evenings- but it’s not a party hostel at all and they don’t serve alcohol.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    Everything, for low money you get breakfast, nice beds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water does not always flow, i guess that work to do, nevertheless in the morning/evening it works

    Everything, for low money you get breakfast, nice beds and ac, one of the best of the trip!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    6.7
    It was quiet and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilets and showers were small. I couldn't fit my knees in the toilet and I couldn't imagine how a bigger person can fit there. There was no trash bin and hanger to hang your clothes in the room. There weren't restaurants around so you should walk like 15 minutes to downtown.

    It was quiet and clean!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was very pleasant, it just missed maybe a place where we can do a bit more noise and play some music.

    Everything is perfect. The design is better that what i was expecting. So clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.2
    Cool chilled atmoshpere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a bit far from restaurants and bars etc. Feels a little unsafe at night. Hostel doors close at midnight

    VERY clean, bathrooms cleaned regularly and the housekeeping staff and extremely discreet (they managed to change to beds in my dorm with me sleeping and didn't wake me!). Great coffee and atmosphere, cool staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Very clean, toilet, bedrooms, common areas, everything. Good location, close to shops and public transportation. Confortable beds, with plug, light and curtains. Good AC. Breakfast is included with two options, good enough in my opinion. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.9
    Great spot for a short stopover in Vientiane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dorms were VERY cramped with 6 beds, and lockers were not big enough to fit a full backpack (no other space to put it since the room is so small!). Staff was less than helpful.

    Beds were super comfy, clean, and private with a curtain, personal light, and ppwer outlet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.3
    not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was really bad. Didnt have butter for the toast and coffee was extra. My plug socket didnt really work unfortunately.

    Rooms were very clean and very comfy. okay location. not as far out as people make out. yea was okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean and the staff was friendly and tried to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bright light on the plug in every bed, which can't be turned off, that kept me from sleeping.

    It was very clean and the staff was friendly and tried to help as good as they could.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Loved this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this hostel. Check in process was easy and the facilities are very very clean. You can book tours and buses to Vang Vieng and other locations straight from reception. All of the staff here were very kind and made my stay even better! Special shout out to the two guys who were always on the night shift while I was staying there. You were both fantastic and I wish you both the best :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.8
    Comfy beds, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a little far from the centre. Atmosphere is very quiet, but good if you're there to relax and not to party! Toilets cubicles are very small and quite cramped

    Comfy beds, good value for money. Nice little cafe downstairs. I thought the breakfast was good- it wasn't the biggest breakfast but it was free- I feel like some of the reviews complaining about the breakfast are a little harsh considering that it's included in the room price!! You don't get tea/coffee included but they give you free water so can't really complain there either.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    The staffs were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't get our devices charged once we off the bedside lamp (for some beds)

    The staffs were really friendly and helpful. The cafe is a good place to grab a quick bite and chill before heading off too! Beds were comfy 👍🏻

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.2
    This is one of the nicer / nicest hostels you’ll find in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms are clean so this isn’t a strong dislike but they aren’t great. You can barely fit in the toilet stalls which makes you feel dirty. The staff is all super sweet but no one spoke great English, so don’t expect a ton of help.

    This is one of the nicer / nicest hostels you’ll find in SE Asia. Vientiane is not such an interesting city so in that sense you may not find the hostel to be that social as not many people stick around for a while, but I found that everyone staying there was quite friendly and social and I found many people to tour with. The hostile feels modern and clean. The cafe is like something I would find in NYC - an incredible ambiance. The dorm rooms are especially clean and the curtains allow for privacy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hostel, value for money, location not ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location wasn’t the best, a little bit of a walk from the bars and restaurants

    Comfy beds, clean throughout the property, friendly staff, great decor in the cafe downstairs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    if you dont mind the added expense of a cafe its ok and currently upgrading rooms so all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cafe hostel the brekkie basic no tea coffee coz its a cafe 2 options fried egg n sausage or cereal with way to much milk, half the milk put on egg / baguette only for veggie make a pot coffee :)

    beds were comfy maybe squeezing to many beds in though usual but not so cramped staff were good wi fi ok but cafe as a place to sit decor over substance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Vientiane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not negative but more good to know: Location is a bit out of the main hub. No restaurants or bars close by. But for us it was ok, a 10-15 min walk and you’re in an area were you can find all of this.

    Clean hostel with affordable prices! We stayed here twice during our trip through Laos. And I would book again if I ever need to go back to Vientiane. Friendly staff, nice dorms, comfy worry-free bed and clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Best hostel in Vientiane!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For sure the best hostel in Vientiane. Been living in Laos for a year now and tried out many different hostels during my stay. Sailomyen is definitely the cleanest and most comfortable one, you get a lot for the little money you pay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Modern rooms, nice cafe at the ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little bit dirty. Was a bit confused about the ventilation to the outside in an air con room..

    Modern rooms, nice cafe at the ground floor. Staff let me print some things for free and stored my luggage! Thank you! :) Location was a perfect compromise between touristic attractions (Mekong, tower, temples) on the one, and the bus station (for Thailand / Buddha park) on the other hand. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    CLEAN
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean! Bed is very nice with Clean lines. Bath room was always clean. I saw the staff were cleaning the beds with steam machine, that I was impressed. Enjoyed the separate room and bathroom with man and woman. The staff was kind, and the cafe is very nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.2
    Mattresses were comfortable, aircon was good in the rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was only 2 options- cereal and bananas, or egg with toast. Coffee and tea were not included, but for the price I suppose one shouldn't complain too much. The bathrooms were definitely designed by a man, there were only 2 toilets on the female floor with 3 six-bed dorms. And those toilet stalls are super cramped haha.

    Mattresses were comfortable, aircon was good in the rooms, wifi was strong. Not perfect, but for the money it is a great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Really great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lockers in the rooms were a bit too small so my backpack did not fit.

    This is one of the nicer hostels I've ever stayed in. The beds were very comfortable and large (for a bunk bed). The top bunk was actually very high. There was a great common area to relax, eat food, have a coffee, use the wifi, etc. There was a giant jug of water so I could refill my water bottles for free. The included breakfast was set with 2 options: museli/milk/banana or egg/sausage/toast/banana. Other options (as well as coffee) was available for purchase. The staff was friendly and helped to arrange a bus ticket to Vang Vieng.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Wow! What a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the properties fault but annoyingly you have to pay to cross the bamboo bridge into the Center, otherwise it’s a 30 min walk of borrow a FREE bike from the guesthouse!

    Wow! What a find! Clean, comfortable with AMAZING staff. The owner of the place is so friendly and couldn’t help more! We loved our stay. The rooms are lovely with a super comfortable bed and hot water! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Worth staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing significant, but the location was slightly away from the river. Not a big deal if you prefer to stay close to Patuxay.

    Clean, modern facility. The air conditioning stays on during the day time unlike other hostels, which was nice as I wasn't feeling well on one of the days and ended up staying in bed the whole day. Breakfast is simple and basic. Curtain on each bed adds nice privacy. Overall very satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Great place, great staff and perfect for digital nomads.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, great staff and perfect for digital nomads. The café on ground floor has perfect coffee, strong wifi and delicious food. Tthe dorm beds was really comfortable and all facilities are top notch. Im coming back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    The staff was super friendly, beds SUPER comfy with curtains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit further from the old town, but it’s nothing!

    The staff was super friendly, beds SUPER comfy with curtains, good breakfast and amazing coffee. The hostel is super pretty and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say, however for improvement the breakfast could maybe have more of a variety of choice. Only two options to choose from.

    Brilliant hostel, very clean, tidy rooms, the reception area is a great place to relax and have a coffee. Staff are friendly and helpful. We’ve had no problems staying here! Location was great only a 5/10 minute walk in to the town centre, from any mini supermarkets and a 2 minute walk from a public airport shuttle. Ladies had 2 toilets and 4 showers, always kept very clean and never had to queue for anything. Overall great stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Fav hostel in Laos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sad that I had to leave!

    This place is one of my fav hostel so far! Good location, in walking distance 10-15 mins away to Paktusai (Victory Monument), the central bus station and around 15-20 minutes walk to the night market. Loft and cool design, friendly staffs, super nice/big/comfy/clean bed, simple but nice breakfast, fast wifi...all of these come with a pocket friendly price!! And they have the good coffee as well! I wish I could stay longer there! If I come back to Vientiane, I def will stay with them again!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, cosy and really clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee shop is on the expensive side, so even though breakfast was included (coffee and tea aren't), a black tea was an additional 20 Kip.

    Beds are very comfy, the lockers are good for valuables (but not entire pack), super clean, very modern, friendly staff..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Curtain for each bed so plenty of privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms and small lockers so not much space for bags. Power socket only worked when you had the light on so couldn’t charge things overnight.

    Curtain for each bed so plenty of privacy. Really comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfy beds with curtain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A solid 15 minute walk from the city center. Very small showers and toilets

    Nice comfy beds with curtain. Staff is really friendly and the cafe downstairs is nice and cosy with good coffee. Very, very clean. Free drinking water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Such generous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a storm on the night of our flight that meant taxis weren’t running as usual so the owner went well out of his way to drive us to the airport and wouldn’t even accept any money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.3
    Coffee shop on downstairs was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    6 beds mixed dormitory was not spacious and locker was a bit too small for some guests. so other guests put their luggage’s on the floor and that made small room smaller.

    Coffee shop on downstairs was great. I could kill time there before leaving for airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    Clean & nit, nice decoration, breakfast is basic but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a little far from center, one recep staff is not so helpful (mr. Dont know) as well as girl who was responsible for breakfast, has cold face.

    Clean & nit, nice decoration, breakfast is basic but look nice. the night shift receptionist is really more friendly & helpful. Not a hostel w cheap price, so can avoid many not so nice backpackers. ;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 6 bunk room is pretty small, with all beds full and bags in the room it’d be a tight squeeze. Bathrooms could be a little cleaner.

    Nice touch having separate male / female bathrooms. Comfy beds, real duvet and curtain around your bed for privacy. Awesome breakfast, chill out area and some of the best coffee I’ve had in a while. Would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Well styled, nice coffee, good breakfast, nice staff, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all. Although one of the coffee lady’s could work on her smile

    Well styled, nice coffee, good breakfast, nice staff, lovely private beds, good mattress, big lockers, many showers, clean, soap available, I hurt my foot and the staff helped me prepare for remedy. They would also give me an extra egg because i can not eat bread or cereal, the night staff offered to bring me somewhere i needed to go!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a little bit out of the way but if you don’t mind walking it’s fine.

    Modern facilities. Female dorm option is always a bonus. Separate showers and toilets which were clean and modern. Great aircon in room. Comfortable room. Staff were really friendly and booked my bus ticked to Luang Prabang. Breakfast was good. Quiet hostel so not for meeting people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.2
    This was just what I wanted - a bit of luxury on my trip but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Man on reception not super helpful and a bit grumpy but fine. Got the job done.

    This was just what I wanted - a bit of luxury on my trip but still able to meet lovely people. Girls dorm - everyone who came was lovely and considerate. Nice to have girls only facilities just for a change. Breakfast delicious, laundry done really nicely (10k 1kg). A/C amazing, quiet, nice balcony to sit on, vegetarian restaurant opposite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of basic kitchen facilities e.g there was a kettle but no cups. Having to leave 50kip deposit.. not great if you're leaving from there.

    Cool loft style design, comfortable beds, clean, Aircon, good WiFi, free water and towel, 2 choices of breakfast and walking distance to most attractions. Top tips...the vegetarian restaurant across the road is awesome! The airport bus stops close by. Get off at stop 9 if coming from the airport, get on at stop 10 if going to the airport. Cost 15 kip. Takes 10-15 min. Clean and comfortable bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!