Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Francais 3 stars

Place d'Armes 14, L-1136 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#23 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1267 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy at night, but the view is definitely worth it. Other than that, there was nothing really negative.

    The staff was amazing, really kind and helpful! You couldn't ask for a better location, everything was within walking distance. The room was a comfortable size (for 2 people) and had an incredible view of the square. Another thing to notice is the various artwork found around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is perfect situated in the cities most important...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is perfect situated in the cities most important square. From here every important item in the city can be reached on foot. If you like music, in summertime live music from the squarekiosk. Rooms are well isolated in case you do not like music. Good restaurant and bar with terras on the square. Fine and clean room with good bed and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a very nice hotel, the staff dealt with our problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a very nice hotel, the staff dealt with our problem professionaly and quickly. We spent 5 nights in that hotel and it was a pleasure. Breakfast is varied and tasty with great variety of cheese.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    not state of the art hotel at the central square with all the dis- and -advantages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Highly crowded square also in the evening. Worst case with entertainment on a stage. Very loud! Also in the early morning because of logistic services. Please avoid rooms on the square side. - no air condition in our room at the 5th floor! And because of the noise you won't open a window. Not ideal with summer temperatures around 30° C. Recommendation: try to get a room on the backside!

    located at the central square, short distances to all hot spots

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location in center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin and you can hear people in the next room. Lucky for me, they were quiet.

    Perfect location! Could not be beat! Also came with breakfast included. Bed was comfortable and it was a real double bed, not 2 single beds pushed together. Room was cozy but fine for just me for the weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. I emailed and asked about parking and they emailed me back promptly with the parking garages link. Very close to the hotel, perhaps 5-7 minute walk. Note that you cannot drive up to the hotel as it is on a pedestrian square, also look for the restaurant Francais You pass by the host station and the registration is on the second floor. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Our room looked over the square, was clean and bright.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable clean friendly hotel in great location. Breakfast included plenty of food self service. Good in Cafe Francais really good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Pefect location and ideal place, comfort wise to stay for short or longer break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like or thought you could do better.

    The choice at breakfast was very good. The pain au chocolates were indeed exceedingly flakey! Good coffee too. Nice bright but calm environment to start the day. Room 35 was large, bright and had great view over the square. Good window ventilation, some noise late on or in the morn, but all part of the atmosphere. Shower room small but perfectly fine. Friend had room at back; completely quiet but view of a brick wall 3 feet away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air-conditioning in the rooms. Almost impossible to find a quiet room as either there is a machine rumbling at the back or the noise from the Place d'Armes reaches you from the front, especially if you need to open the windows. Restaurant very busy at this time and service can be slow.

    Situated in the very centre of the Place d'Armes of Luxembourg City, this hotel is close to all the amenities and tourist locations along with a wide variety of restaurants. It is in a very popular and busy location with a band frequently playing just 30 metres away. It is freshly painted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Clean and quiet. Good breakfast (limited choice but great quality - croissants, yoghurts, fresh juice, coffee). Enjoyed the stay, amazing value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    You can press your fresh orange juice, and breakfast is...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains are not light-proof and let the light pass through, below and on the sides... quite hard for light sleepers when the day starts early in June.

    You can press your fresh orange juice, and breakfast is overall of a good quality, from bread/pastries to fruit juice, yogourth, salty and sweet stuff. Very well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was excellent; the gentleman was extremely helpful and accommodating. I loved the room for it looked out onto the plaza; at night, the lights cast a twinkling bright atmosphere. It was quite beautiful. Bedding was fresh and extremely comfortable. Location was excellent; we could to all of the historic sites easily. The breakfast was exceptional. Loved the artwork in the entry areas; quite elegant and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel. But be careful with taxi booking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi arranged by the hotel. To go from the hotel to the same place in different days the taxi price was sensible different. I recommend be sure that the taxi arranged by the hotel is a official taxi, otherwise the price could be much higher.

    The locationt of the hotel is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Worth the money for the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vanity kits. It is such a small investment, but really annoying not to find in a hotel. Outdated interior. Long time to wait for hot water.

    Excellent location, fairly good pillows, friendly staff, served us breakfast earlier than restaurant opening hours. I had a quiet room and a terrace! This was the best part:) Pity that terrace was very dirty, but if you look at the sunny or starry night, its bearable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Very happy with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons outside our window in a back alcove were a bit loud, but a bang on the window and they went away. Otherwise having a room not on the street was good for sleeping peacefully. No view but it was dark and quiet.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, facilities were clean and stylish. Breakfast was really much better than I expected, delicious croissants and option to have fresh squeezed juice was the best. Room was small but comfortable and perfectly located for a base to explore Luxembourg. It was simple but still exceeded our expectations of a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Room was small, but very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection was very modest. Walls of the rooms are thin and you will hear everything what is going on in the hallway or in neighbouring rooms. Had no view from the window - when I opened the curtains, all I could see was a white wall.

    Room was small, but very clean. The location was great - shops and numerous restaurants and cafes were only few meters away from the hotel. Easy access to the public transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good hotel, quite noisy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good except for the fact that it was quite loud. My colleague was in a room at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy in the evening and then again in the morning from the rubbish collectors. This is understandable given the location but I was in a room at the back of the hotel and could hear all of the noise from the kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, in the heart of Luxembourg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, in the heart of Luxembourg. Nice room with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and a large enough desk area. I liked the good breakfast. Last but not least the staff was very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Best croissants ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest putting a non-slippery shower mat in the bath sonce the shower and bath is conbined as i slipped and fall in the bath when I took a shower.

    Best croissants ever! Staff very friendly and helpful and bed super comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The busiest and loudest place in Lux. No rest from dusk till dawn Soundproofing is a must; all sounds are as if everyone lives in the same room Blankets are child size Ventilation in rooms and bathroom non-existent - very poor Strange smell in the corridors and rooms Key safeguarding at reception is open to abuse

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and stay in Luxembourg la Ville
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel. Great staff, great atmosphere, great facilities and near to all the major sights. Good value for money and would highly recommend in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location in Luxembourg, Quality/Price ratio was far below my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room's size is quite small Bath room is small and amenities are too basics No WiFi on room was available Quality/Price ratio was far below my expectations

    Excellent location in Luxembourg Restaurant downstairs (good food) and openinng hours are quite convenient Breakfast is simple but good. I personnaly delight orange juice machine to prepare a fresh one Staff was kindly to help on any request

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Great little hotel in great location. Try ask for a larger room as some can be a little small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little cramped compared to others but then fine for the 1 night we stayed

    Nice little hotel, lovely breakfast room. Hotel is in great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location in downtown, right in Place dArmes with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in downtown, right in Place dArmes with nearby restaurants and cafes, close to Bock Casements and other attractions within walking distance, and train station is not too far. Stefan at front desk was very hospitable and helpful. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    PERFECT location, great staff (super helpful!), breakfast was a welcomed bonus, and the options for tourism / restaurants and anything else were all easy to access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location in Luxembourg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldnt be better! It is in Place DArmes and it is walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. Service is also good. I requested an early check in via app and they gave me a positive answer very fast. My room was on the 5th floor, was really spacious and had a nice view of the Place D’Armes. From the airport, you can get the 16 bus to get to the hotel. It is just a 20-minute journey. (On Saturdays, the buses in Luxembourg city are free!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    I highly recommend this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff and perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately it was a bit noisy when people used the elevator especially when getting off at the 5th floor. Should the doors would be soundproof then everything would be perfect. But apart from that I have nothing to complain about the hotel.

    I was lucky to have the room with the little terrace on the 5th floor. It was amazing. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is close to everything. (The Central Train Station is only 10mins by foot.) You can find lots of bars, cafes, restaurants nearby. The hotel staff is very very nice and helpful. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    A hotel in need of sound insulation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise on the corridors is very disturbing. I stayed for two nights, first was a Sunday night, and could not fall asleep until late after midnight because of the noise made on the corridors by the other guests coming/leaving their rooms. Soon after 7 in the morning, the noise started again, so I had a very bad and short sleep. Monday night was slightly better, probably there were much less guests in the hotel. I think this hotel should definitely try to find some soundproofing solutions, otherwise their rating will continue to be affected by this noise discomfort.

    I chose this hotel mainly because of its location in the city center. The room is ok, well equipped, and the complimentary bottle of water and tea/coffee making options were a plus. Breakfast was also good, not very diversified but the products offered were of decent quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and only about 15 to 20 rooms. Downstairs cafe francais pleasant for drinking or eating.very central,walking distance for all the sites

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    I stayed one night for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night for a business trip. From 11pm-midnight there was constant crashing heard in my room, coming from upstairs. I think they were doing renovation works or moving furniture or something. At midnight, I had to go down to reception and complain about the noise - all I got was a sorry, and that the noise would stop. It seems ridiculous that the hotel decided to do any work at 11pm-midnight that would make such noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Unexpected surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was a bit difficult to control (either too hot or too cold), but that didn’t really bother me that much.

    I have passed this building in the past so many times. But I never realised it was a hotel. Perfectly located to discover the center of the city, spacious and clean rooms, very friendly hotel staff. Would definitely use it again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location but wouldn't recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SO LOUD. There was construction work either in the hotel or right next door to the hotel on a Saturday morning before 9 am. Really, really disrupted my sleep - especially because I hadn't arrived until midnight. Additionally, my room's window was facing inward and when the window was open, it smelled so badly. There were pigeons hanging out in this small inner area. Lastly, the walls were soooooo thin! I could hear everything next door. I thought that the hairdryer next door was a vacuum cleaner. Definitely not worth the price I paid and I was quite upset once I checked out.

    The hotel was in a perfect location - very centrally located and near transportation lines as well as lots of the tourist attractions. Also, there are many cafes and restaurants all within walking distance!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Poor sleep, great location. Pity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisey. Room on 2nd floor near marble stairs meant it was always noisey from above and below. also considering the temporary reception was under construction and was just underneath me on 1st floor, everything could be heard in the room. Finding ear plugs a godsend! Window looked out on inner courtyard and noisey vents. Had indicated i needed a quiet room. Not delivered. Exhausting experience. Nobody at reception in morning when checking out as were busy with renovations. Might be quieter in higher levels but not in room 21 near stairs and reception and nOwandagain clanging from kitchen.

    Great location, staff polite, breakfast ok, clean room and bathroom fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying in the hotel is terrible!!! the hotel was in refurbished, I was waked up by noise at ~7am, how can you image that???!!! Staff was so cold that they would never look at you when you passed by, I asked my invoice with company info but was told it was sent to my home with my personal info, well, will be waiting for that.

    Good location with affordable price in LUX.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast isn't great, not much variety and the coffee isn't the best.

    Second time staying here and having a room higher up the building made it quieter as noise can start early in the square outside. Room was quite large, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. The windows did not keep the outside noise out and it kept waking me up at night.

    Good location. Breakfast was good, staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location & Good Value for Money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had my dinner in hotel restaurant after reading the good reviews but was disappointed. Lobster bisque was too watery, tasted like hot water with mild lobster taste. My main course which was grilled trout was just ok. The restaurant looks too nice to be serving this low quality in food.

    The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right at the heart of everything. You can find fast foods just beside the hotel, supermarkets nearby, lots of restaurants & pubs all around this place. Walking distance to main shopping streets and some places of interest. This hotel is about 10 minutes by taxi from train station and costs 10Euro. Fronting the hotel is its beautiful restaurant. You will enter through the side to take a small lift to the Reception at 1st floor. The room is reasonable size with nice views. Breakfast is simple but sufficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Great Vaule and Fantastic Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cubicle was too small in general, but ok. The sound proofing was poor within the rooms, and we got woken up at 5 am on New Years Day, by the room next door deciding to continue celebrations in the hall lobby but otherwise a pleasant and comfortable stay.

    Great Hotel in the centre of town - just minutes from everywhere, no need for a car. Flew to LUX and took the 16 bus to town (2 euros) only 20 mins. Room was great and hotel very clean with ensuite, Breakfast was included and not bad, although everyone had to keep asking for the ham and butter to be replenished,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely small and very basic which made this hotel quite expensive for what we got. They were also not soundproofed at all which on New Years Eve made for a bad nights sleep as we could hear people coming and going all night. The staff were fine when we dealt with them but there was frequently nobody at reception - while waiting for our transport after checking out we sat with a family who waited 20+ minutes for someone to return to reception so they could check in. Overall this accommodation was fine but I’m sure there’s better in the city.

    The location in the heart of Luxembourg city was fantastic and it was nice having breakfast included in the price. Breakfast itself was also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Just in the city centrum.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was probably the only negativ....so I suggest...hotel should mantion this fact/situation on their pages + recommend how to solve this.

    All was as it was supossed to be. Little hotel located directly in the city centrum....which is actually the only negativ part for me...becausse I didn´t realise that it is an advent time during my staying there. So there was no chance to get in the middle of snowstrom close to the hotel by my car :-( ....so find the closest parking (16E for a night) and walk like 10 minutes with lagguage and suit. PS: do not expect a guy in a reception to be there 24/7....but he/she is probably somewhere reachable in case you need him/her.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Construction works just on the other side of the door.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works just on the other side of the door. Very loud from 8 am (polishing walls with very loud noise) and dirty. Nobody informed me of construction, the price was usual. Very disappointed with service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location but noisy as badly sound proofed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation is awful. You can hear the lift, neighbours talking in corridor, doors opening and closing which makes it difficult to sleep. Water in shower was luke warm in the evening of arrival.

    Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    I'd stay there again. It was all we want. Simple but very adequate and with no frills - ideal really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Public transport including taxis cannot get too near to the property - and I'm not sure whether that is a Christmas Market thing or all the time. We coped, but the rain didn't overly help. About 400 metres to the bus to the train station and the service frequent. It is only two stops

    A very central spot, right on the square with the Christmas market. Nothing was very far away. Lift was helpful. Excellent breakfast, with boiled eggs the only hot dish. Good variety of food and good coffee. The room was not overly large but quite adequate and the bathroom was clean and adequate and rather newish. The restaurant/cafe down stairs was pleasant and we had one evening meal there, and it was good. Free Wi Fi and good connections

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Cosy hotel with nice restaurant in excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom door was not very soundproof so I could hear noise from the corridor and other people shutting doors.

    The hotel was on a very nice square in the middle of town. There was even a Christmas market on so the atmosphere was great. I couldn't hear any noise from the streets in the hotel as my room was at the back. The restaurant downstairs was very cosy and the breakfast room was very nice too with a view out over the square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and as requested, we had a room on the 5th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel and as requested, we had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the Place d'Armes and the Xmas markets. Good sized rooms and plentiful breakfast. Great hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and staff, but tiny showers.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was absolutely tiny, like I mean I could not really fit in there let alone scrub myself clean.

    Excellent location on the heart of the main square in Luxembourg (with the Christmas markets on this was great). Very helpful and friendly staff and rooms were always a pleasant temperature, which was no small feat considering how cold it was outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location but old facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facility is very so-so. The facility is kinda old and it was not warm enough in the room. The toilet was alright but the bath place is super super tiny.

    Well the location of the hotel is good and staff are generally nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    This was my first time at Francaise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotels in Luxembourg are extremely expensive compared to what they really offer. At that time I stayed at Francaise was very noisy since early morning due to works in the central square. There is no fridge/mini-bar in the room. Also, there is no creamer for making coffee.

    This was my first time at Francaise. Excellent location at very heart of Luxembourg ville. The Hamilius bus station is less than 5 minutes walking time and everything is in close proximity. Spacious however basic room. Very good breakfast and nice staff. Coffee/tea making equipment available at the room, and the wifi signal was strong.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice cafe within the premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a a loud person talking in the corridor on the second floor from 1.30 AM to almost 3:30 AM and very hard to get some sleep because of this noise. I informed the reception in the following morning and hence the next night it was quiter than the first night. The breakfast is only continental.

    Nice cafe within the premises. Very nice and convenient location in the middle of the city. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Family visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very expensive. We were meeting relatives and had to stay in the city. The cost of parking made our stay quite expensive. It might be nice if the hotel could arrange some sort of discount.

    friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Convenient stay in the very center of Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar would certainly be an advantage. Towels can be better.

    It is very centrally located. Many cafes, bistros and restaurants in the area. Very polite reception staff, who changed our room according to our expectations. You can enjoy a breakfast with many special cheese types and bread.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, right on a popular square with bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small. The baked goods at breakfast could have been fresher.

    Excellent location, right on a popular square with bars and restaurants. The front desk stored our luggage after checkout, allowing us to run a few errands without carting our bags around town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Acceptable for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are too basic, and not very comfortable. Ask for a room facing Place d'Arms. Other rooms are just facing walls. WIFI is too slow.

    The location is the best thing of the hotel. It is perfect! Rooms are clean. Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    worth the money, great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room ventilation, poor breakfast options

    Hotel location is excellent, right in the center of Luxembourg. Sadly, rooms are not well ventilated and if you open your room window you get all the smell of cigarrettes from the terrace downstairs. So I will advise you get a room from the 3rd floor up (there is a lift, no worries!) Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is super limited, no lactose-free options (soy milk). Bananas were green!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Good quality/price ratio in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No affordable parking available close to the hotel, but if you don't mind walking it is not a big deal. Only one bottle of water in the room booked for two.

    Excellent central position and a nice breakfast! The room was very comfortable and functional, not very big but sufficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was located on the 6th floor and the room (rather big with spacious bathroom and wonderful view) was next to the laundry which interrupted my sleep in few occassions - be it by the staff or the waching machines. Putting sound-proof doors would make the room perfect.

    The hotel is at a great location and easily accessible. Reception is open 24/7 which is very convenient. The room is cleaned every day and Wi-Fi connection is very strong. There is a possibility to make tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast facilities are very cosy and the menu is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not quiet enough, you could hear people walking outside the room and you could see the light from the corridor shining under the door. Something that should be easy to fix just by having some kind of threshold. That would block the sound and the light coming from the corridor.

    Nice little hotel very well located in the centre of Luxembourg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, walk to everything. Room was small, but clean and very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was good. We also had dinner at the restaurant because it was easy and we were tired, and we were very happy with our meal! I thought this hotel was an excellent value. There is no parking on site, but underground parking is nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room being made up late in the day. We were on top floor.

    View out to Markt Square - trees, open-air entertainment, restaurants outside front door. Room location on top floor - good view, very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    As an emergency stay hotel. Would not return otherwise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed 3 nights. first got room 22 : horrible cigarette smell. there was no other room. really bad. then I moved to room 44 on the square, smaller a bit noiser, no smell. Towels were not changed between the 2 days there. Breakfast is OK, nothing fancy. Wifi was very slow (< 3mbps). feels like an ibis 2*, not a 3* in a chic city: furniture is cheap.

    very central, right on the central square (place d'armes). 2/47 reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    I liked the view and the central location very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the view and the central location very much. The bed was comfortable and not too soft. I also liked the design - tastefully understated, not over-decorated, light colours. Despite the location, I didn't have reason to complain about noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    showers were very small!

    Location was fantastic! Easy walking distance from train station with luggage. Close to everything we wanted to see in Luxembourg. Restaurant on site was very good. We enjoyed the Included breakfast which had a nice selection of meats, cheeses, eggs, tea, coffee, breads, as well as yogurt and cereal. The breakfast room had huge windows that opened up to the square below! FUN! We traveled with friends and occupied a total of 5 rooms. There were many places to meet up with our friends during our 2 night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    See Luxembourg from the window of your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More bedding and pillow options could be available within the room.

    Plenty of breakfast options and great coffees. The hotel is in the heart of the historic old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    central location, good sized room, clean, soundproof windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was poor - go to any of the local chains for better croissants; mattress and bedding weren't great. Fine for just one night. No outlets near the bed to plug in phone, etc. A good value if you get a cheap price because the location is great. It's safe and clean, but a very basic hotel.

    central location, good sized room, clean, soundproof windows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice small hotel in the heart of the old town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice small hotel in the heart of the old town of Luxembourg . Rooms are in good size - not too small and not too big . Rooms in the back are facing the next building so there is no view, the other option is a room facing the main square with all the restaurants. The breakfast is short of variety, but enough for starting your day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great location, great service, nice rooms with a view, easy to find in trendy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have any complaints but I did wnat to ask about the birds who come in everynight and leave in the morning, didnt get the chance to ask anyone

    Spacious rooms with great views, wifi quick and efficient, Lift for those who do not want to use stairs, breakfast was adequate and fresh, staff were friedly and helpful. Ate at restaurant withinhotel for all meals as it was convenient, great service and good meals. not particularly cheap but nothing is in Luxembough, Hotel is close to all attractions and shopping district, easy walk around to most things

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay! Would come again if I get the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underground parking was a few blocks away, but easily accessible.

    Very nicely renovated charming old hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was nice. The staff was both friendly and helpful and the maître d and our waiter were exceptional. The maître d is truly a charming man.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, right on the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right on the square. Difficult parking as you have to park and walk to the hotel. Breakfast was a simple buffet, but made things easy. We had lunch on the restaurant patio which was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    As previously, a pleasant stay in the center of Old City,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As previously, a pleasant stay in the center of Old City, staff was friendly and efficient. Tasty coffee in the mornings and the place has its charm that keeps me returning to my favourite place of stay in Luxembourg. Merci!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin could hear everything, room 12 on same level as reception and next to public bathroom so very noisy

    Lovely big room, hotel situated in excellent location close to lots of restaurants and sightseeing opportunities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but sewerage and breakfast need to be addressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very limited selection Every morning the pump out truck arrived to pump out the Sewerage consequently Smelling the whole hotel out around about breakfast time

    Location,size of room,lift

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    A decent, centrally located, but a bit costly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is VERY small and there is no view when you look through the window, you see the wall of the building. But after all, this is not so important. The only thing that actually bothered us was the high price of the hotel which made us thought we would get more for the money.. All in all, a decent hotel, just do not get your hopes up. Lux is expensive yet charming little town.

    The location of the hotel is perfect as you can easily walk to see all the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location and quite good value for a city centre hotel - BUT no road access!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's in the middle of a pedestrianised area, meaning NO road access (we were traveling by motorcycle). If you arrive in/on a vehicle you will need to park some distance away and walk to the hotel with luggage.

    Very central, lots of restaurants and bars nearby and most attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Very clean, great location (yes, it is noisy outside, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cigarette smoke in the corridor in the morning

    Very clean, great location (yes, it is noisy outside, but when you book a room in a hotel that is situated directly at the main square with restaurants etc. you cannot honestly expect that it will be quiet)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot with no air conditioning. It was very loud at night from the square but also the washrooms were next to our room and we were awoken every night and morning to the cleaners talking and making lots of noise.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Francais traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: