Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Daugirdas Old City Hotel 4 stars

T. Daugirdo g. 4, LT-44279 Kaunas, Lithuania

#13 of 35 hotels in Kaunas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1255 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Large rooms, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no assistance with luggage, which is difficult whilst juggling 3 suitcases and a baby. The rooms are a bit dated.

    Large rooms, comfortable beds. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable bed, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was on the ground floor, very depressing view of building junk at the back yard. Very dark basement room and the hall way had an unpleasant smell.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, kitchen staff was far from 4 star hotel level. But worst experience I had at the terrace bar, where I got pint of beer which was not full, shame.

    Location, reception girls was very helpful, room cleaning was good enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, average otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First single room had no wifi connection. I had the usual ''hotel is full, cannot be changed" response but after half an hour another room was discovered. "Hot" breakfast foods were cold; no improvement on third morning after complaint on second morning.

    Good location in Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel was not really helpful and profesional. We were quite surprised about that.

    Really nice and comfortable hotel. The room was spacious and the terrace bar to have a drink good. One of us was leaving very early and they prepared a breakfast box when we asked for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel has an excellent location , surrounded by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking could be a problem. Google Street View shows the hotel as having a private car park. But this has become an archaeological site, so the hotel has no parking, They did however kindly find us gated parking as a special consideration. If that is important to you it would be best to check its availability.

    The hotel has an excellent location , surrounded by the principal landmarks of the Old Town, all within a short walking distance. You can see them from the rooftop bar/terrace. Our room was a generous size, as we had expected and wished, because it was our home for six days. However views from the rooms are limited -in our case because it was an attic room with skylights for windows. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall standard is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful value for money ,in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was a complete waste of time ,about 10 poor channels.The world cup was on,but no chance at all of seeing anything in the room.

    The room was excellent and large ,with sofa ,chairs.The bathroom was also large with a bath and completely separate shower.The mini bar prices were reasonable.The main building itself,although historic,and had been been sympthetically modernised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    wedidn't think it was very 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy aircon, noisy hotel (sound carried a lot!) modern extension not what was expected. No butter (only margarine) at breakfast seemed rather cheap for a 4 star hotel

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Great for a short stay but not if you are into fine wines.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service could have been better. Staff were more concerned with other tasks rather than serving the customer. There seemed to be a shortage of staff who appeared to be insufficiently trained. No wine list, just red, and dry or medium white.

    Bed was super comfortable. Location was great - 3min walk to the old town square and no problem with parking next to the hotel. Great breakfast! Lovely Sky Bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in room. Could do with 2 pillows for each person.

    The location is perfect just seconds away from old town and river and loads of restaurants close by. We stayed in 407 top floor next to the Sky Lounge and bar which wasn't busy so not noisey, not sure if you had skylight windows open when hotel busier would it keep you awake?. Room was very spacious, more a suite, had a couch and chair also had a mini bar, no tea/coffee facilities, safe, free Wifi, hairdryer and toiletries. There was also a lounge and bar area in the lobby area. Breakfast was a selection of continental style food as well as a selection of hot food. We never ate in the hotel at any other times. Room was clean and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful. If you have a car you can park on street outside the hotel for free on a Sat and Sun otherwise you have to pay. Not sure how much as we were there at the weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is very good, hotel is also fine and modern
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was for me littlebit poor. No such much as it could be in spring time fresh food and no seeds at all. If You are vegan...

    Location is very good, hotel is also fine and modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    I got a room on the top floor, by the lounge, it was huge...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite limited, specially for vegetarians Dining options for vegetarians also limited at the hotel but there is a nice mexican restaurant just a few minutes away

    I got a room on the top floor, by the lounge, it was huge with a big double bed and seating area. The room was quiet and the wifi worked fairly well. Staff were attentive and location was good, by the river and a 5 minute walk to Kaunas Kastle (Reseña del viaje y el hotel en español en el podcast -> Pista de Aterrizaje)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No serious dislikes except an odd sign by the WC saying "Yellowy water is due to it being connected to the fire sprinkler system.

    Location. Comfortable room. Generally very clean. Good buffet breakfast. Layout of entrance area. Reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Placement was good and the room too + reception staff who...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For less money you can get better breakfast in town and not to mention the price of the things in mini bar In case you want to be robbed take something from mini bar

    Placement was good and the room too + reception staff who try to do their best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice and clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - you must find yourself parking place near the hotel. We stayed there in week and low-season so we didn´t have problem with parking but in high-season that can be problem. + You must pay for the parking.

    Nice and clean. Good location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Superb location, great breakfasts, nearby restaurants and historic sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and the room with double double beds was large but the beds were set too close to one another.

    Daily breakfast was fantastic- great array of foods

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, beautiful rooms and in a great city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a view from the rooms. Initially sent to a room with someone already in there! Although this matter was swiftly resolved!

    Helpful reception staff. Breakfast. Spotlessly clean Lovely beds Location in old town Near to sites but quiet at night. Useful city info point next to reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant environment, but poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really poor for this level of a hotel. Food selection was limited to sausages (one unit left in the marmite), eggs (3 units left in the marmite) and muesli. There was almost no food left when we came in the middle of the breakfast time and there was no intention to refill it. Remaining food was cold and there was only one waitress was serving guests.

    Very nice environment, good location in the city. Classical style, tidy rooms, nice panoramic view to the old town. There is no place for parking, so it is better to leave a car somewhere further and walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    You can park your car in front of hotel and receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested through booking.com 2 separate beds in 1 room and there was an issue when we arrived - receptionist was not aware of that.

    You can park your car in front of hotel and receptionist will take care of all payments - so no need for waking up at 8 a.m. to pay for street parking. Breakfasts are very nice and worth the price. Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    We don’t recommend this hotel, doesn’t deserve 4star rating at all. Price doesn’t correspond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel have no parking, need to park in the paid parking. Staff we met was very unfriendly and unprofessional manager. Very basic and old fashioned rooms. Not a welcoming attitude at all towards the guests.

    Hotel is in the good location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable place in the heart of old centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very poor, this is not acceptable. Breakfast provided a lot of choice but not to my taste. It looks like cooks are trying to diversify the offering but quality is not there. I would keep it simple and serve proven things instead.

    Comfortable troom, clean, nice bathroom, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly hotel with perfect location close to old town Kaunas.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Nice and very helpful staff in the reception. Friendly service in bar and dining room. Very large rooms with the facilities expected. Specially heating system works well when it was -12 outside. The breakfast fulfils a 4 star hotel level. I have stayed in this hotel for many years and have never been dissapointed so far. I will be back in April as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    No issues here ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the heating in the room but this was sorted within a couple of hours .

    Nicely renovated and thoughtful redesign of an old building just of the main square in Kaunas two minutes walk from the Old Town but very quiet street. Very nice staff and quite good breakfast .. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    good hotel, but something is not working there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked family room (2 adults and 2 kids). We got room for 3 persons. Reception said that there is no rooms for 4 persons. This really confusing. One of our kids was forced to sleep in our double bed. Then we asked could you please give a separate blanket and pillow for kid? they said that room service is already gone. So, we did not get even that. Breakfast. As it was Saturday we came to restaurant at 10.10 where breakfast should be served till 10.30. But food was finished already. no eggs, no pancakes, no omelet. I was asking to waitress can you bring somthing? she replied that some of food takes too long to prepare.

    Nice hotel, nice place in the old part of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    good location, clean room and helpfull reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. At 9.50am all food was finnishes and waiters were topping up the buffet by 2 fried eggs when someone comes. No fruits or fresh bread.

    good location, clean room and helpfull reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    2nd time stayed in this hotel for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was out of service twice per day. Would recommend to change coffee beans, this time it was really not good :/ Could be offered "lactose free" milk

    2nd time stayed in this hotel for 1 night. As previous time rooms was clean, not noisy (no matter it was near elevator) and no sound "from neighbours" no matter there lived family with kids. As mentioned previous time - best rate by prive/value (IMHO). Went to have breakfast at 10:30 (actually they serving till this time), but no matter this waters were ok about it and told us to not be in hurry and eat what ever we want :) No matter it was already quite late for breakfast - there was still a lot of food and water managed to get some extra baked eggs :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Non-transparent parking sheme, you should predict exactly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-transparent parking sheme, you should predict exactly when you will leave. In other case you will get penalty ) I stayed one just hour more than expected and got it!!! Very stupid system.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in the centre of the old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complementary mineral water. Limited number of TV channels.

    I booked a Deluxe Room it was very spacious more like a suite with good lighting. There was even a Christmas tree with lights in the room a nice touch. Although it was snowing outside the room was warm. Good mattress and well stocked minibar. Members of staff were very helpful with arranging taxis and printing out my boarding pass. Breakfast was adequate. The location of the hotel was perfect with lots of restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good - would certainly stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good quality. The room was clean and it had a decent sized bath. The location was ideal for walking to the cities most historical sites.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Family stay in Kaunas during QUEEN’s show
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at narrow streets only. Breakfast serving - delay of food refreshement during breakfast hours.

    Synthesis of old and modern architecture styles hotel, located next to the river at Kaunas old town. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfet value for money. Recommend for "weekend" trips. Will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better. Everything was fresh, but almost only few options. Also would expect more fruits. Since ice was melted yougurt in plate was "drowning", so staff couldobserve better next time and fill the plate with new portion of ice.

    Perfect location in the "heart" of old town. Here You'll be able to reach restarurants, museums, etc. just in few minutes. Friendly staff, when I asked where I could find supermarket nearby - girl at reception very accuratly described me the route. At the weekends parking is free of charge, so can leave Your car just next to the entrance of the hotel. Room was event bigger then I expected, no matter it was "standart" one. Room clean and quite. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast spoilt everything. First, we could not get a table so had to stand waiting for 10 minutes or so. Waiters were not helpful about this as well. Then, if breakfast is served until 10.30 so you expect it to be served until 10:30. However, the variety of food shrunk to basically 0 with 10:30 approaching. Meaning that last guests were left eating basically bread with butter. So yes, hotel saves money, maybe no food is thrown away, but, for some reason, me, the customer, I am not happy. And that was not I paid money for.

    Good location, good bed, the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful new hotel in the heart of the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast, sometimes there is "rush hour" (on Saturday), when there may not be available seats ... I recommend to arrive early.

    A beautiful new hotel in the heart of the old town. A lovely hot breakfast with a national flavor and a variety of choices. Cozy rooms, friendly staff. I recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice and cozy hotel, but needs improvement on breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a challenge. First, when we came almost everything was finished and only later on someone from the staff started filling up the empty plates. Second, the breakfast room is really small, so people were waiting in the line to get a table. The breakfast itself was not very bad, but nothing special either. This kind of breakfast I would expect to find in a 3 star hotel, not a 4 star hotel.

    Overall the hotel is really nice and infact the pictures of the rooms are very representative. The location is also good, very close the the heart of the Kaunas' old town. It is easy to reach it with public transportation if you are using one. Had little interaction with the staff, but they seemed nice and helpful. Overall a nice hotel (maybe a bit confusing with their corridors), I would just suggest to improve of their breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel doesn’t have its own parking and you have to leave...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have its own parking and you have to leave your car on the street in front of the hotel. Don’t forget to pay for it otherwise you are fined.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    spotless hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved the location, had no issues with the breakfast, though we had spent 2 nights in the Kaunas hotel whose breakfast was exceptionally good, this hotel is next to the town hall square that has restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Nice location in the old center of Kaunas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right in the city center, 300 m from the main Cathedral. No street noise, parking is right at the hotel door, though in the daytime parking fees are applicable. Very good breakfast. Overall, great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Extra lunch excellent, athmospheur nice and silent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    connevtions from cedntrum to hotel long one. It was not easy to take te tax from thre Centrum direction.

    Extra lunch excellent, athmospheur nice and silent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Superb place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room, very quite, beautiful interiors, great localization. Extremely nice personel (despite we were leving hotel before breakfast time - they prepared us sandwiches and fruits)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice, big and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so /so. No glutenfree bread options both mornings, even though I specified it in a message beforehand. Also, very little left of breakfast when I came. Did not get a reply to an email afterwards as I thought I had left something in my transfer taxi and wanted to know what company they had hired so I could find it before my flight. Another thing is I ordered transfer taxi and was told it would be 76 euros. When I arrived driver said it was 92 instead because I didn´t pay cash but with a credit card. Very strange to me and I should have been informed about this beforehand when ordering the transfer by staff! Also, the tone from cleaning when they called in and wanted to clean my room while I had a business meeting was less than friendly.

    Nice, big and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location, could walk everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were nowhere to be found on arrival and the same later when our room was eventually ready. Parking in the area was poor, plus you had to pay for it.

    The location was good for walking around the old town and it was near the Nemunas River. Breakfast which was included in the price was pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendliness of reception, cleanliness of the room
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and restaurant team. Sometimes the choice of food for breakfast was very poor. Once went to hotel restaurant for late dinner, waited for 15 minutes, nobody came((( Had to go to city cafe. One has to be very carefull if wants to stay in the hotel for a weekend. There were two weddings on Friday and Saturday. The loud music lasted till 3 am. It was impossible to sleep in my room on ground floor. Should be noted that reception tried to help and moved me to the 4 floor for night time. It was very uncomfortable!

    Friendliness of reception, cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Large room, but facilities need serious upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet was dirty. Furnishings were worn. I booked a taxi through the property that was supposed to be charged to my room. The property quoted me 19 euros for the taxi. When I got to the property, the transfer had not been charged to my room, and the driver charged me 26 euros. When I questioned the front desk, the clerk asked me repeatedly if I got in the right tax. The driver had my name on a card, so I assume it was the right taxi. She said she would check into this, but I never got an explanation.

    The location is great. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    i recommend the place definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking belonging to the hotel. but was still easy to park the car around and very near

    simple breakfast, but nice hotel, well located in old Kaunas. i recommend you to go there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Would not choose this hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not same as it was before. The staff at the reception was not friendly, maybe because we have arrived late night. Breakfast standard and a bit poor. Very poor selection of fruits. Instant coffee is so out of this age!

    Location was good. Standard rooms were spacious enough to feel comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    We had a very comfortable stay in Kaunas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Desk staff was phenomenal in getting us checked in quickly since I was feeling ill. We had an on-time wake-up call for a very early flight the next morning, plus a brown bag breakfast to see us off for an early departure. Location was right in the Old Town with terrific restaurants within easy walking distance. Air conditioning was superior in the hot summer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but reception welcome needs improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was cheeky and welcome was not nice at all. Not everybody in world knows that there is Mindaugas Coronation Day and what kind of celebrations happens in Kaunas in this date. Also parking in this hotel is not organized anyhow and could cause you troubles if you travel by car.

    Nice location and rooms are nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice place, poor managment, would not come back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smelling of cigarettes, there was a wedding going on all night (in the hotel restaurant), the music did not go off until the 3.30 when then the staff started clearing the venue and moving the chairs. We were on business trip and had to catch early flight so waking up at 04.30 was not easy, not more than an hours for EUR73.00!!! Worst of all we were not informed of this prior or on arrival, no apology whatsoever, so no decency to the guests. Never would trust to stay in this hotel despite the nice location.

    The bed was nice and the bath was a bonus, room was massive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean and good location - but bar was worst in Lithuania!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was poorly staffed - and when someone was there they took too long to complete a drinks order. The longest I have probably ever waited for a gin and tonic. Also ran out of draught beer within an hour of us being there! Also, when leaving we had a drinks order on our room bill which we had not ordered, or signed for. We felt the lady on the desk did not believe us when we denied we had made that order. Eventually the manager did delete the order from our bill and apologised for the inconvenience.

    Good location. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Ideal city centre location for exploring Kaunas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large selection of breakfast items including local specialities as well as international favourites. Hotel an exciting combination of modern and traditional styles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Walking distance to Old Town was just a few blocks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking here is on the street and is limited but doable. Staff were clear about parking restrictions and gave helpful advise.

    Walking distance to Old Town was just a few blocks. Rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was very good and with a variety of selections.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    When booking the room there was said "pets...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking the room there was said "pets allowed", no other information. When I checked out they invoiced 15 Euros for a pet... Our 3-month old labrador puppy didn't use their bed, didn't eat their food and was actually very popular among the other guests - 15 Euros is clearly too much for a pet... Earlier this hotel had their own parking lot across the street. Now the parking is possible on the public street only and as it's very narrow I can't say it's safe for your car. The hotel rooms (furniture, etc.) are starting to need a refreshment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location!
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at the perfect location, next to the Nemunas river and old town, where you can find famous Kaunas Cathedral Basilica, main Kaunas street- Laisvės Alėja (and many more), a pedestrianized street lined with trees and cafes, crosses the city from west to east. No public transport or taxi needed to reach any of these places if you are staying at Daugirdas hotel, everything is walking distance! Staff was very friendly and welcoming! Definitely staying there when I'm back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was a but noise when trying to sleep and we couldn't work out how to turn it off.

    Receptionist was very helpful. She got me a hair appointment at short notice and even managed to get it changed to a salon closer to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, decent price, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to use street parking, which required parking fees

    Dark block-out curtains allowed me to sleep, even when it was light until 11 pm and then again at 3 am. Very few hotels have these curtains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay but service was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar service was very slow. Additions to the bill which were not clear. Most of the breakfast trays were empty and not topped up.

    Great central location in the Old Town. Room was massive and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fairly minimal and basic. Rooms and bath are clean but rooms are not updated.

    Location was good. For the cost, it is a clean and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    The property is nicely located on the edge of the Old Town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, it was a good hotel.

    The property is nicely located on the edge of the Old Town, far enough that is quiet, but close enough to all of the restaurants and walking streets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Really good experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities are really good located, near the main street, in the old town. Staff are really helpful and always available. I would recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    The room was nice and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more central location would be nice, but everything was walking distance and the hotel was so comfortable that location wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

    The room was nice and very comfortable. Huge bathroom! Very clean, desk staff was friendly and the lobby was nice. Parking was on the street, but wasn't a problem. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant and comfortable place to stay in Kaunas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable, spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel is well situated with many museums, cafes, restaurants and a beautiful pedestrian avenue around the corner. Close to the river and castle. In all, we had a very pleasant and interesting stay and our thanks to the friendly hotel receptionist for arranging transport to different interesting places in Kaunas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was raining outside.

    Location was great-right in the old town. Breakfast was excellent, great selection of foods. We got a quite room in the corner and upper floor, just us we wished! Definately great choose! Very much suggest!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is excellent. The location couldn't be better, just off the main square and close to the wonderful pedestrianized walkway. It's quiet and the room was spacious and comfortable. Would stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is generally very good. Localisation is perfect, but breakfast is disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad breakfast service. Scandalous for hotel of that class.. Breakfast is from 7 till 10.30 a.m., when we came at 9 there was no much left to eat and hotel service was nowhere to find. Finally after catching the waitress and asking her directly to bring something to eat, she did, but only the food she was asked for...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in the city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located right in the city center next to all the action and sights. The staff was super nice the room was clean. If there's one thing that you need to eat while visiting Kaunas then it's Daugirdas's signature Ice Cake. It's just awesome!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We missed breakfast and wanted to order sandwiches around 11.10 on return to hotel, but was told could only do it at 12pm. No coffee available in rooms although bar fridge in rooms.

    Position is good, staff friendly, receptionist helped us book hair appointment in local town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Sound problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound isolation horrible sounds from neighbor room!! I could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors came back from a night club and we all couldn't sleep from 4 am to 8 am. It was so bad! Never again to this hotel!

    A very good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Classical hotel for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking - we have been advised to park in front of hotel, on the right side of street. Actually there is a sign that leaving a car prohibited. Reception staff wasn't kind and helpful advising properly. Sound isolation from other rooms - poor.

    This good location hotel is near City Town Hall. It's classical hotel, clean and nice for overnight stay. Choose without breakfast - lots of nice places in town. Clean and spacy bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    lovely room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tea or coffee making facilities. breakfast could be a lot better, was boring.

    lovely room with a balcony. Lovely layout to the hotel. Great location by old town square and also by the water.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Pet Friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable room and bathroom. Pet friendly restoran!!! It is always important for us, cause you can't find in East Europe Pet Friendly restoran and Kaunas city too. Beautiful park is very close, you can take a big walk with your pet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel in Kaunas old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I did not like was the quality of coffee at the breakfast. Please please change this coffee machine to a normal one.

    Nice hotel, very good location in Kaunas

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Super hotel, a mini bar that you are not afraid to use,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms used to be "smoking" and you can still smell as non smoker...

    Super hotel, a mini bar that you are not afraid to use, good beds and big bath in excellent bath rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    Hotel, that doesn't smells like 4 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible smell in the room from the sewerage. That's disgusting. Something you wouldn't expect in 4 star hotel.

    Perfect location - at the very heart of Kaunas old town. Decent breakfast, comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    Wonderfull location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it depends on room, but to sleep with open Windows was challenging due to noisy conditioniers outside

    Very tasty breakfast, full variety for evryones need. Location is very good. In the middle of the centre.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Very comfortable and clean hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, friendly, helpful and efficient staff and an atmospheric hotel with a wonderful open feel and a pleasant view from our room. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Daugirdas Old City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: