Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Cravat 4 stars

29, Boulevard Roosevelt, 2450 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#41 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 851 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    I loved the location, the rooms, the turn down service, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to sleep without air conditioning and since it was downtown, it was too loud to sleep with the windows open. Our room was right across from the SkyLine bar.

    I loved the location, the rooms, the turn down service, the crib quality for our daughter, the robes, in room tea and coffee set, and the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Travel back in time...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no climatization in the rooms! I had to open the window which gave to an interior patio, so not much air coming in, but plenty of noise. I ended up not sleeping because of the heat and the snoring neighbourgs! The infrasturcture probably dates back to the 60’s...quite disturbing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Outmoded and expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ancient room with clunky old fashioned furniture. Bedroom 'window' opened into a narrow air shaft with a noisy kitchen at the bottom of it. No controls for the air conditioning so I assume this doesn't work. Over €200 for this and breakfast is an additional €25. A classic case of an old European hotel, long past its best, trading on its former reputation.

    Only hotel available in Luxembourg when booking the previous week (other than the Youth Hostel). The world's most over-complicated light switches will amuse you as you count down the hours to check-out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is lovely and clean and the staff at reception and so accommodating. The location is perfect as ya in the center of the town where there are tons of bars and restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    not worth this money at all!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and needs renovation. The walls are just made of cartoon and you can hear every whisper from around. But the best is the elevator! When it's opening the door you can hear it in the whole hotel! really unacceptable. Staff is so so and speak just a little English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Great Hotel, hot rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot no air conditioning and unfortunately we asked for a fan as the person on front desk said that's what they could give us but when asked for one the next day did not receive one. It was just too hot in the room to get a good sleep. Bed was a bit small for the two.

    The hotel was in a great location. Very tired. Reception was very helpful asked for another pillow as the one in the room was too soft and received one in a matter of minutes. Great hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. I forgot my jacket and keys in the hotel. The staff was very helpful. They found my jacket and keys and sent it to my home address by mail. Perfect location. Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    A solid choice for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking much needed air-conditioning, creating a hot and stuffy atmosphere Two beds placed next to each other, but not secured...

    Perfect location and proximity to the Old Town Welcoming and efficient staff Cleanliness Great interior design and finish Retro elevator A nice little 'healthy cafe/bistro' right next door - excellent place for breakfast/lunch Stunning views from the 6th floor room - well worth it just for this aspect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful historic hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very warm, and noisy with the windows open. Perhaps electric fans in the rooms?

    We very much enjoyed our stay in this beautiful historic hotel. Our rooms were very spacious and we had a lovely view. The many vintage elements of the hotel added to our experience. All staff members were friendly and helpful. We would love to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Scenic start to our rail holiday through Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was a bit small. Breakfast could have been more imaginative. No air conditioning so hot at night.

    The location on top of the cliff above the Petrusse park was excellent and easy to get to from the station. We walked all over the inner city sights from the hotel and enjoyed the park walk under the bridges as well as the views from the hotel. We knew Luxembourg was expensive , but the location made up for teh drawbacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast ok, nothing extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for what the hotel is offering

    Breakfast ok, nothing extra. The hotel is in the center of the city, which is great: Remodeled rooms are fine, the old ones a bit worn out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing stay at a splendid situated classy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant cosier and offering Letzebuerger Specialitaten!!!

    Bed extra comfy, staff helpful and friendly. Above all right in the centre of Luxembourg. We shall return in September and can recommend highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic as usual, never disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love the olde worlde charm of this hotel - it has class! I have stayed here several times over the last ten years and I absolutely love it - I would not consider staying anywhere else in Luxembourg. The rooms are old fashioned, but totally charming, the bar area is exceptional, and the staff are lovely, and very, very helpful. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. I love it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, vintage, and glamorous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV didn't have a lot of English language options, but that wasn't a big deal. The one small thing was that when I asked for restaurant recommendations, I wasn't really given any good guidance - i.e. "just walk up Rue Chimay". I knew there were a lot of restaurants in that area, but I wanted a recommendation of which one to pick. (FYI - pick Charles for a great sandwich at lunch).

    Other reviews had called this hotel outdated - I disagree. It has a great, vintage vibe in the bar and front desk area. The rooms are clean and a good size (for Europe). The bathroom was huge by European standards - great water pressure in the shower. The bed had a great pillow top and was super comfortable. Most of the rooms have a view, based on the layout of the hotel, but some have a view only of a inner ventilation shaft. That was fine by me. As I could just step outside the hotel door for an amazing view. But if having a view from your room really matters to you, you might want to ask. The advantage to the location of my room was it was VERY quiet for sleeping at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    A classic hotel from a former time but well worth the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in my room was not brilliant and the windows let noise in but you can drop the exterior shades.

    Excellent desk staff. Atmosphere, Location, Large room, Good but not great WiFi, Lots of storage, Remnants of the design from a former era still exists in parts of the hotel such as the mirror and steel columns in the breakfast room. 5 min walk to the bus to the airport, you are in the middle of the old town and 100 m from the elevator to the lower town. A little noisy but only during the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    good location, pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms vary quite a bit. This time is had a level 2 room which are older in style with old step in shower baths. A little dated and room opposite lift shaft so could be noisy but nice balcony and view compensated.

    Great central Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location with easy acess to everthing in the centre by foot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not take breakfast as too expensive at €25 WiFi isn't free I believe but didn't use it

    Excellent central Luxembourg location Good quality mattress and bathroom Pleasant staff Slightly retro old-fashioned feel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is maintaining a classical feel, yet well preserved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is maintaining a classical feel, yet well preserved. everything in the room add to the vintage aroma of the hotel. Great location and spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location but really gone downhill.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing cold - no heating at all despite it being winter. WiFi code didn’t work. Decor very dated. Everything in the mini car was out of date. Didn’t really trust eating the breakfast food due to this!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely big room and super comfy and clean bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant or food available as renovation in progress

    Lovely big room and super comfy and clean bed. Fantastic location in the centre of the city. Very helpful concierge and classic barman...great cocktails like going back to the days when personal service really mattered

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    My favorite hotel in Luxembourg city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not really matching the price 25€. No fresh fruit, and the buffet offers too little modern breakfast. Having said that, this means that you will not eat too much, which can be an advantage for frequent travellers.

    Rooms are spacious and clean, the hotel is situated perfectly for restaurants and public transportation. Excellent view over the Grund, and perfect silence when you have a courtyard room. Old style hotel, in a way I like.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast not bad, comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a quite smoker room and got a noisy non-smoker. No heating in the room in January (there was a heater but couldn't be switched on at all) 2/3 of receptionists unfriendly or not providing with basic information on their own initiative. All in all just seems very dated, should replace some furnishment/doors/elevator etc.

    Breakfast not bad, comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Magnificent. Should be the first choice hotel for everyone visiting Luxembourg.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception forgot to give me the wifi code and breakfast time but I asked for it afterwards!

    The room was large with a view, lovely buffet continental breakfast, very professional, corteuous staff, lifts on ground floor, very quiet, cannot hear people coming up and down the stairs, close to all amenities and right in the centre, taxi stand outside, bus stop to airport and train station 5 mins away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.3
    Location superb but hotel not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a face lift. Very old decor and facilities. Toilet blocked during our stay, breakfast buffet was okay but certainly not a wide choice.

    Location in the old town was perfect. Everything within walking distance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location but hotel in need refurbishment. Restaurants advertised but no longer open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given was extremely small, stifling hot and airless with the window opening into the service shaft which we had to leave open all night trying to unsuccessfully cool the room. We spent an extremely uncomfortable, sleepless night before we had a change of rooms. Breakfast was not worth the high price paid. The shower was over the bath in the bathroom in the replacement room and the water ran along the edge of the bath onto the bathroom floor causing large puddles. The hotel restaurants advertised on the web site and hotel signs lit up at night were no longer functioning in December when we we there.

    The replacement room we were given the following day was large, comfortable and had views of the ice skating rink. The bathroom was not renovated but was huge with a double basin and plenty of bench space. The hotel is very well located and easy walking distance to everything except the railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old school hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay did not include breakfast, and it was too expensive to buy separately. The mattresses are very hard, but we didn't mind this too much. No Wifi... it is a mystery to us how a modern hotel today can survive without offering free wifi! But you can very easily pay 5 euro per month for city wifi premium - a service offered by the city of Luxembourg (the premium account is SECURE, but you can also just log onto the free one if needed).

    This hotel had a very sweet old-school charm. The room was pretty and had a magnificent view of the lookout and the valley. We loved the classic elevator with double doors and the staff were friendly and helpful when needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was the shower. Large spacious room which overlooked the Christmas market which was very beautiful at night with all its Christmas lights. Breakfast was excellently served with very accommodating staff.

    Very comfortable. Clean and excellent value for money. The location was extremely good for my needs. Easy to get to all public transport. Perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful! Like in a fairy tale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit overpriced for what it was but nice and fresh.

    We got a room with the most beautiful view ever, overlooking the ferrys wheel, Christmas market, castle and the valley. Something special to wake up to. We were amazed when we walked in and were amazed all 3 days looking out of the window. The stuff was going an extra mile to help us with everything. Would definitely stay again if ever in Luxembourg!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    I got a nice corner room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a nice corner room. I checked in late, both the check-in and check-out was quick and smooth. I did not use the wifi, but I was offered one. The sanitary ware was entertainingly blue (sort of art nouveau).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Base camp for xmas market
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from street on Sunday morning :(

    Excellent location, just off the Christmas market(s). Kind and helpful staff at check-in/check-out. Comfy bed :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to use the parking garage about a block away. The total for the parking was 38 Euros per day. It seemed a bit high.

    Great location. Great staff. Felt like we were walking back into history with all the comforts of today!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and amazing decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over all, it was a very good stay apart from one of the receptionists as he sounded quite rude and judgemental with no motive.

    Lovely hotel and amazing decoration. The location is also good and a very good choice for a quick visit to Luxembourg.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location & building in need of an upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not well managed, empty dishes, lack of bowls etc but what was there was good overall. Overall, the premises and bedrooms are still a bit worn and weary looking and need a good refurbishment.

    Nicer room than the last time I stayed. Refurbished bathroom and room less worn and tired looking. Bed was comfortable, on top floor so fairly quiet although I was woken early as they set up the big wheel for Christmas outside! Staff quite friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect venue for a choir singing at the cathedral
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors difficult to open or lock Erratic room service Manual shutters difficult to operate

    Concierge friendly and helpful No problems with early breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall a nice older hotel near a main touist district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above!

    The bed cover was the low point of the hotel. Too thick a cover to lay under and the room was too cool to be without a cover. Using a bath towel on top of me was the way I could get some sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    We were singing at the Cathedral and nearby and the hotel served our purposes extremely well.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of an unimaginative breakfast. The general temperature was a little high but overall it was a very good stay.

    The location, the greeting and the lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Family-run hotel in a great location and good staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Refurbishment of the outside ground floor unfortunate but necessary. Turn-down a little sporadic; some rooms had this, mine did not. Small in-bath shower

    The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to a slight problem with a shutter. The location is excellent. The art deco lift is a lovely reminder of a by-gone era. There are two other lifts as well. The hotel has a traditional feel with the service associated with a family-run hotel. Updated upper floor rooms nice and bright and airy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Traditional hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My part of the hotel probably needed a little up-dating. The double bed was very small (just a standard 4 feet 6 inches double). The towels were rather small and hard. Breakfast was very expensive (€25) for what it was.

    Very convenient location. Great bar and cocktail waiter. Comfortable bed. Lovely views from the room although not all rooms have views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Would not recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key to door hard to use, no safety strips in tub, reservations made on line could not be changed at hotel, no air conditioning, furniture on lobby old.

    Location - close to buses, shopping and restaurants. friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    good but expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No price list for products in the minibar - prices may be surprising

    beautiful room, nice view from 6th floor, lovely dining room, courteous staff, good wifi; good localization; nearby shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    A good welcome and the room was large and clean and nicely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel as a whole was very dated but the floor I stayed on had recently been renovated. The rooms were not adequately sound proofed, I could hear conversations through the connecting door to the next room.

    A good welcome and the room was large and clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Good value compared to other hotels, but cleanliness and awful smell is something to be changed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underwear of previous guest found in bathroom. Terrible smoking smell in the room. Towels are too small. Breakfast should definitely be improved.

    good location, staff is OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    The restaurant was closed due to renovation which we were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed due to renovation which we were not informed about when we made the resdervation. It was not even possible to get a quick room service sandwich before a long meeting we had in the afternoon. Otherwise we like the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Very nice old-school hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the extra touches that make this hotel special e.g the Good Morning/ Good Night rug next to the bed, apple on bedside table. Room was of a good size. Reception staff were courteous. Did not have the opportunity to try the bar or restaurant, only the breakfast room which was lovely.If you like vintage hotels, as I do, this is a good choice, particularly considering the central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Rundown hotel lost in time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a run-down hotel horribly overpriced. The atmosphere reminds me to a grandma's home where everything is a bit worn-out, old fashioned and fusty. Half of the sockets did not work, including the one in the bathroom which supposed to provide electricity to the hair-dryer. The brasserie on the ground floor is closed down. This hotel would need a major upgrade to correspond to its previous grandeur.

    Comfortable bed, central location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Not an old syle hotel, more a neglected style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not A/C, but not even a fan in the room. Temperature inside was pretty high. Furniture was old, and so was everything else (phone, hairdryer, etc.). I've seen tinier bathrooms only on cruise ships, so small that the toilet had been turned sideways not to hit the sink! The bed was super small for two people and with a very uncomfortable gap in the middle. The parking around the hotel is not too far, but crazy expensive and the hotel doesn't offer any kind of discount for staying at the property. On the ouside the building looks old and in need of repairment.

    Loved the surroundings and the views from the window. Good area where to walk around. Breakfast OK. Staff was nice and helpful enough. Everybody spoke English well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Close to the sights and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to the sights and city centre. Staff were excellent and the bar men was a great bloke. It has a great window to have sex out of as well, nothing better than rooting my girlfriend from behind looking over the town. Good times, great views!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, the hotel used to be "Grand" in the 80s
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms, the one was quite good but the other one was like I time traveled to the 80s. The rooms have many amenities but most of the staff is old and it definitely has to be replaced.

    The location is great but everything in the hotel is quite old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Costly overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. On street parking for 2 motorcycles could have been £50. No restaurant facilities or room service so has to go to a local take away to get an evening meal which was eaten in our room.

    The size of the room and the comfort afforded

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    No air condituoning durin summer in this otherwise nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Conditioning during summer. This is a deal breaker for me and a 4-star hotel. Some rooms are noisy (street&car noises).

    Location and staff sre great. Rooms and beds are good size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is located in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed to wait at reception for staff, because they were having "chat" with tour guides and also let them get in front of while I was waiting in the line.

    Hotel is located in city center. You can walk around by foot, no need any vehicle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking around the hotel is expensive, we chosen for parking Glacis which is reasonably priced at a 13 minute walk.

    Great location. Big room and huge bathroom with 'seventies style' and even a small balcony (no special view though). Interior of the hotel brings you back a few decades, which we found charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Severely Outdated, but in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They still have outdated fixtures like the ancient plastic hair dryer from the last century attached to the wall. Also they were unable to supply us with an iron.

    The staff were helpful, kind and multilingual. Also the location is convenient, safe and beautiful. It felt like Grand Hotel Budapest - a place that was once special but has gone to the wayside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Nooit meer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked for 2 adults and one child. After check-in we went to the room and saw there were only 2 beds. We went back to the reception and there they told us we should pay an extra 40€ for an extra bed = cheap trick. After our departure the next day, I saw that i've forgotten my watch (my mistake). I localized the watch on the hotel location. Sent a mail with the question to go look for my watch. Got a mail back that it wasn't there???????? No reply at further mail to look closely under the beds. I hope that the one with my watch is very happy with it. Never again........... Cons.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Loved my stay at the Grand Hotel Cravat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do wish that the hotel had a deal for parking in the public garage near the hotel. The price wasn't bad, but a deal for Cravat guests would have been a bonus.

    I enjoyed the hotel. It is an older property, which is part of what I liked about the hotel. The staff was wonderful which was bonus. The breakfast was great. Finally the location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Hotel Grand Cravat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for our most enjoyable and relaxing stay at Grand Hotel Cravat. Query for booking.com. What is meant by 'genius perks'? - final question in (2) above.

    Friendly manner of all staff was most welcoming and helpful - we were made to feel immediately at ease and that any concern or question we had would be taken seriously and responded to thoughtfully. Our room - and in fact the entire hotel - is beautifully and functionally furnished. I took photographs of the lift doors - I know that sounds a little mad - but they were truly an interesting and artistic aspect of the hotel. We had a third floor room with a balcony facing the Constitution Square and the Petrusse Valley - indeed a lovely aspect for us. We enjoyed our drinks in the cocktail lounge which was furnished with 'period' pieces and the chandelier was indeed impressive. The drinks menu makes ordering drinks very straightforward and the staff were most efficient. Another highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast buffet - especially the fresh fruit salad. The breakfast room features an expansive glass sculpture of two deer - most memorable. The Luxembourg tourist information stand is a great asset to the foyer and very useful for those who are tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Noisy, too expensive, old fashioned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy, too expensive, old fashioned

    Location would be a benefit, but due to noise or rather lack of noise-proofed windows it was actually a disadvantage

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Nicely in the centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are to iinnstal AC but ut does not work yeat. 29 C the night I stayed there.

    Ask for a room at 4th floor. They are the newest, some has a small balcony. Big protected parking house next door o Place d`Armes with many restaurants 100 m away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.8
    No valie for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy room just above very busy street. Impossible to sleep even with closed windows. Very poor internet connection unbelievable for 21st century!!! Extremely expensive for ehat it offers

    Very friendly and helful reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.0
    Wonderful location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot at times, an AC system would have been helpful, or a fan.

    Great location, handy to all major sights and attractions, easy to find. Staff were extra helpful and obliging. Room serviced twice daily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    The complimentary apple around tea time was a nice touch,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot shower that was not hot (and with large fluctuations in temperature). The room overlooked a tiny triangular courtyard (just a few square meters in area) and being at the first floor had very little natural light. The TV was stuck on one channel (remote broken and non-functioning controls on the TV set). I couldn't tell how to change the temperature in the room and the bed was very (too!) soft.

    The complimentary apple around tea time was a nice touch, and the staff at the desk was helpful when I needed to exchange some currency. The hotel is a very short walk from a number of restaurants as well as a number of bus lines (including to the airport). Free WIFI.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Real old world charm and comfort with great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love more English langage tv and slightly better wifi. Luxembourg city is noisy at present with roadworks affecting all city centre locations.

    This hotel promotes itself as family run and it shows. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. My room was quiet and non-smoking as requested (doesnt't happen everywhere). The restaurant is open again which was great. Wonderful location close to city centre and to transport to European Quarter. Lovely decor with Art Deco feel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Pros: very spacious room that I appreciated a lot, stylish...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contras: Terrible noise from the street early morning - I do not know whether it was a bad coincidence or a system. Breakfast is too modest for this level. Only orange or grapefruit juice - far not all the people like citrus juices. When I asked about boiled eggs - the waiter said me that there are available only against fee.

    Pros: very spacious room that I appreciated a lot, stylish interior, nice very central location. The interior deserves some renovations but it does not spoil the general impression.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel - poor communication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking - booking.com advertised it as parking available. Had to park on the street. Our double bed was just two singles pushed together with a gap down the middle. Hotel receptionist kept giving me misinformation. Wrong wifi password. Gave us the keys to an occupied room when we asked to change rooms. Told me there were only 3 double beds in the whole hotel. Failed to tell us that there was a public holiday and therefore not to get up early to move the car. Great place but let down a bit with all the extra running around. Most hotels you just arrive and enjoy. This place makes you work for it.

    Very nice hotel. Great decor. Comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Good Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, the bathroom could have done with a little updating but good towels, shower gel, shampoo etc

    Lovely room, friendly staff. It's my old stamping ground as I worked for a Luxembourg Bank in London and stayed many time at the grand cravat on business

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.5
    Great tradition, excellent staff, but infrastructures to be modernized
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Old Infrastructure. Nothing was changed since my last visit (mid 80's)- 2. Weak WiFi connectivity- 3. Difficulties in enjoying the TV

    location in the heart of the 'ville haute' - Very close to "Place d'Armes"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous, spacious room with loads of natural light and gorgeous views. The charm of this hotel definitely didn't go a miss. The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and it couldn't have been in a more convienet location! We will definitely be returning here again. Nothing negative to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in the centre of Luxembourg
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are some problems with the WiFi. It keeps disconnecting all the time for some reason which is a bit disturbing.

    The staff in the hotel is friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great barman who is making top cocktails.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    This time I stayed in the refursbished room in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it is time to make wifi user authentiaction more friendly.

    This time I stayed in the refursbished room in the hotel. Very nice and comfortable. Exceptional friendlines of hotel staff and excelent location make this hotel our first choice in Luxemburg.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, overall great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awkward, and we had a view of the inner walls and windows which wasn't great but otherwise it was lovely.

    The room was really nice, and super comfortable. The bathroom was lovely as well though the shower was a little awkward. Location was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Vintage luxury at an affordable price
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe replace some carpeting but it didn't bother me. Power socket near writing desk needs main light to be on to function.

    Great staff. Toilets on 1st floor near conference room are modern and swish.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Couple of days in Grand Hotel Cravat Jan 2017
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Definitely disadvantage is the need to pay for internet access every 12 hours. This service is not included in your order.

    Hotel in style 60's, decent for everyone, staff is very friendly and helpfully :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    Outdated Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems to have stopped in time. From reception area, to halls, to restaurant, and rooms everything seemed very outdated.

    The location is indeed great. And the view from the front side rooms is nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.3
    It was given a very small double bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was given a very small double bed. We asked for another bedroom and they told us that all the beds have got the same size. I am sure that it was a single room. The mattress was awful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Old Fashioned Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband said the wi-fi was slow!! Didin't bother me.

    The bar is beautiful, classy, the staff are very friendly, the hotel is in a perfect location. The hotel is old fashioned, but in my opinion it is classy, stylish, and I love staying here. I have stayed several times over the years, and it will always be my first choice when visiting Luxembourg. Feels like a 'family' hotel rather than an ultra modern impersonal place.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Cravat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: