Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel & Conferences 4 stars

13. Janvāra iela 19, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#14 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3693 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel right on the edge of Old Town, and across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much parking, and we got lucky to find a spot in front (and it was a squeeze). We were told they cannot reserve spots (even though it says you should on this website), and they had some spots blocked off with cones on some days. Not sure of the reason.

    Great hotel right on the edge of Old Town, and across the road from the market. Our room was upgraded (I'd hate to see the size of the room we originally had), and the included breakfast buffet was really good. Nice bathroom, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    The Avalon & Riga itself were both a delightful surprise and to be highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No criticisms at all about the hotel or the staff. The only bad point was we only stayed for two nights as we were attending a Wedding 79 kilometres away. We will return.......

    Lovely hotel, excellent food for two breakfasts and the one evening meal we had. Room was excellent and the air-conditioning most welcome at such a "hot" time in Riga. Not too far from the train and bus stations although we did not use them as many friends and family were there to share vehicles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Racist bartender who accused my friend of stealing a stupid check book when he tried order a drink
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender accusing my friend of stealing a stupid check book, and when we asked to talk to the manager we’ve been told that there wasn’t anyone because of national holiday for 2 days... we asked them to check the camera recordings and when they found out it wasn’t my friend there was no apology from the bartender.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    close to everywhere you want to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    minibar is full of expensive and useless things and there is no place for our own food and drink to put in.

    Breakfast was good, room was clean. location is good. very close to bus to airport, international bus station, rail station and shopping malls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    I'm frequent guest of this hotel for years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike.

    I'm frequent guest of this hotel for years. I tried other hotels , however I think - it's best option for Riga . Parking place in garage , perfect location next to old town. I highly recommend to book half board option (dinner & Breakfast). Very good dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, the restaurant is also a delicious option...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very uncomfortable. The room wasn’t ready when we got there, had to wait approx. 1 hour.

    Good breakfast, the restaurant is also a delicious option for lunch and dinner. Big room and spacious bathroom. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.5
    Looked new facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been kicked out on the check-in day in a rainy weather. It was disappointing situation especially on the very day. There would be chances to let customers know beforehand.

    Looked new facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    breakfast is really fantastic, you have all what you can...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only not good thing is that my room has no real window since it was looking in the reception

    breakfast is really fantastic, you have all what you can desire position also is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    well located, modern and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A smile does not cost much and it is good for the receiver and the smiling person

    Quite modern and comfortable hotel. Upgrade to a Junior Suite offered by management! Thank you. Breakfast varied and rich. Situated very close to the old town, giving the opportunity to visit the best part of Riga on foot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A good choice for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast had many options to choose from. The coffee was good. The hotel has a good location so you can easily walk around the city centre and do the sightseeing. There are nice restaurants and bars around it, as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, near the central station but not right...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One small annoyance - the hotel decided to change the curtains in the room while I was still there. It would have been nice if they could have done this at a different time.

    Excellent location, near the central station but not right next to it and close to the old town. Breakfast is excellent - a big choice of different food and much better than average. Clean and modern, this is my second time staying here and would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    I have stayed there several times and didn't have any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Avoid rooms facing the inner lobby! Can't open the windows, because of the noise from the hotel bar/reception and you have to keep the curtains closed and lights on all the time.

    I have stayed there several times and didn't have any problems till this time, when they gave us a room facing the inner lobby. Luckily they changed the room and our stay was still enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Top location, right next to the Old Town and yards from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top location, right next to the Old Town and yards from the airport bus stop. Staff friendly and helpful. Great choice of breakfast items, both hot and cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location but some interesting rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I booked a double room I was somehow placed in a single room. This room had a strange layout in that there are 4 stairs between the room area and the bathroom and closet area. So walking around in the small room you have to always go up and down 4 stairs. The stairs had a motion sensitive light built in, but the motion sensor is ultra sensitive! While lying in bed and rolling around at night, the sensor would be triggered (even though I am around the corner from the sensor!) so the light kept going on while trying to sleep. So this was quite annoying. According to most information I found you should not drink tap water in Riga, but the hotel wants you to buy their bottled water at typical hotel prices. Would be nice to at least offer one bottle of water for free to guests. Even with the above negatives I would probably stay here again because the other plus sides made it a good stay overall.

    Neat, clean and modern rooms with good amenities such as good working air conditioning (not always found in Europe!), iron and ironing board, kettle, etc. The location is right next to the old town so it is really easy to walk everywhere and find wonderful places to eat nearby. The breakfast was ok - very crowded and an "okay" selection of food. The staff is friendly and helpful and the wifi works quite well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Extraordinarily nice and friendly staff at the restaurant. Nice stay in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although we get upgraded to bigger rooms, they were small compared to other hotels I used to stay. The first impression with the reception at our arriving was a bit harsh. They could learn a lot from the waiters working there.

    Restaurant and breakfast staff was extraordinarily nice and friendly. The food was delicious. Nice view from the windows to the city. Overall design of the hotel was open and modern. It was a short walk from the main attractions away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was clean, nice staff and good breakfast and approach
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The big problem is, that at that time was in foyer group of guests and after midnight they were very loud. We cannot sleep. Your staff was not able to solve the situation. I had to go and talk with the guests, which is absolutely not acceptable. From the hotel site no word like I am sorry... I was disapointed

    Hotel was clean, nice staff and good breakfast and approach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Adjacent to Old Town. Good breakfast spread. For arrival / departure by bus, super convenient as bus station is walking distance. Helpful staff Arranged pickup from airport - convinient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel if you want somewhere central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is confusing. There's no direction on the website and if you click on "get directions" at the bottom of their website, it will take you to the back entrance which is a street that doesn't allow cars to stop. It would be useful to indicate clearly on the website that the limited parking spaces are at the front of the hotel.

    Good mattress. Central location. Professional staff. Room is quite small but it's the trade-off for being central I suppose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    All in all - 7/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is pretty old-stilish. Renovated, nothing bad, but a bit too small as for baltics and still bellow expectations for such ammount of money.

    Location is ideal Staff is helpfull Food is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    I had upgraded to a Junior Suite but I was put in a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had upgraded to a Junior Suite but I was put in a room that didn't resemble a suite at all. After complaining though, the stuff who were very helpful and good at coming me down put me in an actual suite which was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, beautiful interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in front of the hotel was very limited and cost a lot.

    Great location, the staff was helpful and friendly. Fast wifi and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel that gives you a real luxurious stay for a moderate price with awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared to the price of the room, and with other prices in Riga, we found the fee for parking of 20 euros per night very high. There were not a lot of empty power sockets in the room (for charging smartphones/cameras/laptops).

    The room was perfect: Comfortable beds, practical bathroom. Everything very clean and tidy. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was the most amazing, I've never seen such great breakfast-buffet, and everything was fresh and even when getting up a bit later still no empty trays. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a citytrip to Riga, and will for sure come again here for our next Riga-trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The accommodation at the hotel was absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The accommodation at the hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff was very kind and polite. The food was delicious and of great variety. I can recommend it to everybody.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay at this perfect 4 star hotel for a nice price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Everything. Very good location: very closed to the national bus station and the bus stop for airport bus is just in front of the hotel. Excellent breakfast: luxurious buffet, especially including elegant English breakfast. Soundproof room with nice view. Cleanliness and cosiness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    convenience for going around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    convenience for going around. Front desk helped us to figure out the interesting places. Restaurant people are too good and helped us to get the vegetarian food. convenient hotel to stay in Riga with all facilities. Specially, who would like to explore outside Riga, the bus station is so near, you can reach in 5 mts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very Nice Hotel with perfect view to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast , AC was bad.

    Very Nice Hotel with perfect view to the sea , Location is perfect in the center of the city near bus station , Train station , old town and important malls and streets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Credits to Ikars (barmen).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room #410 has very bad internet connection. I'd asked a couple of times to fix it and had no luck (( this is the only bad thing I had in this hotel.

    Credits to Ikars (barmen). He is the best

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entering the parking is a bit narrow.

    Excellent food, nice rooms and very convenient area. Parking spaces with plenty of space avoiding your car being hit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, friendly staff, freshly renovated clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the 4th floor facing the old town have little window up under the ceiling nor they open, it felt like living in a bunker. The layout of the room is very odd, you go around the entire bathroom to get to the main room area. We got used to it soon but altogether it was a shock for the money.

    Location, breakfast, friendly staff, freshly renovated clean bathroom. Each of these points is very strong and overweighted the cons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location next to main bus station, Old Town, and Central Market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was very slow - sometimes not working at all. Pillows were not the most comfortable.

    Outstanding location near the bus station (some of the bus stops out front go to the airport). Just a couple of minutes walk to St. Peter's Church, other locations in Old Town Riga, and the Central Market. Many restaurants and bars nearby and within short walking distance. Movie theater was also across the street. Check-in was easy with friendly staff. The 1 euro bottles for purchase at reception were a nice touch (cheaper there than in the room mini-bar). Room a good size, mini-bar with items for purchase, kettle with tea packets, nice view of central market sky-line from window. Breakfast was enjoyable with healthy options, approve of the chicken nuggets the second morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    COULD HAVE BEEN GOOD BUT THIS STAY WAS DISSAPPOINTING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SHOWER CONTROL EVEN AT ITS LOWEST LEVEL IS BOILING HOT ROOM SERVICING WAS VERY POOR NO TOWELS RENEWED ONLY THE OLD ONES TAKEN DID NOT REMOVE OLD FOOD CONTAINERS OR EMPTY SHAMPOO AND SOAP CONTAINERS

    COULD HAVE BEEN A GOOD HOTEL TO STAY IN

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    A great weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a kids football team staying at the hotel at the same time. The noise was incredible! Also, very difficult to use the lifts, since the kids pretty much played there :D Also: maybe not the best idea to have only one bartender at the lobby bar on a saturday night. The poor guy seemed pretty tired and overwhelmed.

    Very helpful staff, all our problems were solved quickly and always with a smile :) The location is very good, close to everything. Plenty to choose from at the breakfast, beds were rather firm, but not uncomfortable. We were very happy with our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area by the reception is pretty noisy and the voices were heard in the room (2nd floor) till late night.

    Great hotel and a very good service both at the reception and the restaurant. Very nice bathroom, the beds are really comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Maybe the best place to stay in Riga.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some bathrooms should be renovated in near future.

    Very nice hotel for the paid money, i was here more than 10 times. Always stay here when visiting Riga.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was accused of taking from the mini bar and we DIDN'T. I felt the English was not made to feel welcome. We had to keep going to reception to reactivate the key cards which was annoying.

    The overall cleanliness. The beds were comfortable. The pc in the bar is an excellent benefit along with free Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress worn. Noisy main street and train track in front of the building.

    Convenient location in walking distance to the city centre. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way too hot, window only opened 20cm, with the air con not really working at all to cool the room. Mattress very hard.

    Great breakfast, with fresh omelettes cooked to order, and fresh well stocked food. Very friendly staff, room spotless. Evening dinner included very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are large, spacious, with plenty of outdoor light.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in the city center which is ideal location but faces the nearest railway. Even though the rooms have double windows, the 5 am trains are able to wake you up. Private parking costs 20Euro/day. The price is exaggerated by all opinions and should be advertised on the site.

    Rooms are large, spacious, with plenty of outdoor light. The view is not anything because the hotel faces the railway and the city market. The breakfast is rich, varied, the food delicious. The hotel staff is courteous, willing to help with any problem and question

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    excellent, great, interesting and would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my only criticism is that the taxi that we had booked through the hotel didn't show up at the airport, when we told this to the hotel they made sure our return trip to airport worked smoothly and we didn't pay. The apologised for the no show as well although not really the hotel at fault.

    The hotel was excellent, great choice for breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was brilliant, wonderful service and great food. The rooms are quiet, spacious and cleaned very well. The location of the hotel is super well within walking distance of the main sights

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous stay, couldn't have been better! Easily accessible from airport using either bus 22 or 222 dropping off just across the road and centrally located for all sites. Wide choice of foods for breakfast and comfortable area to eat in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was imosible to get any asistance from the front desk people as thy never do what they promise to do They also promised to upgrade our room for free and than took money for it

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Warmth, comfort, hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Liked everything: nice room, good sound isolation, comfy bed, excellent dinner and breakfast, place near old town, bus station and opera theater...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Good bed, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was unconfortable becouse of voices from next door heared very cleary. It was not nice to hear every word their were talking 🙁

    Good bed, very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    It was minus 17 degrees when we went there in February 2018, nevertheless we had lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SPA was listed in the hotel, however there was no sign of it... The reception area needs improvement

    The rooms were specious and clean and the beds very comfortable. Very close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing break in a friendly modern hotel close to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights and noted that although our beds were made up every day, housekeeping didn’t change the sheets.

    Lovely hotel in an excellent location for the old town. It’s in a slightly quieter area next to the old town which I think would be good for the summer months as I can imagine some of the old streets might be a bit noisy in the evenings. Excellent views from our room over the river and the markets. Breakfast selection was also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable ..
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking not always easy to find

    Nice restaurant and optimal solution both for business and for leisure, since it is in town center and not far away from the airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic, Riga and the Avalon hotel are wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight negative was our room was so hot, even with the -7 temperatures outside and the window open the room was boiling

    Staff were so friebdly, couldn’t do enough to help. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and lots of choice. Hotel was in a brilliant location would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking price 20€/day. The hotel's restaurant too tight

    The hall of hotel is amazing. Air conditioning. Spacy rooms. Good breakfasts (huge choise). The heart of Riga (old town) is nearby, exit the hotel, to the right, then in 200 m to the right again (at the Narvesen store), straight ahead for ~ 400 m and you're at the very centre of the old town. Quiet place, there is a central train terminal on the opposite side of the street, but no noise at all (stayed in winter, closed windows)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet can have more food variety.

    The location is very convenient. I arrived Riga by coach bus, and the hotel is only 5 mins away from Riga Central Bus Station. All major sights are also within walking distance. I was upgraded to a better room upon arrival. The staff are super friendly and the room clean and spacious. They also provide fixed-rate taxi service from hotel to airport which is very handy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice for clean and cheap stay in good location. Poor for quality of food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small bar area, small eating area, poor dinner, no gym or pool, small bathrooms

    Nice and clean, breakfast was ok, rooms can have nice view and have a nice bit of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable long weekend in a lovely hotel. Riga and its people are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked the half board option which I would say was not that good as the food selection from the half board menu in the evening was very limited. We ended up paying extra so we could choose from the a la carte menu. I would not recommend the half board option from our experience.

    The location was excellent for walking into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the standard of accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, clean hotel, good breakfast and good dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner included of 2 free meals could have been more generous. Drinks were not included and the meal portions were somewhat small. Other than that nothing bad to say.

    The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the evening dinner included of 2 free meals was good. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel interior is very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    All 14 of our party enjoyed our stay and felt well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all !

    Excellent Hotel with great staff. Full breakfast included in price. Location great for walking to the Old Town, no Taxis needed to go out on an evening. Staff organised transport for us when we did visit tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The best place to stay if You travel by bus.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect hotel ! Nice welcome. Super location close to the bus station (300...400m walk) and the main Riga market. Modern, cozy and clean hotel with all what you need. Even the iron and small fridge was in the room. Very good bed, fresh air in the room - perfect sleep. Good restaurant and breakfast with reach meal choice. Many restaurants are located around the hotel. For sure i stay here next time !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is in excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in excellent position. The staff are very nice and helpful. We had Alexander serving us dinner for 2 days very nice young man. Dinner was included in the booking and it was very good. All was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay - and a very fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice quality hotel with good rooms, we had a spacious double room with a bathroom with a tub. The hotel food was surprisingly tasty and the with a nice breakfast. The location was perfect, near the old town and the huge market on the other side of the railroad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A definite must & ticker all the boxes!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met my expectations & the staff was tremendously professional, friendly & respectful! The staff pulled out all the stops. Alex the waiter will make sure your comfortable & happy with your stay. Such amazing people!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The location of this hotel was fantastic for walking around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel was fantastic for walking around the old town to bars, shops, restaurants etc, public transport is just outside the front door. Cental market is opposite the hotel well worth a visit. The hotel staff were excellent very polite and helpful in answering any queries we had. The dinner in the restaurant was very impressive and our waiter Alexander was brilliant. I highly recommend this hotel for a memorable visit to Riga.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel offering good food, staff and location in the beautiful city of Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home!

    We were very impressed with the service we received at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the food offered was of excellent quality. The bar food was also of a very high standard. Very comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. The staff were always smiling and happy to help. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Ok Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed several times before was expectant of a better breakfast. Much reduced choice. Poorer quality ingredients. Food was not presented well either. Disappointing - as they normally get this right.

    The location is close to Old Town. Stayed several times and will be back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, pancakes, beans and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family room was actually regular size room with extra small couch - so there was not much space left in the room.

    The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, pancakes, beans and all regular things. Different kinds of sweets, fruits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minibar prices were quite expensive - we didn’t bother with any of it. Breakfast was quite standard, a good variety to choose from, but unfortunately the hot stuff wasn’t that hot.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff were all very pleasant, attentive and polite, very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Nice friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was the bit cold in the room and no heating. Not enough space to put cosmetics near the mirror in the bathroom. Half of the lighting didn't worked. No place to use the phone charger near the bed.

    Nice friendly staff. Clean. Nice room. Very pleasant stay. Very recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    *EXCELLENT INCLUSIVE BREAKFAST CATERING FOR MANY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1 UNCOMFORTABLE MATTRESS 2 ROOM TOO HOT DURING SLEEPING HOURS 3 FLIMSY LAVATORY PAPER 4 SLOW CHECK OUT

    *EXCELLENT INCLUSIVE BREAKFAST CATERING FOR MANY NATIONALITIES *FRIENDLY, PROFESSIONAL STAFF *LOCATION CLOSE TO OPERA HOUSE *EXCELLENT RESTAURANT CUISINE WITH AVAILABLE 20% DISCOUNT FOR RESIDENTS

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    excellent hotel, centrally located,just across from the market,near the old town,Riga is worth a vis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was a little on the cool side could not increase heat

    we had the breakfast and dinner option, very good. Dinner has starter and main meal .menu change every night for tree nights ,starts again with same menu every four days. Value for money, you can also choose from main menu with 20 % discount.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers. Slippers should be in all rooms regardless of room type - little something to make your stay more comfortable!

    Dinner was excellent! Staff nice and professional! Beautiful clean hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Luxury at a low cost-a real value for money stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still, I must admit it felt a little cold in the room as there was no higher than 5 that the customer could turn the heater on but it was a really cold Christmas holiday up there in the North.Other than that nothing and no noise or anything that disturbed our stay.

    First of all, I couldn't have asked for a better location with bus stop to the airport riht outside the hotel, plus a short cut which led straight to the centre of the old city.The price was actually low for what it offered, spacious room, great variety of breakfast etc..friendly staff with perfect English, ready to answer all my questions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location and nice rooms, but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and nice rooms, but.... Service at the restaurant was very slow and chaotic and very strict penalty policy.I payed 150 Euros for making dirty the carpet ( my 1,5 year old baby) and 70 Euros for accidentally door damage... it could be that the doors where already damage before, but they where 100 % sure it our fault. I`ll not be back!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no swimming pool at the hotel as my son wanted to swim.

    The cleanliness of the hotel is exceptionally good.The buffet breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great stay at Avalon for 3 nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really...

    Very good location, comfortable room and bathroom, amazing breakfast, special 'thank you' to our waitress Elizaveta who was super attentive!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. We got a double room with half board. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent, the room was clean and had everything you need and the staff was polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    The room was nice, the food at the hotel best forgetten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded to a room with a different bed then we wanted. The free dinner option was abysmal, breakfast was mediocre.

    The room was nice, excellent location. Very quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice close to the centre of the city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, bathroom was so small that it was a struggle to step out the shower; Noisy the next door guest was telephoning in the middle of the night,

    Nice close to the centre of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Average hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) The electricity for charging the phones and laptop was not constant, same for almost all sockets in the room. 2) No change in breakfast hot dishes, same for everyday.

    Central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    We went for the Christmas market and thoroughly enjoyed the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (Dinner included)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of four reception staff we dealt with, only two were friendly and helpful.It was too much trouble to find some extra milk. On our first night there was a very noisy party opposite the hotel that went on until six(6) in the morning.Although this was nothing directly to do with the hotel, a little bit of empathy would have been nice!! Also the taxi driver tried to charge us twice for a pre paid return trip to the airport, which was arranged through the hotel.

    Good clean hotel in good location for old town Rīga. Restaurant staff friendly.Good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avalon Hotel & Conferences traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: