Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel 4 stars

1 Rue de Strasbourg / coin Avenue de la Liberté, Gare, 1021 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#54 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 949 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Best choice for a hotel in Luxembourg near the Gare.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.

    The City hotel was always my best choice for a Luxembourg hotel near the Gare. They have now done a full rennovation and the hotel has become even better!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice small and cheap for a 4 Star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice small room with a 1 place bed. Small but cheap, clean and good breakfast. Nice small room with a 1 place bed. Small but cheap, clean and good breakfast.

    Nice small room with a 1 place bed. Small but cheap, clean and good breakfast. Nice small room with a 1 place bed. Small but cheap, clean and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice and comfort stay if you move around the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It' near by station but far from old town area. Wifi did not work but I had problem all area in Luxemburg so may be it's not the hotel's fault

    The room was clean and big. Proper parking near by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We looooved our stay at the City Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We looooved our stay at the City Hotel. It honestly has a decently low rating on google... and I cannot figure out why. The AC was amazing, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was so clean, the breakfast was delicious, the decor was lovely, and the staff was so kind. Super easy to get to the city center - in walking distance of great restaurants and the main train station. Just an overall great experience. So glad we stayed here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    The AC did a hell of a job in one of the warmest weekends of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    windows that can only be opened a little.

    The AC did a hell of a job in one of the warmest weekends of the year. For a hotel with affordable parking, the old city center was pretty close

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Superb staff but less than ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was further away from the city center than expected and closer to the train station which always makes for a less optimal location. More transients and sketchy areas than closer in to the center which for three ladies traveling alone had an impact on our movement.

    The staff was absolutely fantastic. We had one of our companions fall ill and they bent over backwards to help us get her comfortable and help us find an open pharmacy on a Sunday. The breakfast was good and at least for this summer in Luxembourg the air conditioning was a godsend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great Stay at Luxembourg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I liked the comfort of the room/bed, quietness and the location which was facing the Main Train station. The breakfast was average but was good. The price was good as well. Strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Like it, Like luxemburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well located for who is going Lux by train and wants to ride a hop-on hop-off bus. The breakfast was excellent. It is a good value deal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Convenient location, cozy room to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Location is good; just in front of the central station. The room is not big, but cozy and clean. Perfect for the short stay for city sightseeing. The bed was comfortable, and the kettle and fridge are very convenient and functional. A free bottle of water in the fridge was also helpful! Although it is located in front of the busy street and near the construction site and under the plane paths, the room has well soundproof windows/walls. Air conditioning system works perfect, so I could sleep well on the hot nights!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    An excellent night in Lux
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is a little bit slow and sometime the doors are really heavy to open, this is very difficult when you come with more than 2 luggages. Just to consider for all kind of travelers

    Room was quite big, I like the bathroom and the decorations. It's really a nice room where you can stay and sleep comfortable. Breakfast was really nice👌 I love eggs and bacon and they had it so it was a pleasure having breakfast. A lot of cheese and breakfast. The ladies from reception are really gentil and kind and will help you and everything. I really thank you for their help because it was my first time in Luxembourg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Good option for a quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin, the bathroom was very basic (especially the shower) and there was no ventilation in the room (except for the windows).

    The hotel is a good option for a night or two.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    The location was only a 3 minute walk from the Luxembourg...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a major update! Their rooms are old. The closet is old. The bed was uncomfortable. The carpets in the hallway were very dirty! The toilet when I arrived had a stain on it. I think they should be a 2 or 3 star hotel not a 4 star hotel.

    The location was only a 3 minute walk from the Luxembourg station!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    The hotel's location, staff, facilities were all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was slightly disappointed with the renovation of the facility, the noise and the timing when the work has been starting. One morning it has started at 07:25 am, which I think is way too early. Getting proper sleep was an issue on the days when I was not planning to be awake this early.

    The hotel's location, staff, facilities were all great. My room was very cozy and had a view on the central streets of Luxembourg city. I really appreciated the kind and welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was always great, loved that it was starting as early as 07:30 am.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Well connected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather noisy at second floor opposite train station and road. WiFi only worked in an area of the room.

    Well connected. Large clean rooms and comfortable bed. Well equipped. Nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and good value near the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    The location is quite good if you go to the center (as opposed to Kirchberg for example). It is in front of the train station and close to the historic city center, the walls and most commercial streets. The price was very reasonable and it included the buffet breakfast. There was free WiFi with decent speed and the room was convenient, including a small bed and chairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Was in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn t look like the pictures small rooms the bathroom door was next to bed was that tyoe that you can t close just slide so you can hear everything .

    Was in the centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Simple city hotel, great location!! Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bad chemical smell... opening the windows was only a temporary solution at night as the room faced the main street.

    Super location, minutes from the train station, and only 10min into the old part of town. Big room, very friendly staff, good breakfast (included in our rate).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    croissants were yummy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows, they only have continental pillows. No kettle, tea facilities in the room. I agree about the neighbourhood, the one side of the street doesn't feel as safe with the people around, but keep your wits about you and you will be fine.

    croissants were yummy I loved Luxembourg, we wanted to stay in the city centre, but ended up staying close to the train station, which worked out well for us, because we chose to go to Trier and Koblenz in Germany for the day. We loved the Christmas Markets, not too busy and smaller than than other places around Europe. Worth going on the ferris wheel for the view. Our favourite restuarants Bosso Bar - off the beaten track. Family run restaurant. Amazing. Great service and a lovely unusual selection of wine. We had a lovely bottle of wine from Chile called Garage. Metropolitan, such a cosy spot, very quint, lovely wine, food and service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Best recommandation in Luxembourg
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there are not comb and slippers. If you use the sauna, you would receive good bathrobe with deposit 20€ and free slippers. You can receive the deposit after use of sauna by returnning bathrobe. Of course you can use slippers in the room. Sometimes there are surrounding noise from vacuum cleanig truck at dawn and passersby's shouting each other. However this is not hotel's responsibility. Overall this hotel has many good points that exceed my some small comments.

    This hotel has specially good sauna and small gym for exercise. It also lo cates nearby central station and bus stop. The breakfast was excellent for many kinds of stuffs(egg, bread, cheese, yogurt, ham, juice, serial snack, bacon. Kind staff always serving coffee. In the lobby, staff gave right away reasonable feedback when I asked many things about hotel stay. The best thing might be cleanness all over the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is so noisy. I could hear noise from the street from my 4th floor room and the noise from other rooms was unbearable - especially when someone used their bathroom. Very expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    The receptionist was very kind and pro-active to arrange a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Variety of breakfast options to increase

    The receptionist was very kind and pro-active to arrange a lunch box for me once he knew I was leaving early in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Good for a short-notice overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on a weekday: As evidenced by the angry couple 2 rooms away who sounded as if they were in our hallway; paper-thin walls, it seems. A great situation for those who enjoy the voyeuristic, but poor for those that enjoy a bit of sleep. Also near a busy intersection...traffic lightens in late hours, but didn't seem to subside completely. If you pack light or aren't accustomed to gargantuan Hiltonesque hotels, the spaces in the facility aren't an issue, i.e. elevator, hallways, corners, stairwell.

    Close to the train station and basic amenities. The triple room was adequate size for 2 adults and a toddler; perhaps 3 adults who are all comfortable with one another. Perfect for an overnight stay. Staff was very friendly to our child. Also nearby a terrific Ramen place with a fantastic menu.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great budget hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was crammed in against the wall and wardrobe. This left no leg space at the bottom of the bed whatsoever. Only acceptable if you are a midget. The breakfast was hit and miss. Stick to the bread, cereals, pastries and yogurt. The bacon and sausages were under cooked, the fruit was old and dried up and the cold meats and pate were cheap economy brands.

    The location was ideal being across the road from the train/bus station. There were three supermarkets near the hotel, all within a few seconds walk.The staff were extremely helpful and polite. An abundance of ATM' S near by that accepted international bank cards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Practical hotel by the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did not bother me, but parts of the shower do not really look spotlessly clean. I think it is more an issue of the age of the equipment used rather than the effort. It would need an upgrade soon.

    The room was very practical, small but functional and modern. Bed was on the softer side, did not bother me, but I notice that people look for comments on these. The hotel is by the station which is a bit on the corner of the city. Since Luxembourg is very compact, you will not have much difficulty in getting around. The breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    very good accomodation (good services, good prices, possibility to cancel reservation in case,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    migrant people from Africa were very noisy nearby hotel, they was noisy until morning (all the night)

    I have visited this hotel 5 times, service is very good, but it is a little bit noisy place, but it is nearby from railwaystation and so the connection to other sides of Luxembourg is perfect :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay at the City Hôtel. And I will return again. My main reason being the friendly and very accommodating staff, which to me makes all the difference. The location also is important to me . Most convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    Not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated interiors and bathroom, non-existant soundproofing. I could hear the person snoring in the room next to mine!

    Practical location just opposite the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Great stay in Luxembourg with delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the showers could be improved. For 4-star hotel these are "okayish", do not get me wrong, they are clean, just nothing fancy and updated. I can fall asleep even at the club, so for me was not that difficult to fall asleep, but someone more sensitive would have issues- you should definitely consider thicker walls.

    Let me tell you this, the breakfast is great. There is a great variety of meat, cheese, fruits, bread, juices, fresh brewed coffee and more. Room is absolutely spacious and beds were comfortable. Towels and toiletries was a nice addition. Staff is lovely and helpful. I remember Filipe (Filip, Felip, Philip?) who was there when I was making check-in, this guy should get his salary raised- he is super helpful and friendly, yet so professional!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    The proper shutters that meant the room was truly dark to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the wash basin and shower taps are the old fashioned type, one for cold and one for hot water...not practical at all. The room's fridge is a bit too noisy.

    The proper shutters that meant the room was truly dark to sleep! And helped cut out the city noise as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    A surprising gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where this hotel is is under the flight path for Luxembourg airport. As flight operations start at 6am if you're not an early riser take earplugs.

    Room 61 is the best room at the hotel and is a real pleasure, with a separate sitting room and private roof terrace. It's also at the back of the hotel so isn't affected by traffic noise. Breakfast is excellent, with good quality food and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Although the hotel was in a somewhat rough area, we felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very dated and loud if you were across from the road like we were.

    Although the hotel was in a somewhat rough area, we felt comfortable enough staying there. The hotel was ok to put our heads down for the night, and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay, I would definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just WiFi signal was weak sometimes.

    Very friendly and very helpful staff. Great location, few meters away from the main train station. Fresh and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Not what I had hoped for but did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was badly dated (furniture and finishing), it felt like I was in the 1980's. My biggest problem was that I found several hairs on the bedsheet and it was full of holes. Having arrived after midnight, I was extremely tired and had no choice for that night anyhow. To be fair, the staff were understanding and took care of the issue the next day. The room however was not well cleaned and didn't seem to have been vacuumed/mopped overnight. Also, there was an odor in the air, which I believe might have been from the carpet. The bathroom was small. Overall, everything was not terrible but far from what I was hoping for, based on the photos I saw beforehand. Luxembourg is an expensive place so value for money has to be kept in perspective.

    Very good and friendly staff. The Wi-Fi had a strong signal. Good location, being a very short walk from the train/bus station and not too far from the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay for a quick trip to Luxembourg City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked just like the photos. The staff was friendly and said hello whenever I saw them. Breakfast was good and there was a pretty decent selection. Very cleanly! The hotel was right by the train station which was convenient, but it was a little walk from the city center, although still nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Well located hotel, but have to eat out in the evenings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free standing Air-conditioning unit in the bedroom is very noisy There is no restaurant onsite for evening meals, there is only a limited menu in the bar and sometimes they don't have any hot food at all.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel, next to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vinegar in the hot water tank on second morning at breakfast. Reported to the staff, they simply took it off Manager get into the room in the morning without knoking in the door !!! )))

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is conveniently located near a bus and train station, it means that there is a lot of noise and rough sleepers, giving a negative atmosphere to the surrounding streets. The breakfast was mediocre while the room was too hot.

    The hotel is easy to get to via public transport. Comfy bed and clean facilities. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Great for bussiness trips to luxembourg, would definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would expand the gym a little bit, but as the space was limited, I kind of understand why was it so small :)

    Great place, all my requests were answered, plus the personal was very friendly, the other guests that I had a chance to chat with, were nice people as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Room was extremely hot in the afternoon and in the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was extremely hot in the afternoon and in the evening (outsides, it was 26°C and sunny). No air condition, and the street outside is so noisy that you cannot keep the window open.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    Had to cut our stay short due to awful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smelling bad. There was no airconditioning just an industrial style fan and there where no available plugs in the room to charge your phone. The roof in the bathroom was full of spider webs. Not at all what I expected from a 4star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was not a huge range but good quality, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not a huge range but good quality, and the pillows were super comfy. Very close to the train station which made a brief overnight stay nice and easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    ok, but not a 4 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighborhood seemed a bit dangerous to me, as a single woman, so I tried not to be out of the hotel at night. Nothing bad happened, and I did not see anything suspicious, but I had this feeling of insecurity given that there were all the time some gangs around. These people on the streets were also very loud until late in the night. The hotel also needs some renovation. I would not rate it as 4 stars.

    Breakfast was ok. Location is fine, very close to the train station and big bus station from where many buses depart. City center is also reachable by foot. Many shops and restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel next to the train station. It's a short walking distance from all the interesting spots. There are several good restaurants nearby. Breakfast was a nice addition. Wifi is available, speed was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and competitive room rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather ! But Europe isn't having the greatest of summers .

    It's in a very convenient situation close to the main railway station and airport bus stop (route 16) and about a ten minute walk to the old town across the bridge . Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as was the breakfast waiter . Breakfast was included in my rate and it was excellent with fresh fruit , continental breakfast , cereals , hot bacon and eggs . It also has a small gym and sauna . Room was large with a fridge and shower/toilet . Luxembourg city is beautiful and best explored on foot .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location , friendly staff, nice gym, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was extremely slow during my stay. Was fixed the morning of my departure. Could hear the neighbour's tv through wall

    Excellent location , friendly staff, nice gym, good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Location was great, in centre and car parking easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great, in centre and car parking easy to find. Breakfast selection was a bit limited but overall fine. TIP: if arriving by car, just drive straight to Liberty Plaza parking. Hotel parking is on level -4, and grab yourself a space. This avoids having to repackage and possibly pay twice. Obviously confirm you have a space first.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very hot and stuffy with no air conditioning, but there was a fan provided. Lots of noise from the street outside from about 5am onwards.

    Breakfast choice was great Location perfect, a 2 min walk to train station and only 20 mins into the city centre. Lots of supermarkets, shops and restaurants close. Room very clean and good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Small and nice hotel in a noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy at night which is to be expected with convenient locations but there was no airco and sleeping with a closed window was not great.

    Great location and clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel horrible city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location. Very close to station and lots and lots of vagrants yelling and fighting amongst themselves all night. City is dirty too. Not much to see would give the whole place a big miss.

    Nice big room with balcony, clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.2
    Maybe no more than 20 - 30 Euros per night should be enough for this hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very bad and disappointing, we paid around 400 Euros for 2 nights for room and breakfast, that was too much above the average for such a very small hotel, we astonished that after 6 pm area streets are occupied by the African and other addicts immigrants, plus that the drunks are shouting at the streets till 4-5 am each day. Maybe this accommodation worth only no more than 20 to 30 Euros instead of the 200 Euros we paid per night. We think that area around the palace and shopping area after the bridge seams to be the most suitable for renting accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    A HOMEY PLACE TO STAY IN THE CITY-CENTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downside of being near the commute areas is the noise. Since there is no airconditioning system there were times we needed to open the window it helps cool the room.

    The hotel staff, from the person at the receiving desk to the cleaning lady are very welcoming and helpful. The location specially fits those who would be spending their time exploring the city center. The breakfast buffett makes the place feel like home. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    a healthy bunk to crush on
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is safe but outside the premises and you have to walk through neighborhood to reach it. Which leads us to neighborhood: situated close to central train station the neighborhood is noisy day and night, sometimes smelly, sometimes insecure ... Rooms are quite small, I will say smaller than in Netherlands but cozy and serve the purpose

    Hotel is clean, personnel is very friendly and professional, food (whatever is cooked at breakfast) is OK-ish. Parking is safe but outside the premises and you have to walk through neighborhood to reach it. It is a very good accommodation for a week-end, short stay anyway or if you're looking only for a bunk to crush on and a diversified breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Good enough for a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom. Environment of neighbourhood. It was a bit scary at night, with strange people around. Still next to the train station and close to city center (but not inside)

    Good breakfast, good parking, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    The mattress was horrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was horrible. It was terribly hot and the fan was barely helping. Mattress must be changed, and the hotel should be equipped with air conditioning otherwise it is simply not possible for one to stay there..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Close to transport and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. Street noise.

    Close to transport and services. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Launderette also nearby. Hotel has a lounge for late night/last drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    I LIKE FEW MEMBERS OF STUFFS AND GOOD BREAKFAST .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I DID NOT LIKE THAT YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR YOUR CAR BY PAYING 150 EUROS ONE NIGHT YOU HAVE TO PAY 14 EUROS FOR YOUR CAR . ITS EXPANSIVE .

    THIS TIME I WAS TRAVELING LUXEMBOURG WITH FRIENDS . CITY HOTEL WAS GOOD LOCATION, NICE STUFFS, GOOD BREAKFAST . BUT FROM THE ROOM OUT SIDE VIEW WAS NOT GOOD . CAR PARKING WAS NOT FREE PRICE WAS BIT EXPANSIVE . FEW MEMBERS OF STUFFS WAS GOOD NICE BUT OTHERS WAS NOT THAT FRIENDLY.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Very noisy due to traffic and avoidable neighborhood.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy due to traffic and avoidable neighborhood. No air conditioning; not too clean. Almost a "rent per hour" hotel... for an expensive price!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    1) The location, only one block from the main central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) No air conditioning in the room; just a fan. 2) Just the minimum amount of toiletries. 3) The safe deposit box in the room is an old one, with a key (instead of combination), so if you want to use it, you need to ask the receptionist for the key and leave a € 20 security deposit.

    1) The location, only one block from the main central station, is very convenient. 2) Thanks to my "genius" status with Booking.com, the hotel allowed me to do an early check-in and a late check-out at no extra charge. 3) The staff was efficient and polite. 4) The buffet breakfast was very good and abundant, and the waiter in charge was very nice and efficient. 5) There were two complimentary small bottles of mineral water in the mini-fridge. 6) The single room was pretty small, but it had all I needed, with a nice, big closet with a full-body mirror, and the bathroom was comfortable (in fact, pretty big considering the size of the room!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    Good for a Quick, Cheap Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were small and dated. There is no AC in the building (our room only came with a fan).

    Price was cheaper than other Luxembourg City hotels, the breakfast selection was nice, the internet was fast, small shower shampoos and soaps were provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Over priced and area not safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants in the room from the balcony and crickets in bath room. The rooms were very hot and smelled bad. The area is not safe at all.

    Rooms large

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Gare centrale
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room for 3 persons; the 3rd bed in the room was not only very uncomfortable but also broken; it fell apart many times; could have given us a proper bed! Also, no air conditioning!

    Clean hotel, good breakfast, nice staff, little gym + sauna

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Good breakfast, parking place near hotel, short distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell in the room, like synthetic solvent, impossibility to ventilate on the road due to big (trafffic) noise - so very bad nights. 3rd bed ( for adult) was insufficient - too short , too unstable. Aggressive people in the surroundings of hotel - propably drug dealers. It is not good locality for me.

    Good breakfast, parking place near hotel, short distance to the center, staff on the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    will not come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor sound insulation: very noisy from street, from neighbors, too small badroom, from under the ceiling dust bundle, two times out of 3 were cold omelet.

    location, near supermarket

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed a very good breakfast and service was generally...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed an iron in the room, it would have been very helpful.

    I enjoyed a very good breakfast and service was generally very kind. The place looks average but clean. If you only need a place to sleep, it's fine. I appreciate the hair dryer, body lotion and water that were available in the room. Also a quick check-out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Noisey and hot rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme street noise heard in room all the time. Room too hot and unable to cool down. Room very small. Consider asking for off street room if you want a nights sleep

    Location good and close to railway station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Noisy side of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very noisy,i could not sleep properly.There were people shouting all night long up until morning .It looked that certain people using drugs were gathering there everyday after lunch until next morning. The room was so hot ,the fan helped a little but still very stiffy

    Like the area - centre is near

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Blinds and western window left open to blazing sun, impossible to sleep in overheated room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stupid idiot of a cleaner pulled up the blinds and left my west-looking (only) window open to receive as much as possible of the blazing afternoon sun! It was over 30 degrees Celsius in Luxemburg and my tiny stuffy room felt like at least 40 degrees inside! I could not sleep at all for 2 nights (very bad when I am supposed to work with my brains all day long:( There was of course no air-conditioning, plus I could not unplug the fridge (which supplied some extra heat into the bargain). The next morning I begged the receptionist to prevent cleaners from opening my blinds, window or curtains - but to no avail. This is what I can't understand: it would have cost them nothing to leave my room as I left it!!!! Installing air-conditioning is costly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice option to stay in Luxembourg. Make sure you ask for a room with AC and not facing the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no AC in the room and it was really hot in there. The fan didn't help that much, plus it was very noise. The room was facing the street and was also noisy, as you can hear all traffic passing by.

    Spacious room, comfy beds, nice bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Easy Access
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staffs were so helpful. Located near to Central Station, easy access for domestic and international transportation. Good Breakfast and wifi. Lot of restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    The staffs are nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were still some hair from the last guests left on the bed.

    The staffs are nice. Rooms newly refreshed. And the rooms are spacious regarding the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly staff, great breakfast, spacious/clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it funny, but where my room was located, (on the 3rd floor), I often heard the local pigeons "at-it". I did find it amusing, but I know this may irritate other guests.

    Location couldn't have been more PERFECT!! I didn't even need a map to find it from the Lux Train/Bus station. The staff were more than helpful & spoke excellent English. I was in a single-room but still had plenty of room, lots of hangers to hang my clothes, bathroom was clean, nice shower & towel radiatior. Enough mirrors/lighting to do make-up ;) Breakfast was a good start to the day, choice of eggs, bacon, different breads, cold meats, cereal, yoghurts, fruit etc. And the coffee was delicious!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    My best stay in Luxembourg! Loved it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee offered to the breakfast was too watery. It could be hundred times stronger. But everything else was just parfait! Merci! :)

    I asked for a quiet room and it was just perfect! All I heard were two pigeons one of the mornings, despite of the hotel being situated in one of the noisiest neighbourhoods of the city at nights. Very friendly and helpful staff! Rich and fresh breakfast with satisfying variety. The morning I could not eat in the hotel, they packed my breakfast to take away and it contained all that I had wanted (fruits, a ham sandwich, a croissant and a yoghurt. Spacious room as an apartment with separate hall, beautifully decorated, containing all I needed. Safe and happy stay in a not the safest neighbourhood! I really enjoyed free wifi to share the photos I had made during the day and to work and, of course, to communicate with my family at home. Thanks to its location near to the railway station, I had everything close and a direct bus (No. 16, 2 euros, on Saturday FREE of charge ;) ) to the airport. I have stayed in other hotels nearby before and the City Hotel was my second choice because my usual hotel was fully booked. Next time I will not consider other hotels anymore. This hotel would be my first choice. I'll definitely come back and I would recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues any time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Very basic, pretty uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very basic, even more so than was unexpected when looking at the pictures. We had to move rooms on the first night because the heating was broken in the first room turning it into a sauna. The second room's heating didn't work at all but was the preferred. The rooms have no soundproofing, so you can hear everything going on in rooms next to you making for two very sleepless nights.

    The location was okay, about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the rooms overlook the road so if you like to sleep with your window open it can be noisy. We think there is one room on each floor facing a rear light well and will consider asking for one of these if we return. Also our toothpaste disappeared for some unexplained reason (probably a mistake) BUT the reception were very helpful and supplied us with complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste.

    Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of food, friendly and helpful staff, clean comfortable and fairly spacious room. Very close to trains and buses, easy access to airport, all sights within a short walk. Excellent Italian restaurant called Bella Napoli just across the road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    I've had an excellent stay and will probably book again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was comfortable but too small, since I'm 1,80m. There are weird people at night though in the street, but the hotel is locked so no-one can enter.

    The staff is excellent, very kind, polite and helpfull. Had problems with my credit card and they immediately offered me a solution, by paying by bank transfer which I've done immediately. I even stayed one more night.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: