Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

Kalēju iela 50, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#7 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hostel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have small windows and it could get quite warm.

    I really love the fact that the curtains are so thick. Everything else is great. It's a partying hostel, overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit noisy during the night

    very clean, comfortable and friendly place!!! we were even offered a welcome shot, which I haven’t seen anywhere else. Definitely would come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy place, internet pretty bad. Not a place to hang if you're not in a party mood. Also, party people just don't care what time is. They're always drunk talking really late.

    Staff is beyond friendly. Location is great and fun activities if you're in the mood for party and stuffs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I was first planning my stay in Riga I came across the Naughty Squirrel on Hostelworld. The reviews were very good so I knew I couldn’t stay anywhere else. But boy-oh-boy wowee (Did you see that Darce!? – Australian Football reference) did this place deliver or what! I honestly do not know where to begin. The beds were unbelievable. Custom made for the hostel apparently! You’d be searching Latvia for years before you found better beds than the ones in the Naughty Squirrel! And the staff… do not get me started. I don’t know where they pluck their staff from but they would have to be the friendliest, nicest bunch of people in all of Riga! Or Latvia for that matter! Let’s just say in all of Europe! I dare someone to find better hostel staff. In particular, a girl called Gundega. If you ever get the chance to meet this lovely girl, give her a Hi-5 and tell her that Callum from Australia sends his regards. She genuinely made my stay go from a 9.94 to a 10.0. She’ll beat you in a drinking contest any day of the week as well. The hostel run great events every night. The famous pub crawl on Friday and Saturday night and some other great events during the week which all delivered in spades. I was actually scared I was going to stay at this hostel so long that I would miss Australia playing in the soccer world cup. I don’t know how I managed to get out, I could have genuinely stayed there for a year. If you like Karaoke then you will love Riga, and Naughty Squirrel in particular. Most bars have some kind of Karaoke component to it, and it never ceases to amaze. I sung ‘Like a Prayer – Madonna’ which would’ve had to be one of the best renditions of the song since Madonna sung it at SuperBowl 46. If there was an award for best singer at Naughty Squirrel, I genuinely think I would have got it. The beds to shower/toilet ratio has to be one of the highest in Europe as well. There was never an issue with availability at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a typical hostel, not a hotel. So don't expect perfect cleanliness and service. It is a bit simple and more suitable for young people.

    It is a perfect place for young people who like to hang out. It has very friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Very good location - close to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is impossible for me to find something wrong in this place!

    It is always clean (the girls make an excellent job amethdw are very nice). Of course the girls of the reception desk are always nice and helping in whatever you need.the room was very comfortable and the showers were enough (I never had to wait to have a shower). The common areas are very nice So...my time there was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff. Nice, relaxed athmosphere. Great location within the city center. Possibility of booking additional activities within Riga (Kayak, Pubcrawl, Shooting Range, Sightseeing walks).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, 5 minutes walk from the bus station/10 minutes walk from the train station. The kitchen is well equipped and the common areas are comfortable. The hostel offers a large variety of activities during the days (from the pub crawl, canal cruise, happy hour, shooting etc. etc.) so I really reccomend it to solo travellers. I stayed in a twin private room with a friend of mine, I liked it and the price worth the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it cannot be avoided, but I encountered some waiting time to use the toilet and shower in the hour before check out.

    The hostel is perfectly situated between the bus station and the old town. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The staff is really nice. I especially enjoyed talkin to Katrina—awesome tips and just an overall great person! The welcome shots are a genius idea too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the electric sockets, lights and curtains by every bed! Very convenient. Also, the decor was very nice and cousy.I didn't encounter any problems during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved this place. Like is not enough. It was so fun. The staff work hard to keep you entertained aswell. Because of that everyone is in a way better mood and it is really clean. Sick pub crawls too but even just drinking at the hostel is a good time. Don’t stay anywhere else. There’s a chance you’ll regret booking somewhere else. No one would ever regret staying here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very cool! all days they made a lot of funny activities for the guests. the location and the installations were very good. With my friend we wanted stay more days. I definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like!? Sacrilege!

    It's the best place in Riga of course! Good drink, good company, if I could live there I would but I gather that might be a crime... Realtalk; comfy beds, power sockets for days, kitchen suitable for baking, good security and great vibes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was probably one of the best hostels i stayed. Amazingly helpful staff, nice ambience on the common areas, pubcrawl and bar 5/5 Strong beds, no noises, every bed equiped with 2power plugs and individual light, and curtain. toilets in good number and clean (had some minor problem with the water temperature but my fault for not understanding the way it worked)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing is a free breakfast!

    The showers were really good and always hot which is very much needed when it's extremely cold outside! The staff were also excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable. The location was super close to the old town as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more bacon and eggs.

    Good location, places to eat and drink. Easy to find rooms, warm showers, cosy kitchen. 24/7 beer on tap. Staff are lovely but their weirdness will rub off on you. Just keep drinking and you'll make it through.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty dark in the apartment (only one dim light). When I was taking shower, something went wrong with the hot water - couldn't fix it(

    It was clean, good location of the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very lovely staff, always available to help you 24/7. A lot of activity proposed (AK47 shot, pub crawl..). I spend the nye there, we get one bottle of champagne for 4 friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's literally nothing bad about this place.

    This has been one of the best locations I ever stayed at. This didn't feel like a hostel. This felt like being at home from day one with the biggest family you can imagine. And the staff are like your sisters, always there if you need them and caring and your best friends as well. I left part of my heart at the squirrel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no breakfast :( The place to leave the luggage inside the room was metallic so too noisy when I tried to take my stuff in the morning while people was sleeping. And then the place outside to leave the luggage is open and in the middle of the corridor and doesn't inspire me a lot of confidence, however nothing happened.

    The girl in the reception (Livi) was sooo cool!! She explains to me everything from the hostel and the city (what to visit, how to go...) and she was so nice. The beds have curtains that give you some privacy and bed was so confortable (in my opinion). They offer you a welcome shot in your arrive!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not an issue I encountered but you should be aware you are not allowed to bring anyone not staying at the hostel in. Well you can I think, but you must be in the common area and can't bring any outside booze, etc. If you're planning to get lucky on a night out, you can forget it. Assuming you get past the CCTV entry (keycard doesn't work after 12 so staff monitor who comes in) you risk being booted if you try to bring them to your room. I never tested these rules, but there was a pretty serious looking list next to the door in my room. Might be helpful information to someone out there if you're planning on drinks with other friends in your hostel, or finding your true love in Latvia! Obviously hostel members are free to mingle in any room. The hostel is awesome for the atmosphere so don't let this put you off!

    Lovely staff, they cooked a traditional Latvian banquet on their national day for all the guests! Super comfy bed, free shots on arrival! Great atmosphere, with lots of other like-minded travellers. I stayed in a single room and still found it easy to mingle. Do the pub crawl they run. It was good fun and good value :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the vibe in the hostel. The staffs were extremely helpful and friendly. I met some great people during my stay. Nothing can beat the location of the hostel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is a bit slow. Everything else was great.

    Very clean and comfortable. Location wise it's close to everything you need in Old Town. If you're on a budget, this is the best place to stay in Riga. Also met some really nice people during my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ....

    The staff were brilliant, they gave excellent advice and were enthusiastic when answering your questions....nothing was too much bother for them even my sarcastic Scottish humour ....well done naughty squirrel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The place is amazing. The staff look after everyone really well and love doing what they do! A great place to meet new people and enjoy your time in Riga! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now to narrate my experience. I was allotted a room which had bed names of all Asian cities - so was the case with another guy who though was a British citizen but was of Asian origins. A clear case of racial profiling. Not sure what fun would I derive staying in a bed which bears the name of an Asian City when I am travelling in Europe! Other instances included a situation during check out. During my checking out, instead of asking my room number and bed name, the receptionist asked me about the name of my country and her very next remark was “Oh, you are yet to make payment for the stay!” Later she did correct herself - but during check out, would a person’s have precedence over the room number and/or bed name? And then follow it up by saying that the person was yet to make payment for the stay. Does that mean that coloured people don’t pay, when they stay in European hostels? In reality though, I had paid the full amount even before officially checking in at 14.00! It was disappointing to say the least. Needless to stay, if you are not white, this is not the place to stay! I will not recommend this place if you are coloured and in general if you believe in equality of race, caste or creed!

    The rooms are clean and so are the toilets. Located between the old and new town, and close to bus and train stations the location is also pretty decent. However this place is not for everyone, especially if you are not white.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and fantastic atmosphere, great time down here, meet some lads from everywhere..just a stone away from the city center. Staff helpful and smiling. Riga is amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff are amazing (special shoutout to Liva and Elina who I love), the location was right in the middle of old town and they offer so many activities. The rooms are great, each bed has a curtain for privacy and are spacious. It's because of this hostel that I loved Riga so much. Save time looking for other places and book Naughty Squirrel! Ps the pub crawls are so much fun! Met some really great people on them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is excellent in this hostel.Very cool girls in reception,nice comfortable room,good showers and toilets,all clean. Plus the great beer happy hour,nice common area to socialise,kitchen... They provide towels,and lot of information. Location is the best

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was okay but the walls are too thin, so we, who had good time (loud voices, laughing) maybe disturbed the other ones. But we didn't even party there. But yeah, if someone asks, then I will tell, it was really nice place and the address was super OK :D And personal was really good too :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Great location • Very kind and helpful staff • Electric sockets & lamps at each bed • Great party & pub crawling • Clean and comfortable showers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds, great staff and amazing backpackers around. If you're looking for a hostel where you can chill, drink, party and meeting amazing staff and backpackers this is the place to be in Riga. It's not full of drunk people if you would be scared for that. It's for sure one of the hostels with the best atmosphere, people and staff! So just book it😊!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just to note: no products in the bathroom so remember to bring your own and lots of stairs, with reception on 1st floor and rooms over 1st to 3rd!

    excellent location, friendly staff, towel and linen included in doubleroom, clean bathrooms with staff checking them often

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking issues! Helpful to find but in ad need make clear how difficult it is to park a car! However most clients do not bring cars!Stayed three times and always found it the best!!

    Staff always friendly and helpful!! Easy access to everything except parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Staff could be more helpful -way too big, a lot of commotion everywhere (noisy) -dorm rooms somewhat expensive and small

    Central, clean, dorm beds fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In all honesty, nothing major - card isn't accepted for small purchases at the bar/reception, but this is more common sense than a negative!

    A magnificent hostel, which is perhaps the single best one I have had the pleasure of staying in in Europe. Quite simply, they do everything right. Amazing communal atmosphere, beers on tap are quite cheap, and the activities organized really help you to see the whole city. Beds are fantastic - with privacy curtains for each alongside two personal sockets and a light - dorms have a private but communal atmosphere. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in shower rooms(maybe because of a boiler?) Inside of soap cases went mold.

    Good location, very kind and professional staffs, friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All those stairs

    Great social calendar. Tour guide Gabe was great to hang with. Most luxurious bunk beds I've ever seen, even had privacy curtains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing staff extremely competent and friendly! One thing a washer and dryer or a fee to take the laundry. When traveling don't want take daytime time to do laundry. One reason I use hostels to get my laundry done!

    Staff were fabulous helping me out and answering my questions. I had signed up mixed room and I think my 71 years ahead of time and out me in quiet women's room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to go up by stairs every time you want to go to the room or to the kitchen. No elevator.

    Very clean bathroom and toilets in the different time of day. Seemed like staff take a look of bathrooms every few hours. Central placement of the hostel is very comfortable. Free shots at the evening and happy hours for the beer. You have a personal key from the door out, a door of the floor, from your room and your bag cage (as an better alternativ of a usual locker box). Security is very good. Prices for products in the hostel are pretty close to market prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who work in this hostel are very warm and they will help you in whatever you want. They will tell you the best placesgto go. And also, They will give you nice tips about where to go and what to do. I arrived alone, but I never felt alone in Naughty Squirrel Backpack hostel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really enjoyed my stay here because I felt safe, particularly as a solo female traveller, with the luggage storage just below the bed and also with the key cards, the staff are incredibly nice and helpful- I locked my key card in my room and they were happy to quickly replace it so I could get back into my room, the kitchen is nice and a really great place to meet other people. It's a great hostel for having a great time and partying or being more quiet and just chilling out (like me). The location is really great and the staff will give advise and show you the best places to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A breakfast would have been nice, but no complaints apart from that.

    Free welcome shot upon arrival. Happy hour every day. Nice lounge to hang out with 24/7 reception and bar. Staff are very enthusiastic and organize pub crawls, beer pong tournaments, etc. Never a dull moment. The interior design of the hostel itself is very nicely done as well. Great location close to a KFC, Pizza Hut, shopping mall, drugstore, and several tourist hotspots.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I cannot remember the staff members names but they (all of them) were just awesome! Although I was just one of many guests, I felt they took great satisfaction in a positive experience for me. From the moment I arrived I felt at home. The atmosphere here is good. Love the 24hr bar. Never had a problem with sleep either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well I have to agree that I didn't sleep a lot during my stay there, the nights in Riga were long and the air in the crowded mixed dorm rather sticky. For quality sleep and rest one might eventually consider booking a private room.

    Stayed in this same Hostel in 2012 and still after a dozen of different hostel experiences I would qualify this stay as "outstanding". The hostel staff was not only friendly and helpful as one would expect but also very cheerful. Therefore when coming to Riga this year I was hoping to stay at this very hostel, although slightly afraid that I might only be disappointed. Good news: This hostel is STILL AWESOME! Staff is always in a good mood and even spontaneously joins the pub-crawl after work and the bar/reception area is still gathering people. I would highly recommend it for solo-travelers and anyone willing to meet other people. Loved my time in Riga, because of this particular crew! Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - common areas, kitchen, are quite small -the locks at the door were not working properly and would fail occasionally

    - Staff were good - well located - good for young people - good beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi in the room was not so good.

    The location is very good, close to old town and bus station. The room is cozy and well-equipped. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -IT WAS SO LOUD. I've never heard such squeaky and banging doors at any other hostel I've stayed at (bedroom doors, the main floor door, all bathroom doors). And because we were there on a weekend, people were naturally partying and coming in and out at all hours of the day and night. All in all, it made it impossible to get a good night's sleep and I was relieved to leave despite the positive aspects. -Room was a bit stuffy. Opening the window helped, but then it was too loud from the street noise, and it let all the cigarette smoke and bugs in as well. We decided to live with it being a little stuffy and hot.

    -common areas were nice, including a kitchen. -Little bar downstairs, free welcome shot, free shots on weekend nights with drink purchase -staff was excellent- helpful, friendly, outgoing -location can't be beat- so close to everything in old town as well as within 10 min walk from the main bus station to the south.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corner by the window had the best music. Went to see Foo Fighters came back. Before the staff saved me from a panic attack because I thought there was a problem with the ticket and missed the opening band. Then I realized I was in love. This happened at Naughty Squirrel. So, I went home to do something about it and I did...and it was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was outstanding, right in the middle of the action in Riga. More importantly, the staff were fabulous; all were very fun, friendly, and helpful. What a wonderful hostel experience!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the guys bursting in our room with full volume and lights at 3am. Some of us need sleep, and the hostel ought to be more hands on with people causing trouble.

    I liked the friendly staff and the fact that they were poised to help out lost travelers (myself included). They were also both humorous and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They balance a fun atmosphere with quiet rooms. Each bed has a privacy curtain, lamp, power outlet, and underbed locker. Plus the wifi was good (though it logs you out often, which is frustrating). They also have a fantastic location in the old town next to a bus stop for the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My second stay at Naughty Squirrel and meeting and exceeding my expectations ranging from a good night's sleep in a dorm to the amount of information provided by the hostel staff. The beds with their curtain provide more privacy and late arrivals/early departures are less likely to bother you. And: Happy hour is really happy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It has a party atmosphere and several people in our family were kept awake at night.

    It is a great value for the location. It is clean and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi could be better, but maybe I´m a bit spoiled.....

    I really loved the total atmosphere of the place! From the start it feels like you are with friends thanks to the staff who welcomes you like a friend. Thanks a lot everybody!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were awesome! Always so helpful and loved having a good time with the guests whether it be in the hostel or conducting one of the activities. The other guests were great too, everyone became friends in 5 mins

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit more expensive than the usual dorm

    Nice hosts, beer on site, welcome drink, curtains on beds, power socket built into lamp, great location, great tips on activities in Riga

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Especially the showers could have been cleaner...

    I slept excellently at this hostel right in the city centre. The hostel felt like a kind of community with several (quite loud and crowded) common areas at the 1st floor the get to know other travellers. The dorms however are really quiet with good beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lively place, welcome shot, some organized events like pub crawl, beer pong etc so it can get busy in the common room. Very friendly and helpful staff, well equipped kitchen, hostel spreads over several floors, very well organized, beds with curtains, individual lights and plugs, lockers under the bed. Showers and toilets are cleaned several times a day. Laundry available for 6€.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't stay longer :(

    Great quality modern bunk beds with personal light, curtain and 2 plugs. Multiple showers and toilets. Incredible staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much nothing was bad. Bit of street noise from my room but not really a major issue.

    Location is ideal, pub crawls were amazing, everything was clean and organized. The staff were very friendly and fun (especially Līva! 🙃).Thanks for the great memories ay the Squirrel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here.

    Amazing place in Riga old town. Great common room, had so much fun in there. Cosy dorm rooms, comfy showers. Great staff, super friendly. This place is a no-brainer if you come to Riga.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough WC ! what ever the time of the day you need to queue no wash basin with hotwater available (the only one, in the toilet have only cold water, and no handwashing basin in the shower room) Common space quite noisy (not the place to go if you want zen atmospher)

    very well located (only if you don't have car) in the old town close to main transportation hub dormitory with curtain + individual plug + individual lamp on each bed + very large locker to put all your stuff even big backpack 3 PC available for free for guest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, you need to carry luggage up some stairs. No air conditioning, but that wasn't a problem when I was there.

    Great common rooms. Great security: building and individual dorm rooms required key-card to enter, so only the people sharing your dorm room had access to the room. Beds provide good privacy with a curtain, solid bunk-bed frame, individual bed lamps and 2 electricity sockets per bed. Dorm room faced a quite courtyard, so there was no street noise. Plenty of showers and toilets on each floor. Fun and helpful staff, great atmosphere and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the beginning to the very end We truly enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Working staff there are fantastic, very welcoming, friendly, always ready to help and they can give suggestions on what to see, do, eat or drink, places to go. All recommendations were to the top what we were looking for. In he hostel, there are enough space left for common places to hang out. Rooms and showers and toilets are always clean. Location is great. Honestly, its amazing place to stay and we will be coming back. :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    showers: unstable water temperatures and sometimes running out of water

    It was a great stay at NS. The staff was very welcoming and the rooms were great. loved the pub crawl and their chickenfarm :D All the best for you guys

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit ropey and lumpy but otherwise all good

    Like any good hostel, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the beers on happy hour special daily, a sociable common area, clean bathrooms, well located close to the train and bus stations as well as the old city sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    From our arrival to departure, staff at this property were fantastic. A great welcome, so helpful and friendly. Ruta, in particular, a fabulous lady. It was hard to leave in all honesty. Thank you so much for your help and advice:).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy at 5 PM when some dude from UK recalled a song he knows:)

    Really good hostel if you are a party monster:) Everyone are reeeeeally friendly:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, just on the edge of old town and the staff are amazing at what they do, very helpful, very knowledgable and even organise trips. Try the shooting range.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably, the place is too loud and overcrowded with drunk tourists

    I was impressed by cleanliness, security and other services. Everything is modern and the bed is quite comfortable. It's located in the heart of Old city where you can easily find restaurants, cafes, shops and so on.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private bed but that's absolutely in the hostel standard. However the shared toilets are cleaned 4-5 Times a day so they're definitely much cleaner than 99% of the hostel ive been staying at.

    Amazing location, right in the city center. Great 24h chill out area and bar managed by a great and super helpful staff. We stayed in a 4 bed private room that was extremely comfortable for the price we paid for it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The internet signal 3rd floor were very low so it almost didn't work. It is the only negative thing about my stay.

    the staff was very nice and friendly and the hostel was very clean. Considering there were so many rooms and beds on each floor, yet the toilets and the shower were clean almost all the time. It is very close to all the cultural and touristic things in Riga.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Staff was amazing and helpful. They really seem to enjoy their work and mingling with travellers. Loved the outing to the shooting range, a lot of fun. Dorm beds are super comfy and the privacy screen is a great bonus. Everything kept clean. Overall just a fantastic hostel with a good vibe. I'll be back! Such a great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in our room went right over my head & onto wall - taller person would just go into face & cant be adjusted. Bathroom light was sensor light so would come on just entering the room even if didnt want bathroom & then light would go out while in shower.

    Staff very helpful & friendly. They organise group activities such as going to hockey. Good atmosphere in common areas. Wifi worked in room as well as common areas. Great location - close to everything - old town, train & bus station, bars & resturants, fast food places & grocery store

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: