Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Kandy District hotel reviews
  4. Kandy hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Earl's Regency Hotel

Reviews of Earl's Regency Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Earl's Regency Tennekumbura, 20000 Kandy, Sri Lanka

#68 of 220 hotels in Kandy

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1494 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.0
    Probably will not stay there unless I see improvements being made to the rooms and bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room and bathroom both looked tied. bathroom could use repairs window screens cleaned cracked tiles repaired . The room just looked tired and not allowing more than one key is crazy. After much discussion I was able to get a second.

    Restaurant staff and environment

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    An awesome stay that myself and the three children enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Should have facilities to make fresh fruit and vegetable juice for breakfast

    The breakfast and dinner was the best. The staff very friendly and responsive.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Staff is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is amazing. The food was good as well. Beautiful open area outside of the 2nd floor restaurant, with an amazing view of the mountain area. Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kandy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.1
    Good location for sightseeing Kandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is quite noisy, it is close to the city center so good for sightseeing. Bathrooms are little dated, need refreshing.

    Fantastic variety of food for breakfast, amazing view from the terrace. very friendly and helpful staff - we arrived at 10.00 am from the airport and we were offered early check in which was very convinient.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    6.7
    The room was a good size, comfortable, well equipped and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The common areas (particularly the main hotel) were not charming at all. The gym was functional but dated and there weren’t nearly enough sun beds by the pool. The property is some way out of Kandy. The breakfast buffet was an extortionate $30. The hotel management also wouldn’t let staff help you book any restaurants off the premises.

    The room was a good size, comfortable, well equipped and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.0
    Lovely hotel with a great swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't available at check in time confirmed by hotel. The hotel is also a little further from the city than expected but on the positive side, it's really quiet as a result!

    Lovely hotel with a great swimming pool. Great breakfast and we also had buffet dinner one night - really good value.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything. Little away from city centre but people who want serenity and quality of of stay should choose this.

    Location is fantastic. It is like nested in a paradise . In midst of greenery and mountains sprawling Earl,s regency is all about traditional charm. Rooms are big and comfy. Bathroom has Jacuzzi in luxury category room. Spa had reasonable priced treatments. Pool was big and appealing. Dinner buffet and breakfast had a big spread and tasty too. It is a great place for perfect family holiday.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.0
    We had a enjoyable time and it’s a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the room was nice but expected a stocked mini bar and somewhat brighter room as it was dark.I felt for the price we paid the room could have been a bit nicer. The dinner service in the main restaurant where the breakfast was served was okay.One if the wine glasses was dirty and we asked for a clean one and the waiter was slow to return.

    Setting was lovely,great facilities and we really enjoyed the New Years banquet and fire works. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    2.9
    Poor value for money, and not suited for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travel frequently and I rarely write negative reviews (this is my first), but had a poor experience at the Earl's Regency. With traffic, it was too far from Kandy, and the rooms, facilities (and pool) were a little grim and poorly lit for the kids, despite being a "luxury" hotel and choosing one of their better rooms. I'd say families with kids are very likely to be disappointed, as we and the kids were. Definitely our worst experience in Sri Lanka

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    6.7
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been a bit cleaner. Because of the traffic in Kandy, can take 30 minutes to reach Kandy city centre by car.

    Good enough for our 3 night stay but it is definitely not international 5 star standard. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator was a bit dirty. The same applies to a tableware/cutlery (sticky).

    Hotel/pool/room are nice, beautiful view, caring staff. In fact, snack bar menu made us smile. Have never seen such a rich and fulfilling snack menu (salads, pasta...)👍🏻. Guess, the Indian buffet was good, but tough for those, who can't eat spicy food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.5
    Peaceful, it is a little out of Kandy city centre though so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit characterless, it could have so much more. A lot of weddings happening while we there which can take over the hotel.

    Peaceful, it is a little out of Kandy city centre though so be prepared for that.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    The resort had a beautiful green surrounding, and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pricing was complex. We mistakenly ordered a room with single occupancy, and then they told us at reception we have to pay an additional $70 per night for the extra person. I thought this type of pricing was in the old days.

    The resort had a beautiful green surrounding, and the room had a nice balcony.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, food authentic and plenty choice, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, food authentic and plenty choice, beautiful grounds with well kept gardens and swimming pool. Good base for visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya. Special thanks to our driver Sumit

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn’t as good as we had had elsewhere but can’t speak for dinner as we ate out. Our thoughts may be down to the fact that the staff at breakfast at the stations were a little on the moody side. Other than than that though so stay was great!

    Beautiful views from balcony. Very pretty hotel with a lovely outside walkway. Great pool and very big, beautifully put together rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Good trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sceneries! Nature and botanical gardens.

    We loved the locals so much. For visitors, I would say to be afraid of people's questions about your country and your job. They are just starting a conversation!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Hotel, Poor Shopping Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the two night stay was marred by the fact that the ín-house' jewellery shop tried to rip us off. We spent around an hour and a half selecting the Blue Sapphire we wanted to take home as a gift and a reminder of our stay in Sri Lanka, we picked a flawless stone at a reasonable price and asked for it to be mounted in a necklace clasp. The jeweller told us this would be done and would be ready for colection later that evening. Upon returning to collect the stone we found that the stone that had been set had a massive silk line through it, and was not the stone we selected. We asked for the reason why this had happened and were given excuse after excuse, we then pushed for a refund and the excuses kept coming. In the end the jeweller decided to provide a stone of a better quality and mounted as requested. Word of Warning!!! Don't buy from this shop, the guy is a con artist and a crook...if we hadn't have spotted the imperfection then the Sapphire would not be worth a penny...

    The hotel was really nice and the staff were amazing. The staff and hotel management went above and beyond for us due to this being our honeymoon. The hotel upgraded our room and brought us a congratulations cake and a bottle of red wine, very thoughtful of them. We would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the Kandy vicinity.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bed mattress was quite hard

    On our trip around Sri Lanka, this was for me the highlight. We used a spa treatment, restaurant, our room,... everything was just perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    3.8
    The location was good however the property is not maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was good however the property is not maintained, very unhygienic with animals all around, room with mosquitoes, buffet with red ants. Horrible experience we had exit the property in one day, no option of cancellation was another difficult

    The location was good however the property is not maintained, very unhygienic with animals all around, room with mosquitoes, buffet with red ants. Horrible experience we had exit the property in one day, no option of cancellation was another difficult

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing facilities, spacious rooms and excellent front desk staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did notice a little arrogance from the restaurant staff. They weren't very interested in assisting us in what we were looking for or even giving us options.

    we absolutely loved the property. It was a great experience. The facilities were also amazing. The front desk staff was very polite and courteous. Will definitely come back again during our next visit to Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    A lovely property with fabulous happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location ment you could not walk to shops or restaurant but that was fine with us as it is easy to get transport

    A lovely property with fabulous happy staff. Views were amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    The view from room and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t have much interaction with the staff the lobby and rooms are too far and quite a walk no short cut.

    The view from room and location. Pool was clean and we enjoyed the stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    Great start but let down by restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was poor. We had booked half board and were told this was buffet. It was very poor with limited choice. Surprisingly not even a meat or fish curry. We didn’t travel to Sri Lanka to eat Shepherds Pie. Dress code in restaurant was not adhered too and not controlled by staff.

    The reception staff were excellent and we had very high expectations because of this. We received a wonderful welcome

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    A beautify hotel just outside Kandy with staff who could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautify hotel just outside Kandy with staff who could not have done more to improve our visit. Their attention to customer care was exceptional, even when the hotel was very busy and they had both The England and Sri Lanka cricket teams staying.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms are very outdated. Breakfast and dinner options were badly (if at all labelled) - not ok for allergy sufferers. Very long walk from reception to many rooms.

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    A rexaling stay where all your needs are catered for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful setting , with a great pool . Happy to have our creature comforts for a few days Staff were very helpfull & friendly , nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.6
    room, food, staff, grounds, views were all amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hard to fault the hotel and the bar and restaurant staff. however beware there is an undercurrent, obviously from senior management to try and make as much money as possible . on arrival we were asked 3 times if we wanted to pay extra to upgrade to a better room , we declined and were lead to a room with a view of barbed wire fencing ( this was either unfortunate or a blatent attempt to get us to ask for another room) also the hotel in house taxis are a complete rip off and they will try to make it very difficult to use the local taxis . still a great place to stay but be aware

    room, food, staff, grounds, views were all amazing . would definitely go back

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing experience all together. The hotel upgraded our room to a executive suite upon check in, which came as a surprise as we came to the hotel on a offer. Staff was kind and attentive. And the buffet was small but definitely fulfilling!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Great hotel & awesome stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to say that I don't like.

    The hotel was on a great location. Very quiet and calm. Nice staff but a little awkward. Everyone in the front desk were stearing at me that was awkward.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    Nothing special - well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dark and dimly lit room and bathroom. The room felt a bit cramped with furniture and was difficult to move around in. Restaurant staff and chefs struggled to keep up when big groups arrived which made the dining experience feel more like a cafeteria. We decided to eat in our room on the 2nd night and the food was actually fantastic.

    Seemed to be well located for our 2 days in Kandy. The grounds of the property were beautifully maintained. I'm sure the views would be great from most rooms on the 4th floor, but ours was not blocked fully by a large palm tree

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Absolute Perfection! A definite re-visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every single detail of this hotel was absolutely perfect! From the security, doorman, staff and even the gardeners were absolutely polite and every single person treated with a smile. This was one of the best hotels that I have stayed at. Based at a beautiful location, with absolutely amazing staff, very good food and high quality logistical arrangements.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    The hotel exceeded my expectation it was one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel exceeded my expectation it was one of the best hotel i ever been to. We got an upgrade to a suite which had the most amazing view. The staff is so friendly and helpful The manager is very respectful and helpful i got injured while I was on a trip and i asked for a doctor he came by himself and checked on me. The breakfast view is breathtaking and the buffet have a lot of variety And one last thing, they have the best banana split i ever tasted in my life.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    Amazing swimming pool buffet breakfast and dinner great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony in hotel room a bit small

    Amazing swimming pool buffet breakfast and dinner great location great views amazing staff could not not do enough for you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    It was a good stay. We had to order dinner, but would be grate if half board available for bookings.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems poor quality of swimming pool water, because after get out of the pool skin was looked darkening. Can have more variety of meals in menu if we order separately for dinner.

    Liked the calm environment, surrounded with trees and flower garden. Very comfort room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.6
    Staff, room, views and food were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening entertainment in mount batten bar was good but was extremely loud which made it difficult to enjoy or talk. It meant that the space wasn't really used. I think I only saw one or two couples there at a time and its a really nice area

    Staff, room, views and food were great. We loved our stay here and would have stayed longer if we didn't have plans to move on to Ella.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    6.3
    Just a night....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s neither tea/coffee tray nor complimentary snacks/fruits in the room. Customer service does need improvement.

    Room was spacious and well lit. The choice of shower and bathtub was indeed welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    I booked the hotel for my mom and dad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked the hotel for my mom and dad. I would like to thank each and everyone for making there stay really enjoyable on behalf of them. The food and drinks, rooms, facilities everything has been really awsome and they are impressed with everything. Specially as it was my mother’s birthday just with one information Mr. Ranjith, arranged a surprise cake and all the staff came along with the cake to wish her. So that moment was really memorable for each of us and it added an extra value to my parent’s stay!!! All the staff have been incredible but unfortunately we cannot remember their names except Mr. Ranjith Subasinghe. Once again thank you all for making my parent’s stay a precious memory which will last for a lifetime!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have made the booking few days before and the transaction wasn't received by the hotel at the same day.

    Facilities of the room is excellent. Very friendly staff. Presentation and the taste of the foods were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.6
    Overall nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff try to get you in their shop, which can be a bit annoying when you’re in a hotel. In general the staff was really friendly.

    Overall nice hotel. Very good food!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel( recommended to everyone)
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None except the comment about restaurant staff. If you order anything in the restaurant, you have to remind them more than 2 times unfortunately.

    Everything was organized. Since I reached there the reception staff ( do not remember his name) was so friendly. Everyone was smiling except restaurant staff. It has excellent gym and pool. Nice view to the green mountains. I do not believe this hotel got 8.5 in booking review. It should be at least 8.8 comparing to other hotels around the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    What’s not to love? Quiet location in the hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    What’s not to love? Quiet location in the hills. Gorgeous outside pool. Bed was amazingly comfortable, and the room was enormous. Air con in the room was quiet. The food was great, and as a gluten-intolerant person I was very well looked after. The staff were fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs renovation. The king bed is actually 2 connected twin beds which may be inconvenient for some. - The hotel insisted that i have two reservations which one of them was actually canceled 10 days ago and the hotel charged me the two bookings but when they saw the cancellation mail they told me they will cancel the other reservation and get my money back, that was ok for me but may be annoying for others especially for those who didn’t have the cancellation mail

    Staff The pool Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Bed was very comfortable, Staff were very friendly, Both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curries would have been better with little more spices, specially the chicken curry. Outside the door area of our room (#216) could have been better with few green plants.

    Bed was very comfortable, Staff were very friendly, Both Buffets were very good & Night Buffet was exceptionally well presented. Entries & Pastries were eye catching & Chefs, You Guys are World Class !!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.7
    Stay at Kandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No electricity all night and they blamed it on the government. Manager had no clue why there was no power in our room. Nobody bothered to come and check. Our trip was ruined since we had no sleep.

    Rooms are very nice with balcony overlooking the pool and valley. Breakfast had good spread from local to continental...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    A comfortable place to stay with everything you would expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A comfortable place to stay with everything you would expect from the room. Vast array of extras in the bathroom. Bathtub and shower cubicle. Generous sized room with a good bed and pillows. Perfect for a good nights sleep. Excellent breakfast buffet with good service. Efficient, clean and great service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.1
    On check in we were given coupons for "Free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check in we were given coupons for "Free Cocktails" at a bar. When we tried to encase them .. the staff at the bar did not know anything about the offer and insisted we had to pay. So we walked away and went in for dinner. At dinner they had a promotion "Free Mocktails" and we had one each. I asked for another and found that they billed me for it. TERRIBLE GUEST INTERNAL COMMUNICATION AND MISLEADING PROMOTIONS

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was too cold, even as the sun was warm around noon time. The TV lost signal a few times.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and ready to help. The quality of the food was excellent. The WiFi was well connected everywhere. The hotel is in a beautiful location. Room was spacious with great views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure to check with them about the wedding ceremonies they have, before you book your stay. Because if there is a wedding ceremony, they will give their main buffet area on the 2nd floor for the wedding and you will have to dine in a small area on the 3rd floor, which has less variety (since the area is small, they don't have space to place all the food stations) of food.

    Very nice five-star hotel situated in Kandy. You need to go about 5km from Kandy towards Thennekumbura. Facilities are all good. Everything you expect from a five-star hotel is there. Nicely maintained swimming pool, a small pool bar, a gymnasium, and a Spa is available. The buffet is above average, but not the best. You will not find the best variety of food, but what you get is really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.7
    Honeymooners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom outdated and very dark. Electric kept cutting off. Small balcony. Mini bar selection wasn't so good. The views once in the hotel wasn't good.

    Stayed here 2 nights. Overall nice place. Big hotel. Hotel restaurant was good, great selection of foods. Meat and chicken here was halal. Nice outdoor garden area to eat at. They had shisha too. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We like everything. Dinner was a bit expensive, but reasonable compared to what you're getting.

    The views! Amazing view to all the mountain that surrounded Kandy. Also, the place is top notch, great facilities, great room, great food, great pool, great service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s not within walking distance of everything so you have to get tuk tuks or taxis (but I think a lot of Kandy accommodation is quite spread out like this)

    We stayed there for one night and when the staff checked us in they realised it was my birthday so they upgraded us without us asking. The room was lovely with a jacuzzi bath and balcony, and they even surprised me with a chocolate birthday cake! Everything was spotless, the staff were very attentive and the pool has gorgeous views of the hills - would highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent food, hospitable staff, clean rooms, good view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far from city centre

    Excellent food, hospitable staff, clean rooms, good view, clean bathrooms, nice buffet breakfast... Overall highly recommended; comfortable stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were in such a hurry to get our luggage out of the car they dropped our bags on the floor, we went to complain and they moved our room. however they moved us to a room that wasn't prepared at all no towels or toilettes, when we asked for these we had to ask for them twice before we got anything. The hairdyer in our room barely worked but when we asked for a different one they just told us they hadn't got another one, i can't believe in that size of hotel they don't have a single spare hairdryer.

    Overall the hotel wasn't bad, but little things let them down. The pool is nice and the room was clean, there was also lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.8
    nice place to stay if u wana have a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wash room. The washroom tub spoiled entire mood. water was leaking and we'll tub was staying inside. it was like something.

    Staffs was friendly, location was good.meals was awesome and excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing really to dislike about this hotel. Although the views arnt as good in real life as the pictures. There are also massive trees blocking the view from most rooms.

    The rooms and pools are so lovely! The bed was a bit hard though. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    8.3
    Outstanding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was expensive. Even if it was asking about a taxi service the hotel provided, very over priced but the clientele probably would pay.

    Loved the style of the hotel, facilities and view from the room. Probably one of the best breakfasts I’ve had at a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    I've meet a great stuff, I tasted delicious food and clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing let me doesn't like it

    It's a wonderful hotel, everything you need you can have in the hotel, such as a good gym with facilities, the swimming pool, the atmosphere, also the food is REALLY REALLY REALLY DELICIOUS. I would stay longer than I did, I spent three days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    4.6
    The staff were attentive and did their best to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and needs decent renovation. Only one restaurant was operational so had no choice but to eat there. The bar was closed due to festival. The hotel felt more like a hospital rather than a hotel. There was nothing for us to do in the evening. It would have been great if the bars were open and had more than 3 speciality restaurants. Need evening activities in the hotel.

    The staff were attentive and did their best to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed a secret bar which was open inside the hotel as all bars were closed due to festival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.3
    Expensive and impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I've stayed in lots of five star hotels and I just don't get that from the rooms of this hotel . The entrance is lovely and you have a beautiful walk past the pool to your room then it's a very standard old looking room . A fifteen mins tuk tuk to kandy. Spa and dinner pricey . Expensive and impersonal, no charm

    Staff are lovely . Pool is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.9
    The hall and restaurant are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are old and small. We had the Deluxe room which I feel is smaller than what’s written on Booking. Not confortable at all. Once we came back at 1pm and the room wasn’t done. We had to wait 1 hour for someone to come up and clean it.

    The hall and restaurant are beautiful. All the staff is extremely nice, polite and helpful. The food is really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    4.2
    The hotel doesn’t meet the expectations and you don’t get the value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be careful, the hotel price doesn’t include the 30% service charge. Hotel room pictures look nothing like the reality. Super old (even smell stale) rooms with poor quality beds and bedsheets. You can literally hear the next door neighbors. The food at the buffet (and food in general) was terrible, the worst we had so far in Sri Lanka. The price was much higher than quality served and in general across other establishements. The waiters didn’t inform us that soft drinks ( water, juice and etc.) are not included in the price, and therefore our bill was extremely high due to ordering soft beverages (non-alcoholic), whilst you would expect that the fee you are paying would cover it. The photos of the location on booking.com are amazing but doesn’t reflect reality. They told us we have a room with a beautiful view which ended up to be a view to the main entrance parking and the swimming pool (which in real life doesn’t look as good as online) To sum up, we travel a lot and we are not usually picky, but this experience left such a mark, that we couldn’t not share our review

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.1
    no good for a 5-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old-fashioned hotel. I booked a deluxe room and the room had many old or broken pieces: from disused or chipped bathroom tiles, from dirty bathroom products (brownish sticky stuff) and essential (only one for). For to be a 5-star hotel, every detail should be more attentive. Restaurant service (if you do not choose the buffet) was very small space, next to the bar .. it seems to eat at the bar. when I went out with my family every night, there was a wedding that took up most of the second floor. in fact, the buffet service had been moved to the meeting room. also the buffet with little choice, much of this on Indian taste. no international cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.8
    It was a leisurely stay with good food and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bakes and desserts in the buffet could've been better

    The staff was very friendly and courteous. Special mention for Tanveer who helped with the check-in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    6.7
    1.A very beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. In the restaurant everything is very dirty: tables, napkins, the plates are washed only from one side, sticky forks 🍴 2. A big rotation of the personnel courses satisfactory service. 3. They don’t care about repeat clients 4. Grey towels

    1.A very beautiful place. The hotel is situated on the rock with an incredible view to the river and other rock. 2.The garden is very nice. 3. The food is tasty, Indian specialties a better than srilankian ones

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.8
    Everything good but one thing got me upset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shisha at Far Pavilion resturant was real bad. It took 30 minutes to prepare. When it arrived, i realised it was filled with too much water which ended up in the hose. I asked for someone to fix it but nobody seem to know how to fix so I had to do everything myself. I adjusted the water and asked for a hose replacement. By the time I started enjoying the Shisha, charcoal already died. I asked for more charcoal but manger said you have to pay!!!!! How inconsiderable and greedy!! Either make it right or not waste my money. I paid for this joke 2000 rupees !!!

    Everything good but one thing got me upset

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities of our room seem a bit old. We encounter some problem with electricity of room, which was fixed after all by the hotel staff

    The hotel itself and the view from the hotel is beautiful. They offer a buffet dinner with good selection of food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    4.2
    Rooms like a grubby three-star motel. Think again about staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel claims to be a luxury five-star property offering guests the chance to, 'Live like royalty at the Earl’s Regency – a premier five star getaway among luxury hotels Sri Lanka’ (from their website). In our experience, and having now stayed in a dozen top properties in Sri Lanka, this place is no better than a grubby three-star motel. The attached photos show it all. The entrance doors to the rooms were so badly maintained as to look like derelict housing. The rooms themselves were tired and worn, with poorly maintained fittings: wardrobe doors creaked loudly and did not close properly; the curtains were brown with age; the hotel information book soiled with food; there were cobwebs and dust everywhere. In our son’s room, the bedding was also soiled with food and had to be changed. The bathrooms were similarly poor with chipped sinks and mouldy, limescale-damaged fittings. Complaints were not taken seriously by the staff and they simply cut us off when we called on two occasions. On the second night, we were promised a much better room; in fact, there was little difference from the first. When we spoke to the manager, we were asked to send all our points to him by e-mail so that he could follow them up with his management. Over a week later, we had to prompt him for a response, but received a reply which reads: 'I have deeply investigate your unhappy experience and I apologize for that'. Think twice about going here: you can find somewhere much better for the same money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything. We went to the pool and we ordered something to eat; they were busy in the kitchen so our lunch had a little delay and they offered us fries potatoes for the inconvenience. The room was clean, huge and the bed so comfortable. The view is amazing, just ask for high floor, otherwise you’ll see just the pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool water could have been temperature controlled as it was colder than our liking.

    We liked the room as we were upgraded to an executive room that had outdoor jacuzzi which we didn't use! Unfortunately! Food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    The service is excellent with a very courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent

    The service is excellent with a very courteous staff. The room we stayed was superb with a jacuzzi in the room overlooking the beautiful view of the place while taking a dip. The place is heavenly and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was loud, particularly each night at 3am, and very dated. The electricity also cut out repeatedly. We stayed in 7 hotels during our trip to Sri Lanka and this was by far the worst.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    7.1
    Good spot in Kandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was hot when we arrived as air conditioning had not been switched on. Workmen started maintenance on next door room around 9am which was disturbibg

    The pool was great, food was of great variety and good quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    2.5
    We got upgraded on arrival (after complaining that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty, not well maintained, food was mediocre at best. Not value for money!

    We got upgraded on arrival (after complaining that the property did not give us a room with a nice view as agreed when booked).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    2.9
    The hotel had a really unpleasant atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had a really unpleasant atmosphere. The staff at reception we’re especially unhelpful and dismissive and when we enquiries about prices if the hotel taxi it seemed they were making prices up on the spot as these were inconsistent and inflated. On arrival they informed us there was an ‘Indian’ restaurant option but this was closed and undergoing refurbishment and the only dining option was a soulless overlit buffet - which had all the feel of a depressing canteen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Treats hotel guests as 2nd class guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually a nice hotel with large rooms and fantastic food served in a large dinner room and a beautiful garden. However, due to an opulent wedding, the hotel guests were crammed in a small room for breakfast. I found this a impudence. I can't recommend a hotel that treats hotel guests as 2nd class guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Earl's Regency Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: