Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Matale District hotel reviews
  4. Sigiriya hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Heritance Kandalama

Reviews of Heritance Kandalama This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

P.O Box 11, Heritance Kandalama, 21100 Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

#24 of 107 hotels in Sigiriya

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1933 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    Nice and luxeous hotel in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a pretty noisy hotel caused by a concrete construction. When the trolley's of the early check out people pass the rooms, it looks like a train is passing by and it made us wake up several times during the stay. Advise to hotel: use rubber weels to prevent this noise disturbance.

    Nice and luxeous hotel in the middle of the "jungle" overviewing a beautifull lake. The spa centre, the 3 swimmingpools, the bar with nice cocktails and the restaurants with very good kitchen made it a more than happy stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    Incredible property but lacking some attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there were a few small things that could have been improved upon, that you would expect not to occur at a property of its caliber. My shower was quite dirty, the tile grout desperately needs a good clean and perhaps replacement, and there was a clump of black hair from a previous guest. Pretty gross. I advised the staff but didn’t receive any kind of apology. I tried calling the tour desk many times to try and arrange a tour to sigiriya, but no one ever answered the phone. The day I checked out I ordered from the snack menu at the cafe, a steak sandwich with sides - it was actually a huge roll that was a bit stale, there was very little steak, which was cold and a lot of gristle, and the fries were also cold. I think it would have been quite obvious by the pile of gristle on my plate that I didn’t enjoy it but the staff did not ask.

    Heritance Kandalama is stunning, and in the most beautiful setting. If you are interested in ecology and architecture I would strongly recommend having a tour of the property, It was wonderful to learn about the initiatives used to design a sustainable hotel of that magnitude which was undoubtedly ahead of its time. I was travelling alone and didn’t fancy the buffet for dinner so ordered room service-‘the Mignon is the best steak I’ve ever had in my life! Didn’t appear to be options for a single glass of wine on the menu though, only bottles. I could be wrong though.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect. Its was the best hotel we stayed in sri lanka. We were a group of 6 people. The reservation was 2 rooms each for 3 byt they gave us an upgrade to the royal suit which was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.8
    location, view, atmosphere, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel needs renovation, other than that it was an awesome experience

    location, view, atmosphere, staff. it is one of my favorite places and i would love to visit again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.5
    Amazing location and how the hotel blended in with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordinary dinner, hotel is very dated. It might have been 5 stars when it started but it now

    Amazing location and how the hotel blended in with the nature. Gorgeous views

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place to stay....the monkeys on the balcony were a bonus. We had a driver who stayed in the staff quarters.....without a driver it may be difficult as the property is isolated, but still within driving distance of the amazing sites in the cultural triangle. Breakfast very good with many choices and excellent coffee. We ate dinner in the a la carte restaurant....excellent and good value for money.....good menu choices if you have had enough curry! A very large hotel, so try and get a room close to reception/restaurants. We were in room 501 which was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.5
    Great bone but need more management and thoughts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is substandard in term of management and food quality. It feels like the place is catered to mass tourism and underserving given its status as a great hotel of the region. It is very Disappointing. The public area of the hotel felt very spartan with few and uncomfortable furniture for lounging and hanging out. The hotel lacks accessories such as artworks or fresh flower. It feels unfinished despite its age.

    Excellent architecture and beautiful setting. The room is tastefully done with a beautiful view from the bathroom. We will return again when visiting the region again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    5.8
    Overall it was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff seemed miserable and reluctant to help. Service was slow. It did not feel like a 5* experience because of this. I would rate it a 4* comparing it to other 5*s I have stayed at. The windows in the room were very dirty as was the bath.

    The hotel building and architecture were incredible. The food was delicious

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    This is my second visit - first one 10 years ago, and it is undoubtedly my favourite hotel in the wo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing as far as I'm concerned. However, I think they should do a little more to publicise some of their facilities - the travel desk, the spa and the entertainments. I discovered too late that there was live music in the lounge on at least one evening of my stay - and nobody else seemed to know either.

    I love the architecture - the closeness to nature, the monkeys, the incredible views, the gardens etc. The food in the buffet is amazing, the staff are delightful, the pools, spa etc are all excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Everything was gtreat except the van driver who drove us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Panoramic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was gtreat except the van driver who drove us to the Dambulla bus stand. He didn't take our suitcases out of the trunk. He just opened the trunk and held the door while we were struggling to take out our heavy suitcases. Disappointingly, his service didn't live up to your hotel's reputation and it was the one and only unpleasant experience in Sri Lanka. I'm sure it won't be happening again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.9
    Nice hotel, might be a good option outside high season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value for the money was low, the prices around christmas were unjustifiably high for the value provided. Prices were equal to 5-star European hotels.

    Hotel in jungle. Wonderful experience. Initially, they gave us a room without a Sigiriya rock view (room on second floor) even though it was clearly mentioned in booking.com. We complained and they gave us a room on the fourth floor with a Sigiriya rock plus lake view. The room also had a Jacuzzi as a bonus. Nice and always-smiling staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.6
    A big luxury splurge in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet dinner was a little ‘cruise ship’ style with something for everyone but nothing truly great - the a la carte restaurant looked like it lacked atmosphere - a hotel of this quality could have a specialist Sri Lankan or modern restaurant.

    A seriously stunning hotel - beautiful building with beautiful views

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.2
    high recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very environmental friendly. The hotel are very decent & comfortable - high recommend for family holiday. I like the variety of food choice (half board during my stays).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Loved everything about this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like about this hotel. From the greeting as we stepped out of our car, to our beautiful spotless room with it's gorgeous view from the balcony, the variety at each of the buffet meals and our envy-inducing high tea, and the stunning pools. We loved every moment here and just wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    Beautiful views and great architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel needs to reevaluate what is required of a luxury hotel with its price tag. While a magic show might be cute every week or so, having one that includes blaring techno music every single night during sunset hours and holding it in the only location possible for having a relaxing outdoors drink was very disappointing. We left this hotel wondering if they are trying to run a child’s circus or a luxury hotel.

    Beautiful views and great architecture.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    3.3
    I found it overpriced, bathrooms were dated and dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found it overpriced, bathrooms were dated and dingy. I had to wear thongs in the shower. The food was limited and poor quality. We were charged for the room twice and 2.5 weeks later have not received our money back. Poor management.very very disappointing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous location and great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small and not well lit.

    Great staff - friendly helpful always present. Very hospitable. The location and design of the hotel is fabulous. On the lake, built around the rocks naturally and convenient for the golden cultural triangle. The hotel organised all our trips - and did a great job!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel but needs more attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel management need to pay more attention to the small details. Matresses very hard. Waiters cant explain the wine list.

    Superb design and location. Great food. Lovely setting of swimming pools.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.8
    The facilities were excellent and we liked the separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were given was small and overlooked the back of the property - it did not seem to be value for the money we had paid and not one we would have wanted to stay in. It had two beds pushed together rather than one king-sized bed we had booked. After the first night the manager did move us to a larger and much nicer room overlooking the lake and with a king-size bed which we were very happy with.

    The facilities were excellent and we liked the separate dining room where one could have a more elegant dining experience than joining the masses having the buffet - it was Christmas holiday time and the hotel was full.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.0
    The property is overpriced for the condition of the property. At best it is a four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is tired, rooms are tired, nothing is soundproof, guests passing by your room, you can hear their conversations easily. The light switches are hidden behind the bed head, and no explanation by the staff when introducing the room.

    The hotel's location is wonderful. The food was delicious, lovely and fresh always. The beauty of the surroundings was breathtaking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    Jungle modernism in the heart of the Cultural Triangle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the hotel a little tired. It could do with just a bit of paint. The building is spectacular but just needs a bit if upkeep.

    Incredible location in the jungle overlooking Lake Kandalama with views across towards Sigiriya. The staff were lovely and the food was delicious. The highlight for me apart from the location is the building designed by famous Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa....a piece if tropical modernism.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Views are to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffet style restaurant doesn’t really fit with the hotel and setting. The second restaurant is an obvious after thought. It was like eating in a porter cabin. Hardly any windows, old and very uncomfortable wooden chairs. The place is probably in need of a face lift. It needs some more comfortable seating areas. These are only small things to mal

    Views are to die for. The rooms are stunning. The staff are attentive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.3
    Nice view from the hotel, very peaceful and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs weren't very friendly, would have expected better and friendlier service. The room was okay, shower curtain was old and dirty.

    Nice view from the hotel, very peaceful and quiet environment. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful scenery, monkeys cute and staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel rooms appear quite old and are in need of an update. Luxury rooms are not of the same standard we are used to in Australia

    Beautiful scenery, monkeys cute and staff very helpful and willing to assist

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too busy, dated : very corporate 1980’s..and we got bitten by ants in bed. Awful rooms, very dark, damp on the blinds and overlooking a car park. Grim.

    It’s a good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    7.5
    It’s an incredible space, beautiful architecture, nestled in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The space promises peace in nature, but ones you enter, it’s clearly a touristy space with more nice then charming stuff, wired music bands playing in the central area around the clock, guest „running“ the buffet and loud parties until after midnight in the banquet hall that makes it hard to feel sleep if your room is round the corner.

    It’s an incredible space, beautiful architecture, nestled in the jungle. The room had a great view to the lake, all surrounded by plants.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    A beautifully designed hotel integrates to the nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It felt the wall was thin or not enough sound proof so that I could hear the guest next to our room.

    A beautifully designed hotel integrates to the nature. It is in the middle of jungle and you see many wild animals on your way to the hotel. Great food and welcome drink. Facility was amazing with a gym, two pools, library etc. Definitely worth staying to experience the great architect's master piece!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    The very protected nature is the treasure of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very protected nature is the treasure of this hotel. Even the reads around 1-2 Km are not had pavement. It emphasizes beauty of the building. The building, it is really amazing. Meals are also nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.8
    The property is designed by famous architect Geoffrey Bawa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s quite humid honestly.

    The property is designed by famous architect Geoffrey Bawa and is very eco-friendly. It is a must-see hotel if you are keen on the designs and looks. We are upgraded upon arrival and our room is spacious with look view of greens!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.2
    The Kandalama Hertiage Hotel is a stunning edifice and one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricy food and treatments.

    The Kandalama Hertiage Hotel is a stunning edifice and one can easily spend the day exploring the building. We very much enjoyed our stay, especially the infinity pool, but the food, which was just fine from ala karte, and treatments are rather on the steep side. Also, it can be noisy at times as the rooms are not lobbied and the doors have big gaps.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    6.7
    Not bad for off season prices, but not the same standard as other 5* resorts in SE Asia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was constantly infested with ants which was slightly annoying as they would crawl into my wash bag/onto my toothbrush etc.. Booking taxis through the hotel was RIDICULOUSLY expensive. We found a taxi service (they are situated on the dirt road leading into the resort) who offered us 50% of what the hotel charged us!! Aside from the managers, the rest of the staff didn't speak very good English.

    Mattress was very comfortable. Good aircon. Great hotel gym that's always empty. There were monkeys everywhere which was cool! Great breakfast. Dinner was average though. Lunch gave me food poisoning for 5 days! Great views of the lake. Super serene and isolated - if you're looking for a get away this is the place to go for some peace and quiet!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    The location is stunning and the building one of a kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all - incredibly over priced. We stayed at so much nicer places in SL for a fourth of the price. The atmosphere is rather cold and not very welcoming. And reminded us of a 3 star all incl. resort. The rooms could need some love. Even the bin in the bathroom was half broken. Not what we would expect when paying over 400$ a night. The food was ok, we liked the curries at the buffet. However here again, the atmosphere was lacking, a lot of large groups and pretty loud. If you are travelling as a couple who likes boutique hotels and a quiet and charming atmosphere, we would suggest to go elsewhere and visit the hotel for an afternoon. We are sad to leave such negative comments, but the price tag just doesn’t match the experience.

    The location is stunning and the building one of a kind. Ready for the next James Bond movie.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.6
    Room for Improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced hotel with lots of room for improvement. [Room] Rooms are a little cramp. There are also limited power outlets to plug in your laptops or charge your phone. In fact there is only one for guest use. Increasing the number of power socket for Guest use would be useful. The lights are dim. There are limited TV channels. Some tamil channels such as Vijay TV and Sun TV would add to guest's entertainment. There are no slippers provided to wear in the room. As the flooring can be cold, making such footwears available would enhance Guest comfort. Aircon control is not digital. There is a good sea view from the room, but the hotel advised not to open the balcony door as there are monkeys in the vicinity. [Toilet] The toilet WC looks old, it may be timely to replace them. The room comes with bath tub and no ceiling shower head, only a hand held shower unit. This makes it a little unpleasant. Including a ceiling shower head would make showering with sea view a pleasant experience. The shampoo does not come in disposable packaging. Thus, it appears that the same container could have been shared by different Guest. This makes hygiene questionable. The Hotel did not replace the toiletries when they make the room. Hotel did not provide toothbrush and shaver. [Restaurant] You have to go to another area to have your coffee after dinner. Coffee is not served to your table. This makes it a little inconvenient. The breakfast spread had beef sausage wrongly labelled as chicken sausage. Upon highlighting, the hotel corrected the label but no apology was offered. I hope those who don't consume beef, were not affected by the wrong labelling. [Service] Staff do not readily greet the Guest along the corridors. [Conclusion] If not for the good sea view, the hotel is worth giving it a miss.

    The hotel has a good view of the Indian Ocean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Incredible architecture, experience to do !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception doesn't wanted to organise regular taxi or tuktuk at the departure. The receptionist offered us only the option of the hotel : private transfer (definitly over charge for the service). Receptionist didn't even call a taxi company for us, we did it ourselves with the telephon of the reception… This is definitly not a 5 five star service attitude. This experience happend also in the other Heritance Hotel (Aitken Spence group) with stayed in (Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya). At the departure no other option than hotel transfer offered by reception (receptionist called the only contact they have for tuk tuk, which was not reachable…). Because hotels are located in very remote areas you can have the feeling of being held ostage, which leave us with a bitter taste.

    Incredible architecture for this hotel in the middle of the forest. Incredible view! Very good food and large choice. Nice concept of check-in. Staff with nice service attitude. Experience to do !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, super friendly staff, great atmosphere, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, super friendly staff, great atmosphere, very good food. All in all a great experience and we highly recommend the hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Fantastic nature resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Jacuzzi and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a suite in end-November. Our room was great, the rain shower fantastic, nice jacuzzi and the bathroom amenities really really good, would have loved a conditioner. The Heritance Kandalama is no doubt a 10/10, service, facilities - everything. Big respect for their eco mindedness, hopefully this will inspire other places.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to book expensive trips via the reception. No option to call local taxis.

    Excellent staff and facilities. 3 superb swimming pools. Delicious food at the main buffet restaurant. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing and the architecture of the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price is high if you are planning to spend your day having trips in Sigiriya as you will end up only sleeping in the hotel which you can do with half of the price in other 5 star hotels with same level of cleanliness

    The location is amazing and the architecture of the building it self is very special and extraordinarily so if you are planning to spend the day inside the hotel this is the perfect choice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is incredible, the location is wonderful and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Panoramic Room but were quite disappointed as it did not match the photos we could see on booking.com. It felt smaller than we expected.

    This hotel is incredible, the location is wonderful and we loved the way it was built into the local habitat. The pools were great and it was nice to have a selection of three. The views of the lake from the lobby pool and bar were breathtaking. We ate ion the a la carte restaurant and the food was delicious, I tried the traditional Sri Lankan curry and it was the best one I had in Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    We really liked the location, set in the countryside with...
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the way down the road we saw a chained up elephant who remained that way all day except once when on the way into the hotel we saw 4 tourists riding the elephant at one time. The hotel advertises elephant rides in their hotel activity section of the hotel book(in your room). When I spoke to guest relations about the elephant rides and how I was upset to see the hotel promoting the abuse of an elephant, the hotel assured me that they had ceased to provide elephant rides to guests a year ago as many guests had complained. This is good but I suggest that the hotel activity section of the guest book be updated removing elephant rides as a hotel activity as at this stage it looks like the hotel still promotes elephant rides.

    We really liked the location, set in the countryside with monkeys roaming around, nice swimming pools and food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    4.6
    The location, the view, the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is well outdated. The rooms are used up and not properly cleaned. Additional rate exchange fees are being added upon check out (never mentioned during the booking process)

    The location, the view, the breakfast buffet. Driver quarters are provided

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    The most stunning hotel we have ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - everything was perfect!

    From start to finish we had an exceptional stay. It is absolutely beautiful with stunning views and so much wildlife! The room was immaculate and very luxurious. We stayed in a Deluxe room as a free upgrade from the hotel and I am so grateful to them because the jacuzzi bath overlooking the lake, watching the birds and monkeys play was a real one off! The food was fantastic and my sunset yoga session was divine. Cannot recommend it enough!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    9.2
    Short but memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our only regret was that we could not afford to stay longer.

    Our one night stay was a series of small adventures, each unexpected and wonderful. A chance discovery of a frog pond, a giant land snail, a bat swooping on a moth, a snake basking on a rock, skinks and geckos, a rescued snake to hold, monkeys on our balcony... All that as a bonus to the spectacular view, fine buffet, three swimming pools, table tennis, spa in room. What a wondrous place!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    The structure the structure the structure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On their website, it said bicycles are available for rent on the website, but was sad to learn they're no longer offered.

    The structure the structure the structure! The surroundings! The flora and fauna! The sunsets! The room facilities! The toilet! The jacuzzi and the view offered! The experience was magical.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.9
    4* in Nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Jacuzzi and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For an expensive 5* hotel the rooms and the service were not up to scratch. The rooms were tired and dated and the servicing in the rooms could be improved somewhat.

    The location was absolutely stunning, the mixture of modern living within a natural environment was spectacular. The food at the hotel was also amazing, the chefs were fantastic and the waiting staff equally so.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    5.8
    Food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They gave us a room with no view to the lake, and couldn’t convince them to change. Large groups of drunk guys outside of rooms (in second floor) made us feel unsafe (especially female friends). Pool service quite poor. Only one pool (next to reception) is worth.

    Food was delicious

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Impressive architecture, very friendly and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some Korean or Chinese guests were very loud early in the morning. Shouting and running around in the corridor. They should be advised on arrival that they have to be considered.

    Impressive architecture, very friendly and helpful staff, super spa, best massage ever. Big choice of different food. Delicioous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with an amazing view across the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is nice but could do with a touch up and the price for travel to Sigiriya quoted from the travel desk was extremely expensive. I would suggest contacting a Tuk Tuk company directly as we did and saved a lot of money.

    Great hotel with an amazing view across the lake. Massive room and monkeys everywhere

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great place, must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom fittings were outdated, the room was damp and the light and other switches were located inconveniently. The spa isn't great and very expensive for what they offer. Monkeys in the balconies prevent you from going there.

    The location is breathtaking, the food was absolutely wonderful. The buffet spread was unlike any other, with too many items. The architecture is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Architecture and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food options are limited. Buffet dinner was too pricey, no value for money. And dinner/breakfast room was very noisy (bad acoustics)

    Architecture and the location. Also the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is unnecessary music piped through all public spaces, which was a bit annoying! The bar is a bit soulless, but this isn’t a deal-breaker. When we were there, one of the restaurants was closed fog maintenance, so the choice became a bit limited. I imagine this isn’t an issue when everything is open.

    This hotel is absolutely extraordinary. The architecture is built into the jungle in an eco-friendly and organic triumph. We took 3 day trips through the hotel and the drivers were incredible and very knowledgeable. Do check the prices in the trip ‘menu’ - it was misleadingly labelled, but actually cheaper than we thought!!! Such a magical place - monkeys playing in the corridors!!! I would wholeheartedly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    upgraded to a panoramic room which was such a fantastic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    upgraded to a panoramic room which was such a fantastic room. I loved this hotel for its uniqueness. Nature lovers will surely adore this place for its magnificent concept of eco friendly. Loved the fact that we were surrounded by animals like monkeys, lorris slenders, all kinds of insects,.. bird watching is a activity in the hotel compound. It is a big hotel giving panorama on either Sigiriya or Dambula . The hotel even has a rock cave which bring a uniqueness in the decoration. Keep in mind that the hotel is situated in a sanctuary and 15 mins drive from the city. Hotel provides tuk tuk for LKR1000 for drop off to dambula. but a hotel no be missed at all

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Unmissable natural beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The three pools are all a bit smaller than they appear in the photos.

    This hotel is in the most naturally beautiful location I have ever seen and the architect did well to blend the hotel in with the jungle. I was upgraded to a jacuzzi room and it was stunning. The buffé was delicious and the gym is decent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    A stylish hotel, that has maintained it's standards for many years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a significant number of flies fortunately kept outside of the rooms, which I suspect was a seasonal climatic issue

    A very pleasant hotel to rest in after a hectic touring schedule.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.4
    The view land location were breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Jacuzzi and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very old, and poorly maintained. It is infested with insects, since it’s in the middle of the jungle. At night you’d have flying insects all over the place; on the ceilings and walls of every inch of the hotel (except the rooms). The suites aren’t the best, I am here on my honeymoon so I had a suite booked, they took us to one at first that was horrible, then we made a formal complaint they moved us to a newer one.

    The view land location were breathtaking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    The best hotel experience in Sri Lanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved all of it. If I had to point out a downside I would say the restaurant is a bit pricy for Sri Lankan standards (about 35 USD per person). But on the other hand the quality of the food was outstanding, so we didn't really mind.

    I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Sigiriya. The stunning architecture of the building was the first pleasant surprise. The hotel seems to melt into the surrounding jungle. Amazing views from every corner! We just couldn’t get enough of it and decided to prolong our visit. The staff is one of the most professional we have met and made us feel welcome. The food was delicious and very diverse, so there is something for every appetite. We loved spending time in the three swimming pools (enjoying the amazing view of the infinity pool is truly a unique experience) and having a drink in the lounge (we were even lucky enough to see local dance spectacle there!)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really loved our stay. The location, in the middle of the nature, is perfect for rest. The bathtub in the room was really great! The breakfast is simply amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is amazing - fantastic architecture, 3 pools,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only reservation is that the room was a little smaller than I would expect for the price.

    The hotel is amazing - fantastic architecture, 3 pools, wonderful buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Stunning place to stay for few nights!!! We just stayed one because our trip was a bit tight but this place is to really enjoy in the middle of nature with a big lake. Our room had the jacuzzi and the welcomed us with flowers and candles, just amazing! We also had monkey visiting our room in the morning 😍😍 Staff super friendly. Breakfast buffet offered a big variety of food, everything fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    It is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com did not forward our message informing the hotel we were on our honeymoon. We spent the last night awake from a baby crying throughout the night beside our room. In the morning we informed them when checking out, they did not care one bit (we are fully aware babies cry, we have 1 - but when we told them it was our honeymoon with the main objective to relax before returning to our busy lives they merely replied "so what? nobody told us." We were very surprised by this kind of reaction - the indifference, even a bit defensive. It took much discussion with the man at reception, and indirectly the manager, for them to eventually come to some arrangement. A terrible end to what would have been otherwise a wonderful stay.

    It is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. We loved every bit of it (especially the natural surrounding and the vast buffet for breakfast and dinner)... except for the final night. Some of the staff are caring, kind and very talented (every day they made the towels in a different animal - very cool !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.8
    A good hotel but very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had issues with the cost of the hotel and it ended up converting into a lot more than anticipated. For a 5 star hotel the staff were not very attentive or helpful. This hotel has great potential but I definitely would not say it is 5 star.

    Loved the hotels location. It is situated on a lake and really fits into the environment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    A location you can’t compete with and impeccable service- what a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was terrific!

    Heritance Kandalama is a thriving example of sustainable hospitality as is evident in their waste management policies. It’s responsible luxury at its best! Ask for a tour of their ecopark to have a better sense of the thought and planning that had gone into making this far more than just a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.1
    Nice but old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So many insects everywhere!! Windows need cleaning more often as there are thousands of insects stuck to them. The hotel is old and rundown. Needs an upgrade. There are also weird big empty open spaces that are a bit strange. Food was disappointing except for the cave dinner which was world class (but extremely expensive). many staff didn’t speak enough English to be helpful. Not luxury premises.

    Beautiful views, friendly staff. Danushka in particular provided wonderful service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.8
    It‘s a Bawa work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner food was normal but breakfast it’s fabulous. There’s nothing around the hotel so you have to do all meals in the hotel, but that’s why this hotel is amazing!!

    It‘s a Bawa work! It‘s amazing, is a 5* hotel lost in jungle.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    Incredibly wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was all amazingly good.

    Perhaps the best hotel experience I have had anywhere in the world. Magnificent built and natural environment (complete with well behaved curious monkeys). The location give access to a range of breathtaking sites, including the magnificent Sigiriya. Staff who actively followed me up about my left goods arranging their return without drama. A pleasure all round and I can't wait to find my way back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed, because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed, because of the emplacement. The building is very nice, in the middle of the jungle, the view from the restaurant is impressive and the staff is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Wonderfull and amazing. The most beautifull hotel I ever experienced !
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The office where I (and the other clients) have to pay. And a small remark about the restaurant, little view outside, less cosy because of cool lightcolour ?

    The superb building and spaces, surroudings and swimming-pools ! Thanks to the integration of and confrontation with the existing rock. It never felt as a large hotel with so many rooms, the hotel has a very human scale.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic view of the lake and mountains , and we love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning could be better; and the staff at the front desk doesn’t smile..

    Fantastic view of the lake and mountains , and we love the swimming pool so much!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    Little tropical Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very isolated which means the only dining option was the hotel restaurant unless you wanted to go 15 minutes down the road

    It was it's own little oasis on the lake. Stunning location with great views from our room on the 5th floor. We didn't have time to use the pools but they all looked fantastic taking advantage of the beautiful outlook and watching the sunset while someone plays music on a pipe while sitting on a rock was quite special.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy pumping installation at the 3rd swimming pool very close to room. Asked to shut it down at night but where given another room further away instead. Which was nice.

    Great hotel. Perfect service. Good food. Amazing setting. Masterpiece

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Just relax here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great stay! We stayed just two nights in a standard room and it was sufficiently large for us, clean and cozy. We love its surrounding with the forest and animals (monkies, squirells, many kind of birds… ) and that made us relax so much. The buffet style dinner and breakfast are wonderful with wide variety of food, in the restaurant with great view. We want to go back right now!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to locate things in the hotel (eg the various pools and restaurants) and the staff were not very helpful.

    The hotel was in a stunning location and was very eco-friendly. A great base to visit Sigiriya from. Very good breakfast in a room making the most of the views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At night there are so many bugs and little creatures that come into the room or fly at you when your walking in the passage way. There are monkeys that try to open the balcony door so make sure it’s all locked.

    The room greeted us to an amazing view. The food was great with a variety to select from. Hands down the best dessert I’ve tasted at a hotel so far. The spa is a must try! It was a little pricy but worth every penny spent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed is in the back, thus without lake or jungle view. The staff can be more friendly.

    In the middle of a jungle and around lake. The hotel itself is well attached with the nature. Get up early and walk around. You will enjoy it. Btw, there are local folk bank playing music at the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    The views the rooms and staff up to checkout was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I believe the hotel needs to look at it's cancellation policies. We cancelled one of our rooms at quite a few places and heritance was the only hotel that charged a full cancellation fee even though booking.com said we should have received some money back. When discussed with hotel staff at checkout the refused to credit any money.

    The views the rooms and staff up to checkout was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Heritance Kandalama Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: