Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Town Apartments

Druskininku g. 10-4, LT-44288 Kaunas, Lithuania

#34 of 76 Holiday rentals in Kaunas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 apartment reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an obvious problem with the tv system before we arrived. No batteries in the controls only 1 channel available and then it would not even work. Stayed 4 days reported the problem no response . Basic old equipment. Not for someone who does not like stairs but n9 problem to us.

    You either love or hate this place.. It's in a great location with parking very spacious ,comfortable bed and a unique funky style . Aircon was a little noisy but worked ok. It was relaxing and does put a smile on your face it just needs a little attention. Had a great stay there and did not want to be negative just constructive criticism.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the kitchen equipment was poor the air-condition was noisy the windows did not open for fresh air

    Very good location Nice interior decoration Cute terrace Quiet Very spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television only seemed to have one channel

    Very authentic appartment. It was so cosy and cute, yet very spacious. No noises from neighbours or outside. As a booklover, I really loved the library! Ernestas came to pick us up at the airport and he gave us a lot of information about the city. The appartment itself was very close to the walking boulevard with lots of restaurants. We rented a car and we could leave it at the parking lot behind the appartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sky light windows were all leaking and there was alot of pots, plastic containers, bowls etc on the ground all over the apartment. The large sofa bed is in poor condition, needs replacing. Overall a great apartment and location, fix the leaking roof and update some of the furniture and there is nothing bad to say about this place. The apartment has great character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was leaking through the windows and there was no washing mashine.also there was no coffee,mold under the mattress also baby blanket had alot of yellow stains,for the last few days internet was unpaid so we were unable to use it.

    Close to the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi did not work. Not an issue for me as I used my data, but my husband was not too happy.

    Excellent location, the property was clean and super spacious. It was well equipped with all the kitchen items, as well as iron and the board. We loved the quirky decor as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The refrigerator is too small.

    The apartment is very nice and archaic, we felt at the beginning of the last century. Otherwise we could find everything for an ordinary life. A grocery (IKI) and lots of restaurants are very near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This apartment seemed to be the perfect choice for our company of three adult men. We had read other peoples opinions and we also checked that the specifications of equipment and service should be enough to satisfied our needs. We didn't expect luxury, only the basic things that can be expected from a normal functional apartment. We are experienced travelers from several countries of the world, used to live in very basic accommodations such as private apartments and small guest houses. Despite the positive response from other guests, our experience turned out to be bad on many points: 1 On booking.com it was specified that it was free transfer service included. In reality, the management offered only pick up at the airport. 2 During the transfer request, we did not get E-mail response. To get confirmation about the transfer we later texted the management on sms. The management then seemed unaware about our request on E-mail and we felt that we were criticized for asking for this service close to our arrival. But the fact was that we did mail the request to the contact mail provided, about three days before our arrival. 3 At the arrival at the airport we did not meet the management. We had to call and were instructed to go out to the parking lot. This procedure could have ruined the pick up if phones were out of order, which the management also told us happened to other guests. 4 Upon arrival to the apartment, we were asked to pay. We requested a receipt and was told that we could have it later. It was our mistake to accept paying without receiving receipt at once. It put us in a bad position when more complaints later was to occur. We did receive invoice by mail but by that time, our journey was already finished. 5 One double bed and one single bed had been prepared. We would prefer three single beds since the apartment offer several beds. We rearranged the beds ourselves but with the result that one person had to sleep without sheet.

    The apartment have potential and looks quite nice from a distance when not paying too much attention on the details. Location is also good. The price is okay in regard to the specifications on booking.com. Thus this specifications is only in theory and not in reality. But for guests who primarily sleep, drink beer and go to restaurants outside, the apartment may work good anyway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great apartment, very clean and very warm. Edgaras was very helpful, great service! Perfect location and Amazing value.... Will certainly book again for next visit!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived early - two hours early when the apartment was still being cleaned. It was very wet an cold outside and we'd have been happy to sit in a corner while the cleaning lady finished her work but we were told to leave and come back in an hour. We were early and the owner was within his rights, but it was December and the rain soon turned to snow and we got a little grumpy. The circular staircase to the sleeping area was troublesome for me, but mostly because I am fat and old. My daughter skipped up and down it like a spring gazelle, but this is not ideal for old farts or people with mobility problems.

    The apartment was full of character. Don't be fooled by the shabby external appearance! It's great when you're in there! A short walk from Vilnius Street and Laisves Avenue near the old centre. Very near a useful IKI small corner supermarket which sold everything we could need and was open 7-11 seven days a week.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Outside of the building not very inviting. Stairs up to the bedrooms a bit dangerous if you have small children. More cooking equipment would be helpful.

    Great location! Small supermarket just around the corner, close to old and new town!! Fab!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    silence comfortable and very honestly place. i reccomend for all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hippie style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Authentic place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As soon as the host opened the door you just wanted to explore the apartment. It was like a giant tree house for adults.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    More than I expected. Wonderful place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendliess of staff, aparment itself, perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like home from home. Warm and plenty of hot water

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful cosy place

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You will see in the other reviews about the WiFi it is terrible and seems to be never getting fixed although our host,(Edgaras) said he would. The flat is 100 years old and although fairly clean there was sewage smell in the toilet and also the toilet door was more like a barn door with no lock. We made it very clear we were two friends travelling and no 2nd bed was made up. Even when we told our host again whilst he was there he left without leaving any bedding so my first night was not good. The main double bed is above the sitting area so if anyone wants to stay up and watch tv you will keep them awake. The other bed is a single one in a corner upstairs that you have to bend down to get into due to the roof slanting over. It is ok for a young person but not very good for an adult. The main thing is the stairs (see Picture). It’s a very old wooden spiral step that was so difficult to get down I had to go backwards. Again as mentioned before not suitable for children. The other big issue is the fridge it is a camping fridge/mini bar and the freezer in it may hold two ice pops if you are lucky. This is major issue if like us you are staying for a while as you cannot keep much in it. Such a shame as we did get to see our hosts other flat, down the road, and they had massive SMEG fridge freezer. One other major issue was we agreed with our host to get a transfer back and he charged us 20euros for this which was not an issue due to the airport being a good drive away. However he cancelled on us at 11pm the night before claiming his car was broken. He did give us taxis number and I was hesitant as if they would understand us and also the pronunciation of the street(very long!) I did on several occasions ask if he could call and book us one at 10.30am but he assured me there would be no issue. The next morning we had major issues trying to order one, this was even with my attempts at Lithuanian. There are no taxi ranks nearby and we even tried to flag one down.

    Location was good and Edgaras collecting us from the airport was a great help. Kaunas is an amazing town and worth a visit. The prices for everything are fantastic. Visit the Cocktail Basement bar for drinks and dance. Nicest Staff & Bouncers I have ever met.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The wifi did not work at all and it has to be fixed!!! It caused us a lot of inconvenience during our stay and cost us considerable money due to that we could not book us on the the flight and had to pay large sums for it the airport.

    Very well located near the old town. Large space. Nice apartment with little outdoor garden. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stairs and railings are not the most suitable for a toddler. We managed but could be difficult if you couldn't keep an eye on your child the whole time. (We sort of expected that from the pics though!)

    The owner, Edgaras, was very friendly and helpful. The apartment was charming and really well-designed. It was very central between the new and old towns, with easy access to both. Very quiet both day and night. The river is also very close.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the spaciousness, handy for both Old and New town, ease of catching buses, supermarket round the corner.The character of the accommodation,lots of wood used in interesting ways and LOTS of books in english to browse through.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were told on our booking that we would have a bottle of local wine, beers and some lithuanian cheese with honey waiting for us. These were not forthcoming. After an exchange of text messages. I was told that this mistake was due to Booking.Com. Not sure why they were blamed. We felt a bit disappointed with the excuse but had to accept it.

    Being met by our host who explained everything about the apartment. The lovely ambience of the apartment. Nice strong wifi signal. The strong shower with plenty of hot water. The fully adjustable heating system and the veranda were all all great.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    maybe a little let down in kitchen area but really ok

    old style rustic nice feel

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work, although restarting it.

    Very friendly staff, nice location and a super cozy apartment for a good price. Totally recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet signal 📶 was lagging hard.

    Great lovely place, enyojed everything

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and charm of apartment

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Needed repairs.On the second floor-mold.

    Very good location.Cosily furnished apartments.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place is a little small for 6 peaople, was perfect for 2 of us :)

    Thery atmospherical place. Loved everything.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: