Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3 stars

P.O Box 250, Soufrière, Saint Lucia

#5 of 21 hotels in Soufrière

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a lot of ant bites in my sleep. I also think the bathroom could've been cleaner.

    Gorgeous area: you can't feel more secluded or close to nature in a hotel setting. I loved the complimentary fruit basket, welcome drinks and plantation tour. Great breakfast with a lot to choose from. This hotel has beautiful values in terms of protecting the environment (among other things) and you can be sure that whatever you're eating at the resort is going to be local, natural and organically grown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved every aspect of our week stay

    I must say that the only thing warmer than the San Lucian sun, is the San Lucian people. What an adventure we have had! I’d like to take a moment to share our experience at Fond Doux Plantation, San Lucia - if you’re not interested in having an incredibly relaxing connection to nature on one of the worlds best islands, keep scrolling lol. The folks that run this place are all gems. From the owners to the groundskeepers, they’re one big, happy, helpful family. We’ve not felt as at home somewhere in a while. The chef here is (IMHO) the BEST on the island. Yes, the BEST on the entire island. Trust me, we put the theory to the test 😂. Our little treehouse on the hill will be missed: our open air shower/bath; plunge pool; balconies; nature trails; birds; flowers; fruits; views are all incredible. The food was beyond expectation and our experience will be forever remembered as incredible, relaxing, centering and humbling. Thank you Fond Doux Family, you’re the best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the sights and sounds of the forest all around the property which were especially loud all through the night. This may not however suit some people, especially if you are a bit squeamish about the odd gecko and bat flying around, but off set that with the firefly displays and the forest chirping and singing lulling you to sleep after a good meal and lovely rum cocktail!

    We did a lot of research on where to stay on St Lucia and Fond Doux didn’t disappoint as our eventual choice to spend seven nights there instead of touring around. The area it is set in is the most interesting and beautiful part of the island. Fond Doux is a wonderful plantation estate which is unlike a ‘normal’ resort. The cottages are all unique and spread around the plantation with a central area containing the bar, restaurant, reception, plunge pools and shop. All run in a wonderfully relaxing way. You can have a guided tour of the plantation and then wander around at leisure. The variety of flora and fauna is stunning. There is also a trail straight up to a wonderful ridge line viewpoint of the Pitons. The food at breakfast and the evening meals in the restaurant are representative of local cooking and ingredients, many sourced on the plantation. There is a free shuttle from Fond Doux to Sugar Beach and back every day where there is wonderful snorkelling, views of the Pitons and opportunities for water taxis and tour starts or simply lazing on the beach. The cottages and facilities are superb but it is the wonderful people who really make this a special place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the sounds of the crickets on the outside in the evening. I guess it's inevitable staying at forested resorts.

    I liked the friendliness of the staff and the way that they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t that helpful and there was confusion between Staff as well as to what was available or not. One afternoon we where having a snooze and were woken by staff who wanted to install a telephone, it was almost impossible to get them to come later... The food in the Bamboo restaurant didn’t live up to the prices and the staff were not very attentive.

    Location was good and the cottages were nice. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's a difficult one. The upkeep of the cottage we stayed was not great, but than again this is part of the charm of the place.

    Staying at Fond Doux was like staying at a botanical gardens. The tour is an absolute must! The staff makes you feel like family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel look even better than the pictures, it was such a beautiful hotel. The room that we stayed in was very big and clean, also we really enjoyed the food and the views. I wish that we had stayed longer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food service/ barking dog at night

    Nasty, growling dog right outside our cottage growling and barking loudly until late. Then dog further away started barking. I am unsure if this was a security dog or a wild dog. This growling scared the children and we all had to sleep in one bed as they did not want to sleep downstairs with the dog outside. The angry dog was went away at about 10:30pm but this was quite unsettling for us all. Food service was slow and I had to take my young son back to the cottage half way through dinner as he was falling asleep and waitress forgot to put in the dessert order. Gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were always greeted by a smile. The grounds were very well kept and it truly was paradise. We loved the food and drinks! The location was great for hiking and visiting Sugar Beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second stay at Fond Doux. Fell in love with this place the first time! Love absolutely everything about it. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, lovely cottage, makes you feel like you're away from the rest of the world. Exactly what was needed. At the same time fantastic location on the island, many places to visit around, a shuttle to Sugar beach. Great food and very helpful staff. Definitely looking forward to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We struggled to get hot water for showering. The dinner menu was a bit repetitive; the food was a hit/miss and not always hot coming from the kitchen. It would have been nice if they offered a shuttle to town in the evenings (cabs were expensive and self-driving at night was intimidating).

    We were very happy with our choice to stay here! The plantation is beautiful and the private cabins are well equipped. We enjoyed sitting at the bar and the occasional live entertainment. The tour of the grounds with information on the plant life was excellent. The breakfast had great options and was tasty. The staff were always friendly and happy to help. We loved our front porch chairs and hammock.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no other restaurants within walking distance

    We stayed in a beautiful villa deep in the jungle and could see hummingbirds from our verandah. Our 4 poster bed was very comfortable. The pool was cold but refreshing & we appreciated the large selection of books. Breakfast was plentiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Omo, Alec (fabulous cocktails!) & Lecia who treated our 2 year old son so kindly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I did not like the birds at breakfast. The roads in St Lucia were as difficult as I had heard; I just didn't believe it till I drove there.

    I loved the grounds; Its a beautiful property. My porch was tranquil and the view was amazing! The shuttle drivers were wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu does require more frequent changes to add some options to its already wonderful list of specials.

    As a working cocoa plantation set amid acres of verdant rainforest high in the hills above the fishing town of Soufriere, this hotel certainly exudes bags of character. Cosy little individual cottages in colonial style are scattered throughout the grounds. Ours had an outside shower ensuite to our cottage which was a nice touch. The food, especially the buffet breakfast, is of good quality and plentiful. However it’s the wonderfully friendly staff that are the beating heart of this establishment. From the charismatic Alec the barman to Regina & Lecia two of the many engaging and helpful waiting staff, this team knows just how to keep their guests happy!! You will need transport. The resort shuttle bus expertly driven around the winding hilltop roads by Vienne will get you to the nearby Sugar Beach for free. Local taxis arranged by the resort can take you further afield. Negotiate your own fare if you want to transfer to other towns. These guys could not do enough and we are eternally grateful for everything they did.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few details would benefit from some attention e.g. shower near the pool could do with some TLC, water-cooler near the pool was sometimes empty.

    Peaceful and beautiful location. Helpful and friendly staff. A charming and characterful place to stay. Restaurant chef happy to cater for my dietary restrictions and cooked me delicious meals each evening. Good value food, drink and accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Went here with my wife for our honeymoon, and it was a perfect choice! This hotel is close to all the interesting things you'd want to do in St. Lucia, as opposed to being pretty far up north in Castries. Very lush gardens, great and friendly staff, clean rooms -- can't say anything negative! Keep in mind that there's no west-facing patio or view (the hotel is in a lush valley), but it's very easy to get to some surrounding resorts to catch the sunset. Great spot, hope to make it back there someday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a long time in advance to secure a nice cottage in this wonderful plantation for a good rate through Booking.com. It did meet our (high) expectations: it is a beautiful plantation with very nice cottages and several wonderful pools with a great view of the surrounding hills. On our arrival we got a tour of the entire plantation, cacao making facilities, gardens and pools by a very kind guide, Omo (short for Omoralla I believe). He showed us the many plants and flowers of the garden. Our cottage was very nice and clean, with a four-poster bed, separate toilet and separate bath and our own balcony overlooking the garden. The room also had a fan, which was not necessary in the winter season. Not that it was cold, at night it ''cooled'' down to 22 degrees centigrade. Breakfast was excellent and very extensive, a large variety of fruits, your choice of omelet or fried eggs, coffee, cacao tea, fruit juices, bacon, sausages, fish cakes, bread, salad, ham, cheeses, yoghurt, too much to mention really. I will review lunch and dinner separately, but we had dinner in the Bamboo restaurant on all nights we stayed at the plantation. All in all very recommendable and my first choice if I would stay in one accommodation only on St. Lucia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not as welcoming and friendly as the other staff. Very little information available on what to do. The evening food in the single restaurant is rather limited, not brilliant and, like most of St Lucia, very expensive for British people.

    Great room. Good breakfast, free bus to the beach and the plantation tour. The staff were mostly wonderful, especially Vienny.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    We had 9 different meals from the menu and each was delicious and perfectly cooked The bar was very welcoming and cocktails made by the amazing bar manager Alec. All of the staff were Wonderful and remembered our names. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was a little low on water pressure, but it was no big deal.

    Beautiful plantation with lots of different fruits to try, delicious food for all three meals, relaxing pool area. Our cabin was very private and comfortable, we especially liked the hammock on the porch for relaxing and reading.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unispired dinner menu. Disorganised and sub par breakfast buffet. Terribly untidy area, very poorly presented buffet. Plastic plates and miss matched cutlery. When I asked for a bowl...a member of staff picked up a dirty one in front of me...walked off..and returned drying the same bowl in front of me with a paper towel. Overall, poor quality for the price. Extra 50 dollars added in fees at payment ..not made clear at time of booking. Dead ants and debris in the splash pool. Phone in room did not work. The whole place has a dilapidated feel, which is not represented in the photos. Underwhelming and disappointing..for 400+ dollars a night...expect and demand more.

    Rain forest location exceptional. Room was spacious and charming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was non existent in our cottage , water was off in the morning, building work woke us up at 6:30am .

    Great location, plenty of flowers and trees , polite staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food in the restaurant was quite bland, pretty much the same menu every day, no exciting local flavours there at all. In my view it was slightly overpriced as well

    The location was great and we really enjoyed staying in the wooden cottages in the middle of the plantation. We appreciated the peace and quiet and the privacy that the place offered. I also really liked the pool with great views over the tropical rain forrest. If you prefer being close to nature (you'll quickly get used to the sounds at night and the little lizards in the room getting rid of bugs more efficiently than DEET ever would) to big commercial hotels, this is a place for you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cottage was clean and maintained at all times. I totally enjoyed my stay here . Staff was very friendly and assisted when needed . Special thanks to the waitresses at the restaurant . Special tnx to Kerdell, Antonio , Krista and other staff . Shyne our tour guide execeptional and knowledgeable. Had the pleasure to meet the owners , really friendly. Nature lovers would totally appreciate the scenery and serenity and all that Fond Doux has to offer .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The private pool's water was a little bit cold... 2-3 days in the morning we didn't have water in the cottage, but they solved this problem in a hour.

    The honeymoon cottage was so beautiful and tidy. The shower was my favourite, it was in the outside and at the evening was wonderful when you took your shower you could see the moon and the stars :) We had a private pool,also :) The food was great , most of the evenings we ate in the hotel's restaurant. They have a really good chef. The staff is really friendly :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to walk to other restaurants in the evening. You have to pay for everything, you have to take expensive taxis everywhere. We were annoyed by this so we figured out how to take some local busses. They really don't encourage it. The cottages on the inside need some work in order for them to respectfully charge what they do. It has a lot of potential. Pools are super small, not inviting. The food is not worth it, free breakfast was very disappointing.

    The sounds of nature at night were amazing. They are super loud and go all night, so if you don't like that, don't stay here. The complimentary cacao tour was great, the hike to Tae Pau had beautiful views, if you like a good butt work out walk up to the hike instead of taking a quick taxi, it's a work out. The cottage veranda was very charming. Free shuttle to sugar beach, it's beautiful, do it. Most of the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get a television set and cable for the cottage..would be nice.

    The bed was so comfortable..the environment and the staffs are so amazing. wifi was good too. I had a nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the welcome drink, the gardens, the plunge pools and most of all the original restored plantation cabins.

    It is the character of this unusual hotel that matters. Staying on an actual plantation, with luscious gardens in a rain forest, is unique

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool could be more conducive to doing lengths

    Brilliant to have quaint accommodation on a plantation. Very authentic and 'green'. Staff were very friendly and always went the extra mile. Good food as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dinner is rather pricey for portion size.

    All members of staff were exceptionally friendly. We rarely encountered staff so engaged in making you feel at home. The cottages feature excellent privacy, built right into the hills of the plantation. Green Globe certified!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm pushed to find something I did not like. I would say broaden the a la carte dinner menu to regular options for children.

    I loved everything about Fond Doux, the cottage, staff, food, scenery. I cannot wait to go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were incredible. They quickly learned our names and worked hard to make the stay exceptional. The individual cottages are superb with unique furnishings including a fabulous king size bed and a beautiful outdoor shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff are terrible; huddling together at breakfast as if they are plotting against you. Very unprofessional. Drivers and bar staff great to counter-balance. If you are worried about the cost, be warned that you have no idea what the cost of your taxis or shuttles are until the final bill. We were told amounts, and had them double confirmed, and the final bill came and they were double!

    Rustic plantation which avoided the 'resort' feel. Staff totally variable; some were amazing, others were awful and looked so angry that you were even there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed four nights at Fond Doux and it was incredible. Our cottage was very secluded and felt very private and comfortable, . It was nestled into the hillside and felt very connected to nature with lots of vegetation and birds all around. The outdoor shower was amazing and added to the whole experience. Our stay was topped off by an excellent rum punch at the Bamboo Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food tasted good but menu was ok needed some work, more options needed.. breakfast especially I felt like since it was complimentary it's like give them what we have almost like if you didn't get there before 9 food is almost done and you have to work with what's there! But taste wise it was good just needs some work.

    The cool breeze and nature in itself was very relaxing! Thought i wouldn't survive without the a.c. but it was the best sleep I ever had! The cottage was also very gorgeous and secluded enough so you and your partner have enough privacy! And the staff was awesome so friendly, very into you and your experience (you feel important). Loved this place will definitely come back. I recommend it big time! You get your money's worth, I would go as far to say that it was basically inexpensive for the view you'll get, the cottage and the experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public bathroom area on the compound was pretty gross. So if you have to use the bathroom after dinner at the resturant better head up to use the one in your room.

    Exceptional service. Beautiful cottages.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Keep in mind this is rural accommodation. It's very nice but don't expect luxuries. If you're very sensitive to bugs or noises, go somewhere else. At night, there is a lot of noise (from tiny frogs, crickets...). Strongly recommended to rent a car.

    Beautiful, authentic hotel in the best area of the island, surrounded by amazing vegetation and with easy access to some of the best restaurants and beaches. All personnel were very kind and helpful. The room was very spacious and bed was huge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in bedrooms, fans insufficient. Pool in shade so difficult to sunbathe there and nowhere else really.

    Excellent breakfast, with lots of choice. Cottage charming and clean Staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was intermittently functional during our stay, so that could be improved.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the privacy and overall were very comfortable in our cottage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The resort has it´s own restaurant, Bamboo Restaurant, which had a very nice setting. Although, this had not the same wow-factor as the rest of the resort. Since the resort is located in the forest, it´s not close to any beaches. They offer free shuttles to a Sugar Beach which was good, although they could have offered more shuttles to other close-by beaches as well. Taxi offered by the resort was quite expensive.

    Fond Doux Plantation & Resort was a great experience, and one of the best resorts I have stayed in. The resort´s location is hidden in the forest of Soufriere, and therefore close to nature. The very nice staff, who were always happy and social, took care of us from start to finish. All commendations at the resort are generous size cottages, with cozy Caribbean decorations, outside rain shower, private outside pool and fantastic views. The private cottages makes this resort perfect for couples and romance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well laid out rooms and very beautiful property. Super friendly and polite staff. Great breakfasts, very central and convenient location. The resort exudes a real and authentic St. Lucia feel, not just another tourist hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like about the place

    The staff was amazing and extremely accommodating. The location was beautiful, relaxing and there was a lot to do and see - exactly what we were hoping.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The cottages are all unique, distributed around the plantation. Ours was very comfortable, and had interesting birdlife in the tree next to it. The staff, both waiters and also grounds staff, were always cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More beach towels, there seemed to be a constant shortage.

    The surroundings were stunning, the villa, the location, the staff, plantation tour. Everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Staying in a traditional St Lucian cottage that had been saved from demolition and rebuilt at Fond Doux was something really special. The owners have gone to a lot of time and trouble to create a wonderfully unique destination and take great care in making their guests feel welcome. The icing on the cake was a free plantation tour with a very informative guide. The location is perfect if you want to dine at the fabulous Boucan restaurant (Rabot Estate/Hotel Chocolat) but don't want to pay the astronomic price of staying there. We can't wait to come back when we return to St Lucia later this year...I just can't believe we hadn't discovered this place before.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was inconsistent in quality. One of our cabins had a broken shower, broken ceiling fan and broken phone. The staff was quick to remedy (or at least try to remedy) these things, but really the maintenance should be a bit better for a premium price resort.

    We loved the staff. The views were beautiful and lush, with the grounds (fun to explore) overlooking the valley. A quick drive to the beach or to hiking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small swimming pools.

    Amazing staff - really friendly. Lovely food. Great to take your own snorkels. Ensure you get a 4wd car if renting one. V useful to have a car.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of staff in restaurant left much to be desired. They were surly consistently and any request such as ordering a drink was responded to as if it was too much trouble. The food was expensive and of poor standard.

    The setting, the facilities and the tour of the plantation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was average, the dinner menu overpriced; you can do much better in the area. Plunge pool was dirty.

    Amazing location, cottages very private. Close to all the attractions. Beach shuttle. Surprisingly very few mosquitoes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. Right in the middle of the rain forest. The cottages are built with some mesh parts so you hear everything at night but feel so safe inside. Best place ever. Heaven on earth.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No AC was a bit rough at times, but the fan and the private splash pool helped a lot.

    The staff is incredible. The sites and the sounds are transformative. The food they prepare at the restaurants is simple, but excellent. Not overthought. There's no douchey gastro-pub, but the food is extremely fresh, and there was enough variety to keep me happy for 10 days. The plantation is amazing. Walking around the different trees, seeing the cocoa pods and bananas growing everywhere was really neat. The cabins are simple but solid and comfortable. We were there for hurricane Matthew, and the cabins didn't even creak. Incredible considering the wind sounded like a freight train, and we had a landslide behind us. Now, look, if you don't like nature, and all the bugs/lizards/frogs - this is not for you - don't be an idiot. That said, for us city slickers, it was totally tolerable, and we loved the jungle!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The evening meal menu was not very varied and did not really change much from night to night.

    The accomodation was superb....very clean and comfortable and the staff really welcoming. The location was excellent. You really felt like you were in the heart of the rainforest. The individual cottages felt very private although all the facilities were close at hand.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was so different than anywhere we have stayed before. The natural environment was beautiful and pure. You can relax with a cocktail or take an energetic guided tour at the end see beautiful unspoiled views of beautiful St Lucia and the magnificent Pitons. Sit by the pool or sit quietly at your cottage and take a dip in your own dip pool. (Bliss). The staff attentive and helpful Food amazing. We enjoyed it so much we went back with a group of 16 family members for lunch the following week. Cant wait to visit again but for much longer. Wonderfuil

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A noted "green" property, the grounds were somewhat overgrown along walkways. I can't say it was a negative, just an observation.

    We had only a one-night stay, so our experience was rather short-lived, but: the staff was prompt, friendly, and inviting. As expected, the views from our cottage were postcard-like, and there was no other-guest noises or distractions. The restaurant and breakfast (two venues) were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I spent 2 nights at Fond Doux to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What struck me about Fond Doux was the fact that we were out doors without being impacted by insects. Fond Doux have put a lot of enthasis on conserving the environment by allowing guests to enjoy and respect it without it become an outdoor camping stay. The staff were outstanding, facilities clean and well maintained. We stayed in a honeymoon cottage with private plung pool and outdoor shower which were the highlight of our stay. The cottages are privately tucked away in the beauty and density of the rain forest making it a truly mind blowing experience. Did I mention the FOOD wow, buffet breakfast hit the spot but lunch and dinner were just delicious and reasonably priced. Admittedly the lunch portions could easily pass for dinner which is great if your having an early night. We will definitely stay at Fond Doux

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extra fan in the room would have helped with temperatures at night.

    UNBELIEVABLE LOCATION. This was a unique experience with comfort in a rain forest environment. A getaway from the typical beach resort hotels and location. You have to be prepared for the fact that you are sleeping in a rain forest, but that's why you go there. Loved taking a shower outdoors in a rainforest. Managers reception was a lovely touch. The complimentary tour of the plantation is a must ( Big shout out for Philippe) and was one of our highlights of our vacation. very close to both Boucan and Ladera resorts. Boucan is a MUST.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No hot water during my stay (lukewarm was as good as it got) - Average breakfast - Very expensive restaurant

    - Cocoa Tour plantation was cool - Very good location if you have a car as you can visit key attractions nearby - Staff was super friendly - Great for nature lovers

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The grounds were beautiful and the staff was very attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    exceptionally friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was helpful, friendly and fun. The grounds were beautiful and educational. The location was fantastic and close to many local attractions!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On two occasions at the restaurant the food was served cold.

    The grounds are beautiful and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in - We were assigned to the wrong accommodation.

    Food was excellent. Bar drinks too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely place in a great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom (shower) - could be improved

    Room (Guava) with an amazing porch; the grounds; location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe 1 Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location and villa were beautiful. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room

    The place s still a working plantation and very quaint.....lovely location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The plumbing

    The setting in the middle of the jungle was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is heaven.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most beautiful and serene places I have ever stayed. I will definitely stay again. Excellent staff and service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful in the rain forest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot to explore this part of the island. Very unique accommodations with beautiful grounds and open air houses. Loved the outdoor shower!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a great location if you do not want to do much else but requires organising transport to go off the property

    Great atmosphere and lovely staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Cottage with Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very efficient - orders forgotten in restaurant, bill calculated incorrectly repeatedly. Pool too small to swim.

    Amazing setting

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service

    Tour of property

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fond Doux Plantation & Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: