Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Koener 3 stars

Grand Rue, 14, 9710 Clervaux, Luxembourg

#3 of 8 hotels in Clervaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 504 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management keeps quite strong at the reservation for wellness included in room. At 11am check out means also not being allowed at same time anymore into the wellness, unless an extra full day fee is paid. Also you are only allowed at checking time when you take room time, so earliest being 15h, earliest check in in Wellness is 15h. No problem for us though, but asked for a -, this is. Also nor in restaurant, nor in Brasserie was a sign of environmental music, a soft background musical touch is what i prefer personally.

    Wellness facilities,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot. 1. The room does not have any air-conditioning. If you're hot - open the window. If cold - turn the heating on. 2. Matrasses are so soft, my bones ached in the morning. Blankets, it seems, are intended for dwarves or hobbits - 160x100 cm. Totally impossible to get a normal night sleep. 3. Cleaning personnel converse loudly and incessantly everywhere from 12:00 till 15:00. If you planned on getting a midday nap - forget it. Apparently they were not instructed to try to keep the silence in hotel corridors. 4. Sound insulation in general is almost nonexistent. One would expect more from an old, brick building. 5. Sauna and steamrooms (Hammam) are nudist. Meaning, everyone is naked there and you should be too. Maybe it's normal for Luxembourgian/German culture, but not for me or my girlfriend. The worst thing is that it was not specified in Hotel's description - we chose it specifically for its sauna facilities only to realize that we do not want to see a bunch of old naked people. 6. Prices in restaurants and cafes are exorbitant. 7. We had breakfasts included in our stay. The coffee is served individually per table, in a small coffee pot. It is one of the worst coffees I have tasted in my life. Ever.

    1. Peaceful and calm small town where everyone knows each other. Charmingly provincial. 2. Swimming pool and jacuzzi are small but nice and well equipped with water-massaging possibilities. 3. Personnel is friendly enough. Nothing special. 4. That's all. For other things, please see Things We Did Not Like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sensor light in the bedroom came on in the night.

    The hotel was excellent, the staff, the parking, the room, the breakfast buffet, excellent, even had champagne! Beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They booked and charged me for car parking that I did not request and would not refund me the €10. I did not even need a space. There is parking just outside the hotel which is free from 6pm to 8am! And then €0.50 cents per hour after 8am. Breakfast was not that great as people have mentioned. Breakfast waitress did not even serve us. Asked for cutlery and she just gave a knife. There were flies on the cheese!

    Quiet location. Relaxing environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    What didn't I like? Sorry, I don't understand the question.

    I booked the Hotel Koener in 2017 simply on the strength of how pleasant it was to have a coffee there in 2014. The Koener is just a dream of an hotel. Lovely location (it can't help being a bit close to the road at the back) in the main square of Clervaux; great staff; great selections for breakfast including champagne to make your own Bucks Fizz; lovely rooms; comfy beds; top (and fantastic-looking) restaurant; good Brasserie menu and 24-hour bar. Everyone who works there appears to be multilingual, which can be a great help. Apparently it used to be a four-star hotel. but the company that owns it downgraded its stars itself (!?) so that the little complex of three hotels there could have one five-star, one four-star and one three-star. While the food at the Koener is very good, give the food in the Italian restaurant in the 5-star Hotel Clervaux a go. I had a risotto cooked in scampi liquor and tomato and served on carpaccio of scampi - it was bloody (excuse my language) lovely, as was the pistachio semifreddo desert. Seriously good. But don't forget to eat at the Koener. It seems to me that if you want a fine relaxing holiday without having to go far from your hotel, you could do far worse than get into the Koener (did I mention the great, and gratis, health suite??) and put your feet up. If you want to go further, Aachen and Maastricht are each around an hour and 20 minutes away. Bastogne is half an hour. Luxembourg City is 50 minutes. The countryside is lovely, the roads are good, and the petrol is cheap. Hotel Koener - you won't regret it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Luxembourg center (approx. 1 hour by car). Breakfasts are quite late, from 7 am especially if you need to go to the city.

    Good breakfasts indeed. Personnel is friendly. The environment is forest, not far from a beautiful church. Very quite and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some changes to breakfast items. Same thing is served everyday. Equipment in the workout room (treadmill) was out of order the entire week and limited workout hours to meet a working schedule.

    Rooms and bathrooms are nice and large however, they could use updating. Blow dryer in the bathroom is ancient. Requested a different one and was provided so that was fixed. Beds and pillows are not very comfortable (thin mattresses, flat pillow). Lighting in the room is dark.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fruit or vegetables for breakfast. Not possible to buy any food or small dishes when we arrived in the evening (around 9pm).

    Great location. Nice bathroom with shower. Very good and secure garage that you can book in advance for an extra fee. But it's worth the money if you are travelling with a lot of stuff in your car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    All perfect!!! Staff is marvelous, rooms really clean, beds comfortable, wellness top, restaurant very good, a stay at koener gives a boost of energy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single quilts on a double bed otherwise all fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good resteraurant, we had een excellent eastermenu.

    nice hotel but not realy for young people due to the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La gentilesse du personnel de l hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool closes a bit too early 8pm

    The wellness facilities are quite good, as well as the swimming pull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found some hair in the bathroom, maybe a sheet to go with the duvet in summer.

    Everything. though the decor is a bit outdated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bed, great pool, great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    room too hot

    breakfast was really big and nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Wellness Area Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    niets

    perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit too soft mattrasses in bed, but just for me.

    Perfect and beautiful location, very nice personel, good food & very OK continental breakfast even if named as petit - dejeuner. Very nice standard of bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing everything from the airport transfers to hotel prices travel were excellent

    No problem with the best way to get your free time to get the best way to enjoy the rest of the most important thing

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    We said everything for us were excellent we thought come back in nearest future to enjoy this environment or place

    Comfort breakfast reception all staffs were excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Though it was good to be in he area for some important anniversaries, the weather during my December off-season visit was wet and cool rather than snowy and cold. More sun would've been better, especially for pictures, as the countryside is very scenic. I'm looking forward to a return visit in season.

    The friendliness of the locals. It was very nice to feel truly welcome. I was on a pilgrimage of sorts, commemorating the events of WWII. There is plenty of history, museums, monuments and remembrances in the area, and Hotel Koener was perfectly situated. Also, it's very easy to find your way around from there.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Couldn't find the parking, but that can be me :-)

    Friendly staff, situated right in center of town, yet easy to access

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was little variation in the breakfast

    Wellness

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Couple

    friendly quality staff , nice room. excelent meals.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and a comfortable room and in the heart of town...what more could one ask for

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, perfect location, lovely food, nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air circulation in the rooms not perfect.

    Huge rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In my room, only a shower no bath tab.

    Center of the village, convenient location and nice & comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about the hotel and the area is superb for a relaxing break, we will definitely return

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with some directions on parking before arrival.

    Great staff in a fab location. Felt very welcome.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Koener traveller photo gallery