Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Commerce 3 stars

2, Rue de Marnach, 9709 Clervaux, Luxembourg

#7 of 8 hotels in Clervaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 555 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby for chexk in is locked u til 3PM! We came in at 2:30 as it was unlocked early!!! Let us know the were doing us a favor by letting us check in at 2:30🙄. Maybe just in a bad mood that day!

    Great location!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar area wasn't very cosy and at times it was difficult to find any staff to serve.

    The breakfast was good although it never varied. The room was a generous size and the shower was amazing. Instant hot water at a good pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wellness area is very poor and you have to extra for the IR sauna and the Hamman. The location of the wellness is not good at all. Guest who want to go to the indoor swimming pool have to pass trough the wellness area (no privacy). In the gym, there are no touwels available and no water. The breakfast is very basic. It was a once in a livetime experience

    The room (junior suite) was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most hotels in the area, staff does not speak english and it was hard to communicate. At one point I got locked out in the outdoor area of the spa and it took them half an hour to let me back in. I had the spa package with the room but did not get to use it, except for the pool, as facilities were available only during a limited time in the afternoon.

    Junior suite was amazing with views of the castle, very well decorated, with nice smell and very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to my error, I reserved one room for the same night twice. Can you please assist with a user-error refund?

    Stunning view of the UNESCO castle right outside my window. Close enough to hike to the Benedictine Monastery to hear the Gregorian vespers chanted on my night of arrival. Great wellness facilities, although my time didn't allow use. Very convenient night entry system for leaving and picking up bags after check out. Lovely snowfall upon leaving. Also, the Family of man photo exhibit at the castle is not to be missed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor for the money we paid. Room was small and we had a hole in the wall covered with a board. No shower gell in room. Room was hot and stuffy. Staff were not friendly. Breakfast was very basic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very bad experience at this venue. Many of the facilities in the room were not working: i. e. the telephone, the safe, the standing lamp, the jacuzzi. Since they couldn't fix them we were requested to move to an adjacent room, without assistance. In the other room there were also things not working like the TV, the fridge, and again the lamp. We reported this too, hoping it would be resolved. However, in stead of solving the problems, the manager chose to suggest that we'd better leave implying that it was US who caused the damage. He literally said in Dutch: "U kunt ook vertrekken", the gravest insult that we have ever heard. We recommend everyone to avoid this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows where too hard, and the interior for standart rooms was really old (for superior room was ok). We had 2 standart rooms and one triple room, where in pictures the third bed was in separate room, but actually it was all in one small room. We went to the pool, but never got into it, because it was very small and really crowded. Breakfast poor - no vegetables and fruits at all!

    Hotel was in the middle of city center. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked this location because there was a pool, but it was closed already when we arrived. I think the pool hours were from 09:00-17:00.

    Good breakfast. Friendly staff and clean room. Pictures looked exactly what it was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed by the spa facilities - the hotel charges extra for everything (except the sauna between 3 and 7pm), and the facilities themselves are small and not at all private - you have to walk in front of the sauna (with a big glass door) to reach the pool, and in Luxembourg people use saunas completely naked. Not very pleasant for the people walking past or for the people in the sauna (and especially not for families with children)! The "jacuzzi" is a bathtub with whirlpool function that you have to fill yourself - and again you have to pay to use it. The pool is only accessible via a precipitous spiral staircase and the water was very cold. The showers seemed quite old and not in very good condition. Although the room was quite acceptable, the lack of shower gel was also disappointing (and the toiletries that were provided - sachets of shampoo and tiny soaps - were the most basic possible). There was no fridge or minibar. The breakfast was also disappointing - there was no hot food at all, the fruit salad was of the cheap tinned variety, the mini croissants were fairly tasteless, there were no teapots... for a very small investment the hotel could make major improvements in this area!

    This hotel is well situated in the centre of Clervaux. The room was clean and the bathroom had obviously been recently renovated - the shower was large and modern. There was a small balcony. The hotel has a nice bar that is open into the evening, and the little touches like the massage chair in the corridor were appreciated!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    rubber mattress was uncomfortable (sweaty) and noisy.

    Right downtown (although town is tiny, so everything in walking distance anyway). Good breakfast. Spacious room, i.e. ours was.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel, lovely family run operation. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and the staff were lovely. Will be using the hotel again on next trip, cannot recommend highly enough, superb value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is outdated (bright lime green) and the water of the bath ran out so slowly that it overflowed when I got in. Floor had shampoo on it which cleaning service missed, but the rest was clean

    Great location near restaurants and walking distance from the highlights of Clervaux. The wellness center is small but included in the price. Massage (paid extra but fair price) was good and they offer a wide variety.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the availability of parking. Had to park up on the hill near the church and lug our suitcases down to the hotel.

    Breakfast was good with a variety of foods to choose from. Dining area was large and roomy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the room was not heated, but After we've switched on the heater it was good in a few minutes. Shame that we did not have time for a visit at the wellness centre!

    Our room had the view over the Castle.the room was clean, comfortable and quite. The Village is small, but very nice, and well setted for Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid reservation through Booking.com clearly stated arrival time between 2-3pm. Door locked when we arrived at 2:20pm in pouring rain after driving 300km. We emailed and called-no response. Note on door stated hotel would open at 4pm. After seeking shelter, we arrived after 5:00pm to find large dogs owned by clerk blocking our ability to fill out forms. No apology, no welcome, no smile! Advertised pool in facility closes at 7pm. See this review and one in trip advisor. Avoid this property and their disagreeable and inhospitable staff. Finally, after travelling for 2 months and using booking.com countless times and never registering a concern, we are most disappointed with their lack of follow through and assistance. We have asked repeatedly for an apology and reimbursement from the property.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    not cheap.

    Comfy bed, good breakfast, friendly personel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find in the middle of the small cosy village. Nice room and an OK bar and restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited about 20 mins to check out. Hard to find staff to help.

    Gluten free bread available. Good secure storage for bicycles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea/coffee facility available in bedrooms.

    Spacious room with all the amenities in working order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception closed when we arrived at 1.30pm, had to wait until 3.00pm.

    Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Good leisure facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Niets

    Alles was tip top in orde.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little bit "dated"but very spacious.

    Perfect location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rather unconfortable

    Good breakfast (but nothing special), huge room newly renovated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym

    Very dog friendly Size of room Friendly staff Location Cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice family-owned vibe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got locked in once and locked out once. Very inattentive staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a large room. Clervaux is a pretty town and the hotel is in the heart of the pedestrian area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely scenery, good location. The kids loved the pool, hotel breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water of the swimming pool is cold

    The breakfast and personnel are very good and kindly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a Good hotel easy to find, value for money just where we needed it. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room, excellent location, great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy waiter. Felt lacking in soul.

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no airco in the room it was bloody hot

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean nice rooms, in the city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was uncomfortably small. No space for a second suitcase.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was lovely, great restaurant and really helpful team. The castle and church above were beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our balcony room was small and simple; the breakfast is adequate. Overall good deal.

    We had a lovely dinner at the restaurant, which serves from 7 until 9 p.m. Great access to the castle and museums.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    triple room had a strange arrangement of the 3-rd bed, but the room was still welcoming. beautiful, recently decorated room, with a massage chair nearby and the Clerveux castle right in front of our window. swimming pool was also very nice. food in hotel restaurant was great.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelt of smoke. Shower fitting was slightly broken so the angle of the shower changed as the water pressure increased. Had a room with a balcony but the view is not great as it looks onto the road. The view the other side of the building onto the castle would probably have been better.

    Excellent location. Double bed had two single duvets on, seemed strange at first but actually pretty good when your partner is a 'duvet winder!' Breakfast was a basic continental so nothing fancy but good enough with decent bread and croissants as you expect from a hotel on the continent.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO Parking even though advertised. Bed looked like it had been used when we checked in - just made the bed when I complained did not change sheets. Poor wifi

    Good location - nice pool and spa. Good restaurant for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - room quite warm, no A/C - breakfast a bit limited but OK

    - well located - pool even if a bit small - clean - large room (suite) - large, new breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed was not very comfortable. Breakfast should have more options.

    Great location. Hotel is fantastic with required amenities. Wellness center is big plus. Lots of restras nearby. Balcony section is small however has nice view. Overall is a very good property.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool and fitness room hours were odd and made it difficult to work out before getting the day started sightseeing. the staff was hard to find during the day so if you had a question or needed something it would be a while until you could get someone to help you.

    Breakfast was good and the location couldn't be beat.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only the pool is for free!!you need to pay for sauna and turkishbad. Bed was to soft and very noisy There is a nightentry but they didn't really explain where Too expensiv for one night (75€)

    Parking Location Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad diner at attached restaurant. Suggest to use diner in Clervaux

    Good facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    communication problems with TV and WiFi

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No warm eggs for breakfast. Interior of the rooms is really outdated.

    Great location (city center). Comfy beds. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor internet, poor "wellness", poor fitnessstudio, poor breakfast and sooo old rooms !

    So friendly service room!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I expected the facility of making coffee or thee in our room, but I was disappointed.

    The great room and the view to the castle.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    convenient location - near Family of Man Exhibition. Staff accepted our less-than-perfect French. My wife loved the dog in the lobby!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well located in centre of town/village. Spa facilities excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant menu on view so hard to decide to go into their restaurant or go else where. In the end we did go in and the food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little choice at breakfast

    Boxspring bed

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We appreciated being able to have our dogs stay with us in the room.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could do with a rack in the shower

    swimingpool wellness

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel du Commerce traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: