Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hofbalzers 4 stars

Im Höfle 2, 9496 Balzers, Liechtenstein

#1 of 1 hotels in Balzers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location were perfect for our needs - the staff were helpful and friendly, our room was clean with a lovely little terrace to watch the sun set over the mountain - the meal at the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    An absolutely beautiful hotel in an idilic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit soft! Otherwise no complaints at all.

    An absolutely beautiful hotel in an idilic setting. The breakfast was lovely and we had dinner in he restaurant which was superb. The staff were all really friendly. It was so easy to get the bus just outside the hotel. Liechtenstein is beautiful and highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    It was a very good stay all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channels. Most of them are dubbed to german. Wifi keeps disconnecting.

    The bathroom was super nice and the room was good size. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    Not really 4 star hotel.. I give it 2 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It Was very hot.. No AC, The fan mechine wasn't work in proper way.. I ask for extra one or replacement but my request wasn't met.. Expensive for only being clean no thing alse. No lift service to my room and I have to take our family bags from 1st floor to 2nd floor. No kettle , tee, coffee in the room. No iron No thing in toilet except the shower gel and towels.. No near by shops or restaurants. Very poor 4 star hotel

    Quite,, Room space,, clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice, clean hotel with a nice outdoor restaurant and lovely homemade breakfast buffet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has more to offer than the first impression might tell. The hosts and staff are really nice and friendly. The view to the mountains are nice, and its a quite part of town. The restaurant serves great food, and in summer its a must to sit under the large three outdoors. The breakfast is so delicious, with homemade marmelades, local cheesed and more. Rooms are clean and mine had a French balcony with a nice view and birds singing outside. Recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.0
    Satisfied. See point 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    According to international standards this is not a 4star hotel. But it was nice and I’ll go there again. It is in a peaceful village, unfortunately quite a bit of traffic in the morning.

    Bedrooms were fine, bed comfortable. Bathroom small but clean. Staff very friendly. Restaurant not part of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, off the beaten track, great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly, make you feel at home straight away and will go out of their way to accomodate guests, very impressive !! Also, the views from the hotel are seriously impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing much to complain

    nice rooms good restaurant hot strong shower multiple onsite parking good internet nice view on a castle and high mountains

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    excellent hotel but would book over the phone next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish I had known that the breakfast wasn't included. Many reviews comment on how great the breakfast is, so I assumed it would be included. It's not. It is 16 CHF per person per day extra. Upon arrival I was told that it would have been included had I booked with the hotel directly (over the phone) and I would have got a better price. Not what I wanted to hear.

    The hotel was nice and quiet. My room was big, modern, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a good standard continental breakfast. It came with a hair dryer, TV, safe and fridge. There were fruit baskets with fresh apples and pears on the corridors for guests to enjoy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    Solid option for those traveling between Austria and Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the attached restaurant was not owned by the hotel but resided in the same building and was the only obvious option for getting dinner in the small town. the food here was above average, but the prices were very high. bedding was adequate but not great.

    the night manager (owner?) was very friendly and accommodating as we arrived a bit late. Very close to Vaduz and had a good view of a medieval fort in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Living beyond ones means
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything so expense - we foolishly declined buffet breakfast at 15 per person (half price for daughter) and went to McDonald's to save money which in fact cost us 70!?!

    Receptionist very helpful - encouraged use of free fitness suite and steam room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a very quite location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a very quite location. The rooms are very quite too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Room was quite big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small kitchen but no equipment to make tea.

    Room was quite big. Hotel is near the castle. For restaurants drive to Vaduz.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was exactly where we needed to make a stopover on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no shutters or blackout curtains.

    The hotel was exactly where we needed to make a stopover on a road trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Friendly welcome, peaceful setting, good amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good atmosphere, great hosts and tranquil setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was under the roof and very warm. It had a small window.

    Friendly staff. Free parking. Wifi ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.5
    speechless
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody can control the flight time due to delayed,and the most unbelieveable thing is that no one in reception for providing service at night.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Stay over in Liechtenstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in a hot room, the fan did not help and was noicy.

    Nice food at the restaurant. Owner and personell nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff when we arrived. Nice place. Has character and a nice view of a mountain from the front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All was good.

    Location was the first priority. Staff were great and helpful. Restaurant next door to the hotel was handy, and good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Super staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff!! The room was great with a little balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the owners were lovely - the location - very clean - lovely balcony - very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent value in Guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available, restaurant closed

    Close to river; ,friendly owners

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Good spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specific

    Good spacious rooms. Welcoming staff. Enjoyed the stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Location and comfort were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more options...like bacon and/or sausage.

    Location and comfort were fantastic. Great place for families.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Bed was super comfortable, nice staff, in front of bus stop.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was super comfortable, nice staff, in front of bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    free parking space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room rate was quite good, but I didn't expect that breakfast cost us 16sfr per person although we have 2 children.

    free parking space

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The cleanliness , location and quietness of the place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Comfotrable hotel if you need to stop over in Lichtenstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much near the hotel..... except very over priced restaurant... Lichtenstein extremely expensive

    Comfortable spacious room with balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with excellent stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not included in price.

    It is a small but nice hotel. It offers good comfort. The stuff is excellent. Parking is within hotel's yard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Great old mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too hot

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.5
    It is a decent three star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was not open for dinner. We had to go somewhere else to eat. The price of the hotel is exorbitant for the premises; usually, such hotels cost 40 to 70 euros per night. However, it is probably the cheapest hotel in Liechtensten, the others are way more expensive. In addition, breakfast was not included in the price. We had to pay extra 18 francs each for breakfast. It was a good breakfast, however, not worth the 36 francs we jointly paid for it. It would have made sense to just drive on and have (a cheaper and better) breakfast at some cafe in Switzerland or Austria.

    It is a decent three star hotel. The room was normal. The owner was nice and very accommodating, and very fluent in English.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    The staff were so friendly and helped us with anything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a thing!

    The staff were so friendly and helped us with anything we needed. when I saw the view from our balcony I couldn't believe it..it was simply breath taking and the room was nice and tidy, with everything we could ask for, even the TV had plenty of English channels whitch was a nice surprise after a lond day in the beautiful mountains.I couldn't recommend this place more highly!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Everything was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit warm in the room but we only discovered the bathroom window could be opened the next morning.

    Everything was fantastic. The host was very helpful and friendly. Explained everything very well and in very good english. Beeakfast was great. Lovely views from our room. Parking was free and safe. We didn't eat at the hotel but looked nice food. We had a lovely stay in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff was great and was able to get us two rooms together...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was great and was able to get us two rooms together even though the second room was bigger, as we were traveling with children. Nice views from the rooms. No air conditioning but rooms had fans and it cooled off with windows open.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The staff was incredibly friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was incredibly friendly and kind. We arrived at 10pm hungry after a long drive, and all the local restaurants were closed, but the manager opened the restaurant in the hotel for us and prepared and served us a delicious meal herself. The room for 4 was quite comfortable and clean. The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful location, just at the base of an alp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful location, just at the base of an alp. Hotel was very nice, clean and orderly. We got two double rooms and our kids loved it. Very helpful staff and a hotel we really recommend.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were there during a heat wave and of course hotels in Liechtenstein do not have air conditioning. There is nothing the hotel owner can do about this, but I would not go back during a time of year that might be hot. Although the online description of the hotel says that the rooms have balconies, not all rooms do.

    This hotel is in a pretty area, a very nice couple own and work at the hotel, and it is less expensive than other area hotels.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    A big thank you to Viktor and the excellent staff for making...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No aircon. Tower fan in room might cope normally, but it was stifling. A lightning storm broke at 3am: helped only a little bit. I think aircon would make the difference for a delightful stay in summer. Pillows too soft for me: others may find them fine.

    A big thank you to Viktor and the excellent staff for making us welcome. Went out of their way to assist, friendly without being intrusive. Superb evening meal, marvellous buffet breakfast choice, clean, modern, quiet room with a great shower and a supportive bed. Wifi requires a code sent via SMS: you'd need roaming enabled or international access from your phone network provider. 15min taxi ride from Sargans train station, good road links for border areas.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    The room was functional and the shower was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was unexpectedly hot during our visit and as expected the hotel did not have Air Conditioning which made it hard to sleep.

    The room was functional and the shower was wonderful. The bed was typical European but more comfortable than most. The area and hotel are pet friendly and there are lots of places to take the dog.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    This hotel was one of the cheapest we could find in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was okay, but the TV was small and there was no real wifi (they have a system for getting wifi, but it was so convoluted I eventually gave up). The breakfast was also pretty basic. The hotel is also outside of Vaduz, the main city, so there isn't any "nightlife" to speak of.

    This hotel was one of the cheapest we could find in Lichtenstein (which is one of the most expensive countries in Europe), but it showed. The hotel was decent, but nothing to write home about.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    It was a large room, with adjacent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi required password sent to your mobile. 2nd floor was very hot. Very pricing for young family.

    It was a large room, with adjacent restaurant. Nice bathroom and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Victor, the owner, is a complete gentleman and an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Victor, the owner, is a complete gentleman and an amazing host - we felt cared for and at home. The steam bath is a special, relaxing bonus. We, literally, have suggestions for improvement. Lovely...we will stay no where else when visiting Leitchenstein.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    very nice view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.1
    Small, clean, convenient, quiet, bar open until midnight
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Double bed announced but only twin beds rooms.

    Small, clean, convenient, quiet, bar open until midnight

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    Roomt was too hot and a little noisy with the window open.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Roomt was too hot and a little noisy with the window open.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Hidden gem in a fantastic country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Liked everything.

    Hidden gem in a fantastic country. Staff was attentive to every question. Great breakfast. Great rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.2
    Quiet and clean family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No other comments.

    Quiet and clean family room.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent hotel clean quiet pastoral atmosphere Feels like at home A wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.3
    The saff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The saff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is cozy. And the view from the room was fantastic. Like in a fairy tale.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything above

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel just out of Vaduz, lovely staff& very nice breakfast. Awoke to goat bells & snow capped mountains

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.1
    Convenient to tour country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient to tour country

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    View of Balzers Castle from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View of Balzers Castle from room

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely place very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar and restuarant was closed. We were told this was because it was Sunday night

    Lovely place very helpful staff. Spotless

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    The staff is incredibly friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very expensive.

    The staff is incredibly friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Our rooms were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our rooms were very clean. I believe it was the cleanest hotel I ever stayed at.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very few reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance of hotel. Hot in the room.

    Nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.8
    Was able to charge my plug-in hybrid Mitsubishi Outlander
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was able to charge my plug-in hybrid Mitsubishi Outlander

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    The facilities were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The facilities were fantastic. The WiFi was great, the breakfast was first rate and the Italian restaurant next door was first rate.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    6.3
    No conditioning in the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No conditioning in the rooms! Extremely hot! The food in the restaurant is extremely expensive!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Excellent comfort and space, wonderful staff and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent comfort and space, wonderful staff and beautiful hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, cleanness, and quite area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Friendly staff, cleanness, and quite area

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    we arrived at the city at the day when all city restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overpriced country)

    we arrived at the city at the day when all city restaurants were busy, but they cooked for us

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.8
    Stunning view from balcony, old=fashioned, quaint exterior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was ridiculously expensive

    Stunning view from balcony, old=fashioned, quaint exterior with modern, up-dated interior

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    8.8
    Very good location when travelling from DK to Livigno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good location when travelling from DK to Livigno. Nice restaurant.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Hotel Hofbalzers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: