Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Acacia 3 stars

10, rue de la Libération, 4005 Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg

#1 of 6 hotels in Esch-sur-Alzette

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi does not work properly in the room. I had to come downstairs to have a wifi connection, which was really unpleasant, as I needed the internet access for work. Also, there was construction work going on in front of my room (on the street) and I often woke up with the noise of the machinery. This is not the hotel's responsibility though, but it was really unpleasant.

    The staff are really welcoming and the food is marvellous! Really a fair price for the room (with breakfast included, with cold and warm options, dairy and vegan) and for the meals that were charged separately. The menu option is really good and the food of a superior quality. The hotel does not have garage but guests can park at a nearby garage for only 5€/day. Its location was really good for me (5 m walk to the train station) as I was commuting with the university. The room is tiny, but comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although there are roadworks around the hotel at moment.

    Situated half way between station and old centre which had a festival the day I stayed. Lots of nice eating and drinking places. Had drink and meal in open arcade so no traffic problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was road construction in front of the hotel, which probably is over for now. I had to go daily to Belval Campus of the University of Luxembourg, and although that was only 1 train stop, certainly not a walking distance. So, it could have been easier to stay near Belval station, though train and coffee is not expensive in Luxembourg :)

    Hotel is located near the station Esch-sur-Alzette and the main street, where one can find many shops and food stores. Staff was very polite and upgraded my accommodation from Standard room to comfort room as I was willing to have fridge (the temperature was 25-27 C in April!). Thanks to Michel! The restaurant provides excellent gourmet menu for evenings and apparently is highly popular. Bed was comfortable. Room was very spacey - with small bedroom and provided good sun shields. TV channels choice - OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel guests eating dinner in the hotel restaurant were somehow treated less importantly than guests from outside (though the dishes were simply excellent).

    Excellent half pension option (excellent restaurant especially for diner), a quiet and spacious room, and a good location near the train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Free WiFi was really bad, lost connection all the time, so had to switch to my 4G Mobile signal to get a decent connection

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Free WiFi was really bad, lost connection all the time, so had to switch to my 4G Mobile signal to get a decent connection

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for 5 Euros a day has to be ordered in the hotel before parking. Thus we didn´t know, so the price was 5 Euros more than expected.

    Very cosy and pretty room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was very spacious it was very clean good shower beds comfortable Friendly staff Good breakfast Good location for getting to Luxembourg Extremely good dinner Everyone very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problem with pastry that did not arrive in time for the breakfast the last day. Weather changing every moment.

    Great place very close to the train station. Room nice and comfortable. Wifi connection perfect. Drinking water ready next to the bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lift was very small and the stairs are quite tight so it may not be suited for those with limited mobility

    the room was huge with a kitchen area and a sofa area. The breakfast had a nice selection of bread and fruit and had soya milk available. Overall a very nice stay, it was a shame i was only there for one night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, quiet, and the staff were able to provide a fabulous vegan breakfast for us every morning! Delighted and will definitely be staying there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, very close to the train station and town centre. They prepared a special vegan breakfast for us every day. The variety they offered and the care they put in catering for us was a very pleasant surprise. I felt welcome and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when checking in the receptionist didn’t speak Engisch (or German) which made it somehow difficult to check in and to understand the directions to the parking lot

    good location, nice funiture, clean room, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked the room it gave the option of smoking or non smoking but when I got to the property the room was non smoking - I admit this could have been an error on the website however

    Very comfortable room and good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing, staff was really nice and my room was cosy and comfortable. Really close to train station, beautiful surroundings, in the center od Esch Alzette, but really quiet and nice. I recommend and will definitely come back! ♥

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was all great

    short walk from the station and near the town. I was there for a concert at the rockhall and it is a one stop ride on the train which runs frequently and also runs late enough to get back after the concert. Good friendly smiling staff that let me check in an hour before the noted time and attentive at breakfast which was also fresh and good. Comfortable quiet room wher I slept well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi only accessible with room door open. Junior suite had a hob, but no pots or pans so it couldn't be used.

    Our junior suite was huge! The room had a fridge and microwave- really convenient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tiny ascensor, a minor

    Fantastic location in Esch, close to the bus/tarin station and city center. Simple, but clean rooms with everything you need. Very friendly staff and superb breakafast (if you have travelled in the US - this would be a 4-5 star hotel breakfast and all complementary!) a real deal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I called to inform them i will arrive later than the check in time, the receptionist was so kind assuring me there is no problem and she spoke very good English. Not all personnel speak English but you can get along with basic information. The room was clean, neat, tidy and overall I was impressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome. Bedrooms are being updated and they are clean and modern. Food is of the highest quality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't really complain!

    Really friendly and multilingual staff made the stay here enjoyable. Good breakfast and I also enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant. Great location for the station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed! Nice hot shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, decoration, stuff

    well check in was a little surprising... but charming:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was so nice and even let me have breakfast later, very sweet and kind service, very central area as well. Room was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is good. But the best are the receptionists, so helpful and kind-

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedding not natural feathers/down.

    Breakfast, staff, room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Language problem - lack of menu in English, not whole personel was using English

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into a place to park was problematic, complicated, and highly inconvenient.

    Helpful at reception. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough choice and options for breakfast. No milk in the room for hot drinks.fair

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several Vegan choices during breakfast. Nice room with cosy and clean bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    kind staff, nice spacious room, comfy bed, and even a vegan breakfast choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -poor wifi -bitter cappuchino

    fresh bread and incredients

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome ... considerate staff. Easy journey from Luxembourg Central Station. Just 300m from station at Esch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud at night (from the street), small room, tiny shower

    Friendly staff, central location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-fi Signal.

    Friendly staff, nice facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi sometimes unstable

    breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the same breakfast every day

    very nice staff, excellent location, comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    balcony!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal strength was very weak.

    Very comfortable with excellent staff and great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegan options for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Acacia is the best hotel in Luxembourg! Great staff, delicious breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vegan breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent variety of vegan options for breakfast! Very friendly and helpful staff! I will choose this hotel any time I visit Esch. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air-conditioning. I think there isn't it anywhere in Luxembourg.

    Breakfast, room, service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always a great place to come back to after a long day at work... room was super !!! staff is over the average !!! many thanks...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More selection on the breakfast menu.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit more quiet. Some guests are a bit noisy...

    a good room, a great bed, Cable Tv which works...As always a good place to stay. Pity I never have time to enjoy the restaurant...

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some noise from the bathroom, ventilation or something... not loud but a bit annoying

    1. Easy to access with public transport, only 5 min from Station. Great service from lux transport. 2. Great staff... the friendliest ever !!! 3. Restaurant is super, with a special meal for residents...pity I could not eat there every day as I was working 4. Bed was good , slept really well 5. Breakfast is good, plenty of choice with a fresh fruit salad too :)

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    despite being central and close to the train station, the hotel is reasonably quiet - with one exception: the doors to the room are particularly loud as they are difficult to close from the outside

    central location, breakfast, friendly staff, good firm mattress, cleanliness, very good price for Luxemburgish standards

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have liked tea making facilities in the room but I guess that's not standard in Luxembourge.

    The staff were friendly, the room was clean and large enough to swing at least three cats, the view from my room on the top(6th) floor was lovely and nice to have a balcony. Good shower, and the breakfast had the best natural yogurt and this amazing bread, seriously good! The location is not central Luxembourge- I was going to a concert a step out of town, but transport is so easy and cheap! Certainly good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My short visit in Luxembourg was the cherry on my holiday cake. All the people I met were very friendly, helpful and extremely polite. The lady at the reception desk who comes from Lisbon was extremely kind, polite, smiling at all times in a natural way. Very very friendly. She was very helpful and it made my stay there unbelievably pleasant. On my hurried arrival I asked for directions in town to specific destinations and she was so kind as to come with me outside and point exactly which way I should head.Thank you with this occasion again for the great hospitality attitude.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of the room ... To say something ...

    A great place if you want to attend a concert in Rockhal: just a train stop and 2 times 5 min. walk between the hotel and the hall. Great hospitality and support from the staff Public parking for your car just beside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The building and furniture is already a bit old, but still well maintained and clean. A shower curtain would however help to prevent flooding the bathroom when taking a shower in the bath tub ;-)

    Close to the train station (easy to reach), very friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast, WiFi works perfectly, rooms are quite large

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One way systems made difficult to find hotel,satnav got me there in the end

    The room was excellent,looked like it was recently refurbished. Staff friendly and helpful, parking garage turned me away (no motorcycles) but sorted with hotel pass.Nice town Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shower in the room

    Very nice restaurant , wonderful dinner and very good wifi connection in the room . Rooms were spacious , clean , with large bath .

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception bit quiet on sunday

    Nice restaurant

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior and overall feel is outdated.

    Price and location was ok

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room directly above the restaurant is noisy

    Wonderful food in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not my first stay in the hotel. It is simply a great place to come to after a day of work

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fancy and no frills

    Quiet, clean, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff, clean rooms, facilties basic but sufficient, close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception in the restaurant and not open in the morning

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was a bit weak sometimes

    Good location, clean/modern/quiet rooms, close to centre and to train station, free Wifi

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the effort that it was a vegan breakfast served.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was not working

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pillows were to soft for me.

    Bottle of mineral water in the room each day. Variety of breakfast products. Very friendly stuff

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a bathroom instead of the shower. But ok.

    Staff, Dinner,Breakfast room and TV with Italian channels and parking place neerby

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Hotel Restaurant Acacia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: