Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Matale District hotel reviews
  4. Dambulla hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sundaras Resort & Spa

Reviews of Sundaras Resort & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

189 Kandy Road, 21100 Dambulla, Sri Lanka

#30 of 51 hotels in Dambulla

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1978 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    9.0
    Really pleasant family style hotel with great staff and services to help you enjoy your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (Pool side) with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at this venue went over and above for us during our stay, helping to organise transport to different locations - free of charge in some instances - places like Sigiriya Rock, The Cave Temples or Minneriya National Park. They had a great jeep for when you wanted fresh air, or a nice van with air con for when it was too hot. The breakfast was also amazing - so much food on offer, both Sri Lankan and western. Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone looking at visiting Sigiriya Rock as an alternative to staying right in Sigiriya as its close enough to a few different spots. The staff spoke exceptionally good English so we had no trouble organising everything and they can help organise airport or other car transfers at competitive prices. The pool is also a great bonus for when it gets too hot!!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    10
    We really enjoyed this place, the staff was super friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed this place, the staff was super friendly and helpful with us. The accommodation was more than expected, with a great swimming pool and bar! I would stay again 100%.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    7.9
    Food and cocktails were delicious, the staff are incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and cocktails were delicious, the staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. Saman (the resort driver) was great, he was our own personal tour guide while we were there and was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    10
    Relaxing place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After a tiring day climbing Sigirya rock we needed a comfortable and relaxing accommodation, we made the perfect decision choosing Sundaras Resort and Spa which is 2 minutes away from the Cave temple. The facilities were great, especially the swimming pool which is surrounded by tropical trees giving it a charming view. The menu is also varied and with reasonable prices! Special thanks go to Siddu and the rest of the staff for their amazing treatment and friendliness.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    8.8
    The property is nice and close (walking distance) to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our shower didn’t work very well - and it was very humid so this was a bit frustrating. It was a little expensive for what it was but for the area probably reasonable.

    The property is nice and close (walking distance) to the Dambulla Cave Temple. They organised all our trips to surrounding areas. We went with Mohammed who was our tour guide and he was amazing - he helped by older Mum climb up mountains, took a bazillion photos for us and kept stopping and picking us up fruit on the way home. I love the swim up pool bar and the staff were incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    10
    Happy stay ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain

    Liked how it’s placed in middle of a jungle and the pool was a ice breaker. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It’s very close to the so called golden temple and also they have sunrise tours and safari tours you don’t need to struggle to get around the city they will help you and guide you with no extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful pool and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the pool bar and surroundings. Comfortable room with nice view over pool area. Restaurant had a nice ambience and very good evening meals. Great location for walking up to dambulla cave temples - go left out of the hotel and take the first left up to the ticket office. Bit of a hill and steps to climb but worth it!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    4.2
    Has the potential to be a lot better than it currently is, needs attention to maitenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a double room in the old original part of the resort which was quite run down and tired desperately in need of a make over. Room was not quite ready 15 mins after check in time and the door scraped on the floor. Floor was still quite dirty even though it had been cleaned. The ceiling leaked during a heavy rain storm. The staff were noisy early in the morning coming and going through the staff door located at the end of the corridor, allowing the door to continually bang shut and talking to one another. Shower had no door and main shower head was missing leaving only a hand held shower to wash with. Hand basin leaks water all over the floor, no vanity bench area, toilet seta loose. Squeaky bathroom door and small garden area next to bathroom was tired and dilapidated. 1 bedside light missing a globe. Pool area was run down and needed attention - appeared to be half finished. Grout missing from tiles and some tiles were broken and dangerous. Slippery faux stone edging not completed. Dining area looked tired and the line of hat lights between the tables hung too low causing people to have to continually duck.

    Although we didn't stay in the new section it looks from the outside to be nice and modern, pleasant staff, the manager was very friendly and quickly replaced the faulty sweep fan that failed due to a power outage with a brand new one. Barman was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Food at the bar and restaurant was good and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    9.6
    Dambulla stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating, always willing to answer questions and smile. The people of Sri Lanka have been nothing but a pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    6.7
    Not luxurious but friendly and cheap place to enjoy the activities nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms were not clean and had ants everywhere. The service in the restaurant was often slow and poor. The chairs by the pool weren't enough for all the guests and weren't very comfortable. The bar music was way too loud all day long which some people may not like.

    Friendly staff at the reception, nice pool with bar, good organisation of several daily tours to temples, rocks and safaris.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    4.2
    The property is pretty close to the Dambulla Cave temple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sheets were dirty, they had dirt marks and something that looked like lipstick stain. Right next to the building is the construction site (hotel is sharing a wall with it basically) so was not much of a holiday with all the noise coming from it and also we didn’t use the balcony bcs the workers were only a few meters from us. Overall was a total ripoff. Should cost 3 time less then what we paid for.

    The property is pretty close to the Dambulla Cave temple (walking distance). It has a nice pool with a chill atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    2.5
    DO NOT STAY HERE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed at. So much so that we checked out early and took a hit on what we paid for 3 nights and left after 1. On checkout, they wouldn’t provide me with a refund for the two nights early we were checking out and tried to charge me for several food items that were not consumed. I wouldn’t recommend this place to my worst enemy. Dirty place, broken bathroom window (see pic), ants in the room, deceptive staff and a spring break type atmosphere. Think girls dancing on bars and guests pouring themselves drinks. At the price point you can get much better for your money.

    Nothing - do not stay here. Pictures online are misleading, they charge you on check in before you have a chance to see and assess the room. Demand to see your room before you pay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    5.4
    Close to the cave temple
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A dated facility. The room was dirty and stinky mainly from-whatever they sprayed down with it. We had to air it out for hours and that still didn’t clear the smell. The closet smelt of moth balls. The food was the worst we have had In Our stay in Sri Lanka. Place has potential with upgrades

    Close to the cave temple

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    5.0
    Absolutely waste of money. I demand my money back and my ID which they lost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) I gave my ID when checked in and never gave me back. I have rang them when I realized back in Colombo and they said that they will post it to the given local address via a text message. But still haven't received. If I don't receive my ID by end of April 2019, I will take this further as I have no time to get another ID. 2) There were ants in the toilet which I asked them to clean, but no one did it. My kids were absolutely petrified about little insects. no one actually cared. 3) Pool was lethal. So many uneven tiles where my kids had cuts in their foots. Haven't seen anyone cleaning the pool other than pouring a jug of something to the pool and take fallen leafs from a net. Also under pool bar there some electrical wiring which I was gobsmacked to see as they were not properly done. 4) Food wasn't great. Some of the desserts looked like from previous days buffet. 5) There were some guests smoking (smelled like cannabis) in the pool bar area while they were in the pool. None of the staff told them not to as there were kids in the pool. 6) Ground room privacy was shocking. Anyone can see your bathroom from outside through the trellis. See the attached photos. 7) When I arrived my booking was cancelled. Then they gave us completely different rooms as there were no pool side family rooms available even though we have booked. 8) Lack of car parking. Very tight parking space at the front. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone even though it's the last option.

    Only the some of the staff was very friendly. Massaging two staff were absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    5.0
    The swim up bar was really nice with great cocktails.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They tried to charge us $10 for early check in, even though I’d emailed ahead and they said that it would be fine. Our room smell of sewers. The breakfast options are awful and the fruit wasn’t fresh. The buffet for dinner is very over priced and the food available isn’t very good quality.

    The swim up bar was really nice with great cocktails.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    5.8
    Potential grounds but not worth the $160usd/night for the deluxe family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (Pool side)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool wasn't too clean and the tiles ended giving 3 out of 5 of us with small cuts. The breakfast and dinner buffet was ok but the pool food wasn't great at all. The grounds has potential but lots of things don't make sense and not finished. The gym was a joke.

    The children liked the bunnies. Overall most staff were friendly. Room was clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    4.2
    It was cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (Pool side)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was extremely under trained. Totally irresponsible. Improper management. Booking procedure is abysmal. There's a high chance that your room get flooded. Very few options for food, and charge you for drinking water.

    It was cheap. Guess you can't complain that much when you compare the rates.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    5.8
    There were hidden charges which one would notice when got the final bill!!! Unhappy about that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were ok but could be more honest and friendlier. You had this feeling that you have to tip every one so that they serve you better.

    The garden of the hotel with swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.8
    Overpriced - only nice on pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place looks really nice on pictures, but it doesn’t hold up to them, once you’re there. Meals & drinks were overpriced and not really fresh. In the situation after the attacks the staff wasn’t helpful at all. They did a very weird check in the rooms (we suppose for bombs?) but only looked under the bed and into the cupboards - bags were not checked at all. We tried to ask, how we could get to Kandy safely and the response was basically this: just stand at the street and wait for a bus to come. On top of that they didn’t clean the room and we had to get fresh towels ourselves. No recommendation from us.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent stay during our tour of Sri Lanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used the Sundaras resort as a base from which to visit Sigiriya Rock, Dambulla Lake and the cave temple (only a short walk from the hotel). Nice pool area and cool shaded gardens, polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    6.7
    Location was great, pool bar really good, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad smell inside triple superior room, very dark, overpriced no free water included in the inclusive dinner or breakfast, no natural daylight.

    Location was great, pool bar really good, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    3.3
    Good location, but hotel itself requires improvement for people paying their hard earned money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t believe the hype. Every time we went to reception there were people complaining. - Rooms very basic. - Power shortages. - Music thumping at 7.30am. - Cocktails aren’t that good, and expensive - Happy hour is buy 2 drinks, get third free but you have to ask over and over again for the 3rd. - They DON’T want you using any other taxi service or bus for any trips, they will try and talk you out of it and to go with their overinflated prices. - Get 2 small bottles and 2 medium sized bottles of water in your fridge, the medium ones you have to pay extra for. - Hardly any sun beds to chill out on after a long day at the nearby sites you are in the area for. - The food wasn’t good, buffet had nearly ran out just after 8 when we decided to go, and at the pool bar we had a mix up over one meal, wanted chicken stir fry, ended up with a mixture of fish and something else? Unless chicken now tastes of fish and looks black, I’ll stand corrected.

    The location is good. That’s it. Would rank this hotel 2 out of 5 purely on the location, but Booking.com have a false reading when putting in scores

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    5.0
    Swimming pool was oky but clean less is bad water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We choosed food from A la Carte menu chicken fried rice and chopsuey rice it was disaster I never expected that even we had breakfast lunch and dinner as well from the main reastaurant buffet that also same, starter to dessert very bad food, when I pour vegetable soup inside has one hair also then I show that guy who working as a inchage restaurant then he offerd to me chicken noodle soup that also taste les, honestly we are not happy about food please recover that as soon as possible, front office staff very friendly even bell boy

    Swimming pool was oky but clean less is bad water

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    7.5
    Good place to stay - but no lift is a drawback when travelling with elderly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift in this property - was very difficult as we had elderly people with us and we were all in 5th floor

    The staff was very helpful, especially the Chef

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    10
    Wonderful pool to relax and good access to Cave temple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music was a bit too loud at the swimming pool. Also people were smoking at the poolside. It will be nice if smoking was not allowed in public swimming areas.

    I loved the pool and very friendly staff. Free hoppus in the afternoon was delicious.Clean spacious room with air condition was also comfortable and good access to Cave temple.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    8.3
    Some really good things but some areas to improve on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I stayed in was not finished with gaps around the doors, door that was difficult to lock, architrave not finished and plumbing in the shower was rushed. I believe that some time needs to be taken to finish the resort. Tiles around the pool were very slippery when wet. Will be great when finished.some really good points but some areas to improve on.

    Curry buffet was excellent value for money,as was breakfast. The staff were very helpful and polite. Great proximity to the temple and Sigiriya.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    10
    This place was awesome, staff were friendly and helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was awesome, staff were friendly and helpful . Pool was great and the beer nice and cold. We did a sunrise trip to sigriya Rock and Mohammed was just excellent. The whole stay was Great value for money, highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    10
    This place is amazing from its super friendly staff, super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it’s perfect

    This place is amazing from its super friendly staff, super comfy beds, yummy cocktails and food and beautiful pool and surroundings. I can not fault this place. I wish I had stayed longer and now I will be saving all my pennies to bring the whole family back next year.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good value for money. Lovely pool which was essential in the hot weather. Very comfy bed. Good sized room. Good bathroom. The food at the restaurant was great and staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    9.2
    Walking distance to cave temples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massage was bad Price little bit too high

    Very close to the temples. 10 mins walk Good hotel with all facilities Good food. Breakfast dinner... Nice swimming pool with pool bar Nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    6.7
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant overpriced and had a lot better food elsewhere. Room could be cleaner with mould in shower. Was hassled quite often to give good review.

    Good things were the trips to the national park to see the elephants and the sunrise/Sigiriya trip. Pool area and cocktails were great. Service was good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel had a lovely pool and bar situated next to the pool which was great. The staff were very pleasant and we were located next to the golden temple which was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    Best jeep safari, so many elephants and LEPARD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have visited Sundaras with my family and it was definitely the best choice. The staff gives the best service and is extremely helpful. We joined the Jeep safari trip and we loved it, especially our kids! We have seen maybe 200 elephants and LEPARD!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    10
    Hospitality is 100%, they help with everything you ask for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hospitality is 100%, they help with everything you ask for. Good location to sigiriya and minneriya safari. Staff arrange cheap tour ride for 15$ excluded the entrence fee. Half days trip that is realy good. Recommend it👌 Sri Lanka is a country that grows, soo have patients cause its not exploding like thailand.. this is a country that is UNexplored, soo take the chance.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    9.6
    A lovely oasis in a dusty little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no restaurants outside the hotel in walking distance and it is really not a pleasant area (however we didn't see any nice areas in Dambulla). However the location is good for visiting the cave temple.

    The pool area was really nice with tropical gardens. The pool bar is cool and there are plenty of comfy sunbeds. Everybody was very polite and helpful. Our room was really large and had a balcony with a nice view. They allowed us to use the pool area after check out.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    8.3
    we enjoyed our stay, nice pool, great coctails (mango...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    all good rooms were ok, but could use some renovation

    we enjoyed our stay, nice pool, great coctails (mango daiquiri 😉) and food was good. Walking distance from Dambulla temples. Hotel organizes sunrise trip to Sigiriya and Pidurangala Rock - this is must do

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel and had a lovely time. We were travelling on our honeymoon and when we arrived, there was a little surprise in our room which was very thoughtful. The pool area and pool bar were also a nice addition. We arranged a tour to Sigiriya Rock and our tour guide was great and very helpful. We would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great experience. The hotel is in a nice location and is very beautiful. Great place to relax and enjoy the nature. Sameera (restaurant manager) was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed one night and really enjoyed everything.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    7.9
    Great pool bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a bit smelly. Plus our fan wasn't working the whole time, the staff didnt seem to care. Just as a heads up, prices with in the resort are quite expensive. The hot water in the shower takes a while to kick in, especially if your partner showered before you.

    Great pool bar. Very relaxing and great to chill out in after a day of temple exploring. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    9.2
    Holiday stay at Sundaras
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staying here for two weeks, perfect stay in Dambulla. Near to many activities and temples. Sundaras resort & spa is a oasis to be in. All the jungle is covering most of the areas, soo you can fimd a cool spotin the sun. Facilities is great, being in the jungel, its covers all your needs. Jacuzzi, poolbar you can swim into. Restaurant serves good delicious food. Try the sri lankan buffé, recommend. Locals are very friendly, and Sundaras hotel was very helpful and providing everything you need. Just ask! If you have a problem, they solve it with easy.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.6
    Pool is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit far out of town so food options are limited to those inside the hotel. There is good food at a little shack across the road for next to nothing if your game :-)

    Pool is amazing! Rooms are really comfortable and modern. Literally a walk around the corner to Dambulla Cave Temple. Did the hotels sunrise Pidurangala and Sigiriya tour for $15 US which was good but recommend getting a guide at Sigiriya. Hotel staff helped me decide on ongoing travel plans and helped flag me down a local bus back to Kandy

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    5.4
    Fair price for the quality of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very dirty - rooms and pool. There were many insects and mosquitoes in the rooms. The food also did not look nice. The vegetables were not fresh at all. The hotel needs renovation.

    Fair price for the quality of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    8.8
    Great hotel for what we wanted in the cultural triangle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only things that we would mark down is that our room was not as nice as those in the pictures. it was perfectly comfortable and clean enough just not as modern and spacious as we were thinking. Also, whilst the food is good we were slightly disappointed in the selection of the dishes for the buffet dinner as most of the dishes are Chinese/European in origin so we ended going elsewhere in the end in search of Sri Lankan cuisine.

    Location is perfect, a very short drive/ reasonable walk to the ticket office for Dambulla cave temple and other 'cultural triangle' sites very accessible. The swimming pool was great with a couple of bar stools in the pool itself! Staff were friendly and professional and made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    4.6
    Easy and covenient location,was not a good start and check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fly and ants and the room was disappointing.

    Easy and covenient location,was not a good start and check in late at night and the room 1st was on 2nd floor as soon as opened the door all the fly came in was unable to get rid off so was given the last room looked like was used by the staff ,ants was near the window and inside a bathroom,the staff came and sprayed but was there, not a good experience,but was only there for sleeping did not try anything at the hotel ,food was good ,

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have big issue but for your future it would be better if you can have a elevator in the property.

    The property is really nice. And the staff as well was very friendly and always smiling. The pool which was open till mid night and the pool bar was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    8.3
    Quirky stay in Dambulla
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were disappointed that they could not accomodate our driver No hairdryer conditioner supplied Music at pool bar could have been nicer

    The food was great and the service was friendly Bed was comfy Pool area very relaxing

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.6
    Nice stay with a bit partyfeeling, nice pool and near the cave temple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation with pool view would have been great, pool slippery!

    Nice stay, comfortablea and new, at the main street but couldnt hear anything, nice pool with good beachbar with cocktails and nice music, not too loud but perfect, Cave temple in walking distance, breakfast buffet and dinner was good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    10
    Amazing staff, great pool and swim up bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift to the upstairs rooms.

    The staff were all so attentive and kind. I felt very safe there as a solo, female traveller. The food was amazing & included within the half board option I chose. Great location near Dambulla Cave Temples. The pool and swim up bar were incredible and great value for money. Overall a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    7.5
    Lovely room with balcony over pool with palm tree setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very slow in pool bar. Found the area around the pool very slippery but it was a very nice setting and pretty at night. Also if they cut the bushes back a little there would be more room to sun bath. Needed a little bit of a tidy up.

    Lovely room with balcony over pool with palm tree setting. Saw some lovely birds from our balcony.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    7.9
    Nice staff and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't a fan of the music playlists. Trying to cater to a broad western audience and ended up driving me a bit crazy. Pan pipe versions of Justin Beiber & Ed Sheraren sums it up.

    Nice staff and good value for money. Rooms were really nice and view from our balcony was great.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Want to go back, an oasis in the jungle, a quiet spot to relax - much appreciated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar staff next to the pool could pay more attention to guests. We had to ask for an ashtray, and even had to ask for more drinks, whereas they missed an opportunity to ask us first if we were ready for another cocktail. They weren't that busy, so could just look up and check what the guest might need. It's probably a Sri Lanka thing, but do be warned that drink measures are very small, so you gotta work hard to smell or taste the rum in a mojito!

    From when we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Reception staff and restaurant staff were particularly wonderful. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel every night, and had wonderful meals every time. Staff were so helpful, welcoming us every time, and ensuring all our needs were met. The lovely pool was wonderful too, great to relax around the pool with a cocktail, or have a dip to cool off. There is plenty of shade to relax, or get some sun, your choice. Our room was on the top floor, looking over the countryside, with the head of the golden Buddha in the distance. One morning, we woke up and watched to hot-air balloons flying by. The hotel is just next to the Golden Buddha complex, or go up the next side road to get to the cave temples, a trek, but well worth it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    9.2
    Staff was super nice, especially Sameera, Danushun, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small amount of bugs in the room but you can tell why because it is completely surrounded by trees. Wifi was a little slow.

    Staff was super nice, especially Sameera, Danushun, and Saranga. They made sure we had everything we needed. Saranga left and went out of his way to get us some toothpaste and disposable razors. Beautiful decorated and designed. The little restaurant is beautiful and offers good western and Sri Lankan dishes. Definitely will stay again and recommend to family and friends who travel to Dambulla.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    9.2
    The pool bar is a wonderful treat and Lacsceian is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was right next to the building site for the new rooms so we are glad that the price for our room was lower than normal. If they put you in 115 and the building work is still going on maybe ask for a discount or another room.

    The pool bar is a wonderful treat and Lacsceian is an excellent barman. We had a lovely restful time here and met some delightful people. Make sure you are hungry for breakfast as it is both delicious and epic. The rooms are good quality for the price that we paid.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    10
    Super hotel with awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little gem of a hotel super helpful staff made our stay memorable we will come back for sure. Thank you to all the staff for being so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    7.1
    The people at the reception were extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some issues with the bathroom regarding the cleanness. However, the personnel fixed the problem fast.

    The people at the reception were extremely helpful and supportive. Moreover, the pool was a highlight of the hotel, especially after a long trip to the near Lion Rock. The food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    10
    It was a nice stay with good amenities, clean beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a nice stay with good amenities, clean beautiful and perfect location, Monica helped us to arrange the changes in rooms , thanks Monica🤗, sameera in the restaurant is the best, the bar on the pool was as expected good place to relax..

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.2
    Great option in Dambulla
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good, really close to the Golden Temple. But the road where the Hotel is located is very busy and loud: if you want to walk around to relax and find a different place to eat you won't be able to make it.

    The best hotel me and my friends stayed during our time in Sri Lanka. Great facilities and friendly staff. Their tour packages are also very good. We did the Pidurangala Sunrise Tour and it was great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    Simply the Best choice in Dambulla / Sigiryia !
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even tho they gave us free ride to the caves , the Tuk Tuks outside always try to make doggy deals with us ! Stay away from the tuk tuk guys from the outside of the hotel !

    I loved this hotel , cause of the jungle feel / very good location, pool bar , clean rooms with nice view of the cave temple & Sigiryia rock 😍 Staff were amazingly kind & helpful ! Must do Sunrise tour & safari !

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    7.9
    Nice place 3 star cathegory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather 3 than 4 star. Bathroom smelled. Not hotel’s fault but uneducated drunk russian guests partying here caused no night sleep at all

    Nice place with swimming pool, big room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.8
    A suitable place to stay for excursion to Buddist temples and ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairways to our room. We were given a lovely suit on the fourth floor. Not happy, but they did carry our cases up for us.

    Both morning and evening buffet meals. Also enjoyed happy hour drinks by the pool.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AVOID FROM THIS HOTEL... IT IS THE WORSTH HOTEL NEVER BEEN IN SRI LANKA FOR THIS AMMOUNT OF MONEY IT IS NOT CLEAN... THE ROOM WAS FULL OF MOSCHITOS AND ANTS IN THE TOILET... DIRTY SHEETS... WE ASCKED TO CHANGE FOR THE TWO ROOMS. NO BATTERY IN THE TELEVISION REMOTE CONTROL.. THE ONLY NICE THING WAS THE BAR ON THE POOL AND THE NICE GAYS WORKING THERE... THE ENTRANCE HALL IS AWFUL THE ROOM ARE ORRIBLY DECORETED.. AND IN THE END THEY ASK TO PAY THE DINNER OF THE NIGHT BEFORE.... THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE WE HAD DINNER IN TOWN AND NOT THERE.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    10
    Classy stay near the cave temple, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is THE hotel in Sri Lanka if you want something more classy. In the morning you can go to the Cave temple ang Golden temple by foot (10min walk) and later chill in the very clean pool with a tasty coctail in your hand. Rooms are very clean and they have a hair drier. The staff wellcomes you with a welcoming drink and they make sure you have the best time staying there. You can book any tour around Sri Lanka with them and they are of high quality. The breakfast is all you could wish for. We would highly recommend staying here, as this was also our second stay at Sundaras in two years!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    The staff were wonderful, our host Saranga was so helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything but I guess for those that can’t do stairs the lack of lift and a room on the top floor may be a bit challenging

    The staff were wonderful, our host Saranga was so helpful, organising a lift up to the caves ticket office and allowing us to relax by the pool after our check out. He made our stay fantastic and we would definitely stay again. The pool area was fun and the general vibe of the hotel was great. Ayurvedic treatment was available as well as organised trips etc.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    A wonderful experience, especially meeting Mr Tito. Your a good man! David & Jenny Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need a new toaster!!!!!!!!! maybe use a tad less chlorine in the pool.

    this is a very professionally run establishment, which is within walking distance of the caves, which was a big plus for us. Another great plus is the swimming pool and poolside area including bar, which is run by Mr DJ. The real guy who runs the show though is called Tito. He's the star of the place, without question. anything you need to know, ask Tito. We would advise you get a room with breakfast included as the breakfast is fabulous, although the do desperately need to buy a new toaster. The present one is useless. We would also advise you get a room upstairs with a balcony. They are much nicer. There is 24 hour security with two security guards, and a generator to deal with the somewhat unpredictable local energy supply. They also have a Mr Fixit who solves any technical problems either you or the hotel ever have. All in all we can certainly recommend Sundaras Resort for families, couples or whatever.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.6
    Nice swimming pool & great cocktails
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about

    Great experience! The best accommodation we had in Sri Lanka. Staff is exceptional here: * From the first moment when we got out from bus, they took our luggage and bring them to the reception. * In the waiting time for check in we received a very tasty tea, so we didn't know when the time flew. * After the room was ready, they carry our luggage to our room, making our life easier. * The entire staff from reception, restaurant and bar are really kind with tourists and they are speaking very well English. Room condition: * Clean with everything you need, including minibar and hair dryer. Relax: * Swimming pool & jacuzzi are really nice and you can enjoy them till mid of the night or maybe more.:) * Pool bar with a nice variety of tasty cocktails. Meal: * We tried lunch and dinner and it was very good. Overall: * You can find here a lot of tours, we tried the one to the Sigirya early in the morning and it was the best sunrise we ever seen. Asita was our guide and beside doing this very well, he is also a very good photographer. * We got a free transportation from the hotel to the bus station from Dambulla.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    5.8
    Our stay was not worth the money that we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old infrastructure. Wash basin in toilet was placed at a higher level and was not comfortable to use. The surrounding area was not kept clean. Lot of mosquito, stagnant water around, old furniture not kept clean. The massage facility was not up to the mark and not worth the price paid for, it was 300% more expensive than the ones available in the far east. Beautiful pictures on the website are not good enough. In reality the facilities should be better than the pictures on the website. I wouldn't recommend anyone this place for the price paid unless it is renovated and made hygienic.

    I only liked the staff at the resort both at reception and the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    7.9
    Food was tasty, coctails were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell was terrible, bad odour both inside and outside. Takes quite a while to get coctails in bar. When makimg reservation we mentioned that it is our honeymoon but they did not read it :)

    Food was tasty, coctails were good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    9.2
    Sundaras was a great spot to stay for our visit to Sigiriya.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sundaras was a great spot to stay for our visit to Sigiriya. The trips ran by the resort are good value and a fun way to see the surrounding sights. The staff were absolutely incredible, so polite and friendly. Bar man Pubudu was so friendly and makes the best mojitos in Sri Lanka! Danushka our waiter at meal times was lovely and ensured we enjoyed everything. The pool bar was great with lots of seating and towels available. Siddu the receptionist ensured we were able to book all the excursions and taxis we needed. The hotel’s driver Isuru was great, he took us from Dambulla down to Galle. He drove very safely, was friendly and made the journey very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.9
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is enclosed by jungle and I am a fan of open spaces...just a personal preference.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. We used the location as a centre point to explore the Cultural Triangle, and we loved the driving in the area. Great roads and reasonable traffic.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    7.9
    The pool was my highlight :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't tried dinner, and breakfast; but lunch was just okay.

    I enjoyed the hammock by the poolside, the pool itself, Wifi is strong by the pool and happy hour by the pool was great. Room was simple but clean, comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional, quirky little Gem of a hotel. Perfect location, excellent staff and beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (Pool side) with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent staff from the moment I walked in to the moment I left. Very helpful and lovely people. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Very professional and full of culture. Brilliant location. Excellent taxi and excursions Beautiful view. Excellent cocktails and pool bar Staff are always saying hello and talking to you. Lovely people.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    6.3
    The buffet style restaurant had some variety of foods, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (Pool side)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to check out for the tour of Sigiriya Rock in early morning around 6:00am, but no staff were there, and we couldn't check out immediately. That made us frustrated.

    The buffet style restaurant had some variety of foods, and all good. Kind staff made us comfortable even though there were some blackouts.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    3.8
    Only a 2 star hotel not 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room (Pool side) with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nearly everything. Slippery pool area, terrible food, dirty rooms , way overpriced and definitely not 4 stars. Maybe 2.

    The pool bar and the cocktails

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rickety doors and the carpentry . It was an effort to switch on the power from the key point. It required at least 5 hit and trials each and every time u entered . Also the view from balcony was obstructed by bamboo trees.

    The swimming pool and the pool bar. The bartender looked like famous cricketer Lasith (Malinga the Salinga !!!) .He was very jolly and prepared good cocktails. Restaurant manager Mr. Lakshan was very attentive and alert. He took really good care of us and helped us in making good choices, even permitting an item from the buffet for free as it was not available a 'la carte.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Stayed for two nights with my friend and had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed for two nights with my friend and had a great stay. Location is ideal, the rooms were fresh and clean, pool area was really nice and all the staff were super friendly and helpful. We did one tour with them (Pidurangala sunrise hike & Sigiriya) which was really good and affordable. We had some trouble arranging transportation down to Galle ourselves (over 6h drive), but the hotel staff helped us out even if we had a really short notice. Our driver Isuru was excellent, great driver and super friendly. He gave us loads of tips on where to go for the rest of our stay in Sri Lanka and offered to help with transportation at anytime (even though we are half across the country)

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sundaras Resort & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: