Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau d'Urspelt 4 stars

AM SCHLASS, L-9774, Urspelt, Luxembourg

#1 of 1 hotels in Urspelt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1163 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Restaurant (as well as breakfast) was very good, service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The binding on the menus was coming apart, a small matter, in an otherwise very fine establishment.

    Restaurant (as well as breakfast) was very good, service bordered on exceptional. Reception was courteous and efficient. Relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent property with amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was quite expensive with 1 main course costing €30 per head. Breakfast also pricey at €22 per head.

    Excellent property with amazing views! Rooms were really clean and staff friendly and welcoming after a long drive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall, the chateau is lovely and we enjoyed our stay immens,y!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different choices at breakfast, the pool is more of a get wet large tub, and the “hot tub” is warmed by the sun, also needs screens on all the windows in the rooms... it was very warm in the rooms with no airco.

    The staff was friendly, the chateaux gorgeous, the location superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The location was perfect with ample private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘swimming pool’ is not really a pool but more like an elongated marrow jacuzzi. Sun shades would be a very welcome addition to the ‘pool terrace’.

    The location was perfect with ample private parking. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Dinner was delicious but the breakfast was a bit limited. Some of the staff were excellent but others were below the level you expect from a hotel of this standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our experience in this castle did not reach our expectation. We planned a weekend out in what it looked like a beautiful castle in an amazing area. Our arrival was fine, we were nicely welcomed at the reception and immediately assigned a room. The room was on the second floor, facing the courtyard. A bit old style, but in the environment of this castle this is what we were expecting. Later in the day, some guests turned on a fire in the big fireplace in the internal garden of the courtyard and no-one stopped them in doing so. When we went back to our room, we realised that the air was strange because of the fire, the smell of smoke was all in our room. We asked the reception to turn off the fire, which was just under our window and they did it immediately. We then went for dinner at the restaurant of the hotel. Here we had a few issues because, being pregnant, I had a lots of medical constraint on the food: the waiter who took the order was extremely professional and took it seriously, but this did not apply to the people in the kitchen or to the other waiter. I had to send some food back twice (I am usually very relaxed in those kind of things), because there were always ingredients that I explicitly asked not to have on the plate (like salad or decorations of raw vegetables or seeds or sprouts), since they can be very dangerous during pregnancy. I was treated quite badly, the second waiter laughed at my face more than once and this affected very adversely the dinner. Furthermore, the restaurant was so full of flies, they were flying in our glasses or on our food or on our plates. All the guests were quite annoyed by that, and this is certainly something you do not expect in a 4 star hotel were you pay more than 110 euros for a dinner for 2 people. After the dinner we went back to our room and the air was fully unbreathable.

    Although the availability and friendliness of the staff of the hotel was good, the problems that we had, both at the restaurant and with the fire under our window, strongly affected our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice chateau, but no grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very not really 4 *and extremely noisy! The decor was nice but the bed was not for us. Moreover we were not able to sleep until 1:30am because we could hear the people passing in front of the room as if they were inside the room. In the morning starting from 7:15am same thing again ... so we had a very bad night’s sleep:-(.

    Beautifully restored castle and great restaurant! The food was excellent and the waiters really nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't recommend the restaurant. Overpriced steaks of poor quality and the staff kept speaking French to us although we talked English to them.

    The atmosphere and location were excellent! Nice rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Everything was above expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was above expectations. The castle is in a really remote area, with hills and forests that really contribute to the magic of the place. The facilities were above expectations. Overall, a great value/ money rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Amazing, recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...just flawless A covered garage maybe would be a great addition

    Really good, was not expecting such quality and architecture. Staff is second to none. Just brilliant, very helpful and available. Great smiles Restaurant is well priced and really good. Breakfast just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything else was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was not good. We had to ask for things all the time and it took really long to get a starter (no bread on the table, which we could not ask because the waiters were not there or not looking). Food was good though.

    Everything else was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Top location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast is way too expansive (22€ pp). For this price, we could at least have some fresh orange juice. Although the breakfast was excellent! Spa should be accessible for all guests without paying an extra fee.

    Excellent and quiet place to overnight. Rooms are well equiped and are very nice decorated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Perfect, rural location and great facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of drinks at the bar was quite high, compared to anywhere else we stayed while in Europe.

    We really enjoyed Chateau d'Urspelt. The location is rural and the facilities are top-notch. Dinner is the restaurant was excellent. The pool area is small, but comfortable and tidy. Of the 8 places we stayed in Europe, it was our favorite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    I can see no circumstances that would cause me to ever stay in this grossly overpriced, inefficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet did not work. The tv controller did not work. the air conditioning/heat was ineffifcent. The front desk receptionist was unhelpful, confused and could not be contacted after she left to help with a private party. Other staff members were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is absolutely beautiful in the view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot is dirt, and the night I got it was raining so it was a little muddy. Not a major problem, probably the only negative thing I can say.

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful in the view of the countryside was amazing. I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very nice and helpful staff (Clement and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough towels in the bathroom, air-conditioning

    Great location, very nice and helpful staff (Clement and Alex), private spa is a must of the stay ! Great underground bar and free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Really nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was beautiful, but the shower head was not great.

    Our room was beautiful and so was the hotel. This definitely felt more like a hotel than a castle though. There are several places to eat within a 10 min. drive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok place for a weekend away from Lux City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average for a 4-star hotel. Small selection of foods and beverages and even though it was supposed to be available until 11:00, at 10:30 the pastries trays were already empty and did not get refilled. The bed and pillows were a little bit too soft for my tastes. No sink in the room WC. Kind of pricey. For the Superior room rate we paid, the use of spa should have been included.

    Beautiful building and surrounding area. Smaller than what it looks in the photos, but still very pretty. The location is very convenient in case you want to have a weekend away from Luxembourg City. Spacious parking lot, free of charge available at the premises. The room was very clean and comfortable. A lot of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Imagine returning to childhood and feel entering a fairytale castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention here. We really liked our stay.

    Looking back on this stay, I can only recommend this place. The dinner was a huge experience and the breakfast was excellent. Thanks to the staff of this nice Hotel for making this a wonderful moment to remember.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Very nice hotel but the room we got was just not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was really small (although very clean) for the price we payed. The private spa was limited only 1 1/2h and they actuall forgot to switch on the hamman. So we only used the whirelpool.

    Restaurant was really good. Staff was very helpfull The Castle is really nice and picturesque so it's worth visiting it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Very impressive buildings, excellent room and super meal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is categorised as pet friendly by Booking.com but dogs are not allowed in the restaurant.

    Very impressive buildings, excellent room and super meal l in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A great way to celebrate your New Years Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very nice to have stayed here on NY eve and the day after. We had a great gala dinner accompanied by live music and wonderful food. The room was very nice and had everything we needed for our 22 months son. A bottle of Champaign and chocolates in the room as well as a rose and party attributes to celebrate the new year where there too. After the 5 course dinner at 12 there was fire works . Next day we had a nice breakfast and in the evening again a nice dinner. The hotel looks amazing and can be booked for all sorts of purposes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Sublim!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All things were exellent!!the restaurant was amazing very nice and friendly personel! And the food was very good and very kindly personel! This location is top of the bill!It is a very nice location!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely balance between being a modern hotel and still being warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was so great that it's difficult to mention specific likes. The staff are super friendly and accommodating, the receptionists all speak English and you really don't feel like you're being overcharged. The value for money is great. We stayed at the hotel over Christmas and there were so many personal touches that made it feel very festive and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Perfect Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    The beds are very comfortable and the restaurant was wonderful. The food was expertly prepared and the staff was extremely friendly. I cannot say enough about how much I loved this chateau. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    We had a lovely stay at the chateau... room was comfortableadnf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No individual light controls in room Cleaning staff for rooms were not up to standard Not enough coffee and tea offered in the room for make your own coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    A truly amazing building in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming and the honeymoon suite was incredible! Easily the best accommodation I have ever booked. The breakfast was top drawer and we only wished we could have stayed for longer than 1 night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was not particularly accommodating. I had asked to switch my room because I am a light sleeper and we had a room by the reception looking into the parking lot. He tried to convince me that since I would be leaving in the morning I didn't need a nice view. We also had a late dinner at the restaurant and the staff there were great but the food was only ok. (Risotto appetizer was great but both mains were only ok). Considering the price and ambiance I was expecting more. Furthermore for a 4 star hotel the details were missing (no bottle of water in room, no mini soap, poor quality shampoo and no pillows to choose from on the bed-only one limp pillow). For a 3 star that would be standard but for a 4 star you come expecting more especially in a Chateau. I was really looking forward to the stay.

    The building itself is beautiful and the rolling hills surrounding the property are lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Rooms are big, modern & very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Particularly dinner in the restaurant is quite expensive but there are a number of restaurants within a ten minute drive

    Rooms are big, modern & very comfortable. The location is very scenic, not our first visit to this amazing place!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointingly small and not very impressive. Checking in late, for one night only, mid week, with a 4 year old and a baby , we found it strange the staff would not think to mention that our room would be right above the One bar on the entire property! It was full on karaoke and when calling the reception merely to ask when we could expect it to quiet down, we were told it had no specific closing time. Also, charging 40€ Extra for a 4 year old to have a bed in a over 80m2 room seems to me a little excessive! The description on Booking.com for Activity's on the props also do not match up at all!

    Loved the atmosphere and the room was perfect ! The hotel is quite secluded but perfect for a calm relaxing getaway night or two! The restaurant was high on delivering a great dinner and we give it 10/10!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing that we expected in a place like this was complementary conditioner with the shampoo. Yet, outside of this we couldn't think of anything wrong with the place! Take note - the hotel is very nice but everything comes at a price. For example, if you'd like to use the hotel's sauna/bubble bath area you need to actually rent it for 90 minutes. Breakfast doesn't come cheap either at 19 EUR per day per person. If you wish to eat at another restaurant outside of the hotel, you need to go to the nearest town (Clervaux for example) to find it.

    The place was fantastic. There is ample parking at the hotel and it's situated in a small village. Perfect if you want a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We certainly enjoyed the peace and quiet very much. The breakfast was very tasty - you have a choice of different kinds of breads (though they offer the normal white bread for toast, presumably to keep American tourists happy, the other ones are far more interesting and freshly baked), mini croissants, cheeses, hams, yogurts, cereals, eggs (scrambled and boiled), bacon, sausages, fruits etc...not to mention the about 15 different kinds of teas to choose from. Needless to say, we were very happy! Staff members are very kind. They speak many different languages and always ready to offer their assistance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay at your special hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not eat at the hotel because of the expensive prices. We did not take a pool because the water was too cold.

    We enjoyed our stay at your special hotel. We asked to change a room because the ceiling was low and we received a blow. We immediately received another room that was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    The room was very nice and the setting is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner options in the area were limited and while the hotel restaurant was pleasant, it was quite expensive for what it provided. And refusing to provide tap water is pretentious and feels designed to gouge customers. (Not to mention that I feel more comfortable drinking more wine if I know I am also drinking plenty of water so I think it backfires.)

    The room was very nice and the setting is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    They are quite cheap, but this is the only advantage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark and small. Most of their rooms are on the first floor (ground level) with a view to the parking or to the inner yard, therefore, you should better not open curtains. There is a restaurant in the inner yard and music does not stop till the late night. There is a small outdoor jacuzzi, but it is so small and dirty that you would not use it (and you have to walk in a swimming suit and slippers through the the inner yard to get there). The breakfast was quite average. I would not suggest this place to anyone.

    They are quite cheap, but this is the only advantage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Big room, clean, good breakfast, green surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told about the tax for the pet (25 e) - very expensive, the restaurant has only 5 choices for the menu and are expensive

    Big room, clean, good breakfast, green surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small and difficult to move around the bed. The TV was only in German. The pet excess was highly overpriced at 25€.

    Excellent location and beautiful building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    A delightful surprise. Charming and restful with superb food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel building full of interest. The food was excellent as were the wines. Freshly squeezed orange juice with breakfast. Vespas for rent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A choice other than red meat, and perhaps something hot for breakfast, good choice of bread and cakes, but again not for us every day for breakfast.

    The hotel was just as expected, we had read reviews so were aware you had to travel a way to find alternative restaurants, BUT no need to, as our evening meals were excellent, in fact more than excellent. Shame the menu was short, and with no poultry! but we enjoyed what we chose the two nights we stayed. The bedroom was up to 4* accommodation, but not really in keeping with a Chateau, there were other more rooms in keeping, but not for just two days at a cost we wanted to spend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very comfortable hotel. The hotel restaurant is particularly good. I have stayed here before, and this stay was more pleasant than the last, when we had a room that was too far from the wifi router to get good reception. We had very good internet connectivity on this stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good experience overall , nice location but some small room for improvements as stated above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of the Spa facilities is not included and only option is to spend euro 69 on a ''couples deal'' .. The restaurant menu is limited to expensive upmarket food and no casual snack or light options .

    Good breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Good wine choice in restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    A mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged even more than listed for mini bar items, sadly we didn't notice that before we left the country. Bar and restaurant was extremely expensive.

    Comfy beds, very nice and roomy shower/bathroom Wonderful building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic - don't replenish stocks. Lack of tables or perhaps staff not cleaning them as efficiently as they could!

    Beautiful building. Rooms very well appointed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of flies during dinner that we had to constantly swat away from and//or off of our foid and drinks.

    Beautiful facilities and environs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inattentive service at reception. Great meal, but the restaurant was extremely noisy, making conversation very difficult. Air conditioning = electric fan; poor ventilation in bathroom. Lots of flies.

    Comfortable bed. Lovely building and surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Amazing food, but very hot room with lots of flies
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of flies/bugs, and the temperature in the room was just too high. The fan didn't really help (noisy). We didn't have cold water in the room (tap seemed to be boken, so it should be only in that room). Bathroom is not ventilated.

    Breakfast was awesome, dinner too. Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    The rooms were well appointed and the beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the dining room were a little slow, not as attentive as could have been. the door to the kitchen squeaked constantly when staff moved in and out which was a detractor to the evening. The flies need to be managed.

    The rooms were well appointed and the beds were comfortable. the bathrooms were very nice. Hotel staff were quite accomodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place ,, needs a little more customer care
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Booking.com booking was altered by the staff , due to the availability information being incorrect, the standard room which was provided was discounted but was not advised as no aircon, so the comfort in this room was not really great ,, the restaurant was delightful as was the food for the main part but our orders were not delivered as ordered ,, a medium rare steak and a rare steak are completely different,, seemingly not so here ,,,once sent back to the kitchen to be rectified it returned to the table 10 minutes later, all other guests had already eaten and was still a medium rare steak ,,,,? two courses of food took 2 1/2 hours to deliver,,, a little longer than expected,, to add to this , it would seem that the building is plagued with flies,, this was annoying not to mention a health hazard,,,???

    Generally very good,, great location,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, but a disappointment for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was no one to check us in. The room we got was very small - nothing like what is shown in any of the photos on the site. There is no air conditioning - just a fan - which does not really help when it is 30C. There were only around 10 stations offered on the TV - all local channels in the local language - which we do not speak.

    It is a very nice building(s) with a unique atmosphere. It has an excellent restaurant where we had a fabulous dinner and a very good breakfast the next day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    We will not stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the music late in the night during a wedding party made it Impossible to sleep.this was not mentioned when we booked and call . This is not fair . This place has to choose between organizing weddings or ceremonies or being a comfortable hotel for travellers who want to sleep,and not try to do both . The taste of the decoration and furniture can be discussed. Very hot bedrooms with only small windows and a very noisy fan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff but a bit pricey room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if we got the right room. The castle or venue is nice but our room was in the newer part and if you didn't know it, you would think you were in a nice hotel of a business hotel. Good quality but not extremely special. So in my opinion the room was a bit overpriced. We saw later there were way better deals on a Sunday evening, in that case I think you have great value-price.

    It was really nice that the staff prepared bed, changing gear and bath for our little baby. Really friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    10 Flies Safari
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The real issue was that we had more than 10 flies in the room that I only killed by midnight... moreover, the breakfast was meant to be open until 11 am but when we arrived at 10.30 am, there was hardly any food left ... likewise, nearly all the tables still had used dishes on them as the staff did not take them away. I never saw something like this in a 4 star hotel. All in all, the price was too high for what we got. If it was a 3 star hotel, I would not pick up on the breakfast disappointment.

    The chateau is a very nice location. It is nice spending an evening outside at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place! The rooms are amazing. We only stayed one night (arrived late and left early), so we didn't have a chance to try out the pool and other facilities. But we will we back, very nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Free upgrade because room too hot. What if there weren't available?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms at the last floor (3' floor) are unacceptably hot when it's sunny, and they come without air conditioning. It is known of course by the management, since we found a working fan in the room. The fan was just moving hot air around...

    I liked the offer we were made to upgrade our room: the room we booked was way too hot to be able to sleep in it. Last floor, under the roof, no air conditioning. We were offered a room with air conditioning. Hotels of this standard should have air conditioning or should not sell rooms were is not possible to stay during the summer months.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely building and setting with big car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small, bed a bit too hard and they closed the outside spa area for two hours due to a wedding. This was fine, but it forced us to change our plans a little.

    Lovely building and setting with big car park. Everything looks pretty new and was in good condition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Pretty little chateau/hunting lodge,caters well for business offsites and private guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor rooms are compact size, no airco makes it tough to sleep above 26c but thoughful application of mosquito mesh on window and fan helped (airco units in old chateau would spoil things). Shower room very compact but laid out well, could benefit from not having very sharp corners on basin surround as there is limited room/would be safer for children and knees. When the hedge has hidden the adjacent farmyard it will be even more chique (that said, farm did not disturb during our stay).

    Good location, nicely laid out and priced, perfect for car based grand touring. Good restaurant and also nearby to places of interest. Easy distance to Luxembourg city P+R.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice break
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading information about television: No channels , also on the booking was mentionned a bathrobe but wasn't free

    Room, breakfast , jacuzzi, estate, housekeeping friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Worth a Castle stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We opted for a superior room for the minimal price difference, and were amply rewarded with a large room with claw-foot bathtub, separate shower and a view over the courtyard. Breakfast buffet was fresh and offered a variety of cold and warm foods, and dinner in the attached restaurant was excellent even if is was a bit on the pricey side. The Chateau is set in beautiful countryside at the edge of a small village.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant Location, Great Restaurant, Nice Rooms, Small Pool, Poor Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos of the swimming pool in the advertising material on the web were taken with a wide-angle lens and thus deceptively suggested a larger pool than one found on site. The wifi was not dependable and often dropped out. On our first night, no reliable connection with sufficient bandwidth for even reviewing email was even possible, but after inquiring with staff, it emerged that a technician was working on the server at the time, and wifi signal strength was strong only near the elevator close to the lobby. However, even after the first night, wifi connectivity was weak throughout our visit and occasionally dropped completely. Wifi signal repeaters need to be installed at the hallway corners to ensure a strong, stable signal reaches all rooms through presumably stone walls. It was windy during our visit, and tree seed pods blew into the entrances and accumulated in the eddies around the stair landings and exits. These needed to be cleaned out more often by the housekeeping staff because the seed pods were being tracked further up the stairs and down the hall by guests. Television reception was terrestrial and thus did not lock onto digital signals on some channels -- cable or satellite TV would provide more channels with better reception. When we checked in and asked about spa treatments, we were told that we would have had to reserve in advance of our stay. This requirement should have been mentioned, either during the process of reserving the room or shortly thereafter, before arriving at the hotel. It was not even mentioned in any of the literature in the room. We noticed that some of the windows at the hotel have permanent screens (for insects), but not all. Screens on all the windows would be an improvement, for they keep not only bugs out, but birds as well. If swallows make their nests under the building eaves, keeping birds out of the rooms could be an issue if windows are left fully open (i.e.

    The chateau is in a beautiful setting in the country, the rooms are comfortable and well appointed, and the restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool is like a big bathtub

    Elegant environment, we stayed in a standard room but it's supreme comfortable, worth the money. nice staff, definitely stay again, highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful 300 years chateau hotel in Ardennes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful 300 years chateau hotel in Ardennes. Beautiful countryside location, friendly staff, big comfortable good equipped room and tasty breakfast. Big easy parking and fast wifi. Restaurant was also very good. Everything was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Just like the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the bar and the restaurant were very slow, whilst you pay a high price..

    We loved that the chateau looked exactly like the pictures. It was very beautiful and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was very good, but seemed overpriced. Cellar tavern is closed in low season.

    Beautiful hotel and grounds. Helpful and welcoming staff at check-in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    Watch out for busloads of loud tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loud tourists who were housed on the floor above us kept us awake and spoiled the ambience. The walls are not soundproof at all, and the partying tour bus of people was obnoxious through the night--not the romantic evening we anticipated.

    The location and decoration were beautiful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    The old chateau was in a rural setting in the north of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bed was not comfortable. The Staff did not respond in a timely manner to requests- we wanted extra pillows, the blocked sink in the bathroom was not fixed when we asked, etc. The breakfast was skimpy- very few choices. the dinner menu did not vary. we drove 5km for dinner because of this.

    The old chateau was in a rural setting in the north of the country and was in a very quiet spot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money, very nice accommodation and scenic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed during our stay due to lack of guests but you could have drinks in restaurant in that case

    Good value for money, very nice accommodation and scenic surroundings, breakfast is nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    The owners and staff did the great job renovating the estate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff did the great job renovating the estate although it's rather not a "proper" castle of medieval type. Nice atmosphere of winter holidays during our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the castle from Clevaux can be quite trick if you're not travelling by car. If this is your case, be prepared to pay for a taxi (and reserve time do look for one) or pay attention in the bus schedule.

    We loved the place ( a truly castle). Also, the room was super spacious and the breakfast, delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful place to stay - with a lot of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is out of the way - at least 2 kms from the nearest cafe or restaurant if you didn't want to use the restaurant at the facility

    Beautiful building and surroundings

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice place for get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room on the ground floor. We could hear base of the music from the bar and all people passing by. Few times woke up at night because people were talking loudly.

    Wonderful place with very friendly stuff! Perfect for relaxing get-away :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Exceptional site and lodging experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautifully decorated and fully equipped room, the exquisitely renovated historical buildings, the relaxed and friendly staff, and the wonderful dinner and breakfast. The attention to detail was evident in all respects, from the manicured grounds to the cup warmer for the morning pot of tea. Exceptional and reasonably priced !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, beautifull, quiet, friendly, good location if you want to have a rest, nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they dont have biological eggs and the cold jacuzzi. We also thought that there was a pool, but its more a very big jacuzzi, but it was oke. And there was a dutch couple and they were very noisy, by the pool and in their room, but thats not really the falt of the hotel except for the fact that you hear everyting when someone is this noisy. We never heard a sound from other rooms so that seems oke.

    They were very clear that the environment was important to them, and they tried to save paper and that sort of thing, but on the other hand they didnt have biological eggs (stamp on egg started with 3 so thats really bad) and only one vegetarian dish (a starter) on the menu... furthermore it was beautiful and quiet, only the jacuzzi was cold but maybe thats also an environmental dissision... very nice stay! Good rooms, clean, good beds. Nice pub under the chateau.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful Chateau, not great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service the evening we ate there was not good at all, 35-40min wait to order. The staff were polite though.There seemed to be a lot of fly's around the corridors...which made the place seem unclean when it actually wasn't.

    Beautiful Chateau, lovely bedroom and good quality food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Great place to celebrate a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed a bit disorganised so that the service was rather slow at times. Signage for reception, rooms etc. was scarce.

    It is a good location to celebrate a special occasion. It has a feel of luxury and is very atmospheric, especially at night when all the buildings are lit up. Beds were very comfortable. The outdoor spa was a great place to spend time on a hot sunny day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Magical castle setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was warm, although a fan had been provided. The rooms were snug, although fine for 1 night.

    Beautiful setting, great staff, good food. Would return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    nice atmoshfere ... for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have to do something with the flies... There are many ....everywhere.....:(

    kind and helpful staff, nice bathroom (in our choice of room), the facilities for coffee-tea in the room, nice breakfast, clean outdoor area, we loved the spa room and we enjoyed very much the dinner in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    5.8
    Pretty location...shoddy service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fully booked with no record of our booking, although I had both paper and electronic confirmation. Left us for an hour whilst they figured it out. Room was hot, with no a/c and an ineffective fan. There were flies everywhere...particularly in the restaurant. Expensive dinner with glacially slow service and a server who spilled my daughter's drink over the table and me...no attempt to clean up either. She left us with a dirty tablecloth throughout and had no solution to cleaning my clothes.

    The building is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chateau d'Urspelt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: