Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zurich 2 stars

Joseph Junck 36, Gare, 1839 Luxembourg, Luxembourg

#94 of 98 hotels in Luxembourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.0
    Location is close to the city center and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very noisy street with bars, restaurants and discos. For us it was hard to sleep during the night. Shower room is too small with old renovation style. Bed and pillow not too much comfortable, but room is pretty big.

    Location is close to the city center and bus station. If you like to have shopping, that hotel is closest to that area. Personal is nice and friendly, gave us 2 rooms for better selection.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.2
    Lady at reception was quite good with her English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, Bedspread and Duvet were shady. Located at noisy street and property has no lift nor attendent to carry your heavy luggage to 3rd or 4th floor. No proper reception desk. It's a small window opening behind bar counter. Photos on site is definitely misleading. Overall very disappointed for the price paid.

    Lady at reception was quite good with her English. Area is 2 min walk from train station. Have lots of good and average eat outs. Near to ATM and super market. Has a bar attached to this hotel at ground floor with a separate entrance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    2.9
    A place for a short nap and shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really noisy as there's a bar at the ground floor. The room really need some cleaning as dust were everywhere. Shower is really small.

    The hotel is located really closely to central station. Staffs are kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was good enough to visit the center, cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was good enough to visit the center, cheap Asiatic cuisine around the area, Supermarket just in the corner as some bars. The staff works quick.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downsize is the fact that there is no breakfast, but lot of possibilities around, so not that of a problem.

    Excellent location. Good ratio price/quality. Rooms have been recently redecorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Very outdated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, seedy location. Outdated decor. Beds not comfortable and bathroom was tiny.

    Very outdated hotel. Cheap and close to central station and city centre, but area was a little seedy. Staff not that friendly. I didn't ask them for anything so can't say if they were helpful but as I found them unapproachable, I likely wouldn't have asked for help if I needed it. Wouldn't stay here again, would rather spend more for a nicer hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Budget hotel, very basic but good for a few nights if you don't want to spend a fortune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As there is also a bar downstairs with people outside and it's anyways a busy street, it was really noisy even during the night. The area is not the safest.

    The place is close to the bus/train station so easy to get to, and I could check in even after midnight. There are plenty of stores and restaurants around. The staff was very helpful, the place is a bit worn down, but kept clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Low-cost place for backpackers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was not very nice. A bit scary, I would say. The reception is in a bar. No lift.

    The room was fine, and the Wi-Fi worked well. If you need a cheap place to stay in Luxembourg and do not need more than a comfortable bed, this is the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean, but worn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs cosmetic repairs. Everything appeared worn, but at least really clean. No reception as such. One needs to find a person behind the bar in a pub in the same building to check in/out etc. Not really nice experience in that regard. No lift, windy staircase. weak over-the-bed lights. But all in, reasonable value for money.

    Clean. Reliable Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.2
    Though the staff werw friendly in helping me to check in i wouldn't come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street it is surrounded by restaurants, bars and a strip club one door down. The noise went on until early in the morning so i couldn't sleep. The walls are thin and the neighbours upstairs also started making noise. My room smelt of smoke I am a non smoker and didn't appreciate it. This place is not worth the money I paid especially for one night.

    Good location. Opposite road from the train station a 2 minute walk. They have shutters as well as curtains in order to block off the light. Free WiFi. Good shower pressure. Tv and fans available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Close to the main central station and all bus stops.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Easy to miss the recetion, in fact a small window from the bar. Looks like an improvization.

    Close to the main central station and all bus stops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Good compromise between price and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The immediate environment, quickly forgotten due to the proximity of the historical old town center at fifteen minutes walk

    The location nearby the station and the rates

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    2.9
    Close to the main station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and furniture are very old, loud, unpleasant and dark with only 1 lamp for the entire room. The bathroom is so small that you knock your elbows everywhere. A strong pungent smell across the staircase which was so small, could hardly walk. The smell was in the linen too. I am not picky and book hotels through booking.com often but this was the worst. There is no reception the room key is given through a window from the bar. Feels like an entrance to a brothel like what you would see in films. This hotel is most certainly not worth more than EUR 30.- and certainly not 2 star. The hotel should definitely not be on the booking.com offer as it damages the reputation of booking.com

    Close to the main station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Low price hotel near the train station that fits your needs if you are not too picky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is very small, watch your elbows!

    It is a hotel near the train station. Given the location and the shops around (discos, clubs, bars, kebab shops) the noise isolation is phenomenal. Its old and not the cleanest, but you get everything you need. The reception is actually the disco downstairs!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud, people shouting below and the room above moving furniture all night people shouting in the corridors all night and drilling started at 6am every morning.

    Location close to the station was good but it was 25 minutes walk from the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is really close to most things, only a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was VERY noisy at night. The hotel is located in the city's red light district and there was music from clubs and people shouting and drinking in the street until 1am so found it hard to get any decent sleep. The pillows were really hard, like putting head down on bricks!

    The hotel is really close to most things, only a couple of minutes walk from the train station and ten minutes from the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Only 2 night so lived it off.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same road are Cabaret shows + hookers walking around; hence noisy, could hardly sleep. No reception facility. No security at the door. At night door is closed & you need password...a hooker tried getting in when I entered password, I told her she could not enter, she kept her foot in the door so I couldnt close it & kept insisting that she could enter so I let her in...if hotel didnt care to employ security I couldnt care any less, as long as she didnt enter my room she could do as pleased.

    Location, not far away from gare central, which is a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was: one coffee cup, a croissant, an orange juice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was: one coffee cup, a croissant, an orange juice all for seven euro! All served at the bar "Barbarella". Breakfast very expensive. Receipt of payment: it was not written on it "Hotel Zurich", but "Barbarella", which is a bar at the ground floor of the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    A cheap, comfy stay for those on a budget - but not for ladies on their own
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed a bit soft (old), bedroom that gave onto main street was quite noisy, rough area (red light district) wasn't safe at night

    Clean, spacious, hot shower, shutters on windows to shut out lights, free wifi, friendly staff (spoke several languages, and always helpful)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Good localisation - 5 minutes by foot from the train station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor conditions. Old, not refreshed for a very long time. No kettle in the room. No elevator. Expensive for offered conditions. (Maybe that is luxembourgish market.. but better conditions were offered by Youth Hostel for a 1/4 of the price..)

    Good localisation - 5 minutes by foot from the train station. Clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    It was too much noise late at night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too much noise late at night. The room was on the street side. I've already mentioned that I came for business nor for fun so it was important for me to have a night sleep. It was no central heat so I was forced to have the window shut. I can skip breakfast. I don't know if I'll choose ZURICH for September.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Close to central station, easy to reach each side of the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a sort of a club under the hotel so you are able to hear loud noise in the night, not preferable if you are looking for a quiet place to stay.

    Close to central station, easy to reach each side of the city by bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    It was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the heating was working and if breakfast was provided like we were told.

    The beds were comfortable the shower worked well. It was too loud outside the heating was not working and we were told there was breakfast but then we didnt recive any. The staff on the whole were very very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Cheap place (by local standards) in downtown Luxembourg - fit for purpose
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area was a bit seedy (drugs and prostitution visible on the streets in the area) - there was a slight issue with noise, although not tragic for me.

    Very central, 3 minute walk from the train station, easy to reach. Room was in ok shape, especially considering this was the cheapest hotel I could find.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Rooms ok, but pay before you check out, not great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Image of front of building fake. No meal options or breakfast. Noise can be a problem. Pay before you stay :-|

    Clean and tidy rooms. Locks seemed strong.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    it was not so bad, at least we have bed where to have a rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better training for customers care, we fell like we will not be back to the same hotel next time, the location is excellent but the presentation is poor

    Our arrival reception was one thing that we didn't like, no much explanation about payment and she seemed to be unhappy with us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location for nightlife people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant. No hotel parking. Payed parking on the street in front of the hotel.

    Rooms and stuff are ok. Rooms are clean. Good location if you like nightlife.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    The location near Gare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception, merely the window at the bar experience as described from others. Though as near as the Gare, it was a bit uneasy late at night although nothing happened. Noisy, even at the third floor and without a lift up there. No bad experience but not great though...

    The location near Gare

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Would not teturn to this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a bar. Actually lobby check in is the bar. Noisy mid afternoon and all night into the wee hours. Then early morning street noise starts.

    Very close to train station - 1 block

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor is a bar so very noisy. The room was very old decorated. There is no double bed, so we get 2 single bed. The light is not so bright. There is no lift, so you have to walk up the stair.

    Clean and good location. Near to the bus stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced and old fashioned
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head is too high and unadjustable. On the site says parking but there is none so I spent money on having to buy parking tickets, €2 per hr and you can only pay for 2hrs max at a time. The hair dryer didnt work. Neither did the tv channels.

    Its close to Luxembourg station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down part of town. Reception is a sliding glass window into the bar on the ground floor of the building. No lift. Room was stuffy with no air conditioning, had to open windows, letting in noise from bar downstairs

    Budget priced accommodation close to city centre. Room was reasonably clean and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.2
    Not much value for me, youll be in the city center for sure, but not in the SAFEST NEIGHBORHOOD!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    neighborhood! POSSIBLY DANGEROUS! many nightclubs around, dont expect to walk safely at night. we arrived 10PM and weve seen atleast 2 incidences of drunk people disturbing other people, the closest burger king needed SECURITY! so mabe look for a nicer neighborhood.

    Im not sure if I liked anything, the receptionist were both nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Bad organization and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to cancel the last day but they didn't give me the money back because the owner was not there and the attendant was not authorized to do cancellations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Real time in Luxembourg City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid in advance for petit dejeuner - 7 euros each - and it was not worth it. Small coffee, small juice and a croissant - plain, no butter. I would have preferred to get something heartier on the way to the train station or at the train station.

    I loved that hotel Zurich was right by the train startion and in a lively, real part of town. We could bring beers from the bar up to our room. The reception was very hospitable and welcoming. Great value and just a quick walk to city center and old town. We really enjoyed being there. Also, the information desk at the train station was super helpful and spoke several languages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel fitted the mood we were in. Cheap wine and romantically trashy :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think this one depends on your mood. Like, when you switch on the lights you hear this buzzing that doesn't stop, but if you are in the right mood eventually you find it charming. What I really did not like is that double bedroom had two beds put together instead of one, and you don't want that if you are staying with your partner.

    I particularly loved the atmosphere, everyone was so cool and casual, we did not have any problems while staying there. It's in the city center so close to everything and yet it is very private and isolated. It had that vibe of love apartments from the movies :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Terrible noisy night
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located in the bar and strip area, it is extremely noisy during midnight. There is a very unpleasant smell of cigarettes in the room. No shampoo in the bathroom, unlockable window... the worst memory in a hotel so far.

    The location is close enough to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Try and find somewhere else to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is not suitable for families at all. Very, very noisy bar downstairs, particularly if you leave the window open as there is no air con. The 'neighbours' on the street leave a lot to be desired - very noisy with lots of drunken shouting and mopeds revving their engines at 1.30am in the morning. There is no lift (not a problem if you're able bodied), but steep stairs. The room was fine, but very dated - most of the décor and furniture would have been at home in 1979! We won't be visiting again.

    Very convenient to Luxembourg Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel stay experience of my life
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything !!! the hotel was with a bar filled with the noisiest people .. you hear the loud voices and shouting till 1:30 am someone fired a gun several times probably out in the air? There were bottles smashed while loud shouts were overheard.... The noise died down near 2am. I left the place at 5:30 am feeling robbed of my sleep and money !!!! Bookkng.com should not offfer accomodations like these without a big warning !!! It's unfait to those who paid a decent amount of money in exchange for a good nights sleep !!!

    Nothing !!! the hotel was with a bar filled with the noisiest people .. you hear the loud voices and shouting till 1:30 am someone fired a gun several times probably out in the air? There were bottles smashed while loud shouts were overheard.... The noise died down near 2am. I left the place at 5:30 am feeling robbed of my sleep and money !!!! Bookkng.com should not offfer accomodations like these without a big warning !!! It's unfait to those who paid a decent amount of money in exchange for a good nights sleep !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Cheap hotel in a busy street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes, it is noisy in the night due to pubs outside. In the night, it does not look very safe due to people drinking around however I think it is just by the look of it. Closed the window in the night to depress the noise.

    After booking this hotel, I read the reviews and I was really scared but Its not that bad a place as highlighted in other reviews. Hotel room is quite clean and stairs are not that bad at all. It is very close to the station so good location also after checking out, I kept my luggage in the bar and it was good. there are many other tourist hotels in the street so I do not think it is that dangerous as portrait. overall I was a good stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    If all other better hotels are fully booked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La reception è affidata al personale di un bar molto mal frequentato, che deve occuparsi degli arrivi e dei check-out mentre serve birra e caffè ai clienti. L'hotel è in una zona molto vicina alla stazione centrale, ma nella parte, di nuovo, mal frequentata. La notte non sono riuscita a dormire perché i clienti del bar, sempre ubriachi, hanno urlato fino alle 2. The reception is managed by the staff of a bar attended by very noisy people; they must take care of check-in and check-outs while serving beers and coffee to their clients. The hotel is very close to the central station, but in a bad area of town. I could not sleep at nights since drunk people attending the bar sreamed and made noise till 2 a.m.

    La stanza era molto pulita e non mancava nulla. Buona la connessione wi-fi. The room was very clean and complete with everything. Good wi-fi connection,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Noisiest overnight city break stay i've had :/
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of outside noise from below and coming in from the street up to 1am in the morning. It would be constant into the early hours from people in the bar preventing sleep.

    The room and shower room was reasonably well presented, and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    There was a fan in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was a bit noisy at the weekend due to nearby uses and the door to the hotel was not always closed. However, most of the time the bar staff were able to keep an eye on comings and goings.

    There was a fan in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Clean room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You have to be prepared that this is not the fanciest part of Luxembourg, and there is some noise from neighbouring pubs.

    Clean room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, close to the central station and bus stops. Good restarurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Not bad at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and shady street/location. But we were purely there to sleep for one night so it was alright. Keeping your window closed helps somewhat. Staff hardly spoke English but we managed to work it out.

    Beds were comfy, the bathroom had plenty of towels. We didn't need much more than that, so that was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.3
    Not as bad as I expected from reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall all the facilities are quite old. The reception is a window in a bar (ok, this was actually funny :D ). The price was one of the lowest I could find in Lux (after the only available dorm-type hostel turned out to be fully booked), but for me it still seemed quite expensive. I didn't like that smoking is allowed in rooms, did not know it is still possible in today's Europe. Generally, I was expecting everything to be worse from reviews, I cannot tell that this is a nice and cosy hotel where I would like to spend more time, but it did not seem also that bad as it has been pointed out in some reviews.

    The location is good, in my opinion. I had read before that the neighborhood is quite shady, cannot disagree with that (yes, there are bars and strip clubs next to hotel), but I enjoyed how close it is to central station. There is also wifi in rooms. Staff was OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    4.6
    Relatively cheap and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is joined to the bar below, with loud music playing until late. Room smelt of cigarette smoke, including bed linen and bath towels. Room was in disrepair, looking like a previous guest had tried to break it. No elevator for heavy luggage.

    Relatively cheap and good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good and welcoming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift. Receptionists excellent, but would be more helpful to customers, if speaking English.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Available internet. Good location. Clean and comfortable room. Reasonable cost.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.8
    A convenient location near the train station but a noisy room with an overpriced breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is significantly overpriced. They charge you EUR 7 for just a croissant, an orange juice and coffee. I ordered the breakfast for one of my mornings since my trip is reimbursed and I wanted to try it but do not opt for this, if you will be paying from your pocket. You can buy a much better breakfast from the nearby Delhaize for that amount. Though I don't mind noise too much, this is by far the noisiest room I have slept in. Staff can think about measures concerning the windows, insulation etc. The bathroom is quite small and has only got the basic liquid soap. It lacks normal soap, shampoo, shower gel etc.

    I liked the location - a few steps away from the train station. It gives you the chance to easily get to the center, to the European quarter and most of all travel to other places within Luxembourg and beyond. I also liked the fact that the room price is good for the standard of living in Luxembourg.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.8
    Should look better, even for this price category
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the furniture should have been replaced long time ago, broken sink in the bathroom, no reception - check-in and out is made in the bar, it wasn't possible to have a breakfast in the hotel, although it was advertised as an option.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    2.5
    Never dare to go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bar with bad people, very dirty area! The room is not clean, toilet is so small and smelly, flash tank is not working, the guy saw me 10 times, every time asked for my ID and if I have a room or not! Cleaner saw the "do not disturb" sign on my door, but unlocked and entered when I was showering! There is a sex cabin near hotel, so do not go to this hotel with a family! I paid the same price to a 4 star hotel in Brussels! If they ever offered you their room for 5 euros a night, then you can go!

    Bad bad bad hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    hotel itself was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel itself was ok..very nice staff. they do have a smoking rooms / so if you are not a smoker please check before you book or request non smoking one. was great for us tho... they have a bar with fair prices open up till 1am not much to do around the area after that unless you want to go to a ``night club`` not sure about the cost of services there haha but drinks are obviously overpriced , city itself nice for a walk and thats pretty much it... so if you planning to go for a city break one day should be enough..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Location is great but get ready to drag your luggage up the stairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator!

    I liked the location being near the train station. Room was comfortable enough, with tv, wifi & hairdryer. Not the most squeaky clean but ok for staying a night or two.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    Very basic, very, very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is among the more 'adult' part of town and is on top of bar that plays loud music. Noise is a big part of the hotel experience. The reception is a hole in a window that leads out to a bar. The facilities are basic and not very comfortable beds. The internet hardly works. Honestly, not good for families or business travellers.

    Location was close to central station and not far from the Old Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    2.9
    a disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bad smell in the hotel, the dark and ugly room, the dated bed, the small bathroom....

    staff was ok, price was crazy for this room...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    Clean, very close to central station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old

    Clean, very close to central station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    It was near station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Street

    It was near station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Fine for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a dodgy street, shower wasn’t great, could do with some renovations

    Close to where I needed to be, covered the basics, very clean, comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff so friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Great value and centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisey outside and a bit worn out.

    Great value and centrally located

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Walking distance to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area

    Walking distance to the city center Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and mediocre room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needs to some repairs

    Friendly hotel and bar staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the rooms

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean and simple!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and simple!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Centrally located budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon made it quite hot but at least we had a small fan which improved it a bit

    Good location in a lively street, good beds, clean room, wifi good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    No frills but everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get what you pay for - no frills but everything you need

    Cheap room for the area, very good location, near to the rail station and bus routes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is near the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is located above a bar and near bars.

    Location is near the center. The staff are really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Very old hotel on a bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel on a bar. No lift. Seed smells from the bar just downstairs. Not recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    A lively street and the bin men start early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lively street and the bin men start early!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was very poor - in fact we ignored it after the first day.

    Proximity to public transport & Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    No air-condition: with opened windows there is a noise from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-condition: with opened windows there is a noise from the bar downstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was exceptionally hot, very little in terms of draught even with the window open. Air conditioning would help immensely.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.5
    Avoid!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing . I coyld not sleep because of the noise. They did even have a fridge. Avoid!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Better value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft

    The cleanness and the tidiness. The location was good as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location near the train station, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near the train station, walking distance to bars and the centre. Comfortable pillows!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Zurich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: