Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Central Molitor 4 stars

28 Avenue de la Liberte, Gare, 1930 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#58 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1076 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Well located for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby, should be refreshed and refurbished given ita extremely high price (even though reasonable compared to other Luxembourg standards).

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Good breakfast included in the rate. Very good location (close to the train station, well connected with the public transport network and just in front of the bus stop), and still at walking distance from the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Well-placed,good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old-fashoned furnitures and old building

    Well-placed hotel, on central street with many busses right outside and very close to train station. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. It is an old building and you can understand this, but overall it is a nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Croissants were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No warm food for breakfast, staff, when making the rooms in the morning,do not mind that other guests are sleeping in their rooms, so opening-closing doors and doing other stuff with a big noise.

    Croissants were perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was really tired because I missed my train so I arrived at 9 pm, the man who was at the reception was quite rude and not helpful. There was a weird smell in the room, also the toilet was not clean.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the first floor so a bit noisy and had a bad smell.

    Location and breakfast was very good. The staff was kind and helpful, especially the lady of the morning shift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Free breakfast was always very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning system, just a desk fan. Proper air conditioning would have been great as the temperature was very high during my stay.

    Free breakfast was always very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Small room, fairly outdated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, fairly outdated. Bed was small and not very comfortable, i expected something larger, especially for the prices. Staff reasonably friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing. Not appropriate value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the neighbourhood of a shady pub and a strip club. We were concerned parking our car there but the parking offered by the hotel not only was a couple minutes walk away but also required 15EUR+ charge per night. The hotel feels like it has frozen in time 30 years ago. While it could have been a nice place in the times of its glory, it really does urgently require an update in equipment and furnishing. The first room we have received smelled like sewer. The smell was so intense, we have complained about it and right after we were moved by the friendly reception to another room. (Too bad it was in the 4th floor and the elevator was not functioning at that time.) The 2nd room was already acceptable but still very old school with outdated furnishing. We did not sleep well on that night at all anyway because the mattress was made of a very uncomfortable foam, the pillows were clumpy and the sheets did not feel nice. While the bathroom was nothing special, it was pretty clean and we could not complain about it considering the price. The breakfast consistend of a wide selection of different breads, some cheeses and jams. The only thing we were missing was any vegetable to go with it (there was absolutely none). All in all for 90EUR it was not meeting our expectations. While we would be absolutely satisfied had it been a motel, the place did not raise up to hotel standards we were expecting. The only positive thing about it we noted was a helpful and friendly staff.

    The hotel was right in he centre of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit outdated and could do an overhaul. However room was clean.

    Great location. Neat and classic Luxembourg setting while still at a walking distance from station Staff friendly. This is a small hotel where staff feels personally responsible for your stay Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    One night only
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated building, so as all the interior facilities. Horrible TV with channels without sound.

    Good staff and service. Clean and nice restaurant. Good breakfast. Perfect location in the center of the city. Well connected with the airport e.g. by bus 16. However, rather expensive considering the comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good and we are definitely going back to Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is the Hotel was very small. we could barely fit in with our bags. We understand that ist a small Hotel but it was really uncomfortble especially if you had to take it with a total stranger.

    The Location was great. Connections to all Major Sites

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    the location is nice and the building has a nice feel to it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the TV i was atleast 15 years old and didn't work so good, the shower had terrible water pressure.

    the location is nice and the building has a nice feel to it. comfy beds and a clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    good center location, quiet room, daily clean service,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is keyboard language arrangement difference in business room. Difficult to enter some keys.

    good center location, quiet room, daily clean service, helpful desk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was blocked 50 euros in my credit card as a guarantee for damage, which was of course cancelled after checkout. I don´t remember having experienced something like that in other hotels.

    Entrance seems a bit narrow and hidden for a 4 star hotel. It was easy, though, to find it after a short walk from the train station. The first attendant was very nice and well humoured. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Located in a 10 minute walk from downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.6
    You can find better for the same price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price we´ve paid for one night, I was expecting a lot better. Small rooms, no confort in bed and pillow... they need to refresh their deco, a lot of noise... Too expensive for what it offers.

    The breakfast was not bad. It could have a little bit more variety, but it wasn´t bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall between rooms seem a bit thin though

    Went there for new year, great location. The room was a bit small and one of the other rooms were extremely noisy. The staff did help twice to quiet them down.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Location is pretty central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the worst hotel experiences ever - mold in the bathroom and horrible smell, dead and not so much flies on a window shelve, extremely uncomfortable bed, dirty room and no sound proof at all. The breakfast was poor too.

    Location is pretty central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast is good, good location only 10 minutes walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room that we have been (104) the third bed seemed an extra bed, it was not very confortable, the hairdryer almost doesn’t work and I didn’t like that having a reservation with free cancellation blocks the total amount 1 day before, according with the conditions of the reservation only first night should be charged.

    The breakfast is good, good location only 10 minutes walking to the city center and very good conection to the airport, bus 16 leaves you in front of the hotel!! The boy that was in reception in the mornings it was really friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast buffet was perfectly decent and the location is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite shabby and in need of some work. The room was noisy and the bed wasn't that comfy.

    Breakfast buffet was perfectly decent and the location is great. Easy to get to from the airport and the train station and only a short walk from the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise levels were high - earplugs recommended if you have a room at the front and actually want to get some sleep!

    Comfy bed and pillow. Fab shower, too. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    I was extremely surprised that this hotel should be rated a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely surprised that this hotel should be rated a a 4-star hotel. The facilities it offers fit just about nicely the expectations one has from a 3-star hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little outdated but clean, tidy and wonderful.

    The staff were so friendly - they all spoke every language you could want. The breakfast was a great continental spread and the options were fresh. The location was impeccable - minutes from the city centre and on a really lovely main street. Nearby were buses, trains and other ammenities like food and bars. Great solo trip!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant has been closed so only breakfast was available.

    Good location within easy distance of train station and the "old" city. Good breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Bus stops very close to the hotel - and Luxembourg's bus network is fast, frequent, clean and cheap. We went to a concert at Philharmonie which was wonderful - some of the best acoustics that I have experienced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.Room was small 2.Bathdub did not have a curtain because of which there was water all over the bathroom after a shower. 3.Breakfast was bare basic on the first day. 4.Its an old property.

    Location is good and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    The location of the hotel is great - close to the bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We traveled with our 3 months son, and we would have liked to be able to get his trolley up in the room, but this was not possible - the elevator even though charming is incredible small. The water was not warm during the day (best to shower in the morning :) ) The breakfast is not that impressive

    The location of the hotel is great - close to the bus stop and close to city center The staff was very nice and helpful Being old, the hotel has a specific charm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel had everything we needed, even if not super modern but it was very close to the old town a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it wasn't the most modern hotel but that did not bother us.

    the location was perfect for walking to the old town and there were many restaurants and cafes within 10 minutes walk from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is a litte tired. Eg: Hose on hairdryer needs replacing

    Clean and everything worked. Nice buffet breakfast. Easy walk to old town. Parking for the motorcycle was free and convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast and WiFi was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) I asked for the adapter to charge my Lenovo vive x3 phone. I wanted an European adapter. The receptionist @ the service desk could not help as the hotel did not have much adapter options. 2) The bath tub did not have a curtain or water protecter. So one have to careful while taking shower. Limited space to take the shower when you are constantly conscious if the water is going to come out. 3) I found that the living room did not have sufficient ventilation & experienced some strange odour.

    Breakfast and WiFi was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.8
    It's not diabolical but it's a two star at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right next door to two strip clubs, the restaurant has been closed down and it's just generally dated and pretty nasty. Luxembourg must have a very different star system than the vast majority of other countries - it just is not four star. The car park is a bit of a schlep from the hotel as well.

    Breakfast is okay and it's only a fifteen minute walk to the better part of Luxembourg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Short City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic facilities. Needs an overhaul. Towels clean but not 'fluffy'. Not generous on the teas and coffee - although you could ask for more. No restaurant anymore (which we knew before booking). Wall dispenser for combined soap/shampoo. No lock on bathroom.

    Good location. Easy to find using public transport. It is opposite a bus stop and close to the station. The airport bus stops outside. Easy walk to old town. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    good, happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception are should be better organised

    the location,bath tub, business lunge the breakfast room is really bright in the morning, has a street view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location, clean hotel and tidy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was terrible and AC didn't work properly. So, room temperature was also not comfortable

    Great location, clean hotel and tidy rooms. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, only 20 mins from airport and the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain in bathroom, so quick shower results in massive flooding. As I was the very last room on the top floor, the wifi signal was so poor I couldn't even use it. The noise from aircon in the backyard was so loud I couldn't open the windows, so the room became too hot and I had to use the AC too. In the backyard someone was constantly smoking, so when I did open the window, the room stank.

    Great location, only 20 mins from airport and the city centre is a 10 min walk. The breakfast was amazing too, very wide range of everything really but no veggies whatsoever. My flight back home was quite late in the evening, the property has a locker room (free of charge), so I left my luggage there all day without having to worry/struggle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on desk when we arrived made us feel rather unwelcome and was unhelpful. The mattress is rather soft. We don't think the accommodations merit 4 stars. There was no hot breakfast. Booking.com indicated a savings of over 50%, but that was not so for any room listing.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Romantic stay in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Very small room (for 3 people) but this seems to be a common problem.

    * The location of this hotel is great, right in the center of the city. The style is very classy * Reception was very helpful (we even got tickets for the sightseeing bus). * Room was clean. * Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Luxembourg is lovely and HCM is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the hotel was spotless it was very dated and felt a little bit like stepping back in time, it isn't necessarily a bad thing because it was so clean but if you want modern, this is not it.

    The hotel was in a fantastic location, really easy to find and spotless throughout. The breakfast was plentiful and of a high quality. The staff were very helpful and the rooms had all the facilities you would need / expect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    That was perfect, we had no problem with the hotel, the location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The view from the room was awful. That was an inner place with restaurant cilmatic device - or similar. But as a matter of fact, this was stilly.

    The location was excellent, the public transport was there in 100 meters, the inner town was 10 minutes walk. The room was quite good, the bed was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location, Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in the heart of Luxembourg. Clean facility with a helpful staff. The included breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    the staff (at the reception) were very helpful and kind, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff (at the reception) were very helpful and kind, the location is excellent just 5 mins walk from the main train & bus station, 5 mins walk from all the stores and 15 mins from the beautiful old city, the bed was comfortable and the design mixing the traditional style with the modern luxury

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Car park very difficult to find the guy on reception seemed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park very difficult to find the guy on reception seemed friendly on the evening we arrived the guy on reception next morning was not friendly at all !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel could do with a face lift. Rooms to the back face noisy generator.

    Staff was helpful and the location was good. AC worked well. Breakfast good but no warm breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly room Impossible to ventilate as windows overlooks a very noisy street Leaking shower to the point that carpet at the entrance to the room was wet Chocolate crumbs from the previous tenant on the night table

    Comfortable bed Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit broke bath. So water went on the floor. For 1 night its ok... If u have a lot of things to cary parling is too far.

    Very nice breakfast. And possible to book without prepayment.Also center location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Mainly good for location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is not worth the money in my opinion, it's very basic as a 3 stars or less elsewhere Rooms are quite small, same with bathroom We are in 2017 and there was a old tv non-HD without hdmi cable, with an obsolete entertainment system! Price for water was too high (almost as expensive as alcohol)

    Staff was friendly and useful Location is excellent as all buses go through this location and it's near to the station Relatively clean, bed is comfortable, AC, etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older furniture. Rooms into the courtyard have bad view.

    Excellent location 5 minutes from the railway station and 10 minutes from the centre on foot. Two direct standard fare buses from the airport and many local buses just in front of the hotel, tickets sold at the reception. Helpfull staff. Quite large room. "Bussiness centre" is a small room, but features 2 computers and a printer, use is free. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Offered very good value for money and was perfectly situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had everything I needed. No issues.

    I liked the ambiance of the hotel and it's good location. Was only 10 mins from the rail station and 15 mins from the old town. Friendly helpful reception staff while the breakfast had many choices. The still warm bread rolls were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No vegetables for breakfast. Warm meals seem to be removed before actual end of breakfast time. Noisy courtyard due to motor (air conditioning?) turning on every ten minutes for one minute. No problem if windows are closed, but I prefer keeping them open for ventilation. I ran out of both soap and cleaning gel because they are provided through dispensers, which were not properly recharged.

    Comfortable. Quite spacious. Friendly. Quite good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.4
    Bad value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hygiene could be better as well as the size of the room. A lot of details missing, does not deserve to be in the 4 star hotel category.

    Great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    great location for a weekend break or business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no restaurant, room was a bit out dated and dirty. Luxembourg is very expensive!

    great location, good staff and good breakfast public transport was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    4.2
    A Disaster for Disabled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my wife is disabled, we had requested an accessible room with walk in shower. The hotel had claimed it provided disabled facilities but it did not. There were steps to the reception, the tiny lift could not accommodate the wheelchair and my wife had to stand. We were given a room with bath rather than a shower. My wife was unable to negotiate this. The whole hotel was in great need of an upgrade. For example the chairs in the restaurant were mostly ripped. We had stayed in other Golden Tulip hotels which were excellent, but although this was the dearest, it was terrible.

    The location was in the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest to have some veggies for breakfast like cucumbers and tomatoes. It was a bit dry for me.

    The location is near the central station. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    good location + breakfast, bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in supposed to be at 13.00. Despite having informed that we will arrive earlier, we were told that the room will be ready at about 14.00 (not even at the check-in time!). Coming back at 14.10: still not ready and receptionist said 30 min to 1 hour. After complaining we got the room at about 15.00. No apologizing, on the contrary presenting it as if it's normal.

    good location, close both to city center and the central station, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Molitor a great value and place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is being closed, it only serves breakfast now.

    My family loved the breakfast! The eggs were amazing, fluffy and so tasty. The selection was excellent and the surroundings were quite lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    3.8
    Very bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the room (I don't know what it was and from where it was coming but it was very strong). Paying TV without notice from the reception when I did the check in

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    Old style comfort and elegance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An even better wifi speed would help. It slowed down late in the evening. but better than many places

    The decor is a little tired, but it's very comfy, the rooms are spacious and there is a bath tub! Nice and clean too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    Proper and straightforward hotel, no-nonsense, value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed permanently, rather shabby entree (but in part because it is such an old building)

    Friendly staff, old respectful building, right in-between old center and central station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    Basic, not luxurious, but a good basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and definitely not a 4 star, more like a good 2 star, or very average to poor 3 star. Room was pretty basic with no little extras - there was of course a minibar packed full of things. I count that as a bad point, as there was no water, and come to think of it, no tea of coffee - although there was a kettle!

    Breakfast and location were good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    4.5
    Don't expect a good sleep in room 101.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole night a hotel machine was running outside our window, and we could get no sleep. For the first time in my life I had to buy earplugs to sleep in a hotel. My wife forgot her toothbrush, a note said we could get a "free" one in reception; we went down and were given the hint to buy one in a local shop.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    electricity issues during the night (no TV, no fridge, no plugs). when I told the reception on the morning after, they did not even apologize and kind of questioned my assessment

    location, isolation of the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    5.0
    Great location, good price, but it stopped in the 80's.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old hotel, with an almost alchaeological decoration. Small old fashioned rooms. It shouldn't be a real 4 star hotel.

    It's very well located, between the central station and the center of the city, at 5 imn walk from one or another.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasent, until the teaspoon fiasco when I was leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No teaspoons in the bedroom for tea. When I asked I was given two teaspoons. But while doing very early checkout next am the porter refused to open the door until I eventually persuaded him that I had left the teaspoon in my room. Strange reaction for a teaspoon !!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    Very helpful staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really dated, decor needs updating, fast..... A bit surprised it still has 4 stars - or rather that it has a 4-star price. Not great value for money.

    Very helpful staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay with positive evaluation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was friendly, breakfast was ok, bed was comfortable, room was clean + with an off-peak-season price offer a very good value for money. Overall, an enjoyable stay with positive evaluation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.3
    Hotel in the centre of Luxembourg city with a special story
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first impression: This never will be my favorite hotel. Everything is a little bit old. But the biggest problem that day and night: There was no hot water, because of a failure. So only showering with real cold water (8 degrees?). But now the good news: Because of the failure, we didn't have to pay for the room. In my opinion, this is an example for a lot of other hotels. Say sorry, Do anything and people will coming back again. In my case, I will return soon

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.1
    Personnel friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the croissants for breakfast weren't fresh. Not fluffy or flaky at all. Also, they gave me the wrong key and I was trying to open the door of an occupied room!!! I was embarrassed when the man opened the door.....

    Personnel friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.1
    It could be much better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little overrated as their service. Wifi is not that good as expected. Rooms are not fully quite as you can hear sounds from across the wall or other room.

    This hotel is just so close from Luxembourg main railway station and near to city center. A good place to stay few nights. somehow rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfort of beds. they use old style chepa mattrasses with spiral fillings that are hard to sleep on.

    Location was superb! walk to everything: shopping, bus stop, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason, my credit card did not take and we might have lost our reservation had the hotel been busier. I didn't have any problems with my card anywhere else during our vacation.

    The breakfast was excellent. We found it easy to walk into the old city and it was convenient to pay to park the car nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    - Great location (bus station, railway station and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Small and noisy room - Entire amount of money was blocked as a guarantee even if there is no mention about this

    - Great location (bus station, railway station and good restaurants nearby). - Nice breakfast. - Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    4.6
    Good to be closed for heavy refresh works!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor welcome from staff, completely old fashioned decoration. Noisy room, TV set from another age! Way too expensive (160EUR/night) for what it is. Need to close this hotel for a few month and re-do everything!

    Very well located, nice avenue, close to restaurants and bars

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Simple hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expect it to be a 2-star hotel, not a 4-star one!

    The breakfast is good and has many options. The hotel is located near a bus station that connects you directly to the airport. The central station is also very close. Nearby there are bars and restaurants and it's a pleasant walk to the Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.0
    Well situated but a in need of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired bathroom with poor retrofitted shower. General public areas dim and in need of decorating and modernising. More 3* than 4*.

    Fairly central position. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Very convenient for most places in Luxembourg city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although WiFi is free you have to log-on every time you use it. Pay TV. Name of hotel is actually Molitor Hotel Central so look for this sign or you could walk right past it !

    Less than 10 minutes walk from main train/bus station. Very good breakfast. Easy walk into city center. On main bus route to most patrts of city. Several restaurants only a few minutes walk away. British run pub in street over the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.3
    Not a golden tulip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and pillow were horrid (clean but quite uncomfortable) The shower cum bathtub leaked causing water all over the bathroom floor. Depending on the floor you stayed, it was noisy (1st floor was close to some generator and was very noisy).

    Location, was close to the centre, railway station. The air conditioning worked reasonably well. Breakfast was just about OK. Wifi works well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location that is accessible on foot from main station and city center!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was very small, so if you have a lot of luggage, you would need to make two trips.The entrance and reception area are not very inviting.

    The front desk employee who I checked in with was amazing! He gave recommendations in the surrounding area and was friendly with a smile. The hotel is a easy 10 minute or less walk from the main train station and it was very easy to navigate! The city center was about a 10-15 minute walk and there was very good signage. The breakfast was simple, but good, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Central Molitor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: