Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Laos hotel reviews
  3. Luang Prabang hotel reviews
  4. Luang Prabang hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Apsara Rive Droite

Reviews of The Apsara Rive Droite This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ban Phanluang , 06000 Luang Prabang, Laos

#32 of 116 hotels in Luang Prabang

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 39 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    7.9
    Travelled in April (New year Lao).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room equipment should be improved (sockets-adaptors, iron, toiletries, plumbing). In general overpriced for what it offers, but still a good hotel.

    Travelled in April (New year Lao). Water level was low, so the boat couldn't cross, but the hotel paid for taxi to and from the town. Although the town was noisy during these days, the hotel was very quiet. The manager was extremely kind and helpful. Quality breakfast Nice room size.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    8.8
    Little gem for a peaceful riverside stay @ Luang Prabang
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real issues @ the con side! Although I can imagine that the boat transfer across the river to the center might prove to be a hassle for some. For us it was charming! Just be aware of it.

    Great pool area, though it must be said that the water was rather cool when we were there. Nice and spacious rooms with al necessities provided. They begin tot show their age, but everything is clean and full of charm. Set menu for breakfast with a limited number of choices. (Those staying under a week won't find any problems though) Everything prepared on the spot and especially the homemade jams are a treat! Staff is great and always willing to help. As our flight only left at around 7PM we were granted a late check-out and had the room available until we left for the airport.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    10
    Beautiful river setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful river setting. Room 1 comfortable and spacious. Lovely balcony overlooking river. Staff warm and welcoming. Breakfast delicious. Excellent afternoon cocktails sunbathing poolside. Loved the boat transporting from hotel to main part of town. Beware the steps up and down to river.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    A gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely little hotel that faces it’s big brother across the river. But the ARD has a pool and a small boutique feel. Especially good was the manager and his attentive staff. Large and comfy rooms and a huge balcony in our room (6). An easy and readily available boat takes you to the old town. Strongly recommend this one in Luang Prabang.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Tranquility and peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't realize it was on the other side of town.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Went above and beyond to make my stay there amazing. Big rooms, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Best hotel experience in 3 weeks in Indochina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was the most pleasant and welcoming hotel we've been to during our 3 weeks in Indochina. Han went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and easy such as keeping the kitchen open late I the evening due to our late arrival, helping us organise the tours...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful experience and I will certainly return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The huge room, the attention to detail and style in every aspect. The wonderful staff. The fact that it was not in the middle of town and had a big pool in the gorgeous garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Everything! Han and his Staff were good and kind, always happy to assist and provide good tips. Bedrooms were very clean. Location just opposite old city centre is good - just a short boat distance which make the journey even better! Definitely recommend the place with no doubt!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    A very wonderful 5 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff and food and room

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Extremely friendly and professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Extremely friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    Nice stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit noisy because street very near by.

    Nice stuff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to experience Luang Prabang
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. All good.

    Lovely hotel. Amazing setting. Brilliant staff. Pool great. Incredible place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were fantastic. So accommodating, friendly and professional. The food too was out of this world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    6.3
    1. All staff other than Manager were very helpful especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Manager - Anita Preston did not meet us during our stay ( 5 days / 4 nights) except once when she was extremely rude and discourteous, 2. We were told that restaurant is "opposite" at a sister hotel. It turned out that the sister hotel was across the river, which was many steep steps and a boat ride away . 3. No food served after 4 pm and no dinner facilities at hotel was an inconvenience.

    1. All staff other than Manager were very helpful especially Mr Han 2. Hotel setting was very pretty and great view form balcony. 3. Breakfast was made to order - fresh and delicious.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast with crisp flakey croissants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious breakfast with crisp flakey croissants. The location was great, just a very short boat trip across the river from the old town. Very comfortable bed and large size room.

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2016

    7.5
    Loved the bedrooms and the swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The manager, Anita, didn't seem to know the opening hours of her restaurant, and was quite flaky on details generally. The restaurant was closed throughout our stay, but this was not communicated to us on arrival (just every time we ordered food we were told 'the restaurant is closed' despite ordering at usual mealtimes). The steep climb up from the river to the main part of Luang Prabang was a good workout, but I was glad I wasn't travelling with anyone unfit or over 65 as they would have had difficulty climbing the stairs to cross either by bridge or by boat - the hotel should flag this. We also felt it was overpriced for what it offered, particularly the fact that there was no restaurant on site so there was no alternative to climbing 70 steps down and then 70 steps up again to eat - again, fine if you are fit, but impossible for anyone elderly or injured. While they do have a sister hotel and restaurant across the river, which was delicious, we were told it was impossible to order from their kitchen to our hotel (on the one day we were hoping to lunch by the pool). This is not the service you expect from 5 star.

    Loved the bedrooms and the swimming pool. Also loved that the breakfast was cooked to order every morning. The deputy manager (A Lao man named Han) was fantastic, couldn't do enough for us, and was endlessly helpful.

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2016

    9.2
    Small hotel with outstanding staff who went out of their way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was handled in a professional manner.

    Small hotel with outstanding staff who went out of their way to make sure our experience was superb and helped us plan our limited time in Luang Prabang with restaurant reservations, boat trips. Breakfast was excellent and had bicycles to use free of charge

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant & helpful staff especially Manager Annette...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant & helpful staff especially Manager Annette & Asst Mr. Hann. Short complimentary boat journey across the river to visit various temples etc. Nice pool to cool off in the evening. Easy distance from airport approx 15mins. All in all a very pleasant stay in beautiful Laos.

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    10
    Mr Han is a real asset to this establishment the sweetest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The greeting on arrival by the manager

    Mr Han is a real asset to this establishment the sweetest most helpful and thoughtful member of staff! Thank you for all your kindness and patience! Also I loved the fact the room was made up while we ate breakfast and there were always plenty of fresh towels to use and the beds and pillow were extremely comfortable!

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2016

    9.2
    The staff was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luang is expensive so hotels are higher cost. There are many lower cost guesthouses and the town is so pretty. Be sure to seek out the storyteller and his folk musician for a one hour show which is memorable.

    The staff was great; Anita is a lovely British woman and her right hand man is very attentive and helpful. It was cold and rainy when we got there and they found us a heater for the room.very appreciated.

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2016

    5.8
    Very quiet & very approachable proprietor & manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was described as "centrally located" which it is not because it is on 'the wrong side of the river' necessitating one of 3 options..1st is a hotel provided 1 minute ferry but requiring a very arduous climb down to boat & equally arduous climb up the other side. 2nd choice was short walk to bamboo bridge still with steep climbs up & down. 3rd choice was tuk-tuk @ 7$US each way. Not much choice if you are not young or have any health issues ......this should definitely be made clear in hotel description.

    Very quiet & very approachable proprietor & manager

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were big and comfortable and staff were always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the cleaning staff need to be trained a little more as we found some inconsistencies with the replacement of towels and water each day. Otherwise, no real issues.

    The rooms were big and comfortable and staff were always willing to help. The breakfast was also excellent, especially the pancakes! We also loved catching the small boat across the river, not an issue for us at all!

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    7.5
    Nice bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The toilet not working as it should and the pool not really that well maintained; things you might expect in a 160 dollar room.

    Nice bed. Lovely staff like Mr. Han and Ms. Ta Dam. And the ever struggling boat operator with his not so well functioning boat to cross the river. Nice quiet location (almost empty). Bicycle riding around LP across the old bailey bridge and up to the Hmong new years celebrarions was nice.

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    8.3
    Very nice, helpful staff, very few rooms = privacy, quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise coming from air conditioning, Street and cock crowing! difficult to sleep at night... bathrooms are already a bit used

    Very nice, helpful staff, very few rooms = privacy, quite big swimming pool; location on the other side of the River is ok, in 5 min you can pass the River. Very comfortable, spacious balcony (room in a first floor).

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stay was lovely. Breakfast was nice although the restaurant would be nice with some mellow background music.

    Great location. Nice staff. Relaxing break. Fun to get the 2min boat crossing to Luang Prabang town centre. Rooms nice and spacious. Good balcony area.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    10
    Our short little break was made so much better because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our short little break was made so much better because of the location, surroundings and very friendly staff of the Apsara Rive Droite hotel. Especially mr Sinh's friendly face and service-minded attitude made our stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2015

    9.6
    We had a large, comfortable room on the upper floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very good small hotel but we have stayed in others with as good amenities and rooms at half the price.

    We had a large, comfortable room on the upper floor. We enjoyed the private boat to get us across to the town

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    10
    The location was great, sitting on the balcony looking at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing to dislike

    The location was great, sitting on the balcony looking at the lights on the other side of the river was magical. I did know places like this existed any more.. The on demand 30 second ferry ride to the other side of the river was so helpful. If you stay when the river is low you simply have to cross on the bamboo bridge too.

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2015

    5.4
    The hotel itself has a nice colonial style and nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ok, all my comments refer to the instance, that this hotel claims to be 4 Star with 180 USD per night: - no TV in room!!! - bread at breakfast rock-hard if baked, baguette seemed to be at least 1 day old allthough you can buy the nice Laos baguettes everywhere on the street - pool was dirty (btw: the pool was one of the main reasons why we booked THIS hotel) - the floor in our hotel room wasn't wiped once within one week. - what I first expected to be an advantage turned out to be a disadvantage: The hotel is on the other side of the river from downtown's point of view. We thought that might be more quiet. But it wasn't, as the hotel is directly located bedsides a street. Noise is moderate. On top, you have to take the hotels boat to cross the river or walk over a bamboo bridge some minutes away that charges you 2USD per person!?. The downturn with the boat is, that you have to take the stairs down to the river through some spider web packed walkway to then climb the same thing up on the other side. At 36 degree cel after having had a shower, that makes you sweat like hell. - But now what annoyed me most: The hotel rooms had outside window shades. On the first evening, the staff was so nice to close them while we were away and even plugged in the anti mosquito vaporizer. On the second evening, the didn't. the problem is, that it took me around 5 minutes to close all the shades. when it is dark, you cant do that without switching the room light on. That made our room to a mosquito ballroom. Besides I dont wann stick my hand into dark corners and having 7cm big spiders jumping on my hand. - I asked the staff to just leave the shades closed as we are anyway out all day. They opened it every day, but I always had to close it - Service requests in general: I asked for a TV 2 times: "Yes we can bring you" - nothing happened / I asked for mosqito spray: "yes we will bring you - nothing happened" BTW: we were the only guests!

    The hotel itself has a nice colonial style and nicely furnished rooms. The view from our upper floor room was nice, the balcony was huge. The staff is friendly. Had a nice introduction form the GM. The breakfast was made out of very fresh ingredients (except for the bread).

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    10
    We absolutely loved everything about this hotel - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We absolutely loved everything about this hotel - the location, our room, the staff, the general ambience of the whole place. Because it's in a quieter part of town - but very close to all the restaurants and shops - it's a real oasis. The pool is wonderful, as are the gardens.

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2016

    10
    Location, Han & other staff on front desk, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all perfect.

    Location, Han & other staff on front desk, breakfast choice, view, pool, and the boat to take you across the river.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff, quiet location, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towel was torn; limited amenities, soap, shampoo very minimal

    Friendly staff, quiet location, large room

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    9.2
    We loved the decor and ambiance of the hotel, small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the decor and ambiance of the hotel, small and intimate. Loved the boat ride, bamboo bridge walk, or bike ride into town.

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    8.8
    Having to cross river to get to bars and restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to cross river to get to bars and restaurants otherwise very good

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2015

    10
    Helpful staff, management who cares, large room, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, management who cares, large room, quiet location within 30 seconds to the old city across the river, tasteful breakfast, swimming pool

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2015

    9.6
    Very relaxed environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very relaxed environment

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel, Anita and her staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel, Anita and her staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Looking forward to staying again.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: