Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 5 stars

Labrelotte Bay , Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

#3 of 25 hotels in Gros Islet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It can get expensive. Our villa (12) was conveniently located, but some of them are a hike from the beach, or you have to take the (free) shuttle.

    A fun, family friendly-resort. We especially enjoyed diving, sailing, and hanging out at the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing, it was fabulous!

    Fantastic sea views from our balcony especially with the plunge pool. We were at the top of the hill so really good exercise after the lovely food. However they offer a fabulous shuttle service around the resort! Plenty of activities on site and tours available too. Lovely beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Long drive from the airport. Would have liked more variety of entrees at restaurants

    Great ocean view from room, nice beach and pool areas. Staff was wonderful, very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food prices caught us by surprise. It forced us to eat and shop local which was a good thing. I would have liked to have a running route (3 and 5 miles loop) in the local park.

    Friendly personnel. Unexpected room upgrade. Loved the recently renovated condo with three levels (bedroom/ kitchen&family area / upper terrace) - each with a great north facing balcony view of the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable quality food but not enough variation between restaurants.Expensive for what it is.Check your final invoice carefully. Mine contained sèveral iñvoices for another room. This was immediately rectified by very cooperative management and a complimentary bottle of wine given with the last supper!

    Very pleasant staff. Great room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pricey, but that's St Lucia. Also, cleaning staff just couldn't figure out to replenish the coffee supply every day. Easily solved with a phone call to housekeeping, but really?! Wouldn't that be a basic thing to check? Even leaving the empty coffee wrappers next to the coffee machine wasn't a good enough clue. A small thing to be sure, but ironic housekeeping service seemed less thorough on days when I left a nice tip for housekeeping than when I didn't.

    Resort is beautiful and the staff courteous. And our villa was awesome. Unlike places I've been to before, there's no mad rush to stake out chairs by the pool or beach. Free parking is a big plus (I rented a 4WD for the week), and the location, while close to two hours from the airport, is convenient to shopping and dining 15 minutes north or south. I'm glad my wife and I declined the all-inclusive option. Eating out at area restaurants is something my wife and I enjoy doing and with a bit of discipline, like cooking breakfast rather than using the resort's dining facilities, can save a ton of money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful property. Staff was polite and helpful at all times. Food was ok. Some restaurants were not that good. Embers restaurant was good. Beach bar sometimes slow but that was usually around lunch time when the beach restaurant was busy. The lighting in the rooms were poor. Ac worked well. No bugs! Large beach area with plenty of lounge chairs in the shade or sun. The All inclusive plan was not worth it. Best to pay as you go. This is a very hilly property. We were on level one which was walkable. Upper level rooms needed a shuttle. I will be coming back to this property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was mediocre at all restaurants and very expensive if you aren't on the all inclusive plan. No mint for mojitos at resort.... :(. Kitchens and Bathrooms in villas need some serious upgrading!!! Those areas felt very dated...not luxurious.

    We traveled as a family, but our children are 22 and 19. I think the bedroom setup for families with younger children who need quite a bit of their parents attention (preschool and elementary school aged kids) , would not be ideal. Kids were upstairs with their own porch, we were downstairs. Little ones I think would need more supervision or closer proximity to parents. The two bedroom villa was perfect for us with grown up children. We had the space we needed, as well as plenty of space to hang out together with a spectacular view. We didn't get the all inclusive plan because we didn't know it was available until after we got there. I think it would be worth it to look into the all inclusive plan if you are going. Food was mediocre...ok to good, not great, at all restaurants at the resort and very expensive. If you want to do any cooking or eating in the villa, suggested that we should have stopped at a grocery store prior to arriving at the resort. There is a small grocery store on resort, but it is quite expensive. However, a man in a boat comes to the beach twice a week to sell delicious tropical fruit, which was fun and the fruit was good. Main shared areas of villa were open air, bedrooms were air conditioned. Loved the private pool on our porch of the villa. Most of the staff were lovely. The gym was very nice. One note, there is a shuttle from villa to beach or main resort area and restaurants, but if you have any disability (or small kids) the hills are VERY steep. If you don't want to wait for the shuttle, you may find the hills challenging. It would not deter me personally, as the view from the mountain tops are beautiful, but it was challenging to walk up. Staff mentioned people can request lower level villas for those with disabilities. Consider the open jeep, land and sea tour! A great way to see the island in one day! So fun!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food at resort restaurants was pretty mediocre. Also, very steep hills and you really cannot walk around the property - need to wait for the shuttle vans. On busy days, hard to find a chair on the beach. Also, no grocery or other stores within walking distance of the property

    Its not really a resort or a hotel. Its a collection of Villas. We liked the convenience of being able to cook for the kids in the Villa. Beach is calm - good for kids

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like

    We had beautiful views from our villa’s terrace which was on a hill side. Nevertheless it was also only a five minute walk down to the beach. The resort had good equipment available for standup paddling, kayaking, etc. The gym was also really nice. Best of all, the staff was super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was out sailing on one of the resorts little Hobiecats one day and the winds died done. afterwards I happened across one of the service managers and mentioned I had only one complaint and maybe he could do something about it. he asked me what that might be and I mentioned the lack of wind. we had a chuckle about that and he said he would look right into it. sure enough, lots of wind the next day

    There was nothing not to like! The staff were the friendliest we have ever met, food was great, drinks even better, bed was super comfy and the villa was outstanding in location, cleanliness comfort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electricity is 110volt so loading your electric can be an item. (but you are too bussy enyoing your stay :-))

    Super villa's. Shuttle service througout the property because it is to steep for walking. Service is top and very friendly. Activities every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are ants in the kitchen countertop, which I don't think can be avoided since there are cracks leading into the villa via windows/doors and that is how it is designed. We left a box of cereal on the counter overnight and the next morning we couldn't eat it anymore, so you should put whatever food you have in the fridge! Also, the brochure/manual about the Windjammer in the villa says they have mosquito-control through a spray, but i kept getting bit by something (whether it be a mosquito or some other itch-inducing bug) every night. Once again, may also be unavoidable if you attract mosquitoes because there are cracks through doors.

    The service from staff was amazing and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The villa was beautiful (i loved the bathroom!) and there are multiple pools, hot tub, restaurants and amenities you can access. Everything was made simple, easy, and relaxing. Location was also great, near a lot of restaurants, local food, and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of wifi in the room, poor customer service to get it rectified. No formal welcome tour when we arrived. Being turned back from papa dons restaurant because of unknowingly not having a reservation.

    The breakfast buffet was the best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wouldn't upgrade us because we had a baby. There were bugs all Over the kitchen

    The views were unbelievable. The water sports were fun. The villas were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of little charges here and there are threatened by the resort, but not actually implemented. The threat is annoying, reminiscent of a cell phone company, but since the charges aren't actually implemented, I suppose it's okay. Generally everything was right at the tipping point of being understaffed, from check-in, to room service, and felt like it could tip off into being ignored at any minute. The restaurants were nothing special, but okay if you wanted to avoid travelling.

    The property and the villas were gorgeous. The location is outstanding. The price is reasonable given the quality of the property and the villas. There was an efficient transportation/shuttle system to get up and down the steep hillside where the villas are to the resort center where the restaurants, shops, and beach are.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle service back and forth to the rooms were sometimes a little of a nuisance. If you forget something in your room and were at the beach or pool area, it could potentially take you almost 30-45 mins before you could return. A majority of the time the shuttle service was very quick but there were a few times where we had to wait almost 30 mins for a shuttle to arrive. The only restaurant which we were able to eat at was the Jammer by the main pool and had a bar associated with it. Being in a Caribbean island I was expecting more authentic foods or at least more options and variety of food. The menu only had about 2-3 items which were considered "Caribbean food" and everything else was very bland and tasteless. I found that to be the trend on the island though. Very commercial and a lot of food options which seemed to be what we call in the states, junk food. That was the most disappointing part of the trip.

    We loved the view and quality of the room and property. Everything was clean and comfortable. The front desk and shuttle staff were great at service. We ordered room service 1 time and they were on time if not earlier than estimated. We were in St. Lucia for a wedding at another resort about 20 mins away and since many of the activities were off site we didn't utilize all of the amenities at the resort, which we definitely intended on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was a bit too salty, but it was ok. Everything else was perfect.

    The environment was great and relaxing, nice accommodation, comfy bed, nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is gorgeous, an almost Mediterranean feel in the Caribbean, with all the whitewashed buildings in the Hills. I only wish they would reopen the airport on the North End of the island so we could get there quicker :-)

    Simply Paradise. Beautiful environment... lovely, kind people.... fabulous family vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As are many of the resorts on Saint Lucia in beautiful settings you have to take a taxi to leave the property as you are 2-3 miles from a local village or store or restuarant.

    Great location and welcoming staff. Everyone wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay and introduced themselves and was quite helpful and friendly. Beach was nice and the water sports available are many. The Premium Ocean View room was amazing and very comfortable. Easy van shuttle all around the resort as desired. Restaurants and good selections and variety. We ate at them all and enjoyed each meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    What I DIDN'T like had to do with Booking.com and not with Windjammer. I tried and tried to alter my dates online, but you bumped the price up exponentially when I tried, which was VERY frustrating. That left quite a bad taste in my mouth.

    Actually I'm not sure what you mean by that, as there are apparently several restaurants there. The ones I used were great, though. Food was delicious, service was great, and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't see any mosquitos but the mosquito net around our bed didn't fit properly.

    Views of Martinique from our room. Free sailing from the beach. Cheap $10 US snorkelling trip. Nightlife. Shuttle buses to the rooms meant no need to walk up the hill.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food wasn't great. Compared to the meals at some of the local restaurants, the food could have been better.

    Beautiful setting, amazing views from the villas. Very comfortable rooms. Lots for teenagers to do which allows them some independence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rained every day, but luckily not for long.

    Beautiful scenery. Very comfortable villa with large plunge pool. Beach and water clean. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor doesn't seem to be well clean even on first night. But in general, other areas are well cleaned and beds nicely made. Upon check in, we were asked to pay the balance of the hotel bill as they said the other balance was already pre-deducted by booking.com agent (without our knowledge!) When we book through booking.com, it was clearly stated that payment shall be made at the hotel (!) It was through some challenges that they finally agreed to print us the hotel invoice to show that indeed part of the payment was pre-deducted to ensure that we were not paying more or less. More training should be given to the staff in customer service.

    The beach is very nice. Water is clear and calm, very suitable for swimming with family especially children. Nice array of water activities for choice. The estate is hilly which offers fantastic view and lots of breeze. The villa that we were given was not new, but has character. Offer great ocean view and a nice jacuzzi and balcony for winding down. They have a small kitchen but very well equipped with pretty new crockery and cutlery. Fantastic. We had thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Feather or down pillows were needed. Snorkeling could have been better. They said sea was rough for past few days.

    Papa Don's Italian restaurant and Jammers on beach were terrific! Great sunsets and live music fun too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to change rooms but staff handled this quickly and we were happy with the new room.

    Great beaches, free snorkeling, excellent restaurants, helpful and knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water at the beach wasn't the clearest

    The rooms /vila are on a steep incline and ther is a free shuttle that will take you to your room whenever you want, Water sports are great and FREE snorkel free,water skiing free,sailing free,kayak padle board wind surfing all free,(I didn't eat at any of the restaurants)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location is so far from almost all the sight-seeing /adventure things that you might want to do. And it's not cheap to get around.

    It's nice that it is oceanfront. The views are stunning. For days that it rains (as it did when we were there) where you cant do anything or go anywhere, it's nice to have a facility with restaurants and grocery store.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My issue with the Hotel, is that the price you get on Booking.com, is not the same you get charged when you check out of the Hotel. In our case it was more then $2,000 extra. We felt defrauded.

    The Bed and the rooms are nice and of decent size.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have a mobility problem. Because your resort is on a hill, it was difficult for me to get around. Not your problem , but mine

    Your resort was beautiful and the location was great. The beach was particularly lovely and I enjoyed your very good restaurants and their sea view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food in the restaurants is not amazing and is too expensive for what it is. If you are not all inclusive, you need to carry a cash with you, as they don't accept card payments for less than 10 USD (i.e. you can't buy water)

    Views are amazing, very friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfortable, though some bits and pieces like window handles need to be fixed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very expensive. The room and the food. They add 10-15% of service charge to every bill even with self service buffet, ridiculous. We've had a storm during our stay and the window was leaking. They brought fresh towels to put on the floor rather than moving us to a non leaking room

    Nicely located by the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was severely outdated and not very clean. Too much uphill/downhill walking. No hot water in shower, T.V. didn't work, most of the plug ins didn't work and the poor OLD airconditioner leaked water all over the floor.

    The staff were very friendly. Water sports included in room rate

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The incorrect billing which was drawn to the attention and was fixed. However, for departure the same item that was fixed reappeared on the bill.

    the location ambience and the hospitality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked every thing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely beach and very family friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants on the resort were very genirc and for what it was meant to be, fairly poor.

    The complimentary water sport facilities was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bed was nice, the property was clean, but to many hills

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No business centre.

    Good style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cats in the restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service were some what lacking

    Views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beach was lovely. The Italian restaurant was cosy and the food was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For the quality I thought the food was a little pricy.

    Location, views, staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Happy with everything

    Love Windjammer. We will be back. Staff so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little pricey.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Splendid beach, great activities at the dive shop where the staff there were exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room really needs a full length mirror at least in closet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good, furniture in the villa was great , private pool was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks old and the customer service is very poor. The staff lies to much to their guest. I' was very displeased.

    The beach area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premium Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had booked the all inclusive on line.

    Very good vacation for families.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sitting on the balcony whilst the staff were fighting the mosquitoes away. Would have enjoyed daily yoga classes, the beach is a perfect location for sun salutations.

    The staff were attentive & accomodating. The resort is secure.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have only one negative thing to say, our room was right next to a family with little children who screamed none stop. That's not the resorts problem except for maybe sound proofing the rooms better

    The all inclusive was a good value with great selection of restaurants. The shuttle on the resort is convenient. The staff is very friendly. The spa services and facilities are excellent. Each room has an amazing view. We had an amazing day with an off resort excursion with Island Adventures. Throughly enjoyed the beach with bars a couple of steps away.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi. Only 2 bad apples in their entire staff. Nothing that the resort could do, but the beach is short, no long strolls and to get to other area's of the island it is an hour and a half to two hour drive. We are not drawn to the catamaran tours, seem to crowded, so we did not explore the island as much we often do elsewhere.

    98% of the staff were sincerely helpful and kind, even going above and beyond. The food was the best at any all inclusive resort we've been to. The accomodations were very comfortable and loved the style of the property, no highrise, hotel feel at all. Felt like (and many are) individual cottages. Nice to have paddle boards, snorkeling gear, etc.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mosquitos

    As everyone had their own pool or share of one, so there was no "bagging" of sun loungers by the main pool. Everyone was more interested in the beach and the included water sports.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food is middling at best. Some of the rooms could use a refresh. The typical resort pricing on food and sundries is discouraging.

    The location is very good. The property and rooms very clean. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More expensive than it should have been as I thought we would eat out more but the Windjammer's restaurants were so good - I should have gone "All Inclusive".

    Lovely location and family accommodating resort and Spa. Friendly and efficient staff. Rustic rooms but well decorated, everything worked and very clean. Good views as located on a hilly site but not a problem as they provide a frequent free shuttle service to your room. Good selection of food at the four restaurants. What is not to like?

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food at the resort was very average and overpriced. The resort is not near the main bars and restaurants in St Lucia so you'd have to get a taxi to get anywhere (around 20 USD each way!) which was a bit annoying. The atmosphere in the evenings at the resort was a bit dead!

    It's a nice and well maintained resort, right on the beach with nice rooms and amenities.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed from 24th to 29th november with my wife.All staff were very pleassnt and helpful.Our expectations were met re☺?:relaxed, spa,tours,cruise ...... we will return.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food could have been better, we tried pizza one night which was undercooked so sent them back for more cooking as the base was still doughy. The tuna meal one night wasnt great a little overcooked and lacking in flavour but the lunch of a jerk chicken wrap and nachos were very nice. Overall we enjoyed it however we started eating out or cooking ourselves after trying three resort restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is down a long (mile long) winding road, so if you want to go any where you are relying on taxis. The curtains were white and very thin, so we woke up at 6am every morning, so not ideal if you are wanting a lie in! Any extras such as drinks are expensive. The sea floor in the private beach is quite stony and rocky.

    Staff were super friendly - nothing was too much for them, rooms were big and extremely clean. Food was delicious, the atmosphere at the hotel was calm and relaxing, even though there was lots on offer.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had been waiting almost two hours to get a room because they said they never received the booking. They made fun of us, one of the staff told me "we're getting the key ready for you" while they were just taking all my details credit card and id card for the manager. When the guy took everything he said to his manager "I took everything" and then the manager started to say the truth, by this time we had lost more than an hour. They we're not getting a key ready they were just taking all my details without saying a word that something went wrong with my booking. Unacceptable for a 5 star hotel, you don't treat people like that! Even if they asked me to send the confirmation email we paid more. Just a scam. Last time at windjammer, I'm not going back there! Another thing, staff refuses to speak creole even if you don't understand when they speak English! Too posh to be nice! A chance I could speak English otherwise my friends would've slept outside.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our second room of our stay (the double room) was two twin beds pushed together, was not very clean, and smelled bad. However, we complained and management upgraded us to a phenomenal room.

    We loved the management response to our complaint. The other rooms were amazing and a great value. The beach was wonderful and not too crowded. The variety of eating options on site and the ability to book tours through the hotel were an added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was very expensive and unless you have a car you need to eat there. To go out anywhere is very difficult. The beach was extremely windy and so using the water sports meant that you couldn't go very far. We wanted to snorkle around at another bay but they only issued the gear for an hour at a time so we could't do it.

    The resort is huge so we were pleased that we went in off season as we couldn't imagine what it would be like whenit was heaving with people, particularly on the small beach. The villas were all lovely and great value for money. Was good to have some water gear to use. They had a free snorkling trip for an hour but the snorkling area wasn't all that great. The staff were all extremely friendly and were alway checking how you were.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Itson ahill so a hike, not an issue for us but would be for dome. There ate shuttles to run you up and down but not as convenient Ad just doing you own think

    Great beach, nice location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Man made beach is very good to look at and sit on but the sea is full of rocks and coral which discourages swimming. Make sure to take some protective footware for swimming.

    Staff helpful and friendly. Stunning location and layout of the resort. Fabulous views from our villa. Good choice of restaurants with, generally, well cooked menus.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Built on a very steep hillside with lots of slippery tiles and uneven pathways. Waiting for the shuttle buses which sometimes don't come. Telephone regularly goes out which makes it difficult to call a shuttle anyway !

    Pool & Beach

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    By far I would like to call out the genuinely kind staff. I have stayed in resorts in the Caribbean before, and the outstanding staff at the Windjammer were the best. They went above and beyond to help my 94 year old father. This trip was a dream come true for him. The staff had excellent ideas and suggestions -- very innovative and unique. I miss them already!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are spacious and the incredible views from the outdoor terrace are truly fantastic. The villas are comfortable and hotel staff is beyond amazing.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our kitchen was infested with ants. We did not choose the all-inclusive plan and prepared a lot of the meals in our villa. The kitchen was very dated and the ants were a huge problem as they easily would get into the food and dishes. Also, the stove was not very clean. Cooking was not a pleasant experience.

    Beautiful views and location. Nice beach although the water is not as clear as we have seen on other islands in the Caribbean. The people are extremely nice and friendly. Would definitely come back to St. Lucia, but probably not to Windjammer.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    air conditioning in the bathrooms

    the view from the patio

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ocean View rooms are outdated, pretty small and not all actually have nice views. One of the most overpriced hotels I've ever stayed.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved spectacular scenery and the ambience of the property. We felt we were on a cliffside retreat in the Mediterranean.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view and the entire concept of the resort

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice hotel, nice location and above all nice staff.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: