Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alba Hotel

Dārzu iela 9, Jūrmala, LV-2008, Latvia

#9 of 37 hotels in Jūrmala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 416 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice and quiet place to stay, especially with children. Beach nearby :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The space for serving breakfast is truly small. Du to that some essential things like juice and bread were ending very quickly and needed to be constantly asked for. Breakfast itself is good.

    The hotel itself is really calm and nice, especially third floor apartment for family. Very helpful desk administrators, pleasure to communicate. Everything was arranged beforehand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    It's a perfect place with children, the beach is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a perfect place with children, the beach is very near, and in the yard is children playground. It’s in quiet surroundings, the breakfast was good, the staff was nice. The room was very clean. Children were very excited about free cookies!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and clean studio apartment on second floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room equipped with kitchen, but no washing liquid, sponge and other kitchen staff, that usually present if apt equipped with kitchenette.

    Nice and clean studio apartment on second floor. Free private parking. Close to beach. Supermarket on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A good alternative for short stay in Jurmala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not a complain but please consider its place with very attractive price and therefore you can not expect Hilton facility. Its rather place for 1-2 nights then one week vacation stay. I have nothing to complain but my expectation weren't very high.

    Front desk is flexible and friendly. Early check in wasn't any problem. Price/value is very fair. I like breakfast in the next door cafeteria. Behind hotel is small lawn yard with equipment to relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Alba hotel was a pleasure to stay at, due to comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alba hotel was a pleasure to stay at, due to comfortable rooms, friendly host and tasty breakfasts . The location is also really nice, as it is in a small village but very close to the sea (about 5-10minutes walk). And you can get to Jurmala by train in 5 minutes (or on foot, if you like long walks)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for a cheap price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far from everything else in town, but there is a grocery store and restaurant next door if you really need anything.

    Great hotel for a cheap price! Nice facilities, great staff and delicious free breakfast. There were even free cookies and tea available always! 5 min walk from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    a nice relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room window was facing another building windows directly, didn't feel very private unless the blinds were on. hot food for breakfast wasn't the best, however staff at the cafe were very nice

    The place is very close to the sea (3mins on foot), it has a nice garden area and private parking. Although I arrived after 9pm, the check-in process was smooth. it's a quiet neigbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    We got the getaway trip we wanted and we were very pleased with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two blankets, would have preferred one big :D

    Very good location, only few minutes to the beach! Very quiet area to have long walks and enjoy the latvian architecture. The room was very clean and we were suprised when the breakfast for two was already waiting for us in the restaurant in the morning :) Nice private and safe parking and very kind hostess!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    a perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a very kind and helpful lady at the reception, who gave us a bigger/better room without requesting! great breakfast with lots of different warm/cold options. very close to the beach, 3-4min of walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Free private parking;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow seemed a little bit uncomfortable to me

    Free private parking; breakfast is really good; friendly and helpful staff; free water and tea with cookies available at any time; a hair dryer in the room; reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    On the whole it was a pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift (elevator), and the semi-spiral staircase is not easy to negotiate for an elederly person with a heavy bag to carry. A hairdryer is provided, which is good, but the socket to plug it in is far from the mirror, so I had to look into the TV screen instead!

    The hotel is small and and has a homelike feel about it. The room is quite spacious, with a big and comfortable bed. On the whole, quite good value for money. The location was perfect for my purposes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place! Close to the beach and amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like and decided to stay one night longer.

    It was great to stay here. We liked 24 hours free tea, water and cookies. You should book the breakfast it was amazing! I got an omlette with ham and fresh herbs, bread, fruits, tea or coffee. The bed is quite comfortable and it is a calm place. The beach is a 3 min walk away. Train station Melluzi is close.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice private parking, quick service, quiet spacious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.We had a remark in our booking saying that we are entitled for welcome drink - no such thing really present. A tea with kind of cookies floor downstairs from our room is not exactly a welcome drink. Advice for other travelers : do not use the "Avoid paid roads" feature while driving to this hotel - you'll lose more on fuel cost than gain on not paying the town tax.

    Nice private parking, quick service, quiet spacious room with balcony, fantastic privacy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    It is not our first stay in the hotel, and at the moment I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is for staff notice at first place: in all rooms we lived there was a problem in showercubicals with the water drain.

    It is not our first stay in the hotel, and at the moment I do not see any adecvate alternative in Jurmala, if you need a place to stay several days and traveling by car. You may come or leave the place any time you like: late at night or early in the morning, without bothering anybody. The beach is only 300 m away, there several cafes and restarant within 500 m and a shop in the same building. Staff is friendly and helpful. And the price is the best for this type of b&b establishments in Jurmala.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    It was close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit overprice, remind us more like hostel than hotel. TV was from last century, wifi was really bad and breakfast was a bit boor. Nothing special and good, it's okey to just stay overnight.

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    small clean hotel, 3 min walk from the beach, 10-15 from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stairs are a bit steep - not very safe for toddlers

    small clean hotel, 3 min walk from the beach, 10-15 from Melluzi railway station private parking private garden with chaise-longues tea and coffee free of charge breakfast (buffet) is served in the cafe next door. good healthy food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel near the beach but far from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was quite basic and the centre of Jurmala was far away. The lady of the house refused our genius welcome drink even after showing it in my confirmation.

    Nice but basic family run hotel. Little supermarket and cheap restaurant next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    The hotel is really nice, very clean, well kept, and in a very close proximity to the Baltic Sea. But most of all we liked the way how we were treated by staff. We arrived early in the morning from the Iceland, and hotel was following our request for earliest check in possible. They called as two hours before the check in time, telling that the room is ready. And the WiFi works great from the room, there is a heating in the bathroom if you need this, the breakfast is rich, the parking place is free and secure... Really good place to stay and enjoy Jurmala. Close to the hotel, there are a couple of good restaurants for your dinner, one of the bests in Jurmala.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place near the beach with kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was in a cafe in the neighbor, there was ok (average) except the orange juice, that was vitiated. However someone told that the waitress, she changed the juice.

    We arrived later, but that was not problem, the keys were on the reception desk for us. The rooms were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor gripes only - the window blind needs some restraint otherwise it clashes with the wall (metal pole at the base of blind). Not a specific criticism of the hotel - Jurmela is not a quiet place - main road traffic noise is intrusive wherever you are. The hotel is a little out of town - it's long walk to the main area with restaurants and taxis charged variable prices, from good value to extortionate.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of parking available in a secure area. The room was large and comfortable and along with the bathroom looked to have been recently refurbished, the shower was really good - hot and powerful. Breakfast in the cafe next door was good with lots of variety and probably the best porridge I've tasted, and you could sit outside too. It's only a short walk to the beach through the pine trees - the Baltic beaches have the finest white sand I've ever seen. Around five minutes walk to the station for the train to Riga (regular and on time service that's less than six Euros return for two).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    A quiet hotel close to sea/beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    About dislikes - actually there is nothing to say at once. Probably one could want a more modern TV in the room, but as the hotel is almost at the sea... the TV is ok to watch news once a day.

    The room was simple, but neat and clean. The lady at the reception was nice and helpful. Sea/beach is in 2-3 minutes walk. It is not a luxurious hotel, but there is something very special in the calm and idyllic atmosphere at the terrace in the inner garden of the hotel. I wanted a day off - meaning silence, sun, sea, a walk in pine forest and close (but no too close) public transportation - and I got it all. I will come back when I need rest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    The plesant and helpfull people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurants in the neibourhood were closed. so we had to travell by taxi to the restaurants

    The plesant and helpfull people. The place of the bike. The coffee and tea facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for travelers seeking quality at a very reasonable price. it's a bit displaced from the center, which is an advantage for people travelling by car. Very close to the beach. Good breakfast and all staff is very nice. They even have prepared us a vegetables puree for our baby in the bar, while he had breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wi-Fi signal on our floor. Had to go downstairs to find a network. Breakfast...this is the only weakness of this hotel. It's very limited.

    There was a free private parking. The lady from the reception was very nice and helpful. We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor - there was a warm floor, a balcony + a mini hall where you can easily put all your stuff or bring one more person:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    great relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is small and very quite. We had an amazing rest. Walking distance from the sea. To get to Jomas street is a bit far to walk, but with a car about 5 min drive. Definetly will come again. Staff very nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was very very good, especially on Saturday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely uncomfortable, too hard and the pillow too tiny.

    The breakfast was very very good, especially on Saturday when they have a buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.0
    Good value for money, but breakfast could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok, although there were lots of fruit flies all over the place, perhaps the season? The room was a bit damp, so we were waking up in the morning with damp blankets. We were told that it is the season and that in Jurmala it is a common problem.

    Staff was very flexible, allowing us early check in. That was much appreciated. The hotel was quite comfortable and clean, but a bit damp. Overall, the place was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice small hotel with really nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner in the local cafe was not attractive. Looked like food in supermarket and presented with the same style.

    Nice small hotel with really nice garden. Rooms were clean and quiet. Next time I would go to the same hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet small hotel just a few steps from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect! As on past stays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing night at Jurmala
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great relaxing stay in Jurmala near beach and room with reasonable price.Kind personal who liked our dog!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money and location. Good base to go to Riga while staying in a less crowded area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Cozy hotel with free tea and fragnant soap/shower gel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cozy hotel with free tea and fragnant soap/shower gel :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Very nice place close to the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place close to the beach!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Exelent clean room, very friendly working personal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelent clean room, very friendly working personal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Receptionist is best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist is best !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    friendly staff, clean, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow

    friendly staff, clean, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Loved our stay :-) cute and family-run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay :-) cute and family-run

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice Holiday in beautiful place, empty beaches. Just great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To close to main road, car noise but only during the day.

    Nice and helpful Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Yummy food, very friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yummy food, very friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect weekend in Jurmala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location and very good food, private parking!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Cozy hotel. Nice quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy hotel. Comfortable rooms. Nice quiet location. Very friendly staff. Very near to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Squeezing floor in some places.

    Clean, comfortable beds, private parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Holiday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blinds could be added on windows as it gets very light in the room too early in the morning :-D

    We liked almost everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well washed plates in the kitchenette

    Good breakfast, nice staff, private parking, nice garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Wonderful location, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, very clean and comfortable. Very helpful and kind personnel- they did assist us in problems which officially doesnt include their duties. Would love to go back there!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    5.8
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was way out of town, run down and not what I expected. The location is awful beside a main road and I left after one night. Had three nights booked.

    The staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Small cozy place near the beach, nothing fancy, but very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The set of channels on TV is a bit strange, I couldn't find one movie channel. There was a smell of food in the room from the cafe, but manager offered to give us another room when we mentioned it

    Small cozy place near the beach, nothing fancy, but very clean. Small store on the first floor and very cheap cafe in the same building. 5 minutes walk to a nice small restaurant and also french-style bakery. Free coffee-tea on the floor, wi-fi is strong, satellite TV.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful family business hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing what was bothering me was the hornets nest under the roof couple metres from our window so we couldn't open window during our stay.. Everything else was amazing and we had wonderful time in Hotel Alba.

    Beautiful family business hotel. 5 min walk from the beach. Helpful personel. Very nice rooms with aircondition and safe. Very good breakfast included in price. Definitely we'll come back in future...

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    The hotel is really friendly and a lovely place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is really friendly and a lovely place to relax. Its very close to a beautiful beach. There is a shop next door that is open til 10 and sells all you could need. The free tea and cookies were lovely and the fridge available for guests to use is really handy

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    The location is excellent and the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Although fresh every day, the towels could have been larger. Also the toilet paper was of a poor quality. The upper rooms were also very warm at night and would benefit from blinds on the Velux windows to allow more of a sleep in when required.

    The location is excellent and the staff very helpful. The opportunity to hire bikes was a bonus too! Breakfast times were very flexible 8-11:30 and in a little cafe situated onsite which was pleasant, although the Cafe staff were not quite as accommodating as the hotel staff. Overall it was just what we needed and good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.4
    Free parking lot which was important to us because we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located right on the road crossing but with a small traffic.

    Free parking lot which was important to us because we had a rented car. Good breakfast and wifi. There is a free coffee/tea maker and biscuits on desplay for the guests. Fridge is also awailable for the guests.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    1. Big parking.
    • Group

    1. Non-renovated room

    1. Big parking. 2. Good, various breakfast. 3. Friendly personal. 4. SPA 5. Excellent view of the city from the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    Nice location, great staff- very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, great staff- very helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.4
    Near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But far away from any restaurant ot life....better to stay in the center of jurmala!!

    Near the beach

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.8
    I liked the long beach and the Alba hotel closeness to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was quite long from the centre of Jurmala.

    I liked the long beach and the Alba hotel closeness to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.8
    Not so cheap for the money you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not so cheap for the money you pay.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Free water, tea and cookies were very nice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free water, tea and cookies were very nice :)

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: