Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riviera Hotel Beirut 5 stars

Corniche El Manara, Ras Beirut, 1103 Beirut, Lebanon

#94 of 125 hotels in Beirut

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 848 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is great but the management of the pool is crappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't allow you to get your personal drink to the pool so i had to pay like an extra 100$ for my drinks and they search you like you're a thief.. well i payed to spend the weekend having a drink by the pool not for the bed

    staff is excellent hotel is clean, classy, breakfast is great, everything is good except the pool restrictions..!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (not cheap) not included in the room price. Personally, I don’t like moquette in the room.

    Very good swimming pool area and terrasse. Clean and confortable hotel, elegant and classic . Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on check in was rude and not professional at all. The rooms are old and dirty. The breakfast buffet is very poor. This hotel should be 3 stars max not a 5 star.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.5
    I will Never go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool

    Horrible experience with this place very dirty. Room service did a very bad job everyday. AC wasn’t working properly in my room mini bar fringe didn’t work.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Unclean and staff unprofessional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the same suit that we booked also the toilet is not clean and it smells so bad, water is yellow and not hygienic. It took us two nights to change the suite. The ac is not working too... I really regret choosing this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    really nice location and pool, below expectation rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was smelling of smoke (despite non smoking room) a lot of things in the room were damaged/burnt by smoke (the bed sheets, the moquette, the desk, the side table,..) there was a flashing light just above the bed that couldn't be switched off in the room that didn't let me sleep

    the location, the pool, the restaurant by the pool, the staff the room had a good size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Good value for the special discounted price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower nozzle didn't have good pressure or was in need of repair

    Breakfast was ok but could have had more options and variety for warm food. Nice room with a view and enthusiastic staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff and service were fantastic - a big thank you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned on the second day of the trip however one call to the front desk and this was rectified quickly.

    The staff and service were fantastic - a big thank you to May B. who was super helpful with everything. Check-in was easy, the rooms were comfortable and the pool is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    The swimming pool and the stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms furniture And the elevator stop working for more than 2 hours and i had to go to my room in 4th floor with the stairs

    The swimming pool and the stuff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful nature of Lebanon made our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel charges for parking 13$ per day, whereas you can park outside the hotel for free... 5* star hotel must provide free valet parking. Overall the hotel was nice back in 1957 but its overpriced now considering all facilities.

    Breakfast was good. Location and sea view was nice too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    2.5
    Unfortunately I had a bad experience at the end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had a bad experience at the end. They blocked an amount on my Visa card for payment, and until now they amount is not back, even after settlement of dues.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.9
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like my thing about this hotel

    I checked him exhausted laydown on the bed which was a very hard workout in the morning to look at the mattress we had the mattress upside down contacted the front desk told the manager came to my room that he would turn over immediately when I got back after doing things at 5 o’clock in the evening it still has not been turned over they’re making turn the mattress when they did it was so filthy that I wanted to leave the hotel then when I was leaving the Bellman hand broke to the wheels of my suitcase who had it it in the taxi cab which I found out when I got to the airport and I have two big holes on the bottom of my suitcase I don’t think anybody should go to this hotel location shut it down

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    The only thing that was good was location and access to outdoors swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower weter pressure - poor access to lighting next to bed - old tv - limited channels on tv - bathroom didn’t have tooth brush or paste or shaving paste - no access to free parking- very expensive valet parking - swimming pool bar was empty- some tanning beds were damaged - the claimed city view of the room was not really a city view was the view of the back door of random buildings

    Only that there is an outdoors swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Location, 20 minutes away to city center by nice beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bad smell in the corridor, as we arrive. The rooms without seaview are dark. Better ventilation needed in corridors.

    Location, 20 minutes away to city center by nice beach walking. Staff was nice. Breakfast was nice. It is an old style hotel but may be better with some care. Walking on the beach for relaxing is also nice point especially in evenings. And beach facilities, pools was the best during my weekend. It was april, in summer you may able to swim in the sea also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel in a good location where, unfortunately, the staff is spoiled.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the pool, the security guard will not allow you to take water out of the room, so if you go with your family, you will just give water at least 40 Euro per day. Do not pick up the phone at the pool either, as demented security thinks you're taking photos of you in the gallery. Forgotten glasses in the room, of course, were not found. And at the end of the race you will get a bill in which you do not have the chance to know, so you pay but you do not know what to do.

    Pure 3 * hotel. The underpass under the road to the pool is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    The property needs to be re modeled and designed again...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs to be re modeled and designed again because it’s outdated and the rooms are not clean and it dose not reflect the photos on booking whatsoever. plus we found aunts in the room which we were disappointed from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    The hotel staff were very helpful and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average and needed more variety. Rooms were average and one of our rooms stunk of cigarette smoke. The carpet had an iron burn and both carpet and desks in both rooms had cigarette burns. Not pleasant for families. We were told they had a pool which was empty of water due to being out of season but this would have improved our stay. I strongly advise as hotel policy you ban smoking in all rooms. For the money and experience it was over priced. One of the drivers the hotel uses over charged us, when all other taxis had been reasonable and as it was a hotel driver or one connected with hotel we were very disappointed. We were also charged full price for a trip into the mountains to see a castle that was closed and the company used by the hotel had confirmed the day before it was open. No negotiation on price was given and it felt they were just in to get as much money from us as possible. My advice arrange trip in advance and don’t use the company the hotel uses.

    The hotel staff were very helpful and supportive. Particularly Mr Split the Front Office Manager who was really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    2.9
    The worst expirance ever
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room gad oil spots on the hesd bored and the bed,they change the room but they but me on 1st floor and i request in advance to be on high floor. The security guy was so rude many times . The reception team they ask me 3 times if i use the bar even thou i reqested the mini bar to be removed once i arrived. Even i ask for late check out thsy refuse as its fully booked! The booking made for 2 adults saddly my friend dindt get back to me but the hotel keep calling me every day to confirm who gana stay with me and i explan but they were so rude about asking it felt like a cheap motel!

    The worst expirance ever

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    i don't recommend the place anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in the hotel 5 years back and it was in a much better condition and shape, the hotel over all deteriorated since my last visit 5 years back

    the location and the view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.2
    Hotel charges guest for parking infront of the hotel on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charges guest for parking infront of the hotel on the street!! This is not logic and not acceptable. Its not even a closed or secure parking location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.9
    Was good stay, comfortable and enjoy sea side view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure of water is poor. Completely not satisfied with it. Plus hot water take much to become hot, time and water consuming. I books primium double room with king siz bed, and staff confirmed it’s not double room, which misleading people who pay for such bigger room while on the ground it’s not. Please be clear and specific with room specifications

    Was good stay, good location, cleanliness. Services, staff servic.. good menu also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this hotel its not 5 stars maximum 4 and the pool need refurbishing the sea near by the hotel was very dirty. the location its ok but i prefer downtown beirut and the late checkout its only possible until 1 pm

    nothing in special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Sea view through the window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private beach was somehow separated from the hotel by the promenade, and it was closed, contrary to what was stated in the website.

    Sea view through the window Location Spa Restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    The location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the room rate was very reasonable , the rooms are ‘tres fatigue’ and required renovation. Not all electrical sockets are working. The daily room cleaning was not the best.

    The location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Absurd experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was flooded, poor response to that. Mistakenly woken up by staff in the middle of the night. No gesture of apology. Too bad, since it could be a nice and original place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't stay here! No airconditioning, the photo's at bookings.com are far from reality. The hotel is old and the condition is poor.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel’s location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When a five-star hotel uses the cheapest toilet paper, then those stars are non-sense. I had to leave early did not sample breakfast, so can’t say much about that.

    The hotel’s location is great. Right across is the Mediterranean and the seaside walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    The stuff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need maintenance AC not working properly Room service entered our room while we put the tag to not disturb Small room The hotel entrance is not prepared for baby strollers

    The stuff were friendly The morning buffet was good The sew view from the room was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    The stuff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need maintenance AC not working properly Room service entered our room while we put the tag to not disturb Small room The hotel entrance is not prepared for baby strollers

    The stuff were friendly View from the room was nice The morning buffet was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need maintenance AC not working properly Room service entered our room while we put the tag to not disturb Small room The hotel entrance is not prepared for baby strollers

    Staff are friendly The morning buffet was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    WORST 5 STAR HOTEL EVER !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How can a hotel like this be considered a 5 star hotel ? I’m a frequent traveler and i can say that i stayed in 3 star hotels better than Riviera. There is no AC , we had to sleep with the window open, one of the days i had to take a shower with cold water. Some of the hotel employees hardly speak english. My parents were staying in room next door and they had to kill a small cockroach. I will never come back !!!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    I like the location & the stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A- I request to stay at room till 18:00 o'clock as I have seminar, Then the lady at reception request 50% extra charge from the room daily rate, final she permit me to stay till 13:30 oclcok, i.e extra 1.5 hrs for free. B-I made local call from the room for duration of 7-8 minutes the charge was $ 6

    I like the location & the stuff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely pleasant and friendly, the rooms are very clean and the view from the sea side room is simply amazing. The breakfast was also good with several varieties.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    I took a room with no view so I can say the mattress was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet shower has no pressure I had very bad time while I used to have my shower and the hot water need much more time to reach the system is very old , the valet parking are careless especially that I had my own car , the security people was doing there job and very good and bill boys as well I can say I can pay more 30$ per night and I can stay in real 5 stars hotel with full facilities like Lancaster plaza Rawshi in Beirut .

    I took a room with no view so I can say the mattress was comfortable and room was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    More than amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, the hotel was perfect

    I recommend everyone to choose this hotel during their upcoming travel to Beirut, everything was perfect starting from room design, service, food and the fast response of employees, i simply like everything about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    It’s was nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The break fast every day same and not mixed there’s no alternative food Security Man they look to me and wife when we arrived (I don’t like this eye )

    Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Never again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is extremely uncomfortable Nothing like the pictures Stains on Couch We asked for queen bed but got twin, then they upgraded us to a room with queen bed, but no balcony although we wanted one. Turns out they didn’t have the room we want with a queen and balcony; although booking said they did They didn’t understand their menu (room service) Not so polite and welcoming

    The lady at check out was super sweet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room the said in website see view when we went he said little sea view and u can upgrade ur booking to have a full sea view the pic in booking diffrient than reality the guys next to the main entrance (vale parking) they are very rud just the want to take your money and rud in communications , last day they didnt bring towel i asked for it

    The view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    It was great, I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy , my room must have been next to a room where cleaning tools are stowed. So I could hear lots of movement in the hallway and opening and closing of doors

    Nice cute breakfast buffet with a view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    2.9
    VERY VERY LOUSY AND UNPROFFESSIONAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist are too damn stubborn and no supervision on employees. Employees going into the room without permission and more over not even saying SORRY!!!! YOU CALL YOURSELF A 5 STAR HOTEL I WOULDNT RATE YOU AS 1 STAR. Moreover the receptionist and the staff are so rude that it would be inadequate to even approach them. Very unprofessional!

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.9
    It was very bad stay in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff answered you with bad not helpful at all also the women how they are working in spa they are very rout

    Nothing every thing was so bad the staff and room no hot air in rooms and it was rain and cold

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great beach club, friendly staff and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was ready to be changed as it was apparant many people had slept in it over the years which had created a dip in the middle. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very nice, however there could easily have been a little more furniture in the room, a lounge table and a couple of extra chairs here and there. In addition, we had two terraces, but only on chair... There could easily have been space for a small sitting group out on the terrace which would have been very nice. Beach club is also very nice, a shame it is not recommendable to swim in the polluted beaches of Beirut. The swimming pools however are great, and if you travel just 20 minutes out of the city you hava great swimming conditions.

    The spacious room, the ocean view, the cleanliness, the beach club and the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room toilets were a disaster and quite run down. If a property is to be listed in the 4 or 5 star category then I would expect no leakage from the shower, stronger water pressure and above all it shouldn’t look so cheap. This was not just my room but the rooms of my companions as well.

    Staff were very polite. Location makes it easy to get anywhere in Beirut. Sea view was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Ameera was so helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When my car taxi came the early morning to pick me to the the airport after I checked out I was surprised that the concierge stopped the car and said that the receptionist wants to talk to me and he came to the car and told me that a chips and nuts were missing in the mini bar though I didn't use or even noticed the mini bar , that was so awful I stayed almost 5 amazing days and last thing instead of saying see you again he stopped the car to tell me for this thing, that didn't sound good or professional at all , Regards Huda Temsah

    Ameera was so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't take your water or chocolates to the beach.also house keeping don't bring the coffe cups or toilet supplies every time they clean

    Nice swimming pool and location .also the view from our room was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the bedroom in the early morning and the room smelt liked stale smoke. Staff by the pool very unhelpful and unfriendly.

    The views from the room and pool area were lovely. The pool area was good and loungers were comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    the city is nice built on green mountains but very humid, people are nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    expensive facilities, dishonest tricks to force you buy coffee & water, you got to fight with them, cleaners withdrew cups or coffee packs, ask Rm service & you get decaf packs. biting mites in beds

    size of rooms , television, gym was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Complete disappointment! Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked almost everything! It just doesn't deserve a star out of the 5 stars. Bathrooms absolutely old and not functional, leaking everywhere. Rooms carpet not clean. Had to beg for towels and were provided beach towels instead. Slow service. Poor breakfast. Noisy location. Such a disappointment.

    The only thing that is likeable are few staff members like Raouf at reception, Sarah at the pool and Ali for room service. Other than that...nothing to be liked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Terrible.5 star prices for 2 star services!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I have stayed at 5 star hotels around the world and believe me this is not one of them! The service was absolutely terrible. The room was not cleaned promptly even though some days I would leave all day long. When it was cleaned there was always something missing that should be the absolute minimum, e.g: toilet paper, clean towels, clean sheets... I had to call down every time I needed toilet paper or needed towels and it took hours for them to bring the items to the room if they ever did. I recall one day where I had to ask for toilet paper 4 times before someone remembered to bring some up. Simple requests were not promptly addressed. I asked for a coffee mug 3 times at least before they brought one up as well. Hair dryer is not available in the room (apparently it's upon request, good luck with that), iron boards and iron are also only available upon request. Does that sound like a 5 star hotel to you? I will never stay at this hotel again, absolute disappointment and total waste of money. The room was small and dingy and I had the spectacular view of what seems to be an old rusty roof with water pumps and very curious and near by neighbors in the adjacent building that could clearly see into our room whenever the blinds were open. no privacy whatsoever. Overpriced for no reason, 5 star prices for 2 star service. 1 big bottle of water at the store right next door is 7 times less than one at their "pool" area. 7 times! Don't even get me started at the pool area in terms of service and cleanliness and staff. Rude, disgusting, and unclean. I advise management to retrain all their staff and revamp the entire hotel otherwise please lower your fake rating to 2 or 3 stars maximum to truthfully reflect value. Thank you. Never again.

    honestly nothing, such a disappointment. I've stayed in hotels around the world and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Location is central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is old and not well kept, i could have gotten a better place in Beirut for such a value of money. I would definitely not recommend the place again.

    Location is central. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    A great base from which to visit Beirut and other parts of Lebanon but feels its age.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel feels a little run-down in areas - probably reflecting falling tourist numbers to Beirut. It somewhat feels its age. The pool area is noisy with loud dance music and it's worth knowing it is a salt water pool.

    A great location on the seafront, helpful staff and a beautiful art deco interior reflecting its 1950s/60s heyday. The bed was really comfortable and breakfast was good. The pool area has a great sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach of the hotel is not a really beach, it does not have access to the sea. The pools which are part of the beach are not well preserved and there where dirthy.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money had an amazing stay but it needs to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely slow internet and rust in the bathtub.

    Great value for money had an amazing stay but it needs to be cleaner. There was rust in the bathtub which is not normal and the internet felt like it was a dial-up connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    THE LOCATION IS GREAT AND THE OUTDOOR POOL IS GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO TOWELS UPON ARRIVAL IN THE ROOM AND WE WENT TO THE SWIMMING POOL AND ALSO THEY TOLD US NO TOWELS AND IN THE MORNING THERE WAS COFFEE IN THE ROOM BUT NOTHING TO HEAT THE WATER WITH

    THE LOCATION IS GREAT AND THE OUTDOOR POOL IS GOOD

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    It was great had an amazing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Shower had a problem (hot & cold water) - deluxe room is Small with no couch , although the classic partial sea view is bigger , i tried it before - Air condition leaking water on door step - No flexibility in customizing breakfast in last day as i had to leave 4:00 am and i payed it and didn't have it

    Pool area and music Food was tasty Generally cozy hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Our checked bag was lost in transit and the reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the beach club were much more interested in beach club members and we felt that hotel guests were ignored, it was difficult to get a towel or order drinks and food as everybody we asked was never the right person. The room facilities are basic for such an expensive hotel - no hair dryer, no bath robe etc.

    Our checked bag was lost in transit and the reception staff were helpful in getting it back and providing documentation we needed for our insurance claim.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location with Swimming pool !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We did not receive a very nice welcome at the reception the first day. The receptionist made a mistake in our reservation and told us the breakfast was not included while it was actually included in the total price. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful, so it might just have been bad luck!

    Hotel is nice and well located. Easy access to taxi and to the city center. Facilities (swimming pool, bars,...) are great but we spent more time visiting than lying at the pool ! Breakfast offers a wide variety of choices (mainly lebanese food but also croissant and eggs)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Plain OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel and its services are overpriced for what you get. But then, almost everything is in Beirut.

    The traditional Lebanese breakfast. Direct access to beach club.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    It could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel needs renovation - there is an aluminum kind of wire that's not attached to the balcony door. There is no table on the balcony. The bathtub has rust. The valet parking is expensive compared to other hotels in Beirut. There were a lot of small flies in the room. I only had a beer from the mini bar but at check out they said there is a bottle of cognac missing which I did not have and when the lady called her manager he was telling her over the phone that I should pay for it but she did not charge me at the end.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the stuff looks friendly put they wasn't helpfull and the room service was sooo bad the house keeping was a disaster they keep the glass dirty in the room the forgot to put a clean tawel for us and when we complained their excuses was sorry the hotel is fully booked and we cants service you all..i just felt im in 3 star or less hotel

    The swimming pool atmosphere only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Great place but very bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception is not nice nor helpfull. I came earlier and they said no rooms available. Everyquestion looked like bothering them. I asked for directions and they only push to buy at the hotel shops

    Location is great Nice swimming pool area by the sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    The beach area although there was lots of work during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach area although there was lots of work during the day time around the pool with no warning prior to booking. There were Rebuilding the place while people on vacation which not appropriate for holiday makers

    The beach area although there was lots of work during the day time around the pool with no warning prior to booking. There were Rebuilding the place while people on vacation which not appropriate for holiday makers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Awesome hotel (without Airport shuttle)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airport shuttle did not show up and it took me 3 hours of waiting. So, when I arrived at the hotel they have told me they don't have that option (booking.com has it for their hotel). (Sight)

    Mostly everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    Noisy- staff need more training! 3*at a push
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in suite bedroom as we were on first floor above the function room! We were told what did we expect- it was s hotel! Also we were told the rooms were well noise insulated! When invited to come with us to see for themselves the offer was declined! Would not go back ! We paid a lot to stay there and this hotel should not be rated 5*! 3 at a push

    Location was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - pool staff was so rude and disrespectful . - I asked for an iron 8 times in two days and I didn't receive anything - they eventually offered to have it ironed for me but by that point I didn't want anything from the unprofessional staff- - I had no coffee or tea in the room- - they never replaced my towels or my bed sheets . They never apologized for the pool staff being so rude to me . Except when I was checking out one employee did . But it was too late I was angry and uncomfortable at my stay . The room had no couch or table to sit and eat on .

    I liked the pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    that i had to change my room 3 times and still found problems with my last room. very slow elevators that i usually end up going down the stairs.

    the location and the swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Great pool for partying but without the great room to accompany it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That being said the hotel itself isn't that great with the Gym being outside and other facilities and it shouldn't be rated as a 5 star hotel. Tried to order an ashtray once took them an hour and then I had to call again and again for similar little orders.

    Riviera had some awesome pool parties on a daily basis other than that the hotel staff were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Great pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool area was closed at night due to a private wedding. The sea around Beirut is filthy and I wouldn't recommend dipping your toe in it

    Expensive hotel but provides an amazing pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice for summmer if you look for a good pool party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very outdated and old and the elevator is super slow and small plus the bathroom is so tiny

    I loved the pool and the music by the pool and how close it is to most popular places

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Paying 5* hotel for a 3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and worn away. There was a balcony with no chairs. The staff were very unhelpful. Breakfast was so bad didn't have anything to offer. The room was a 100 dollar night room not 350 dollar room.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.2
    Very bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were construction works going on in the building. There were even workers in our room when we walked in. The bathroom was old and not very clean. Same for towels

    Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditions of the room and the construction Paint faded not really painted professionally paint every where not cleaned not even room number sign hangin was on floor out side the hall time of my stayed At the hotel room service very bad

    Beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Not the best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I ever visit Lebanon again, I will definitely pick another hotel. It's relatively old, and room service wasn't great. We had to request new towels, coffee, small water bottles, shampoo ...etc almost everyday. For the price we paid, we expected a better experience at the hotel. The room view (city view) was horrible, so sitting at the balcony was not very pleasant. It did not overlook the city, it overlooked water tanks and balconies of other rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable , no accuracy in room facilities ( hair dryer and iron were not available in the room until we asked for and finally the plugs didn't work except one plug near the tv ), always missing towels and mugs and amenities ( always one towel in the room and we have to ask daily for extra towels although we are in a triple room, no mugs in the room and we have to ask for it) ), staff are ok but never met our expectations.

    Pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    Such location and such treatments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room it wasn't ready when we arrived, the room service is unbelievable, is very slow and takes to much time to bring something. Also we ask for iron and they said okay then after 2 days they said all the iron is busy! The smell of room

    The hotel have such a nice location but the service it can be much better, the staffs in reception are very friendly but the all have to works as teams if they want the hotel to grown more. The only good thing is the breakfast and the service in it. Otherwise everything have to improve!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: