Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mayflower Hotel 4 stars

Yafet Street, Hamra, 1103 Beirut, Lebanon

#79 of 125 hotels in Beirut

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1761 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are nice and very clean. Ac works fine, very quite. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and always trying to please specially the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing, close to many main areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small; however, we just used the room to sleep. If you are out all day long, it doesn’t bug you in any ways.

    The location is amazing, close to many main areas. Both the hotel and the room was clean. Staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    The location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were worn out and not very clean. Tap was leaking. Airconditioning very noisy. The tiny swimming pool is closed on Wednesdays. For what it offers this place is far too expensive.

    The location was great... Right in the heart of Hamra

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Not good as I expected soni will not go there again i may try other place rather than may flower
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place of the room they use to give foreigners from Europe and others good view rooms and always and for the second time a back view rooms

    Good , friendly not all are helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    an OK hotel, but there are better ones nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is NOT sound-proof. You will hear your neighbors, the vacuum cleaners, the AC. And even if you switch off your AC, you will still hear the noise and vibrations of ACs of your neighbors and the buildings close by. The hotel does not provide breakfast for early departures. The reception staff are not very helpful - there was no map or information brochure when I went, although they provided some later. They charged me two different prices for the airport taxi they provided to pick me up and to drop me for departure.

    location is good, just off Hamra Street breakfast is simple, but everything is very fresh and tasty, and the waiters are polite and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    The Mayflower hotel is a great place to stay if your plan is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mayflower hotel is a great place to stay if your plan is to go around the city and have a cozy place to go back to. The facility is great and convenient with a nice small outdoor pool on the roof which has about 3-4 hours of sun through the day due to buildings around the hotel ,but the overall experience is pretty much what you pay for and i highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.5
    BAD and i was looking to leave as soon as i can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stuff are recess and not professional and hotel is toooooo old and not either 4 star max 1 if not 0, they don't like the kids and they are very angry and hushed with them.

    no kids friendly and the photo don't match the hotel and the location is scary .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean, neat, stylish rooms, supporting staff, location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drawback was every day the same breakfast. It was tasty but for the long run inconvenient. Minipool at the rooftop really tiny.

    Clean, neat, stylish rooms, supporting staff, location in Hamra provides walk distance to the atrractions like Pigeons Rocks, Corniche and even Downtown. Close to the numerous restaurants, cafés, shops, pâtisseries. Tasty breakfast with pleasant service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    Not a four star hotel!! Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy and very run down rooms Disrespectful and arrogant staff in the reception Very lengthy check in and check out procedures Rooms and facilities not matching the website pictures and staff admit that the pics of all rooms are from one executive suite. Poor breakfast

    The roof top area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    Lousy hotel not at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff in the reception. Very run down rooms not at all matching the pictures on the website nor booking.com. Poor breakfast. The worlds smallest pool on the roof top.

    The setup of the roof top area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for money in Hamra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are really into breakfast, you may find the breakfast to be not great.

    The staff were all very nice and helpful and helped us plan two really lovely day trips. It is in a really good central location in the Hamra area. The rooftop area was a nice place to relax in. It was really great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpets are a bit old, but not too bad. Internet was weak in one of the rooms. The receptionist wasn't flexible with later check-outs (she insisted on 12:00 pm rather than say 2:00 pm).

    The location is wonderful, close to the AUB as well as the heart of Hamra district. Plentry of restaurants, shops and grocery stores seconds away. We had the family room, which was two rooms connected by a corridor; one had two single beds and the other had a larger bed; it was sufficient to our family of 5. The bathroom was clean and nice. The internet was good in one of the rooms but relatively weak in the other. The staff was friendly. There is also a "departure lounge" area for after check-out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    ..
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge the money form my credit card before I'm coming, while I want to pay cash. So I asking them to refund the money to my credit account.

    ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, central, cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel may be a bit old, but it's very clean and comfortable. The staff is lovely and helpful, and the hotel offers everything you need. It's located in the heart of the town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.9
    Mayflower worst hotel in hamra
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dirty so I only stayed 1 night and they made me pay for three nights. The room was disgusting. The staff were horrible. Very very bad

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very good host for sure! The staff was very nice and helpful, we liked facilities and some extras (as a swiming pool on a rooftop). Location is worth to mention - the fact that hotel is located in Hamra gives you a huge advantage to find a place to eat/drink and shop. Transportation in around (Sevice & Taxi) is easy to find/catch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    If I ever visit Beirut again, I am definitely stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better

    Staff was very helpful from the beginning. Rooms are clean and have everything you need. It is not a five star hotel but its value for money for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    an excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi used to get disconnected at times.

    The facilities inside room, ambience in the hotel and the service by the staff was very good. Smaller details like LED bathroom mirror lights, bathtub, clothesline for drying clothes, chairs for balcony( i had got one), stationery and minibar are appreciative. The ambience around rooftop mini pool is worth spending time in the evening. Most important , the staff was very helpful and went out of way to assist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    they let me early check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room don't have the balcony and see the just a wall.Furniture are too old.overpriced for the conditions.too much noise every hours of the day.

    they let me early check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee were not available in the room, and had to buy every time.

    Location, reception staff, room size, breakfast, room cleaning. Everything was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Generally good but a so-so individual experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not meant as a take-down of the place, so please read constructively. Had bugs flying in my ear and biting me all night when I stayed. The room was not terrible, but it was also not in great shape. The electricity cuts were problematic, but this may have just been Beirut in hot weather generally (as I noticed it in a few other places) If you're on a tight budget, it's probably won't bother you much. Again, it was not a terrible experience, but I probably will not stay there again.

    Lobby/ground floor is nice and the breakfast was decent, all considered. Excellent coffee and staff were all very helpful. They were very reasonable when it came to an issue I had to deal with, too. Also, Beirut is amazing and you're smack in the middle of Hamra, so everything is a 5-minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    satisfactory and delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. I just want it to be clear that triple rooms have no view which wasn't an issue for us

    The WiFi was working great. The staff is very helpful and responsive. The room is very clean. Central location very near to Hamra, supermarket, grocery , restaurants, desserts and mobile shop. The breakfast is very good and always fresh. The check-in and the check-out went smoothly and quickly. They were very understanding when I had a problem with my credit card and accepted the cash payment after arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    This hotel probably had better days, a long time ago...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedrooms and the staircase are getting old. The bathroom in room 820 is completely outdated. Urgent work required. When I would enter room 821, a bad smell (sewer-like) would overpower me and I had to keep the windows open to mitigate that.

    Mmmh... Location? Name? That's about it...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    The location is really nice, close to Hamra Street and with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the breakfast the restock of food was a little bit tardy.

    The location is really nice, close to Hamra Street and with a walking distance to many attractions in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    We intend to return to The Mayflower next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    1. The airconditioning was directly over our heads and gave us colds. 2. Only one English language TV channel. An English film channel would be welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast without any variations so got really hard after the 4th day

    The location is centrally located and 2 bedroom suite was comfortable with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is located in Hamra, old quarter of the city. Approx 30 mins. drive from BEY airport. Hotel is not new, not posh and not modern. That said, it offers a great location, friendly service and clean rooms. Even the hotel is not modern it offers an old world charm right in the middle of the city. As the hotel is in the middle of the small streets you will experience noise from time to time. Bring your earplugs. Rooms are of good size, comfy bed(firm) with clean linnen., minibar, safe, aircon, tv (limited english) and a balcony which was lovely. Wifi included worked fine . Bathroom had tub, waterpressure was weak. Towels were clean and changed daily. Toiletries. Cleaning was immaculate which is rare these days. Cleaning staff friendly. Breakfast served from 7am was good and staff very friendly. Not a huge selection on offer but adequate to get you going. The pub on the ground floor (duke of wellington) seemed very popular by locals, I had some meals here which was fresh, tasty and offered at a reasonable price. And served with a smile. I am not sure that the -1 restaurant was open for evening meals. Tried to acces the top terrace twice but it was closed. Front desk staff was a bit of a lottery, some were very friendly, some seemed uninterested. Hotel offers airport transfers and tours at very steep rates. I do understand that they also want to earn money, but it would be nice to have city maps, and tour brochures on offer. I booked with Nakhal tour company, who offers very good and wellorganised tours incl. hotelpick up/dropoff at reasonable rates. For the rates on offer, good location and cleanliness my stay at the Mayflowers was enjoyable and I would not hesitate to stay again. And I will visit Beirut again, its a wonderful place.

    Hotel is located in Hamra, old quarter of the city. Approx 30 mins. drive from BEY airport. Hotel is not new, not posh and not modern. That said, it offers a great location, friendly service and clean rooms. Even the hotel is not modern it offers an old world charm right in the middle of the city. As the hotel is in the middle of the small streets you will experience noise from time to time. Bring your earplugs. Rooms are of good size, comfy bed(firm) with clean linnen., minibar, safe, aircon, tv (limited english) and a balcony which was lovely. Wifi included worked fine . Bathroom had tub, waterpressure was weak. Towels were clean and changed daily. Toiletries. Cleaning was immaculate which is rare these days. Cleaning staff friendly. Breakfast served from 7am was good and staff very friendly. Not a huge selection on offer but adequate to get you going. The pub on the ground floor (duke of wellington) seemed very popular by locals, I had some meals here which was fresh, tasty and offered at a reasonable price. And served with a smile. I am not sure that the -1 restaurant was open for evening meals. Tried to acces the top terrace twice but it was closed. Front desk staff was a bit of a lottery, some were very friendly, some seemed uninterested. Hotel offers airport transfers and tours at very steep rates. I do understand that they also want to earn money, but it would be nice to have city maps, and tour brochures on offer. I booked with Nakhal tour company, who offers very good and wellorganised tours incl. hotelpick up/dropoff at reasonable rates. For the rates on offer, good location and cleanliness my stay at the Mayflowers was enjoyable and I would not hesitate to stay again. And I will visit Beirut again, its a wonderful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is in an excellent location but the front staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location but the front staff (Hasan) we rude and unhelpful. My friend’s toilet broke and Hasan asked us to flush it. When we told him we had tried that, he barely acknowledged it and said someone would be sent to fix it..no one came to fix it. I also asked Hasan for a wake up call but I never received the call. Most of the staff were excellent but front reception men were rude and thoroughly unfriendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was OK but considering the breakfast culture, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was OK but considering the breakfast culture, it might be more than OK. Rooms are comfortable, location is almost perfect. Good price for a good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The Mayflower Hotel was an incredibly pleasant surprise and I would recommend to all of my friends a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved all of the staff! They were all so warm and welcoming, they felt like family. The food was amazing and the staff in the breakfast room were so kind and so nice. They made our breakfast experience even better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel but not for twins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should state the dates in which the pool will be closed. We booked this hotel to use the pool and ended very disappointed in that. The elevator cannot fit a twins carriage - therefore hotel not suitable for such type of families. If babies are sleeping in the carriage you need to wake them up to dismantle the carriage when using the elevator.

    Good breakfast and great room cleaning services

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in the heart of Hamra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little outdated but it does not take away the value And comfort of this place. It was a little disappointing that the pool and rooftop was closed when we came. They should let customers know prior to booking that it's closed during the winter period until late April.

    The property is a typical hotel with great service, comfortable beds and clean rooms. The location is perfect if you want to stay in the Hamra district. Close to restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Rethink coming there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well... we were group of friends travelling through few of Middle East countries. It's very rare for me to write negative comments (have been myself in hostels/hotels in over 50 countries). We were charged for beers that we havent take from mini-bar. I am sure of that however we were asked to pay. Receptionist said beers will be charged at reduced price... and eventually we were charged more! This is small thing and obviously could be forgotten. I assume that one of employeees simply forgot to put it in the room. However I don't understand logic of this... We left some money in hotel (including tips) and then we are put in not comfortable situation being accused of drinking few dollars worth drinks? But this is not crucial for our stay... One of our friend got poisoned from breakfast. We all eat the same in last 3 days and only difference was white cheese in mayflower restaurant. Can't recommend! To add... I stayed personally in 4 other objects were everything was good (and better) in Beirut and my advise is - search more!

    Check in was very efficient and room was cleaned enough. Interior is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    one of the best if you want to stay in Hamra region. Very close to Hamra street. may be best p/p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has been renovated nicely but the bathrooms inside the rooms could be more thoroughly renovated as well.

    This hotel is swarming with history all over the place! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't like our room at first night but they arranged a very very beautiful room for the next day without hesitation. Both of the guys at the front desk both at day and night helped about arranging tours and recommendations. They always have drivers ready for tours or taxi drives around the city or from/to the airport. Ask them to help you and they will do it in a friendly way. If I go to Beirut again, I will definitely stay there. If you have any questions in mind, ask them and they will surely clear them up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is smell in room i think it came from old carpet. The shower was didnt work well. The breakfast was joke . Its really hard to understand how hotel is 4 star. Even the towels are not white grey...

    The location was great. Rooms are clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Another wonderful stay at mayflower!!!! Will stay again for sure !for me Beirut is mayflower
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With this great location and stuff plus organization if renevated it could become number one without loosing character !

    How polite the stuff is . Helping and ready to assist you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Beirut is a fab city and the Mayflower is a good place to stay and explore it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room we stayed in looked out onto the street and was noisy until about 2am.

    Hotel is in a good location close to shops and restaurants, rooms were clean & comfortable. We stayed here twice once in a family room and the second time in a triple room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    there weren't enough staff on reception to manage...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there weren't enough staff on reception to manage checkin in a timely manner. when i paid my bill on the Saturday afternoon (i needed to leave on the Sunday at 6am to go to the airport) I asked if I'd paid for everything and would be able to leave without further checking of bills when i handed my key in. they said yes. However when I checked out on Sunday morning they gave me an extra bill for 'minibar' which meant they had to go check the room as I said I hadn't used the minibar. When they finally returned from checking the room it appeared that this was for breakfast on saturday morning. Despite the fact that i wasn't going to have breakfast on Sunday morning (which I had paid for) they couldn't transfer one mornings breakfast to the other and i wasted about 20 minutes whilst they checked the minibar. This was all utterly avoidable, the staff were unhelpful and I nearly missed my transfer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Ok (dated) but will be looking for something better for the same price or less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Flaking paint on the walls of the room, doors to the room cannot be closed quietly so you are waken up in the night by people closing there doors, lift is like a service lift not updated for 50 years. it's in a side street so when you aske a taxis they don't know so you have to mention the co op shop on the corner.

    Location was good, Staff were frendly but very formal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good location in Hamra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some maintenance is needed, our bathroom door handle broke and the toilet didn't flush well. Swimming pool advertised but doesn't open until May.

    Friendly staff, good location in Hamra

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    2.5
    I would never book any room there, im scared if they charge extra even for my last stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel hospitality is EXTRA bad, they dont have any kind of drinking glasses, they make you pay for everything and nothing is included in the room price. They nearly charged us for every towel we used.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Unorganized staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff always have a problem during check out with mini bar items !! I’m a regular guest ! I have no problem with the location but for the second time I’ve been asked that I have taken items from mini bar ! First time after argument with the reception staff they have reialized that the previous guest used the mini bar & he paid for the items but staff didn’t do the replenishment! Second time i left the hotel early & I was not able to make it on time to check out ! So I called the hotel & asked them to complete the check out process since I have paid for my room ! Immediately the receptionist staff informed that i have to pay for mini bar ! Knowing that mini bar was sealed & I informed him that mini bar is sealed & no t used. I always bring my juice with me From out side but it seems staff have communication issue & unorganized!! This is not acceptable at all !!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed that this hotel has gone downhill.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a queen bed and was given twins. This used to be one of the best hotels in the area. I am sorry to say it is very run down and shabby. The room doors have paint flaking. The carpet is badly scuffed and stained. One bed light was hanging off the wall/ bed . Bathroom mirror should have been replaced a long time ago. Washbasin slightly cracked .

    Sheets very clean and good quality . Housekeeper in charge of the cleaners tried to sort out my room problem but I decided it wasn’t worth the effort to move for the second night as the room was not going to be ready until near lunchtime. A really polite lady.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent, helpful concierge. Arranged a day trip through the hotel and bags were held until return. Good room, good shower facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent hotel for the money. Clean and comfortable room. Location is outstanding. The first visit to Beirut that I didn't need to drive for the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    A classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were nice and polite, but instead of orienting me with the best tours, they were constantly suggesting to buy tours from their personal contacts.

    The pub downstairs :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    They are no honest
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The worst thing was that, they told me that I used telephone for 2 hours!! which is not true and charged me "stole"100 USD Wasn't clean... there are a lot of maintenance... on of the tap was broken. Please consider this as official complaint so please get back to me.

    The worst thing was that, they told me that I used telephone for 2 hours!! which is not true and charged me "stole"100 USD Wasn't clean... there are a lot of maintenance... on of the tap was broken. Please consider this as official complaint so please get back to me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no coffee or tea and catle in the room, the bathroom needs more care as regards maintenance

    Location is excellent, staff are so friendly, price for the place and facilities is very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic and not good at all except the bakery was good but limited to 3 choices

    Hotel staff are super friendly especially the eed head girl at the reception and another guy at the reception during the morning shift , they are super friendly and helpful The room space is very good and the bathrooms are very good Wifi is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be a bit faster.

    Location is great. The best place in the city to stay is Hamra. The room was clean enough. Breakfast was convenient. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    The room space is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They should propose sight seeing specially for families. For example we missed Gitaa visit as it was closed 2 days after arrival, if they informed us (or draw our attention for the ad.) once arrived we wouldn't miss the visit. Staff needs to be more friendly to guests. The air-condition is not functioning well The TV channels are very limited and all most of them were Lebanese. I expected some Lebanese music during breakfast.

    The room space is good. Breakfast is nice but no change at all for the hole stay. Response to our claim for the air condition malfunction. Response to TV not working was good Cleaning for room was OK

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful location at the center of Hamra. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Small rooms with bad view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are very small. Although it was written in our reservation that the room had a balcony, they gave us a room with no balcony and viewing the backyard of the neighbor building, which was an extremely bad view. The rooms didn't have a good smell, and the bed sheets weren't changed until requesting it from the maids. There's no variety in the breakfast. Every day, we had to eat the same breakfast. There are no ventilation for the bathroom.

    The staff was polite and friendly. The Hotel respected the late-checkout request made through booking. The breakfast was good. The location of the Hotel is wonderful at the center of Hamra. And overall the hotel was also clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First day of our trip the room was horrible with a huge voice just comin from a machine just inside the garden of the hotel and the air conditioner was dead so the room was freezy..But the other day they change our room and that was okay although the room was dirty...

    Breakfast is not enough for Turkish people but okay,also personel is so so so so kind at the breakfast area.. Location is okay..Also there is a market near hotel,it is nice.. At first time the man who works reception was so rude and immediately want to take money,you ask something and he was still interested in money"..it was so rude and continued for some time..But after that I thing he understood his fault and said that he was sorry about it..So no problem for us,maybe he had a problem at that time with something other but ı have to write it because want to get money immediately while check in can be so rude for the customers,no one want to escape without paying.. We want to leave our luggages while hangion out at last time after check out and it was nice ,thanks..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.0
    My stay was way below expectations and unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    TV was a disaster, number of channels & quality of TV Careless staff at the lobby

    I liked the location as it was very convenient and gives easy access to all Hamra venues Free Parking and WIFI

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Without the building work we would have found the hotel good value for money and the staff agreeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were offered was not what we would expect at a 4 star hotel especially the "finish" of the bathroom and some of the furniture, one piece of which would not have been sold at a charity store because it was in such bad condition. However, they offered us a different room where the shower room did meet expectations. I am sure this doesn't happen every day but we arrived back after doing a tour late afternoon on both Friday and Saturday and there was building work taking place. I remember on the Saturday this went on until 7 in the evening, which again is not something I expect from a 4 star hotel.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.0
    Nothing extra really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a 4 bed large room. Without offering any explanation they put us into two 2-bed rooms. The breakfast was so bad. We could barely eat it. Most importantly it is not a 4-star hotel. I wouldn't recommend staying there. It would be acceptable despite all this, if it was not expensive.

    Nothing extra really. It was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    unfortunately, I cannot recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was mold in the room and the bathroom was looking somewhat disgusting, also filled with mold. Usually, I don't care too much and I can ignore some mold but what really bugged me was that there was no hot water. The first day when I tried to take a shower and there was no hot water, we called the reception to ask about the problem and got told that we had to let the water run for about 5 minutes and that it would get warm. Well, we tried and it definitely didn`t get anywhere to a comfortable temperature. In the winter it gets cold outside in Beirut and when you don't have the option to have a warm shower - that's for me an absolute no-go. It's a budget option, I get that but it's still around 100 bucks a night and if I already have to live with a moldy bathroom wall, at least I'd like warm water!

    The hotel has a good location directly in the Hamra district and the rooms are large.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    The bed was comfortable, and the staff of the restaurant and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With the balcony closed, it seems like it was open, listening the noise of the street. When I take a shower, started to smell very bad from the pipes. The staff of the reception don't inform about the right price of the taxi, don't ask for a taxi in reception, it's very much expensive because they take a comission. They always tell you a price more expensive than real. The hotel is older than pictures shows.

    The bed was comfortable, and the staff of the restaurant and breakfast very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    2 or 3 star hotel for sleeping if you want to be in Hamra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it is over rated . it is 2 or max 3 star hotel, average breakfast with bad service from one waiter who seems does not like his job, the pictures on booking site is totally different from the actual rooms. so expect to have a room which is not as you see here but much less

    It is only the location in Hamra if you would like to stay there , however it is very crowded old busy area . Maybe other locations like Roucha or Le Verdune will be better You can use it for sleeping purpose only and valet parking is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    Very bad experience
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Very old and poor value for money 2. Dirty. Dust everywhere and if you look at the side of the wardrobe it is disgusting.. probably not cleaned since the hotel was built 3. Rude staff. "Charbel" at reception was the least helpful when my dad asked about the possibility of keeping something in the hotel's freezer (which he's five before many times in other hotel's in Beirut). He was extremely unhelpful and refused even to check with the kitchen department. instead ghee told my father ( who is in his mid 70s) to go to the kitchen and try to find someone to talk to about this! 4. No fire alarms, smoke alarms, or water sprinkles in the room 5. We booked a room for 3 adults but we were given a todfler bed instead of an extra adult bed so i had the moist uncomfortable night in ages

    Location but more than 80% of the hotels in Beirut are in Hamra area so birthing special at all and certainly not worth staying there when you take into account all the negatives

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of our preferences were accommodated for (number of beds, removing alcohol from room, checked in more than an hour after standard time even though I had requested my early check-in previlidge with booking from hotel before arriving) and we barely got late checkout after insisting. There was no hot water and staff didn’t do anything to fix it. Definitely not 4 stars as advertised.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Olde Worlde charm - the flower of Beirut
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The historical context of the hotel is fascinating .... in the early sixties heyday, when Beirut was the hip destination for the international jet set, the hotel drew an eclectic mix of people and cultures, and it is in this context that the Mayflower was established by Mr. Mounir Samaha, in one of the most elegant quarters of the capital, Hamra. The accommodation set out, to preserve a state of grace and comfort, explains why prominent media, literature, politics or sports figures such as Graham Green and Graham Hill found The Mayflower so attractive and hospitable. After confirming itself as a landmark on Beirut’s hospitality map, continuity at the hotel was threatened by the Lebanese Civil War that was triggered in 1975. Luckily the Hotel did not suffer any major material damage; and in its gloomiest days, it seemed that Beirut could not do without it! This was when The Mayflower turned into the favourite home and operational base for most of the international media correspondents and world leading reporters that were covering the Lebanese conflict. Lebanese hospitality at its best and the quaint olde worlde ambience made my stay a memorable one. Heads up for the kitchen staff for a great breakfast, the friendly faces at reception and the sociable happy hour at the Duke of Wellington. The hotel distinctively in a class of its own! I commend the hotel on general security aspect - as a female traveling solo this was highly appreciated. I'll be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    4.6
    The bathroom is clean and newly renovated and the Wifi is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small for three persons and the wardrobe is also very very small to accommodate three persons who are staying for a whole week, the furniture is old, no privacy at all as there is a building so near to the rooms and they can see everything. We had to stay one night only and leave the next day as we can't stay a whole week in this conditions and unfortunately they charged us more money for leaving.

    The bathroom is clean and newly renovated and the Wifi is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff accused me of using the mini bar (half of one mini bottle of Vodka) when in real I did not touch any item from the minibar and I strictly don't drink. They kept me waiting for 30 mins at check-out to investigate the matter and kept on insisting that what I am telling them is not true and they trust the report from the minibar staff. Terrible staff with no courtesy and politeness. I will never go here again for being accused in public for a $2 alcohol.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    Good budget hotel in Hamra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water evacuation problem in the bathtub, but not that much of a big deal. The water was often not as hot as I would have liked it to be, especially in December. Noise isolation could have been better.

    Conveniently located, walking distance from Beirut downtown. Good value for money, especially in a city where accommodation turns out to be quite expensive. Nice breakfast and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel rooms are bit old, but it seems that they are starting the renevation in near future.

    Nive value for the money. Location is perfect close to Hamra Street. Hotel`s Wellington bar is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Great value for a hotel of good quality with a special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for a hotel of good quality with a special character! Loved the "Duke of Wellington" - a wonderful inside pub which is very welcoming! Just like the friendly and helpful staff from reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    nice place - ok for a short stay - should implement better rules regarding pets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pictures on the website is showing a completely different property. the actual one is a lot older. during my stay, the guests in the next room had a very noisy dog who kept me up for two nights and the staff did not do anything about it even after i complained.

    the property was clean and maintained despite being an old building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable, valuable stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price of drinks in the bar!!!!

    Great location, close to Al Hamra street which is nice to find shops and restaurants. Also an enjoyable distance from Downtown Beirut. Decent breakfast also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Good stay in Beirut
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom door, which is fold style.

    The hotel is well located in Hamra district. It was easy to find, having a big sign visible from the main street. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was ok with a big confortable bed and all required facilities. I enjoyed the breakfast, which had plenty of options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    A Cozy Stay in the heart of Beirut
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seems to have a fixed menu. Weekend traffic can make it troublesome to reach to & fro the hotel because of the narrow streets of the locale. Restaurant is somewhat highpriced for the location.

    Best Location right in the middle of the city and nearby to many of the Beirut sights and close to the thriving night-life. Good Value for Money. Very charming & cooperative staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    So much enjoyed my stay - it was great to return to my hotel room in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The male receptionists could have been a little warmer, but they were efficient and helpful, which is the main thing. This isn't against this hotel in particular, but against most hotels: there was a card in my room asking me to put it on the bed if I didn't want the bedding changed, and to hang up towels that I didn't want changed. I put the notice on my bed and hung up my towels. I'm not sure about the bedding, but the towels were changed every day. That's so wasteful and so environmentally unfriendly - staff need to be trained NOT to change things systematically. Please note that I don't blame the staff and am NOT complaining about them. I repeat: this is a problem almost everywhere. Let's change that!

    In my room, I particularly appreciated the writing table, and the fact that I could read in bed with no problem, thanks to a very good reading lamp. Charming staff in the dining room at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Timeless hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked shuttle service from airport through hotel, but was left waiting at the airport and I had to contact reception to solve the problem. I had to wait a long time at the airport to be collected. The small wine bottle in the mini bar was gone off as the bottles were very old, these all need to be replaced with newer bottles in good condition!

    This timeless hotel has a great location and is good value when booked online early with a low cost no refund transaction. Good breakfast is included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, great value for money! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very responsive and would respond to our requests very quickly! The building is a bit dated but still very comfortable. There's a nice terrace overlooking the small street below. The location is unbeatable, it's right in the heart of the very happening Hamra district and just a few skips away from restaurants and bars. We felt very safe walking the area at night. The free breakfast was also good, it was not overly fabulous but it was sufficient and great value for the price. The attendants at the cafe were very courteous and made sure we got all that we needed. Kudos to them for their excellent service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit congested.

    Nice place in the city. Vicinity to all places. Just away from the noise of town also. WiFi speed was just awesome. Nice bar in the ground floor. Good staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: