Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cocoon Hotel Belair 4 stars

Rue Buurschter Plage, 9164 Bourscheid, Luxembourg

#2 of 4 hotels in Bourscheid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unbelievably hot during our stay and aircon would have offered some relief

    Location, rooms and staff are excellent....would highly recommend this hotel. It is a little jewel hidden away and the peace and quiet is so refreshing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff rude (e.g. we showed up late and I politely asked the bartender who I can talk to about check-in and he said "I'm busy, go away." Then I asked the waitress, and she said "I don't know, I'm the waitress" even though the check-in counter was 5 m away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you look for a quite and relaxing location this is the place to be. Relaxing view on the river, in the middle of the forest, surrounded by the nature and with a view on the local castle. Perfect for couples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for a longer stay (more than one night) is not cost-effective,and not very attractive in winter.

    Although the hotel does not locate near a city or town, the natural environment is more than valuable for an exploration. The hiking path wands in the hills and the river running under the window, here is no doubt a great place for laying under the cumbersome thoughts and embracing the nature. The standard room is small but cozy, and you can enjoy the view of the hill and the river if on the right side.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk person greeted us at the front desk then got on the phone for 15 minutes without apologizing and ignoring us. There was a second person at the desk playing on their cellphone and ignoring us.

    Everything but checkin. Especially our waiter at dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gardener using the lawn mower at 9 o'clock with a very noisy machine in the middle of this quiet area.... and the bad smell in the room (cigaret and sewage water)

    Very nice location directly on the bank of the river, very quiet area with nice view from the balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out were a little rough, but the staff definitely did their best.

    Fantastic setting. Flexible accommodation of our bikes. Thanks for letting us give them a quick bath. Wish we had had more time to enjoy the facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we are gastronomically acquainted, we'd like to have the option for something extra ... but the food was all in all good.

    Great breakfast, great rooms, bed, cleanliness...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad "surprise" at the check in. Basically they did some overbooking and we were forced to move to the Cocoon La Rive instead of the Bellair. So after long discussion they offered us the first diner but starting holidays by such dissapointment is not relaxing at all.

    Hotel is located in a nice and quiet area. The river passing by with the view on Bourscheid Castle are good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the most unusual rating ever. I booked but didn't turn up because I couldn't make it. I rang the hotel to let them know. They still made sure there wasn't some confusion on their part. Wonderfully professional.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double room on the top floor that was above the restaurant. The noise from the outdoor bar was awful. We also had to keep closing the door to the balcony because all the smoke from the bar area went straight into the room. The hotel is not near any other restaurants so if you don't want to eat at the hotel you'll have to drive a few towns always to find food.

    The room was clean and modern. View of the castle from the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place, surroundings, quietness, the nature, the beautiful automn views from our terrace. Possibility to eat in the other hotel's restaurant located 500m away and being charged to our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the warm summer evenings meant the room would have benefited from air conditioning

    Dinner was delicious, the location was perfect and the room was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I left left a couple of valuable pieces behind when we left and the staff were happy to promptly post them out to me. thank you so much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I had different meals, perhaps as well as I was ill at 2am with sickness and diarhia. Clear due to the food I consume that evening. We had both had the same food elsewhere earlier in the day. Frankly as we were staying only one night little interest there house wine at 17 euro we very very poor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved everything

    absolute beauty!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting in room and ventilation

    Location, staff and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avesome place. Friendly stuff. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastische locatie aan de Sûre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room with no air conditioner. Quite warm in the summer.

    The scenery on the way to and at the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quiet, lush forest landscape. The natural beauty of the stream and mountains. The cosines of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed. Great friendly service. Delicious breakfast. Stunning location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The upgrade we received

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room, long and bumpy road to the hotel , croissants for breakfast tasted stale

    Bed very comfortable beautiful view out to the river

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent. A winding lane down the mountainside led to the hotel. Perfect for a very quiet, away from it all holiday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of noice in the room verry bath isolation

    The gastronomique lunch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The location is amazing! - The hotel is super clean! - The price is so low for what you get! - Super friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road around the premises could be better maintained.

    Bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be improved - not enough fresh fruit or yoghurt options. Orange juice was watery.

    Lovely big room and luxurious bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with a lot of space and good view. Nice Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Customer service was lacking and whilst the room was ok I would never have classed it 'superior'. It was not value for money on this occasion (140 Euro), though I would consider returning if the prices were much lower (70-80 Euro).

    The location was very good and I would go back

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms, furniture and hotel in general needs some freshening up to match more precisely the way it is marketed. A bit of a "musty" feel all in all, though it was still a pleasant stay.

    Nice location for a brief escapade in the Luxembourgish countryside. Could even see Bourscheid Castle right above our room window. Very spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife booked a 2 day New Years Eve package. The staff were brilliant. The restaurant was totally packed but the kitchen and waiting staff produced the most amazing meal. Everything ran perfectly smoothly and we even had an extra celebration to mark New Year in England Beautiful location by the river. If it's pretty in the winter it must be stunning in Summer. (midgies ?)

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AirCon. Really needed during heatwave. Powerjet bath only worked once. Access road to the Plage hotel very poor state.

    Location. River. Woodlands. Surroundings. Superior rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is very weak. It works but not enough for laptop.

    everything was cool! very quiet and butiful place with good quality of comfort. Awsome bathroom and bed. Fantastic view on castle on the top of the mountain.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant seemed dated and background music too loud (was turned down at our request). Terrace option would have been goodbut not offered!

    Watching wildlife (once the general public had gone) and the quiet position of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Group

    No access to English TV or Newspapers.

    All the basic amenities are of highest quality. Staff tries very hard to please. Comfortable bed, like new bathroom and heating controls, open windows without screens, woods, water and wildlife all around. Quiet and remote. Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Couple

    nothing

    the breakfast - so much great food the staff how helpful and friendly everyone was to us the value the atmosphere their upbeat attitude respectful and understanding we traveledwith five WWII vets ages 88-93years old. NOT ONE PROBLEM IN 7 DAYS

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    A bit far away fm Luxembourg city

    Everything was fine! Restaurant is expectional!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spot beautifull

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The approach road needs resurfacing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is noise free, very relaxing. Restaurant offers a great dinner. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spijtig geen airco met temperaturen buiten van 39 graden

    eten, omgeving en accomodatie was super

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Locatie prima voor passanten

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The location was perfectly situated in the heart of Luxembourg.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Group

    Lovely staf and lovely lokation

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No cons to report

    location, food, outstanding breakfast and serene setting

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Cocoon Hotel Belair traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: