Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cocoon Hotel La Rive 4 stars

Buurschter-Plage, 9164 Bourscheid, Luxembourg

#3 of 4 hotels in Bourscheid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was absolutely amazing. The staff were great, the unit was clean and so comfortable. The area is amazing and this was our first visit to Luxembourg and we will be coming back to the the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Overall a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was very small and lacking some basics. No coffee tea facilities. Dogs are allowed in the rooms and in the dining hall. Food was a bit disappointing; poor value for money. Internet was terrible and hardly working.

    Nice location but nothing to do. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet did not work with my iPhone X.

    Wonderful sight and view. Wonderful rooms. Cosy beds. Great, small spa. Finger-licking good restaurant, if you were to eat with your hands.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Very quiet and cozy hotel for a family or romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty poor dinner menu.

    Went there for my birthday with my husband and a two y.o. child. The room was big, the baby bed was already prepared when we arrived. Comfort was on the top. The first hotel in my life I did not want to leave. Surroundings are really beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    This was an excellent hotel with an equally excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not find anything lacking.

    The view from our room was spectacular, the staff was very accommodating and the food was superb. The champagne breakfast bar was great - fresh rolls and croissants, very tasty scrambled eggs and bacon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    romantic stay for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've been here a few years back when everything was brand new and you can tell it has been used since then (but it's still all ok). Wellness is a big plus but it's not clear if it's naked or needs clothing.

    Cottages are very comfy. Very large bed. Right next to it the hot tub and the double rain shower. A lot of facilities and a little terrace overlooking the river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely large and comfortable riverside cottage with private balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the restaurant on 2 evenings. Meals were disappointing. The gym equipment was poorly maintained and needed attention.

    We spent 3 nights in a lovely modern riverside cottage. A great bathroom with spa bath and superb separate shower. Separate toilet. Huge main bedroom with king size bed. Second bedroom (unexpected). Lots of cupboard space. Ideal for a much longer stay. Standard buffet breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Cry me a river, or enjoy this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no bar next door, but there is one in the hotel or on your terasse of course.

    The situation next to the river Sure, own private bungalow space for four, nice private terasse overlooking the lawn where children played and dog enjoyed the water. Impressive bathroom double shower and tube. High standard. Payed 152 pr. night including breakfast. Ordered early but the price would have been the same for two.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Scenic location, lacking some facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no other dining option than the rather expensive main hotel restaurant, requiring us to drive quite some distance for other options. While the hotel advertised an "exercise room," what was provided was completely sub-standard: broken or unusable equipment, and what did work was very loud, which disturbed those using the sauna's rest area.

    The hotel's location is lovely, in the bend of a river, at the foot of a small mountain, and on view of the local castle. The restaurant was quite good, both for breakfast and for dinner. The sauna facilities were spacious and quite well-appointed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with New Year's Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no teapot/coffee pot in the room. On January 1st there was no breakfast but a brunch that started at 10 a.m. It would have been nice to have tea or coffee in the room.

    The food was excellent. Great dinner and the New Year's celebration.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.2
    Your home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was non existent in the suite (great signal, no Internet connection). It was ok in the hotel though. It takes about 10 minutes for the water to get warm.

    We had a cottage suite. Excellent beds, spacious, extra bedroom, separate toilet, sliding doors with a view of the river.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice rooms and suroundings food terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite with Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gastronomic arrangnent was pretty bad not real good food and some wasnt even coocked proparly like a egg we got for starters

    Nice spacious rooms modern and well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Just perfect
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous accomodation Host was so helpful, total gentleman NOTHING WAS TOO DIFFICULT. The view was breathtaking. Would stay there again and again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    The hotel was clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were so uncomfortable. The waiter at dinner was the rudest we have encountered.

    The hotel was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice breakfast, even better located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work very well in our room

    Nice breakfast, even better located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    The food was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was great. One of the best burger I ever had. The environment is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    The hoterooms are bit dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening. We booked gastronomic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All was perfect, staff very helpful and professional! food scrumptious, wine superb and bed Devine. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very rich and nice breakfast. Good location, but with car. Perfect nature, walking near the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    People are nice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna available for just a few hours.

    People are nice. Good food. Location is great, the river is just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was really dated.

    Breakfast was really good. The staff was excellent - very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Suite with Gastronomic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wellness only open from 16.00 to 20.00 (we were practically alone whole time though)

    great location (we stayed in one of the cottages), really quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.2
    It was in a fantastic and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant food was very good but rather expensive. It appeared understaffed in the evenings. Long wait in the bar, as the same person was waiting tables and doing reception. Also very slow service in restaurant for the same reason.

    It was in a fantastic and quiet location. good parking. bedroom clean and comfortable. A very good selection at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.5
    The location was beautiful - nice for walking in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Snack menu - many things not available - some staff were a little too laid back and left waiting for some time which is a pity.

    The location was beautiful - nice for walking in a very quiet place and we enjoyed the cottage suite. Good breakfast buffet and lovely breakfast staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.5
    the cottage rooms are great, very romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cosiness of the other two hotels are cheap decorated missing a lot of warmth. No nice chill bar/relax place to have a nice drink for after a good walk of after the sauna/hamam. Tips for the hotel, Use you fireplace in the diningroom Create in the hotels itself more romance and warmth

    the cottage rooms are great, very romantic. Location if you like the nature. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.3
    We stayed in a cottage room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Someone must have been smoking in the room, it smelled really really bad. We opened the window for a few hours but couldn't entirely get rid of the smell. Also, we were very surprised to hear the amount of cars passing the street at night?! It was very loud and woke us up a couple of times.

    We stayed in a cottage room. It is nice, looks exactly like the pictures. Spacious, two bedrooms, rainshower and hottub. Balcony is very cool as well. We loved how big the bed was in the "master bedroom".

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    location is great and staff are very good the food is also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the standard of cleaning could improve . the hair dryer did not work the lights above the bed did not work and the light switches on one side of he bed did not work and the remains of squashed flies were on the wall paper and the paint was peeling from the ceiling.

    location is great and staff are very good the food is also excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Location, very picturesque surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weak WiFi. No pasta on the menu. As a cyclist I miss that.

    Location, very picturesque surroundings. International staff, speaking many different languages.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location next to the River with a Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant service was sometimes unprofessional, bed was very soft and did not support my back properly.

    Excellent location next to the River with a Castle overlooking the valley. Guests can access hotel restaurant at adjoining hotel belonging to the same hotel group. Wellness facility is well appointed (steam room, very hot sauna, rest area, built into the rockface). Hotel in easy reach of Luxembourg City and the Little Switzerland region.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    6.7
    The bed, the service and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WE booked this hotel thinking a relaxing and wellness day, but was very bad to hear that the sauna was only open 4 hours a day and the room was very old and need a lot of work, old curtains and the wall paper was coming out. Not 4 stars hotel, however, the staff was very helpful and the food was delicious.

    The bed, the service and the food.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to get to. Too bad it is out of the way for most of our travels in Europe. Superb dining room.

    Beautiful rural location. Very quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    -lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -they seemed not to be able to handle the weekend rush during dinner, we waited very long for our meals -there is also not that many dining alternatives in the area it seemed

    -lovely area -lovely staff -bath with jet

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    8.8
    Location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness of the room was average. This could be improved.

    Location is superb. Quiet en near the river. Restaurant is very good. Staff is also very friendly. Excellent facilities at the cottage suites. Large bed an very nice bathroom. Spacious!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    5.8
    The location is clearly a big hit even though the giant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ...My one night stay (with dog) was tarnished by the following prominent issues: 1. Mattress. Possibly the worst I've ever experienced and certainly the worst nights sleep ever. A giant marshmallow with extra marshmallow mattress topper for an extra 'swallow you whole' experience. Coupled with huge lumpy pillows left me in a daze with a contorted neck and back. 2. Sound. As per other reviews... no insulation between rooms which was for me a real issue, especially in the early hours of my sleep deprivation marathon. 3. Impersonal staff. Had they bothered to ask if everything was ok when checking out, I would have bothered to divulge my woes. 4. Artwork. Throughout the hotel is truly horrible. 5. No kettle or drinks making facilities in the room. I booked this room under the premise that this was a four star establishment

    The location is clearly a big hit even though the giant SNCF's hoot past majestically close by in the mountainous scenery... The place is clinically clean and deco extremely dry which may well be to the taste of others. Sekt on the breakfast bar is a nice touch and fast free wifi all good. However...

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    amazing location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff speaking...
    • Couple

    beds a bit too hard

    amazing location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff speaking many languages

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.7
    Location, ambiance, food.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff attitude varied from very friendly and helpful to almost rude.

    Location, ambiance, food.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.3
    A quite location at the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A quite location at the river.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Cabins were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cabins were perfect...the jacuzzi tub and huge bathroom were wonderful. Give these cabins a 10.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    10
    The hotel site is very good and excellent treatment and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Non-reflective glass windows

    The hotel site is very good and excellent treatment and the restaurant is very gorgeous views of the river

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    beautiful location, nice and helpful staff, good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    old & small Spa incl. mold, which is unacceptable!

    beautiful location, nice and helpful staff, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Amazing am coming back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor English.

    Amazing am coming back .

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Very nice countryside, loved the breakfast and the view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice countryside, loved the breakfast and the view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.6
    I liked the waiter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked the waiter. The staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    morning coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower was not comfortable for an older person

    morning coffee

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    Diner (especially the moulleux chococake), breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not cheap

    Diner (especially the moulleux chococake), breakfast, location, quiet place

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    The location was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The road down to it was rather rough, steep and very bendy. As I went there on a Motorbike I found it a bit hairy.

    The location was superb

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    4.2
    nice nature around
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wifi in the room extremely poor breakfast

    nice nature around

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    A peaceful, relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A peaceful, relaxing hotel. Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Cottage suite is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cottage suite is amazing! View of rivier, forrest and castle. Peace and quiet. Relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Everything about this place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is nothing here that people could dislike.

    Everything about this place was amazing. Value for money, good food brilliant location.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Third time at this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Third time at this property. Wonderful staff. Peaceful quiet location. Excellent dinner and breakfast, all at very reasonable prices!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    7.9
    Location, friendly staff, wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Prices of restaurant and bar are a bit more expensive than expected.

    Location, friendly staff, wellness.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Cocoon Hotel La Rive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: