Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Cigalon 4 stars

1, rue de l'Ernz Noire, 6245 Müllerthal, Luxembourg

#2 of 2 hotels in Müllerthal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent three nights in the hotel and had two dinners there. The food is excellent to say the least. Very fine kitchen, excellent presentation and very good selection of wines. It is not cheap at all but you know what you are paying for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly, and the restaurant & bar had a nice atmosphere. The food from the little menu was very good. We were given a jar of homemade jam as a souvenir, which was very kind of the host!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful hosts. Great choice of wines. The gastronomic menu looked very tempting but we skipped it since we were on a trek and fattening up was not an option. The food was solid, not exceptional, but tasted like heaven after 10 hours of hiking. We were upgraded to the Suite, which was very spacious and tastefully laid out. All in all, a great experience, particularly relative to the other choices on the Mullerthal trail.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price you pay a night this wasn't a good hotel. The day before this we payed 20 euros more and recieved a welcomesdrink, our bags got taken to our room, there was a pool, fitness, sauna and hammam, a little tour while checking in and the breakfast buffet was incredible. In this hotel you got your room.... that's it The wifi was terrible, couldn't even stream spotify music or a youtube video. The rooms only had a bathtub no showers, The restaurantservice wasn't great. After i asked for the beverage card twice i recieved it after 20 minutes. then after 10 to 15 minutes they never came back so we just ended our evening. There was a workgroup of some sort and they ordered the big meal plan so they were more important. This restaurant had a michelin sticker on the door and we never ate at such a place. We always thought this would be out of our league but wow just give me a local taverne because they have better food and service. The breakfast was really simple for that price ! The only hot thing you could eat was a boiled egg. they had some bread, 4 kinds of jam and some gouda cheese , chorizo. some cereal but nothing more. again for the 20 euros extra the night before we had everything you could imagine at breakfast. it's the number 2 hotel in Mullertall according to tripadvisor but that's not hard since there are only 2

    location clean They have allot of wine

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have shampoo and soap on the first night. The beds were not the most comfortable and we had trouble getting enough sleep

    Very friendly staff, always greets with a smile and very helpful. We forgot dog food and the hostess was incredibly kind in providing food for our dog The hotel sits very close to the start of various lovely routes around mullerthal We ate at the restaurant on the first night, our food was great and very reasonably priced given the quality of food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It did feel somewhat expensive. Generally, the room was nice enough but the balcony was pretty tired looking, lots of flaky paint. There was nowhere to hang the shower head up, it needed holding up the whole time.

    Very easy to find, centrally located with instant access to the walking routes. 10 or 15 minute walk to the waterfall. A good sized smoking room. BBC World on the tv. Lunch at the restaurant was good, it did feel like standards had dropped in the evening. Very helpful lady at reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Ambience,friendly staff, location,food, facilities and attention to guests needs made our second stay in this family hotel a memorable one. Child and dog friendly also!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom appliances were old and beige. The duvet cover was red the hotel is supposed to be 4 star but it is not. This was the main reason I booked it. It needs a make over.

    the staff was very friendly the meal in the evening was nice but strange as I had fish with a very sweet mango sauce...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we were not so happy with is the lightly smoky air in the Tavern area.

    We are very happy having stayed in this small, family run hotel for the majority (10 days) of our time in Luxembourg and the Müllerthal area. We had a warm welcome, continuing with daily personal attention and solicited or unsolicited recommendations and help of the owner and her staff, superb! We have loved the warm, cosy ambiance. We have enjoyed dinner in both the Tavern and the fine, gourmet dining restaurant with plenty of own garden ingredients and a wine menu from the excellent to the rare exquisite ones. Not to forget this is the middle of the Müllerthal region, Luxembourg's 'Little Switzerland', loaded with great, well indicated hiking trails. A place to enjoy your mere existence.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast was as good as the dinner served in the restaurant.

    Large room. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower a bit poky.

    Food from vegetable garden beautifully prepared. Great wine list. Comfortable, relaxing, spacious public areas. Comfortable bedroom. Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel with a very good cuisine and friendly staff, at an excellent location for hiking in the nature nearby.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    beautiful nature and friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a lovely valley. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced for an old fashioned very basic room. No ac or fan.

    Location good for people walking the mullerthal trail.nice breakfast and staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old bathroom amenities Two seperate beds instead of 1 double bed View from window is onto the street

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location location location

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Le Cigalon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: