Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Empire 3 stars

34, Place De La Gare, Gare, L-1616 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#35 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2230 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although unassuming on the outside, the Empire has done a great job of making the rooms modern and comfy. Also, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the breakfast--tasty and varied! Was definitely a good base for my few days in Luxembourg!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a room overlooking gare central and it was very noisy.

    The hotel is very clean and location is very convenient just across from central station. Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as my room faced the train station and Main Street which was good for people watching if you don’t mind the noise. A lot of traffic noise and human noise till wee hours in the morning but it didn’t affect my little one at all. He slept thru the night. Shower drainage a bit choked. A lot of insects if toilet window left opened in the night.

    Location is good. Train station directly opposite hotel. Very convenient. Breakfast is good. Staff friendly. Has lift. Near to Supermarkets and eateries. Hassle free check-in and check-out. Value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is good, in front of station. The breakfast was very good, included a free drink in the bar of the hotel. The staff give to you a good suggestions. I really enjoyed!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault but it was really humid whilst there and room was really hot. Did provide a fan though. Had to have window open so it was a bit noisy.

    Great location opposite the train station, near lots of shops and 20 min walk from old town which was really pretty. From train station also did day trip to Germany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room faced the street and therefore, expect a bit of noise. However, it's not that bad. The room is tiny and the bathroom configuration is kind of awkward because it's all glass and although it has "some" privacy, you can clearly see your partner or friend sitting in the toilet, which of course, we avoided.

    The attention provided by the staff was great, they were absolutely kind and sweet. It is perfectly located in front of the main central train station. However, we rented a car to drive up to the castle of Vianden. There is not much parking in front or around the hotel, however, there is a garage about 3 blocks away and the Hotel provides with a voucher for a discount and in and out privileges. They welcomed us with a cocktail as well. The breakfast is buffet-style, cheeses, and meats, amazing croissants, and fruits. Very good overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage for clothes, room seems small for 2 people, staff were not attentive on first contact at reception.

    Breakfast was good, area was clean. Good situation as near to some very good restaurants, car park was close by, I felt okay about leaving my car there, staff helpful at Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the breakfast buffet was regularly topped up without having to ask.

    Lovely hotel, great location although room was a little small, breakfast was a bit disorganised but we would stay again and definitely recommend Hotel Empire as a good base for a stay in Luxembourg as it's only 10 mins walk into the old town, which is lovely :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was comfortable and quiet, despite being opposite the railway station. Breakfast was good, with some nice home-made jam. The staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love their rooms. Its newly renovated. So far the best hotel that we had in our whole Europe vacation. Breakfast is included, though their dining area is a small space but it is cozy and the food was great. The staffs are very friendly especially the Romanian receptionist who is very helpful and honest, the bar tender is also friendly and accomodating. No parking space available but you can park accross the street where the train station is. They give discount for hotel guests, its €18, pricey for a daily parking but its very convenient and decent for Europe rate. You have to ask the receptionist for a discount card and you need to pay in the window where a person can adjust it in their system. The room is newly renovated, we love our room because it has good ambiance for honeymooners like us. It was a great experience. Theres a good Italian restaurant closer to the hotel so its easy to find nice food and its also less expensive. We also had a coffee nearby the next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet far too heavy for the time of year. Fan supplied but could really do with air con. Unable to leave windows open at night due to close proximety to main road & train/bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is located quite opposite station, so the surroundings are not as quite as in the old city, but Luxembourg differs from other European capitals, so even this area didn't seem dangerous. It's 15 minute walk to an old city, but it's more valuable for money then the central hotels with the same comfort.

    good rooms, nice furniture, welcome drink in a bar, a big parking near the hotel, discount for a parking (you should ask for it on reception), nice breakfast, not expensive cafes and bars nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no air con

    - excellent location just opposite to train station and bus station. - decent size of triple room - super helpful staff - good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Staff very welcoming ,nothing too much trouble. Luc in the bar very helpful and rightly proud of his city.Perfect location for transport ( airport bus, trains etc.) Nice walk of 15mins to city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft, but otherwise, this is an excellent, simple hotel for the money.

    My room was small, but very clean with a coffee maker. The breakfast was a delicious spread. Very convenient location. I was on the street side, so there was a little noise, but the Hotel is across the street from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit warm and I had to close the windows because of the noise from outside.

    Hotel Empire has been renovated. The room was spacious and clean. The shower was new and the bed was good. Personell is very friendly. I arrived very late due to a delay in my flight and was happy with the friendly receptionist that was still present. The breakfast room is renovated and very nice. The breakfast is good, lot of choice. I received a free drink at the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise noise noise near railway station, no air con so windows had to be open lots of traffic noise through the night.

    A basic business hotel nothing fancy ole for a nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from road, trains and planes!

    Comfy beds, great showers, lovely breakfast and all the staff were really nice. Right next to train and bus station so good transport links.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that spoilt the hotel was the lack of air conditioning in the room. Because of the good location near the station it necessarily overlooked a main road. This would not have been a problem but I had to have the window open at night to keep cool which meant the noise was excessive. The double glazing was very effective at keeping the noise out but irrelevant as the window had to be kept open. Were it not for this, the hotel would have been superb.

    I went for the Luxembourg marathon so the location was key. I went by train and therefore somewhere near the station was ideal, and this was. The room was very comfortable, had BBC/ITV channels (unusual for foreign hotels) and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel was (almost) everything I would want for my specific requirements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small, not a lot of space to open bags, but comfortable. The shower only suitable for small framed person. Some low level noise from adjacent room, however glazing of windows very effective in blocking street and aircraft noise.

    Excellent location opposite main station and 10 min walk to centre of city. The staff were excellent in dealing with any requests. Access to printer in foyer was useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small but with all amenities. Good shower too!

    Clean, excellent breakfast, 10-15 minutes walking distance to city center, excellent and friendly staff, especially on night shift where Branko goes the extra mile and really makes you feel confortable. Good chat about exYugoslavia basketball team on early 90’s :-) He even asked us if everything was ok when we met each other in town accidentally! Thanks, Branko!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the location just across the train station, it might be a bit noisy at times. But it's understandable :)

    Good breakfast, excellent location, superb reception. We asked for recommendations to eat - and we were given discount coupons too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds, a nice breakfast. They also gave us a voucher each for a free drink in their bar which was good. Great location too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, no curtain for the shower so the floor was easily wet, breakfast was only until 10am

    Very nice and helpfull staff, good breakfast, location in front of the station so it's very convenient, lot of shops in the surrounding, old city reachable by foot in about 15min

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a room facing the main road it was quite bright at night. The walls/ceiling were a bit on the thin side so could often hear people in adjoining rooms.

    The staff spoke a either German or English as an additional language which helped. The location opposite the main station was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only need to cross a road from the train station. Staff was excellent. When I told them that I have to leave the hotel before the breakfast time, they prepared a pack which had a great variety of food for me. Thanks a lot !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy streets made it impossible to keep windows open in a hot room where no air conditioning available. Disinfectant or chlorine heavily used in breakfast room resulting in unpleasant smell questions on cleaning methods.

    Basic economy hotel next to busy road and railway station. Neatly located if one travel by train. Substantial breakfast included in the price. Fresh set of Newspapers and magazines available in breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning after 6am, it was a bit noisy downstairs. I'm not sure people start to clean the street or because the hotel is right opposite the train station or road work.

    They assigned a room for us which one single bed on the other side which perfect for parents and kid. Staff were very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking - not even temporary for unloading baggage. You have to be lucky to find a parking slot on the street, but the nearest street has paid parking with 2-hour parking limit on weekdays. Internet connection slower than my mobile internet but usable for simple things. Not for seirous work over VPN though.

    Walking distance from city center, great breakfast with even vegetables available, comfy bed, enough power outlets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slum neighborhood behind the hotel with many unpleasant people is not the best place for an evening walk.

    Great location in front of the Railway station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was near train station, I can hear some noises from the street at night. And no hairdryer in the room.

    The reception staff is good. She can tell you useful information for the trip. There is even a piano( though it didn't seem to work) in the reception area. Wifi is efficiently available. The breakfast is simple but tasty. I think the whole stay was value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy outside, a little bit far from the city centre

    Railway station across the road, very tidy and nice room, nice personal, affordable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very expensive in the area. Red light district :-)

    Very central, clean, friendly staff. Freshly renovated breakfast room / bar is very bright and spacious. The breakfast is excellent and there is a free drink on arrival. Room is comfortable and quiet despite being just across the central station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very affordable and right in front of the train station. This means that basically any bus you may want to take is just across the street. Clean and the breakfast is fine. There is a bar in the first floor, open till 23h. If you are in Luxemburg for just a couple of days and for business trips, you can't possibly ask for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows did not offer enough support. No airco, which could be problematic in summer. Traffic noise with opened window (windows do however provide good noise proofing)

    Modernised 3* hotel, staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was soft but comfy. Right across the railway station; convenient when travelling by train. Over-all good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toiletries were a pain to open in the shower - the packaging is really unfortunate. Bring your own. Shower tub overflowed a little, but nothing major.

    Perfectly nice and cosy, although no extra-amenities (such as a tea tray, shoe polish, tissues, a shower cap or small bags in the toilet). But it's a 3-star hotel and the actual room was hands down better, cleaner and more comfortable than in other 4-star hotels nearby (I've tried them all, more than once). Good sound proofing. And, while I am usually cold in April on my hotel stays in Luxembourg, the temperature here was quite pleasant (the building is probably well insulated).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and smelly upon entry. I tried to open the window to let some fresh air in, but then too much street noise came in as outside the window it is a busiest street just outside of Gare. The bathroom also has everything that I don't like: small, shower curtain instead of glass door, a sink that was stuck and water reached to my ankle while showering. Cleaning lady came opening the door despite a 'no disturbance' card hanging on the door.

    Location is excellent, just across the station. Price reasonable for Luxembourg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fault of the hotel but poor selection of restaurants close by. The Pizza restaurant below the hotel was producing horrible 'square' pizzas and as an ex-restaurateur (I ran several fresh pizza restaurants) decided NOT to try the rather stale looking products on offer!

    Easy to find, good location, very friendly, extremely pleasant and spacious room. The beds were very comfortable and external noise very low. The breakfast was excellent and the 'cooked' eggs, bacon etc were a pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really Tooooo small

    The staff is nice. And there is a free drink when we check in. We can go to the restaurant for a alcoholic drink and this is enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not very new and single room reminded me of a hostel although it was a 3 star hotel. The room needed fresh air when is entered the room.

    The stuff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is great if you go to the other countries by bus or train. The hotel even let me wait at their bar until my bus time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and breakfast chef were unacceptable. The eggs and bacon were raw and he wouldn’t continue cooking them. The windows didn’t seal, and it was noisy. The curtains didn’t meet and it was very light early in the morning. The shower didn’t drain, the water was up to our ankles, and it fell apart on the first day. When we mentioned it, the concierge was abrupt to the point of rudeness. There was no air conditioning and the room was hot and stuffy, although we could open the windows, but the noise was too great to leave them open at night. I very rarely complain and hesitate to do so, but in this instance, I would not recommend this hotel. Having said that, the girls at reception were welcoming.

    The cleaning staff were nice. It was convenient to the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been better. Comfortable enough, but the mattress was not particularly thick.

    Room was very spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and wonderfully helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal toiletries. No shampoo, shower gel and conditioner. Only very small quantities given that are not enough for more than one shower

    Great location, clean rooms, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived for breakfast relatively late (though by no means at the last minute) and some of the supplies had not been topped up.

    Hotel provided everything you would expect for the price - room was clean, comfortable and quiet despite location. Literally opposite Luxembourg central railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some slight renovations going on Not in the city center, but 5m away by bus (free on sunday) Very soft mattress

    Good quality/cost relation Nice breakfast Room OK Helpful staff Pizza place just around the corner open until 1AM

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The eggs in the breakfast taste strange

    Good bed and very friendly staff. My room was newly refurbished and looked great The Wi-fi worked very well Good restaurants in the area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They knocked the door two times to clean the room before the check out time

    Nice breakfast, clean and central. You can walk to everywhere from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can get noisy due to the bus stations and the train station.

    The reception staff was exceptional good! The location perfect and the room much cleaner than others with a similar rate in Luxembourgh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of 121 € is ridiculously expensive, and I booked hotel 2 months in advance. I don't even want to know what the price would be if I would book the hotel 1 week before. In general, prices of the hotels in Luxembourg have rocketed to the Moon, Saturn and out of our Galaxy in the last 5 years. Ridiculous prices. No true value for the money. I would never ever travel to Luxembourg as tourist.

    I wished to have quiet room on higher floor, so I got the room on 5th floor, and it was a pleasure to sleep like baby. Bathroom was fabulous, new, clean. I believe this room was freshly renovated, and beautiful like no one was there before. I had to leave early to go sightseeing at 6 AM, so in advance, I let hotel to know that I wish early breakfast, chef packed nice bag with normal yoghurt also (which is almost impossible to find in Lux, all are sweetened, such a funny custom). Room had beautiful fat soft carpet, very interesting lightning and lovely decorations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air freshener in room was very strong.

    The hotel is being renovated or remodeled and things were a bit haphazard but the reception staff were all excellent and I was given access to free tea coffee and fruit in the breakfast room/ bar on arrival.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s construction work happening across from the hotel which does not stop until 10pm at night and it begins at 8am in the morning. It is not the fault of the hotel but you may wish to bear this in mind when staying here. The hotel itself is having some renovation work to the restaurant area/rooms (which did not interfere with our stay regarding noise levels) so although breakfast is included, as there is currently no breakfast area you are provided with a voucher to go next door to the cafe to order. However, it is not clear what you can and cannot order. It appears one hot drink is included along with one pastry of your choosing depending on what is on the shelf. It appears that the cafe just charges back whatever you order to the hotel. A sandwich such as a toasted cheese and ham panini would have been better value and more filling than one cake but I think this is just down to lack of communication from the hotel/cafe, and our lack of the French language (although I do speak English, Spanish, and basic Mandarin).

    Room was basic but fine for our needs. Heating worked, plenty of hot water and a powerful shower. The TV worked and had good reception. Comfortable beds and pillow. Staff were lovely and friendly. Location was about 15 minute walk to the centre which was convenient for us. The area is nice with shops, food places, main station, bus stops right by the hotel. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was two singles together. Meant I slept in a single really.

    Good welcome and friendly staff. Great location near Station. Comfortable room. Good shower. Nice breakfast. Good free WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would've preferred a better breakfast spread, however, it was New Years Day, in a city that I'm assuming is normally closed down, not a letdown. I'm thinking it would be better on a different day.

    The location of the hotel was easy to find. Close to the main train and bus station. We traveled there on NYE, when we left for our evening activities, we were offered champagne and snacks. Overall friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't really a general lobby area but our room was so cozy we didn't mind!

    This was such a wonderful stay. First of all, this is as close to the train station as you can get, so we came out into pouring rain and were so thankful to see how close Hotel Empire was. The staff greeted us very warmly. Our room was really clean and cozy and had a tea kettle and a nice variety of teas. Wonderful rain-head shower, really modern and cool touches and a really comfortable bed--we slept so well. Our walk to the Pont Adolphe and city center was just 15-25 min. depending on where you want to end up, but we walked everywhere -- the public transportation is really easy, as well. Breakfast was good with great city views. Any questions we had about printing boarding passes, the bus to the airport, etc. were all really helpfully answered. (The bus to the airport picks you up right across the street -- so convenient!) Also, try the Creole pizza place right there next door -- the pesto pasta was SO good and the pizza is a great deal. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room and difficult to spread out our luggages the shower area door design bothers me as the water runs through out and the whole floor gets all wet and flooded

    close to the train station convenient and walking distance to almost anywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels are hard. A bit noisy due to thin walls. Not enough staff at the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning - just one waitress rotating to serve all guests. Unfortunately, the management plans to renovate the breakfast area into a new modern style eating area, the respective drawings and pictures are displayed in the hallway. This will certainly diminish the warm and charming style of the hotel.

    Nice, charming, cozy small hotel. Greatly located next to the train station. Friendly staff both at reception and the breakfast buffet. We had a wonderful view outside our spacious room located at the buidling's cornersite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing - squeaky doors! It was also quite difficult to enter and leave your room quietly (the locks need a silencer!)

    - Perfect location, only 15 min walk into the centre - Opposite train station so perfect for a day trip to Vianden (which I highly recommend!) - Friendly staff - Radiator in the room worked wonderfully

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helping me , they looked after my bags after i checked out so I didn't have to walk them around town while waiting for a coach. The room was very cosy and I slept extremely well . Can not fault it . Would happily stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has a serious case of mould, photo is attached. Something also bit my wife on her finger while we slept. The breakfast does not offer a lot of choice and it has almost no low fat offerings. The fruit was horrible as it was leftovers from the previous day.

    The location is fantastic as it's close to the Luxembourg central station and the staff are friendly and accommodating too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the centre of Luxembourg and in front of the central train station. When arriving by bus from the Luxembourg airport, the bus will leave you literally on the doorstep of the hotel. Helpful and polite staff. Very comfortable room and an amazing bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be cleaned better.

    I stayed at the Empire hotel for one night. I have chosen this hotel because I came to Luxembourg by train and I did not want to waste time to reach the hotel. So in terms of location it is just perfect, just face to the station and close from everything! I really liked their service: I spoke with different ladies working at the reception and each of them has been very friendly, always ready to help with a smile! Same for the staff at breakfast, everyone is just so nice. Regarding the breakfast, nothing special but there are different things to eat so it is good for everyone. I would def recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels in Luxembourg do not shy from asking ridiculous prices. This room cost double the amount you would pay in a city like Brussels. Of course, this is not specific to Empire hotel but it does mean price/quality is not the same as in other hotels (in other cities). There was free Wifi to which (the network) I could connect but still I could not access the internet.

    Location was good in the sense that it is right next to the train station. This of course means that there may be too much noise for some but for me it was ok. Breakfast is basic but good. Basic rooms and hotel but hygienic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need an urgent renovation, everything is worn, the carpet is very old and dirty. My room had mold on the walls, I am attaching a couple of photos I took.This is a significant health risk and I wonder if the authorities of the country ever check the premises to ensure hygienic conditions. Such a roon is unacceptable at any price let alone the 135 euros charged and the 8.1 rating on booking.com. The breakfast is really basic. The personnel wouldn't care less of your existence. The wi-fi is a real joke, while the signal is strong enough, webpages wouldnt load smoothly and were timing out every few minutes. This was the worst hotel I ever stayed in the entire EU.

    The location is convenient, next to the train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in the room. No enclosed shower meant water all over bathroom floor. Poor lighting in the room.

    Clean and handy for the central station. Good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift service was not user-friendly.

    Very conveniently located next to the railway and bus stations. Room and bathroom tiny with limited storage space but well appointed and maintained; probably OK for a couple of nights but not for more. Staff very helpful and good qualty breakfast served.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to central station, excellent location. Friendly staff. Breakfast is good. Room is clean and cozy, city view is good (face central station). Not pricey, I t’s an absolute bargain 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solid 3* hotel, good b'fast, right across from the train station. Value price. Ironically being across the street from the train station, never heard any trains but heard planes flying in low for landing. Probably never get back to Luxembourg City but, if do, would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi connection poor in the 5th floor...

    The bus station that connects the city to the airport is just in front of the hotel entrance! Comfortable mattress and pillow!!! Very clean and recently renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were all too soft. And I suggest placing a shelf in the bathroon, were the guests can place their personal-hygiene articles.

    I appreciated to way they handled a small missunderstanding in the reservation, assigning us a room better than the one we booked. And when we had to leave very early in the morning, they arrange us a bag with our breakfast (free of charge).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room perfect for one/two persons. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast was good. Walking distance to the tourist attractions. Train station across the street. Shopping and restaurants close to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed this charming hotel. The staff and breakfast were both excellent and the beds comfy. It is older as you would expect in Bruges and the bathrooms could use a remodel, but the charm more than made up for that. We loved opening the windows in our room and sitting in the huge window sills drinking Belgium beer while overlooking a canal. It was magical!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet is not clean as finger nail on floor. Mattress too soft (U-shape which means mattress is old).

    The location is good as only stay at Luxembourg for 1 night. The hotel is so close to train station. Receptionists are friendly and helpful. Hotel is spacious. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get exactly what you pay for. Hotel is standardised, with little creativity regarding decorations.

    Good breakfast. Location is good for visiting the town, close to train station. Price/quality is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So long as you keep the windows closed, the noise level was okay. Not sure how it would be in summer though as there didn't appear to be any air-conditioning. Beware the automatic light in the hall if you get up in the night!!!

    Location was ideal for what we wanted and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room keys are physical keys and not key cards. You are supposed to leave the key at the front desk when you leave, and then you get it back when you come back. We closed one of the bars down so we came back around 2:00 AM. The main entrance door was locked, which was fine, so we rang the bell and the night attendant came, but he didn't want to let us in. All of our stuff was in our rooms already and he was going to refuse us entry. There was 5 of us between 2 rooms. It took us about 8 minutes to convince him we were guests and that he needed to, at very least, let us get our stuff. He finally let us into our rooms. We were drunk, but we weren't being rude, or unruly, or obnoxious.

    Room was clean and very nice. Property was right by the train station which was great because thats how we got there. They even let us check in a little early.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Empire traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: