Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel de Vianden 3 stars

6, Rue De La Gare, 9420 Vianden, Luxembourg

#8 of 12 hotels in Vianden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking. Damaged pavement and loose stones. Not organized, unclear if there are dedicated motorbike places.

    Friendly helpful staff. Very good location. Nice terrace. Excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually liked the hotel but I think that the breakfast buffet in the morning could be improved

    comfortable bed, very centrally located hotel, good food at the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid euro 12.50 for my son aged 2 years, who slept in our bed. It was well advertised, so not a surprise, but I still consider it an unfair charge (the double room cost was euro 100).

    The position

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The remote for the jacuzzi were nowhere to be found.

    Te room was recently renovated so everything was pretty new and clean. It was a warm weekend so the room was a bit too hot but we could open the window. There was also a fridge in the room but no kettle which would have been nice. We tried the jacuzzi but noticed when already in that you needed a remote to operate it properly. The remote was not in the room so I guess you needed to request it from the front desk. There was no hot breakfast but really good fresh bread with a selection of spreads, cheese and meats which made the breakfast ok. There is also nice restaurant in the hotel and everything in the village including the castle is within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with bath and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't a grand hotel regardless of the name. The carpet and room furnishings were serviceable and functional but dated. Faded 1980s grandure. Carpet had lots of stains. Feeling of bed springs in mattress, but slept fine.

    The staff was friendly and available. Parking was easy. The room was clean. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no lift in all parts of the hotel. Had to carry the luggage many stairs to reach the room.

    Good location in the middle of the village. Breakfast included. Hotels parking spaces available just outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with double bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is in a bath tub, and requires sitting down to use without getting water on the floor.

    The location and parking are very good. The restaurant with a terrace is also very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the public areas is rather tired and consists of a bizarre mixture of pop memorabilia ( think 60s ) and a vast array of toy hippos- material ones , plastic ones and ceramic ones which seem to cover any spare space! Not my taste anyway but if toy hippos are your thing this is the place to stay! I'll pass!

    Good location in the centre of Vianden. Plenty of off road parking. The room was clean and comfortable. No bath unfortunately. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with bath and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and had to leave windows open- this was a problem as restaurant/bar was outside our window. During hot summer months recommend room at back of hotel to avoid noise from bar

    Great breakfast and very central location,staff was warm and friendly, good food and drink on site, also had parking in immediate proximity-very easy walk to center of town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot in the attic. No conditioner. High street noise in rooms with windows facing to the street.

    Close to the bus stop. Administration is helpful and quickly solves questions. There are bathrobes, what is not typical for most hotel of this level

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    The room was good. The bed was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with air conditioning. It was very hot in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with double bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was really uninspired - Luxembourg is a great country with a wide range of high quality produce. couldn´t feel that at all in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nthing

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with bath and balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi drivers prices completely over the top.

    Staff brilliant, also the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny and up beat staff, but still proffessional and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a good location in Vianden. The staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful. Plenty of space to park our motorbike.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm welcome on arrival and the owner kindly found us space to park motorbikes and even helped us with our bags. The staff are all so friendly and that really makes it special. Spacious rooms, large comfortable beds, good food. We had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lady at check-in in the afternoon was very grumpy, room had a weird stinky smell to it, we were put in a side section of the hotel as the main part of the hotel was booked out by a tourgroup. We also got charged twice by the hotel, I hope this will get fixed soon.

    The Free Wi-Fi was very quick. The photos & paintings of Blues & Rock artists make for a cool ambiance. The owner seemed like a nice guy but we only met him at check-out.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tea and coffee in room

    staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for you

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator for mature couples.

    Breakfast was excellent. Hotel owners very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea making facilities in room would be good. Not an issue for us but no lift in our wing

    Very helpful staff and good food

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit hard for us but that maybe our problem

    All good

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    the location and services in the hotel were great

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift, yes, I'm lazy :D

    Clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel mgr a bit abrupt and check out a bit of hassle based on my Visa card not having a chip in it but had cash do used it.

    Location, bed and bkfst

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: