Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Matara District hotel reviews
  4. Dickwella hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Dickwella Beach

Reviews of Dickwella Beach

No.112, Mahawela Road,, 81200 Dickwella, Sri Lanka

#11 of 16 hotels in Dickwella

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    5.0
    Lovely staff, nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is not finished, it should not be rented out- it’s unsafe ex. balcony railing wobbly. No hot water or WiFi. We paid £60 per night which was a rip off for a place like this. Owner should finish the property before renting this out at this price!

    Lovely staff, nice views.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.2
    excellent management of MANORI and her family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much. except the traffic on the main road outside is very dangerous but that applies to most roads in Sri Lanka

    the hotel was situated on its own private beach. Dickwella beach is one of the finest in the whole area

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Thanks Morgan! You did great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an amazing 5 days at Dickwella Beach Hotel which had a great location to discover the best beaches nearby by walk and also with scooter. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning and had a great chat with Morgan who was actually the heart of this place and made this hotel very homey! He was always super kind, funny and interested that we appreciated a lot!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    3.3
    Location of the hotel is good, but because of the above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Already when walking in, you can see that the place is very old, and run down. This is where the dissapointment starts. We had booked a superior room for 2 days, which was quite pricey, therefore we expected some minimum quality and comfort. It was much below the expectations: - there was no hot water (we went to reception by foot, as there was no room phone to call, and they have fixed it for the forst evening). Next morning, same problem again - no hot water - bathroom had a pipe leak (constant "fountain" running in the bathroom) - there was mold in the bathroom, in the room and also on thebalcony - no complementary coffee / tea - no cleaning of the room during our stay - no hair dryer (probably you have to walk to the reception and receive one) - dont lean on balcony railings because (without exaggeration) it will break and you might fall from 2nd store -.... etc We were very dissapointed and wanted to leave the 2nd day, but the room was booked with no refund. We have asked booking for their suggestion of what can we do, and the only possibility was if the owner agreed. We have talked to her (apparently she's very nice person and smiling) and she told us that she could have given the room to some other people which came earlier that day, but she could not as the hotel was fully booked. And therefore it would be too late for us. This was a lie told with a smile, as we checked booking.com afterwards and all types of rooms were still available (during our stay we only saw 1 additional tourist, so probably the hotel was almost empty).

    Location of the hotel is good, but because of the above mentioned points, I highly recommend to choose another accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful room with an ocean view. A delicious Sri Lankan breakfast. Dickwella is a long strand. The eastern end is great for swimming and from there you can easily walk over to the surf scene at Hiriketiya.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.1
    the location is perfect for dikwella, easy to reach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it is not very clean, the bathrooms are run down, the hammocks that look so inviting on the pictures arr all broken and the beach beds old and in bad shape.

    the location is perfect for dikwella, easy to reach, entrance by the main street but due to the structure of the place, the building with the seaview rooms is quiet and directly at tve beautiful dickwella beach. the staff is very friendly and helpful and the sei lankan breakfast is wonderful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, lovely people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were taken aback by the kindness of the staff here. My mother had to go to hospital during our stay (broken ankle due to a fall when walking around Dikwella). Smiley Manoj and Nalin went out of their way to help us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, on the beach, easy walk to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property did not match photos or descriptions. Upon arrival, there was only a security guard and one staff personnel, so we carried most of our things up to our room. The common areas and room were dirty-cobwebs, pipes covered in duct tape, hole in wall. The bed was clean, but only a flat sheet was provided. There was no mosquito net, although the description says the bed has one. No in room amenities were provided- no soap or shampoo or electric tea kettle in the room. We booked for 4 nights but only stayed 1 night.

    Great location, on the beach, easy walk to town. Nice balcony facing the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelled terribly. For what we paid were we extremely disappointed and reduced our stat to only one night. The beach was average and eating options were limited

    The chap that we dealt with was lovely and he whipped up a fabulous breakfast. Room views were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    People working in hotel are very kind and always ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wifi

    People working in hotel are very kind and always ready to help you. And they have 2 cool dalmatians-dogs ) I highly recomend to book sea-view room, best view ever, especialy sunsets, actualy you don't see the sun but the sky is awesome. Beach near the hotel is very clean, no bars and people there, just you and the ocean, but waves are very big, in 300m its much better to swim. If you want some party or serffing you can go to nearest beach Hiriketiya, it will take 20min or take tuk tuk and in 5 min you'll be there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfy room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff seemed a little disinterested at times and it could take us a while to find staff to help (e.g. took us five minutes to find someone to check us in).

    Great location, comfy room with a view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location right on Dickwella beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be cleaner. Our window had rusty stains on it, the fridge had some mold on the inside, there were some smudges on bathroom walls. On the whole, place needs a little bit more attention than the family that runs the place is giving to it. Bed linen was good though, the mosquito net was also fresh and intact. I personally didn't like that we were given quadruple rooms instead of the double rooms we booked, but others probably won't see it as an issue. At any rate, the location and the view will erase all the small faults of this place from your memory. However, I'm not sure we'd choose this place for staying longer than a couple of days.

    The view from the panoramic window is BEAUTIFUL. The best location among all Dickwella beachfront properties. The territory is well taken care of. Staff if friendly and always there if you need anything without being obtrusive. There's not much of a selection in the restaurant and you'd want to order well in advance, but the food was quite tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.3
    Ideal if yo want enjoying the beach but nothing else to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you want to eat Sri Lankan breakfast or dinner, you have to tell them before, things that you do not want to think about in holidays. The WiFi is only accessable from a public room and doesn't work very well.

    We liked the room and its marvellous siea view ! We we're lucky to be in the new building of the hotel (the old one didn't seem to be so clean) And the staff was really helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.3
    The view from our balcony was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a Little bit old, no breakfast included, many mosquitos around.

    The view from our balcony was amazing. Furthermore the proximity to the beach is astonishing. Also, the "Surfers beach" is only a 10-15min walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended. Definitely worth its money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had an amazing view over the beach and the sea from the balcony. The beach is nice - you can have fun swimming in the waves just in front of the hotel or have a 5 min walk and enjoy some snorkeling near the small reef. During snorkeling we were lucky enough to spot a young blacktip reef shark. 10-15 min walk towards the east takes you to a small lagoon with cafes and restaurants along the beach. The lagoon is a perfect place for newbie surfers, surf spots offer board rental and surf lessons. OH, and you can see sea tireless. Territory of the hotel is green and clean. The hosts are very welcoming and do everything to accommodate you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Good value & friendly beachside hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to order Sri Lankan breakfast the night before. We didn't realise so had the Continental. I wasn't a fan and at 900 rupees each, it was hugely overpriced compared to other places on our trip. Be wary on Dickwella beach - someone tried to steal my husband's top whilst he was swimming! They brought it back when he saw them so it was mostly harmless.

    Family-run hotel which offers great views if the beach and good location for getting to Hiriketiya. The room away spacious and clean with a nice balcony and powerful air con.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    6.7
    Nice people just need a bit off finishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's just not finished and lacks certain aspects. Not overly keen on Dickwella as a location. Surrounding areas which are easy to get are just more appealing. Sadly the beach has a lot of litter on it (not by hotel) 3/4 minute walk. There no beach bars or restaurants unless you walk 20 mins or just get a tuk tuk to Hikeritya (spelling unsure) best beach and spot on bars. Surf hangout

    The staff and the dalmations dogs. Comfy bed but remember the what you pay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    7.5
    I'd recommend this hotel to stay, perfect view from the room, cool beach and nature around
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food from the menu had little portion, price not very cheap, water pressure in the bathroom was very weak as a result it is not convenient to take a bath

    Great location, ocean view apartments, beautiful peopleless beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Value for money rooms, clean and right next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited food options and ..... Breakfast could be better. Overpriced for a local breakfast maybe because it is for foreigners too. Irrespective of price what really was not satisfactory was that the food was cold. As a customer I'm willing to wait 15-20 mins for the meal to arrive provided it is warm and fresh Informed we would be having hoppers for breakfast the night before - The hoppers we got were flat and cold, indicating that they have been cooked in advance and been kept, typically in hotels this would be made as an when the guest enters - specific for hoppers :)

    The room was very spacious, they had the AC running just before we checked in so there was no issue with cooling the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself is ugly, has no charm, no decoration at all. The restaurant (and bar?) is weird, just an empty room, very uninviting.

    Location!! Just on a splendid beach, nice garden and stunning view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended, overpriced and not relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was way overpriced, the sea was not suitable for swimming and as there was no pool and not much to do we canceled the last night. It is a building under cobstruction and it is behind a very old hotel used by locals. Not recommended!

    Clean room, nice shower and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    7.9
    Nice and mostly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant was not very atmospheric and the food was OK. A blanket had some dirt and had to be changed on arrival. The beach is not great; it's nearby Hiriketya you want to visit.

    Friendly staff, clean and tasteful rooms. Hot and cold water, effective AC. Silent and scenic surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    5.4
    Nothing like the pictures would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel looks nothing like the pictures online, first arriving to the hotel we thought it has closed down!! The building at the front is dilapidated and the building we stayed in hadn't been finished, the aircon units where all rusty. The door to the balcony is one built for a shop window!! Over all it's pretty terrible!!

    Close to the bus station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.1
    Old abandonned looking hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A place that has seen better days but that needs an urgent renovation, painting etc. Ok we visited in low season but the place looked abandonned, nothing like the pictures. The best thing was the direct view to the sea, but walking along the beach was a a major disappointment, dirty and with literally nothing opened, all abandonned. We spent all day in the nearby beach Hirekitiya that seemed like paradise compared to Dickwella. Slow service too. We ordered two drinks and onion rings and even though we were the only ones in the garden (hotel?) it took ages. I would say avoid this beach. Not sure if it changes much in other time of year.

    Since I think we were the only ones in the hotel we were given what seemed the room with best view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    9.2
    Nice eco friendly resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice eco friendly resort in jungle surroundings. Small river nearby to get a dip. Good vegan food. But bring your own beer, as they don't have. No aircondition, but our room was never too hot, anyway. Good sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.3
    Great stay at Dikwella Beach Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to low season there weren't many guests, so it was peaceful and quiet. Our host Raj contributed a lot to our stay. Whenever we looked for him he was around and did everything to make our stay comfortable, cosy. And it was great fun talking with him!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We usually only give good evaluations. Unfortunately this was impossible here. -Bed was terrible. When my girl fried or I moved just the small finger this was causing an earthquake on the mattress waking the other party up. -The hotel is a mix of a ruin and and building site. -Preparing a local breakfast takes ages. -Wires sticking everywhere out of walls/lawn. -Rooms are cleaned only every second day and then only unsatisfactory.

    Leaving

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    8.8
    Absolutely incredible location - unspoilt beach right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't judge it by first impression, especially if you arrive at night - the building at roadside is not the main hotel! Do think that breakfast should be included for the price, relative to many other places we stayed on our trip. Lack of nearby restaurants, however, the flip side is the totally unspoilt beach

    Absolutely incredible location - unspoilt beach right outside your bedroom window (wall, most of it was glass!). Staff were very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good every day. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel - head to Salt in the next bay for good fresh food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2017

    9.5
    I really enjoyed my stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed there five nights and actually I did not have any problem.

    Staf very friendly and helpful,food nice, quite place at the beach,room clean and very good size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.3
    really nice hotel and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    shame no internet in rooms - only in restaurant ants on the hotel grounds - i think i was the only one they liked biting

    View on balcony - amazing small hotel so staff and guests are friendly to each other. Glad i met some other solo english girl travellers at the hotel beach - practically had the beach to yourself clean rooms quiet and peaceful food in restaurant staff / family - friendly, welcoming, chatty, went out their way for you location - Dickwella town is really nice and friendly and has all the shops / services you would need

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    10
    Gorgeous beachfront location is a real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to find fault with this charming family-run hotel. Wifi limited to the dining area.

    Picture-perfect beach, with crashing waves & swaying palm trees. Fabulous location & a very comfortable & clean room, well-furnished, including a mini-fridge, with both a/c and an overhead fan, & a balcony, overlooking the gorgeous, yet practically deserted beach. We really enjoyed the delicious Sri Lankan breakfasts & dinners, too. A special mention goes to Manori, a charming young woman, whose helpfulness & kindness, always with a huge smile, help make this small 8-room hotel run smoothly. Attentive service also from the other family members & Mogan, add to the all-around excellence of this establishment. Definitely worth staying here!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    9.6
    Good Place with Good People!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Thanks to Manori and her family for the best time we had in Dickwella Beach! We travelled with 11 month baby and we had all we need. Special cooking and attentive attitude. We recommend this place for those who want to have a quiet and peaceful vacation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    Very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was great

    The people running the place were so wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, the best beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, the best beach. Very friendly personal.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    Amazing staff and location (directly at the most beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overprized during high season

    Amazing staff and location (directly at the most beautiful beach we have seen in Sri Lanka), good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    2.5
    They do not have restaurant to eat and less staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They do not have restaurant to eat and less staff...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a bit far from the tourist attractions

    The staff is very accomodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    We had some problems with bugs in the room, but they changed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had some problems with bugs in the room, but they changed our room and everything was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    Dickwalla Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with some renovation

    Location to great beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    Located on Beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Located on Beautiful beach. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Best views and very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best views of beach in the whole of Sri Lanka! Lovely peaceful and quiet but still close to lots of restaurants, great base.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    Beach chairs / umbrellas could be nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach chairs / umbrellas could be nice. You need to move in the shades of the palms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.5
    ill always come here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast which was supposed to be free was badly done.

    rooms were comfy. view was magnificent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unclean shower

    Beautiful view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location on the beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location on the beautiful beach. New building with good equipment. Top staff, very friendly and familiar. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location on the beach, a place to go to relax,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location on the beach, a place to go to relax, sunbathing and watch the sunset. The personell at this place was very nice and service minded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    4.2
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    70 USD for finding a lot of bugs in our bed.

    Nice, helpful people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Excellent location and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location next to a lovely beach. Staff was friendly and good local meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    6.7
    Great view but a bit rough around the edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is still being finished and so isn't the most comfortable.

    The view from the room is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    Lie in bed and watch the fishing boat lights and stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Comfortable and safe and great view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    10
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice. Friendly staff. Excellent manager!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2016

    9.2
    The staff was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff was great! Manori and Prema were very helpful. I went towards the end of April, so there weren't so many travelers. It was during Sinhala /Tamil new year, so many guests had the chance to celebrate with the family, and to try out local cuisine made especially for the holiday.

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2016

    7.9
    -The family is superfriendly(as almost everybody in Sri...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    -The hotel was still busy renovating.So it didn't feel totally finished at the time(03-2016)

    -The family is superfriendly(as almost everybody in Sri Lanka),but especially the daughter is very service-minded and has an answer to all your questions in excellent English -very clean place -short walk from Hiriketiya Beach -great saturday market around the corner(mainly food)

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location right on a secluded beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some things are still being finished, but it doesn't really detract from the hotel. wifi only in common areas

    Amazing location right on a secluded beach. we got a free upgrade to an ocean view room which was really nice. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    6.3
    The hotel is right on the beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not yet finished. We felt like staying on a buildingside. The garden is also not made yet. Nobody was around...if you have a question you have to search for somebody and wait ages!

    The hotel is right on the beautiful beach. Our room had a great balcony with seaview. The hotel will probably be very nice when it is finished!

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    7.5
    Direct access to beautiful beach, friendly staff, quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is still in construction, some basic equipment is missing, nothing much to do in dickwella except the wuwu temple & the beach of course (and big market).

    Direct access to beautiful beach, friendly staff, quiet, large room with view on the sea.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    10
    The staff are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is very quiet in the evenings, no other bars/places to eat close by. Not really a problem, but something to bear in mind

    The staff are fantastic. Spotlessly clean room with huge bed and fridge, incredible view from the balcony. Great homemade curry. Loved it!

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    8.8
    The view from the ocean view room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was very slow and temperamental - also only available in the restaurant and was turned off around 10.30pm.

    The view from the ocean view room was amazing. Very comfy beds, and very helpful staff. Right on the beach front, great location. Not far to walk to horseshoe bay.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    7.5
    Amazing to be right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of dogs around which were disgusting.

    Amazing to be right on the beach. Staff were kind and allowed us to change our reservation when we turned up a day early.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    10
    - great hotel, which is perfectly located on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - service in the restaurant could be a little bit quicker, but the food (especially the curries) is delicious

    - great hotel, which is perfectly located on the beach - the view from the restaurant is stunning - beaches are great. Check out the surf school, really cool - personal lovely - laundry service perfect

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    8.3
    The lovely English speaking girl who manages property and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The construction that is in process on a territory, is a bit messy. It would be nice if there is more green grass near the sea, to simplify walking without shoes.

    The lovely English speaking girl who manages property and helps with anything. Special thanks for organized trip to Udawalawe and transfer to airport. Food is also great here.

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2016

    10
    This family run hotel was a hit for our family (2 adults in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This family run hotel was a hit for our family (2 adults in their 40s and a 9 year old). We decided to book in the new building (8 rooms in it) directly by the beach for a bit more money. We felt like we had the big, clean beach to ourselves! During our 7 days on the beach we saw a herd of 14 cows, a sport day for the local school children, and the calm water swimming area for a group of monks. Very few tourists. If you like having people on the beach with you, there is a great little surfing beach where you can rent surf boards a beautiful 15 minute walk away. We did not eat much for breakfast so grabbed yogurt and some pastries from the grocery store down the road that we kept in the room fridge. The liquor store is across the street from the grocery store. The curry that is made at the restaurant by the mother was the best that we had during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka by far. It was so incredible that we had it for lunch and dinner during our stay(14 times!). It is made fresh so order it an hour in advance and go for a swim. The beach is great for body surfing. Try to bring a boogie board. Our favourite temple was found in this non touristic town just a quick tuk tuk ride away. A massive Buddha, an extremely interesting temple and the apparent Gates to Hell are quite the conversation piece! The family that runs this place is absolutely lovely. We felt very well taken care of and were sad to leave.

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    10
    We we been there vith three kids aged from 1 to 8years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Colder fanta :) sometimes

    We we been there vith three kids aged from 1 to 8years. New part of hotel is directly on the beach. Stuff is frendly. Nearby is big market and few banks to change money. On the beach is a lot of shells and on night many crabs-excellent for kids (and adults :))

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is located right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had some troubles of getting to the hotel, as the address on booking.com wasn't indicated correctly (hope this issue will be resolved soo

    The hotel is located right on the beach. The room has a glass wall with a fantastic ocean view and a balcony, where we enjoyed our late dinners. It is a very quiet and peaceful place. Ideal if you want to get away from stuffy busy city life. All the staff are super nice and helpful. The breakfasts are big and delicious.

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    7.9
    The staff are super welcoming and helpful - always available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light in the hall way was left on the whole evening, so made it difficult to get to sleep.

    The staff are super welcoming and helpful - always available. We received an upgrade, which was really nice. The food was incredibly good!

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2015

    7.1
    The beach in Dickwella has great potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Beach in Dickwella unfortunatly looks like a dump. Loads of garbage and waste from the fishermen. Almost no restaurants on the beach and the village was dirty an polluted. To bad.

    The beach in Dickwella has great potential. The only english speaking girl att the hotel was magnificent and serviceminded.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    8.8
    Friendly family owned place with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly family owned place with excellent service. Awesomeness with 2 king beds in each room.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: