Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Badulla District B&B and inn reviews
  4. Ella B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Ella White Elephant

Reviews of Ella White Elephant

Wemullehena Road Morning Dew Road, 90090 Ella, Sri Lanka

#175 of 305 B&Bs and inns in Ella

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 125 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.9
    Despite all of the above I really enjoyed my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could have done with a deep clean, the tiles were a little dirty. The walls in the bathroom and bedroom were stained in places. I didn't like that your bedroom door opened to a road that people, dogs, cars went along at any given moment, it felt a little unsafe (although wasn't at all) and I got over that pretty quickly. Whilst it is out of town you can still hear the music and cars from the street, much quieter than if you were staying in town, but still you can hear it when trying to sleep, maybe bring ear buds if noise stops you sleeping. New towels daily would be helpful as nothing dries properly due to the climate. Or a heated towel rail or a heated in the room (it does get cold at night)

    Despite all of the above I really enjoyed my stay here. All my dislikes were small and technicalities, changes would have made it an amazing stay but actually it was really good. The owner was lovely and helpful. He organised us a car to go to our next destination at a good price. Breakfast was amazing, home cooked and massive and the best breakfast I had in Sri Lanka. On our second night our shower broke and he transferred us to the room next door (that was actually nicer than our current one) and was very apologetic. We did the cooking class at the property which was also amazing and well worth it. The property was a short walk from the main street (maybe 5 minutes) and the walk back was pretty steep but seeing as everything you do in ella is hiking up steep hills this wasn't an issue for us.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    cosy place 5 mins up a hill in Ella
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    better lighting in the bedroom for reading

    welcoming and very helpful host. freshly cooked tasty breakfast gorgeous view from the hilltop breakfast terrace

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great staff with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I was allocated to had a funky smell and the photo displayed were not relevant to the one I had. Those are the new rooms that will be available in a few weeks.

    The staff and the breakfast are the real added value here. Even though the room was as nice as expected, the breakfast and the staff made my stay totally worth it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Every thing was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every thing was great. And the guys Shan and Susanta was absolutely helpful and so welcoming. The fairwell was so overwhelming and Shan came to drop us to Railway Station.Both the guys really helped us a lotzzz in arranging scooter and so many things.This is the nice hotel to stay in Ella Town more safe and secure with everything.A big thanks to Shan and Susanta and will be right back very soon in our home away home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very nice place, the staff was really helpful and kind. The breakfast was amazing, we had a great time. We would recommend this place without doubt.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Really lovely guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I spent only one night in Ella to recover from the long train ride from Kandy (which is unmissable) but if I knew how well I would feel in this guesthouse I would have planned to stay an extra day. Shane, the owner, is a super smiling entrepreneur guy passionate about hospitality and does that to perfection! Homemade food was delicious and then I learned he also runs cookery classes. I couldn’t recommend this place more, feels like home, very clean and with a lovely view from the balconies. Thank you so much Shane & friends!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Best stay at this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our favorite places we've stayed at in Sri Lanka. The big reason to book here are definitely the hosts. They made us feel at home instantly and even cooked a great, fresh, homemade lunch for us. The breakfast is incredible as well! Super helpful! Another plus is that it is located in the center, but not in the main street. So perfect :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very dark and the shower was the worst that we have seen in our trip. We also struggled with te fact they only had one small blacket to share between two.

    Lovely staff. They were easy to talk to and gave us lots of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is still partly under construction at the moment. Should be done within a few weeks.

    Rather new hotel just in Ella town centre. We loved the friendly staff making your stay a blast. Breakfast is huge and delicious! Rooms are decent and clean. Bathroom is as can be expected in other accomodations in Sri Lanka. Nothing fancy, but at least a warm shower. Value for money is good. Go here and you won’t be dissapointed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would really recommend this place! The owners were super friendly and helpfull!! Rooms are very clean, beds are good and breakfast is good as well. We rented a scooter here, which was in a very good condition for a great price. The location is on walking distance to the centre of Ella.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a sign at the bottom of the hill would make it easier to find when you first arrive!

    Great location right next to the train stations and just a 5 minute walk into the town centre. Room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was the best we've had in Sri Lanka (so much food)! But best of all, the staff were really friendly and always willing to help. Would definitely reccomend for anyone staying in Ella.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Basic and great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need a little updating which Shane is in the process of doing. And there is no AC (which you're told in the description so it's just more to remind you!)

    Even though the hotel is going through some renovations, it was nice to stay there. I decided to go for a slightly cheaper hotel and made a wonderful friend in Shane. He went out of his way to help me find a cooking class, make sure my room was okay, showed me how to work the shower, and even took me to the train station in the morning. Because I couldn't stay from breakfast, he bought me some take away breakfast on the way!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs to deal with the very damp walls in our room, not every one will tolerate this, a shame the hotel is still being built. Needs a sign at the bottom of the road ,

    Great breakfast , at our time requested, nicely cooked,ate out side our room, great location, very helpful hosts, who really are trying to make their venture a success

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    our best night in Sri Lanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay with Shen longer!

    Shen is an amazing host, we felt instantly welcomed. Location is perfect for all travel and great food, super close. Bonus great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    2.5
    We can not recommend this property. The other negative reviews here are true!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room at Ella White Elephant for 2 nights due to the positive reviews at booking.com. The Deluxe Double Room with Balcony showed 37 facilities on the booking.com website wherefrom the following 19 were missing: Kitchenette,Balcony,Refrigerator,Slippers,Kitchen,Additional Toilet,Interconnected room(s) available,Alarm clock,Dining area,Kitchenware,Mosquito net,Oven,Toaster,Landmark view,Dining table,Toilet with grab rails,Fruits,Wine glasses,Body soap. When we paid at the check-out we told the manager that many offered facilities are not available in the room and that he should correct his offer at booking.com. He told us a story that he had some trouble with the electricity and had to remove all the missing equipment out of the room. Because there are only 3 sockets in the whole room wherefrom one was blocked by a fan, one by a mosquito repellent and the third was behind a sofa this sounded very unlikely. We told him that this then doesn’t justify the price if the facilities are not available. He agreed with a discount of $5 per night. We told him that if he doesn’t correct his room facility options on booking.com we will write it in our review after our stay to help other guests in their decision. He said with a smirk that we could do that. So we paid the $80 cash as agreed and left the place with our taxi. When we had an internet connection again, we got an email from booking.com (sent exactly after we checked out): "Ella White Elephant notified us that you didn’t check-in on 2018-03-25. Could you kindly confirm?" We replied that we stayed at the property and added that we could proof that by our taxi driver. This was unbelievable and fraud from the manager/owner of the Ella White Elephant. This person tried to avoid a bad review (when you don’t show up you are not able to write a review) and he probalbly wanted the “no show” charge of one night’s rate. It took some time to get the booking status reset by booking.

    Short distance to the railway station and town centre but the property was a building site and after checkout the manager set our booking on "no show" to avoid a true review and probably to get the "no show" charge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    6.7
    Nice place close enough to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep hill to negotiate to get to town or train station.

    Nice little place, only 2 rooms. Acceptable place close to town and train station. The owner got up early to prepare breakfast for us as we caught the early train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.3
    Hospitality and nice overview over Ella from the breakfast terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the same room as it's sold in the pictures. The green rooms are at the down part villa. Anyways you need to climb up the hill from Matey Hut to reach the place on top. A bit confusing location on Google Maps as small street is not that accurate.

    Freshly made breakfast from the host and very nice view from the terrace. Very nice host, we were taken by car as we arrived late and didn't have to climb more to reach the house on top of the hill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    5.4
    Very bad value for the price. Kingdom of mold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mold, mold, mold! Disgusting walls and smell. The room amenities are new, the bed is new, the bathroom is new-ish, but... everything is half broken, extremely moldy and just not appealing at all. The linens weren‘t changed before our arrival. We asked for a new blanket, it did not look & smell clean either. It was quite cold in the night - a thin blanket sure wasn’t enough to keep us warm.

    Guys were friendly. The least they could do. Breakfast were very good Located 5 min from the main street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great owners, amazing breakfast, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two guys who run the place (brothers?) are absolutely great, friendly, helpful. They cooked us an amazing breakfast: a mix of Sri Lankan, continental and full breakfast. Delicious! The rooms (they have only two rooms) are nice and clean, you reach the city center in just a five minute walk. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.6
    Best place so far in Sri Lanka!:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - slight mould smell in room ( as in many places in Sri Lanka)

    -Nice staff -Good English -Excellent breakfast, by far the best we had in Sri Lanka ( lots of fruit, home made Sri Lankan flat bread, home made Sri Lankan pancake rolls, banana lassi, tea with milk, toasts with jam and butter and fried eggs) -Great view from restaurant -The rooms looked excellent just like in the pictures

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    I absolutely love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    He needs to fix the bathroom a bit so that the water flows away a bit more easy

    I absolutely love this place. The owner wasn't there but the guy that replaced him was an absolute great host. Delicious breakfast, teaches how to make a great Sri Lankan curry, gives tips and makes you feel so at home. Such a kind and generous guy. The room is big and spacious and the bed slept amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    7.9
    Basic facilities but more than made up for by the amazing staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wasn’t very powerful.

    The owners are amazing, really accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is fantastic and is worth staying at White Elephant alone! We did a cookery class with the owners which was great and food was incredible!! Great location, close to the town and station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, super friendly and helpful hosts!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paul can't handle his Arrack!😂

    Great location for seeing everything in Ella! The hosts were really helpful and welcoming, both really nice lads aswell as their dog Blackie! They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Made us feel very at home, we even brought in the New Year with them at a local bar and then back at their place. Would definitely recommend. We will be back in the future! Thanks again for a great stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Great price, perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect.

    Everything was great here. We booked it at last minute as our booking we had for months had a road washed out to get to it and they didnt let us know as they didnt want to loose a booking. There are basically just 2 rooms here. Manager was the only one on duty day and night and was excellent. He cooked us a wonderful breakfast. This location is a very easy walk from the train station and close to the main businesses on the main street of Ella. The last 600 feet or so though is up a hill. I would be very happy to stay there again. After seeing so many properties so hard to get to, do yourself a favor and stay close in to services unless you like isolation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Well located, only minutes walking to town. Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not a hotel but 3 rooms build on the hill. No AC.

    Good breakfast and clean rooms. The staff helped us with information on what to do and at the end they drove us to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was the best one in Sri Lanka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not much privacy as the terrace is shared with the other visitors and the owner.

    The breakfast was the best one in Sri Lanka. The owner is very kind!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.9
    The stay was fantastic and so where the hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stay was fantastic and so where the hosts! Two boys own this homestay and they are excellent at service. everything we needed was provided within time and it was lovely to indulge in great hospitality and fantastic views! I highly recommend this homestay for nice warm getaway to the breathtaking Ella! And did i mention the massive breakfast to kick start a perfect day?!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    7.9
    A little expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The real facilities are quite different from the photos they put on the booking. It is in the Mid-level, the view is not attractive.

    The owners are kind. The room is quite big and comfortable. Very close to railway station and town. If you need to go to the town frequently, it will be your good choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.8
    A great couple of nights happily spent here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a mozzie net but we found it easier to move the bed away from the wall for best use.

    We booked the 2 rooms currently available for our family. Large sliding French windows open onto a terrace where you can sit and enjoy the view and eat what were the best breakfasts we have eaten so far, filled pancakes, homemade roti with butter and wood apple jam, eggs, toast, banana smoothie. The owner runs a cookery class to explain the delights of Sri Lankan curry & rice. Helpful and accommodating and a good laugh. This is budget accommodation but great value in this category and I don't think you would leave here without a warm glow from how attentively you have been looked after.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hospitality we received at the white elephant was exceptional, great new spacious rooms and the breakfast was delicious. It is an up and coming property in a good location with an easy walk to the main street and railway station, with amazing views. Couldnt be happier with our choice to stay! Would definitely recommend!- Rich & Sophie

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    6.3
    A nice place with great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit overpriced for what you get. Not a great bathroom, too small so everything got wet when you took a shower. Sink in the bathroom was loose, hopefully that is now fixed! Lack of proper sheets on the bed. We had to ask for a sheet to sleep under. Not the quietest location, music could be heard from the bars in town.

    Very friendly and helpful guys running the place. Always trying to help and happy to drive us to the station when we left. Good breakfast but a bit of variety from day to day would be a good improvement. Decent size room but could do with more furniture

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place in Ella!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice place in Ella! The room was very big and comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the wifi super fast! The guys running the place were very friendly and made sure we had the best time in Ella. They even taught us how to make a proper Sri Lankan rice and curry! Really recommend this place, would definitely come back. Thank you guys for an awesome stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Great place with very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was ok

    Good location. Close to main street and but far enogh for music to bother you. Great staff! Very friendly and willing to help! Nice view from the terrace! Fair price for a pleasant stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay in Ella
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is really quiet and family friendly. We traveled with our 1 year old baby and we found every our request satisfied by Shan, who is a very attentive owner. Extra blanket, kitchen and fridge use, laundry and more. The place is clean and situated in the forest but yet very close to the main road. The atmosphere is really relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    3.3
    Better value elsewhere in Ella
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    White elephant was a terrible stay for us. It took a long time to find the property and no one would answer the telephone provided. Once we found it, we realised that it's just two bedrooms and some bloke who runs it on behalf of his employer. The bathroom smelled of drains, barely any furniture and it was cold and clinical. We went straight out for dinner as it was so grim. We passed so many delightful other places, we couldn't believe we had wasted our money. Came back that evening to find an ashtray full of cigarette butts on the ground straight outside our door. We cancelled our third night and left Ella early. Was certainly by far the worst place we stayed in Sri Lanka.

    Close to Ella main drag

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    10
    The room was spacious and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. What made the stay so special was the hospitality of the owners. They were both brilliant nothing was too much trouble. My boys loved the stay and said it was the best hotel ever!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    10
    Friendly & Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Shane made the best rice and curry in town, more like home made. rooms were tidy and neat. They made my stay comfortable and enjoyable.it's my second time staying at white elephant,best place overall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Perfect place to be in Ella
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The boys running this place are absolutely friendly and good company. After the first day we immediately decided to stay two more days because of them. The girls in the groupe felt especially safe. If offered some company by going to waterfalls, cooking or other activities definitely join them :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    5.4
    Cheap, but noisy & dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was very noisy - there was lots of noise from vehicles in the driveway & also from the main road below during the night, then during the day it was impossible to nap because of the voices of the hosts & other guests; The room felt like it hadn't been cleaned very well - the toilet smelt of old urine (so bad that I ended up cleaning it myself!), there was rubbish from previous guests still in the bathroom, & the floor left your feet feeling dirty

    The two guys running the joint were very attentive and lovely; the place is in a great location - you can walk to the main strip in 3mins; compared to the price of other places in Ella it's quite cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, nice room and good breakfast but weather has a big effect on comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very humid, and gets hotter than the outside air temperature for some reason. The weather was hot when we were there and with no fan we found it very difficult to sleep. Opening doors improve it but as the rooms are on the ground floor you could not sleep with them open. Very little soundproofing, not an issue in relation to noise from the town but can hear everything in the adjacent room and outside. Overall would happily stay here in mild weather but would not recommend when it is hot.

    Very friendly hosts who have responded to feedback on this site with the introduction of storage for clothes. Excellent location 2 mins from the railway station and all the town's restaurants, however not on the main road so relatively peaceful. Can walk to Ella Rock and Little Adam's Peak from the property. Large bedroom and bathroom and good breakfast whenever we wanted it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    10
    Elephantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are new and very clean. Guys who run the place are so funny and helpful. We get huge and delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Unbelievable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing of note. Elderly people may find the 50m steep lane hard work.

    Sheik and his friends were absolutely brilliant from start to finish. The rooms were spotlessly clean, Sheik was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was willing to spend as long as required to help us, but likewise kept his distance when we were relaxing. The breakfast was huge, fried egg on toast, fruit, Sri Lankan pancakes, jam, butter and tea. The room was massive, the bed was comfy and the place was very near to the train station and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Ella. I particularly loved the fact that these guys are saving and improving these brand new apartments as they go.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    10
    One of our best stays in Sri Lanka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of our best stays in Sri Lanka. The guys who are running the hotel are a real treasure:) the rooms were nice and clean, very close tothe train station with a beautiful view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    9.2
    This was no white elephant lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As mentioned small bedside cabinets and a small table would make the room a touch more homely and practical.

    We had ourselves a really good time at Ella White Elephant... We arrived by train and managed to find the accommodation without to much trouble.. walk straight up the road and go up the steep small road before the railway arch.( no sign at the bottom as yet). We were greeted by the two most cheerful people we have met on our travels across Sri Lanka. Shan and Jee went out of their way to make our stay as special for us..Excellant breakfast.. eggs, fruit, jam , plenty of jam and a good pot or tea. It's only a 10 -15 minute walk from the property to the main road of Ella and it's bars and eateries. The room was of a good size and very clean... ( it could have done with a small bedside cabinet either side). We would recommend this lodging and would stop there again. Well done lads keep smiling ... thanks for making our short stay special.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    9.6
    Nice new guesthouse with great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was simple, delicious, but the same every day, it would be nice if we could of choose like from few options, at least different way of egg. It would be nice to have more furniture in the room, we stayed for 4 nights and needed to keep our clothes in a bags on a floor.

    Jee, the guy who runs the place, was the highlight of our stay, super helpful and all the time was making sure he have everything, also answered all our questions. We liked that the hotel was really new, just one month old, shower had good pressure and hot water, we were provided with extra blankets, greeted with free tea and coffee. It was nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy the lovely evening, we got take a was and hotel gave us plates and utensils so we can eat our food not out of box.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    9.2
    Génial!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great stay at Ella White Elephant! Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Two young men running the place will make you an amazing breakfast. They are so welcoming and really care to make you feel at home. We stayed 2 nights and when we left it was like saying goodbye to some old friends. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    8.8
    Close to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There should be more options in the breakfast and also the lunch.

    It's a very new hotel with only two rooms. Two young men are managing it. The hotel is quite close to Ella train station with only 5 minutes walk. And it's easy to locate. The room is simply decorated but very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    8.8
    A very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very nice stay, the place is brand new, you can still feel the smell of the paint :) The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Two days and two different breakfast, we could finally try original breakfast from Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    9.6
    Fell in love
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road up to the hotel is very steep. If you are carrying a big bag, get a tuk tuk. Sometimes the noise from the late bars in Ella can be heard up in the hills and some wild dogs like to howl but the solution is to stay up and enjoy the nightlife in Ella.

    A beautiful room, great bathroom but what makes the Ella White Elephant so special are the people who run it. Owner Shan and his friend and helper Jeevan couldn't have made me more welcome. I still have a hangover from partying with them! Everything you could want for a perfect stay in Ella.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Very nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice host. Brilliant view from balcony.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing owner, nice room with a view and a great breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing owner, nice room with a view and a great breakfast! Great room for the price. We were really enjoying room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.2
    Location, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Still being constructed

    Location, price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.3
    Super friendly owners with a very nice breakfast that they offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ventilation in the rooms/bathroom (outside air) so everything stays a bit moist.

    Great breakfast, very friendly owners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    9.2
    Sehr gut
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.2
    Great Sri Lankan experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toast was always brought to our table cold. Very steep hill to the property

    friendly host, but not in our faces.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    7.1
    Exceptional breakfast with a budget overpriced room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the best breakfast of our stay in Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.6
    The owner is a very nice young man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is a very nice young man. The room is good. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    5.0
    It was on top of a hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of insects at night. The mozzie net was not hung in the correct position. Quite expensive.

    It was on top of a hill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    8.3
    Brill location, fantastic breakfast & nice big clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff didn't clean or tidy room after the first night.

    Amazing breakfast & attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    10
    Awesome place, great hospitality. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2017

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice guys and a warm wellcome. Friendly and funny. Very good location, nearby station and village. Balcony where you can sit.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!