Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de la Poste 4 stars

107 rue de l'Alzette, 4011 Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg

#6 of 6 hotels in Esch-sur-Alzette

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hotel right in the centre of Esch. Staff is welcoming and allowed us to check in even late in the night. The place is not new, but everything is clean and in order. Rooms are fine, but definetely not big. Breakfast is nice and you have different options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was at nearby parking house ,was a little bit inconvenient but no big problem ,parking was 15 euro a day .

    Breakfast was very good Hotel was convenient located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door handle was broken Shower head was broken. Opted for a “comfort double bed” and we got 2 single divers put together. We complained and they changed our room which was a little bit better. But the shower in the new room was blocking up. When we asked the reception she said there was nothing she could do as the maintenance person was not available. Breakfast was poor.. waste of money. This is not a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advice to future visitors would be to check the parking availability, the hotel does have its own parking garage but at certain times of year it closes and guests are directed to public parking instead. It's not entirely clear as to exactly when it opens and closes but although the public parking is relatively close it does necessitate a certain amount of lugging around as it is only accessible through a pedestrian area. Worth finding out before you visit.

    The staff we delightful and extremely helpful, five stars!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was open (unsecure) and wouldn't connect properly

    Kind staff, clean and well-equipped hotel room, extensive breakfast - everything was as expected and on point

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator not working correctly. No proper tea and coffee making facilities - silly paper cups like takeaway coffee cups which wouldn't hold tea/coffee. No rail in bath/shower and no shampoo. Old television with 25 channels only 9 working and all in German!! Pillowcases were too small for the lumpy pillows and quilts didn't cover beds so they fell off during the night. List goes on. No wake up call before 6.30 am and no night porter. Only plus was central location of hotel. This is a 2 star not 4 star hotel.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking access was not according to plan provided by hotel staff (probably depending on time of day). Unpleasant when it rains: hotel was unable to provide umbrellas and taxi did not arrive within 15 min. We ended up having to walk in the rain to the Michelin star restaurant in nice dresses and shoes.

    Centrally located in pedestrian area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi promised but very poor to the point of non existent. Very disappointing!

    Lovely breakfast. Easy walk to train station. Lots shops for retail therapy. Ok restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine LOved the products in the bathroom

    Rooms in LUxembourg city were at 3OO to over 400 euros per night, I chose the hotel for the price which was around 100 euro I was very happily surprised to find such a nice place which is not so easy in Lusembourg. It is Art Deco so no ultra modern furniture but very nice well maintained place Easy to find in a charming neighbourhood Just around the corner there is a restaurant worth the detour The Post Coach or something like that. I enjoyed an OUTSTANDING dinner there and only had to walk back about 1 minute, pure luxury. the next monrning it took me about half an hour to 40 minutes in rush hour to get To LUxembourg Centre over some very nice country roads. I ll certainly go back to this hotel because of the price and it s so convenient. Personel is very very friendly too,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am not a happy customer with booking.com. You described the hotel as 4 stars with old bulky tube TV's when flat screens were advertised, elevators that don't stop at the floor levels, king beds that are made out of 2 twin beds pushed together with a king bottom sheet and 2 twin duvets (this is what my father's room has), beds that slide on the wood floor if you seat with your back against the wall, an attached parking garage that was closed and not available to guests without disclosure on your site, a restaurant that does not even seem to be there from what I see (other than the breakfast room), plastic base showers that are extremely slippery and dangerous as the plastic has no anti slippery finish and they don't even have ice cubes available. The 4 stars statement from booking.com is quite misleading and seriously deceiving. When making the reservation I requested 2 rooms close to each other as we were traveling with my 83 years old father but we were given a room on the 4th floor and he was on the 2nd floor. We were offered to move by Booking.com the next day but our busy schedule did not allow us to do so. I posted a complaint on your site and received a response on May 10. I replied with my concerns and was expecting a follow-up from Booking.com which 5 days later I have not received. At no point were we contacted by the hotel staff. I will be awaiting for your comments. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have mobility issues so the 10 or so stairs up to the forth floor were a little distracting.

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very enjoyable the staff were accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No designated parking. I was in a non smoking room but the smell of smoke from other rooms was noticeable. Breakfast was too expensive.

    The room was clean and the location was perfect for my needs. WiFi was free and useful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken, it took ages to get the little thing to stay up for it to switch to the shower rather than the tap and even then you had to not dare touch it again! After all that it was a trickle and the shower head was stuck in place pointing outwards and the height of my shoulders! The wi-fi was non existent, just used data instead. Breakfast was €15 a head so we didn't bother.

    Location was good and the staff very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that once you book , you were not allowed to change.

    The rooms were clean and the nights were truly peaceful. The staff were respectiful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its just fine as is. A refrigerator would be useful.

    The appearance of the hotel was very charming. Artsy. Great location for shopping and dining. Short train ride to Luxembourg City.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very nice vibe. The art deco style has been applied consistently throughout giving it a charming flair a lot of bigger hotels are missing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator is too tiny for big luggages.

    The personnel at the hotel are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head holder in the bathroom was useless. I had to hold the shower head while taking a shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One day nobody cleaned my room, changed towels etc.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    suggest to add english news channel to TV service

    Comfortable hotel, very good breakfast, friendly service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine

    Just what I expected, was all fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a little hard, and the parking was not available anywhere close.

    It had a elevator and was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working during my entire stay. Staff was not able to fix.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 4 *! Weak breakfast ! No parking possibility! Old TV from late 80s!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff mostly absent

    Hotel ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, breakfast, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found breakfast expensive.

    Comfort, cleanliness, staff, location perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is. In particular brekfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are other less expensive places with similar standard just nearby

    Good location Clean Comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of help by staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking (not free) is not for big cars or inexperienced drivers lots of noise on the street

    staff was ok, room was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast very expensive €17

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive €17 is too much.

    Great location on the Main Street of each.The hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed a little hard. Expensive breakfast option

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bar or restaurant

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable beds, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a single lightswitch was working in the room. A very old TV with very bad reception and audio and virtually no channels available. Bathroom shower wasn't very clean. Very outdated rooms, elevator and furnishings

    Very close to city center

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were dated, Several lights didnt work, Very noisy at times, Heating and people walking up stairs. Breakfast was very poor value for money. I wouldnt choose to stay here again.

    Very friendly staff ( the hotel only has 2 staff and a cleaner ) The ocation is right in the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are not soundproof so you can enjoy noisy neighbours the whole evening.

    The location of the property is great. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was a perfect start of an autumn day.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet on the third floor is mediocre (to say the least)

    Location is awesome, on the shopping street. 5-10 minutes walk to the train station or 3 minutes walk to the bus that takes you to the train station. Even though we had problems communicating in english, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean and cozy and the breakfast is nice as well.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The duvet is a very narrow and lightweight affair which tended to fall away when I turned in the night leaving me uncovered and therefore cold

    This is a lovely little hotel right in the middle of the main shopping are. The hotel is decorated in an Art Deco style complimenting the naqture of the building. Although English is at a premium, the staff were helpful, enthusiastic and very friendly. There was alsways plenty of hot water, good quick WiFi and the place was spotless. Breakfast was a generous continental breakfast with some quriky features such as mini eateraggs thrown in. The real jewel in the crown was the restaurant which had a limited menu of excellent food at very reasonable prices

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cannot check out before 08:30 - this caused a problem as I had a business meeting at 08:00 and had to change my plans to come back and check out at lunchtime.

    Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. Location also excellent. Rooms very clean and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI not working. Nobody at reception desk while arriving. Communication through interphone

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many light bulbs deads

    Location: close to the station and right in the shopping area

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Owner and staff were. Dry, very helpful as booking.com didn't send them our reservation. They gave us rooms anyway.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are really nice

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast at 7.00 am is 1 h to late for me

    Quality of the hotel and proximity to transportation

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast option - an extra 19 euro - was very expensive

    Staff were very pleasant and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think the previous customer smoked? Smell was still there.

    The location is excellent. And the staff in the cafeteria is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Impolite staff

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no bad experience but the bed were smalls for me.

    - the ratio price - quality - the location - the friendly personal working at the hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is uncomfortable.

    Location is good. It's very close to the Esch-Sur-Alzette train station. Nice that I could have a late check-in!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Excellent staff. Cleanliness.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: