Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Hotel De Ville This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sodeco, 1101 Beirut, Lebanon

Review Score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    2.5
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old, tired hotel, checked in by a man in a jean shirt, stained jeans and dirt under his fingernails. Musty smell as soon as you enter the lobby, room desperately in need of renovation. Hair on the "clean" bed sheets. This hotel is crying for a proper chain and management to take over

    Quick trip from the airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    7.5
    Staff is very client oriented, very responsive,kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have issues with providing the right number of towels.

    Staff is very client oriented, very responsive,kind and nice. We arrived with a 3 months old baby and they provided an extra bed in our room. Very nice breakfast with Chef Amer. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    5.0
    They left me sitting long time with my 2 years old baby till...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They left me sitting long time with my 2 years old baby till gave me the room key for no reason, and after 3 hours the fire alarm was like crazy and i left the room at 2 am because they dont know any thing about what happened in the hotel, very bad experience, i don't recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    5.8
    3 star not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not ready, had to wait for the maid to come fix the bed. Room seemed old and run down, AC was loud, wc seemed old and bath door missing a handle... Carpet old and colors faded...

    The staff was nice and welcoming and the room was clean enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    5.0
    Its not a four star hotel, more 3 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General look of hotel, it looks old. Its not a four star hotel, more 3 stars.

    Pictures mildly misleading. Small, old rooms but clean. Nothing special about hotel. If you plan to spend most of the time exploring the city and minimum time in hotel, it does the job!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    4.2
    Nice staff (reception and maintenance)
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view . Small room . Old decoration . Bad lightening . Dirty bathroom . Closet hangers are ridiculous Broken AC The worst Wifi Bad food and slow service . No kattle or drinks in the room

    Nice staff (reception and maintenance)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    6.3
    Hotel in need of renovation with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit outdated hotel. Definitely needs renovation especially the bathrooms.

    Staff were extra friendly. They went out of their way to help in any way they could and always with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    6.7
    Excellent staff but the hotel needs improvement!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom sewage in room 512 was a disaster, the shower was leaking water. The room lighting not enough. Small room space.

    The whole staff personnel were great. The location close to st joseph university was very convenient for me as I had work there. The resturant was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    5.8
    Staff Friendliness, Bed Comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location & Facilities. Also the so called "airport-taxi" was not a hotel owned vehicle, but a regular call-up taxi with double tariff!

    Staff Friendliness, Bed Comfort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    6.7
    Ok for the price, but I wouldn't stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't believe that people were allowed to smoke inside the restaurant during breakfast. I know that people still smoke indoors in Lebanon, but during breakfast?!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    4.6
    Fair place to spend a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room size was small, there was no and hot water, the fridge was not working, no beverages in the fridge, and the AC wasn't heating well.

    The price was very cheap, and the view was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    5.4
    Poor Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our experience was unfortunately a very poor one. The AC in one of the rooms did not heat, neither was there any hot water to shower. We visited in December which is quite a cold season. The rooms were extremely small and nothing like the photos online. We made our complaint and asked to be upgraded which they did after new year's eve. Even when upgraded, the AC in our room made an extremely loud noise. Staff were somewhat responsive but seemed busy with the high occupancy they claimed to have, which was not the most professional. I would not return to the hotel.

    There was a very friendly old gentleman, whom I believe is the restaurant manager. He was honestly the best part of our stay at the property. Super friendly and hospitable, and whenever he was around and saw that we needed anything whether from the restaurant or reception, he would ask how he can assist.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    2.9
    Uncomfortable stay, pay a little more to sleep in comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled weird. The bathroom was old, moldy and water leaked from the shower. The bed was stiff. The heater barely worked so I got my room switched and the new room's heater barely worked. The new room's safe didnt work properly and was told i would get a new one and never got it.

    locations

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    2.9
    Worse experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels were not clean bed sheets were not clean no water to drink in the hotel, heater was not working in the middle of winter we asked for a tea they said no service no kettle in the room we got our own water the bed was bended ..not recommended at all..for this service hotel should be at least half the price.

    Nothing ...worse hotel ever

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    10
    excellent value for money ! prime location, very good food and exceptional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot complain on anything. When you get excellent value for money and good inhouse catering, the rest doesnt matter.

    Everything was just great. Good rooms, exceptional service, safe and accessible, definately will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    2.9
    Dump with lying rip-off staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dirty. The rugs were old, faded, dirty n had ripples. You could feel the springs in the mattress as you laid in bed. There was not enough lighting in the room. The room stank like cigarettes n then too much air freshener to cover up the cigarette smell. The towels smelled like cigarettes! The bathroom smelled like rust. The fixtures were rusty. There was soap scum on the shower walls, rust streaks too, and black mold on the shower door. The sink leaked on the floor. The shower door's rolling ledge was broken. The TV was off color n grainy. The sheets were faded n old. It took 1hr for room service to bring boiled potatoes. I asked for salt; they didn't bring it until the third request. They added fries to my order when I never ordered them. They put noodles in my chicken soup when I specifically told them no noodles, no milk, no cream, no cheese! The soup tasted bad n gritty n dirty. Low quality food for high prices. The day before check out the night auditor wanted me to come n pay my bill at 3:30am bc he thought I stayed too long n didn't have money to pay. Nothing worse than to add insult to injury. All they cared about was money n how to rip me off. I would love my stay reimbursed to me for free because there is no way this is a 4 star hotel!

    It was close to Moulin d'or and Cesar G Daoud Acupuncturist/Physiotherapist. Ali booked my taxi. The toilet flushed properly n I got an extra roll of toilet paper. The curtains were dark n kept out light so I could sleep a lil longer. The charger outlet was next to the bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    7.1
    Impeccable Staff
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 major things when staying in a hotel that are important. One- air condition makes so much noise and takes a long time to kick in. Two- cleansiness, carpets need changing, a definite paint job as well.

    Mike and Tarek are both 5 star quality, very attentive and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    7.5
    The car parking is very important in Beirut, and this hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lighting of the room is really bad. They use the white lights, and it feels as if you are in a classroom!

    The car parking is very important in Beirut, and this hotel solves this issue..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    9.2
    Golden tulip is really great 'we loved it'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    We loved everything about the hotel,The room had everything we needed a comfortable bed, free wifi, excellent shower and all at a reasonable price. It was clean and cosy . Really friendly staff who all spoke fluent English and French! We will definitely be staying again A great hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    5.8
    Staff were excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con in rooms was very poor, and rooms were in need of a refurb.

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    3.3
    I tequest a invoice under the name of Dealers Travel but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I tequest a invoice under the name of Dealers Travel but the hotel refuse

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.5
    Helpful Staff
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    5.0
    Room was really small
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was really small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.8
    Only staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel

    Only staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Helpfull staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.1
    Very poor Wi-Fi connection
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor Wi-Fi connection

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty, slow service, very small room and bathroom

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    An option worth considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and welcoming! Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    3.8
    BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    INTERNET DISTURBANCE

    BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    5.8
    Staff were so kind and
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facility old and cheap furnitures

    Staff were so kind and

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    Will come again definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over all expereice, staff are friendly and welcoming..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    10
    Good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving at night to the reception, greeting was great.....all staff are very friendly....We liked it and will come again....location great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast the same every day.

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    5.4
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You had to ask for everything.. towels, toilet paper, tissues, etc.

    Staff were very friendly. Taxi service available at all times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    8.8
    RETURNING TO THE SAME HOTEL IN A FEW DAYS
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet, central location, cheerful and helpful personnel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    2.9
    Don't waste your money on such a bad service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are very impolite and rude and they discriminate customers basing on their origins and spoken language

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    9.2
    Staff of the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff of the reception

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need upgrading

    Convenient location Friendly staff Fast check-in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    6.3
    Air conditioner, food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner, food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    7.1
    Staff and restaurant are great as well as location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The extra beds are not good and the room for Family was really too small.

    Staff and restaurant are great as well as location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    6.3
    ok room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old weary rooms, bad painting, uncomfortable mattress .

    fast check in , friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    10
    Great value, even better service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The staff were the best, considerate, friendly, helpful. Top rate in all ways

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    4.6
    Services and House Keeping
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Services and House Keeping Old BED

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    7.1
    Bad employee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    offer booked at booking.com differed completely. employee was a liar. he tricked me into a single room instead of a double room reservation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    8.3
    Smooth Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    - Friendly and helpful staff - Great location - Spacious and comfy room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    10
    Especially liked that there is a gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Especially liked that there is a gym

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    7.1
    Lebanese hotel worth considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although they advertised as wifi throughout the hotel we had no signal in our room.

    The room was well cleaned

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent service , friendly staff , great experience. We only come to this place when we are in beirut. It is a second home to us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We highly recommend this hotel.the service,the staff, the location...everything was great.we would definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    9.2
    Mike at the reception was very welcoming, he made me feel at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mike at the reception was very welcoming, he made me feel at home!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    7.5
    Calm area, clean room, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Empty refrigirator, very small room

    Calm area, clean room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    7.0
    Worth to be GOOD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound of outdoor AC compressors , very noisy and annoying. .

    Nice location , friendly atmosphere .clean ,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent view
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excutive sweet smelled bad Not comfartable beds

    gd location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    6.7
    Location and staff are great, everything else is very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size, ac not good, shower broken, room smell, overall tidyness

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mike and Tarek were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.2
    quite comfy weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was very comfortable and there's no disturbing noises at all. Very quite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    6.7
    rather good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is un old property it need serious enhancement.

    it has a good location , quite distract

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    7.1
    Comfort
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed dirty

    Comfort quite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    7.1
    Good staff and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like variaty of breakfast and room specious , beside that beds dimention were smaller than i expected.

    Staff morality were perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning is weak inside the rooms

    It's clean and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    2.9
    Dislike
    • Family with older children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are not professional AC was not functioning well The matla of the bed was not comfortable The toilet needs maintenance

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    4.2
    Not to be repeated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very ugly. Bed not comfortable. Microscopic shower

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    6.3
    We made a service request to change the burnt lights but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    We made a service request to change the burnt lights but they did not take any actions. Also the AC was very slow.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    6.7
    Convenient for an overnight stay before or after a flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Allegation that we had damaged the room!

    Upgrade to Executive Suite

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 72 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: