Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Heidi's Home

No 12A,Glen Field,Badulla Road,Magasthota, 22200 Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka

#43 of 173 B&Bs and inns in Nuwara Eliya

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 594 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.9
    Warm welcome, very friendly and helpful hosts, warm shower,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bot cold and humid, but that is due to the cold and humid surroundings of Newara Elijah. Central heating in the rooms would be nice though.

    Warm welcome, very friendly and helpful hosts, warm shower, great dinner and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    5.4
    See better places..more homely ..more official
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    official receipt of payment not provided. do not accept cc. Male host lacked welcome.Last day breakfast simply to complete their disposal.

    room decor and comfort

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    Great location,20mins walk into town or get a tuk tuk. Nice restauraurant close by, ask hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was small but totally suitable, with its own ensuite, bed was comfy and the balcony with flowers and view of the lake was a bonus. Sitting in the garden with a cup of tea feels like you're a world away. ... our host was very nice and his wife's cooking absolutely awesome. Make sure you visit World's End it's certainly worth a 5am start to the day!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.3
    Cute place to stay for a day or two, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was damp, not sure if that is just how it is in that location given the weather.

    Heidi was lovely and super helpful, organising a driver providing information and generally very caring.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Funky place near the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very musty and really smells of rising damp. The dehumidifier filled with a litre of water within 8 hours. It rains a lot up there, but this was a little too much. I hope they work something out to address this issue, because everything else was great.

    Great location, nice facilities, tasty breakfast. They were cool about being delayed one day, due to illness, at no extra charge. We were very grateful for this kindness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre and no value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dingy room with damp walls cleverly camouflaged by gaudy wall painting which was as kitsch as it could get. The approach to the place from the main road was steep and rocky and risky for a motorist and no space for any parking. No signpost or indicator on the main road to help locate the place. Lighting in the room and bathroom was poor.

    The self cooked breakfast by the owner who runs the outfit all by himself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.2
    It is in a lovely location and the hosts are great making you feel very welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like, it is a fine place.

    The Staff were amazing and the location extremely pretty, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the hosts very helpful indeed. It is a short tuk tuk ride into town and is very convenient for all the local sights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous and colourful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A warm welcome and advise on where to visit. Afternoon tea at The Grand Hotel was excellent and inexpensive. The room was cosy and I slept well, you need the extra bed covers in Nuwara Eliya. We had arranged to go to Horton Plains early in the morning and a packed lunch was provided. Unfortunately, we changed our plans, but yummy banana pancakes were brought to our room in the morning, which were very much appreciated. The whole place was spotlessly clean. We would have booked a second night but Heidi’s Home was fully booked. Thank you Chaminda

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By far the best stay during our trip. This property stands out for its funky rooms and the plants around it just overlooking Lake Gregory. The hosts were very helpful in accommodating our request to checkout early and in suggesting things to do around Nuwara Eliya. I wish them all the best.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room, superb breakfast & lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the owner really does anything possible, like putting a dehumidifier, the rooms stay very humid. It was also a bit cold, but we got a free heater.

    Spacious room with very good bed and blankets. Coffee and tea available. Very good hot shower. Best breakfast ever! When you're going to Horton plains, you also get a packed breakfast. Hosts were so friendly and helpful. Hotel is at walking distance from the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.2
    Original decor, comfortable bed with nice duvet, tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was damp in the room ( but I’ve been told it can get a lot worse in nuwara eliya and there is a dehumidifier in the room)

    Original decor, comfortable bed with nice duvet, tea facilities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Heidi is a warm loving lady who gave us an exceptional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water could have streamed a little stronger especially when it gets particularly cold at night in Nuwara Eliya. Driver arranged for our Horton's Plain trip was delayed by an hour due to a punctured tyre, which technically wasn't the hosts fault, but we needed to call to find out what happened. Perhaps they could have informed us earlier next time.

    Heidi is a warm loving lady who gave us an exceptional welcome to her property. Room was beautifully decorated with flower paintings across the walls. Big comfy bed with thick blankets to keep you warm in the chilly evenings in Newara Eliya. Clean and cosy room with TV for evening entertainment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.1
    Much potential when damp problems resolved. Cheap prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property had recently suffered some storm damage and was being reconstructed. As a result the water/ damp problem in our room was excessive and made for everything being wet and the smell of mould very strong. Hopefully after the works are finished this situation will resolve. The property was up a steep gravel driveway so access was a bit difficult. The WiFi and tv didn’t work, but this could also have been as a result of the recent storm damage?

    The rooms were decorated brightly which was fun. The showers were hot, and the rooms had everything appropriate provided. The location was good for access to Horton Plains National Park. The owner was very friendly and pleasant. There was no noise from other guests. The price was excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.5
    Ever want to be part of a painting? This is your chance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heidi's Home provides enough tools (blankets etc) to feel comfortable at the (very) cold nights. You may want to choose this hotel because you are actually living inside a painting. Very special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    4.6
    The owners were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The deluxe room in the basement was extremely humid, and even with a dehumidifier running at full speed the pillow and mattress did not feel dry. There was a mouldy smell in the room. Because of this we asked for another room the next night. The new room (on the 1st floor) was better, although it was a lot smaller and with less equipment (no tv, teakitchen) than what we had paid for. The owner offered a discount on the condition that we wrote to booking.com to claim we did not stay at the guest house. As we did not wish to do so, we did not get a refund.

    The owners were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    The stuffs are really friendly and helpful, when he heard we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the heater wasn’t functioning properly

    The stuffs are really friendly and helpful, when he heard we need to go to Horton Plains in 5am, he help us to make take away breakfast and help us to hired an van The location is really nice, just outside the hotel you can see lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.1
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no drying facilities at all and the room left all our clothes damp

    This is a must stay at place. Full of most unusual character. The walls are adorned with vibrantly coloured murals, our room with TV and Persian rugs on the floor was of generous proportions, the dining room has peacock feathers adorning the ceiling and curtains. However, be prepared to put up with the negatives. The lower rooms are damp as one wall is below ground level and there is probably no waterproof tanking, there are no facilities for drying clothes if you get caught in the rain (we did) and the owner is a trifle eccentric. We read an appalling review left by a family who he terrorised after flying into a rage and he was more than a little tetchy with some other guests within our earshot while we were there. Keep on the right side of him and he is more than pleasant. And don't be put off by the external appearance of the building as it has out of control vegetation growing all over it and a pile of unsightly rubbish piled up against one side wall. If I had to describe it in one word it would be "quirky".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly damp feeling of the room.

    Quirky property. Good value for the price. Lots and lots of plants on the outside which whilst beautiful made the rooms inside quite dark and a little damp. Nice hosts, good breakfast and very good value for money if staying one or two nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.5
    Novel Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unique experience as the interior of the room was very different.Room was clean and bed was comfortable. View from room was good as we had requested for mountain and lake view. Owner of the house was polite and good delicious breakfast was served

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    The blanket is really thick one, kept us warm for the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower heater is not hot enough, we felt freezing and even wanted to give up on shower. Hahaha.

    The blanket is really thick one, kept us warm for the whole night. The location is near to the lake, nice scenery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.8
    very nice host, colored room with hot water, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a bit far from the center, room a but humid (but with de- humidifier)

    very nice host, colored room with hot water, very good breakfast, close to the lake, the host helped us organizing the next steps of our trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    View from the room was beautiful and perfect garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    8am the host open the gate then only i can get out to walk. Not much converniece if you travel with a car due to road going up to the property is narrow and bad. No gara and you will hv to park the car outside

    View from the room was beautiful and perfect garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful house, basic rooms but with buckets of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful house, basic rooms but with buckets of personality. Wonderful host! And the Sri Lankan dinner was one of our favourite meals of the entire trip- no exaggeration.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    4.6
    An ok stay if passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have appreciated knowing renovations were occurring during our stay. After a 430am start and walking around Horton Plains NP we had hoped to have a rest on return. Unfortunately we had to go out all afternoon due to the noise. The room was the smallest we have stayed in on our trip but the most expensive. Not enough room for our luggage or for us to move around.

    Staff were friendly and helped us with trip to Horton Plains Lovely garden Though out of town easy enough to catch local bus or tuk tuk Staff made takeaway breakfast which was appreciated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a colorful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The homestay is about 3 km away from the city center, which means you need a tuk-tuk. The bathroom is a bit small.

    Lovely homestay with a great view to Gregory lake. Very nice and friendly owners. The rooms are very colorful and well furnished with a little cupboard, pegs and a little balcony. Good breakfast: toast, French toast, fresh juice and waffle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    A cool and beautiful residence with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish to have a better view of the room. ~ But other than that, I enjoyed my stay very much.

    The owner lady and her daughter, Heidi, was friendly and nice. The house has some cool and beautiful decor, a lot of plants and the room was comfy. It is also located closely by the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.8
    A colourful place with all the comforts needed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a lovely unique place full of its own style not seen elsewhere on this trip. The place was colourful and full of life. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The host was very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay at Heidi's Home- peaceful and colourful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Humidity- but this goes with the territory- and room had a dehumidifier if needed.

    Beautiful place, just out of town. The room is full of colour and the building surrounded by beautiful planting. The hummingbird nest at our door. Comfy high bed. We enjoyed a very generous packed breakfast on our early start trip to Horton Plains - thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasent and Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very low water pressure and the temperature of the hot water was pre fixed. Had to go out for meals, no in house menu.

    The room was very clean, colorful and the atmosphere was really calming and quiet, Great location, right next to the scenic Lake Gregory. The property it covered in beautiful natural flowers and foliage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Cozy little place with friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cozy place with very friendly host, close to the beautiful lake. We startet to horten plains from there and Heidi made us lunch boxes, which was very kind. We also loved the nice and cool weather and relaxing atmospere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.3
    Cute place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is a bit far out of town, with few restaurant options nearby. Need some form of transportation (tuk-tuk, bus) to get into town.

    Funky place with lots of charm. Very welcoming and helpful host.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.4
    Very unusual accommodation, like staying in someone's home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    HH was difficult to find as no obvious directions or signs. Our room was rather dingy. the water heater, though working, had a broken control.

    Small but beautiful garden. Room decorations a riot of colour. Warm and snug.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    4.6
    Cold, neglected, damp room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It can get cold in Nuwara Eliya. Temperature drops to around 10°C in the evening. When we asked for a heater, we were told "we can't afford to give you a heater at $39 per night, it will be extra 1000 rupees per day". Instead, the owner got us extra blankets. So, for as long as you stay in bed, you are OK, but freezing if you want to read or go to toilet. Strong smell of dump and humidity is present throughout the room and the adjacent apartment. Window in the bathroom could not close and the shower pressure was low so it was a long shower in a freezing bathroom. Despite funky decoration (purple walls, ceilings, doors, paintings, bed cover), there was an accumulation of dust everywhere and the whole place was neglected (see photos: broken shower and towel holders, electricity covered with tape). The room may be big but it is filled up with heavy furniture so once you open the suitcase you can't move around. There is building work through the day which we were not informed of prior to our arrival so there is no way to have a rest during the day. Location is very far from the town which to us wasn't a problem as we had a driver.

    Heidi and her father are welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    2.9
    Room good size and carpeted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Damp and cold, hot water luke warm, no tiles in bathroom. No heating possible in doom. It's inexpensive but the quality reflects that I am afraid. I would not recommend this place.

    Room good size and carpeted. Quirky decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant view near Lake Gregory, but only a tuk-tuk ride...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the facilities were a little dated and should be replaced - eg shower head which had very low water pressure, some fixtures in the bathroom.

    Pleasant view near Lake Gregory, but only a tuk-tuk ride away from the city centre. Warm fleece blanket and comforter for the chilly night. Charming family running Heidi’s Home to introduce you to the sights, sounds and make arrangements for tours to Horton Plains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hideout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the only option is a western one. We would have loved the option of having a Sri Lankan breakfast.

    The owners of this place are wonderful people and can’t do enough to help you. Make sure to have the dinner at this place. It is cheap and absolutely delicious! The rooms are spacious with a big comfy bed. WiFi is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Relatively quiet location towards the end of the lake away from the town. The room was brightly decorated, comfortable, and everything that needed to work did so. Breakfast was fine and large! I eat an evening meal as well and that was delicious... a range of vegetable dishes with chicken curry, and curd to follow. The owners were pleasant and helpful at all times without invading your privacy which was good. Overall a really pleasant place to stay with nice hosts... and I met the real Heidi (the owners daughter) and her cat! I would happily stay here again if I come this way in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dehumidifier needs to be running all the time to keep the room comfortable (it is silent, just something to remember to turn on)

    Great staff, nice room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    10
    Heidi’s home feels like home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Chattu (mother of Heidi!) was the best. Kind, helpful especially to my girlfriend who injured herself on Adams peak, looking after her. The room was so well decorated, and very clean with a big bathroom...it’s also near the lake so the location is spot on, in walking distance one of the top restaurants in Nuwara Eliya (by the lake) and a short Tuk tuk to the main part of town.. The breakfast was great too, thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great room and hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water for the shower was not hot, it was more on the luke-warm side.

    The hosts were really friendly and accommodating. Great location just outside of the city. Beautiful garden and room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Love the decoration in every room very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stair to the rooms are still narrow so it might not convenient for traveller with big wheeled luggages

    Love the decoration in every room very much. The breakfast is very good. The facility like hot water, hair dryer, etc are working well. The owners are very nice. Love it and will return to the place if i come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.2
    The place is wonderfully decorated and the hosts are amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I personally liked the location because it was very secluded and directly on a lake, however if you want to be in town center - you need to take a TukTuk, I however didn’t see it as a major issue

    The place is wonderfully decorated and the hosts are amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    7.9
    1- Excellent Breakfast with fresh fruit and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1- location is cold 2- Nuwara Eliya is not a nice city to visit compared to all the other nice things to do in Sri Lanka. A perfect stay to take the train the next morning.

    1- Excellent Breakfast with fresh fruit and excellent sandwich 2- The host is extremely kind and welcomes people really well and makes you feel like you’re at home. 3- Hot water which isn’t always the case.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    The place is magical, the host wonderful and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not take the car from Kandy, take the train make the timing happen!

    The place is magical, the host wonderful and the breakfast absotlutely fabulous! Loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.3
    The family enjoyed the visits to the Tea Plantations and the Tuc Tuc trips and the hosts at Heidie's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because you will be staying 6,000 ft above sea level it will be cold so be prepared, some like it cool !!

    The hosts were very accommodating, and the breakfast and dinners were equally appreciated, considering how busy the accommodation was nothing was too much trouble, if you appreciate art you will be surprised. Everyone of us is different and appreciate different things however Heidi's residence was a surprise and a pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful and quiet stay with a very lovely family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family of Heidi’s Home is so wonderful. They help you with everything if you want, are kind, can speak good English and made me a dinner on the house! They also arranged a taxi to Horton Plains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.1
    Cold, damp, smelly - and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Cold and damp room. Smelled strange - like all our clothes now... It is a bit "off" and nothing in the area.

    Really cool and cozy place. Good breakfast and super nice People.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    6.3
    Host was gracious and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gaudy decor of the place didn't match our taste. The room was very small.

    Host was gracious and very helpful. Breakfast was generous but not inspiring.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    8.3
    Very unique guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light of room is a little bit dark, the heating is not very warm.

    Very unique guest house. It was like you were in a garden. Very beautiful room with good view of lake Gregory. Good location, it's walkable either to pedro tea factory or lover's leap waterfall.each takes one hour, but don't afraid that one hour walk, you will really enjoy the views along the way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.6
    Super place, I stayed there with my husband and 3 year old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super place, I stayed there with my husband and 3 year old son. We had a triple room which was big enough with 2 double beds. The hosts were very helpful they offer special food for our son who had stomach problems. I recommend the place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.6
    Got beautiful and artful decorations inside, a good place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got beautiful and artful decorations inside, a good place for photography, excellent food, highly recommended. You will see a cat and a beautiful girl wearing lovely smile there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.3
    Great food, big room with wonderful family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly away from town but only a short ride away so we didn't mind.

    Nice big room (I think we had the superior twin). Really lovely friendly family who made us feel very welcome and were so helpful organising taxis and breakfast for our early start to worlds end. Food was truly amazing - we had one of the nicest rice and curries for dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.1
    Not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a little hard to identify. I hope the owner can put up a signboard so that it will be easier for guest. We did not receive a warm welcome as the owner looked quite unhappy seeing us show up at the back door instead of front door. The water pressure is low. Given the cold weather and low water flow, it is not that comfortable to bath. At this price, i would probably recommend to try other properties.

    The decoration of room is unique and beautiful. The bed is comfortable. The owner showed us 2 rooms for us to choose. She also packed breakfast for us as we need to head to Horton Plain early next morning. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.4
    Heidi was fantastic, everyone was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stuffy not so ventilated room smells.The decor was very flashy to our taste.

    Heidi was fantastic, everyone was extremely helpful. They even arranged the trip to Horton Plains for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.3
    The decor of house is eclectic with a lot of greenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ordinary with bread toast and French toasts.

    The decor of house is eclectic with a lot of greenery. The location is great with the porch overlooking the lake and the bus stop just 100mts from it. The hosts are lovely people - extremely helpful and chats up with you on the local history and geography.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    4.6
    Take up this property if no other options left
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A poorly managed property with ZERO professionalism. It is good only for bachelors who are on a very tight budget and just need to somehow spend the night. The break fast was home cooked with minimum of variety possible.

    The location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.8
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We feel the room was overpriced.

    Chaminder's hospitality, the interiors, the tiny garden outside the house, the facilities inside the room were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved this quiet and quant little place. Traveling with just one child and myself it felt like home when we walked in. Breakfast was great and they helped me whenever needed. Loved it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing stay.. one of the best experience ever.. feel like home... first impression was great.. warmly welcome by the owner.. very friendly staff. Room was superb comfortable. Delicious breakfast..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Apart from beautiful well designed property. The owners has been very accomodating. They have provided us with all the information that we need not only in that place but as well as the place that we are heading to. They welcomed us warmly as if we are part of their family which made us feel comfortable and safe. The breakfast was awsome and the value of money is more than worth it if I may say. Yes it is not a typical hotel with complete facilities and all however the hospitality that the owners provide is far more than any hotels can offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    7.5
    A friendly family guest house but a bit too far from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too far out of town to walk in and explore. There was also a fee to walk the lake shore, which we refused to pay on principle. The hotel next door was buzzing with noisy Moslem men in town for the long weekend, so not so peaceful!

    The owners, and their charming daughter Heidi, were friendly and helpful and we had an amazing curry and rice dinner, with so many delicious vegetable curry side dishes. The room and beds were comfy. We were given a reasonable packed lunch to take on our 5 a.m. start to do the World's End walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    Charminder, the owner of the place is a sweet and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charminder, the owner of the place is a sweet and helpful man. The rooms and hotel are full of character and very very bright colours. Its absolutely charming! The breakfasts were sumptuous and always on time! Good service with personal touch and definitely value for money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    8.8
    Hosts are wonderful, their little girl is called Heidi - hence Heidi's home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts here are excellent, very helpful. It's a little further out of town, although if you enjoy a leisurely walk around Gregory lake, exploring Nuwara Eliya like we did, it was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, but too damp and cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From July till November the weather can be quite brutal: cold and rainy, with a fierce wind. The rooms could really use an electrical heater. Now it has only a 'dehydrator', which is far from enough. Room was cold and damp and stayed like that. Communal space was too cold as well. Walls were a bit too colorful, but that might be personal.

    The owner is the bonus here. Helps you out with whatever problem, question or need you have.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.6
    It's a lovely place to stay,you could feel the host did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area is cold,it's not about the room,everything is terrific!

    It's a lovely place to stay,you could feel the host did pay intention to make his house,and the breakfast is super good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly owner, delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was very hospitable and the breakfast was delicious and filling. The house itself has a lot of character and is close to a couple restaurants, and a short ride from the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    We felt at home at Heidi's home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were incredibly friendly and kind. The place is named after their daughter, Heidi, who is such a sweetheart. It made for a comfortable, homely feel. They were very happy to advise us on areas and restaurants to visit. The breakfast was generous and they made me a special birthday pancake, which was so thoughtful. The room was comfortable and uniquely decorated. The hotel itself is very close to the lake (we could see it from our balcony). It can get a bit cool in Nuwara Eliya but they provided a dehumidifier and hairdryer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    7.9
    Very welcoming but a bit cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the weather was poor when we visited and then the house becomes quite cold and damp.

    Very friendly owners and great breakfast and dinner. It is about 30 minutes walking from the city centre along the lake, or 5 mins by tuktuk. We had two rooms, which were very clean. One room was a bit small if you travel with luggage, but we managed. The house is very colourfull which i guess is a matter of taste.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.1
    Nicely decorated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't feel it lived up to the rave reviews, which is why we'd booked this accommodation in the first place. Lower ground floor rooms were rather damp, not fully waterproof. Sink water was cold/showers luke warm. No heating in the rooms- and it was very wet and cold weather for the duration of our stay (not that this can be ordained by the owner)! However, a heater would've made the room warmer.

    Nice breakfast,. Quirky decoration of bedrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    10
    Recommended property in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was quite comfortable with the property.

    The property was in good location. The host was very friendly and caring. He provide us nice breakfast on time. The room was clean and having all the needed facilities. We would like to recommend the property for fellow travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Fairy tale place,Nice Host,Excellent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nuwaraeliya weather was really cold.....

    We stayed one night over here because of a family event in Sri lanka. We were welcomed by the owner in a very friendly way(A very warm host family), Just a step away from Gregory's Lake covered with white flower creepers...... The Rooms are really clean and warm original in style and architecture with many paintings and art pieces throughout the Hotel. The breakfast was truly delightful and generous. Ambiance of the Heidi's Home will be a once in a life time experience for rustic art Lovers.........

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.2
    I am going there when I need to RECHARGE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was warm, pillows, blankets extra blankets, lovely flowers in the room and bathroom, carpets adorable wooden furniture, curtains for the window balcony, literally everything was perfect. Just a small thing though, there was draft coming through the bathroom window. Then again, it is because of the expansion and contraction of wood due to weather. But the host managed to block it out for me. The next time, I will pay extra and request for more heat.

    The hosts were so warm and lovable. I've done a bit of traveling in the recent past, but this was the best experience when it comes to host, hotel etc. There was something extra and I cannot even describe what it was. The aura of the place, the lovely garden, the privacy and loads and loads of love. The breakfast was like as if you are having it in your own home. The gentleman and the lady with their little girl were really from another planet (Colombo city folks could be described as hostile:)) If you are looking for something cozy, warm and packed with love, and like to be alone, respect privacy, love nature, and most of all, you want to rejuvenate and recharge, this is the place! I need not go sightseeing because I came to rest, the balcony had the view that made me go really crazy.. lake, mountains, the greenery. Seriously speaking, I am tired of luxury hotels, extra services, long waits, noise, fuss etc. I was in charge of my time and money, thanks to the lovely hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    7.9
    A very warm welcome - small improvements needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be improved by communal tea and coffee facilities given the temperatures!

    Very individual hotel. Good lakeside location. Warm welcome from the family when we arrived. Quirky decoration. Big thick sheets on the bed (which were needed because it was freezing!) great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    7.9
    Good Breakfast, good people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water heater was very small -1 litre capacity,not good for shower.not really felt like take shower.very less hot water flow

    The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    AWESOME AMBIANCE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are not accepting the credit card payments.....for me that wasnt a problem , i had enough Sri lanken Rupees with me.......

    Covered with all the flowers creepers and with most wonderful people i met on my tour, could not ask more,just in front of Lake Gregory and surrounded by Tea fields and the misty hills which gives you a different experience where you can not have anywhere in the country. Home cooked authentic Rice and Curry was amazing experience. . We had so many Things,for the Breakfast....really tasty...unbelievable super service.... Only few min.walk to the main Town by the lake....evening walk was really Nice.... Most comfortable beds with uniquely decorated rooms where i can highly recommend to any one going to Nuwaraeliya.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Heidi's Home Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: