Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Brize

Oskara Kalpaka iela 68/70, Liepāja, LV-3405, Latvia

#20 of 25 hotels in Liepāja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Looks a bit dreary but it is better than expected: clean, cheap, ok quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from the center, and if you're not used to Eastern Europe, you'll be unexcited to see the depressed and bleak neighborhood and building. Bed is too small.

    The truth is that this accomodation is quite better than it seems at first sight, and I just don't know how to rate it because the place does initially look dreary. However, even though the area is quite Soviet-looking and doesn't look great, the place is well connected (bus stop right in front), the room price was very cheap for me (20 euros for a spacious single room with two beds), it is quiet, and it is honestly very clean for a building that big and an accomodation that cheap (compliments to the workers who keep it clean). If you can get past the fact that the building looks a bit like they're going to shoot a sequel of The Shining in it, the hostel is actually ok and I recommend it if you're looking for ok quality at a low price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff was exceptionally very friendly, the girls at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like a psychiatric hospital... Not a typical tourist hostal, more a cheap accomodation for Russian construction workers.

    Staff was exceptionally very friendly, the girls at the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Decent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too expensive for what you get, but I booked very late

    The rooms are fine, if not a little dated. Plenty of space in the room. The shared facilities were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    basic, cheap acommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and lack of kitchen utensils. The walls were very thin and the next rooms television kept me awake. Basic comforts - pay double elsewhere and get three times the comfort level!

    The price was very reasonable. The room was clean. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly receptionist. I had to leave very early in the morning to the airport, she was waiting for me at 4am to call a taxi. Very easy to reach from the center of Liepaja by frequently running minibusses.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    This place isn’t good for the location but it’s cheap and no frills. Bring some walkIng shoes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty far from town center. Loud hallways. Not much nearby.

    Good enough value for what you get. WiFi was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Good for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for the value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay at an excellent place for the visitors of Liepaja.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was OK. I would like to visit Liepaja once again and stay at the same hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    5.4
    I was alone in the room, it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far away from the center, some 15 min ride with the bus,not a very nice neighbourhood. Very socialistic in style, the area where it is was quite depressing. Not a very well equiped kitchen, barely the basics.

    I was alone in the room, it was clean. TV was there, but if you don't speak Russian or Latvian the only chanels you can watch are CNN and MTV. Nice lady at the reception. Bathroom and toilets were clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Spacious and clean room, two kitchens in the same floor with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite far from the center of city. Open bathroom space, cant't lock shower enclosure (anyone can enter when you are taking bath). Quite noisy outside.

    Spacious and clean room, two kitchens in the same floor with all needfull equipment, free drinking water.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    It was the closest accommodation to the Liepaja-Travemunde...
    • Solo traveller

    1. Asked when booking for no stairs due to my age and heavy suitcase. When I got there, there were many stairs to the front door and my room was upstairs on the next level- no lift. I should have been told. Booking .com needs to include such things as filters.

    It was the closest accommodation to the Liepaja-Travemunde Ferry wharf. Walking distance. A bonus as I had to get to the wharf by 1.30am!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    7.5
    -Cheap, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -It is not inside the city center -The bathroom is shared between quite a lot of rooms so it is not the best out there -Be prepared for a bit of noise in the hallways during the evening

    -Cheap, good value for money -clean, very decent room -It is the best option for a budget friendly, short stay

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Location, price!
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't found glasses in room!

    Location, price!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    5.4
    Price - Cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smells really bad everywhere (Floor, Kitchen, Toilets) - Room was ok.

    Price - Cheap

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.0
    From all the hostels we have been, this is by far the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit far from city center.

    From all the hostels we have been, this is by far the cleanest.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    Švaru, tvarkinga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Švaru, tvarkinga. geras pasirinkimas už nedidelę kainą.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: