Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gourmet & Relax Hotel De La Sure 4 stars

Rue du Pont 1, 9650 Esch-sur-Sûre, Luxembourg

#2 of 3 hotels in Esch-sur-Sûre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 523 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room had just one window which looked out on a wall 5m away.

    Cosy interior of restaurant and bar. Good restaurant Beautiful location (Although I didn't make use of it, other guests may appreciate the wellness centre in the hotel, which is free for guests)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was slow to get to the warm water.

    Great location, facilities, staff very friendly and fantastic service in the restaurant and bar. Great food (tasting menu tried with accompanying wines). Secure parking for motorcycles and thanks for the superb routes and suggestions. Idealic location for those into sightseeing, walking, driving, rich area if your into photography (landscape, macro or birds). Slept very well :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Options for meals (lunch & dinner) are very limited in the village and prices at the hotel seemed expensive compared to other places within 30mins drive of the village.

    The spa shower was fantastic! The hotel is located in a very quiet rural village. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid by card on arrival. In a few days there was an attempt to charge my card again. When I called to the hotel they said they don’t know why that happened. It would’ve been extremely hard to get the payment back if they managed to charge me the second time.

    Good clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What didn't I like? Nothing.

    What did I like? Everything. Having driven through heavy rain and squally winds all the way from Norfolk - 100 miles north-east of London - through the northern corner of France and all the way through Belgium, there can be a no more satisfying welcome than that which awaits the weary traveller. The location is beautiful, the hotel characterful and the staff genuinely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at a premium - at worst if you don't secure a space at the hotel it's a short walk up the hill from a large public car park by the river. Our room was at the top of the building, no issue for us but if stairs are a problem, best to request a room on the level from one of the elevator-accessible floors.

    Great location, excellent spa facility and superb food. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small blanket. A bit strange for a romantic (Romeo and Juieta) have separate beds and small separate blankets. Luckily I was alone but for sure is not practical to share romantic moments in the bed :)

    The Spa and the cosines of te room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had quite some stairs to climb. With bad back-ache that's not so nice. But the staff carried our luggage :-)

    Good bed. Decent shower. Lovely place, hotel in the heart of the small town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress uncomfortable, not enough lighting in the room, steep stairs to the room. Breakfast mediocre.

    Nice large shower, very good and clean wellness area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception was not overly friendly and seemed rushed. Breakfast options were on the poor side (no toaster for example). Parking on the street is free but scarce. Once parked far away you have to climb a steep alley to the hotel: good for hikers, not so much for comfort oriented guests.

    The silence is to be liked, except for the church bells that chime every 15 minutes. The price is very moderate, considering the size of the room and quality offered. Also a Cleopatra steam shower is offered, which is absolutely top notch and the highlight of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee/tea facilities; small service, but lots of extra pleasure. Even upon request not available.

    Nice location. But our room was outside of the main hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be maintained better (there were insects in some parts); Heating was not available(not an issue in summer); Not easy to get to if you are an occasional driver (steep narrow lanes)

    Big huge semi-apartment with 3 bedrooms; Great bathroom; Full functional kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa was amazing! The food was amazing, and the location stunning! All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definitely go back for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants in walking distance.

    The ability to use the spa was a nice bonus I particularly liked the moonlight steam room. Comfortable rooms. Good bike garage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bells chime all night every 15 minutes!

    We loved the location and eating on the terrace. Our room had great facilities.our motorcycle was secure in their garage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasnt exactly nice. Room was clean but the rest of the hotel could've been kept better. Didnt try the spa, so cannot comment on that!

    Cute little boutique hotel in a cute little village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking near the hotel. not that easy ro reach the hotel by foot- may be difficult for people with walking problems

    Nice room, very clean, comfortable facilities. good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was somehow missing - not available - especially in the mornings, many people seemed to have trouble checking out.

    The food at the hotel's own restaurant was really good, the same cannot be said bout the other places I ate in the village. I was upgraded to a better room with no extra cost upon my arrival which was a nice surprise. Lots of books to read available for guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast is too basic not worthy 12 euro and the room decoration is somehow too cheesy to feel comfortable staying inside.

    jacuzzi in the room is cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only getting one night there as we had to move on the next day to our next destination

    Esch-Sur-Sure was itself beautiful, what a stunning location. We arrived on motorbikes and there were a few other bikers already there. There was a garage facility and somewhere to dry your gear should it rain, our weather was dry and sunny. The hotel rooms were spacious and comfortable. We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening which was lovely and enjoyed a good continental style breakfast in the morning. Had we not been on motorbikes it would have been a great place to explore on foot or cycle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a little difficult but you can park for free in the town with a small walk, so not that bad.

    I love this hotel! It has everything you want from a great overnight hotel. It has lots of character, individuality, great spa, great restaurant, great location and staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful place to stay with wonderful surroundings, and an excellent set of corners nearby. A peaceful and quiet area. With wonderful, friendly and helpful staff welcoming you, you are sure to enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality went above and beyond! The room was super cozy and had an amazing shower! The restaurant was delicious and very accommodating when I brought my dog.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Original bed hanging from the ceiling. Great room. Great service ( Marco ). A very attentive gentleman who helped us during dinnertime. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was kind of in the basement with little windows, so i was missing light.The furniture in the room seems a bit old-fashioned to me.

    Excellent breakfast, big choise. Very clean rooms.The shower had steam, which was really cool!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing 😊

    Comfortable and clean in a fantastic location. A very relaxing couple of days. Very nice breakfast with really good quality products; bread, cheese, pâté etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It has steep streets so need to be prepared for the walking. Limited car parking close to accommodation. Limited eating spots.

    Very quite town. Lovely views. Close to near by larger towns.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is too expensive. The quality of food was good but cost us more than a better quality restaurant in the center of Luxembourg! The price for water was absolutely too high - 6euro per 1l bottle. We didn't have possibility to look for an alternative restaurant as we arrived late to the hotel and we were "forced" to eat there. But at least we had a dinner that day :) . Also, tables on the terrace were without tablecloth (you wouldn't expect that from a 4 star hotel). Also, as they were closing for holiday same day of our checkout the availability of meet options was reduced. We also needed to wait for about 30 minutes for our checkout.

    We booked this hotel paying -37% less than normal price so the quality/price was ok. There was a wonderful Turkish bath in the shower in our room which we really enjoyed! A big plus for that! The staff who accompanied us to the room and then who was our waiter in the restaurant was very helpful and friendly (an Italian guy). Another big plus thanks to him.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the morning (from reception/hotel entrance and deliveries) and evening (from neighbours).

    The location is great, good area for hiking. Cosy hotel with books everywhere in all common languages. Good food and wine in hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I was very disappointed to find out that the spa was only without maillot. -The walls of the room were like paper and our room was near the games area (ping-pong table). We could hear everything, not possible to sleep during the day. - Staff not very friendly (except the people serving at the table, really nice). We had no tourist advice about the area. When I asked about the natural reservation in that area, they asked what am I talking about.

    The Hammam in the room was very nice, I recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some lack of organization and communication among the staff, resulting in - sometimes long - waiting times...

    Clean and very comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very good restaurant. They have a wonderful cook.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That i couldn't stay a bit longer

    Lovely location. Beer on the terrace on a warm evening great. Kindly garaged my car for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location, great restaurant, good room, very friendly staff. Definitely will be back here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Friendly, languages spoken

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great dinner, nice room! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, expensive diner.

    Garage to park your bike. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's an amazing family run hotel, with fantastic service and a stunning spa. We can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo in the room No extra towel after doing SPA for guests unless you pay an extra one

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden fee: frais eco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all great

    Lovely room .excellent steam shower. Great breakfast choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small. Toilet light was faint. Breakfast not good.

    spa facilities are quite nice. Restaurant is good. Location is also good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy when someone is in the hall No airco/ fan

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room and jacuzi were old,to expensieve

    the people on the reception,restaurants very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique type of accommodation in an old building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable hotel. Nice restaurant,nice breakfast room, big terrace. Even a good place for parents with children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift more

    All perfect Nice and goog people Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendlyness of managers, and this is not our first time

    the hammam in the room, and the adjacent SPA

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liar and rude abd unhelpful staff.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Decoración,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was awesome and I felt like I was at home.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with hammam
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a challenge.

    Great Breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with a fabulous Spa and a good dinner on a lovely terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Restaurant with excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    other activities, like bike renting, are rather expensive

    perfect breeakfast, cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the hotel 😖

    The cuisine is good ... Gourmet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff but a little more welcoming would be nice. There's no air conditioning and there are mosquitoes = avoid during hot season, although i must say, we stayed in August and kept the window open and it wasn't ok. Open window = no curtains.

    The location. The food. Safety (i kept my bike outside with no problems). Fun options for kids (board games, ping-pong table etc.)

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tiny room which you have to take super narrow stairs to reach, grumpy staffs and the croissant in the breakfast buffet was terrible. I guess they don't care customers who don't order massage or spa.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guy at the reception was very unfriendly, but luckily most of the staffs are helpful and friendly. The entrance of the hotel looks old and smell like an old building. Time for a renovation?

    Esch Sur Sûre is a tiny village, very beautiful but there's not much to see. The hotel is ok, some of the staff are very friendly but some are not. Great mattresses, very comfortable. Food and wine at the restaurant are VERY delicious.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's not much to dislike, here.

    What a place. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful little town, nice people, great food, comfortable beds, bubble bath in the room is a must. You will not regret your trip.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not friendly owner

    Location was great, very cozy atmosphere. Food was really good and breakfast was just ourstanding! They have a lot of fasilities so it felt really good to be there.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single beds, cold shower, distant parking (down a 1:6 gradient), 30 stairs from lift to room

    Helpful staff, good restaurant, pleasant room, fine location

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    This is my third stay a this hotel as a group of motorbikers. The staff lead by Ronald the owner and his family are extremely welcoming. The facilities and food is worth the visit.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the madame was extremely rude and insultive. appeared to have a hatred for English men

    friendly staff great room good food nice spa. great garage facillities

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We stayed in the annexe and really liked the quaintness of the building and being slightly out of the way go the hustle and bustle. The staff were fun and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a challenge. But doable.

    Quaint location. A bit expensive. The restaurant was very good, our server (Alex I think his name was) was very good. Made us feel at home and a part of "the family".

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff in general gave impression that being a customer in this 4* hotel is not a big deal. Being a manager of this hotel, I would definitely arrange some additional training.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic apartment, fantastic location. Host was fantastic. Will visit again

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no parking

    large & clean room good value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu could be clearer and in english

    So peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, helpful staff; very clean and comfortable; great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tip for the owner: smile a little!

    Beautiful location, nice rooms, good dinner in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was great, parking was free a rarity in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free wifi via hotspot.lu is way too slow

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only difficulty was the drive to the location and parking.

    We were quite surprised at the high quality of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dated rooms

    Location, local roads perfect for motorcycles

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: