Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Downtown Hotel 3 stars

Bridge Street, Soufrière, Saint Lucia

#16 of 21 hotels in Soufrière

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.5
    POORLY, POORLY, POORLY RUN OPERATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    THE NEED TO INSTALL AN ELEVATOR OR ESCALATOR!!!! IT MAKES NO SENSE TO CLIMBE THAT MANY FLIGHT OF STAIRS!!!! Hotel is very loud and must climb FOUR FLIGHTS OF STAIRS. It was extremely challenging lugging 65-pound suitcases up 4 flights of stairs. And it is not just the 4 flights: it is that the steps are extremely steep, with each step at LEASE a foot...12 INCHES high!!!! It is located above a half vacant mall with beggars in the stairwell, noise all day and school kids in the afternoon making lots of noise. The small refrigerator in the room was extremely rusty inside, and kept things too cold: my water froze solid!!! I had cockroaches in the dresser with my clothes. The patio door was extremely hard to open. There were buckets in the hall catching water when it rained. The lights in the halls were dark as they kept the lights off all day! The door knobs were hardly modern: no electronic card key system like “MODERN” hotels. The towels were crusty and blue??? I have never been to a hotel that does not have white towels. PLUS, I was given only ONE towel!!!!! I had no small face/hand towels to soap with in the shower. The towels were so hard that layers of my skin came off as I dried off from the shower. The shower head looks like the paid 50¢ per head; the shower head as old, rusted and dated…looks like it was at least 20 years old…and cheap…not high quality at all!!!! There was no telephone to call the front desk, meaning you had to leave the room to go to the front desk if you needed help. There was no round the clock staff at the front desk. This meant that over 70% of the time, you are on your own. If you have a rental vehicle, forget it!!! There is NO WHERE TO PARK!!!!! The hotel is poorly staffed and very cheaply ran! Seems like a cheapskate owns the property! What is so outrageous is that they charge the same rates, as high as $160 USD like quality hotels like Bay Gardens in Rodney Bay who offers top-notch service!!!!

    The hotel is located in the center of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    An Elevator/Escalator, PLEASE!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are too many steps to climb to get into your hotel room. And the steps are extremely steep. An elevator or escalator, please!!! How about giving me soft white towels. I had blue towels were so hard, that I swear it took off a couple skin layers from my face. Plus, I had no wash/face towel to shower with.

    The hotel is right in the middle of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff are really friendly and make you feel so welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t grumble about anything. Be grateful for what you have

    The staff are really friendly and make you feel so welcome. You have to realise that Soufrière is a poor area so be thankful for what you have.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Very bad stay, I was disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing else, bathroom ,no hot water, out of three taps to bath,only one with cold water fed the shower, aircondtion , not working, , Hotel is in disrepair, no staff at night , the complex where Hotel is situated is run by security staff , towels in bad condition, fridge not working , no lift as rooms are on Fourth floor

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest looking else where for hotels. We booked this one as we thought (wrongly) we would want to be central with the kids... highly recommend staying on the outskirts of town and coming in for the day rather then staying down town. Hotel is loud and up 3 flights of stairs above a half vacant mall with beggars in the stairwell. Fridge in the room was broken and rusted inside, cockroach graveyard under the bed (we added one more bit kill), patio door didn't close all the way and very loud. There were buckets in the hall catching water when it rained. Sheets were clean but the rest of the room was gross, we are in the bnb business and this would never pass at our properties. Having traveled extensively I would say this place would be a decent $8 room in El Slavador; not worth the close to $100/night we paid.

    Didn't like much; was surprised at how generous some of the other reviews were. Sheets were clean front desk staff was okay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Location in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water sometimes. Hotel is in the shopping mall on the last floor. No lift. The city itself is not great. To find a nice spot you need to go to the resorts around.

    Location in the middle of the city. Easy access to public transport- for a low cost travellers. Nice view to the bay. Book only sea view rooms!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Right in the town centre, wide room, wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the town centre, wide room, wifi. There is no breakfast, but you have just downstairs a cafeteria where you can have a Lucian breakfast; in the room coffe maker. If you want to go to Chastanet beach you can pay 20 USD taxi one way, or you can do yourself a favor by walking 35-40 min (and even better a smaller beach 300 m further after Chastanet)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.0
    The location was great.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a church right around the corner and the bells ring constantly in the morning. The hotel is on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator so we had to carry our bags up the stairs

    The location was great. Food and grocery items were close by. They provide tea and coffee in the room, an electric kettle, a microwave and refrigerator. The room was very spacious and they provided a crib for our 1 yr old at no extra cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    do not stay here if you like white towels, wifi and clean room.
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was not a 3 star hotel. it was a 1. There was old crusted toilet paper on the floor. THe towels were crusty and blue??? I have never been to a hotel that does not have white towels. The microwave was rusted inside and did not work. And there was no telephone to call the front desk, even though the poster on the wall said call 4000 for help. What if I really needed some help??

    The only good thing about this hotel was the view and the location. They also served good inexpensive food downstairs. Other than that, it was more like a motel 6!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A Great Economical Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is the 3rd and 4th floors of the building with the first two used for commercial stores. Being an older retired couple the stairs were a challenge for us and we managed.

    The Downtown Hotel is truly downtown. The staff is very helpful and the hotel clean. There is nearby shopping and restaurants. The view from the balcony of the bay was always a beautiful sight, sometimes loud with party catamarans taking folks on day tours. Taking a water taxi to Sugar Beach for great snorkeling was fabulous. "Simon Says" is a reliable service for island tours to the volcano and falls, as well as the airport. We found all taxi drivers very helpful and polite and street people warm and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.8
    Don't try it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First we wanted earlier check in, because we wanted to go for a trip in the mornig - they said it is no problem, but when we came to the hotel at 9:30 am, there was no free room of those we booked (large bed, with microwave, terrace with view to the town...) so we had to leave our baggage in the worse room they had I think and go to the trip. We could really check in in the evening when we came back from our trip. But they offered a room, with the basin not draining and full of dirty water. We wanted another room. So they offered one with broken aircon. During choosing the room we saw a cockroach runnig in the first room, so we took the one with broken aircon. The aircondition worked for about one hour (but not cooling, only fan), so we had to turn it on many times during our stay in the room. At night we were awake and tried to turn it on more than three times... In the reception they said that it is not possible to repair it during our stay and the other rooms were full. It was the worst accomodation during our 13 days stay on St. Lucia. Fortunately it was only for three nights.

    Hotel in the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    The amazing customer service made up for the lack of an elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only disappointment is the lack of an elevator or escalator. It was challenging carrying our luggage up the stairs on our first day. On the plus side, we considered the stairs our daily exercise for the rest of our trip :)

    The service was amazing. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We experienced some issues with our room on the first night. However, the problems were quickly resolved as the staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort. The room was also very clean. The location is central so it was easy to access food, shopping and transportation. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Charmingly rough village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seaside balcony nice feature. Nice staff. Shop, restaurant, bakery, everything in 2 min walking distance. Little beach behind the cemetary (10 min walk), good for swimming, even some snorkeling. Other attractions nearby with bus or taxi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I saw starving and injured dogs everywhere on the island. I have been to a few other islands and this was the worst. I won't be back. I even saw nursing mother dogs nursing from themselves for food. I know St Lucia is a poor country and they have other things on their mind, but something needs to be done. It is inhumane to allow the animals to suffer like they do.

    The location for us was perfect. Walked out the door and found everything we needed close by, including the beach. It wasn't a great beach, but it was a beach with nice warm water and good snorkeling. The side with the sea view was very nice and the side with the town view was good for people watching. If you need a van they are right out the door, but they do stop running fairly early and taxis are expensive, so this location needs to be considered if you want nightlife other than the many shops/restuarants that are there. If you want a local feel this is the town, if you want a touristy feel it isn't. FYI - I am not from the US, I am from Barbados/Canada

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    A great place to experience the culture with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning control ; had to get staff to adjust as only a few controllers about. Noise and vibration from local usual Friday night street party until 0215, (but quiet after and other nights quiet too. Realise you can't have the culture experience both ways !

    views, helpfulness and informative staff, balcony, spaciousness, central to surrounding culture.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    It was incredibly loud in my room due to the New Years Eve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly loud in my room due to the New Years Eve street party, but the very kind staff offered me another room facing the city (not sea) that cut the noise considerably. I greatly appreciated that! The location is fantastic and very central, just bring some ear plugs in case.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work in my room

    Perfect location,breath taking views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A great place to stay very safe and central .Bank and supermarket next door ,police station opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central budget hotel,very good value . Superb staff..........extremely helpful and proficient. The sea is one minute walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, rooms are on top floor.

    It was central, close to all amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    THE STAFF VERY HELPFUL AND THE ROOM VERY CLEAN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    THERE WAS A LOT OF STAIRS WHEN YOU HAVE A LOT OF CASE`S.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Central but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unit was like road works we’re going on in my room. Had to turn it off, staff couldn’t give a new room nor sort the unit out.

    Central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    I liked being in town and surrounded by the culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no elevator, lots of stairs

    Great location, friendly staff, clean, quiet', great price - would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff and centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the third floor no elevator makes it hard to bring up your luggage

    Friendly staff and centrally located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the amount of stairs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jenna was very helpful Restaurant was good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    big bed, lovely balcon with nice view, helpful staff. room is daily cleaned. central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    big bed, lovely balcon with nice view, helpful staff. room is daily cleaned. in the center of the town, near bus stop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    my stay was very good...i enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a stove would have been nice,,no wash cloth,and maybe a sink to wash dishes,,

    i like the bed and the balcony view...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Locatin, comfort and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noththing

    Locatin, comfort and very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.0
    The location and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Threadbare sheets. No underlay on bed. Terrible shower.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.3
    For one night maximum, location right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise and facilities, old furniture.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    Great place with good location for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise level of rooms facing church

    See view room was quieter than room facing church

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    A nice stay at a good location in Soufrière
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It can be noisy

    Location, big rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Value for money and good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac controller in room. The staff had to come and adjust it!

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.1
    The ambiance of St Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to be aware of surroundings and circumstance

    The view of the beach

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    Super value, nice staff, awesome view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No remote control for the air conditioner, so I couldn't adjust temp.

    Amazing view from the balcony. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable and a great view of city and surrounding areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television could be updated

    Room was very cozy and clean the staff was very pleasant and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact the water was so low,i had to shower like a bird

    Convenient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.4
    The location was great but the standard of staff was poor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great but the standard of staff was poor, they charged my bill with the wrong credit card without being asking first, the bathroom also had a very bad smell though out the day and night

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    3.3
    The lady who ran it was quite nice, but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fridge was filthy. There was only a kettle and microwave (no sink or oven/hob). I had to clean the shower/bathroom before I could use it. I was threatened by the locals each time I went outside, it was very oppressive. I checked out after one night for my own safety.

    The lady who ran it was quite nice, but.......

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    4.6
    Travelers should be advised that due to the very loud music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Travelers should be advised that due to the very loud music coming from the bars (located in the same block as the hotel) during the week ends, it is almost impossible to get any sleep especially in the rooms with a sea view. This is what happened to our party of 4 on a Saturday night and as a consequence we had to leave the hotel at 2am and head back to our house located 2 hrs drive away in the north of the island. We have contacted Booking.com a fortnight ago with regards to being indemnified for this inconvenience and as of today this process still hasn't reached a satisfactory conclusion, Booking.com having failed to get back to us for over a week now.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.5
    It was clean and inexpensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was right down town. It was pretty noisy and the nearest beach wasn't stellar. There were a couple of beggers that seemed pretty unstable, which was a bit of a problem, but the locals helped discourage them for the most part.

    It was clean and inexpensive. The staff were mostly pretty friendly as where the locals. Finally, it was right downtown. :) Plenty of great restaurants and bars very close.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location situated in the heart of the town if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location situated in the heart of the town if Soufriere. And the room was very spacious and good value for money and staff were accommodating and pleasant. View was amazing and the liveliness of the town was great, I love it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    This hotel was perfect for our needs - basic clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a bar/music venue just to the north of the Hotel. We were there 6 nights and it seemed to have been open only a few of those nights - loud music until about 10:30 on those nights. We were moved to a room at the southern end of the hotel and couldn't hear it. We didn't have a car and were interested in more of the local experience than that of a fancy resort - and knew that the location might be a bit noisy. We always travel with earplugs and the air conditioner adds some white noise when needed. The staff are very interested in helping, so if there is a problem with your room don't hesitate to ask.

    This hotel was perfect for our needs - basic clean accommodations, convenient location and the best staff ever. Johnika could not have been more helpful with making tour arrangements. There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance. There are also several grocery stores. Our room had frig and microwave, so easy to fix our own breakfast. It was our plan to spend most of our time out exploring, so this was perfect for our needs. We booked an ocean view room and enjoyed sitting on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    7.1
    For a couple of days it's ok if you are interested in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows are flat and the frig only kept things barely cold.

    For a couple of days it's ok if you are interested in local culture or you are on a tight budget.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    7.9
    Room size and view from sea-facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some electrical equipment supplied in room 10 was not compatible with room sockets. Amateur karaoke night nearby lasted far too long

    Room size and view from sea-facing room. Helpful staff. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    8.8
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was wonderful. The rooms are very clean and had great views. Felt safe the whole time there. Can not beat location.Had cheap food very close by. However, this hotel is not for those who wish to stay at a resort. This hotel is for those who want to get out there and see the city for what it is. You might have some issues with amenities but the staff will work very hard to fix any problems that might arise.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    The location is fantastic, you can easily walk anywhere in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    These fall into the category of "you should know", and not so much that we didn't like it: Three flights of stairs, no elevator - good exercise! The A/C is set to your preference by them and then they keep the remote so you either have to live with it (you can turn it on or off) or ask them to adjust the temp. No safe in the room, but the office has one. The noise of the hustle and bustle on the streets below carries up to the room so you can hear it if you have the door open and the A/C off. Lighting in the room is very dim, as it is in many hotels on the islands. Very basic room. Everything you need, including a full size fridge, but no frills.

    The location is fantastic, you can easily walk anywhere in town for meals, shopping, etc. Johnita was FANTASTICALLY helpful in lining up taxi/tour drivers who were a better price than the barkers on the street. The price is great for an air conditioned room with a king bed and the bed was firm, which is our preference. Beautiful ocean views (over the tops of lower buildings) and a screen door on the balcony so the door can be left open in the night. We appreciated the tea kettle as we have one coffee drinker and one who likes tea. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.5
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noise on Friday evenings from party-goers on the street made it difficult to relax.

    I liked the location. It gave easy access to restaurants, transportation, tours, etc. Loved the view of the sea from my room and loved having a private balcony.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.8
    We liked the room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't know how to use the microwave. Sorry we didn't ask for help, But the refrigerator helped the food and sodas. Sorry the electric power went out for a few hours.

    We liked the room with a balcony. Nice view with buildings and church. The staff and cleaning are excellent and so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and very keen to help out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street side of the hotel is noisy during the weekend so if you are a light sleeper take a room with seaview

    The staff was very friendly and very keen to help out arranging sightseeing tours

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed to discover that coffee/tea maker was just an electric kettle. Had I known this, I would have brought my own filter for the ground coffee and tea leaves that I traveled with.

    Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Sea/Piton view was the best for sunsets. Good location to walk to just about any place. Nice to have fruit/veggie market right outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    The rooms are comfortable and very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was erratic at best

    The rooms are comfortable and very clean and spacious. They are equipped with water boiler, microwave and fridge. Location is perfect; on the third floor of a small shopping centre. On the ground floor is a nice little simple eatery which serves (take away and sit down) lunch and simple snack meals in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff , helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unsafe location for a single female traveller. Might be more suitable for groups or male travellers. Downtown isn't a tourist friendly area, locals are either unhelpful or totally harassing you. However hotel staff are generally always friendly and professional.

    Friendly staff , helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    7.9
    Nice view over the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unlooked doors to the hotel on the 3rd floor. Poor kitchen equipment, difficult to wash up in the bathroom.

    Nice view over the sea. Extremely serviceminded young beautiful Jonita at the office. She fixed everything honestly and gave us valuable tips. The AC.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.9
    Situated in the centre of town only a stones throw from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It didn't bother us but this hotel is on the third floor with no lift so could be a challenge to some!

    Situated in the centre of town only a stones throw from the sea, restaurants, local buses, shops we enjoyed our stay at the Downtown. Room had two queen sized comfortable beds, electric kettle and fridge. Staff were very helpful and room was kept clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    The location, narrow streets and small shops - a city center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basically nothing , but if I should mention something - skewers with liver... :-)

    The location, narrow streets and small shops - a city center without International chain stores.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    There was no lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no lift

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    Clean room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift, no TV in my room

    Clean room, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    5.4
    i ask for king or queen bed for myself and my husband I got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i ask for king or queen bed for myself and my husband I got 2 beds

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.3
    Location, room space, wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom (dark and steamy)

    Location, room space, wifi

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    Amazing ocean view, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little loud at night

    Amazing ocean view, very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.8
    Staff were excellent, location was very convenient, be sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sheets were a little threadbare.

    Staff were excellent, location was very convenient, be sure to pay the extra for the ocean view.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Easy access to the bus and bank and also the mall
    • Family with older children

    The shower

    Easy access to the bus and bank and also the mall

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.5
    The locations the air con in the bedroom and the space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The locations the air con in the bedroom and the space

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    7.5
    Get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stairs

    Get what you pay for.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    8.8
    Block from the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hike up to the rooms.

    Block from the water. Great balcony rooms. Very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse The Downtown Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: