Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Funky Backpackers Hostel & Apartments

Krišjāņa Barona iela 25, Rīga, LV-1011, Latvia

#82 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hostel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hard to get inside the hostel before being given a key.

    Very simple place. Able to choose bed as I was the first to check in not given a bed number.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location: walking distance from center and not far from my favorite coffee shop, great view from window, good breakfast (even hummus). Located in an pretty old flat, so doesn't seem new and bright but I liked the vibe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a 6-bed dorm. The room was clean, the bed was comortable nd there was enough room for luggages. The owner of the hostel is a very friendly and nice guy who asked alot if he could help us or if we are satisfied with the service. I can recommend this hostel for young travelers in small groups, couples and also familys. U will feel like at home there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was shabby, furnitures were worn out, the mattresses have seen the best before date years ago and all of the beds didn´t have a duvet cover (normal sheets to be used with the blankets). All of these would have been ok but the smell of sewer in the toilet/bathroom was a bit too much for us.

    The receptionist at the hostel was very kind and helpful. And the location of the apartment we rented was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt have that many concerns till the last morning of my stay when I noticed that the beddings on one of beds (not the one I was sleeping on) were not very clean.. maybe, spots didnt go off but they still were there. Also, common towels were not clean. So, it is quite confusing: some things were really neat, some were the opposite. Although the host was nice, he smelled of heavy cigarettes, so first impression was also quite confusing. Wifi didnt function properly in my room on the main bed, so I had to move round the room to find better connection, which was annoying and didnt let me work properly.

    The place is really very nice: I had a room for 4, the double bed is quite big and very comfy, lots of space, a wardrobe. Lots of tiny things that are good to have: a good iron, lots of shampoo/soap, even a hair gel! Spacious and clean kitchen. I was in a different hostel for several days and this one was just a blessing cleanliness-wise after my first one in the city centre. The location is amazing: 10 min from old Riga, 5 min to parks, 5 min to Radisson Bar with spectacular view, 10 min to the train/coach station, 1 min to tram station (all by foot!). Lots of shops nearby. 4 steps of e-security before you get to your room! The host is very friendly, ready to share as much info with you as possible. The breakfast was miraculous! With hummus, bananas, peaches.. The choice is not very wide but everything is healthy and super tasty. Just a few people, so it is very quiet and showers are never too busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Private Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. I was walking all the time, the only public transport I took was the bus to the airport. The staff is super nice, kind and friendly. I had a super late check in and they provided me a táxi and everything was set as soon as I landed. In the same night they gave me a map with the list of the nice spots to visit as well as a guide tour to the facilities of the hostel. The area is good and quited. Breakfast is simple but delicious, just perfect. Everything was super clean and the hostel is super cosy, with a good vibe and comfy. I do recommend this hostel. If I am coming back, for sure, I would stay here again. It was the best Hostel were I stayed so far. Thank you guys!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Private Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is located on 5th floor and there is no elevator in the building. Not a problem for me, but it is essential for many people.

    Very good hostel and a brilliant owner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel hasn't an elevator, but it's wrote on the booking page, so it wasn't so difficult for me.

    Location is excellent - around 20 minutes on foot from the Central railway station and bus to the airport and around 30 minutes on foot from the Central bus station, also not far from the Old Town. Breakfast is simple (muesli, sandwiches), but tasty. Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and atmosphere is exceptional. The stuff was friendly and helpful. We got a room for two with double bed. The room was extremely quite. Breakfasts was very good. Location is nearly perfect. Lido in the corner, two supermarkets, rails and bus station in 5-10 minutes by walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking problem and they didn't know about parking on street. Cleanliness is questionable, bathroom with toilet wasn't best.

    Administrator was very nice, polite. Good location- situated near oldtown. Not very hard to find. Breakfast very ok. We late a littlebit, but still get it :) I really like morning atmosphere- very nice music at kitchen. we make booking just before arrive at late evening. And they check us in without a problem

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and is in the 5th floor.

    The receptionist helped me with my luggage when arrive to go until the 5th floor where is the hostel because there is no lift. The room was very nice and they give you the cover and towel too :) you have a big locker and hangers. The breakfast it was pretty well and also you have warm drinks at your disposal anytime. There is a common living room with LCD and pic. Is an apartment and it has 2 toilets and one shower and a complete bathroom. I felt at home during my stay there and I hope to come back too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be dificulte to klimb with big luggage on to the 4th or 5th flour by feet (no lift).

    Hospitality of the stuff, comfortable like at home, good breakfast and possibility to buy some drink (juice, bear, cola, soda water and etc.) all day and night round, very good price and quility equivalent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 flights of stairs without a lift....

    We stayed in the family apartment, which is very good for cooking and relaxing. It was quiet, clean, warm and had great views over the city. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking. The shower was hot and good. ALeX was very nice and helpful. He booked the taxi for my parents as they don't speak English and even wrote some welcome words in French. If I come to Riga, I would stay in the apartment again. Great location, only 10mins from the old town, 20 mins from the bus station and 10mins walk from the train station. Loved the place!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Computer with Ubuntu GNU/Linux. Free tea and coffee. Very nice living room. Nice location. Automated things everywhere — very cool. iPhone radio in the kitchen :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room Private
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two showers But u can live with that for location and aslong as not packed

    The guy on the front desk was amazing. So helpful and really went the extra mile. I cannot remember his name but what a legend To top it off, breakfast was amazing for a free one. Loads of different teas coffee spreads etc

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room Private
    • Stayed 1 night

    The responsible guy was helpful and smiling. He offered us bigger room with no extra. You will feel like you are @home. The breakfast was really nice, there are lots of things you can eat. The beds were very very comfortable. Very cheap for such a nice room. Sooo, PERFECT!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of spiders and mosquitoes, but that's not the hostel's fault. Strange smells from time to time coming from the toilets, even when no one was in it.

    A calm small hostel with a cozy common room. The "basic" breakfast is more than sufficient (bread with many spreads, cereals, some fruits) and there is free hot drinks and cheap cold drinks available all day long.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice quirky little hostel in a historical building in Riga centre. Spacious room, fabulous view, quite clean, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and pretty good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, basic but good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, great location, comfortable room, everything you need in the kitchen and very nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Private Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean enough in bathroom. No possibility for private bathroom.

    Location. Nice stuff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Private Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photo and the room seems to be a bit different. The bed was not comfy.

    The staff was nice and friendly. The location is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Private
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stuff was moved to another room, when we were out.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The boy in the reception was not too much smiling. He was so seroius.

    the Place is located in the center. rooms and bathroom are Clean. It seems a small hotel rather than an hostel. There was a delicious breakfast. It looks so comfortable. I reccomand.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative is that the kitchen could have done with a bit of a clean, the sink definitely needed it, but that is all :)

    Hostel was in a great location, only a 10 minute walk to the Old Town. We had the private room and it was quite large, comfy bed. Shared bathroom was nice with a bit shower. It is on the top level with no lift, but all guests are made aware of this at the time of booking so don't expect anything else.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner should check what Bookings.com says about this hostel and correct some things. For example the site says there is a parking in this hostel, but actually there isn't.

    It's a nice, quiet, airy and cozy hostel with a friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was kind of sad having to leave.

    Everything in the Funky Barons Hostel makes you feel comfortable: the friendly and helpful staff, colourful rooms, inviting common areas and a lot of nice details, like free tea and coffee in the kitchen. There are enough WCs and showers available and they are very clean. We spent 5 days in Riga and were extremely happy with our hostel.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The staff is just cool and excellent. The location is perfect and the apartment offers all the comfort which is needed, even for a long stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noice from communication and strange smell inthe room

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super wifi.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is perfect, the crew friendly. A top-class hostel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, friendly staf

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was overbooking, but thet found even better place for us and paid for it. So it was really great.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no elevator

    friendly staff and quiet room.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: