Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropolis 3 stars

S. Daukanto g. 21, LT-44249 Kaunas, Lithuania

#26 of 35 hotels in Kaunas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2402 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee awas absolutely terrible and they did nothing to fix it after complaint. Eh. Yes. They were raeady to sell better coffee.

    Good location, individual rooms, smiling staff at the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, room was situated directly above Charlies bar; smell of cigarette smoke meant windows couldn’t be left open & loud music was playing until 0230.

    Proximity to office and old town is great. Bar and restaurant next door (on the left) was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the main street with a lot of restaurants so at night there was a lot of noice from the street. As there is no aircon. it was necesary to have the window open.... Difficult to find acces to the hotel with a car because of roadwork and a pedestrian street. The parking cost 6€ extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super un-polite. On check in very unfriendly. On check out when I did give the key back, not even a "thank you" or "have a nice day!" absolutely nothing.

    Price/performance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy on the Friday night (room backed onto car park).

    Very good value for money. Well situated in centre of new town. Rooms were thoughtfully designed - places/ledges to put things in bathroom and other areas. Reception staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good combination of history and comfort. The bathroom was brand-new, while the room itself (and especially the entrance door) seemed a bit dated, but the lobby with all its decorations and stained glasses from the turn of the 20th century was amazing. Fair price and decent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel itself - although beautiful and nice - needs to have AC installed for the hotter days or have fans available to provide to guests.

    The staff was awesome and super helpful. They assisted me in everything I needed. I was very happy to have stayed here. Very close to shops and restaurants - less than a 3 min walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkout is before 11 am, this is really inconvenient, breakfast is before 10, which is I guess normal when travelling for business but not so good when travelling for fun. I met a lady that was pouring coffee for herself in the breakfast hall and she said: well, this is not coffee, it's coffee like drink. Please, Metropolis, coffee is really important, step up :)

    I really liked Metropolis hotel. The interior was left very old-looking in the foyer, but the rooms are amazing. I even got a bathtub which I really wasn't expecting :) Breakfast is also appropriately priced and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing an enjoyable stay.

    Excellent location esp for the Airport Bus (Bus 29 to City -bus stop is 70m to the left as you exit the Terminal) it takes 40 mins and you get off at 'Studenty Skeveras' (7 stops from the end) which is only 80m from the hotel Hotel has the air of faded glory, rooms are basic but huge (bring you own mini-badminton set). There was even a fridge. Good value for money. Its around 15-20 min walk to the Old Town Castle etc. 20 mins to railway station. Breakfast was pleasant enough.Slightly surreal but lots of Japanese Tourists congregate outside as it was for a short while in the Hotel that Diplomat Mr Chiune Sugihara known as the Japanese Schindler hand wrote up to 300 Visas a day to save around 6000 Jewish Lives during WWII. An act very poignant if you visit the horrors of the 9th Fort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very dirty and as I have asthma I barely died. They gave me a new room and housekeepers collected all my personal things and put them on dirty surface (for example my toothbrush). There were bedbugs and I had bad allergic reaction to their bites. Very rude manager who hasn’t even tried to resolve situation. While cleaning houskeepers lost my car keys. There was dirty towel in my bath. The quality of cleaning very horrible, I cleaned my room by myself every day after routine cleaning. Still had no explanation from the manager. Please, close that hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds not so comfy, shower was broken, hotel is pretty basic (but good deal)

    Great value for money hotel. Hotel is located in the city center, so everything is at walking distance. Possible to park on-site for extra EUR.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast coffee.

    The feel and look inside is like twenty years ago when I stayed here last time, so it is a nostalgic soviet union times reminder, but refurbished, clean, aesthetic and really nice to stay. good value for money. The reception girl was very nice and helpful. I like hot breakfasts and there were was little choice of it unfortunately, but broccoli lasagna saved my morning - I first ever saw such dish and it was incredibly tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Nothing to dislike. helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms, nice view from the room (to one of the main street). Car Park just behind. Stylish café/restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room no 209 on the first floor, was situated just above the breakfast cafeteria and opposite the main starcase. From 6-30 - 7.00 laud preparations for breakfast that woke me up. From 7.00 very loud organised groups using the starcase - up and down. You can hear every conversation through the door. I could hear lounge music from cafeteria, because a loudspeaker in cafeteria was located right beneath my bed. I went down to the reception at 7.40 and asked for switching the music off. It didn't happen. Tourists from organised groups started smoking after breakfast just in front of the hotel. You can hear all conversations trying to guess thier nationalities. Couldn't sleep anymore So if you don't need to wake up at 6.30 - 7.00 am, avoid room 209. Probably the same problem with the adjecent rooms on the first floor.

    Friendly receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could be free of charge.

    Beautiful, interesting and clean hotel close to the city center. The personnel is very nice and both check-in and check-out were fast and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything however the breakfast was a bit over crowded.

    The room was spacious and clean with all basic necessities. It is in a very good location, only 15 mins walk to the old town and close to the shopping centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, must use the nice wide stairs.

    Reasonably good self service breakfast and good location. Close to a main shopping street and 15-20 minutes walk to big shopping centre. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny thing. Would have liked a mirror in the room.

    Rooms were lovely. Location superb. Breakfast was delicious. Staff couldn't be more helpful. All of our party had a different type of room but all were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The drainage in the room stunk and the bad smell was really a problem. I hope the hotel will survive with some renovation ideas.

    The restaurant was good. I liked the black bread, mustard, mayonnaise and jam at breakfast, but the sweets were sometimes not good (old and dry). The location is excellent. The reception is efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could be better and more facilities in the room, writing desk, kettle (teapot).

    The location is great and the staff is very kind. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was renovated and new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel, in general, is quite good. The location was perfect and it was very clean. The only problem was a bed, that was quite uncomfortable. I wake up with bruises every single morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand old hotel. Looks like original good location, great price. wooden floors from the start, like a school room. Smallish shower enclosure.

    We were not far from a boulevard with lots of outdoor cafes and shops . Very attendant staff. Private parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a renovation: it looks dusty even if it is clean. Our room was on the side where a pizzeria had a terrace and we hear annoying music all the time (besides, the smoke from cigarettes got into our room). Breakfast was quite poor. Shower door was broken, we couldn't close it at all. Checking out at 11.00 is not convenient, even if they offer a luggage room.

    Location in the very center. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be a very nice hotel, but at the present moment this hotel needs renovation: at least the doors and flooring should be changed as soon as possible! Right now the hotel looks like a Mercedes with the benches instead of leather seats.

    The hotel is situated in the city center - almost in the walking area. All the main places to visit in Kaunas are near the hotel. Also there are a lot of restaurants around it providing discounts for the visitors of the hotel. The hotel has it's own parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That entrance door. It´s legit heavy.

    Ok, it took a while for me to find time for this particular review. Maybe because the Metropolis didin´t really leave a major impression in me. Besides de history (the clock in the lobby is pretty cool) It dosen´t offer much more. The location is great as well, but I mean, most hotels in Kaunas are located more or less in the same area. Ah, almost forgot , the "spurgos" for breaksfast were really good, but then you have the Spurgine in Laisves Aleja that offers arguably the best spurgos in Lithuania.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom of the room requires serious repairs to be done - there were serious cracks in the ceilings, some parts of the walls were left without tiles (where they obviously used to be), some mould (not much) was visible around the bath, etc. Even though I chose a standard room for the lowest price in the range, the guest should not feel that one was provided with the worst room available ( I don't think that all rooms were like mine; also, there were obviously plenty of vacant rooms). The same level of quality should be maintained within all the rooms despite the differences in price and facilities available in them. And I'm not referring to the old equipment (like old type of sink or bath) - that could actually be really appealing (as a unique characteristic of this historic hotel) if kept in excellent condition.

    Beautiful historic lobby, central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The non-smoking room smelled of cigarettes so strongly, as if someone was constantly smoking in the bathroom. We couldn't sleep properly and had a headache in the morning.

    The breakfast staff made vegetarian scrambled eggs just for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small wardrobe. But as we stayed just one night it was alright.

    Good location - next to the heart of Kaunas (Laisvės al.), easy to reach shops, clubs, museums and other places on foot. It has a restaurant with good food and posibility to order breakfast. Hotel is in the old building - especially worth staying for History lovers. Friendly staff and very good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was cold in the room.

    I was really happy to come back to this hotel and to enjoy my stay even more than previous time. They offer tasty breakfast, well working wi-fi, comfortable beds and nicely arranged bathrooms. The reception personnel was very kind. Plus, the hotel building is beautiful and excellently located in the very heart of Kaunas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a single room booked and in morning after first night at 8am sharp drilling started in room above me beacuse they had renovations going on. When I asked staff they offered me a new room without hesitation and it turned out to be a double bed with more space - Super happy about how they handled that!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is jus perfect! There are couple of good restorants lalmost next door. It’s a heritage hotel dating from begginnin 20c! Some rooms still have some antique details.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    imposibly cold in a room, uncomfortable bed and pillows- definitely not a hotel standard used. it also says it has a restauraunt and a bar and they do not, they only serve breakfast.

    Staff and locatio

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got first room and it wasn't cleaned properly but the staff was very helpful and gave me another room.

    I liked the location not the first time staying in hotel always good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic historic hotel in excellent location. Staff allowed us to change rooms at no extra cost to a larger room. Room was warm with all amenities. I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a bit weak, otherwise everything was fine

    I liked the old unique style, the room was cozy with good lighting and facilities, bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bad smell in the room and the window had to be still opened. It was winter so it was cold in the room. The receptionist react immediately and gave me an additional electric heater. The bathroom was neglected, however clean. It was an unpleasant surprise that my slippers left forgotten in bathroom were not returned and cleaning service didn't informed about that, despite that I came back afternoon for my luggage and the car. Not a problem, but not nice.

    Very helpful and nice staff, speaking English pretty well. Good location. Private parking. Internet connection was fine and included in price. There was no problem to leave luggage and car for a couple of hours after leaving the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first evening some drunk guest from hotel or dunno where he came for came at me and was kinda threatening, entered our room without our agreement. He was totally drunk, he gave quite a scare for my colleague. On the other evening when we came back to hotel after work the room was drench with some sort of stinky smell. Also there was a party in hotels restauraunt. We couldnt fall asleep for few hours cause of the noise. And for the last when I checked in in the hotel I asked to order a taxi for us in morning at 7.00 am. When we came at 7 in the morning taxi have been ordered and we had to wait for almost 30 minutes.

    Interior is amazing in this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, but there was also nothing to expect because of the low price.

    Location was very good. We just needed a cheap sleep and that’s what we got. Good location was a positive suprise. Receptionist was also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's stuff was kinda rude. They did not warn me about events in the hotel and about Breakfast time changes.

    The hotel was located in the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no hairdryer in the room, the choice of breakfast could be better.

    Great location, beautiful historical building. Hotel is charming and atmospheric, the staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests from other rooms making noise in the corridor at the nighttime -expected stuff to make something about this, but it seems they did not care

    Central location. Stylish. Renewed rooms are very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather weak WiFi signal in the room I stayed.

    Comfortable and clean room, good bed, good heating, fridge and TV. Hotel located besides the pedestrian street with lot of restaurants and shops nearby, 15-20 minutes walk to the old town. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have cards instead of keys :)

    Great value for money! It's not maybe a 4seasons, but for $50 have a normal room with good (!) breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice hotel in the city center. It's very close to the main pedestrianized street and to the bus stop from the airport. The rooms are clean and comfortable, recommended to stay for a few days in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was very soft and didn’t give my back much support. The room door is quite old and original however that means there’s not much sound insulation so when people were talking in the corridor it was clearly audible in the room.

    The hotel location is very central and gives acces to Laisves aleja and Old Town. Public transport is also very close. The hotel has very interesting history and the lobby certainly reflects it. Lots of original art deco details. The room was quite basic. Very clean and tidy, but could do with an update on certain details.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking 6 EUR per night. Breakfast was not so good. Not so many dishes to choose from. Walls are made from cartoon, lot of sound in rooms.

    Great location,city center. Good wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payable parking lot. Poor breakfast choices. Better to choose cafes around. Where is some rooms not renovated and looks like many decades ago. So after booking ask reception to book renovated room (with balcony). But really high recommend this place.

    Best Cheap Art Deco Style Kaunas City Centre Hotel. Good price, best location and historical interior. Chicago 1930's

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms really need soundproofing, so you don't hear people walking near the stairs or the hall all the time.

    The location is very good and the hotel is very clean in general. Double room is way more better than the single one, even though the price is almost the same.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apparently our booking got mixed up, as we booked a twin but got a double. Not a big problem though. The second morning there was no warm water, there was a problem with it in the whole hotel. Luckily later it was repaired.

    Great location, good value. Had a nice quiet room at the back on the second floor. Beds were comfy and the place was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New and older rooms vary as to quality and Internet access

    Location is central outside of the old town walk or short bus ride from new international business station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the photos the hotel looked a lot fancier, parking is 6€/day extra

    Location at the walking street, good bars nearby and the old town is in A 10min walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap, bad smelling hotel and night club is one floor under, can't sleep at all. Walls are so thin that you can hear everything what's happening in other rooms. No breakfast even if you have ticked this option, unkind administrator

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to the other hotels I have tried , Metropolis was a disapoinment , it was like traveling in the old east contries years ago. Friendly staff but it was run Down .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating and asked for heating to be turned on but was told it has to be in minus temperatures for 5 days before heating is used. i had to sleep fully clothed. Having got up from the first night stay i had a bite on my next and one on my face - must have came from something in the pillow i guess.

    The receptionist was very pleasant and even ordered me a taxi. very central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing was very poor as we were kept awake by people below us talking and you could hear people walking and talking in the corridor. The bar was advertised that it was open until 11pm, however, we were told at 9pm that it was closed.

    An excellent central location that is close to many shops, restaurants and quite close to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear people talking in other rooms and in the corridors. Bar wasn't open in the evenings even though it was advertised to be open until 11pm

    Nice central location. Within walking distance of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds this time were not suitable for tall people..For somebody around 185 cm tall you might find your feet hanging off from the bed. Smaller coffee cups this time. You have to enter password for every wifi hotspot you connect to (they have total 5+ hotspots)

    This was our 2nd stay at Hotel Metropolis, this time they offered a better room (232 instead of 206), because there was an event with loud music in the buffet. The room was bigger and the bathroom had a bathtub. The breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for a hotel treating you as a good customer, it could be good to know that the hotel's credit card reader may not be working, the ATM is inconveniently far away from the hotel but they make you walk there, better not to forget your pen at home as the hotel does not offer any, you are not allowed to bring any food out of the hotel's restaurant if you cannot finish your paid breakfast. In addition, the hotel does not have an elevator nor handrails at all stairs if you may have a disability and it is quite a noisy place in the early morning. The coffee could be much better.

    I liked the hotel's very good location and the really convenient access to taxi services. The receptionists helpfully and free of charge printed out my bus tickets back home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very simple, but clean and lovely. The location is superb, helpful and friendly staff, a nice enough breakfast buffet. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was designed by a dyslexic person, the washbasin is halfway over the double level small bath with a toilet stuck in on the other side. Some school used the hotel and the kids were noisy and slammed doors all evening.

    The hotel is situated in a good area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cofffe was (very) bad and poor breakfast which was being served on a small table.

    It was one the known interwar buildings. Even elevator doesn't exist and you need to carry your luggage, ambiance was nice and didn't mind about the details. It is an old building with renovated rooms. Location was quite good. Although it is not in the old town, close to everywhere in almost 1 km

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Hotel: Place with a lot of history and soul. Well renovated, with preservation of old features and atmosphere. Close to boulevard, central. We had room facing backyard, very quiet and big. Excellent reception staff. Very good breakfast ( buffet ). Walking distance also to old town, close to museums.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all very pleasant

    Very nice, lovely old building built in the 1920's for the elite capitalist ruling party well before the Russians took it over after the second world war.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located at the main tourist-shopping street . Twin room was small, but enough comfortable to spend an overnight. We could do check in later than it was mentioned on approval e-mail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are renovated and modern, but unfortunately lack much historic charm.

    Centrally located historic hotel with a charming lobby. Comfortable bed, good wifi, and clean and functional shower. Old city is a 15 minute walk away down a pleasant pedestrian-only shopping street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were very poor, the staff unhelpful -when it's gone it's gone!!!!!! And the restaurant not open in the evenings We were on the third floor, and no lift, and no staff offered to help with the cases

    Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, towels changed daily, the reception staff were friendly and say helpful, and the hotel is central

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee served for breakfast was cold. And there were no napkins available for the breakfast buffet.

    The hotel is very centrally located, near Laisves aleja. The hotel parking site is right behind the hotel, and there's an entrance from the parking site directly to the hotel lobby. The hotel staff is very friendly. All in all, Hotel Metropolis is good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, right in the very center of Kaunas on the main pedestrian street! 5 minutes walk from the best beer place in town - "Vingiu Dubingiu". Convenient parking just outside the hotel. The renovated rooms are nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom.

    We was in a hotel where we felt there was not renovated the last 30 years. But there was history. Nice breakfast. The staff was very polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the unrenovated annex in the back, still featuring "socialist charme". Those in the historic building part are probably preferable.

    Good location on the main boulevard, nice breakfast room, parking behind hotel (Because hotel is in pedestrian zone, ask beforehand how to get there).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queues at breakfast time where long.

    This is a hotel on a top location in the middle of Kaunas where I felt immediately at home. It is not flashy or fancy and the carpets on the stairs can use a makeover, but apart from that I had just a very pleasant and comfortable stay in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms, renovated ones are let's say okay, but unrenovated ones are in bad condition, and no safe in the rooms..

    Location, location, locaaaaatiiion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has its own charm. I had a very basic, small room, but that was way enough for a short city trip. The best things about this hotel are the very friendly staff and its location in the city center (in the heart of the pedestrian area). I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite dated but is charming. Beds are not that comfortable.

    Rooms are large and clean, great location in the new town, surrounded by restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soviet style hotel :-( , rooms not clean, bathroom is from the past of Soviet period ...... it's horrible. I was ready to meet the ghost from the USSR. Breakfast isn't various.

    Freindly Staff and lacation!!! in the center !

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropolis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: