Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Galle District B&B and inn reviews
  4. Galle B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Millennium Rest & Gems

Reviews of Millennium Rest & Gems

70A, Church Street, Fort, 80000 Galle, Sri Lanka

#105 of 165 B&Bs and inns in Galle

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.1
    Location is absolutely the best, straight in the historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As few people said here, the bedsheet isn’t fitting the bed, it’s smaller than needed. That means is always crumpled on the bed, annoying when you want to have undisturbed sleep. Also, a mattress and walls need some cleaning.

    Location is absolutely the best, straight in the historical part of the city.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great stop in this fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mahesh and his family were great hosts and I would recommend them to anyone. Definitely not a hotel but if your looking for the personal touch then this place is great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didn’t seem to reach to our room and it is only on certain hours of the day but it wasn’t a big problem for us.

    The place was very spacious and clean with really good working aircon. The location was amazing right in the middle of the fort with tons of restaurants right on the doorstep. The staff were friendly and helped provide us with travel information, as well as storing our bags for the day. Galle is more expensive than other places around Sri Lanka so it’s a good price for what you get there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable, the hosts were really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really small and there was only 1 chair, you had to be inside before 10pm....

    The room was clean and comfortable, the hosts were really friendly and we could ask them anything, for 1 night at Galle it’s the perfect location! The WiFi connection was good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no breakfast but the price was really low so understandable. The door was closed at 9.15 pm already so we had to ring the door a few times before we could get in. The bathroom smelled a little weird. Only cash payment.

    Great location, friendly family and beautiful house. Wifi and AC were great. Great view from the rooftop. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Not recommended, would never return to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection timetable is placed at the door, super slow connection. The room is small, only one plug is available. The blanket is too thin for an air-conditioned room. The bathroom handheld shower holder is broken. Windows has no curtains. The staffs does not bother you much. No official receipt provides when I even requested it and the room was overcharged comparing the exchange rate showed in Booking.com, this is totally unacceptable. I would not re-visit again.

    It is only 15 minutes away from the Galle Railway Station. Clean room. Good location for nearby attractions. The owner offers a ok rate for currency exchange if you are in urgent need, but the bank offers higher rate. Allowed for luggage storage after check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    4.2
    I have been cheated and conned
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that he claimed I had no room in his property and him denying I had personal items in his guesthouse and inly giving it back after a police visit, were exceptionally bad experiences..

    I paid for my room but never got a receipt. When I came back in the evening the owner claimed I had no room in his guesthouse and I had no items there. Only when I went to the police, The owner returned my items. I would never again book a room here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.5
    Really clean room and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was rubbish, was more of a slow tap. But probably fixable by just changing the shower head! WiFi was okay, in and out a bit.

    Really clean room and comfy bed. And good AC. In a great location for Galle fort area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely owners. There is a gem shop downstairs and we had a great chat with the owner about his gem collection. Good location - restaurants etc within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly, and rooms were basic but clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one plug in the room, we had a balcony door with no curtain, so we had to trap a towel in the door for privacy. Also after 10pm the area is a ghost town.

    The staff were very friendly, and rooms were basic but clean! Good price compared to others in the fort!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great location and an awesome view from the roof top! Galle is a beautiful little town and definitely worth a couple of days visit. I'd stay at this guesthouse again also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Good location in the center of the Galle fort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet seat looked really dirty but maybe was just old. The shower isn’t the best.

    Good location in the center of the Galle fort. The room was big, comfortable and very clean. The host and his family are really friendly and help with every imaginable problem. They also changed money from/to multiple currencies to good rates and arranged an airport taxi. We were allowed to stay in the public areas for the whole day after checking out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So close to everything being right in the heart of the fort, lovely family that helped with anything we needed. Would recommend if you’re staying in the fort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    7.1
    Prepare to pay more than advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was charged an additional booking fee that was not mentioned when I made the reservation on booking.com. The price was this significantly higher than expected. Not sure this is legal.

    Good location, clean room. Lovely view from the roooftop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, facilities & value with a lovely, welcoming family.. highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really enjoyed my stay here, Mahesh and his lovely family were so welcoming and super knowledgeable about the area (ask him where to buy spices, a local’s store, amazing!). AirCon and a hot shower after a few weeks in Sri Lanka were a luxury! I also bought some gem stone jewellery from his shop and, again, super knowledgeable and reliable.. all in all, fantastic value and highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean rooms with basic furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean rooms with basic furniture. Bathroom was also clean and ok. Came very late but the owners were very welcoming and nice despite me arriving around 10 pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.3
    Family Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are set up above a family home thus to get to your room you have to walk through their living room. That would not be soo bad but when the relatives are visiting and daughter is practicing piano, though playing well, it can be rather noisy. There is no comfort area for guest to hangout even though there is a space on the roof. Some comfy seats on the roof would made a difference.

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No meals are served, which is not a bad thing since there are plenty of delicious restaurants within walking distance.

    Very comfortable, clean place to stay, nice people run it, would definitely recommend to other travelers. It’s a perfect budget accommodation to stay in the fort itself, my husband and I really enjoyed walking around at night and seeing the fort at it’s quietest. Good security at the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    7.5
    The location was great. Simple / convenient accomodation .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sheets were too small for the mattress and kept coming off during the night and window in the room we had did not open to the outside.

    Great location for exploring Galle and the old fort :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    9.2
    Great value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mosquito net over the bed. But we were luckily not bitten. Not the best wifi. But most cafés and restaurants nearby has wifi as well.

    It is a great budget-friendly option in Galle Fort - which can be quite expensive. Location is great! Galle Fort is small so everything is in waking distance. The family is very kind and welcoming. The room was nice and clean. It is simple but perfect for a short stay to wander around Galle Fort and shop souvenirs. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    8.8
    Fine, small room with private bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was so kind and helpful, but when we asked for help to book a taxi, they took 3000 rubies in commission without telling us.

    Fine, small room with private bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.9
    Really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Millenium Rest & Gems is very much what it says on the tin, and for that it's great value for money. Galle is expensive so to find an okay room right in the middle of Galle Fort for this sort of money is, I think, quite rare. Don't expect any fancy frills but the shower worked and the bed was fine. Something we found quite bizarre is that they turn the Wifi on and off at certain times of the day but frankly, you won't want to do much more than sleep in the room anyway. The family that run the rooms are all very friendly and polite and were helpful whenever we had questions. We extended our stay by two nights, at which point they changed our towels and made up the room, and for a budget conscious traveller I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay right in the fort close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A but expensive but I think this is throughout galle. Also awkward how you have to walk through a gem store and the families living area to get to your room

    Great place to stay right in the fort close to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    4.2
    For one night ok, but dont except warming family welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need to walk to your tiny room through the family’s living room. You need to leave your shoes at their gem store. It feels like you’re not welcome and just bothering their normal life. The manager seemed really greedy, the price is not what it showed on booking.com cos there’s some extra tax. Also cos its their home they lock the front door at 10 oclock. The wifi works only certain times of the day. The connection was really slow when there even was a connection at all...

    Location good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    4.6
    They don't give you a bill, even though you pay a good amount of TAX, so clearly tax evasion is what, they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic amenities and when compared with its price i found it expensive, as the hotels next door were offering better facilities at much better price.

    Its located at a prime location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.6
    The family were very welcoming and helpful throughout our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay- particularly their daughter. They helped to organise a taxi for us, suggested places for meals and even provided us with the opportunity to go for a free pedicure with a trainee at the spa across the road. Very good value for money and a lovely location in the Fort area of Galle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Put more furniture in the room,a nice table is more like it.

    Ummm...the room it's just okay,I mean you need find a place to stay,then here's just a place to sleep,nothing else. The location is great,so close to the beach and light house. The good thing is you can go to the roof to see the whole view. The owner is kind and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    10
    Perfect place to see the Fort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi patchy, but who needs that when you're in this place?!

    The bed was big and comfortable Clean room. Air CON was great. Clean bathroom. Good water pressure. Nice owner who talked to us about his city. Location is smack bang perfect. The local Muslim population were very welcoming, there were many visitors for a special ceremony when we visited. The local guy wanted to show us around his house. Great atmosphere around here throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    10pm Curfew which is understandable. If you have a night down the beach, book a place down there for the night :)

    Very nice family that run the Rest. Great location. Basic and ideal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.2
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower bracket was broken in the bathroom so you have to hold it.

    Location, it's central in the fort. Clean rooms with good showers. Really friendly owners

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.8
    Cheapest place but doesn't feel it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to walk up a stair case located in the middle of the family house which was initially a bit awkward but they're so used to guests everyone just smiled and said hello so we soon got over the awkwardness

    Very good value for money- was the cheapest place on tripadvisor but had a large comfy bed, very clean, air con and a nice sized bathroom. Basic but exactly what we needed and very central location in the fort. Manager was very friendly as were his family so felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    The host was so friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host was so friendly and helpful! Always smiling, what a beautiful place to stay right in the centre of everything. Everything within walking distance. Aircon and fan in room which was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    7.9
    Worth it for the rooftop view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Feels a bit weird to walk through their jewellery store and their living room to go upstairs to my room. Lack of affordable restaurants within the Fort area

    Great location, the roof offers unique sunrise view of the Lighthouse

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location!!! But don't forget 5€ tax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - shower head has to be fixed

    - central location in Galle - big room with AC and little balcony - roof terrace - single room on top of the building - near souvenir shops

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    6.3
    The localisation of the guesthouse is amazing on Church st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the last stop of our trip in Sri Lanka and def the least friendly guesthouse we stayed at. The room was fine with the private bathroom but there was a curfew at 10:30pm because you have to go inside the gem shop and in the house to access the room. It all felt very business and not a lot of warmth.

    The localisation of the guesthouse is amazing on Church st. within the walls.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location in the middle of Galle Fort just few steps...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a dislike, just for information: - there is no breakfast served, but you have several options anywhere close by

    Perfect location in the middle of Galle Fort just few steps from the famous Lighthouse. You can spend evenings on the rooftop terrace with fantastic view. Staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.9
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not able to check in earlier than 14 sharp. Some more ants than other places we have visited but nothing that would stop me from staying there again.

    Works great for a night or two. Only place where we've had hot water! Perfect location inside the fort.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    4.5
    Not worth the high score!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a room without windows for 2 nights, no atmospere at all! The rooftop terrace was very disapointing, no where to sit, only laundry from I guess the owner. This was the most expensive room on our Sri Lanka trip and not worth it when we compare with the amazing places we stayed for much better value. To enter the hotel you have to go through a gems shop (leave your shoes there) and the living room of the owner. No breakfast. We found the owner not so friendly, he is more a businessman than a guesthouse manager. On top of the price of the room he added 26% (!!) on check out. (later I found this info in my booking but like many others who stayed here (see more reviews) I hadn't noticed, you really have to click through the confirmation a couple of times to find this info:4% touristtax, 12% taxes, 10% service (what service?) I reserve many rooms through booking but never experienced this. You have to be inside at 22:00!? Not mentioned in the description, should be. Unfortunately we booked the 2 nights in advance (we stopped doing this after this experience) and could not cancel the 2nd night, otherwise we would have checked out after our first night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, good for one night but nothing special for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner a bit grumpy but his wife and kids were very kind. No pressure in shower, dirty walls inside room. It's next to mosque so you hear loud prayers 5 times a day. I feel like we overpaid for what we got. Note this is family house and jewellery store more than a guest house.

    Clean except walls inside our room, no shoes inside policy, fast wifi, amazing location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    5.4
    Service Charge For No Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was broken and we asked for either a repair or another room. The owners response was he knew it was broken and if we did not like it leave the property. As he charges 10% service charge we feel the customer service at best was appalling. We accept the tax eventually appears at the end of booking but service charge is a tip and believe us he and the accomodation is not worth it. Overpriced and facilities very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    7.1
    great location, bit expensive for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a family home so they ask you to return in the evening by 10pm, or soon after, which is a little early for us. Price is a little high once taxes are added, which are around 25% on top. If you walk around nearby there are much better hotel prices within a minute's walk.

    Great location, in the centre of the Fort area, near all the cafes and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location for fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was fixed next to the toilet. Thus, during showering, the toilet becomes completely wet. However, it is just small disadvantage.

    Nice price for such a location. Room was proclaimed to have a ventilator only, but there was air conditioning which was nice surprise. Very nice stuff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi signal is not stable in your room

    Good location Friendly staff and good information provided

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent Location Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    6.3
    Outstanding location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad odor from the bathroom. WiFi only turned on at random times. Dirty sheets and towels.

    Outstanding location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for discovering Galle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location, clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean room. Great location in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, nice view from the rooftop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast or dinner. I would pay a little more for breakfast.

    Location is great, nice view from the rooftop. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay in Galle old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in the old town Galle, clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.1
    nice and very friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    slightly smell but with open window and running fan no problem

    very good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location is fantastic and air con was a treat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    3.8
    Stay away from this place and the rude owner who is a thief!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty sheets, very rude and angry owner, additional charges, curfew at 10pm

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    6.3
    Just okay, but you can do better in the Fort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was rude and his attitude affected the whole stay. Do these people want guests in their house?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.3
    Basic, clean place with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sheet was too small, had to use ductape to keep it in form during the night.

    The location was excellent for roaming around the fort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great location in Fort Galle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet isn't on the whole day.

    Great location in the middle of Fort Galle. Cool view from the roof.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no

    perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.1
    Overall nice guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of extra taxes that I were not aware of were added on the price which was a bit ennoying.

    Good location, comfy beds, hot water in shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.5
    Nice Accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - All good!

    Nice Accomodation. All you need, not more, not less... :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed could have been slightly more comfortable

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy rooms, friendly family who own the guest house!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Wifi signal is not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi signal is not very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    Amazeballs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOT WATER!!! My first hot shower in what felt like forever! Free wifi and proper air con for £15 per night.. very happy <3

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    8.8
    1 night in Galle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon is pretty old and works very slow

    Owners of the place are kind and nice. Amazing view from terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    10
    Hiden gem
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler

    clean & econamy

    nice place to stay

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    9.6
    CleAnless
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I lost muy cap!

    CleAnless

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay in Galle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    11:30 curfew

    Location, price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    8.8
    Shower was difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was difficult

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Galle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly hosts who helped us with what we needed. Perfect location too!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2017

    7.1
    Great location and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit expensive for what they offer, but at the end youpay for being inside the fort.

    Great location and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    9.2
    Central location in thefort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful owner and central location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location . Good value

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit inconvenient to come in and out. We came back in the evening after dinner and had to ring the bell and wait for someone to open the door.

    Good location. Room is basic but we got a discount that made it good value. Not great value at full price though.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2016

    8.8
    Good location in the fort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower is not very functionnal (tiny tube) Missed some furnitures to put our luaguages

    Good location in the fort Calm area Air conditionning (necessary!) Good value (we booked it with a discount) Clean Can arrange pick up and drop off

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    8.8
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi was weak in the room and extremely slow. You needed to go down stairs to the jewelry store or living area in order to get a strong signal. Or many places offer free wifi when you eat or drink there

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was close to lots of things in the fort and good restaurants. The boutique restaurant right across was really good. Avoid hammock cafe in dutch hospital area (food horrible and expensive)

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    10
    Right in the Centre with restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing really. A kettle in the room would have been nice but they gave me hot water whenever I asked.

    Right in the Centre with restaurants close by. Lovely family running it. They have an area which is perfect to do yoga and watch the sunrise.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: