Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sfinksas 4 stars

Aukštaičių g. 55, LT-44162 Kaunas, Lithuania

#27 of 35 hotels in Kaunas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, not good. Not a 4 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV was very small. Wifi barely worked. Shower has couple of years, what is visible, but it was clean. The worst point was breakfast. Very limited choice. I had a problem in the morning what to eat. I won't choose this hotel next time.

    It's not a 4* hotel - it's barely 3*. My stay here was decent, but I was expecting more. Room was ok, not so big, but I was quite satisfied. Localisation was ok, not in the centre, good access by car to every point in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, not much going around the hotel as it seems to be in the middle of a residential area, but not much they can do to improve that.

    Breakfast, just wow! A lot of local foods and the usual hotel foods with a local twist, but it was so good and I'm usually not very excited about the breakfast but this was amazing. Rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was all in lime. Shower cabin lets out the water. Tv antena cable was broked, so I repaired It by myself to watch the Tv. Not all electrical sockets was working. And it was not enough in the room for these times.

    Clean and spacious room. Really good breakfast. Not so big assortment, but really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were really hot (+27 degrees) when we arrived, and the so called air conditioning didn't help at all. We opened the window although were advised not to. Hotel's restaurant was not open, which was a disappointment, because we had booked this hotel because of the restaurant. So it's advisable to check the details prior to booking.

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    If the host purchase a door note ''DO NOT DISTURB'' I will strongly reccomend this hotel.
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Cleaning Lady was knocking till you open, and then starting to clean whole room it distarbing in the rest. Lack door notes ''DO NOT DISTURB'', it created lack of privacy. In the apartmant visible a chink, so you sow what is going outside on the coridor creazy. Of course the some you could see from the corridor what is going inside room.

    Breakfast was perfect and delicious, everyday something new. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The location is very nice: very quiet (next to no traffic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could hear TV in the next room

    The location is very nice: very quiet (next to no traffic around), has a wonderful park nearby, 10 minutes walk from main pedestrian zone and approx. 25 minutes from central bus station (you'll have to climb a hill on your way when walk on foot, though). The staff was friendly and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, peaceful surrounding,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom facility was not completely clean, but was resolved after informing the staff. Breakfast could be better organized.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, peaceful surrounding, parking place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Not for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-fi was terrible, not to work with. The Restaurant in the Hotel closes at 7pm. You can take a little walk to the city and go to the AMBER-GRILL. Very good food for good prices and very kind staff. No Airco. Not really good breakfast. When you like toast, you will like it.

    The Hotel is close to the city of Kaunas and in a quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Amazing service, coming from hotel owners and all employees. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient hotel, nice and clean rooms, exceptionally warm service both from employees and hotel owners. Good and tasty offer in restaurant. I can deffinetely recommend this hotel and next time we will stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    comfy bed, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet seat broken, staff doesnt speak lithuanian which is native language in Lithuania, carpet is dirty, we were accused that we didnt pay for the stay (but we did via booking.com), staff not friendly, no uniform which looked weird, no toilet paper just tissues which made mess as it kept ripping in half, weird smell in the hotel as you come in.

    comfy bed, free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived there after 8pm and left at 4am to the airport so that was a rather short stay. The room was clean, the bed comfy and the guy at the reception was really helpful and friendly. Pity we did not stay long! No idea if the location is good or not though we haven't seen anything of Kaunas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast had to be ordered beforehand, not enough coffee during breakfast (had to ask for refill every morning), fridge not working in the room

    good location for sports, spacy room, nice personel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.2
    Nice staff but dirty floors and bad food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our Room wasn't hoovered. The breakfast was flavourless, the coffee the lowpoint of the day. The glory days of this hotel are over and it should be renovated immediate, to get rid of the dark colors and the musty ambiance.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    Staff are very polite and trying to solve everything in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant available. In the morning kitchen is overloaded and necessary to wait a long time. Selection are only eggs or porridge. In the evening nowhere to drink coffee because bar is closed and no restaurants available.

    Staff are very polite and trying to solve everything in the best manner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Best stay ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best stay in 7 days trip. Very friendly host, made us dinner even when the kutchen was already closed. Highly recomended. Definetly will visit again when road brings us to Kaunas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    The rooms were very clean, and the hotel staff was extremely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow at times

    The rooms were very clean, and the hotel staff was extremely polite and professional. Although there was not a dinner restaraunt, breakfast was available and made to order by the Chef. The hotel is in a great location, located roughly 2 km from city center and easily within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Presonel was very helpfull.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices for beer any meal.

    Presonel was very helpfull. No problem with parking. Wi Fi good. Breakfast good. When I was there the restaurant was not working but each evening stuff preapare for me something to eat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Kaunas Retreat!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable. Wifi was fast. I ordered a bottle of Champagne to be present upon my arrival. They surprised me with a free bowl of fruit and a small plate of cheese. Much appreciated. The staff tried hard, and succeeded to please.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for one night stand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pour breakfast menu

    Spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The air conditioming was turned off In the morning sí We...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioming was turned off In the morning sí We woke up like In Sauna bath

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    OK for one night stay. Free parking and clean room. Really old-school.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower

    Parking, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    breakfast really bad
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast really bad and staff really slow everything what they do beds really bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    salmon soup was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was to warm

    salmon soup was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not working at room. Breakfast options are very limited.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Overall good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was not good

    Nice and quite place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice and quite location, good breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and quite location, good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist poorly speaking lithuanian

    Clean room, quiet place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great.. the staff was helpful. rooms big and clean!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location, and quiet place in this city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very annoying motion detector in room, all night red LED blinked in our room.

    Good location, and quiet place in this city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vrey nice place.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and Kaunas was a good surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location is interesting, close to the park, but a little far from the center. The employees are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was made by our wishes, it was great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neigbours

    Breakfast was made by our wishes, it was great! Staff was very friendly Nice environment for the dogs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    To be recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud party in the restaurant.

    Very good staff. Old building, but comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, Good personal, i te comenend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not working correctly shower room, no lights at corridor

    I like room, double bed very good corner to rest, lighting, polite stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    cosy and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast , one of the rooms have electrical problems (lights didn't switch off)

    rooms, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable hotel, with good beds and friendly personnel. Taxi to the centre was easily arranged.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vent system in restroom.

    Staff was so welcomed! Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced, far from restaurants and center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from center. Overpriced. Not a 4 star location

    Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and services.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful surroundings and comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Peaceful surroundings and comfortable beds. Very kind and helpful personnel. Pleasant experience, thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, owner involves in client service himself...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, owner involves in client service himself, making like home feeling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    5 stars. highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was 100 percent satisfied.

    Vety pleasant and concerned stuff!

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: