Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Royal 5 stars

Boulevard Royal 12, 2449 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#4 of 71 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1407 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great location - close to the shops in the centre of town!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regret that one cannot make a cup of coffee or tea in the room which I had not expected of a 5 star hotel!

    Great location - close to the shops in the centre of town!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Large space, well equipped and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation of window is not good enough. But the city is quiet at midnight, so it does not bother us too much.

    Large space, well equipped and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location for glorious Luxembourg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room, though the complimentary bottled water was appreciated.

    The huge bed was very comfortable, the bathroom modern and well stocked with toiletries and with a fabulous rain forest shower. The restaurant Amalys was spectacular and would highly recommend the Gourmet Menu for two. Our waiter was fluent in English and very attentive to our requests. The location was excellent for walking into the town centre. It was very hot outside so the AC was invaluable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Everything was really great, and the staff was of very big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from my room was not attractive

    Everything was really great, and the staff was of very big assistance and professionalism. i would like to thank the Egyptian manager (unfortunately, i don't know his name), for all his kindness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Far too brief, we only stayed one night but the bed was cool and clean and lovely too bad for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other clientele were mostly business people but they did not impose on us as a couple

    Perfect location, a perfectly elegant hotel. The rooms were stunning and the view was better than a story book.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Many aspects were top quality but too many were not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast very poor value for money. Poor choice, and every supposedly cooked dish was cold. Had to keep asking for coffee, which was cold as well. Need coffee pot on table. Tea not made with boiling water. Staff unnecessarily fussy. Hotel should make more effort to serve good hot food.

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Simply the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, easily the best hotel experience I've ever had.

    A very luxurious hotel with super friendly staff. From the valet parking, the delicious breakfast to the comfortable rooms, everything was excellent. Thank you for making us feel like royalty!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Very close to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to pay a warranty. This was not mentioned during booking.

    Very close to old town. Excellent room, but more business like, nothing about local culture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the sunny, outside terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t try the breakfast since we thought it was quite expensive pp and there are great alternatives in the city centre.

    Loved the sunny, outside terrace. Good wellness facilities as well, used it several times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Awesome hotel within easy access to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mini bar set up in the room but no kettle, cups and saucers to make coffee or tea. However, when I called front desk to request, they willingly gave us what we asked for. Breakfast would have been highly appreciated if it was included in the pricey room rate.

    Room was big and spacious, with complete amenities and toiletries included. Bed was comfy. Hotel is centrally located, everything around the city center is within walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too expensive (we didn’t take it so I cannot speak about the quality)

    Spacious and very comfortable room, very clean, with all the details. We stayed on the 3rd floor looking to a lovely backyard, very quiet room. Perfect for visiting the city or business since it’s located close to the Place d’armes and there are many banks and companies around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    This Hotel is only 5 stars in the price, everything else is 3 stars or less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The SPA looks like it was taken from a 70's bad Bond movie. Although the pool is good, the whole mechanics of changing clothes and the way Ladies and Men genders are mixed is shocking. Forget that this Hotel has SPA. - The gym is another bad joke. For both gym and SPA you have to walk through the conference center. Do you imagine yourself leaving the SPA or gym after a workout, and having to cut through big bankers meeting to discuss economics? - When we checked in the lady came with us to the elevator to show us how to operate... the elevator using the room key. Did I came across as being this dumb? Very patronising and offensive tone to be honest. - When you open up the big binder in the room with all the instructions, the answer to all questions is "Please talk with the concierge". Even in case you want to rent a DVD (are we in 1999?). But then when you want to talk to the Concierge he is always on not one but two phones. We tried to ask the goons that carry bags about the Luxembourg Card (the official website of the card mentions this Hotel as a point of sale) and one of them said (I kid you not) that he had never heard about it, and offered me to get me a Luxembourg paper map instead. Classy. - A 5 star hotel with a 4 star room size and 3 star toilet. The water flow goes from very cold to very hot in a matter of seconds and taking a shower here is a challenge. I reported the situation and when I checked out the lady said "I have no record of your complaint". Another classy move. - Room and toilet are cramped and small. - Don't ever pay 26 euros for Continental breakfast. Walk 2 minutes to Hoffman and have a great continental breakfast for 8 euros.

    - The electronic system to turn on/off DO NOT DISTURB should be the norm in every hotel - Location of the hotel is superb - Never waited more than 10 seconds for an elevator - Garage parking for my car was a big plus (but it came with a price)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Functional good hotel for a business trip, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival they had valet parking for our car, on departure they just gave us the keys with no offer to bring the car back so we had to haul our luggage around a basement car park not knowing where the car was and then struggle to find the car park exit. Good start, bit of a let down at the end.

    Efficient business hotel, good new rooms, nice and clean and good bathrooms. Also great cocktail bar and great breakfast, but very expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay, understated opulence, very relaxed and welcoming environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like coffee and tea available in room. Additionally would like an iron in room. Otherwise excellent hotel.

    Spotlessly clean hotel. Professional, friendly and helpful staff. Very good hotel facilities, pool, great bar. Very convenient location. First rate hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    comme ci comme ca
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No slippers in a 5* hotel by default only by request. The hot water in the shower was not constant therefore it was quite a tricky adventure.

    It is downtown which is an advantage. You can tell it is an old hotel yet it was modernised but with no modern design influences. The room was quite big. I enjoyed the complimentary airport shuttle on departure though I wasn't contacted for arrival even if I mentioned it when booked the room. The staff was friendly. The bar next to the reception had a piano that came with a piano player, too. It was very pleasant listening to him. A good and attentive bartender.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location in Luxembourg, Quality/Price ratio don't meet my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not include, and its price is too expensive Not able to stay longer because room rate changed to twice or nearly three times

    Since our arrival Hotel Staff was very kindly to welcome us We receive a Special attention based in our travel requirements, this was much appreciated Excellent location, is very convenient to visit Luxembourg city center Room is confortable and environment was noiseless, we delighted that !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet and clean hotel in central location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location of the Hotel close to the bus stop to the station and the business district of Kirchberg. Rooms are very clean and silent. The air conditioning is efficient. The hotel was recently renovated. Breakfast in the room is good and the buffet at the restaurant is very large.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Top-notch stay in Luxembourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for European standards but it is Luxembourg so we were expecting it.

    Quite luxurious choice in Luxembourg with top-notch service and a wonderful spa to chill.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was unavailable and very disappointing. Breakfast - scrambled eggs were not good (more like a soup!). Had to choose between bath or shower - could not have both.

    Nice warm hotel room and comfortable bed. Complimentary water appreciated. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, good size but not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower looks nice but the pressure is not good... it also went very hot or very cold. The spa area was very disappointing; it was very basic and didn’t look as nice as it does on the website... it’s very small and a bit run down. The room service was very bad, our friends had to make a compliant ad they couldn’t eat their burger; it was like it had been cooked earlier and reheated. I had a club Sandwich and it was not great ... it was very expensive too. This hotel is not a 5 star in my option

    The layout of the hotel was nice and the bar area. Rooms were a good size and it’s a good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Superb location with an exceptionally attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional, attentive and friendly staff. Exceptional service begins before even entering the hotel. Newly renovated bar/lounge area is comfortable yet allows for private conversation. Location is superb, just steps away from the pedestrian zone - downtown shopping area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    A short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    The property seems to be one with a legacy, perhaps my floor was freshly renovated. I loved the bathroom and the whole room experience not to forget the in room lighting arrangement was fantastically done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    There isn't much to like about this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle bus driver did not help with the baggage. Upon arrival there wasn't a doorman at the entrance way (which is strange for a 5 star hotel) neither was there anyone to help with the baggage upon entering the hotel. The room I was given is considered an "executive room" and a step up from the traditional room. My room was outdated with furniture from the 1990's. I had a horrible night's sleep! The bed was hard as a rock, felt like I was sleeping on wood. There was also some sort of metal mechanism under the bed that made it extremely uncomfortable each time I tried to turn around. The pillows were too soft. Even with 4 pillows my head sunk down and I couldn't prop myself up while watching TV. I also had the unfortunate experience of dining in one of the restaurants. The food was disgusting! Everything was bland with no taste. And I had a really bad stomach ache after. Total nightmare experience!

    There isn't much to like about this hotel. I am sorry I booked my room there. It does not deserve 5 stars. It is more like a cheap 4 star hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Love Luxembourg, and this property was perfect for our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting wasn't great, and it was a bit too technical for me. Others would probably love it though. Very minor thing

    Loved the location and modern rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great stay at Le Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point was that the spa facilities were slightly dated in some areas.

    Our experience at the Hotel Le Royal was excellent, from the initial welcome (with concierge service!) to the room, which was spacious and comfortable. Everything was perfect and designed to make us feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very good service and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was on the hard side but this is a matter of preference. It was not possible to open the window.

    Great location, very good service and helpful staff. Both restaurants are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    I was disappointed by the spa but the room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area was a disappointment for such a good hotel. It was very clean but The pool was small and there was only one small sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel but do not take the overpriced breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was totally overpriced. For 31€ per person you will expect a proper omelet and fried eggs, broad variety of cheese, good bread, muffins and sweets. The scrambled eggs was powder and their were almost no sausages. The staff was very friendly and efficient. They remove your plates quickly which hardly fits the idea of an environmental hotel. We would have eaten there on the second day if the quality matched price. It was far below standard for the price.

    The location, room and the staff were excellent. The bar even made a cocktail not on the menu and did it perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay for a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprising thin pillows which are not supportive.

    Comfortable firm bed and duvet, touch controls in the stylish double room which is of a very good size for European standard. Charming staff, with a professional touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Long weekend in Luxembourgh city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower water pressure could have been stronger, bathroom products could have been nicer (ie similar hotels provide Bolton Brown products), and the bed could have been bigger (seemed even smaller than a queen size bed)

    Beautiful modern and comfortable property in a great location adjacent to old city. Complimentary transport to/from hotel, wonderful staff, beautiful/comfy/large room and bathroom with wonderful air conditioning. Enjoyed the a la carte breakfast and really enjoyed the beautiful bar drinks and service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    I liked the chilled atmosphere, the outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the chilled atmosphere, the outside terrace/restaurant and of course the cocktails and food. Great location and friendly staff. My second time here and will go back again !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Luxembourg City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Best hotel of my recent trip. Comfy bed and quite air con. Lovely terrace for teas, breakfast and even dinner as it was so warm. Just across the road from the nice shopping streets. Perfect. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    If you don't mind a hard bed, this is a lovely place to stay. Lux and fabulous location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too hard. Didn't sleep well the first night, but made do with a layer of three square euro pillows the second night.

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Spacious, well-appointed sleeping room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Expensive and not that royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awfully expensive for no added luxury. There wasn't any coffee in the room...we had to pay €5 per cup! That was insane. Breakfast was €30 each as well. Which we passed on. Too expensive for breakfast. The bed was super hard and uncomfortable. Parking garage was tight. We made it work but there was little room. I would not recommend this place for any reason. There are other places to stay in Luxembourg that I've stayed at that are cheaper and still provide good location to the city. I thought staying here would be a nice treat for my husband and I but all it did was cost us a lot of money for little enjoyment.

    The location was good. The piano bar was nice on site. We were able to have a glass of wine and relax after a day of driving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    great hotel and staff just a little more understanding of the englishlanguage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of english speaking staff tried to order 2 hard fried eggs at breakfast and no bacon 3 attempts later i finally got what i ordered

    Housekeeping very helpful Tom in bar great english

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel in Luxembourg city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was valet parking, instead of driving the car 3 floors down the hotel.

    Staff is amazing! The parking is convenient. The infrastructure of the hotel is outstanding. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was up to, or exceeded my expectations.

    The hotel was beautifully decorated and welcoming, the staff were attentive and helpful and the service provided was second to none. The room was spacious, smart and comfortable, and well equipped. The bowl of fresh fruit was a nice touch. I ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and both meals were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for a good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in room was not very clean. I noticed this only when having a close look. The remainder of the room was very clean. While the room was relatively inexpensive, the extras were expensive. On the other hand, extras are optional. I like their approach.

    The staff was uncommonly friendly and professional. The bartenders were very knowledgeable about whiskeys - it is a small thing but impressive. The room was bigger than I expected. The room was also very inexpensive relative to location, size and 5-star property. The hotel borders a very nice park, which worked out great for a morning run.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff, air conditioning, facilities and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really - but you get what you pay for. Staff offered to park the car for us if we wished - not sure about the insurance implications.

    Excellent staff, air conditioning, facilities and breakfast. Need to know that entrance to underground car park is in the road round the back of the hotel. Good central location, but this can mean joining heavy traffic as you leave (stationary when we left). Some of the car park spaces are reserved - but it's not easy to see which without getting out of the car until you recognise the notices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The hotel was lovely with a nice and responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely with a nice and responsive staff. Rooms were comfortable and very clean and seem to have been newly renovated. The hotel's outdoor terrass was very nice to have a drink at in the evening. The location is perfect and it only takes a few minutes to walk to the town center. The hotel is next to a park that has great playgrounds and places to relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Classy place, watch the pricing.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the price.

    Really classy hotel but used mainly by business people as far as I could tell. Very nice place but very expensive, breakfast was 33 euro, parking was 20 euro per night and we paid 530 euro for two nights in total. The car was parked for you which was very nice. Location, 200 yards from the old town square was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to mention.

    The hotel 100% per cent corresponds to its name. Everything is of highest quality-room facilities, bed linen, brekafast, service , SPA area and swimming pool, etc. I liked everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful weekend Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is not the swankiest I've ever seen but the staff is very good. The restaurant is good but the food was not fantastic.

    The staff is all deserve top marks and their attention to detail is second to none.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Regardless of newcomers Le Royal is still the very BEST
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its the best so nothing is bad

    The Royal has always been the best hotel in Luxembourg regardless of newcomers. It has the best International Staff, The best breakfast staff and breakfast and is in the very heart of the city. Everybody calls you by name after a few visits. Fantastic and a 10 always. I have stayed there for 20 years even though I have a place in Luxembourg.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Luxury stay in Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, within walking distance to Old Town Luxembourg. Spa was fantastic! Staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms were spotless. The onsite restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Luxury in a central beautiful location
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a non ordered room delivery Breakfast call at 6.30am on the first night - they apologised as it was their mistake Bath size was quite small but swimming pool and spa made up for it

    The breakfast buffet although not included in the stay was magnificent Cigar smoking room perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Old Luxembourg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's smells like the 80s - especially in the spa area. There a make over is highly recommended! The service is good but not excellent as it could be in such a pricey place

    Fancy hotel bar with flair of old style Luxembourg Excellent location next to old town and a beautiful park, easy starting point for everything Rooms are spacious and offer most amenities you expect today Light Management is really innovative and useful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Memorable visit to Luxembourg City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast and cold coffee for 31 €. Not good at all. Let's down a lovely hotel.

    Excellent position. Very comfortable hotel with good modern interior.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Location, attentiveness and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only *tiny* thing is that not having a shelf or a basket to hold my shampoo/shower gel in the shower was slightly annoying (there is a soap holder). But hey, it's not my house :D

    Location, attentiveness, charm. The hotel is situated in a great location - walking distance from the old city of Luxembourg. We walked everywhere unless we wanted to go out of town. The staff were charming, friendly and helpful. Staying here made our weekend perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in bedrooms-rather warm and turning the control down wasn't too effective.

    Very comfortable rooms Excellent bathroom Helpful reception and concierge staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classy, elegant.... was pleasantly surprised by the Herme (my favorite) bathroom products. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Friendly & polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in central Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    2nd time here and I don't return to many hotels. Lovely big room and proper bathroom. Excellent gourmet dinner at reasonable price. Attentive service throughout our stay. Good sized swimming pool. Valet parking a bonus. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    NasDANQ Approved
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bang for your meme bucks hotel wise, but the breakfast was a little pricey.

    Was in town on business meeting with other Meme Fund managers (work for the NasDANQ) and the location was a great spot to meet and relax after a long day on the trading floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible, dirty and old pool's locker rooms and sauna area, pricey food

    Luxurious hotel, beautiful rooms, great location, good wifi, beautiful pool, nice gym, convenient garage

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the centre of Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast at 31 Euros per person for a buffet and a very disappointing Piano Bar with poor service, very limited food, no atmosphere and no music on the 4 nights we were there

    Beautiful hotel, centrally located with excellent staff. Superb restaurants in the hotel. On site secure parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room for two persons but we had just one shower cap, one shampoon, one soap, one of everything. For 5 stras hotel is unacceptable. I went to Japan and all 3 stars hotels provide two hair brushes, two teeth brushes, two rasors... I had to give 60 euro deposit which is quite expensive comparing to other 5 stars hotels and was not written on the presentation on Booking.com. For the minibar i thought everything is free, like in other 5 stars hotels. There was not any list of prices as you can find in other hotel. The rights of costumer were not here. Im happy I didnt open all bottles from the fridge.

    Nice location, quiet room. Very clean. Everything new in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel located in the city center of Luxembourg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms with my colleague. Upon reservation I expressly informed the hotel that every charge would be guaranteed and paid by me. My colleague arrived earlier and despite the information I gave (and he gave personally), they blocked a bigger amount for the room price and the extra charges from his credit card. When I arrived, the receptionist blocked a guarantee for the two rooms, without telling me that the guarantee for the room of my colleague was already blocked from his credit card (so 3 times the same amount for 2 rooms). When we made a reclamation later, they told us that they couldn't do anything, the amount would be released automatically upon check out, with the short remark that it can sometimes take a couple of days... Since our last visit a couple of years ago the hotel lost from its charm. Then, after arriving by car, the hotel personal was extremely helpful and came immediately to help us with the parking and to take our baggages. This time, nobody came, just after the check in, while the car was parking on the narrow place in front of the hotel. Much more to expect from a 5 star luxury hotel...

    Nice hotel located in the city center of Luxembourg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    The royal treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is very small and the equipment very dated. It's not even the last generation of work-out machinery. A new treadmill would improve things greatly.

    The staff is simply excellent. I didn't have much time for check-in as I had an important Meeting scheduled, but a room was already waiting for me at 11:00 in the morning and the check-in did not take more than 5 minutes with the luggage also being taken care of right away. Breakfast staff and maids, too, were very polite and attentive. The room was always cleaned very quickly. The pool area is not huge, but very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A mirror is missing in the room when you want to look at yourself from the top to the bottom. And a little kettle is also missing in the room when you want to make yourself a coffee or a tea.

    The room is great and comfortable, the location is perfect, the staff is really nice. The wellness is fine but not at the level of a five stars hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    The spa/sauna/swimmingpool and fitness were closed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa/sauna/swimmingpool and fitness were closed two days of our staying. That was disappointing. I would have apreciated that i was told before.... We told this at the reception and and he would tell the manager about this. We never heard a thing about it. It was one of the reasons i booked this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff, quiet, but small room and decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an expensive hotel with an even more expensive breakfast. It is nice and the staff is friendly, but the rooms are nothing special for the posted price of 400 euros/night and the breakfast buffet is not worth 62 euros/couple. We left without eating breakfast the second morning and picked up a week's worth of groceries on our way home for 80 euros. Parking is also an extra charge, so you're not leaving this hotel for under 500 euros/night unless you find a deal online. I'm quite certain there must be other hotels who employ friendly people and provide a breakfast buffet that won't cost the guest this much money.

    Friendly staff, quiet, but small room and decent location. The turndown service was cute, but didn't make the high price any more palatable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel and great service. Very well trained staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    two things that need to be looked at. One is that the toilet is too small and uncomfortable and any man who has sat on the toilet will tell you that it is unhygenic. The second point is that the door closer of the entrance door is set to hard. It is impossible to get out of the door with a room service tray, because the door closes so fast. Try it!

    The bed very comfy and very fast internet connection. The food and breakfast buffet very good too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    The amnesties and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was nice but the showers were run down and need replaced or updated (should have doors not shower curtains).

    The amnesties and staff were great. Bathroom and room was super clean and stocked fully. Fully digital light and room controls. Parking was full but they offered a valet service which was perfect. Robes and beds and room service was excellent. Lots of towels in different sizes was great. Spa was good. Location is excellent and easy walking into town and coming from the motorway. Very quiet didn't hear other guests.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Rooms have recently been updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The foul stench of sewers by the door to the underground garage. Absolutely vile.

    Rooms have recently been updated. Now very modern and comfortable. Had not stayed there in over 25 years :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    good location, close to business areas, rooms are nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the price of breakfast is a joke at 30 euros, why can't you have a small coffee shop where i can get a coffee and a croissant? You miss that business otherwise

    good location, close to business areas, rooms are nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    A Perfect, Luxurious Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect; truly!

    The staff was exceptionally welcoming and courteous. They were absolutely lovely! I wish that I were welcomed and cared for this way at every hotel I visited!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern-style switches were fun and quirky, but irritating to use. Lights tricky to turn on and off; doors and cupboards awkward to open and close

    Room very comfortable. Staff friendly and efficient. Free airport shuttle service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, but it would very appreciated if they were more flexible in giving a "free" late check-out, as we usually easly get 2 hours in other hotels but we hardly got one hour in Le Royal

    Great location just one block from the central area where you shop and dine. Excellent facilities that anyone expects from a 5 star hotel. Kind and helpful staff. Special thanks to the young lady on the reception and to Mr. Ramadan for being very kind and for their outstanding service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Absolutely amazing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing service. Best baby cot I have ever seen. Wooden with custom bedding and a blanket/teddy gift. Staff were so welcoming and lovely, food and wine was excellent. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to have a kettle in the room to be able to have a coffee in the morning. We couldn't open the window which made the room a little too hot and stuffy at night.

    The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The location is amazing! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Le Royal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Best staff ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant say any!

    I am a frequent traveller and been to many hotels with very high standards and prices, in whole around the world. I would easily say, this hotel is far the best in terms of the staff quality. Really impressed! Other facilities in the hotel, location, food, bar, comfort etc are also very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    The location was great and it is a well appointed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extra to use the pool 6€ and have breakfast 31€! I think there are many similar hotels charging similar prices but not charging for these!

    The location was great and it is a well appointed hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay when you visit Luxembourg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay when you visit Luxembourg! Good location, clean, comfy and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    -the design of the doors
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the last day-night the room hasn't been made

    -the design of the doors - the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel at walking distance of the centre of luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room-far too complex

    Friendly staff -service oriented; swimming pool and massage area open until 9pm

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Le Royal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: