Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Kalutara District holiday rental reviews
  4. Wadduwa holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Larn's Villa Hotel & Apartment

Reviews of Larn's Villa Hotel & Apartment

larn's Villa Beach Road ,Pohaddaramulla, 12560 Wadduwa, Sri Lanka

#4 of 6 Holiday rentals in Wadduwa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 apartment reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 36

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2019

    9.6
    Perfect simple family apartment - excellent in its class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much The showers took a little while to work out but we got there

    We chose Larn’s as we needed to be in wadduwa to attend a wedding as part of touring holiday. We spent 2 nights here with our family with children 3 and 6 and stayed in the apartment which provided 2 beds 2 bathrooms and loads of space which was fab. Simply furnished but with a large balcony which you could see the beach from . Everyone was so friendly towards us and our children. I’m so pleased we stayed somewhere like this rather than a big hotel. The kids enjoyed the pool and the pet bunny and the freedom to run around the garden area safely. The owners were so lovely , they helped us get a tuk tuk to our wedding venue , and the lady owner even helped me dress in my saree before I went out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    8.3
    Really nice host, second house at the Beach, nice Dinner,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has nothing to do with the accommodation itself but the Beach was a bit scary and lonesome

    Really nice host, second house at the Beach, nice Dinner, quiet pool area and good stopover back to negombo

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    8.8
    Friendly, clean, peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY friendly couple who is running the Villa. I felt a warm welcome and it was the perfect start for my 3 week holiday in Sri Lanka. It is a peaceful place and the beach is 1 minute walking.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2019

    10
    Place is good and found a nice beach infront of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner's wife talked aggressively and no smile at all.

    Place is good and found a nice beach infront of the property. Clean pool and enjoyed delicious food for very reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    10
    Great stay near ocean! Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got room on the second floor with pool view. Villa situated only 50 meters far from the beach. In the morning waves are not so big, so you can come into the ocean (only adults). Room is simple but clean. The most important, that there is A/C. In shower is hot water (normal). Food is tasty. We booked roomwith breakfast. Also possible to order lunch there. If you want sea food - better to make order in the morning. In 10 min walking is good sea food restaurant also. At the territory you can use swimming pool and relax in the garden. In hotel live rabbit. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    10
    Accomodation owners were very friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accomodation owners were very friendly and kind. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with hot water. TV worked with international channels. They offered very good food in the accomodation. Meals could be ordered at any time - for breakfast, for lunch and for dinner. Excellent service :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    9.2
    This small, well-run hotel provides excellent value for money in a pretty setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The owners are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. Well-maintained garden and pool, peaceful feel about the place. Our stay was very relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed a great holiday in Larn's Villa. It has a beautiful garden and a great swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We enjoyed a great holiday in Larn's Villa. It has a beautiful garden and a great swimming pool. The apartment is well-equipped, spacious and air-conditioned. Owners are very nice people and happy to advise. We asked for tips on trips or arranging taxi. The food was excellent both breakfast and menu. We enjoyed the tuna steak and the rice and curry. Thank you for the beautiful stay and the friendly atmosphere! Klara

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    8.8
    It was a short stay for us but nevertheless worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not something negative about the accommodation. But just try to avoid the tuktuk from outside of this stay. Got ridiculously over charged. Which in this case was our own fault. We were in a hurry and did not ask before hand what the price would be nor found the time to negotiate. Kind of left a stain on our memory to Wadduwa. But would definitely be good to know for the other guests.

    It was a short stay for us but nevertheless worth it. The owner was so polite, helpful and nice. We arrived later then expected due to our delayed flight. But this was no problem. The rooms were nice and the bed was comfortable. We got some good sleep in before leaving again early the next morning. So many thanks for all the kindness!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    Larn's Villa was very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The location wasn't what we expected as there wasn't much in the town and also you need to be aware of being scammed by some of the locals. These young men follow you and tell you about their country and tourist attractions and they ask for money. They become pests and you need to be rude to get rid of them.

    The food was excellent and Ajith and Mrs A were very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Best place to rest and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is great! It is small family hotel with very nice pool and beautiful garden. Whole object was very clean and well maintained. The host and his family were very helpful and are the nicest peoples we have meet in Sri Lanka. And their rabbit Kiri who lives in the garden and socializes with guests makes this place even more special. This is best place to rest and relax.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making payments with cash was troublesom as we had trouble getting to the ATM. We usually make payments through card transactions . Lunch was a let down. Sometimes it didn't feel like a holiday from the way the owner treated us, everyone in our group of 8 people agreed on this.eventhough I was given one hour each from bookings for check in and out, it was not given by the hotel.

    Extremely clean rooms. The one boy who served us was really helpful. Clean beach, walking distance. The side dishes we ordered later were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2019

    7.9
    simpel hotel with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no frefrigerator

    state of the facilities

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2019

    8.3
    The owner was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly. We had a great stay. Nice play If you just arrived in Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Host is very friendly and had long chats with them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host is very friendly and had long chats with them. It's a family run business and the owners are maintaining the property nicely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room

    The pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    The owner was very friendly and atentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly and atentive.The pool was very clean and nice and the food was fresh and tasty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.2
    Great food, lovely pool and very welcoming owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The pillows were quite hard and lumpy.

    Great food, lovely pool and very welcoming owners

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    Clean outdoor(garden,pool) and indoor of hotel, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean outdoor(garden,pool) and indoor of hotel, very pleasant stuff always prepared to give you any info,you want. Breakfast tastefull,all dinners as well. We can recomend this hotel as good one for relax.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.8
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No seaview because of a big new hotel in front of Larn's villa.

    Warm welcome. Ajith and Nirosha are very nice. They really want to take care of you and want to help you if necessary. Dinner and breakfast were good. Swimmingpool is nice after been in the sea. Kiri Kiri the rabbit is always somewhere around. Colombo is close by. If necessary Ajith organize a taxi from the airport or to Colombo.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    The staff is amazing and the location is in a very safe and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is amazing and the location is in a very safe and quiet garden with a pool. It was a great end of my stay in Sri Lanka and the people working here are so friendly and relaxed! Thanks and next time I come to Sri Lanka I start ànd end my trip at your hotel!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    8.8
    The owner as well as the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner as well as the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was a plus point for the hotel and is clean. The rooms were cozy for a relaxing weekend getaway.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.5
    The warm and friendly atmosphere made for a stress free 30...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The warm and friendly atmosphere made for a stress free 30 days. The garden and pool were ideal to relax in and the staff were first class - happy and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    Have booked this place for 4 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a very good beach nearby hotel (very narrow). but it is not a problem if you are ready to walk 100 meters to the left

    Have booked this place for 4 nights... and after that made prolongation for another 2! Very beautiful cosy territory, clean rooms and peaceful environment. Beach at 15 meters from hotel. Friendly owners, who are making everything to make you feel like at home. Good staff and tasty cheap meals. Thanks a lot for kindness and hospitality ;)

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    3.8
    big construction of new hotel going on next to vila, it is...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    big construction of new hotel going on next to vila, it is awful to stay close to swimming pool with all these smell and noise. Food in the hotel is not in a very good quality, poor quality of meat. owner switch off the internet all the time,

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    9.6
    The personnel is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi is available in public zones and is available by request.

    The personnel is excellent! The ration price/quality is perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.1
    Larn's Villa is a little hard to find but once arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the beach, which is nearby (2 minutes by foot), is not too well suited for beach vacations... As the place is a little out-of-town you can't do a lot around that area but the owners will help you to plan a little trip and order a three-wheeler and/or a cab.

    Larn's Villa is a little hard to find but once arrived it is a really nice and clean place with a beautiful little garden and a pool. The rooms are simple but alright and clean with a bathroom including hot water and in our case with air conditioning. The meals are alright as well but nothing too special. Therefore the service guy was very nice and pleasant as the owner and his family were too. Thank you for an unforgettable new years eve 2014/2015 :-)

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    We like everything - lovely staff,very nice place,clean room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like everything - lovely staff,very nice place,clean room,the owners of the hotel were very amazing people, beautiful garden with small clean swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.3
    Hard working trained staff headed by the owner and his wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard working trained staff headed by the owner and his wife. Always clean public area. Delicious food. High respect and attention to each visitor.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Great friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great friendly staff Excellent food Kiri the rabbit

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely staff, comfy bed, great location, good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in the room would have been nice

    Lovely staff, comfy bed, great location, good food

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    There was a pretty rabbit around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach is not good for a walk or fun.

    There was a pretty rabbit around the hotel. the owner and staff are really friendly and helpfull..

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    10
    Great place with nice and comfortable rooms, great garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place with nice and comfortable rooms, great garden with sunbeds and pool and the staff was really kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    9.2
    This was our second stay at the Hotel and we enjoyed it as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay at the Hotel and we enjoyed it as the last time. We definitely recommend this Hotel for nice, cozy weekend get-away.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpul staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty surroundings, damaged road.

    Friendly and helpul staff!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Staff Very good, they help is for everything , good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dirty beach close to the guesthouse .

    Staff Very good, they help is for everything , good location, relax, good dishes.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 36

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: