Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sri Lanka hotel reviews
  3. Gampaha District B&B and inn reviews
  4. Negombo B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Villa Taprobane

Reviews of Villa Taprobane This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11/3, Thalgahawaththa Road, Duwana, Kochchikade, 11500 Negombo, Sri Lanka

#57 of 201 B&Bs and inns in Negombo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 329 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    9.6
    We had a very spacious room with air con and fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sod mattresses. But again, that’s our opinion. We sleep best on solid wood ;-)

    We had a very spacious room with air con and fan. The mattress is soft. But you can feel the springs in some. Our host was very friendly and welcomed us with fresh coffee. In the morning we had a really good local breakfast. It’s a quiet area, which we liked. The garden is lovely. It’s a bit of a walk to get to the restaurants, but we had our own TukTuk so it wasn’t a problem for us. The host had a really good advice about where to eat. In the morning we did a run on the beach which she also advised which directions to go. We would recommend this place.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    7.9
    We loved the amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved the amazing breakfast. The house is spacious and nice with a lovely garden and quite close to the beach. The owners were so nice and helpfull! Be aware of the extremely hot shower! Hehehe

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    Loved the hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restroom missed some soap but this was only an issue because i came only with hand luggage and i didn't have any on me.

    Loved the hosts. Amazing, kind, warm and provided helpful information. Loved the garden. I only stayed for one night but the bed mattress and the breakfast in the garden made my entire next day. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Lovely & Helpful Hosts in Quiet Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed everything about our stay, however note that this is about a 10-15min drive away from Restaurants in the area. We were happy with this as we hired a scooter to get around and appreciated how quiet it was at night.

    We loved and appreciated how helpful the owners were. They arranged someone to collect us from the airport which was great as we arrived late at night. It can be overwhelming visiting a new country especially when English is not the first language, however we had no issues communicating with them. We stayed in a twin room with seperate private toilet & shower which was great value for money. Thank you for helping us with what we needed, we definitely recommend this property!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    Beyond what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This lovely lady could read my minds and turn any of my questions or requests into an immediate action: wow! The room is exactly what I expected (spacious and cozy), she prepared one of the most delicious and abundant breakfast I had, also considering my lactose intolerance, she got me a coconut, a tuk tuk driver and suggestions for my dinner as well as a driver to the airport in less than I could have verbally asked and always with a big smile and kindness. I would highly recommend this place to anyone willing to experience an authentic local lifestyle :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Massive thx to Sharmila and Sampath, from airport pick up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massive thx to Sharmila and Sampath, from airport pick up to early check in, generous (and delish) meals - they are gracious hosts and run a beautiful villa for any start and/or finish to Sri Lanka. Sampath too was our driver exploring Sri Lanka’s beautiful spots, very knowledgeable, safe and good soul in general. Stutiyi!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    A lovely place to stay at the end of a two week travel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely place to stay at the end of a two week travel! Our host was lovely and the breakfast provided was amazing - we barely needed to eat for the rest of the day! Would highly recommend :D

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    This is a lovely clean house with fantastic hosts who really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This is a lovely clean house with fantastic hosts who really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We had the most gorgeous balcony room overlooking their beautiful garden. We loved sitting out there and relaxing. The food was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money, helpful friendly host. Room was a bit tired in need of a bit of refurbishment but the bed was extremely comfy and dinner and breakfast were really tasty. Located about 20 minutes tuk tuk ride from the centre of Negombo but restaurants, shops and cafes are much nearer along the beachside road. Take a tuk tuk from the accommodation rather than walk, or you can borrow one of the owners bicycles.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.6
    Great place to stay close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It takes a few minutes walking or cycling to reach the touristy stores, but we needed a clean and quiet place to relax, feel welcome and sleep off our jetlag - so it works for us and we would always choose this place whenever we are back in Sri Lanka.

    We stayed here twice, entering Sri Lanka and just before leaving again. The area is very close to theairport and the propert is a few minutes walk or cycle from the shops and restaurants of the main tourist area of Negombo. The family always make you feel welcome, goes the extra mile and makes a great breakfast. We felt very welcome and rate this as one of the best homestays of our Sri Lanka trip. There is a garden, perfect for taking your morning coffee. Your room has a seperate entrance that opens up on a porch, with chairs and table. The room also has a fan, AC and a mosquito net.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.5
    Nice Host, gave us so many tips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice Host, gave us so many tips. Practically, we planned our trip with her and she organized a taxi for us up north to an absolute reasonable price. Thx for that.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Beautiful and tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing I can complain. Excellent facilities. Don’t stay anywhere else she will attend to your every whim.

    The host was absolutely incredibly off the charts insanely sweet, the most attentive and sweet and kind and intuitive and thoughtful and efficient and best. I can’t compliment her enough. Perfect.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely host and tasty dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely host and tasty dinner and breakfast. We also loved the big room upstairs with a balcony. We enjoyed talking with Sharmila and she gave us a lot of useful information. Villa Taprobane was a perfect place to start our trip in Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    The level of hospitality provided by Sharmila and her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The level of hospitality provided by Sharmila and her husband was excellent! They took very good care of us! Both the breakfast and the dinner were very delicious and coming really from their heart! Thank you again! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Everything: the garden and it’s birds in the early morning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything: the garden and it’s birds in the early morning, the house, the hosts, the food, the bikes, the street, the shower. Thanks again to Sharmila and her husband and family.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    The owner is very very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all. Everything is good.

    The owner is very very nice and helpful. They are one of the best home onstage owner I’ve met in Sri Lanka. Room very clean and tidy. Good for value. Quiet area all you can hear is birds and dogs on the streets. No noise at all. Tasty breakfast with choices plus coffee/tea. Close to negombo fish market they can help you to get tuk tuk as well. They also let us use their kitchen to cook seafood. And we shared spirits together as well. Great time with them. If you want to stay in negombo with good value (not expecting 5 star hotel standard) this is a good choice. And they really did their best.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly service, picked up from airport, short drive &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly service, picked up from airport, short drive & room decorated with balloons& candles for our honeymoon- very thoughtful! Convenient for a quick stop on your travels through Sri Lanka

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    Sharmila is great with the sweetest smile and so helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was quite a ways to dining options and shops so need take a tuk tuk or bus for those (though the food at the homestay was great for breakfast and dinner but you're on your own for lunch).

    Sharmila is great with the sweetest smile and so helpful with advice to help with our travels. We enjoyed our conversations with her and felt completely welcome in her home. The homestay is located in a quiet neighborhood which is quite pleasent for walking and quiet in the evening. Upstairs room was lovely with a charming deck. Would definately recomend. Just keep in mind far from other dining options. Bicycles available.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Such beautiful owners who helped us so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such beautiful owners who helped us so much. It was our first time getting a bus in Sri Lanka and they drew a map on how to get one and really went the extra mile to give us a confidence to get around. The breakfast was beautiful and the room was really clean and great AC! The location is great and they lent us bikes to ride as well which was very helpful. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Negombo!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great location , quiet part of Negombo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location , quiet part of Negombo. But only a short cycle ride into town. Sharmilla lent us her bikes for a few hours free of charge to have an explore the area. Our flight was delayed by 6 hours , sharmilla and her husband were waiting for us at midnight to arrive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    A little out of central Negombo but makes up for it with friendly family and warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing friendly hosts who would do anything for you. Lovely relaxed vibe with nice garden, good air conditioning and cute pets. It’s at the northern tip of Negombo but there’s a bus at the end of the street (outside the cemetary) for 20 LKR it will take you up the main strip all the way to the bus station. With thanks from, Rachel, Nick and Joey from Australia.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful and welcoming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Villa Taprobane is a great place, quiet and surrounded by green plants and trees. The lady owner is very welcoming and kind. She prepared for us a very good dinner and a delicious breakfast, with amazing banana pancakes! Our room was big and clean, with mosquito net, a fan, and a/c. You can reach this place for 1500 Rp from the airport by tuk tuk, and to go to Colombo you can take the train from Kochchikade train station (2hrs away from Colombo). Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The people were so lovely and accommodating, picking us up from the airport late in the evening. The breakfast was fabulous. The facilities were lovely & peaceful, our room overlooked the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit outside of the main street, getting a tuk tuk is around 150/200 rupees (1 euro). However, because it is outside of the main street, it is a lot quieter, which is nice.

    Lovely people who even offered us an airport transfer for a fair price. Would recommend staying here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    7.5
    Charming place outside the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far from the city center, we arrived at night and the streets were dark. Very few options to eat something around the place.

    Nice big bedroom equipped with mosquito net and AC. Ok bathroom with closed shower. Tasty srilankan breakfast. Nice and pacefully garden. We only stayed one night but Sharmila, the owner, an his husband were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    The family were lovely,kind and hospital, thre was nothing too much for them to make our stay an enjoyable one, they went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was excellent and they were very flexible with us in serving breakfast and evening meal. The room was roomy and the air con was excellent. We definitely stay here again, it we come back Sri Lanka

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.3
    The boss is very enthusiastic and the English level is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The boss is very enthusiastic and the English level is great. The beautiful courtyard has a lovely rabbit and a monkey on the tree. The hotel offers great breakfast. It is more important that I return to China and always think of the beautiful smile of my boss. The driver of the introduction is good, although sometimes can play a little smart, for example, let me pay a parking fee, the police stopped a fine to let me pay, intentionally or unintentionally told me, he paid 2000 rupees in his own hotel, in fact, most Chinese people travel abroad will not be stingy, just hope drivers do not play small smart problems Say it ahead of time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Felt like home! Cosy comfy room, good breakfast and kindest staff! ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honesty stay here! It’s really everything you need and more! Was the perfect 2 night stay here finishing our trip in Sri Lanka. The room is perfect, clean, spacious and a comfy feeling :) Aircon is great and wifi is so fast! So helpful and kind, so much good information, letting us cook & leave our bags there as we had a late flight. We used the bikes to get around and explore Negombo And the breakfast is so yummy.... and big servings! Different both mornings but coffee, fruits, eggs, bread, pancakes!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT AND EXCEEDED THE EXPECTATIONS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Excellent Service, Location, and the owner is an extremely nice person. Probably the best visit in Negambo area. Highly Recommended. And also you should try the delicious Breakfast which was truly amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Great hospitality. Sharmilla and Sampath are excellent hosts Breakfast and dinner are marvellous They even cook the crabs, squid and shrimps we bought.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stop before airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know every review in Sri Lanka says the family they stayed with were the best - well no exception here. They were so helpful in organising tuk tuks and finding flight times. They made us feel very welcome. Residential, quiet, friendly area. Bus is from the end of the road and took 15 minutes of easy straight drive into Negombo - firstly to the beach strip with the cool cafes, then on to the market (Sunday) and the main shops of Negombo. 24 ruppes. Buses stop at about 7.30pm and tuk tuk cost us 400rps to get home in the evening. Bathroom is fun as it is open to the skys. Beds comfy. Coffee excellent, didn't have breakfast as we had early flight. Tuk tuk to airport was arranged by the villa and was 1000rs. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Good choice when arriving in Sri Lanka. Comfortable accommodation, excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening meals were very tasty, Good start to our stay in Sri Lanka. Arranged pick up from airport at reasonable cost. Took us to the local town and collected us afterwards because Shamaila, the host was not able to cook in the evening. Lovely family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Calm and lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit outside and really calm, which means you need a TukTuk to Sigirya. Her son can drive you though.

    The host super welcoming and an amazing cook! The rooms are modern, pretty new and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    What a wonderful way to start our Sri Lankan holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a wonderful way to start our Sri Lankan holiday. Sharmila is a super host and Sampadh, her husband became our driver for a tour for several days. They were both delightful - friendly and professional and totally trustworthy. We cannot thank them enough. Great place to go from the airport, stay a couple of days or more and plan a trip of the country.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.1
    Nice room, nice people, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is clean enough, but not spotless. And the bedroom we had (the nicest one) is above the main living room. Great if you want to be up late and socialise, but not if you want to sleep early.

    Very nice room with balcony overlooking the garden. - comfy bed, good bathroom. The hosts are very nice people, very helpful. I ate their rice and curry in the evening and it was delicious, and very good value. If we go back, I'd like a cooking class please.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.3
    Very very Nice staff, delicious breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities could be improved and the bathroom should be cleaner.

    Very very Nice staff, delicious breakfast and dinner. They do anything for your satisfaction. Very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hosts, location, food - lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine - maye the bathroom facilities have seen better days, but it was still all good.

    Hosts, location, food and value for money were extraordinary. Very friendly and helpful, always open for a chat. Awwwesome food and overall a very lovely place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.6
    Just exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's hard to find.

    Everything.The hosts were amazing. Dinner was great. But the breakfast was best I have ever had. Their hospitality is out of the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay with lovely host and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely a fantastic place to stay and without a doubt the best hostess I've ever had. She is incredibly friendly, so please don't hesitate to ask any questions before arrival or when arrived. She was extremely helpful with arranging transport (for fair prices rather than tourist prices), restaurants tips or anything else I was asking for. Free bikes available at the villa so you can bike around in the area for yourself. The villa itself is a great place to stay, large rooms with mosquito net and good facilities. Can definitely recommend taking the breakfast, that was really really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect place to stay when you first arrive in Srilanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are 4 Lovely rooms. Alll have their own character and are spacious, comfortable and clean with good bathrooms and the best shower I’ve come across in Srilanka. Really nice communal area to sit & relax or chat to other travellers. It’s run by a really friendly & kind woman who is great for helping with onward plans as well as local information. I felt really at home! Brilliant location for airport & in quiet residential area - much nicer than staying in dusty Negombo itself. Good food, excellent breakfast. Walkable distance to beach & great if you have a bike. Great location for access to/from airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.6
    This place is absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is absolutely fantastic. Sharmila and her family are super friendly, they provide you excellent breakfast and would do just about anything to assure a pleasant stay. These services include organizing rikshaws, taxis, trips ... Villa has a beautiful garden, a cute cat and a rabbit. Due to vicinity of the airport it's an excellent option when arriving or leaving Sri Lanka. We weren't the first to extend our stay there cause we had such a great time. The rooms are spacious and clean. Real comfy bed, AC, fan, mosquito net ... The day we left Sharmila served us King (orange) coconut which we somehow didn't have, but wanted to, during our (too short) stay on this beautiful island. Lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommended. Although quite cheap, it is clean, and has all the basic amenities such as hot water, wifi, air conditioning etc. The host takes her job very seriously and is very friendly, welcoming, attentive, and will have lots of good tips and advice for travellers, should they require it. You will not find better at this price. Recommended for tourists and Sri Lankans alike - the host does not discriminate, unlike some places in Sri Lanka.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great, warm and safe start of my trip through Sri Lanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shamila is very friendly and helpfull. I came after midnight. She arranged an airport shuttle, next day she helped me to plan my trip through Sri Lanka and a private driver. All information was correct and she even called in the evening to check upon me as I’m a solo female traveller. Facilities were perfect, clean and cosy with the pets. Good breakfast. Totally would recommend to stay here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    My entry to Sri Lanka was a warm welcome from Villa Taprobane. It could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most people stay only a night as they are coming to or going from Sri Lanka , but there is much to see in Negombo. I stayed two nights but wish I had stayed three! I borrowed a bike and really enjoyed too long around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.2
    a highlight memory of Sri Lanka
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the quiet garden location, but tuk tuk needed (a few minutes ride) to get to "town"

    Friendliness and helpfulness of Shamilla and family. The best breakfasts we had anywhere in Sri Lanka!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our short stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing come to mind

    We really enjoyed our short stay here. It was a great welcome to Sri Lanka and we couldn’t have asked for a friendlier host. We were given great advice and organised a great driver for us. We were very happy and would go back with out a question.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect start to a perfect holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was as stated. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was clean and shower had good pressure. WiFi worked very well the whole time we were there. The owner was very accommodating and went out of her way, this was our first night in Sri Lanka and she shared a lot of useful tips with us. Thank you again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    7.1
    The wonderful host makes this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is pretty far out from town there are plenty of guest houses in better location nearer the beach and shops/restaurants. BUT you can easily catch a Tuk Tuk. The food is delicious but it does take a long time to prepare. In the room we were staying at you can hear everything that is happening downstairs. Our driver advised us that the place is slightly overpriced for it’s standard and location.

    The host is wonderful and if it’s your first visit in Sri Lanka and you need help organising your trip, or guidance, then I would highly recommend this place! The lady running the house is fantastic and very helpful. The room (we stayed in the family room with balcony) has a lovely dark wooden furniture. Homemade dinner was very nice, great variety! and delicious breakfast (my husband is always hungry but felt satisfied with the meals!). The dining room table has a lovely view to the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.8
    Our enjoyment of family doubled our pleasure in comfortable lodging experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities simple but very adequate and comfortable. Location requires tuktuk for us but beach, grocery, restaurants not far.

    Shamilla, husband and kids were great. All helpful and personable. Breakfasts were the best! My husband enjoyed kitchen sharing as he prepared two simple suppers with Shamilla's help. Garden location for eating and wifi, lovely. 4:30 am pickup for two family members reliably easily and arranged.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Beautiful grounds and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful property and lovely hosts. Amazing Sri Lankan breakfast served every morning. Great location away from the hustle and bustle in a secluded, leafy neighbourhood still within walking distance (or a brief Rs200 tuk tuk) of the main tourist beach strip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hosts, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shamilla and her family were the most lovely hosts. Truly wonderful people and very helpful. All of our needs were met at this cute simple villa. The Villa is located in a nice neighborhood and walking distance to shopping/the beach/restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    9.2
    Nice guesthouse outside of negombo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners are sooooo friendly and helpful!! They answered all my questions and help me a lot with planing my trip, thanks sooo much! Location is good... It's a bit outside of negombo in a very nice neighborhood, tuktuk to the beach is about 200 rupees!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    10
    feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely people, fantastic breakfast, clean rooms, they will help you with everything you need to know. free use of the bikes to discover the city. I would highly recommend this place. feels like home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.8
    Hospitable and Friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ensuite bathroom needs some maintenance. There is a mosque nearby and the call to prayers on one morning woke us up very early.

    Sharmila, Sampath and all the family are extremely hospitable and went beyond expectations to make us comfortable. They treated us like family. They arranged our transport to the airport at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    The host is very friendly, we could ask her a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The host is very friendly, we could ask her a lot of questions about Sri Lanka and she told us a lot. The homemade food was delicious an there is a lot of space to hang out. There is a nice garden too. Definitely worth to stay one or two nights there! We would book this place again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.2
    Very beautiful accomodation with great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there was construction work going on during our stay which was very loud. I would have preferred to be informed of that beforehand.

    The host was really nice and did everything to make our stay as pleasent as possible. We got complimentary Tea/Coffee, were allowed to use bycicles and a scooter for free and got very tasty Dinner for a reasonable price. Also the Breakfast was one of the best we got while in Sri Lanka. The sorrounding neighbourhood is also very nice, as there are lots of other villas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Super welcoming and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharmila Was a fantastic host, super friendly and knowledgeable . She and her family looked after us extremely well. They organised airport pick up , massages , tuk Tuks and supplied lots of local information . Breakfast was yummy , even had Srl Lakanan coffee ! Great value for money .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.5
    Quiet resting spot with helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a little out dated: in need of an upgrade.

    Very friendly and helpful host Shamira and her daughter Diana. They helped us with getting around, with the laundry, with all the things you need. The place was very peaceful and quiet at night: a big contrast with the noisy Negombo strip of hotels and lodges. The place was in walking and cycling distance of the tourist centre, but at night it is better to TukTuk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely owners, comfortable and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was only a trickle.

    The owners are very friendly and helpful. They met us at the airport and then gave us free tea and cake when we arrived. The room was large and comfortable with a terrace with seats and air con. The wifi is good. You can borrow bikes for free to get into town. Breakfast was good - tea/coffee, eggs, toast and sausage. There are UK plug sockets!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    THE place to stay when in Negombo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked all of it.

    We felt like we hit jackpot with this place. A wonderful modern house in a lovely Negombo neighbourhood, perfectly clean with a comfy garden and the owners are FANTASTIC! Absolutely have the breakfast and dinner as it will probably be the best you've had in Sri Lanka. All in all a 10 & absolute no brainer. PS You'll ask them if you can move in with the family we guarantee :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    10
    An excellent stay in negombo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much.

    Our stay here was excellent. Sharmila is a fabulous host and her children are just charming and helpful. Althogether we really enjoyed our stay the first time and came back for second time. Thank you Sharmila.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    8.8
    The family of the guesthouse was really friendly and gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family of the guesthouse was really friendly and gave us any kind of information. We could use their bikes for free. So it was no problem to get where we wanted to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.6
    I stayed the second time with sharmila and her family and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed the second time with sharmila and her family and it was lovely. It's a bit outside of negombo and therefore so quiet and peacefull. Sharmila is incredibly kind my helpfull - don't Miss her homemade food it's amazing! Rooms were superclean and comfortable it was the perfect beginning and end of m Trip thank you !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.8
    Great airport hotel lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit hard and not enough pillows.

    Staff were very nice and organised our pick up and car the next day. They also let us check out when we wanted as we arrived very late.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing for arrival, good spot for traveling north with public busses
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, very pleasant stay

    Sweet & helpful host (travel advise etc) Welcome tea, good wifi, nice & clean room Ordered food for us when we arrived late from airport Very good breakfast, free drinking water

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Heaven Sent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wonderful owners Sharmila and Sampath who work together taking care of you and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and very good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    8.3
    Great service and friendly family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On our first day we stayed in the large room with internal bathroom. The construction between the roof and the wall was semi-closed; so little insects could enter easily. The bathroom of the small room is nicer though external (we stayed there the last night of our trip).

    We stayed here on the first and the last day of our trip. The host is very friendly and helpful. She arranged a driver to Dambulla and a tuk-tuk to the airport. In return for refueling we even could use her scooter. Excellent customer service. Breakfast was both days very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    6.7
    OK for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty bathroom-apparently not cleaned for weeks, and nothing like photos. Lack of facilities/ restaurants nearby. Local beach was terrible. We booked an evening meal a few days before we arrived, but what we were given was a basic fried rice dish from a local take away.

    Comfortable bed with mosquito net. Very helpful friendly staff. Close to airport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    8.8
    The host, the ambience and the food provided was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was far from the beaches.

    The host, the ambience and the food provided was exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a great place to stay. Very hospitable and great recommendations

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    8.8
    Nice, airy, peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice, airy, peaceful stay

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Host was very helpful and super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room Private Bathroom & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Host was very helpful and super friendly

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    3.8
    Very different as shown in booking photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was awfull, old, dirty, full of spiders, insects, nothing was cleaned, it was like a horror movie.

    The owners where nice

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.3
    Quiet and to use the bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely owners and so helpful.

    Quiet and to use the bikes

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    5.8
    The hosts were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn’t clean. The bathroom looked really bad.

    The hosts were nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Villa Taprobane Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: